Accounting Seed

4.3 (94)
Reinvent the way you do accounting

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(94)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

91%
recommended this app
Sort by

94 Reviews

Rickey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Accounting Software built into SalesForce

Reviewed on 12/8/2021

We needed a system that integrated with our contacts and programs. We wanted to be able to see what programs a donor had given to along with financial data for those programs. With Accounting Seed working inside SalesForce, all our data, across all departments, is in one place can easily be linked, integrated, displayed, and reported. This allows us to better serve our constituents with accurate data immediately at our fingers via desktop or mobile apps with access anywhere in the world.

Pros

Accounting Seed works splendidly inside SalesForce. You get all the advantages of a product that integrates with all your SalesForce data. No need for imports or exports. Everything is in one place. Employees learn one system and they can work all across the organization. The availability of multi-levels of security allows you to tailor applications to the appropriate person, department, or team. Internal control features and audit trails are securely automated. Backing up your data is simple with just a few clicks. Project managment allow each project to act almost like its own company and integrates well with any other Salesforce data.

Cons

I would like to see more preformatted reports. There are a few in the system but I suspect there could be more that could print directly from the system in a more presentable format. All reports can be exported to Excel. This allows those that know Excel to manipulate the data as only Excel can do. That is nice but requires extra effort to format the data.

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Serious software for any business that needs and wants a comprehensive accounting system

Reviewed on 13/1/2022

Very pleased with working with team at AS. I marvel at how they cross from one industry to another with skill. Insurance accounting is very different from traditional accounting systems and i am impressed with how well AS has handled learning and growing in our vertical.

Pros

One we figure out the workflows and nuances with Accountingseed (AS), it is a pleasure to work with. The speed of the software is fast and AS is on top of regular updates to add important and necessary features. We have been a user of AS now for 3 years

Cons

Updates are not always pretty and could be better tested however AS is not deaf to any problems that result from updates or patches

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good value, doesn't scale well

Reviewed on 26/1/2021

Pros

The integration with SF and our TMS is great, its fantastic to have all order information linked to the accounting objects. Reporting is great as well, that is mostly a SF feature.

Cons

The inability to send ACH payments out of the box was a huge piece for us. I was referred to Check21 which was ridiculously expensive. Also cash application takes too long if you have a customer that has x number of invoices. Some of our larger accounts have more than 2000 invoices open at a given time. Paging through screens takes a very long time. Seems like we have outgrown AS's sweet spot of transactions.

In addition daily billing/payable posting takes a long time, (exceeding lines). Bank rec gets split into multiple recs due to 4k item limit.

Stephanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Happy Customer

Reviewed on 18/11/2022

Once you adapt to moving around the system, it makes getting from one area to another very easy. It has been a pleasant experience learning this system.

Pros

The ability to attach all types of documents in one place. Having a client/vendor record with all transactions and documents in one place allows for easy research and reconciliations. Being able to customize the system and made reporting more efficient. Working with customer service has been a pleasant experience.

Cons

The budgeting feature is very complex compared to other accounting software.

Lauren
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Upgrading Accounting Software

Reviewed on 7/2/2022

By transitioning to Accounting Seed, we have been able to STOP operating in separate silos. Accounting Seed was able to marry our accounting and CRM systems perfectly. I would suggest working with a consultant(s) if you are making the switch, this helped us significantly in our transition.

Pros

As a sales organization, our business LIVES in Salesforce. As a result, we needed to make a change to our accounting software, and moving to a program that directly connected was critical. Enter: Aaccounting Seed. We finally have all of our systems talking, making the daily management of our business so much more efficient! Accounting Seed also allows for a lot of customization in setup and reporting--something we were never able to do with past accounting systems.

Cons

The only "con" we could call out if you are transitioning from another system to Accounting Seed--unless you are an expert at transitioning systems, you will want to engage with both Accounting Seed support and likely a consultant to help navigate your transition. This will save you time and money in the long run, and get you up and running faster!

Sam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 26/7/2022

overall Accounting Seed has been a great experience. I appreciate the architecture of their program as it is built a a very secure way that is intuitive.

Pros

I appreciate the free Documentation on explaining different accounting concepts. I also appreciated the original CEO's music video to help promote.

We switched to Accounting Seed after having a terrible time trying to setup Sage and they made the process easy and efficient.

Then we moved another company of ours to Accounting Seed which uses the ERP features which have worked well.

