Chartio Reviews

Chartio

Cloud business intelligence & analytics for everyday users

4.5/5 (32 reviews)
Jan G.

Great choice for all our reporting and BI needs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

From starting with very few and scattered reports to - after over three years - building all out multifacetted reporting for a strongly growing ecommerce business, Chartio has served us well. The tool keeps evolving and customer care and support has always been excellent :)

Pros

The framework is robust and performant, the platform allows for quick and insightful analyses as well as powerful report programming equally well which makes it a great bridge between solutions that anyone can setup and framworks that require more advanced programming skills.

Cons

There is room for improvement on the adaptability of some of the reports' design options.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Enterprise-grade BI for mid-market price and complexity

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/6/2018
Review Source: Capterra

BI, visualization, SQL queries, Postgres visualization, BigQuery visualization

Pros

With Chartio, you can run from data to visualization in seconds, even if you don't know SQL. Chartio has a visual editor, clear and easy joins and table keys, a huge range of preconfigured data sources, and easy dashboard and folder management. Chartio is also one of the few, if not the only BI tool that can be embedded into your app and managed through tokens or SAML authentication. All in all, expect professional grade BI power without the cost or complexity.

Cons

Cons are limited for Chartio. I found no issues with the querying or visualization itself, but did run into issues clarifying errors or linking data correctly. We also struggled to auto-refresh schemas, which in an environment where schemas change constantly, means a refresh cycle every week.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Luis P.

Chartio has been key to our success

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 28/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Chartio shows us key information for our partners to see and compare our numbers with other vendors. It has been great and the partner seems to love it. However, I feel it can be better in so many ways for the user to find it easier to use.

Pros

I liked the many boards you can create with numerous amount of data within them. You can also organize them properly to be pretty to the eye.

Cons

It is hard to program and sometimes frustrating to set everything up.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

We use Chartio for our data presentation for our team.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ability to write SQL and pull the necessary data from our database helps our team stay on top of the most recent initiatives.

Cons

There are limits to the charts that's can be presented - in terms of types of charts like pie charts vs bar graphs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nono G.

Great way to dig deep into analytics or a general overview!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 22/2/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Chartio is a powerful software that we rely on to keep track of our marketing efforts. It's great for gathering data from multiple sources and displaying them brilliantly in simple and colourful charts. It's also super reliable.

Cons

You may need some SQL knowledge even to create simple charts. Also, customization can be limited sometimes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Todd H.

Analyst to Executive - the only dashboarding tool we need

Reviewed on 8/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Chartio is simply, simple. Regardless of whether you are a data scientist (me) or an executive (my co-founder), Chartio just lets you get the dashboard creation process done with least number of clicks. It's powerful enough for exploratory analysis and the user access controls makes controlling information an absolute breeze.

Cons

My only grime is not supporting a larger number of native integrations. Google Analytics, Salesforce and Segment are great however I'd like a few advertising and finance partners added.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Heather S.

Best analytics tool for a startup

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 17/2/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Chartio has been a game changer for our business analytics function. We chose to use it because of its ability to use raw SQL (making it incredibly flexible). There is a bit of a learning curve for non-technical ops people, but once you're over the hump, the functionality and insight into key metrics is unparalleled. Their customer service is top notch as well...always available and willing to help with specific use-case questions.

Pros

It integrates with Segment, so we can pull in data from many of our other end products/platforms

Cons

The ability to integrate dashboards into your own website is available, but the product itself in this form performs very poorly in this case. Chartio is much better used as a stand-alone product. If you want users across your company to view dashboard data without eating up "seats", your best option is to schedule static dashboards via email.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Ease to implement, manage and use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that you can easily integrate data from Amazon Redshift to CSV files, blend them by using the Data Pipeline and visualize them interactively in Dashboard.

Cons

The grafical user interface when inserting custom functions in the Data Pipeline; the visualization can be improved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
James G.

One of the Best I've Used

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Starting with dispersed data we now have one place for it. We also now have a single place to create reporting where before it was happening all over. Modeling a complex multi-touch model would take months to do and this technology allowed us to be up and running in less than a month. The only challenges we faced were caused by our own data quality.

Pros

The ability to pull in so many different data sets from so many different places. As a marketer pulling in data from google analytics, AdWords, automation platform, salesforce, etc. really allowed us to fast-track our reporting and made it to where we do not have to build a custom data model but get out of the box plug-ins with Chartio. The modeling is simple and easy to follow.

Cons

I really have yet to find something I dislike

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Very Useful Data Tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 15/7/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I love using it to track!

Pros

A very organized way of tracking data and trends for our company

Cons

Sometimes some of the pages/reports were a little busy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Sasha O.

Chart.io makes us smarter

Reviewed on 9/7/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The visualization tools are great for spotting trends, board meetings, investor updates, and dashboards. But mostly they are constantly updating the product, which shows they love and care about data analysis and visualization.

Cons

Creating dashboards is easy to do, hard to make look good.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ling ling L.

Chartio offers a dashboard-like style of organizing data into tables and charts.

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 4/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Organizing data into a report and downloading capabilities.

