267 reviews

Upserve

Restaurant & Bar iPad POS Management System

4.4 /5 (267 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
88%
recommended this app
267 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Streamlined and simple POS

Reviewed on 25/1/2019

Overall it's pretty good for our quick service restaurant. We've used several POS systems over the last 15 years and it has less user-interface customization, but I think that's for the better. Sometimes POS's suffer from *too many* customization options and you end up with a cluttered interface which slows down order-taking. We do not have table service, so those features on the POS we cannot comment on.

Pros

For new front-of-the-house employees the learning curve is easy - if you have ever used an app then you've already started your training in Upserve. Also, equipment replacement (iPads, routers) will be relatively cheaper and much easier than full system upgrades.

As restaurant infrastructure goes it's great not needing a back office computer, and yet reports and menus and setup can still be handled through any web-browser. This is great for those of us who can't always be present.

Cons

There can be connectivity issues, but they're much fewer since this company took over. If you or Upserve are offline then things go into Offline Mode which still is buggy at times - especially with credit cards. Also, Offline Mode puts the onus on you to trust whether a card will be approved or not. But, this is rare. Not a huge issue with us where our average check is low, but high-end places may want to be aware of workarounds and fixes.

Response from Upserve

Hi there -

Thank you for your feedback. Here at Upserve, we're constantly trying to better our solution to fit the needs of the restauranteur. This includes our Offline Mode capabilities. We know that losing WIFI can be detrimental to restaurants, so we released our new Android-based POS so you can hardwire your solution. Along with that, we continue to make updates on our Offline Mode feature to really enhance the user experience. Please continue to provide us with your feedback - this helps us make sure we're steering our product in the right direction.

Cheers!

Melanie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Helps ease day-to-day of small Local Business

Reviewed on 25/4/2019

Upserve is so much faster than our old system, as well as much more user-friendly. Anything I can't figure out myself, I can easily chat with a representative and have my question answered within minutes. Our menu is extensive and fully customizable, and this software makes waiting tables a breeze! Honestly, we were hesitant to spend such a seemingly-large chunk of money intitally, but it has been SO worth it. The time and energy saved from not hassling with a stubborn old computer system has bee miraculous! Everything is all in one place and so easy to use- I can't praise this system enough!

Pros

-Overall customizability for modifications and personalization
-Exceptional interactions and support from representatives throughout set-up and for occasional questions
-Constantly improving dynamics and usability
-Development of new features that make the program even more of a "one stop shop" (ie. processing, scheduling staff, inventory, accounting, menu management, etc.)
-Consistent quality and service (software doesn't glitch or freeze, equipment is great quality, and super easy to use)

Cons

-Initial set-up cost was a little intimidating, however well worth it long term
-Merchant pricing was a little difficult to understand, however our representatives walked us through everything
-Would like to automatically receive one monthly summary/billing statement without having to "subscribe" to multiple reports

Response from Upserve

Hi there Melanie - thank you for this review! It's feedback like this that really help us as a company grow, and better understand how we can do better. As always, please don't hesitate to reach out to our Support team, or your Customer Success Manager if you have any questions or feature requests. We're open to any ideas that come our way. Cheers!

Devon M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Intuitive restaurant pos

Reviewed on 5/12/2019

Great reporting suite included. Cuts down on data collection and double checking.

Pros

It works great for dine in pos. Support team is really amazing, quick and responsive. They also gave us a great rate to be our payment processor.

Cons

They need to do some work tailoring the system to work better for deliver and take out. There are a few odd behaviors for staff working double shifts as well, but generally avoidable

Amanda M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Visually appealing reports, but lacks personalization

Reviewed on 12/9/2018

Pros

The mobile app and reporting make immediate data easily accessible. The reports are presented simply & cleanly.

Cons

It's not very customizable. The software or the software developers, are unable/unwilling to adjust to varied needs of different types of restaurants. While this is likely the case for most POS systems, we've found that other software integrations we use are much more readily willing to adjust and make custom improvements that directly benefit our restaurant.

We also found that the on boarding process lacked a bit of personalization. Had our contacts taken more time to discuss with us our needs and understand how we operate, it would have saved us a lot of time and effort in having to redo the way things were initially setup - especially in regards to the menu databases.