Cons

I don't like the process to login to the support portal and put in support tickets. You used to be able to put tickets in via email. But, they took that away. Now you have to login to the support portal, which very annoyingly does not allow you to hit enter to login. and then create a ticket. You receive email updates on tickets, but you can't reply from the email. You have to log back into the support portal for each reply.

Seems to be a cheap way to reduce support tickets.

Alternatives Considered

FinancialForce Accounting

Reasons for Choosing Accounting Seed

Cost & was not user-friendly

Reasons for Switching to Accounting Seed

Price and ease of implementation
William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

Reviewed on 19/7/2022

Using this within Salesforce reaps huge reward. We can work together with our team spread far and wide!

Pros

The Team is amazing and well versed, a pleasure to work with. Being in DF means access to everything from anywhere!

Cons

The rate of change is touted as a benefit, but in reality is a bug. When your team complains about each new version, you know you have a problem. Multiple releases per year disrupt our org. Opting out is received negatively, and the belief that an org our size can have our team Beta Testing new releases in our sandbox several times a year indicated an unfamiliarity with our work loads. I hope they can stabilize the product and get to a maximum of a large yearly release, because the current "Improvements" are quite disruptive.

That being said, I hope they prosper, because the software offers great promise, and a real shot at being the defacto standard for on system accounting in a Salesforce environment.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Solid accounting package for Salesforce

Reviewed on 6/9/2019

We've been happy with Accounting Seed. It has allowed us to store all of our financial data right in Salesforce and track the financial data with our client CRM data.

Pros

Relatively simple to configure and use. We got this up and running in a few short weeks and the majority of the few issues we ran into were simply due to us not referencing the well documented Knowledge Base

Cons

It appears that there is a lack of integrations available. Some of the other Salesforce platform ERP packages we evaluated had a few more third party integrations available allowing extending functionality.

Michealene
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Finance

Reviewed on 29/3/2022

Language for editing of Reports/ screens not user friendly

Pros

A/R and A/P work well for basic functions. Software customized easily.

Cons

Basic Accounting Reports seem to be missing for the out of the box reports.
Reports are not easily created due to not having user friendly language

Stefanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Introduced to AS 10 Months Ago and already feel like a pro using it

Reviewed on 28/7/2022

We work with smaller clients often in the Manufacturing world. It was very easy for me to come up to speed and be able to train and assist our clients.

Pros

I had never heard of Accounting Seed until October 2021. I was also new to Salesforece at that time. Accounting Seed integrates so well with Salesforce that I didn't even realize I was using 2 different platforms at first. Additionally it's highly customizeable but even works well when it's fresh "out of the box". I've even worked with ERP's that use Salesforce and have their own Accounting tools and Accounting Seed is easily integrated with the ERP.

Cons

The biggest thing our client's have confusion on is the Bank Direct Connect and Bank Reconciliation process. BDC is there to help make reconciliations easier, however, many believe that they must be able to match up all BDC records in order for reconciliations to work.

Justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Accounting Seed as a Manufacturer and Wholesaler

Reviewed on 23/3/2022

It's been both good and bad, but more good than bad.

Pros

Integrated with our business processes easily; Manufacturing setup in Accounting Seed was fairly easy as Manufactured Goods come as a core component of the Product features. Bank Connect makes it easy for A/P and A/R to reconcile and manage their divisions. In general, the fact that we can do Accounting, Sales, and Manufacturing on a single platform has saved us countless $$$ and time.

Cons

Lots of unit test failures in the Apex. Opening/Closing Accounting Periods takes forever, even with minimal transactions, due to poorly optimized code.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cloud-based law firm

Reviewed on 31/5/2022

Our experience has been excellent. Accounting Seed helped develop an integration with our practice management software years ago. They have continually improved the application every year.

Pros

The ability to bring our accounting to the salesforce platform was huge. This allowed us to integrate with our practice management software.

Cons

Some processes take too many steps (clicks) but this is probably a function of Salesforce.

Kathryn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complete and Comprehensive General Ledger and Financial Reporting

Reviewed on 11/4/2019

The system overall is a fabulous product that goes far beyond the functionality of other accounting solutions, such as: Microsoft Dynamics Great Plains, Sage, Quickbooks, Servman, Aljex, and Epicor.

Pros

Accounting Seed is intuitive, has internal controls, an audit trail, produces all financial statements including a Statement of Cash Flows, a full general ledger, has exemplary customer support, and combined with Salesforce applications, provides for complete and comprehensive financial reporting

Cons

There are some minor issues with the application, but nothing that prevented me from using it. For example, I would like to see the company name and logo on the financial statements.

