xTuple

4.2 (116)
Inventory Management Solutions for Growing Manufacturers

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(116)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.0/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Support
4/5

84%
recommended this app

116 Software options

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pretty good once we upgraded to the purchased program.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

Pros

Lot Serial Tracking, Copying Item Data,Sales Order Entry,Packing List Reports.

Ability to get a response on bugs so that we can fix them in a timely manner.

Cons

Overall look- I don't think the design is overall user friendly. Its better than it use to be but could use a little work.

I would like to be able to use the program on phone to check inventory. So maybe a mobile app would be nice.

Other than that I think it works efficiently enough for our use.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for taking the time to review. What version of xTuple are you using? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? Sounds like you might be missing some valuable help and ROI for your company. Feel free to contact us (we're here to help!): https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Matt G.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Xtuple is very flexible and capable of very complex transactions and customized routines.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

exposure to other types of accounting setup. The software install is still very clunky and difficult to use. We need to use our old system side by side with it. Was hoping to drop the old system by now.
We could really use someone to help us config it more.

Pros

The price, customizability, open source code. Able to interface with other programs and databases.
True enterprise funtions and modules. The startup costs are very affordable.

Cons

Very difficult to find help with the software. The manuals and support are expensive and often non existant to my experience

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review of the free PostBooks¿ community product. I believe you may be on an older version? Upgrading often addresses most concerns. Let's be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

Roland W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Open source ERP that delivers

Reviewed on 8/10/2018

As a software developer and open source solutions specialist we don't manufacture items and our own product as well as the product from our vendor partners is rather ethereal and so isn't stocked. But once we had attached a "physical" presence to electronically transmitted support contracts and longer term consulting engagements, receiving in, shipping and invoicing became second nature and remarkably accurate. Financials are solid but do spend time getting your head around VAT processes.

Pros

There are many ERP solutions and there is plenty of open source software. xTuple is different because it is an open source ERP solution that does actually work.

ERP does require quite an amount of configuration and management and xTuple is no different. Understanding how ERP works if pretty core to making any ERP solution work but once you have that, once you have committed the effort to properly configure it, xTuple provides the sort of solution that suppliers of vastly more expensive alternatives would argue is out of reach of open source software. xTuple does have a knowledgeable and helpful community and plenty of plugings and add-ons to ensure that it provides the solution that you need. If it doesn't, then the PostgreSQL background and QT foreground make it sufficiently simple for you to make your own modifications.

Cons

As open source solutions go, there are remarkably few quirkinesses but those that do exist do require some thinking around. Like most ERP solutions, it demands that it follows it's processes so deviate and you are in for some pain. The key to a successful implementation is learning how it works. If you have never implemented ERP before then you are strongly advised to either dedicate quite some time to getting it wrong and starting again or bringing in someone with the expertise and experience. Fortunately, xTuple will help you there!

Response from xTuple

Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product, Roland. Sounds like you've got great knowledge of the system. Let us know how we can help with any increased functionality you need.

Carol C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Xtuple Review

Reviewed on 12/2/2019

Our experience with the applications listed under what we like best has been very good. Based on the way we have use the system we have been unable to use MRP to date. However, I think this is more our issue than an XTuple issue.

Pros

Inventory tracking and financial tracking and reports. The sales module also provides needed reports and information

Cons

Currently the CRM does not allow us to track conversion rates or other metrics. It does not provide any true metric reporting features. We have had to purchase outside software and now the sales team is having to update two separate databases. This was one thing I was hoping to avoid.

The same is true for project management.

Response from xTuple

Carol - Thank you for a great review. You are correct: xTuple is not a very metric-oriented system. It wasn't designed for modern marketers and business analysts. It's more of a data collection and repository system. However, your review is a very good example of giving us helpful information on where the product could be improved. We're actually working on integrations with other softwares (such as data visualization and marketing automation) that could be excellent, cost-effective opportunities to solve your issues.

