Workato

Better Integrations through Intelligent Automations

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(52)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

52 Reviews

Brad
Brad
Overall rating
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An essential part of any business' systems

Reviewed on 3/1/2017

My company is a contracting business in the energy efficiency industry with 20+ employees and $2-3M...

My company is a contracting business in the energy efficiency industry with 20+ employees and $2-3M in annual revenue. Workato has transformed how our business operates by enabling us to automate what once was time-consuming, error-prone manual processes. Using the automation of Workato recipes has enabled us to save money by getting more production out of the staff we have and prevented us from having to hire new employees or contractors as the company has grown. Those costs savings have greatly exceeded the cost of Workato.

Pros

The feature set and robustness of Workato is second to none. The breadth of customization that Workato allows in such a simple UI is truly remarkable and let's business operators without coding experience create complex integrations that would have cost us tens of thousands of dollars in custom development work. Workato blows other out-of-the-box integrations out of the water.

Cons

Getting our Workato recipes running with the level of detail and granularity of our business processes required a steep learning curve. The basics of the software are easy to learn, but learning how to use formulas and other more complex features required a good amount of trial and error. When errors occur withing recipes, debugging them can be challenging, particularly given that errors are most often returned by the API of one of the software that Workato is connected to rather than Workato itself.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

No-code integration on the fly

Reviewed on 19/8/2022

One scenario I use is Microsoft Teams. After microsoft teams courses, it send summary of meeting...

One scenario I use is Microsoft Teams. After microsoft teams courses, it send summary of meeting and materials shared in session to participants.

Pros

There is no need to knowlodge of coding. It is no-code integration platform.
There are lots of education material and videos. So it is easy to learn and use Workato. Microsoft Teams and excel and email integration really useful.

Cons

It would be really nice and useful if it has an IOS app. Subscription prices can be more flexible for small businessed and personals.

Paul
Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Has Potential to be Amazing!

Reviewed on 4/11/2018

I think Workato has great potential. It seems like their needs to be better guides and walkthroughs...

I think Workato has great potential. It seems like their needs to be better guides and walkthroughs for each App integration.

Pros

The recipes allowed a huge assortment of customizations to the automated "bots". Workato also supports most of the popular apps like sheets, slack, smartsheet, jira, etc... It is great for us that have a developer background as we can make changes to the code to update recipes.

Cons

I had many issues getting the apps to connect properly so they could be used. It was not intuitive to figure out how to make a recipe as well.

Rob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Recently purchased Platfrom automation tool

Reviewed on 7/11/2023

Pros

Recently started using this for cross-platform automation and robotic process fulfillment.
Great time saver for those repetitive jobs that need you to access multiple systems or platforms to achieve. Earned its value back in time saved

Cons

Feature rich tool that takes time to learn.
Currently using experts to deliver business reuqirements, but have a long term goal of end users being able to create and administer their own automation.

Blake
Blake
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Product If You Know What You're Doing

Reviewed on 7/3/2017

As a consultant, I use Workato both in my own business and in multiple clients' accounts. I began...

As a consultant, I use Workato both in my own business and in multiple clients' accounts. I began using Workato because QuickBase promoted them as the preferred integrator when Intuit announced the sale of QuickBase. While they have a large number of pre-built connectors as well as the ability to setup HTTP calls, the process of building Recipes has an extreme learning curve, especially coming from a service like ItDuzzit. Additionally, the team often releases new or beta connectors without first having any supporting documentation, other than the connector's marketing page. Overall, they have a good product, but they seriously need to review their release process and the setup of their support portal.

Pros

Lots of pre-built connectors. Chat agents are generally very quick to respond.

