264 reviews

Upserve POS

Restaurant & Bar iPad POS Management System

4.4 /5 (264 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.4
/
5
Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.4
89% recommended this app
264 reviews
Bill C.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Use Upserve

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 9/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It is great, particularly the Customer Service has been the best I have dealt with in 25 year in the business

Pros

I think that the integration of POS and Inventory is great and helps in a big way during monthly inventory.

Cons

Would like to see two way syncing between the Inventory and POS

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Edward M.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Upserve for Brewery!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 24/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Great experience. Help Desk is amazing!

Pros

Great for online ordering! Easy to update. Good reports!

Cons

Inventory control for online orders (preorders)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sam S.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Servers go down on the worst possible moments

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/4/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I've had Breadcrumb for 3 years now at my restaurant. The first two years it was adequate, easy to use and more or less stable in spite of a few server outages here and there. However, the back-end was pretty cumbersome, full of dead ends and potholes that could easily be fixed with a tiny bit of coding. For instance, if you want to edit a menu item, but while editing you choose to add the item to a new display group, the page changes and does not save your edits to date. Also, you can never delete a menu item. You can archive, but not in batches, so it takes forever. But whatever, overall good enough to not have to go through the hassle of switching to a new pos system.

Since Breadcrumb has been acquired by Upserve last year, it's been a gradual downhill slide to stupidity. The first few months it seemed all they cared about was to convert their new Breadcrumb customers to Upserve products -- things we just do not need -- instead of focusing hard and quick on improving the new system they were in charge of. Since then, it has gotten worse. There have been server outages on busy Saturday nights, mandatory software updates -- on busy Saturday nights ... you get the picture. Uber frustrating. And frankly, there has been next to nothing done to improve the software use, or extend features. It seems as if Upserve is not capable of handling the new transition, and I am done complaining to them about functionality. The support team is nice and sympathetic, but they have no power to make the changes we need. We will be moving on to TouchBistro in the coming month. I would not get involved with this POS, it seems to be on a downward slope to obsolescence.

Pros

Simple, easy to set up
Clear POS layout

Cons

Bad server uptime
Inconsiderate management of maintenance schedules such as software upgrades
Limited front end and back end features

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Bradley S.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The Best on the Market

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 31/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It's a very easy system to navigate, but if anything is found to be confusing customer service is helpful and prompt.

Pros

Hands down the most user friendly POS out there! The search bar is by far my most favorite feature.

Cons

The wireless connection. If the power goes out or if we simply lose signal, we are dead in the water.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Bradley!

Thanks again for your feedback. We're happy to hear you're enjoying Upserve.

We completely understand that losing signal for our customers is a big issue, so we built out offline mode to help combat this. We also recently released our Android-based Upesrve POS, which you now have the ability to hardwire so that losing connection isn't as frequent. Don't hesitate to reach out to your Customer Success Manager to learn more about both features if you're interested.

Cheers,
The Upserve Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Christopher B.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Start off

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 12/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it’s been great. We did have some hickups with eg power adapters not being sent along with the hardware and perhaps a few server setbacks and there is an occurring “emv reader down no connection” although it still works. Would like a tech to do a walk through so that it is recorded.

Pros

Easy to use esp since they target apple hardware which is also know for their UE.

Cons

Main issue is on the back-end where for e.g you cannot control certain things. I think they need a professional restauranteur to guide them through developer meetings in order to structure the software to become the leading software. It is not hard to do, but the right person needs to be involved. Get back to me for more info, your call.

Response from Upserve Inventory

Hi there Christopher, thanks for your feedback. We just started up a customer UX portal, where restaurateurs can be more involved in the development process of our product. Here's more info: https://upserve.com/restaurant-insider/user-experience-portal/

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lina V.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Easy to use POS system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

This is a great system and has been implemented at multiple venues of ours. I like the user friendly set up.

Pros

I like how easy it is to navigate an app and set up the menu.

Cons

That during connection issues checks show up as closed but a few days later they can appear as open again.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Lina - that you for your feedback. We made sure our product interface was user-friendly and intuitive, so we're glad it's been working for you and your team. As for the connection issues, we'd love more about when this is happening and seeing how we can help. Feel free to reach out and share more of this feedback - we're all ears. Cheers!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Terence T.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Highly Functional, Easy to use, Tons of customizable functions

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/9/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

My favorite feature on Breadcrumb POS is open tab pre-authorizations. Removing the aspect of responsibility for a customer's credit card is a very underrated aspect of running a bar. Customers appreciate it and it just makes keeping tabs open a more favorable option for us as well as the customer.

Cons

Syncing across devices can be spotty at times, especially if the device is sleeping.

Response from Upserve

Thanks for the terrific review Terence! We are happy to hear that our software has provided you and your customers with greater peace of mind. Thanks again for the review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pai honolulu - justine L.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great POS system

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 27/9/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I am very satisfied. There are the little things here and there, but definitely the pros outweigh the cons.