Your success with xTuple relies on expert ERP consultants to help with your customization needs. (You've already engaged a great consultant, too!) With that said, we'll email you offline. Using MRP is an issue that your consultant can help with. And some of what you need sounds like a report to us, and one that would be a good addition to the core product (ex: CRM conversion rate), so we'd ask you to submit a Feature Request.

Rick H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid System with Good Track Record of Improvement

Reviewed on 3/2/2017

Our company implemented the Xtuple system and have used it now for approx 9 years. We originally purchased it as it had all the primary features one would expect in an ERP system, it featured a great deal of what we were looking for, and it was at an affordable price structure as well. Over these years we've found the system to be very stable platform for our business, and we've been impressed with the ongoing development and roll outs of new and expanded features. Xtuple has also come a long way in providing high quality training materials.
In addition, and very importantly, their support staff have been top notch, exhibiting high skill capabilities, and timely responses. They've even come to our aid with issues that were clearly user caused, not system bugs.
In short, I'd highly recommend Xtuple for any business as a high quality system with a team that seems dedicated to ongoing improvement. Great software and compares very well to much more expensive systems.

Pros

Has all the features of much more expensive systems, and they continue to improve on a continuing basis. The 'Workbench' features make several tasks much easier.

Cons

Some menu features aren't readily apparent, although they work well once fully understood.

Jason D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product and appreciate the Postbooks free version very much!!!

Reviewed on 2/7/2018

What I needed for free.

Pros

Great inventory and manufacturing controls. I'm very confident if I grow Xtuple is the way to go. I've used quickbooks before and hate it. Xtuple is not the easiest thing to set up but it's not too much harder than others out there that have the same or less functionality.

Cons

Setting up automatic local backups are tough, wanted to set up Barman but was taking too much time. Tried another app but could not figure out how to restore my database with the backups it makes. Backing up manually using pgAdminIII is what I have to do now and it's not that bad really as long as a person remembers to do it.

Ease of use setting up database and backing up could be better, but functionality is more important

Response from xTuple

Thanks for the review as a user of the free and open source version of PostBooks¿, a great alternative to QuickBooks for your growing business (hence the name -post- quickbooks). We¿d like to help with your need to upgrade. Please contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Xtuple

Reviewed on 1/2/2019

Like any software there is no perfect system, but overall we are very happy with our choice. If I had to go back and make the decision again I would still go with this software.

Pros

I love that this is an open system allowing us to customize it to our needs. I always hear about other companies who use the big name system and how they are doing something that actually hurts their business but they have no choice because that is how the system works. With Xtuple we can do anything!

Cons

I wish they had more integration such as with receipt management systems to allow for easy entry direct into the software.

Response from xTuple

Thanks for your review. ERP is definitely not for the faint of heart, and the open platform is a BIG help. Thanks for the integration idea(s) - keep 'em coming! Let us know if you want to hear more about that later this year...

Shree V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have installed, maintain and trained on xTuple for +6 on various OS's (Linux/Windows/Mac)

Reviewed on 20/9/2017

Enterprise resource planning (ERP) is business process management software that runs your whole business that is feature rich and customizable at a price point of a basic accounting program.

A company that is committed to responding and helping to grow your business with a single pane of glass.

Pros

1. As a non-practicing CPA, I love that this system follows GAAP and is auditable .
2. The cost of the software is excellent in comparison to other ERP system on the market.
3. This company truly listens to their users on features and bugs. You have a proactive roll in the development of the software, which is refreshing.
4. In partner and customer training you actually get to meet and talk with the developers.

Cons

1. The out of the box reports (screen or/ and printed) reports don't have column totals
2. Printing of Detail Aging report
3. The need for more videos of understanding and using the varies forms of RMA's, and Reports
4. They need videos on the advance class, even it only accessible by a pay wall.
5. They need a online updated flow chart (Business Flows) of the menus and sections

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

Grace E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

xTuple is a great entry-level ERP system.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

The ability to get an ERP system that is cloud-based with low barriers to entry.