Victor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

AS make our financial lifes easier

Reviewed on 23/3/2022

I've been using AS over 4 years already and it has been an amazing tool for our company, fast, information on hands 24/7 and it allows to audit any financial record we want.

Pros

The most I like is how easy it is to use, it is simple and matches most of our accounting requirements, specially since it is built in salesforce and you might integrate it with anything.

Cons

Sometimes support limites to go to web, even when instrucions on web are great, you might require extra hand to tackle some doubts

Stacey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Stusa

Reviewed on 6/7/2022

their staff is well informed, and they help quickly

Pros

We like that it ties into salesforce and there is no need for an API connection. The information flows seamlessly

Cons

The amount of programming and customization to make it work is at the typical SalesForce level. Nothing is "out of the box" except for the basics

Christine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Accounting seed a sophisticated software that gives value for money

Reviewed on 19/11/2020

My experience using Accounting seed software has been magical as I no longer have the worries of manually generating reports, the software does that for me

Pros

Accounting seed is plus for any accountant who seems stressed in generating financial reports. The software does everything for you in generating reports and will always give audit trail incase of errors

Cons

Accounting seed software needs you have basic knowledge of accounting principles,hence may not be user friendly if u lack that.

Maura
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Add on-vendor for Salesforce

Reviewed on 15/7/2022

It's okay. Support is through Veruna as they partner together. Accounting Support through Veruna is non-existent. No training provided during on-boarding and they charge hourly rates to support after on-boarding. Not a good experience.

Pros

Embedded in our org with Salesforce as an add-on tool.

Cons

Difficult to use. No training support provided.

Fakhruddin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Accounting Seed Review

Reviewed on 21/3/2022

Good

Pros

Accounts Payable and Journal entries and Financial reports

Cons

Customisation for the currency format is limited only shows dollar sign

Aaron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Accounting Seed is the best Salesforce Account software we've found

Reviewed on 18/8/2022

Overall, very positive

Pros

It comes pre-packaged with helpful pages that are formatted. Recurring Billings is the most valuable feature that we rely on

Cons

Some basic features that you'd expect that are available in Quickbooks, for example, were not available in Accounting Seed

Rebecca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Nice Product

Reviewed on 13/1/2022

On the whole its easy to use, it could do with more features.

Pros

The Knowledgebase is easy to use, very often I can fix an issue by looking there.

Cons

Updates are often released without proper testing and have often delayed workflows or caused problems.

Shadrack
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My appreciation of Accounting Seed

Reviewed on 27/3/2022

It makes transaction processing easier and provides the needed support for virtual work.

Pros

It makes virtual work very easy! It is cloud based and one can work from anywhere.

Cons

Report building is a bit cumbersome and should be improved upon.

Bharat
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Insight Accounting Seed

Reviewed on 16/2/2022

We are designing accounting solutions for all-size companies using accounting seed, and all are like it.

Pros

User-friendly, easy to use, more accurate

Cons

Reports are hard to customize, Limited Gl Accounts

Rohiet
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Features Insight

Reviewed on 23/2/2022

Extremely happy with Customer service

Pros

Makes accounting Easy, attractive reports to analyze balance sheet

Cons

Limited Customization enabled for developers

Sadish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Product!

Reviewed on 7/6/2022

Pros

Customer Support, Product Feature, Flexibility to integrate with Salesforce

Cons

n/a

Doug
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Bad experience

Reviewed on 30/8/2019

Pros

We were not able to use the accounting software because we were never fully implemented by their partner.

Cons

service and support wasn't helpful. After the software cancellation due to their partner going out of business, they cancelled our subscription and our salesforce instance ground to a halt. Very hard to get a hold of someone to help out solve the issue. Our SF org was left unusable.

Response from Accounting Seed

In response to this review, Covered by Sage received a full refund for the unused portion of their contract. The partner being referred to did not go out of business - they were bought by a larger firm. Several members of our support team have been in constant contact with Doug and have provided alternate solutions. We offered the company a solution that would have kept their implementation moving forward, but they turned down this option. Additionally, the company's Salesforce instance was not purchased through Accounting Seed. Therefore, their Salesforce instance will remain fully functional, even after their cancellation is complete. Our goal is to keep our customers moving towards success. Unfortunately, this organization turned down the options we provided.