Lastly, while this wont be an issue longterm, in our first year using Breadcrumb, it's frustrating that there's no way to import our previous years' data. Rather than being able to compare numbers year-over-year, we can only see week-over-week and are forced to fall back on our old tracking methods such as a separate spreadsheet in order to measure the bigger picture. What seems like it should be a simple data pull that would help us run much more efficiently was shut down by the support team who told us it was not doable.

Response from Upserve

Hi Amanda, thanks for your constructive review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy the mobility and ease of our services!

Sasha B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intuitive Restaurant POS

Reviewed on 12/12/2019

We have had great success with this product from ease of set up (if you can use an iphone, you can use this product!) to tracking sales and inventory.

Pros

After working in the restaurant industry for the past 10+ years this is the most user friendly, customizable and intuitive point of sale system on the market. In addition to a great overall product, the 24hr phone support is outstanding if you ever have any issues.

Cons

The software for the new hand held unit is not as user friendly and still needs improvement but I hope that since this is new they will make adjustments as updates are released.

Ryan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Breadcrumb Point of Sale review

Reviewed on 14/9/2018

Overall the customer service is usually stellar/top-notch. The program is easy to use and to teach.

Pros

The program is easy to use and functional. Being able to open search for items on the menu is very nice. Easy to teach and it is nice being able to put recipes directly into the menu.

Cons

Creating menu items is a hassle if you're making multiple changes. It would be nice if you added some filter options for creating and editing the menus, employees, and labor options. Separating large checks and collecting payments needs work it is definitely one of the worst point of sale systems in that regard.

Response from Upserve

Hi Ryan, thanks for the constructive review! We are glad to hear that our program was so easy to implement at your restaurant!

Cary W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Learning curve with fantastic customer support

Reviewed on 12/3/2019

Easy to miniver and set up, small glitches that were usually easily fixed and great support that takes notes to making their software better

Pros

Convenience. Very easy to set up and with using iPads it’s been fairly smooth. I gotta day though that their customer service and never waiting long to talk to an actual person has been outstanding!

Cons

Updates. They came at horrible times at first, always on a Friday night during dinner rush and would sometimes take so long that it would put a terminal out of commission.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Cary, thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that your experience with our Support team has been a positive one. For the iPad updates, we apologize for the inconvenience. We try to push these forward when most bars/restaurants are closed to help alleviate this issue. Feel free to continue to use our Support team to troubleshoot any issues that may arise with updating. Thanks again, Cary!

Iannis R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Worst POS I've Ever Known

Reviewed on 3/10/2020

It has been a terrible experience from day 1. We have only used this POS for 2 months and we have had to exchange handhelds in numerous occasions because of software malfunctions and countless other issues related to connections. Because it takes up to 2 weeks to receive a new handheld, we have had to work with limited resources time and again which slows down our ability to serve customers efficiently. In addition to waiting for new products that take so long to come in, we have also spent more money than anticipated on extra equipment that would supposedly enhance the functionality system but never did.

Pros

The appearance is modern-looking and the handhelds are meant to help service.

Cons

Where do I start?
-Tickets double print
-Some tickets don't print at all/delay in printing
-Connectivity Issues
-Credit Card Processor stops working
-Some tables don't appear on the screen
-Switches between wifi connections that are not protected on its own
-Handhelds are not screen protected/too fragile
-Random charges appear on the screen for no reason
-Item slection/organization is not efficient
-bug issues
-software malfuntions

Response from Upserve

Hi Iannis, We apologize that you have had a less than satisfactory experience with Upserve. Our team is currently working with Ji and Hong to replace your mobile devices with stationary ones at no additional cost. We appreciate the feedback and are working together to resolve the main issue.

Pete K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We really like Upserve

Reviewed on 13/2/2020

Excellent customer service. minimal downtime, good payment processing rates, easy to use.

Pros

We've used Upserve (previously Breadcrumb) for going on seven years. Our downtime has been very minimal. The app is easy to use and train our employees on. We are high volume at times and Upserve helps us streamline our order taking and payment processing so that we may service many guests quickly.

