36 reviews

Datamolino

Data capture software for invoices, bills and receipts

4.9 /5 (36 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.9
/
5
Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.8
Ease of Use
4.9
Customer Support
5
100% recommended this app
36 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Does what it says on the tin...

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/4/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

One of those rare pieces of software that does what it needs to quietly, efficiently and effectively needing very little maintenance or intervention.

Our incoming bills get forwarded by email to Datamolino and shortly after they pop up in Xero ready to be approved and paid.

Cons

Nothing to complain about! It's always just worked! And when we've one or two small issues the support team have helped us out.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Support staff - Always ready to help and always very knowledgable

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 14/3/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

The support staff are amazing, their passion to resolve any issues and ensure that customer is happy is key.

Cons

It would be great to have a "cancel" option once the invoices are selected for uploading so that the invoices that don't need to be uploaded aren't.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jason C.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent product

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/8/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Data Extraction is very good, the software is easy to use, chat support feature is excellent and very responsive. A very good solution.

Cons

I would like to see the software allow the functionality to add a markup to costs for recharge customers from within the software rather than having to do that as a secondary exercise from within in the accounts software application. I also had an issue being able to mark the costs as billable but it seems that is a browser issue rather than Datamolino

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tim P.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

An intelligent approach to document recongition

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 8/3/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Datamolino provides a more accurate and reliable document recognition system than Xero's inbuilt "email to bill" option which is invaluable if you have large document volumes or complex supplier setups. The Datamolino team is also the most responsive and attentive we have dealt with in the XERO eco-sphere.

Pros

Datamolino's "fingerprint" approach to establishing new suppliers works really well. You engage with real people and you can converse with them to get the standard setup to exactly what you want. The team is responsive and customer service is excellent. You don't have to compromise or work around the limitations of AI or computer generated document recognition, which his really helpful.

Cons

The integration with other XERO apps wasn't always seamless, but the potential with, for example, ApprovalMax is huge if you persevere. Sometimes you get tripped up as all three apps (XERO, Datamolino and ApprovalMax) start trying to do each other's jobs. Also, from here in the Southern hemisphere, connection and response speeds tended to be slower than for XERO (hosted locally) as Datamolino lives in Europe.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Cosmetics
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Your Virtual Automated Bookkeeper

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/8/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Very impressed with the personal customer service and the speed of development. Highly recommended if you want to save time on invoice entry.

Pros

Datamolino has saved us so much time over the years. It allowed us to focus on building the business and creating better product rather than bookkeeping and entering invoices. It's fast, accurate and has many features that beat all the competition.

Cons

Any issues that we have had have been dealt with quickly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Thomas michael S.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Love this software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/4/2020
Review Source: GetApp

couldn't recommend it enough

Pros

easy to use
great app
amazing support
reliabillity

Cons

sometimes price, occasionally makes mistakes on OCR

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Cosmetics
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to set up and use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/4/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Good product, worked out more affordable than others and so easy to manage for multi client account.
Only reason I am closing my account is that it is not longer needed.

Pros

The support is excellent, on hand in moments whenever I have had questions
The system integrates well with Xero and is easy to negotiate around client folders and to export pdf reports too.

Cons

The only real edit I needed to do once the bill was in Xero was splitting into multiple line items which would be a nice addition.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Effective, efficient and will save you time

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/2/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Customer support is second to none, they really go the extra mile
Fast and accurate invoice processing
Email address to send invoices to is a big time saver
Virtually immediate synchronisation with Xero

Cons

Receipts aren't handled so well and can be slow to process /can fail to process
Multi page documents don't always process so easily

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sue H.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Datamolino is a great add-on which speeds up our Bookkeeping processes

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 28/2/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

It's really easy to use and the customer support is fantasic! Our questions are always answered within minutes and once the initial 'fingerprint' of an invoices has been set up the processing of subsequent invoices are very efficient.

Cons

Being able to report from Datamolino would be useful eg. supplier reporting, though you can do this from your accounting software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tessa W.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent Support

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 12/1/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Very easy to import documents via a variety of methods and the customer support is excellent. The supplier automation set up is great as once done its even quicker to review and export documents into your account package

Cons

If the resolution of scanned documents is too low then incorrect data can be picked up which can be annoying when having to review and correct docs but then again, its up to you to scan a high res image!!!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mireya Z.
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Datamolino is a great Organizing Software

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/5/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Its been great! Highly recommend the service!

Pros

Very easy to use and helps us organize our accounts payable accounts.

Cons

Proofreading can take a bit sometimes but its worth it as the software wants to make sure the documents are not duplicated.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Stacey A.

Another rare find. Amazing customer service and amazing value!

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 27/6/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

If I could put a person's name here I would. Hands down one of the best customer service teams I have ever encountered. They helped me get setup, handle my multiple business entities and folder structure, etc. A great tool

Cons

User Interface is not flashy. But it doesn't need to be. Just wish it was a bit more inviting in that regards.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to use and powerful

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 19/8/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Straightforward and powerful system; takes the pain out of entering invoices.

Cons

Extra charges for line-item extraction and multi-currency support may be an issue for some users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Claire W.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Can't recommend enough!

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 19/1/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Datamolino has helped make my job easier! As I don't generate my invoices from QuickBooks, I needed a software that can take my invoices, gather all of the relevant information and format this correctly into QuickBooks. Datamolino was so easy to set up and even easier to use! If I ever have any problems, they are always on hand with their online chat to help. They are polite, friendly and really professional. I would recommend Datamolino to anyone and everyone!