Pros

I love the ease of pulling up reports, checks, editing the menus, staff, etc. It is very user friendly!
Everything is so quick to update too.
I love that it operates offline too when necessary

Cons

I can't do certain functions
Most recently:
Transfer a check after the next trading day
Doesn't link to quickbooks online directly - need to go through a 3rd party
Can't pull up a particular employee's check out report from a previous day; can only pull up master check out

Response from Upserve

Hi Justine, thanks for the constructive review! We are happy to hear that our system has been so easy and user friendly for you. Thanks again for the review!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Johnnie M.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Upserve Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Upserve/Breadcrumb has come a long way in stability. Customer service is A+ and very responsive.

Cons

From HQ standpoint. Could use a more robust toolset when looking at YTD data. Currently, a little difficult to parse historical data. Would love to see comparison charts over time.

Response from Upserve Inventory

Hi there Johnnie - thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that your experience with Upserve has been a positive one. I'm going to flag this to our Success team and see what we can do feature/functionality wise to get you the data you need faster. Thanks again!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Megan D.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Upserve for the win!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We love upserve. We installed it in our very first restaurant 3 years ago. We have recently changed over hardware and software at 3 additional restaurants that we consult in. The hardware, and service costs are excellent compared to competitors.

Pros

Upserve is user friendly on both the front end and back of house. Adding buttons in real time at the point of sale is the best feature!

Cons

At this time nothing is an issue for us at any of the restaurants. They keep adding to services to address any issues with both reporting needs!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Patience V.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Breadcrumb: the next best thing since sliced bread

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Compared to its competitors an absolute walk in the park. So self explanatory and easy to customize.

Pros

How user friendly it is. It’s easy to add in items and delete. You don’t need a ton of training to get it up and running. Customer service is always so helpful.

Cons

It’s an app so sometimes needs to be refreshed. When your working in a high volume environment that can be a bit of a stumbling block.

Response from Upserve

Hi Patience, thank you for the terrific review! We are happy to hear that Breadcrumb has been so user friendly for you and your staff. Thanks again for the review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lee C.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A company of callous values - never use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/7/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Furthermore, our rep did not work to resolve the issue in a caring way

Pros

No pros when this gives you something that any other brand would give...and other brands actually care about the customer

Cons

Terrible company with loathsomely selfish values. They have a known error that can cause you and your employees to lose ALL tips during their frequent offline mode issues. If this happens, it is company policy to not recover a single dime of the money that they have lost. This shows callous and total lack of care for their customers, and shows zero responsibility for their faulty systems. Never use Upserve / Breadcrumb.

Response from Upserve

Hi Lee,

It looks like you called into Upserve Support due to an offline mode occurrence. The Support Team member was able to manually capture the payments for the day in UberGateway with the check amounts for you. As you know, sign-on screen functionality is not supported in offline mode, meaning we cannot legally capture any tips without proof of signature.

The matter was escalated to our Customer Success Management team who offered you a full month's subscription fees even though we typically would not reimburse this as it was not a system error. Your Success Manager has another request in for approval for payment of the full cost you estimated you lost in tips. We will be reaching out to you to let you know the status of that request. Please be kind to our staff Lee, they're continuing to go beyond to show you we care a lot about Five Watt Coffee!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Connor K.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent customer support

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Very pleased. The 24/7 customer support is like none other I've experienced. They answer the phone quickly, typically resolve the issue in a matter of minutes, and are always pleasant to work with.

Pros

Its extremely easy to use. It takes no time at all for new staff to learn and be comfortable using this system.

Cons

Item button layout. Wish there were more options to configure the screens

Response from Upserve

Hi there Connor! Thanks for the review. We're happy to hear that you've had a great experience with our Support team, and that the system has been doing well for you. What are you looking for specifically when it comes to the item button layout? We're always interested in learning more from our customers on how we can improve our product. Let us know!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Aaron G.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great system for small bars or restaurants

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

System works great and anytime I have questions or help, it is met with professionalism and quickly.

Pros

The ease of changing features is key. The search option for items also makes it easy for employees.

Cons

When things go down, they go down hard. Redundant features need a little more help.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Aaron, thank you for your review! Our team would love to know more about what you mean by "redundant features" and how we can better our product to fit your needs. Let us know - always happy to listen to our customers on how we can improve. Cheers!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ryan W.

For the price and ease of use, I doubt Breadcrumb can be beat.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/2/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It's come a long way since Upserve acquired them. The customer service used to be really lacking, and there used to be a lot of service outages. There's been a huge improvement there. The new app is much better, but I'd like to see more information available on it.

