1,935 reviews

Microsoft Visual Studio

Software shipping and building

4.6 /5 (1935 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
1,935 reviews
Luis daniel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The Standard for Windows programming

Reviewed on 24/12/2019

I basically use Visual Studio daily. I have no complaints other than I wish they had more customizability like it's little brother Visual Studio Code is getting and with time, Visual Studio Code just does what it's big brother does better. But yet, nothing can replace Visual Studio in my work flow and that won't be changing in the next years to come.

Pros

You can almost use/code in any language on the IDE, if you're missing features, you could look for extensions/plug-ings that add them, like DevExtreme or ReSharper. I mostly code in C# and the Community version for me works fine, but the Enterprise and Professional tiers are also really good. The IDE has been more open in the recent years and that has allowed for more straight updates than rather waiting for service releases or new year branded releases. You can code websites, mobile apps, desktop apps, console apps, service apps, anything related to Azure can be done in VS and yeah, you can easily debug and now in the latest versions, you can live-share a project and have a coworker assist you or work with you on the same project and both debug it. You can also use the live-share feature for teaching someone how to code.

Cons

Sometimes, extensions can be a little buggy. Azure Services, I would recommend a stable connection because it can get laggy. If you're going to use SQL Server in Visual Studio, you're better off downloading Azure Data Studio, because it is more versatile, strong, quicker and responsive than the options Visual Studio provides you. The community can cover you anything you need, but if you're looking for huge enterprise projects, you might want to invest on the paid options, but they can be expensive.

Supun S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Programming with VISUAL STUDIO

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Visual Basic is a great and professional software for programming. Lot of features are included in it for easy coding. I think we must have some knowledge about programming languages before using this software because this software has some advance features. If a beginner starts coding with Visual Basic first, he might be feel coding is very difficult. Therefore I recommend using Visual Basic only if you have some knowledge about coding. However Microsoft offers a free version of this software for students. This is a good opportunity to improve our skills with this software. If you are a programmer and looking for software for your industry, this is the best software that suits for you.

Pros

Visual studio is one of a best software that programmer need for his works. It supports many programming languages mainly used in programming these days including C, C++, C#, JAVA, Visual Basic, Python, HTML, CSS etc. This software is developed by Microsoft as an Integrated Development Environment (IDE). There are lots of software using for software development industry in these days. Visual Studio offers many outstanding features and functionality when comparing with them. Some of the features are IntelliSense (completes code automatically as it suits), GUI design (Can design graphical user interfaces and make them interact with components we include i.e. Forms, Buttons, Labels, Message boxes etc.) Also Visual Basic consists with an integrated debugger that works as a source level debugger and a machine level debugger. Therefore the debugging process is easier and powerful. Visual Studio is fast and powerful software for programming in my experience.

Cons

The most annoying thing that I see is the process we have to go through before starting GUI programming using C++ language. We have to change many settings and copy/paste some code parts before starting our codes. For beginners it is a confusing work as we have to go through many menus and change settings and pasting code parts. Coding area seems to be more complicated than that of other software. Therefore it is hard to find a code part that we typed already in case of changing codes. Visual Basic took nearly 22GB from my storage. For the people with low size hard drives it is difficult to allocate such amount for one software. Since software have many functions and features it take some time to load. Low grade PCs can be lagged in this process because Visual Basic use high amount of RAM and CPU.

Radoslav B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Visual Studio Review

Reviewed on 24/4/2019

I have been mostly using this program for student purposes. I study Computer Technologies and I needed a software where to code my programs and one lecturer show me VS when I was for the second year, and since then I do not want to use another program for developing software. I just enjoy the work with VS - it brings me happiness and comfort when I work with it.
I pretty recommend it, because it is worth program, it has free versions, which are perfect for juniors, and it is very powerful though, also it is with very pretty and intuitive design and the programs makes you feel comfortable when working with it.