Cons

The reporting is good, but could be better. It's simple and that speeds our sales analysis.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very user friendly

Reviewed on 17/4/2018

Pros

What I like about Breadcrumb is that it is very user friendly. I found that I was able to figure most things out on my own, without having to get support. However, when you do need support, the ability to chat with someone online is very useful!

Cons

I have no real complaints thus far. If I had to choose something, it would be that for a tasting menu we have not yet found the best way to set up the ringing in of the menu and being able to fire each course. We will be contacting support about this to see what can be done.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

UpServe is essential

Reviewed on 1/5/2019

Pros

Great interface via computer and mobile devices. Reports are thorough and offer click throughs to further data. The ability to monitor in real time is very helpful.

Cons

I've had a couple hiccups in the past with reports not being sent, but that seems to be corrected now.

Response from Upserve

Hi there - thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that Upserve has been helpful for you and your business. Let us know if there's anything else we can do you make this experience for you top notch. Cheers!

Andrew T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

it is a great pos, when it works

Reviewed on 17/4/2018

Pros

easy to setup and use, portable, can have as many stations as i need, can just add new ones when i need.

Cons

when offline you cannot use giftcards or type in cc #'s, also they do not have a hardwired terminal so if your internet goes it can be a pain in the butt. once you create an item you cannot delete it just have to archive it. when your creating items and you save it it auto puts you back at the beginning instead of the sub folder you were in

Jay G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to Use

Reviewed on 18/9/2018

It has transformed my business. At times, though, customer service lacks. Hard to get a hold of and rarely is there follow up, even when it is promised. The easy of use makes it easy to fix things yourself.

Pros

The ease of programming allows you to make changes on the fly.

Cons

It can be inflexible, especially some of the new features. Particularly the Tip Pool

Response from Upserve

Hi Jay, thanks for the terrific review! We are happy to hear that Breadcrumb has transformed your business. Thanks again for the great review!

Sara P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Amazing customer service, very user friendly and informative software

Reviewed on 27/4/2018

Pros

Upserve and all of their employees have been very helpful. From the transition of our credit card processing to walking us through the system and even on the accounting side. They have always been available and always come onsite to help me out instead of just passing me off through emails like other companies. They follow up after every interaction to make sure i got what i needed out of the meeting and to make sure everything is set. I have enjoyed everyone I have worked with through Upserve, and the app is amazing for a person who runs multiple locations like myself. I cant be in two places at once but this app makes me feel like I'm in the know all the time.

Cons

I haven't come across anything about the software that I didn't like. Any issues/questions that have come up have been solved almost immediately by the team.

Response from Upserve

Hello Sara, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Upserve & Breadcrumb POS! Providing the best customer service in our industry is a top priority for us, so I'm glad you've found it so beneficial! Please continue reaching out if we can help with anything else!

Eric M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Aji Upserve

Reviewed on 24/1/2019

good

Pros

The layout of upserve is nice and the easy of use is right on

Cons

inventory sucks, and the process to add it sucks

Response from Upserve

Hi there Eric,

Thank you for your honest feedback! We're happy to have Aji Tram a part of the Upserve family. We apologize that out inventory solution isn't what you're looking for. Please continue to provide your Success Manager and our Support team with requests on how we can enhance our inventory product to fit your needs.

Have a great day!

Ana celia R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great customer support!

Reviewed on 3/5/2019

Upserve Pos have been helping us to run the business properly in terms of dining room orders. We are excited to see more on-Line ordering features and install inventory.

Pros

Breadcrumb is a easy, convenient and affordable software for medium and small business. Customer support department is really accesible, helpful and friendly all the time.

Cons

On-Line order features according with the market expectations. Mobile friendly layout. Dining room live survey. Fidelity program (points - cash back is not really worth for the restaurant).

Jr R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wine & Spirits
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the Best

Reviewed on 20/4/2018

The best benefits of this system is the amount of training. The vast amount of time that it takes to train both front of the house as well as back of the house is so minimal. Most POS systems require hours of training and errors that can be extremely frustrating. We installed this system and people just started working on it with zero training.

Pros

This Point of Sale system is one of the easiest ones I have used, almost zero training. The reporting is great.

Cons

I wish it did better with items. The ability to have sub items and remove from inventory better would be great.