Pros

- Many different chart options are available -- great for graphs!
- Able to organize data into a table format.
- Able to highlight certain data values, or change the text to make things more noticeable.
- Activity log
- Ability to search for any report/dashboard.
- Able to add any data tables you need.
- Great support team

Cons

- OR statements are a bit cumbersome, but glad the option exists and is doable.
- Depending on the data used, sometimes other chart views aren't possible aside from tables.
- The dashboard-like style is okay, but having lots of tables in one dashboard makes me wish I could view the reports in a list-form instead.
- Customized styling/formatting (e.g., highlighting with conditional formatting) doesn't show up in the expanded view for tables.
- Inability to group like-items together -- this might be possible, and I just haven't discovered it yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ryan M.

Chartio review for Shazam

Reviewed on 7/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Chartio is the fastest, easiest way to put an attractive front end on top of 'big data' like an Amazon Redshift instance. It's powerful enough to use SQL code to create dashboards, but flexible and easy enough to allow some end-users to create their own.

Cons

Nothing really, their customer support has been excellent, and the product has worked better than our expectations.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Phil N.

Surpassed Expectations in Use and Customer Service

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/2/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Highly recommend Chartio for its ease of use and superior customer service. Whenever we have questions the help team responds back extremely quickly and in detail. Probably my favorite part of the service!

Pros

Customer Service is A+++ and I hope they know how good they are.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Tamas I.

It just works as expected.

Reviewed on 9/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Easy to use, both for building and viewing the dashboards.
They release new features quite often and they just know what features I missed before.

Cons

I don't know who viewed my dashboards and when. It would be nice to have usage statistics.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Karim W.

spin up a metrics dashboard in no time!

Reviewed on 7/7/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

ability to generate SQL queries very easily and quickly visualize in dashboards is great! Very easy to ramp up on this software and use it.

Cons

the visualization is simple, would be great if more advanced capabilities are offered, e.g. dynamic visualization

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Michelle F.

Chartio - Great for small businesses

Reviewed on 16/7/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Chartio does a great job providing ease of use for both a technical and non-technical audience. The interactive mode makes it easy to pull and display simple data, and query mode gives the opportunity for more complex and custom queries. It is easy and quick to put together and customize dashboards. Chartio also very easily connects to many types of data sources and even allows for CSV uploads. It is an affordable product that provides a significant amount of value for the money.

Cons

The connection to GA is great, but it would be even better if the customization of queries and formulas was easier to navigate. Also, the opportunity for more HTML customization would be useful. Lastly, while Chartio can handle large data sets, it would be great if the queries on more complex data pulls could display more quickly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Tyler M.

Changed the Way We Work

Reviewed on 10/7/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Chartio has allowed my team to become even more successful by allowing us to look at and turn raw data into real time quantifiable information that is easily understood and interpreted on all levels.

Since I personally began using Chartio about 5 months ago, I have seen how it has evolved within our company with how we have been able to use this data on a daily basis to provide us with more valuable information that we can use to make better decisions, day in and day out.

Cons

It could be tough for users to use who are not familiar or have no knowledge or training on how to set up the different charts and view different metrics outside of the data that is set up for the users.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Steve L.

Beautiful, clean dashboards! Great for SQL data too

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Chartio has allowed us to take action on our data.

Pros

There's a lot to like here. The dashboards are clean and attractive. A solid group of features and dashboarding tools. Pretty cool SQL mode if you need to access SQL server.

Cons

There are some data sources (Salesforce) that it would be nice to have a simpler direct connection with. We work around this by using Heroku & postgres.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Gina T.

Very happy with this software so far

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 4/1/2019
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This product has made all things data less of a mundane headache on a day to day level and also made things easier for clients.

Cons

I would love to see a better variety of integrations offered and for the product to be compatible with mobile more easily.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Makes reporting easy

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 12/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Has made reporting side of my job super easy; you can track/chart whatever data you please; can send automated reports; great timesaver

Cons

Snapshot only sends default filter information; otherwise you have to pull non-default information manually

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Aurelia H.

Researcher looking to understand user usage

Reviewed on 7/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Ability to visualize or get data without knowing SQL. It's fun and I feel like I'm learning how SQL frameworks work.

Cons

sometimes I want to get certain data but can't get it without doing SQL. The support team is great but I don't want to ping them every time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Dylan M.

Good BI visualisation tool, nice clean attractive dashboards

Reviewed on 9/7/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The dashboards look clean and professional, I also like how incremental features have been added regularly over the last year since we signed up.

Cons

Quite a few of my queries are unsuccessful and the error messages aren't very helpful explaining why.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Best Collection of Data Software

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 25/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The customer service is a great team which are willing and helpful to make your business grow and succeed. The ease of use makes it learning and fun experience and also making it easy and reliable for people to use.

Cons

Some modes which can be accessed by you but can’t be accessed by other people making it exclusive and sometimes not efficient and annoying. I would like to see more visualization options with more complex capabilities. The design wise comes across limited but these are more like inconveniences but they are still negatives.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Amber S.

Learning curve, but very helpful!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 23/1/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

This helped us discover key business metrics we should have been watching more closely. As well as help set benchmarks to strive towards!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10