Pros

1. It is very easy to install.
2. It supports a variety of programming languages you can use in your projects - from desktop Applications, to Web Applications, C based programes and much more.
3. I like how tabs and panels are organized - everything is grouped and you can easily find what you want.
4. There is an entire search engine, which searches all the functionalities of Visual Studio, in case you cannot find something.
5. It works pretty well, even on slow performance PC's.
6. You can build very powerful projects with this program.
7. There are different versions - for the purposes of students, of junior developers, through small bussiness and for the big bussiness.
8. Very Good intellisense.
9. In every latest version of VS, you write fewer code - it becomes easier to do it - just with some combinations, or snippets, or embeded hints.
10. Very pleasurable to write and read code in the editor.
11. You can even capture the resources your program uses.
12. There is a debugger, which is very cool and good working.
13. There is a dark mode - even you can download different themes, which can protect your eyes when working for long hours with the program - they almost reduce the white spaces, and make the colors look greater, with better contrast and with care for your eyes.

Cons

For my purposes I haven't experience any difficulties or problems with the program, in order to have any negative oppinion for the program.

Ryan O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

First Rate IDE

Reviewed on 1/3/2019

The biggest benefit I get from Visual Studio is the ease of getting a new project up and running. This is a flagship project for Microsoft and it's apparent because they continually find ways to make it more useful which translates to quicker, more efficient code and project delivery. I would be crippled in my day to day responsibilities without it.

Pros

I've used various flavors of Eclipse and IntelliJ on Java projects but I look forward to working in .NET because in my opinion, Visual Studio is a superior IDE. There are so many great features that it's impossible to enumerate them all but some of them I like most are:
1- Projects can be cleanly contained within solutions (a feature Java IDEs don't support)
2- Cleanly integrates with NuGet for package management (doesn't require wacky XML updates like Maven)
3- Has the best code completion and auto-suggest of all IDEs
4- Comes pre-built with so many useful starter projects so it's easy to hit the ground running without a lot of setup
5- It offers a myriad of extensions
6- Its easily the best IDE for writing against CLI languages but is also an excellent environment for writing in Python and other scripting languages
7- It cleanly supports various source control solutions (TFS, Git etc.)
8- It does a really great job of providing a one stop shop for managing cloud and database assets right in the IDE
9- Provides excellent support and design time feedback for unit testing
10- Provides excellent collaboration capabilities

I could go on and on. I love Visual Studio.

Cons

There's really not much to dislike about Visual Studio. It has so many features that it can be overwhelming knowing where everything is and how to make the best use of them. But unlike many other IDEs, I feel like Visual Studio is the most intuitive from that perspective too.

Samridh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

12 years of Visual Studio and Still love it

Reviewed on 1/2/2019

A powerful tool from Microsoft. It's foothold on the code development market is strong and will probably stay strong for a very long time. There are lot of forums and discussion sites dedicated to Visual Studio so learning VS means you have access to lots of resources. People have built their career on this tool so I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Pros

I have been using Microsoft visual Studio for past 10 years plus and it just keeps getting better. It is one of the most advanced product from Microsoft and it is very well known throughout the Engineering industry,

- Code writing and storage
I use it on a daily basis for development of code in C, C++ and C#. The IDE is extremely strong and full of useful libraries. It has lot of features that aids in the proper design and development of the code.
- Code comparison
One thing that is really powerful about Visual studio is that you can extend the software capability to many other areas. Using Team foundation Server (TFS) from visual studio one can store code and perform revision control with different change-sets. It is a very strong tool to also compare codes between different change-sets or with the directory on the desktop.
- Allowing Extensions
Microsoft Visual studio allows third party extension which makes this already powerful tool even more powerful by being able to expand the platform.
- Replication with Application
With the powerful IDE platform, debugging is like a piece of cake. Development of Graphical user Interface (GUI) can also be done through studio and release it as applications that can be installed in many computers.

Cons

I don't see many cons of Visual Studio except,
- Price
It is a powerful tool so of course getting multiple licenses will be pricey.
- Error codes
it could do a lot better in analyzing the source code and explaining what the error is. The error are pretty vague and one would need some learning curve to understand what is wrong
- High load on the system
Visual studio is big, massive and will require some powerful machine in order to not feel like the computer is lagging. Usually I shut off all my applications if I am working on VS.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best software for Developers

Reviewed on 7/2/2019

Visual Studio is considered as Microsoft’s contribution to the open source world and they have once again
delivered exactly what their customers want. I am someone who isn’t an expert in coding and I had used a
couple of different IDEs previously. The process of using a new IDE is all too similar. In the beginning, you’re very uncomfortable not knowing what function is placed where in the software and in the next few days, you start to get a hang of it but my experience with the visual studio was completely different. I was expecting the same confusion as I started using it but everything in the software was so user-friendly. I immediately felt like as if I had used this software before and I knew where all the basic functionalities were.

