227 reviews

CrashPlan

Easy, automatic cloud business backup

4.6 /5 (227 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
93%
recommended this app
227 reviews
Kyle M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CrashPlan does exactly what it needs to do

Reviewed on 9/6/2017

We no longer need to manage our backup infrastructure. CrashPlan takes care of this. Previously, with Windows Backup, we needed to periodically purge our backups because when using a network location, Windows Backup can't do versioning. So we'd end up filling terabytes of storage of the same files over and over again. CrashPlan fixes this problem for us!

Pros

CrashPlan is really easy to use. I love using it because I can backup to another computer for FREE! The only part of the app that is pay is if you want to backup the the Code42 cloud. If you don't use the cloud, you get easy & free backups! The versioning is also really nice. We can restore a file from any point along it's life. CrashPlan is used to backup our general file server, our email server, and our SQL database dumps. I can centrally restore any file from any server from my location. We migrated to CrashPlan from Windows Backup. It took a lot of overhead out of our backup procedure. CrashPlan has also saved our files from Virus' on a few occasions. With the outbreak of Ransomware, CrashPlan really helps save our files from being encrypted.

Cons

CrashPlan is written in Java, which means, it's pretty much the only reason I have Java installed. Supposedly, a non-Java client is coming, but who knows when or if that will happen. It is also _really_ difficult to manage on a headless server. You basically have to create a SSH tunnel, then from a separate computer 'fake' out that installation of CrashPlan into thinking it needs to connect through the SSH tunnel. Done properly, your desktop CrashPlan will connect to the CrashPlan backend on the headless server. It would be really nice to be able to manage a headless server without any SSH tunneling, or port forwarding, or any of that.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Continuous peace of mind and protection

Reviewed on 11/7/2016

It just runs... You go to lunch, you go into a meeting. Its running. You go on holiday its running.

Code 42 platform can be used to backup end point devices throughout the world to your own private server. Code 42's cloud servers or a combination of both. You can specify global settings or individual ones. Customising to the exact level required for you or your business.

It can be deployed for a few dozen machines or thousands. It gives us viability on our servers data and endpoint client activities providing more insight than just a regular backup client.

Pros

The client is customisable. It can be deployed silently and is configurable from the machine or can be locked and the configuration done via the server.

New abilities allow the user to restore data form their backups if starting again on a new machine. This can aid migrations and ease pressure on facilities.

Strong encryption, compression and an easy to use interface make using the client a pleasure.

Documentation is very detailed and easy to read and follow along.

Code42's support are extremely helpful and pleasant!

Cons

Recent redesigns of the client and server interface have left things confusing. The attempts to make the whole system minimal results in it being more difficult and annoying to use. Some features are difficult to find or too many layers deep now. The interface is also less responsive than the previous versions and often doesn't update for a long period of time.

The web interface for the main server does not work properly in Safari which is a big annoyance for us and our users.

Code42 seem to be continually changing the name of the product. Crashplan Pro. Crashplan ProE, now Code42 platform. It can be confusing and again frustrating.

Code 42's support team are excellent! I cannot praise them enough. However I do not have the same experience with the Sales team, Code42 are after certain customers and in that refuse and do not want to help other customers which has propogated bad will throughout the community that has supported them from a startup.

Joel B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent backup tool, but dropping Home product will lose customers

Reviewed on 8/5/2018

Pros

This was the best and lowest cost backup tool on the market...when the Home product was available. In August of 2017 Code42 shifted away from Home and is focusing on enterprise and small business. The Home product was AMAZING. It backed up quickly, offered unlimited storage, and allowed you to backup multiple computers at the same time. Plus you could back up to other friend/family's computers to avoid having to pay for the service at all. This had everything a home user could want and at an amazing price. NOTHING came close. And I mean NOTHING!

Cons

Unfortunately, Code42 has left the Home market and is focusing on enterprise and small business. For those two segments, this is a great product, but I feel like dropping the Home market is a disservice to their existing Home user base. They should have allowed existing customers to continue forward with their Home product and Home product pricing. I get that they want to change their focus, but moving away will really hurt. That's a bad thing, but it speaks to the excellence of their Home product.

Robert B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

The cheapest backup solution, but be patient to backup or restore

Reviewed on 19/10/2018

Overall, Crashplan is a wonderful software for individuals getting into Cloud storage or looking for an alternative to offsite backup. It provides a fundamental experience with setup for beginners, but lacks the higher end competitors. Additionally, in an emergency event, I would not expect CrashPlan to be first priority for a restore. I would use CrashPlan as a last means of backup/ restore.

Pros

The cost for this backup is what most people value. The option to encrypt your backup prior to sending it to Crashplan's server is comparable with other high end backups. The option to backup to multiple other devices also makes CrashPlan one of the very few backups that allow you to multi-backup to different sites, machines, or other users using CrashPlan.

Cons

The time to backup a 1TB drive could take well over a month (My experience). It never tells you when all files are completely backed up, but continuously keeps backing up. The software does not tell you if a backup has failed or cannot pend. Overall, great value for a small business with 5 or less employees, however, if your a larger company, I would look else ware.

Graham P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A simple endpoint backup solution

Reviewed on 3/10/2016

I have been using CrashPlan for over two years for about 30 of my customers. Aside from a few issues with memory usage for larger backup sets (issues that were quickly resolved with by a chat with support), I have had almost no problems. Backups run, complete, and restores always work.

The software's focus is on backing up endpoints, not servers. But it works fine with simple file servers and is a very inexpensive way to protect data. It's really a last resort backup for most of my clients - not something they depend on from day to day, but it's a great solution in case they end up with a hole in the ground for an office.

The setup process only takes a few minutes. Restores are relatively intuitive - just pick a date and then pick a file. Small restores can be done through a web interface. I have never had to do any large scale restores, but I can imagine that they would be difficult since there is no way to have a hard drive shipped to you - the restores have to be done over the internet through their software.

Pros

Inexpensive, remarkably reliable.

Cons

Tends to be a bit of a memory hog.

Adam P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

BEST backup software hands down !!! I love it

Reviewed on 10/7/2018

It kept all my data, photos and docs safe for years !!

Pros

This is the best backup software for a home user ever. The best part is that you can backup an external USB Drive. I run it on my mac and have been using it for 5+ years. The software runs in the background and backs up my files so I don't have to worry. They have plenty of settings to limit when it backups and how many resources to use. Since I have a capped bandwidth I set it so I just upload in the evening. I've recovered a couple of files by logging into the web interface and downloading a zip of them.

Cons

I'm very sad that they will no longer offer consumer accounts at the end of August 2018 if I'm a small business I would use crashplan. I'm super bummed that the software I recommended to so many is going away :(

Nicholas A.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best Backup Service for Small Business

Reviewed on 22/6/2018

Pros

Small app that does a good job of backing up important files. It auto restarts and rarely fails. If the app does fail the system notifies you via email. It keeps multiple revisions of the files so you can not only restore them quickly but go back to a later date if you need to. The app allows you to set up a local backup as well as your cloud backup for quick restores. Definitely, a must if you are required to store legal documents for up to 8 years like our company.

Cons

The app can sometimes get stuck on huge files but most of the time it resolves the issue without assistance. Can sometimes take up a lot of RAM depending on how many files you need backed up.

Kathryn D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Buyer Beware of Recent Changes to the Services for Small Business !

Reviewed on 23/5/2019

I have spent days on the phone with their technical support management to no avail. They do not offer a solution, and have no plans to correct or back out this potentially devastating change.

Pros

Until recently, Crashplan for Small Business was very reliable.

Cons

I have used Crashplan for Small Business for many years. They have recently implemented a change, as of May 1,2019, which had devastating effects for my businesses. They have chosen to remove from the backup all files in the /user/xxx/library/containers/ directory as well as all root directory application and system folders.