Pros

The front of house interface is incredibly easy to use, and the feedback from my servers has been the same. Back of house setup is also very easy, and reporting is adequate for a small business like mine. The price is also very good for what you get.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Thomas W.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Upserve the intuitive solution

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 25/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love how intuitive the software is. The multi-tab pages with time sensitivity for happy hour specials and other specials is an excellent feature. It helps prevent mistakes that can be easily made on other POS systems. I was also a big fan of the floor plan table map as even some POS systems which have far predated breadcrumb still don't have. I also was a big fan of the customer service support.

Cons

My least favorite thing about this software was the inability to use seat numbers to separate guests checks as this is a feature that some, but not all POS systems have.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tasha K.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Very user friendly and intuitive

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 31/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love the customer support. Anytime I have even a tiny question, I can message them and they help me out right away.

Cons

I'd like a specialized version for breweries/taprooms.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Tasha!

Thanks for your honest feedback. We're happy that our Customer Support has been helpful whenever you reach out!

Although our system is built out for restaurants in mind, we want to make sure we accommodate all types of customers we have. You probably already know, but we have a list of marketplace integrations that specialize with breweries and taprooms. Don't hesitate to reach out to your Customer Success Manager in order to learn more if you haven't already done so!

Cheers,
The Upserve Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mary kate W.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

My experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I find it easy to track inventory and usage patterns.

Pros

I appreciate that I can update remotely and the ease of customizing reports.

Cons

The amount of steps needed to make modifiers and the like.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Mary Kate! Thank you for your honest review - it's feedback like this that help us better our system. Feel free to reach out to our Support team and provide us ideas on how we can make modifiers an easier set up for you. We want to make sure the system is as user-friendly as possible. Thanks, Mary Kate. Cheers!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Daniel S.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Simple, yet enough!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use > unlike a lot of POS systems, it has everything you need, and nothing you don't.

Cons

For a while, you could not split single items on a check. And it is slightly cumbersome to remove tax from a check.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Daniel -

Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make the use of our product as simple as possible, while still providing all the in-depth functionality you need to run a successful restaurant.

Cheers!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Cesar G.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

easy to use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/9/2018
Review Source: Capterra

as i mentioned before it works great remotely to access your reports

Pros

it works perfect for me , i can check sales , labor , comps/voids from my phone without being at the restaurant, the reports it gives you are great.

Cons

due to the high demand it had crashed nation wide a couple of times in the pastas

Response from Upserve

Hi Cesar, thanks for the great review! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying all of the features that Breadcrumb has to offer!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Missy P.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Breadcrumb POS

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Our overall experience with Breadcrumb has been great. We have done a store opening with it and the problems were quickly rectified. It has sped up service and been a great asset.

Pros

Ease of Use
Ease of Training
Ability to change buttons quickly
Online ordering and Inventory integration
Off Site access when managers are having issues
Ability to monitor stores

Cons

When the connections goes down - murphy's law - can happen at peak time

Response from Upserve

Hi Missy, thank you for your amazing review! We are glad to hear that Breadcrumb's assets have been so helpful for you and your business. Thanks again for the great review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Diane C.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

User Friendly

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

User Friendly for the most part. Some redundant features.

Cons

Need a quantity key. Don't like that you have to hit Try Two before each food item.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Diane - thank you for your review. We'd like to know more about the quantity key you're speaking of and how we can better optimize the system to fit your workflow. I've attached my response information, so please don't hesitate to reach out. Cheers!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jacob M.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Customer Service

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 13/2/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The customer service team at Upserve is fantastic. They've always been helpful, polite and kind. I honestly don't think I've worked with a customer service team that has been so helpful—especially these days when every customer service agent is being replaced by some sort of robot.

Cons

There are some minute features that would be nice to have—nothing major, but little settings we wish were included—things we could turn on or off instead of always being on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Brandon M.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Software for Small Restaurant

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it's been very positive with minor hiccups. I will say that the support is great which is a huge positive. You talk to an English speaking operator 24/7.

Pros

Quick, easy and simplified. Easy access for small business owners to quickly get the important information they need. Items are easy to add etc.

Cons

When the restaurant grows, the software starts to have downfalls. Reports then are slightly limited as we've grown to have more managers that only need limited access. The printers didn't want to sync to our wireless system so we had to bring them back out to do a wired set up.

Response from Upserve

Hi Brandon, thanks for the constructive review! We are happy to hear that our services are so easy and simple for you business to use!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michael K.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very Pleased

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 17/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Lots of reporting options. Simple interface. Support has been there when I needed it.

Cons

Maybe a better 'on-boarding' process only because I didn't even know about some of the features until I got in and poked around. That being said, that's how I think most people find most things in most software titles.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Michael - thanks for your review! Upserve started as a credit card processor that provided insights and reports to small businesses, and we've really grown to make sure that the reporting options you have are exactly what you need. Let me know if there's anything in regards to the portal you're looking to learn more on. Happy to connect with a team member to give you more training.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10