Pros

Microsoft visual studio is developing software which is one of the most fully featured IDE right now in the
market. It is preferred by developers from all over the world and has the ability to create all kinds of
computer programs, websites and mobile apps.
Name: Visual Studio Developers: Microsoft Written in: C++ & C#
Operating System: Windows 7 or later Type: Integrated Development Environment License: Freemium
It is a fantastic IDE that simplifies the work of the developer and it helps save a lot of time. It is greatly
appreciated for the performance of its Debugging and IntelliSense tool. There are a lot of extensions
available that improve the features of visual studio.

Cons

The code compilation error messages are sometimes very misleading that leaves the developer unsure of
what the exact issue is. The errors are shown before and after the lines which can cost a lot of time and
attention of the developer. Another con would be how expensive the software is compared to its competitors who provide similar services for a way lower price.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best Coding Software - One Stop Software IDE

Reviewed on 17/2/2018

Pros

The thing that I like best about Visual Studio is that it is very easy to use and if you are not used to it yet, it takes very quick to learn Visual Studio. It can support pretty much any code that you are working on. This also has syntax highlighting for every language. Visual Studio is probably something that small businesses would use since it is so cheap and easy to use.
I 100% recommend Visual studio to other people. Visual Studio is easy to use and if people are not understanding the software, I encourage them to keep trying. Visual Studio is a very good product for developing code as it provides syntax highlighting and supports a couple of languages. People that want to switch to Visual Studio as well I fully recommend it because it's something that will help them in the future as it will be in my opinion, and good program to code software.
Some business problems I'm solving with Visual Studio is that it's much easier for colleagues and employees to use. Visual Studio is also very cost efficient which means that it will be one of the best options for businesses who don't have a big budget.

Cons

Something that I dislike about Visual Studio is that it doesn't technically support every single language. Other languages besides JSON, CSS, HTML, Node.js, and a couple more only have syntax highlighting. Other than that issue, I love Visual Studio.

Osamah A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

a professional compiler for a professional person!

Reviewed on 4/9/2019

I have used Visual Studio for 5 years now and I can say it is one of the best(if not the best) Softwares on this particular field.

I use a lot of programming languages and fortunately, Visual Studio supports almost every other language so I am absolutely satisfied with it.

you can do massive projects using Visual Studio, and it will not let you down!

Pros

it is functional, it has many features that will make your programming journey much smoother and more fun.

when writing code blocks, Visual Studio will make a distinctive colour for each part of the program, making it much easier to keep track of your progress and your code.

it supports a variety of programming languages, such as; C, C + +,Java,JavaScript,Python, and much much more!

the workspace provided is comfortable and huge. you have an option to change and manipulate the font and its size so that it fits your preferences.

Cons

Visual Studio provides many features and supports tons of programming languages, which requires a lot of free space to be available on the Disk, however, due to its huge size it sometimes will run slow on your pc and it could be really heavy on your CPU. Other than that it is honestly hard to find any bad aspects of the Software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best IDE Ever

Reviewed on 15/6/2019

Visual Studio requires almost all CPU time and RAM. If you have very powerful pc, then you will not face any performance issue.

Pros

Visual Studio supports multiple programming languages and application types. Debugging is the most powerful and important feature of it. If you ever could use any visual studio, you would use next generation of it easily. Microsoft does not make radical changes. It helps users to adapt new versions.

Cons

When you make any mistake while installing Visual Studio, you may spends hours to make all things right. Multiple version of Visual Studio can not work together.

Rohan K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Pros And Cons Of Using Visual Studio Code For Development On A Daily Basis.