Pros

Ability to combine manufacturing with traditional finance/accounting/sales orders. Detailed multi-level bills of material are possible with items at separate locations if necessary. Cycle counting can be done in a batch process, which cuts down on time. Exporting data with formatting is fantastic for Excel or CSV.

Cons

Much reporting has to be custom-built, no item master matrix, no sales order history by location by customer, would like to see more high & low-level detailed reporting built into the software. The ability to adjust posted invoicing would be great.

Nicholas D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

there are some things that need to be tweaked but overall it works for our need

Reviewed on 3/7/2018

i can do my job.

Pros

The software is user friendly, very easy to use.

Cons

upgrades change all the settings. when attaching a document you should just be able to drag and drop

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review. Glad you find the application easy to use. Drag and drop is nice when you¿ve got a simple process; however, your ERP is a powerful tool and includes a complicated and multi-faceted relational database. Let¿s connect you with our Professional Services Team to ensure you¿ve got everything configured just like you need it, for the job you have: https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services They may also recommend a class or direct you to some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com. -- Carolyn

James Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My company runs on xTuple every day, day in and day out

Reviewed on 27/2/2017

My company has used xTuple for the past seven years. We use xTuple for so many aspects including sales, orders, processing, manufacturing, warehouse, accounting, royalties, commissions, and now e-commerce. This excellent software is produced by a company that understands manufacturing, daily challenges and ever changing technology. PS: I have a food company and xTuple is perfect for lot traceability.

Pros

Constant improvement.

Cons

Reports could be more plentiful and easier to write.

Anthony F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good overall functionality but still can be buggy from time to time.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

Pros

Great value. Allows our small enterprise to be competitive in a sector dominated by large companies.

Cons

Missing some basic functionality on the manufacturing side.
US-oriented functionality (we are a Canadian client).
Releases could include more feature releases and improvements.
Weak in terms of reporting/analytics.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review. We're always working diligently to improve. Watch for us to change the game and launch a new category of solutions in September 2019!

Zachary R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Working with a knowledgeable and experienced team that backs a reliable open source MRP.

Reviewed on 19/9/2017

Pros

xTuple is a solid and reliable open source MRP/ERP system. It gives our company the flexibility to do what we need to solve challenges ranging from production to accounting, and with the same database server allows us to accomplish our main priority of serving our customers well and solving their problems.

Cons

Not having a complete mobile interface for the main application does limit being able to use mobile devices.

Christian M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Value for your money

Reviewed on 9/2/2017

I have used xTuple for 4 years and absolutely love the functionality of it as well as the ease of use. The report writing capabilities are great and allow you to create reports from scratch.

There are several ways to perform the same task so that experience could use some improvement but overall, a great system to use.

Pros

Customizability of the software and custom reporting.

Cons

Too many screens and too many ways to perform the same task. User experience needs some improvement.

Anita B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great overall for the money

Reviewed on 30/6/2018

Pros

- Visually appealing,
- Easy to find what your looking for
- The quick buttons with icons make access to what you need frequently easier

Cons

- Ease to change report appearances (took a long time for us to get it to not overlap itself)
- Wish you could change the TE and invoice at the same time without having to delete the invoice and edit the TE to re-create the invoice
- When you enter a PO on a TE it would be nice if it carried through the whole TE rather than entering again (if you don't enter it on every entry it doesn't convert over to the invoice)
- When creating Statements its a bit wonky, you can select a particular date but the date you print it appears on the statement rather than the date you selected.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? You¿ll find that upgrading will address your concerns listed. Please chat with xTuple¿s professional team, they can help you set the system up just as you want https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services.

And be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

Joel W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I've used xTuple for about nine years and it has been a great system for my company.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

Pros

The aspect of this software I like most is the ability to customize it to suit our business needs.