Cons

Extreme learning curve - especially difficult if a user does not have any programming background.
Support documentation is often lacking - especially for new connectors. When documentation is provided, the content is often very thin and is typically mostly text, with few reference images.
Support portal provides no way to go back to your Recipe interface.
Support Tickets can sometimes take 2 - 3 days for a response.
Support Tickets have an internal "Priority", but no way for users to identify their own level of Urgency. From what I can tell, ALL tickets are given an initial Priority of "Low".
Pricing / Plans lack any real sense of transparency. While the main pages tell users that Integrations are divided up into "Base" and "Professional" apps, you have to search through the Support Portal documents in order to find any comprehensive list of "Base" and "Professional" and there is no document that does a side-by-side comparison of the various Plans. And, if you look at the QuickBase plans, the apps are referred to as "Tier 1" and "Tier 2" vs "Base" or "Professional".
Recipe logs only show information related to the last row of data processed.
No way to see a "schedule" of active Recipe's.

Siva
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Workato

Reviewed on 21/4/2023

Pros

Workato is the best cost-effective tool with user-friendly customer support. The fantastic feature is we can share our recipe to even other users and they can make use of it. There are more than five hundred pre-built app connectors that we can connect to our recipe and testing the workflow is much easier in the workato tool. There are three types of connectors such as Http connectors, Community connectors, and Connectors SDK which help in creating custom connectors with low code in the recipe. Training materials and documentation are easily available which helps new learners to grasp the tool knowledge quickly.

Cons

The only con is it will keep on sending the emails if the flow has errors, which might disturb the users.

Jeremy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Integrations made easy

Reviewed on 7/6/2023

Pros

I don't come from a developer background but can understand API calls and and responses. With just that knowledge I'm able to build intricate integrations within Workato.

Cons

While knowledge of coding syntax isn't a must, it is definitely a bonus within Workato. More documentation for more laymen like myself would be incredibly helpful in extracting full value from the platform.

Sai
Sai
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Source of truth!

Reviewed on 28/7/2023

Experience has been tremendous

Experience has been tremendous

Pros

Workato is seamless to use for accessing and retrieving data! Saves time and reduces cost

Cons

Nothing to dislike about Workato, it is very effective

Sriram
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Workato

Reviewed on 4/5/2023

Workato is a low-code integration tool

Workato is a low-code integration tool

Pros

Workato is an API-merged cloud-based software tool, it contains 600 pre-built apps with all types of categories like AI Machine learning, DevOps, Productivity, Operations, etc. We can easily deploy our recipe and share it via a link so that we can easily access it to test the recipe. It is low code integration tool.

Cons

Sometimes we cannot be able to connect the pre-built apps because they need proper API keys and credentials. Only technical users will be able to create the connector SDK to customize the recipe of the application.

Peter
Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy Integration

Reviewed on 31/10/2016

Powerful platform that enables integration with 3rd party services. I've used workato to parse...

Powerful platform that enables integration with 3rd party services. I've used workato to parse large results too tedious to handle manually (e.g., 600+ records), as well as to interface with 3rd party services such as Onedrive.

Pros

-Intuitive development of recipes
-Great support (the customer success team has been very helpful)
-Easy to initiate help requests through the chat window

Cons

-Would be nice to have more API support built out for 3rd party applications (e.g., ability to create new directors in Onedrive)
-Learning curve was initially steep, especially when trying to use HTTP Get/Post with 3rd party APIs
-Lacks existing recipe examples that demonstrate the use cases I was trying to build out

Viveka
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Workato Review

Reviewed on 20/3/2023

Overall, Workato is a powerful automation platform that offers wide range of pre-built features and...

Overall, Workato is a powerful automation platform that offers wide range of pre-built features and benefits for businesses with cost-effective feature. It helps in automating repetitive tasks and connect with different applications and services. Workato helps user's to achieve our goals efficiently and effectively.

Pros

Workato is a fantastic integration and automation platform that offers users to connect different applications and automate the repetitive tasks and workflows, saves our time and reduces the risk of errors. As a versatile automation tool it supports various applications including cloud-based and on-premise applications. It also enables integration between different applications and systems which reduces manual work and allows organizations to streamline their business processes. Even it has over 500 connectors, including business applications like Salesforce, Slack, Google sheets and more which helps us to connect different data sources to create powerful integrations. Moreover, Scalability in Workato helps users to handle automation for small to large enterprises. The best feature in Workato is Data Mapping where it allows users to map the data between connected applications, ensures whether data is up-to-date and consistent across our systems. In addition, user's can create workflows that are triggered in real-time and even users can respond to events as they happen. And it also imparts security features, including encryption, user authentication, and role based access control. Documentation and training resources are tremendous as new user's can learn the tool quickly. Workato tool is cost effective where it offers affordable pricing plans, and provides the cost-effective solution.

Cons

Workato's interface might be overwhelming for new users and requires a bit of learning curve to understand how to use the tool effectively.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cool Task automation application

Reviewed on 15/11/2022

I will continue to use it for now

I will continue to use it for now

Pros

I use this software to connect to our business. It meets our needs and I find it cool

Cons

Not having a free version is not a good thing

Alternatives Considered

Cyclr

Switched From

Cyclr
Andy
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Reliable DIY Integration We Trust

Reviewed on 24/9/2018

Pros

We are in the construction contracting business with 100 employees. Our primary use case was to have Workato keep our Salesforce and Quickbooks Online CRM data in sync and eliminate time-consuming manual updates. After a 1 month trial and some minor recipe tweaking, we found that Workato simply outperformed all of the other integration solutions we tested in terms of reliability and real "hands free" automation. The community has a wealth of pre-made recipes available that you can customize to suit your needs. Everything from the use of data pills, to the documentation is very intuitive and user friendly. The customer support team has been extremely helpful and responsive to anything that has come up. Our account rep Bala went above and beyond to get our first recipes running. We now plan to expand our use of Workato to help automate other crusty business procedures. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for DIY integration that delivers true automation without needing to be a developer.

Cons

When evaluating whether Workato is the right product for you, I suggest taking a close look at the available triggers etc. for the specific integration you're seeking. What Workato can manipulate, it does so accurately and reliably. However the only limitations we've encountered are with what is actually exposed by the target software's API (Quickbooks Online etc). It also took some legwork to ensure that other automatic background processes aren't triggering Workato constantly and blowing through the transaction cap.

Keerthana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Overall of workato review

Reviewed on 24/3/2023

Overall, this is low code and no code tool to automate the code easily and efficiency.

Overall, this is low code and no code tool to automate the code easily and efficiency.

Pros

Workato is an automation tool to build the repetitive task and it helps to reduce the error. we can easily build the flow design and it manage the error handling mechanism. It's offering a feature to drag and drop programming to create and manage their workflow in workato.

Cons

This tool is quite costly and difficult for the users who are all not having programming background.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The tool I was looking for!

Reviewed on 31/8/2017

Pros

I'm a huge google fan but sometimes not everything was linked with other programs.
Workato came to my rescue!
Now almost seemlessly everything is synchronized. I no longer need to manually update several databases.
Price is awesome for us non-profit.
I shared with them some improvements, and there was some adjustments at the beginning but overall it is totally worth it!

Cons

Some tips could be shared when creating a specific recipe. for example; don't share your google sheet with too many people or the recipe won't work. Or Don't delete a line or the recipe will not work for the next registration,...

Jeff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Incredibly powerful Integrator

Reviewed on 1/7/2018

Pros

Super robust. Workato was able to replace other less fully featured integrators when it became necessary as our business grew. Nearly anything is possible if you know what you're doing!

Cons

Steep learning curve to understand how the integrations work. Basic stuff is simple, but gets complicated quickly if you need super customized robust integrations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Workato

Reviewed on 14/3/2022

Pros

Workato makes integrations and compliance easy.

Cons

The expense of the recipes. Even when reusing recipes, the cost of new integrations is sometimes prohibitive.