Reviewed on 7/3/2019

Pros

It is perhaps the best text editor for a developer around the market according to me. One can download/install plugins which are present in the Visual Studio code environment. Some packages are built in and some needs to be installed. The plugins makes development faster and smoother. It is pretty fast and have very rarely experienced any lags/slowdowns. The folder/file structure makes navigation easy around the files. It has several features like looking for a word/text in a file or across a project. Hence looking for files/folders/text in a project is pretty easy and smooth. It has a built in terminal which makes starting/stopping the server and using commands from the command prompt quite easy. Debugging feature in Visual Studio Code makes debugging applications quite easy. The overall look/theme of Visual Studio Code makes coding quite fun too . Basically it has everything a developer would need to develop an application

Cons

It used to crash all of a sudden on Windows 8 version. Though it runs smooth and fast on the newer and current version of Windows or Linux , it wasn't fully compatible with lower versions.

James M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An all-in-one development solution

Reviewed on 22/9/2020

My experience with Visual studio has, from the start, been satisfactory. Its modern interface makes navigating its many features a breeze, and it has been entirely reliable. It's hard to imagine switching back to simpler solutions!

Pros

Visual Studio comes with a full set of development tools out-of-the-box. It allows developers such as myself to quickly and efficiently create various types of applications, as well as build and deploy them. This inclusiveness greatly speeds up development workflows.

For features that aren't built in, there are plenty of available extensions that can be easily downloaded to extend the functionality.

Cons

The cost of the Professional or Enterprise licenses may be high enough to deter smaller companies from making the purchase, but fortunately, the free version has sufficient features for a plethora of use cases anyways. Other than that, its features sometimes feel a bit heavy for simpler workflows. However, with a modern setup, Visual Studio runs fast regardless.

Sandeep K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Superb Software for coding

Reviewed on 26/3/2019

This software is very easy to use when it comes to develop a software. One of the best thing about this software is that we can create our websites in ReactJs very easily.

Pros

It is the lightest version software when we compare with other integrated development environment. One of the best tool till date for coding. It's interface is really good and soothes eyes while working. We can install many available extensions, for example eslint which is very helpful in systematic coding. Another feature is scss which is an alternate for cascading style sheets. In this styling code is in minified version. It also takes less space in our computer as compared to other integrated development environments. There is a complete library of extensions based on the requirement of the project. Server side coding is really easy.

Cons

There is only one thing which is not up to the mark and that is debugging. We have to configure the code separately for debugging. There was a time when I had to check error in my code, I could not debug rather than I had to use console debug to check where the issue lied. This is very cumbersome process.

Anna N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best IDE for .Net Development

Reviewed on 9/9/2018

Overall, I can say that this software really helped me in all my project development. I had learn so much from this and seeing the output of my project is just amazing. A must have software for development!

Pros

I have been using this software since in my college days and until now that I am working I still use it. If you are looking for an easy tool to use on your windows application, web applications, or even other type of applications, this tool is for you.
It has a lot of languages you can use that will make your job easier and faster. Further more, Visual Studio has IntelliSense which will help your coding easier. Intellisense provides code hint to help you build your code syntax. This is really a big help for beginners. And also, the debugging made easy as it will guide you run through your codes and gives you the output of your code syntax. that will make you easily see what went wrong in your program.

Cons

I think the only catch is, you really need to buy the software license to fully enjoy its features and functionalities. And also for you to have a good support from Microsoft team.

Triloky M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Feature rich IDE

Reviewed on 4/5/2019

We used it for development of portal websites based on mvc and visual studio made our work smoother. We did lot of code merging and comparing with inbuilt tools and we also got integrations for node. The packages got updated automatically with no errors at all. The clients love the error free deliveries which has made us to use visual studio for our projects a habit.

Pros

When you are working on MVC then visual studio is the ide you will want to work with and you can see all integrations within. Nudget package manager can integrate almost all packages we need. We can see type ahead with intellisense and development becomes very fast. All our api's can be easily navigated simply by clicking on class name. Xamrin developers in our team are loving it too because it makes the development cost effective and high on standards. It gtes regular updates to keep up with the pace of fast moving technology.