David H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ease of use!

Reviewed on 6/3/2019

amazing ability to monitor so many aspects of the establishment remotely

Pros

Recently began using upserve. Was my first time using this system and I was very happy at how easy it has been to learn to use! and I love how easy it is manage remotely from the website and the app for monitoring sales/activity is great too!

Cons

nothing to report here. everytime i have had any issue, i use the chat system and am helped instantly

Response from Upserve

Hi there David - thank you for your positive review! Let us know if you have any features and functionality you're hoping to see in the future. We take customer feedback to heart and make sure to implement what we can in our system. Thanks again, David!

Ty F.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use and train staff on and has most all of the functions we need.

Reviewed on 20/4/2018

Pros

That it is cloud based and I can use Upserve to get analytics from my phone on the go. Now that it has an offline mode, it is much more reliable as well.

Cons

There are still a few funky functions that either just don't exist or don't work properly, such as sharing items between people.

Timothy C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple & Smooth

Reviewed on 24/9/2018

This software is super simple to use, and super easy to pick up on the spot. Sometimes support can be a challenge to get in touch with - especially the chat function. The support function on the POS software itself will close every time your screen times out, so be sure to keep touching the screen to keep your chat window alive!

Pros

If you have staff born after 1990, this software is going to be super simple for them to pick up and use immediately. Its so simple - there are no real "tricks" about the software - its just that easy!

Cons

I don't like that it hasn't been optimized for fast casual service yet - once you close a check, you have to do manual math to "refund" the customer on the same business day. I also wish the downloadable reports were easier to read. CSV documents have no formatting whatsoever, and it becomes hard to read. I've ended up simply printing the reports webpage, rather than downloading individual reports. I also wish I could run reports on specific items and their sell trends.

Elspeth C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Huge Help to Our Business

Reviewed on 7/6/2019

Fun and easy to use and makes hosting a much easier job.

Pros

Opentable is easy to use and helps our business move along smoothly and get more reservations.

Cons

It's not self explanatory to merge duplicate profiles.

Tom S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exceptional support

Reviewed on 26/4/2019

Tablet aided point-of-sale system. System works very good as a simple interface which AIDS in quick learning and easy mastery

Pros

I've been working with bread crumbs for many years extremely pleased with the support. Not only as a support very good, but it is timely so when you are in need of help they are there to help

Cons

They're happy hour implementation doesn't work great

Response from Upserve

Hi there Tom, thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that our support team has been helpful for you and your team. We'd love to know more on how we can make our happy hour feature more user-friendly for you. Let us know your thoughts. Cheers!

Rick T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great team work in getting us setup from beginning to end

Reviewed on 20/2/2018

Scalable and easy management of my 3 restaurants. Great reporting and intuitive user interface for my employees. As long as you have a strong wifi network, this system is the best for your money

Pros

The software is intuitive and easy to configure. Changes are easy to make and instantaneous. Reporting is great. Especially automated nightly reporting and live reporting thru the app.

Cons

The software is stable but still has network outages every once in a while. Some could be local network, other could be BC servers. But still very stable overall

Allison W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

So much better than other platforms!

Reviewed on 20/2/2018

Pros

Pretty intuitive, and information is organized well. I like that it isn't hard to figure out basic functionality, and when you do have a question the support articles are super helpful.

Cons

Working in offline mode can really put a damper on things, but that is few and far between. I also wish that the 86 function would automatically update and show on all screens, not just the home screen. Also, notifications of 86 items when you log in would be really nice.

Benjamin W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Top of the Line Support Team

Reviewed on 5/12/2018

I am a first time user as well as my entire staff and we have been able to get all of our questions answered in a timely manner. The support team has submitted the couple requests I have made to their engineering department and we will find out if it is something that can be done. I appreciate Breadcrumb offering to try and create a new button for me rather than just saying no.

Pros

The software is very user friendly and you can tell it is designed for restaurants.

Cons

I have had a couple issues with the order of items on printed tickets in my kitchen but the support team informed me that my request has been sent to the engineering department.

Response from Upserve

Hi Benjamin, thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that you have had such a positive experience with our support team and enjoy our software. Thanks again for the review!