My company’s financial data was stored by our 3rd party Unix app in that directory and Code42 just randomly excluded it from backup, even though it was in the USER directory, and deleted ALL PREVIOUS BACKUPS without permission. Apparently they sent this information out in a “newsletter” to their business clients in Mid April, and implemented the change on May 1.

We had a file corruption of our database on May 18, and we were unable to recover from our online backup with Crashplan. The company made this change to a live system, had no backout plan and no recovery path for the data they deleted without our knowledge or permission. We lost 10 years of data. Absolutely devastating. The customer trust has been breached, but their attorneys claim that we didn’t have a “contract”. This is unbelievable on so many level, and my guess is that most business clients do not realize that this is happening or that their data is missing until they go to recovery and find it gone.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Plug and Play functionality with worry-free backups.

Reviewed on 16/1/2018

Pros

CrashPlan will backup your entire server regardless of size for virtually nothing. I can't believe they can do it for such a nominal fee.

Cons

This seems like a stupid thing, but I really wish they would auto-send me my invoices each month. I have to reconcile my credit card statement and turn it in to our accountant who requires supporting documentation, and it is a bit of a hassle signing in to get the invoice when they could easily set it up to email me each month.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great endpoint backup product with some key

Reviewed on 17/10/2017

Pros

They nail the endpoint backup thing! The new features they have added are great for certain uses cases, such as legal holds and insider threat monitoring.

Cons

Would love to get away from the need for an on-premises appliance while still keeping the security that we get with the appliance. Would save the inconvenience of constantly updating and patching to keep up with all the latest and greatest. Would also love to have a native app rather than a Java based app.

Mary beth C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Crash Plan Review

Reviewed on 2/4/2019

Pros

That is backed up your images and documents that you choose.

Cons

It was slowing my computer down and took forever to back up my raw files ( they are large files). Then when I need to find files to redownload it was hard to find and not an easy process. I took it off my computer as it just made it too slow .

George H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CrashPlan is my insurance plan!

Reviewed on 26/10/2019

This is one of those software that you are glad you had, especally when you lose your data.

Pros

Once set up, there is nothing you need to do. This app just runs in the background. I have access to the various versions of the same file. Once in a while, I go to Crashplan and check if my files are there and verify them it is working. I do not feel any performance degradation so it is good.

Cons

Once in a while, I encounter errors. That's due to my fault because I shut down my notebook during a back-up session. But, it will recover automatically after I turn on my notebook.

Peter H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Unlimited cloud backups

Reviewed on 28/11/2018

Pros

I love that you can backup as many external hard drives as you need to and that they don't ever delete your backups (like BackBlaze does).

Cons

It seems to backup pretty slowly. It would be nice if it would backup faster, but they do seem to be improving this a bit.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Crashplan Pro Enterprise - Simple, Just Works

Reviewed on 2/1/2019

Pros

Set it and forget it. Data de-duplication makes backups fast. Easy to track clients that may have issues, many configuration options.

Cons

They have changed their business model over the years and the price for what used to be called CrashPlan ProE has gone up.

Eric R.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, reliable and infinitely scalable

Reviewed on 3/10/2017

Reduced downtime due to lost data, reduced strain on techs time and effort wise, reliable daily individual user backup.

Pros

The ease of use from an end user perspective, it dramatically reduces the amount of time needed to restore due to lost data.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

awesome experience with crash plan

Reviewed on 1/11/2017

Pros

is really easy to use , had a user friendly interface on windows is easy to install also on Linux is really straight forward , had great customer service and there is a lot of information on internet about it

Jeff S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent product before they changed it to a PAY model...

Reviewed on 3/7/2018

Pros

Excellent interface. Easy to setup multiple backup jobs. Scheduled jobs also launched automatically with little to no issues. Log files also were useful.

Cons

Went to be PAY model and could no longer be used for personal use. Was forced to uninstall and find another product. Was extremely disappointed.