Cons

It takes time while loading and loads alot of resources. It also does have very high download sizes and sometimes we feel that it can be ignored. The MS products are also bit expensive.

Armando P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Productive and agile development environment

Reviewed on 26/3/2020

I have developed desktop, web, mobile applications, libraries, database projects, etc. with it,=

Pros

It allows me to edit, compile and test the different development options. Be it a desktop, web or mobile application, also the database. It is a versatile and extensible tool, and easy to use with good support given by Microsoft.

Cons

I understand that yes, there is still a lot of opportunity for improvement in terms of development, testing and extensibility.

Karan V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great development environment

Reviewed on 4/12/2018

The Microsoft products has always served what they are meant to. We love the way development is done on Visual Studio. The builds are perfect and we can be sure that our product will be perfectly working after testing on debug mode. It after integration with team foundation server, has served as complete package for creation of new code and debugging.

Pros

The code editing is fun with visual studio. You learn so much while you actually coding. The tooltips tell what the class will do. Be it front end or backend code, you will see so many plugins easily integrated to make life easier. It has good integration for source control too be it tfs or git. The debugging in code is just perfect when you can add watches, intermediate code running and query result predictions. We can also reduce the time taken by page by looking at the time given by tools.

Cons

It consumes so much resources. In entity framework core the system just hangs. We had to get our system 8 gb more ram to make the development smoother.

Kudakwashe N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Not all IDEs are created equal

Reviewed on 19/3/2020

I cant think of any other IDE with the same capabilities as VS.

Pros

I know people say its not about the tools one has in their tool box which makes someone a master of their craft, but in development world its a different case. I have been using Visual Studio for years now and I have tried many others IDEs but seems like VS will always tick all the boxes. Working in a team of developers VS makes it easy to collaborate on the same project but best of all its capabilities to develop crossplatform app be it mobile, web or desktop without having to use many other IDEs. Another great feature i really love about VS its auto complete and code reference within the IDE and also fast debugging and rigorous testing capabilities and support of many programming languages be it vb, python, java, angular and many more.

Cons

For a beginner it can be intimidating in terms of development environment and panels.

Marsha J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I like visual studio in creating my web apps as its easy to use and editing code feature is...

Reviewed on 18/1/2018

I like visual studio in creating my web apps as its easy to use and editing code feature is great. I like that it supports a number of languages which makes my job easiers and it allows me to work better with clients who applications was developed with other languages. The debugging and code editing is by far one of the easiest to work with and with other developers.

Pros

I like visual studio in creating my web apps as its easy to use and editing code feature is great. I like that it supports a number of languages which makes my job easier and it allows me to work better with clients who applications was developed with other languages. The debugging and code editing is by far one of the easiest to work with and with other developers.

Cons

I used this application in college and now in creating applications and there isn't much that I can say negative about VS. Sometimes that startups can be a bit slow and also if you turn it off auto formatting, you lose access to stuff like auto-indenting on code on the new lines.

Muhammad yousuf H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A time saver and easy to use environment

Reviewed on 17/3/2021

Visual studio is indispensable part of my career. Overall it provided me ease of coding , useful utilities , testing tools and easy deployments. It is one window solution for a software Engineer and best environment a developer can have.

Pros

I have been working in software development field for more than 10 years and I found visual studio a feasible solution for all levels of my career from beginner to professionalism. In the beginning it provided me ease of coding and deployment without hassle of environment setup and now I use it for advance and complex development. Cant think of working without it now.

Cons

This is era of web development and web development is all about beautiful and friendly user interface. Consequently, need of graphics designing is emerging day by day .unfortunately,visual studio doesn't even provide even basic set of image processing or graphics designing. Must give at least some useful tools.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best place to every day code practicing

Reviewed on 13/8/2019

I can extremely recommend VS for you for code learning purpose since it has a free version. In my university most of the lecturers suggest VS for us. But it is advisable not to use for large, powerful applications such as multimedia, graphic editors.

Pros

MS visual studio is an IDE which is used to develop not only computer programs, but also mobile apps, websites, web services and etc. VS community package is free for individual developers, academic uses and open source. Installation is very easy and do not need special system requirements. As a university student I felt so many benefits through this community package. VS contains in-built debugger which is very useful to test the code. And the editor is also user friendly and can work easily. One can practice source control plugin such as GIT.