Cons

.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brent B.
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 51-200 Employees

An Excellent Tool to Automate Invoice Processing

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 21/5/2020
Review Source: GetApp

The team has taken recommendations and fixed issues almost immediately. I am in Datamolino every single day and can't imagine working without it. The rep I work with directly, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], regularly reaches out to make sure everything is going smoothly and is always looking for ways to improve Datamolino.

Pros

Datamolino has helped expedite and automate invoice management and processing immensely! I was tasked with decreasing the time it takes to process invoices. While we can't automate the process entirely, it has increased our efficiency and accuracy.

Cons

Any issues I've had, the team is very quick to respond and explain or fix the problem. Due to time zone differences, updates may be scheduled while I'm still working, but that has only been an issue once or twice in four months.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Excellent service with amazing customer service

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 24/7/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Datamolino offer a service which alleviates a great deal of data processing on my end and free's up a lot of time. The customer service team have helped me on a number of occasions and have gone way above my expectations.

Cons

Any negatives I have had in the past I have requested assistance from Datamolino on and they have been improved upon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Zoe H.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Helps put efficiency into our daily workload

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 24/11/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

It has helped with our internal processes, providing accuracy and efficiency at the book-keeping level. This allows us to work on more clients and focus on the higher level reporting and advisory service

Cons

I'd like to see some automation on splitting of costs across a split allocation - something i am currently in discussions on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very happy with the product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/5/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Excellent customer service. Well done :)
They are very quick to answer chats, sort out problems
Highly recommended

Cons

NOTHING

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Margaret C.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Datamolino is our preferred Purchase invoice processor - we love it!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/2/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

We love that duplicates are shown up so that we do not waste time on invoices sent twice by clients and that scanned paperwork that is not an invoice is also put to one side and identified.
We also love that the invoices already sent through to Xero are shown on the home page

Cons

We would like to be able to default our preferred method of calculating tax ie 'send exact tax amount'- we do not want Xero calculating tax

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Good clean App

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 4/12/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Easy to use
Does what it says
Always good customer support and the documents come through clear and concise

Cons

They could add an expense claim feature where all the bills from a single user for a period like a week or a month can be bundled together as one expense claim and pushed to Xero.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Justin D.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Definitely Recommend - these guys are great and very flexible.

Reviewed on 17/5/2016
Review Source: GetApp

We had some unique challenges in our business and saw these guys as being a great option to deliver our customers what they needed.

Their technology was very unique, in it allowed processing of documents other providers just couldn't do.

They also provided excellent access to support and technicians directly as needed to help us with integration.

Pros

- Very comprehensive.
- Very flexible
- Constantly improving and developing
- They hit the timelines and milestones they state (very rare!)

Cons

- We had no negative issues or cons with these guys.

Carol W.

Datamolino never fails me

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/11/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I have been using Datamolino for a while and it is really easy to understand, set up, and use. The customer service is fantastic.

The accuracy is really good, yes things do not always come out correctly, but there is a smiple system to tell them where the problems are and they are dealt with quickly and efficiently.

With all software, things go wrong, but you can be assured the staff at Datamolino will be more than willing to listen to the issues, will get back to you in moments, and the development team really do listen and take your suggestions seriously.

Cons

Ocacsionally I have made the silly mistake of uploading a whole file more than once, and realise as I have dragged it into the box, but before I confirm. the problem is the file starts it upload immediately so I have to remember to let it finish and go back in and delete it. The development have said they are looking into a way to have a second confirm level so that does not happen. All my doing not theirs, but the only issue I have with the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tom P.
Industry: Maritime
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Product, Excellent Customer Service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/4/2020
Review Source: GetApp

I would recommend Datamolino to anyone looking to take the repetitiveness out of manual data entry. I can't praise their customer service enough. The chat box in the lower right hand corner of the screen is always answered promptly and they go out of their way to help whenever they can.

Pros

Fully automated compared to other competitors. Great UI.

Cons

Price, but with everything - you get what you pay for. I switched for a time to try and safe money but ended up coming back to these guys as the other software increased my workflow due to lack of automation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Steven S.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Datamolino - Does What It Says On The Tin

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/3/2020
Review Source: GetApp

I wanted to put on record not only what a great product Datamolino is, but they were one of the first companies to help us in a really difficult time. As a pub we use them to scrub all our invoices before passing them into Xero. The scrub has become better and better over time and saves me a huge amount of time. I used to use one of the other "scrubbers" so to speak, but found Datamolino much simpler to use and their app more user friendly. If we ever get the world back on tilt, we certainly will support this company as they have supported us, unlike some other well known suppliers.

Pros

Easy To Use and does exactly what it's designed to do.

Cons

Nothing. The product is easy to use. I'd liek an easier way to switch between companies on the app is about the only thing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Robbert S.
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Amazingly time saving and user friendly software

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/5/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Saved hours in data entry, learns patterns in invoices from suppliers so save even more time on top of automatically reading invoice amounts, dates etc.

Pros

So easy to learn what to do. Integrates with our Xero software seamlessly. The technology behind the software is outstanding saving me hours a month in data entry. The multiple lines per invoice feature is a life saver

Cons

No complaints with Datamolino, much easier to use than other pieces of software I've used for this type of work

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10