Cons

Updating the software can sometimes create issues. I understand software development is an iterative process that needs debugging but there are times when something that has never been broken (or has been fixed previously) breaks after the update.

Mike M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It is functional an open source accounting program expandable and it serve its purpose

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

As with all software, it needs to fit you applicational needs and there is a great deal of flexibility built into xTuple

Pros

You can ensure it's functionality for free and expand it with the open source framework or purchase pre built modules for many business aspects of accountability.

Cons

I would have to check the response time of the e-commerce module again. What it I don't have 100 characters of cons do I have to make some up.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review. Glad you find the free and open source version of PostBooks¿ easy to use for your growing business (hence the name ¿post¿ quickbooks). Hope you¿ll recommend us to your business friends. Let us know when you need help with an upgrade: https://xtuple.com/contact-us Post your ¿How do I¿¿ questions in the Community Forums for help: https://forums.xtuple.com

Mazy B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very straightforward

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

Pros

That it's easy to use, fast, rigid data input, user permissions, etc.
Production & work orders are fluid & exact.

Cons

Reporting is not very flexible, hard to track financials & manipulate the data to reflect what is needed

Areane Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

xTuple is all you need in a Manufacturing Industry!

Reviewed on 9/2/2018

Pros

I am using the software for like two years. I like the concept of customization depending on the employees' ease of use for better output. Very accommodating team and always open for customization as I said. Spreadsheets content can upload to the software also. A high quality software and highly recommended to the companies who wants to integrate their systems.

Israel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good and Reliable Software

Reviewed on 21/8/2018

Pros

This software helps to run the operations in production. Everything you need is in that software. And it is always open for customization.

Cons

None so far. The Support Team is accommodating as well.

Graham T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Full of bugs. Not very user -friendly. Outdated interface.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

Pros

Has some useful features. Database platform is very sound, even if the database desing is the worst I have seen in my years of database work.

Cons

Full of bugs which is concerning when we have to report our results to the tax authority. Not very user -friendly. Outdated interface. Can get different numbers by looking at different screens in the app - worrying! Poorly designed database.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review of the free PostBooks¿ community product. I believe you may be on an older version? Upgrading often addresses most concerns. If you're no longer using PostBooks®, please let us know, so we can update your Account.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Site for Getting a Job

Reviewed on 8/2/2019

Pros

This site offers grate testing and interviewer features. You got to pass several test to get to the interview, which I never had enough time to complete. However, it was challenging and worth looking into

Cons

Not that i'm picky but I think it could use a better GUI

Response from xTuple

Thanks, if you were using the free PostBooks¿ community product, it definitely was not meant to keep pace with sophisticated needs. Watch for an announcement this fall on a brand new IT choice for small companies like yours who do big things in this world!

Karl B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I happily use xTuple as an alternative to QuickBooks for running my business.

Reviewed on 9/7/2018

Pros

I find the product to be very robust in terms of features. The setup is a bit more complicated than commercial software but is not too difficult. Once setup things are very nice. I found the software easy to configure and use. Very happy so far.

Cons

The biggest con is that the installation can be bit tough. It helps if you have a linux background but it's not absolutely necessary.

Response from xTuple

Thank you for your review. Glad you find the free and open source version of PostBooks¿ easy to use and a good alternative to QuickBooks for your growing business (hence the name ¿post¿ quickbooks). Hope you¿ll recommend us to your business friends. Let us know when you need help with an upgrade: https://xtuple.com/contact-us

David Z.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Terrific Software....easy to use

Reviewed on 21/9/2017

Pros

Open Source....Configurable, immediate ROI. Support from Support desk is solid. Modifications developed are easily implemented.

Famous O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

xTuple Review

Reviewed on 17/10/2018

Pros

Ease of use after initial setup is a breeze

Cons

initial installation was a hazle and the pricing structure

Response from xTuple

Thanks for your very nice review. Are you using the most recent release of PostBooks®? Let's ensure you have an updated license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration