116 reviews

xTuple

Inventory Management Solutions for Growing Manufacturers

4.2 /5 (116 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
84%
recommended this app
116 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

It's been a really solid solution for our client

Reviewed on 2/7/2018

The ability to create a custom solution that perfectly fit our client's needs.

Pros

I think the extendability of the software has to the the strongest feature. Great care has gone into letting you add features in a very maintainable fashion.

Cons

Sometimes I find that though most of the backend logic is encapsulated within the database - which is an interesting, seemingly solid model - there is some logic that still lives within the client software.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. What version of xTuple are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He's always looking for stories on how companies are using the system, especially about customizations, to help other similar businesses. We are also working on standing up a scripting library which might be of use to you. Feel free to contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

David P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

from initially hating the product, i am very comfortable with

Reviewed on 2/7/2018

Ability to obtain accurate and timely information for reports

Pros

Very powerful. Provides us with accurate information, once one really knows how the program works. Compared to other ERP programs, it is a lot less costly.

Cons

Reconciliation feature needs a lot of work. Look at Quickbooks to see how easy it is.
Still need the ability to print a P&L for a specific period that can be adjusted(e.g. 1 days or 1 week).
Not easy to customize(need to be a programmer)
Would like to see it work better in a Mac environment (ability to magnify screen when needed)
Would like to see an app that I can use on my iPad

Response from xTuple

Thank you, David, for your honest review and your investment in xTuple Manufacturing. RE: your P&L, here¿s some great tutorials on the Financial reporting engine (FRE); it¿s really a robust reporting tool that doesn¿t require programmer-level knowledge: https://xtupleuniversity.xtuple.com/library/videos/financial-reporting-engine-part-1

Let¿s ensure you're on the latest version of the software; your Account Rep can help: https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services

P.S. Watch for us to change the game and launch a new category of solutions in September 2019!

Darryl H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

ASL xTuple Review

Reviewed on 1/10/2018

We are an aerospace company manufacturing in Thailand, Philippines and China. Traceability on Apple platform was our main focus. Now we are looking at functionality on quality.

Pros

Fairly straight forward ERP
CRM is good
Traceability is good

Cons

but handling of blanket customer orders is not good.
Manuals not real good on defining use. Very high level and not sufficient to train people.
Quality process is not consistent with industry requirements of 8D reporting

Response from xTuple

Thank you, Darryl, for your review and your long-term use of xTuple, not to mention recommendations over the years to your business friends. Please be sure to let us know how we can help to improve your experience with the software even more: https://xtuple.com/contact-us

Shubh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

xTuple has been a robust softare solution that does require little to moderate time to plug...

Reviewed on 5/7/2018

It's fairly easy to get going with xTuple but does require a keen understanding of both the technological, people and process behind designing the logic to execute. The key benefit is the low cost to get started with the free version. The more our firm grows, we are looking at the commercial version to support varied functionality.

Pros

I like how you can integrate it across different platforms. Further, specialized features and functionality can be integrated with their open source solution.

Cons

I dislike that a lot of the key features we needed required the help of a consultant and some feature development.

Response from xTuple

Thanks Shubh. Watch for xTuple to shake up a 40+ year old industry with a new option in September 2019!

Angela L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Xtuple is complex and very powerful if you know how to use it otherwise it can be difficult to...

Reviewed on 29/6/2018

Pros

I like the date and user stamping for each transaction which really helps with auditing. I also like the way transactions are connected like from PO, to receiving document, to invoice and from SO, to invoice, to cash receipt, you can search back to the start of a transaction.

Cons

Sometimes the software lacks flexibility for instance the Purchase Order auto fills the vendor terms and there is not a way to override the due date when entering the invoice.

The reconciliation tool could be more user friendly for instance the deposit amounts sort alphabetically instead of numerically and when you view notes in the checks area it makes all the transactions several lines deep and you are not able to view very many transactions at a time. Also the reconciliation reports are entirely useless since all JE transactions are considered "Adjustments" and deposits and expenditures are combined without showing if the value is positive (went in to the account) or negative (came out of the account).

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review and investment in xTuple Manufacturing. Your ERP is a powerful tool with many options for default settings to automatically populate fields. Reach out to your system administrator or let¿s connect you with our Professional Services Team to ensure you¿ve got everything configured just like you need it, for the job you have: https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services They may also recommend a class or direct you to some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com.

Mike D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great value

Reviewed on 23/2/2017

We have had a great deal of success adapting the Xtuple software to our business, which has many peculiarities you would not normally expect a non-custom system to handle. Our relationship with the Xtuple family has always been wonderful. With no in-house programmer we have had to rely on the team there and especially Customer support representative who has always come through for us.

Pros

Adaptability and ease of customization.

Cons

Some degradation of speed as files grow.

Mike R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Consultant's View of xTuple

Reviewed on 28/9/2018

A client approached me to help them setup a playbox with their data. After we helped them do simple setup activities, GL Accounts, Parts, BOMs/BOOs, customers, suppliers, etc. we used real data to simulate a week in the life. By the end of the week, the client was confident that xTuple would assist them in doing their daily work with little interruption to their real business of making products.

Pros

Intuitiveness for me and the customers I worked to implement

Cons

The online help could be improved a bit

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review and so glad to hear you're engaged in ERP support with a valuable xTuple customer. We're always working diligently to improve support options. Have you thought of becoming an ERP consultant with xTuple's program? When it comes to small business, the ERP emperors have no clothes¿ Watch for us to change the game and launch a new category of solutions (and VAR program) in September 2019!

Jim W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I've worked with ERP software for more than 20 years. Xtuple is my current platform of choice.

Reviewed on 25/9/2017

Pros

I like the open source platform and the ability to extend and customize as needed. The ability to customze allows us to integrate with other systems as requested by our customers.

Cons

The user interface can be a bit complex on some screens. With the amount of data presented that is a common complaint.

John G.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I use Postbooks which is the public xTuple version. I like the software. It is highly capable.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

Pros

The software is highly capable with inventory, manufacturing, client development and tracking, and, of course, accounting. I like that it runs against PostgreSQL data base which is extremely robust and capable data base.

Cons

I do not like that the Linux version only runs on rather older Ubuntu platforms and does not stay up to date with the latest Postgres data base versions. I have suggested on the community forums that the Linux version of Postbooks/xTuble be developed as a Flatpak development project so it would run on on Linux platforms that support Flatpak which, I think, includes most.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good accounting software - blows quickbooks out of the water

Reviewed on 28/9/2018

Pretty good - esp with handling purchases and assets and when you have to do your own accounting since almost all the accountants in my area are incompetent (and im not even an accountant)

Pros

Its much more thorough and such. Downside is that you do need knowledge/skills in understanding out to set up your database (not made for dummies like quick books). Other than that, i personally prefer dekstop based apps vs web based ones (primarily due to speed for executing the platform on a desktop vs chrome/firefix/microsoft edge, etc)

Cons

Setting up thag data base is a PITA...should deff work on making it more dummy friendly

Response from xTuple

Thanks! We keep asking the same question you are ¿ why are smaller companies continuing to select an option that history has proven is a disaster for them? The answer is simple, there hasn¿t BEEN another option ¿ IN-BETWEEN ¿ once companies outgrow QuickBooks. We¿re going to fix that ¿ watch for an announcement on a brand new IT choice for small companies like yours who do big things in this world!

Ken M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It's been a very positive one. I have no reservations using xTuple to manage my business.

Reviewed on 22/9/2017

Pros

xTuple's project billing is huge. I use projects quite a bit and I love the integration of projects into the ERP.

Cons

Not much to dislike but the ability to update tables from CSV Import rather from temp tables would be appreciated.

Va X.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Lots of Feature, needs accessibility and navigation upgrade

Reviewed on 28/9/2018

Able to view date of transactions, quantity, and availability .

Pros

Lots of feature and options to group items by date, item code, transactions, etc.

Cons

Some of the features are not able to be accessed and viewed.

Response from xTuple

Thank you, Va, for your review of xTuple. Could you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, and what missing features you see. Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Thomas S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Struggle

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

Fully functional ERP

Pros

Full featured. Has all required elements of an ERP system. Modularity allows control of what users can and cannot access.

Cons

Not well documented. Not necessarily intuitive to use. The training recommended is basic to the point of being almost useless. Only covers the simplest of scenarios.

Dennis M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Fair to good customer service

Reviewed on 19/9/2017

A stable platform

Pros

I like it because it is windows based and its customizable. The price tag for the software is very attractive and the yearly maintenance fee is fair as well

Cons

Big learning curve if you try to customize it your self. We feel that we have been left behind in upgrade especially not knowing how to do it. There seems to be a disconnection between the end-user like us and xtuple of the explanation of how to complete certain tasks like month-end and year-end also the ability to upgrade without having to pay for a middleman to come to our location. Which can cost thousands of dollars. Also knowing what the upgrade changes are before you upgrade to the next level would be nice

Griffins O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I love xtuple so much because its open source.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

Zero ERP costs

Pros

Comprehensive. All my clients need are well sorted out by the ERP. The Procurement process and sales are well covered.