Alternatives Considered

Tray.io
Viveka
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Workato

Reviewed on 27/7/2023

Pros

Workato tool has a user-friendly interface, and it is a low-code platform where much programming knowledge is not required. It reduces users' time and effort by providing pre-built recipes for popular applications like Salesforce, Freshdesk, etc. Integration with different applications is made easy and it provides good customer support where they help us when we are stuck. Documentations and video lectures are available which help new learners to grab the tool quickly.

Cons

The only con which I experienced during development is, it hangs sometimes.

Ravi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Workato Review

Reviewed on 4/9/2023

Pros

Workato is the very finest tool for automating tasks and integrating apps. It's a powerful integration platform and it allows you to connect different apps and automate workflows. It's great for streamlining the process and saving time. You can create custom workflows using these pre-built connectors to automate repetitive tasks easily.

Cons

I faced that least is Workato pricing structure is based on the number of transactions or actions you perform. If you have a high volume of transactions, it could potentially become costly.

Chirag
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazing Software for Business Automation

Reviewed on 1/7/2022

It's very effective software to increase your productions without more staff. All you need to...

It's very effective software to increase your productions without more staff. All you need to integrate your app or project to automate your workflow process.

Pros

Too much features for all your needs in automation process. You only need to integrate your app for automation process.

Cons

Sometimes it provides some difficulties in integrations. Little bit costly for small businesses or companies.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing IPaaS for custom workflows

Reviewed on 21/9/2022

Pros

We're able to pilot and test new workflows, build upon them, then productize them as a service, which can be used by our consulting team.

Cons

Requests for adding new features(actions and triggers) to an existing Connector can be subject to their own priorities, and may not be addressed even with a substantial use-case.

Russell
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Support Team and Product!

Reviewed on 4/10/2018

Pros

We were looking for an integration solution and Workato was great to work with during the process. I was given a free trial and a support person to work with as I tried out the product. I only felt support in my decsion making process and never any pressure to purchase. This sales strategy worked great for me! The recipe building process is very easy to learn without much "developing" experience. The "expert hour" webinars are invaluable to work out the details. Once I decided to go with Workato, I was assigned an expert to work with me to get set-up. The same person worked with me and was invaluable in helping me get going! Now it just runs in the background and everything is integrated, MAGIC!

Cons

The biggest challenge I have had working with Workato has been trying to figure out why an error has occurred.

Jothika
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Workato-Automation tool

Reviewed on 19/4/2023

The easy tool which is used for automating the process with great desired outcomes.

The easy tool which is used for automating the process with great desired outcomes.

Pros

It is a drag and drop interface and it is easy to use.100+ Prebuilt connectors make this tool easier.This tool ensures security and scalability.

Cons

It is much harder to use without programming experience when we have to work with the API application.Maintenance of recipes is quite challenging.

Isabelle
Isabelle
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Workato - great automation and workflow tool

Reviewed on 14/8/2017

Pros

Workato offers a broad range of "out of the box" solutions as well as plenty of customisable features. It's ready to use connections are it's real strength for teams who don't have developer capacity and/or the budget to make unique integrations themselves. You can really build complex and robust workflows that automate business processes.

Cons

The help documentation around Workato is reasonably brief and not hugely wide-ranging. You can contact help services and they are excellent at replying quickly and providing great support, but I would like better documentation around the product in the first place to avoid annoying and basic errors in recipes, without needing to generate a support case. A small con, but reasonably time consuming!!!

Greg
Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A good integration platform

Reviewed on 23/2/2021

The workato support team and chat are very responsive and great to work with. They've been...

The workato support team and chat are very responsive and great to work with. They've been available to jump on calls with clients to help talk through workflows and potential solutions to their integration needs.

Pros

The Workato team is a pleasure to work with and their large library of pre-built recipes make setting up the connections a breeze. They also have a large community of users that have shared their custom recipes.

Cons

If you aren't using a pre-built recipe the learning curve can be a bit steep. If you have a failure find the error can be a bit complicated.

Alternatives Considered

Tray.io