Emad A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love crashplan

Reviewed on 18/12/2018

Pros

Safe the day if your computer crashed. You will get all your documents

Cons

None I do not have anything negative about crashplan.

Joshua L.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It was great for home software until they discontinued it.

Reviewed on 12/10/2017

Pros

The software is well developed, and the features were outstanding on the personal side of things. Intuitive and straightforward.

Cons

Now they are only business software and as a result their prices are climbing. It no longer stands out in the industry like it once did.

Sharon M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy file backup and recovery

Reviewed on 16/11/2017

Peace of mind knowing my files are safe. My business depends on these files, so this is very important.

Pros

- Not only is it very easy to recover a file, but I can select what time to recover it from, in about 7 minute increments. This is fantastic when something goes wrong with a file; you can get the one from yesterday, or the one from a few minutes ago.
- It was very easy to select what files I wanted backed up, and I know my files are safe and can be recovered from anywhere.
- The initial backup took a reasonable amount of time.
- Restoring files is instant.
- I'm not limited on storage space.

Cons

It doesn't do everything. There is no bare-metal restore, so I will need another program for that. I did not find any problems or issues with this software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

CrashPlan ProE

Reviewed on 13/11/2015

We have used Crashplan for about 1.5 years now using an on-premise appliances supplied by code42. Our previous solution was Connected Backup which the backup portion would work fine. We started running into issues on restores of compressed files (.pst and .zip) mostly. Since we have implemented crashplan we backup around 6500 devices and average about 1.7TB of data restores per month. Additionally 96% of these restores are all self-service.

Pros

1) fast roll out. We rolled out 2800 users in about 3 weeks time without issue.
2) ease of setup and expandable.
3) tie into AD.
4)continuous backup
5)Customer Champions are awesome

Cons

1) Reporting out of the box lacks. But the Ties to the API using Splunk is a good substitute.

Aaron M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Enterprise feature set, mid-market ease of use

Reviewed on 1/10/2015

Easy to deploy and manage. Minimal learning curve. End user adoption not a challenge. Works as advertised.

Pros

Enterprise class features like (Active) Directory integration and storing encryption keys on-site while using cloud backup. The product works as advertised and our end users like which means they use it which means our data is safe. The reporting allows us to be sure - imperially - that backups are current.

Cons

There is a cost and the pace of updates means your ops team will upgrade multiple times per year. While they are painless, they still require attention to perform and ensure stability.

Jeremy J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent Product

Reviewed on 16/9/2015

CrashPlan is a lightweight application that handles backup with little no impact to device resources. We currently use it on our servers and faculty/staff laptops. It also makes data migration a simple task.

Pros

-Unlimited cloud storage
-File versioning
-Lightweight
-Easy to administer with a centralized management console.
-End users can restore a file without contacting IT. I have not had to help someone with a restore on their laptop for months, maybe over a year.

Cons

Sometimes the user interface can be a little confusing for end users. However, usually after a little coaching, they are off and running.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Product

Reviewed on 16/9/2015

My company has used Code42's CrashPlan Pro for several years and we could not be happier. Backup an restoration of end user data has been seamless and without fault.

Pros

Ease of use from an Admin and End User point of view, deployment is easy, backups are accomplished without fail. Time saved in reinstalling user data is almost immeasurable.

Cons

With any product it seems the biggest issue is End User error. While the issue is not with the product itself, it is end users either backing up everything on their machine or not saving data to folders that were specified.

Jax W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Simple

Reviewed on 17/1/2019

It has been a good choice for our organization, giving us the ability to back up devices that needed it. While the occasional manual fixes we've needed to implement have been annoying occasionally, the documentation usually has been sufficient in guiding us the right way.

Pros

Starting an account and installing the software is easy, and everything runs in the background with very low resource requirements.

Cons

Occasionally, the services require manual maintenance, which isn't ideal for mass deployments. There are also some default settings which are implemented naively; look out for it trying to back up a page file unsuccessfully.