Cons

Its APIs are not very well documented. It could mean alot it they helped expand the current documentation.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review. Glad you find the free and open source version of PostBooks¿ easy to use for your growing business (hence the name ¿post¿ quickbooks). Let us know when you need help with an upgrade: https://xtuple.com/contact-us We¿re going in a different direction with APIs, so stay tuned for new documentation. Post any ¿How do I¿¿ questions in the Community Forums for help: https://forums.xtuple.com

Fodil B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good product,quick updates and the support team listen to us for help or advice.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

centralize ERP System and custom report.

Pros

Easy to use and the GUI is well made.The icons helps to find the features quickly.
Customizable,it is a very important thing for us.

Cons

The lacks of test for the new updates.When we migrate to a newer version,sometime we discover a lot of basic broken features or weird behavior.We test it with our version and the yellow truck to be sure is not from our side.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pretty good once we upgraded to the purchased program.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

Pros

Lot Serial Tracking, Copying Item Data,Sales Order Entry,Packing List Reports.

Ability to get a response on bugs so that we can fix them in a timely manner.

Cons

Overall look- I don't think the design is overall user friendly. Its better than it use to be but could use a little work.

I would like to be able to use the program on phone to check inventory. So maybe a mobile app would be nice.

Other than that I think it works efficiently enough for our use.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for taking the time to review. What version of xTuple are you using? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? Sounds like you might be missing some valuable help and ROI for your company. Feel free to contact us (we're here to help!): https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Matt G.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Xtuple is very flexible and capable of very complex transactions and customized routines.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

exposure to other types of accounting setup. The software install is still very clunky and difficult to use. We need to use our old system side by side with it. Was hoping to drop the old system by now.
We could really use someone to help us config it more.

Pros

The price, customizability, open source code. Able to interface with other programs and databases.
True enterprise funtions and modules. The startup costs are very affordable.

Cons

Very difficult to find help with the software. The manuals and support are expensive and often non existant to my experience

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review of the free PostBooks¿ community product. I believe you may be on an older version? Upgrading often addresses most concerns. Let's be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

Roland W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Open source ERP that delivers

Reviewed on 8/10/2018

As a software developer and open source solutions specialist we don't manufacture items and our own product as well as the product from our vendor partners is rather ethereal and so isn't stocked. But once we had attached a "physical" presence to electronically transmitted support contracts and longer term consulting engagements, receiving in, shipping and invoicing became second nature and remarkably accurate. Financials are solid but do spend time getting your head around VAT processes.

Pros

There are many ERP solutions and there is plenty of open source software. xTuple is different because it is an open source ERP solution that does actually work.

ERP does require quite an amount of configuration and management and xTuple is no different. Understanding how ERP works if pretty core to making any ERP solution work but once you have that, once you have committed the effort to properly configure it, xTuple provides the sort of solution that suppliers of vastly more expensive alternatives would argue is out of reach of open source software. xTuple does have a knowledgeable and helpful community and plenty of plugings and add-ons to ensure that it provides the solution that you need. If it doesn't, then the PostgreSQL background and QT foreground make it sufficiently simple for you to make your own modifications.

Cons

As open source solutions go, there are remarkably few quirkinesses but those that do exist do require some thinking around. Like most ERP solutions, it demands that it follows it's processes so deviate and you are in for some pain. The key to a successful implementation is learning how it works. If you have never implemented ERP before then you are strongly advised to either dedicate quite some time to getting it wrong and starting again or bringing in someone with the expertise and experience. Fortunately, xTuple will help you there!

Response from xTuple

Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product, Roland. Sounds like you've got great knowledge of the system. Let us know how we can help with any increased functionality you need.

Carol C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Xtuple Review

Reviewed on 12/2/2019

Our experience with the applications listed under what we like best has been very good. Based on the way we have use the system we have been unable to use MRP to date. However, I think this is more our issue than an XTuple issue.

Pros

Inventory tracking and financial tracking and reports. The sales module also provides needed reports and information

Cons

Currently the CRM does not allow us to track conversion rates or other metrics. It does not provide any true metric reporting features. We have had to purchase outside software and now the sales team is having to update two separate databases. This was one thing I was hoping to avoid.

The same is true for project management.

Response from xTuple

Carol - Thank you for a great review. You are correct: xTuple is not a very metric-oriented system. It wasn't designed for modern marketers and business analysts. It's more of a data collection and repository system. However, your review is a very good example of giving us helpful information on where the product could be improved. We're actually working on integrations with other softwares (such as data visualization and marketing automation) that could be excellent, cost-effective opportunities to solve your issues.

Your success with xTuple relies on expert ERP consultants to help with your customization needs. (You've already engaged a great consultant, too!) With that said, we'll email you offline. Using MRP is an issue that your consultant can help with. And some of what you need sounds like a report to us, and one that would be a good addition to the core product (ex: CRM conversion rate), so we'd ask you to submit a Feature Request.

Rick H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid System with Good Track Record of Improvement

Reviewed on 3/2/2017

Our company implemented the Xtuple system and have used it now for approx 9 years. We originally purchased it as it had all the primary features one would expect in an ERP system, it featured a great deal of what we were looking for, and it was at an affordable price structure as well. Over these years we've found the system to be very stable platform for our business, and we've been impressed with the ongoing development and roll outs of new and expanded features. Xtuple has also come a long way in providing high quality training materials.
In addition, and very importantly, their support staff have been top notch, exhibiting high skill capabilities, and timely responses. They've even come to our aid with issues that were clearly user caused, not system bugs.
In short, I'd highly recommend Xtuple for any business as a high quality system with a team that seems dedicated to ongoing improvement. Great software and compares very well to much more expensive systems.

Pros

Has all the features of much more expensive systems, and they continue to improve on a continuing basis. The 'Workbench' features make several tasks much easier.

Cons

Some menu features aren't readily apparent, although they work well once fully understood.

Jason D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product and appreciate the Postbooks free version very much!!!

Reviewed on 2/7/2018

What I needed for free.

Pros

Great inventory and manufacturing controls. I'm very confident if I grow Xtuple is the way to go. I've used quickbooks before and hate it. Xtuple is not the easiest thing to set up but it's not too much harder than others out there that have the same or less functionality.

Cons

Setting up automatic local backups are tough, wanted to set up Barman but was taking too much time. Tried another app but could not figure out how to restore my database with the backups it makes. Backing up manually using pgAdminIII is what I have to do now and it's not that bad really as long as a person remembers to do it.

Ease of use setting up database and backing up could be better, but functionality is more important

Response from xTuple

Thanks for the review as a user of the free and open source version of PostBooks¿, a great alternative to QuickBooks for your growing business (hence the name -post- quickbooks). We¿d like to help with your need to upgrade. Please contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Xtuple

Reviewed on 1/2/2019

Like any software there is no perfect system, but overall we are very happy with our choice. If I had to go back and make the decision again I would still go with this software.

Pros

I love that this is an open system allowing us to customize it to our needs. I always hear about other companies who use the big name system and how they are doing something that actually hurts their business but they have no choice because that is how the system works. With Xtuple we can do anything!

Cons

I wish they had more integration such as with receipt management systems to allow for easy entry direct into the software.

Response from xTuple

Thanks for your review. ERP is definitely not for the faint of heart, and the open platform is a BIG help. Thanks for the integration idea(s) - keep 'em coming! Let us know if you want to hear more about that later this year...

Shree V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have installed, maintain and trained on xTuple for +6 on various OS's (Linux/Windows/Mac)

Reviewed on 20/9/2017

Enterprise resource planning (ERP) is business process management software that runs your whole business that is feature rich and customizable at a price point of a basic accounting program.

A company that is committed to responding and helping to grow your business with a single pane of glass.

Pros

1. As a non-practicing CPA, I love that this system follows GAAP and is auditable .
2. The cost of the software is excellent in comparison to other ERP system on the market.
3. This company truly listens to their users on features and bugs. You have a proactive roll in the development of the software, which is refreshing.
4. In partner and customer training you actually get to meet and talk with the developers.

Cons

1. The out of the box reports (screen or/ and printed) reports don't have column totals
2. Printing of Detail Aging report
3. The need for more videos of understanding and using the varies forms of RMA's, and Reports
4. They need videos on the advance class, even it only accessible by a pay wall.
5. They need a online updated flow chart (Business Flows) of the menus and sections

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

Grace E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

xTuple is a great entry-level ERP system.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

The ability to get an ERP system that is cloud-based with low barriers to entry.

Pros

Ability to combine manufacturing with traditional finance/accounting/sales orders. Detailed multi-level bills of material are possible with items at separate locations if necessary. Cycle counting can be done in a batch process, which cuts down on time. Exporting data with formatting is fantastic for Excel or CSV.

Cons

Much reporting has to be custom-built, no item master matrix, no sales order history by location by customer, would like to see more high & low-level detailed reporting built into the software. The ability to adjust posted invoicing would be great.