Cons

Visual studio is just perfect for me. But here some difficulties I’d faced with VS.
• Visual studio has a basic OOP structure hence it is better not to use for bulk applications.
• To get other packages of VS (professional and enterprise), we need to pay.

Kaleb-john L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Standard for .NET Development

Reviewed on 22/8/2019

As an employee at a company, I love working with Visual Studio. It definitely provides a professional feel, which enables efficiency. I don't have to worry about configurations as Visual Studio sets everything up without me having to think about much. This allows me to get right into development.

Pros

When working within Microsoft's .NET environment, there is no beating Visual Studio. Visual Studio is the most comprehensive IDE for .NET code which allows for developers to access all of the tools to aid in development. Visual Studio has a lot of templates to choose from when working on a project and many shortcuts which will eliminate a lot of redundant work. It has a very professional feel and allows for a decent amount of customization. It is helpful for organizing projects as well, with plugins and built-in features which allow for version control and code management. There is a lot more to this product that I have not even mentioned, but if you are planning on using the .NET framework, then use Visual Studio.

Cons

Unlike other available IDEs, Visual Studio has paywalls. There are different levels of Visual Studio that one can purchase which unlock different features while there are free IDEs available that can accomplish similar results.

Garrett R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Visual Studio is an incredibly powerful and customizable IDE

Reviewed on 23/10/2018

During the course of my computer science education, I have used a number of editors to create and edit programming projects inside and outside of my classes. I eventually landed upon Visual Studio Code, and after a brief time exploring its potential, I stuck with it and haven’t looked back. Visual Studio Code gave me the customizability to make the environment look and work the way I wanted. VSCode gave me the flexibility to program in a variety of languages all in one place. Most of all, VSCode came with a great ease of use. I did not have to look up numerous tutorials to get my workspace set up or figure out key bindings, and the options for extensions were there and easily accessible once I got down the basics of navigating VSCode. Visual Studio Code got me hooked because of how easy it was to get started with the program, and I stuck around because of how much I could modify the environment. A personal favorite extension of mine, excluding extensions that modify typical workspace appearance, is TODO Highlighting, an extension that highlights certain keywords (e.g. TODO, FIXME) to make them stand out when you open a project again.

Pros

I really like how customizable Visual Studio is. It lets me set up my development space to meet my needs.

Cons

I have no complaints about this software.

Ivo K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best tool for MVC and C# Code

Reviewed on 6/2/2019

First time i used Visual studio was on version 2013 and im still using it now. I could not go to a different engine at this point. Intuitive design and a great online community that constantly keeps improving the product.

Pros

Easy integration with plugins that allow you to connect your MVC or C# project to SQL and MySQL databases using external plugins. Many addons like code maid that assist programmers and help keeping the solutions clean. I have used it primary for MVC and C# apps but i have not found code it is not compatible with as of yet.

Cons

Lack of debugging support for javascript and syntax automation for same. Connecting to external repositories can be complicated at times and the menus are to extensive - there are to many options to scroll through till you find what you are looking for. It needs to be grouped better.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best IDEs available for Developers

Reviewed on 16/7/2019

As a Developer, I Used VS Code Since 2 Years.I'm very Satisfying with Visual Studio, it's a good Product and Definitely one of the top-rated IDE. I highly recommend this! Good Work Love it.

Pros

Visual Studio is One of the Best IDEs available for Developers.it's easy to install, Support Multiple Programming Languages also we can Open Multiple Projects at same time best of the things is performance it's no lagging or stuck during coding and the most interesting thing is we can install any plugins in one second and it's working too.

Cons

Too many versions to choose and I found the free version horribly slow for Python Development.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Visual Studio for life

Reviewed on 9/10/2019

Pros

The community version is served better than any other IDEs. From a JAVA developer working with IntelliJ honestly, this IDE made my life easier with its functionality. And I loved the automation part that is built inside. It comes well integrated with a lot of developer tools.

Cons

Nothing is bad but everything seems to be perfect.