Paylocity Reviews

Paylocity

The most complete platform for the modern workforce.

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(832)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.0/5

85%
recommended this app
Sort by

832 Reviews

Patrice
Patrice
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy for End Users to navigate and depend on

Reviewed on 16/6/2023

The overall experience for the end user is an easy product to use, with the ability to keep up with...

The overall experience for the end user is an easy product to use, with the ability to keep up with your employee benefits and payroll all in one place.

Pros

The home screen Dashboard is one of the best features of Paylocity. So many other programs make you dive through multiple menu levels, and Paylocity's overall design makes it easy for non-technical users.

Cons

Reporting didn't appear to be the easiest process. Generating a report took templates to be designed.

Mitch
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Paylocity has been a great tool for our company!

Reviewed on 20/12/2022

Our overall experience has been very positive. The implementation process went smoothly and felt...

Our overall experience has been very positive. The implementation process went smoothly and felt like we had a good team at Paylocity helping us get started with the product. The system was able to meet our pretty sophisticated needs and has been a very good investment if you are looking to move into a more user-friendly product.

Pros

Some of the best parts of this product is how everything is connected and works well together. There is no disjointed feeling as you move from one part of the software to the next. This makes life as an HR professional, payroll preparer, or general accountant a lot easier. We appreciate being able to place all of our HR processes and especially onboarding into Paylocity and eliminate a lot of busy work behind the scenes.

Cons

We wish the workflow software was a little bit further along but we have been told it is a priority in development right now so that is good to hear.

Alternatives Considered

Paycor

Reasons for Choosing Paylocity

We made the switch because we needed a software that was a little bit more sophisticated and more connected across all of its programs. Netchex could be a very good tool for some companies, but we needed one that was a little bit more advanced for our needs.

Switched From

Netchex

Reasons for Switching to Paylocity

We chose Paylocity because it was a good price for what they offered and the site was very user-friendly. Other products we looked at were not as easy to navigate.
Alison
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Persistent Issues/High Turn-Over

Reviewed on 4/7/2018

Their sales is excellent and they will sell you what they have while telling you they can make...

Their sales is excellent and they will sell you what they have while telling you they can make anything else work as they started as a "tech company." Be warned however, you never actually get to talk to a "tech person" if you have issues with their system and therefore, nothing ever changes. They also have a lot of turn-over and it appears that they lose their quality representatives to promotions and seemingly do not have incentive for those quality employees to stay in the representative positions. Those left to support the customer are typically very new and/or entirely unpleasant to work with. If you see exactly what they have during the sales pitch and it works for you, this company could work well for your payroll needs! I would highly discourage any employer from using this company if you have employees that work outside of typical daytime work hours. I do not have confidence that they are willing or able to fix some of the detrimental payroll issues that we are experiencing.

Pros

There are a lot of options that you can decide to use with Paylocity and like other reviewers, we were really impressed with the report options and capabilities when we were interviewing payroll companies.

Cons

We were definitely sold on a lot of options that we are necessary for us to run a smooth, effective and correct payroll but many of those have turned out not to be true. I'll describe out top three persistent, unresolved issues.

For starters, we have employees the work overnight shifts and the way Paylocity time sheets are set up is that if you work an overnight, all of your hours fall on the day you clocked in. This is a huge issue at the end of the week when employees would get paid for overtime in that week if we didn't manually adjust their time sheets to split the shift at midnight. I'll state that again... we have to manually edit every time sheet to correctly prevent incorrect payment of overtime. It's extremely time consuming and often leads to more errors and Paylocity has failed to mitigate this issue at every chance.

Secondly, some of our employees receive a shift differential if they work certain hours. Paylocity reportedly has a set up for this that "works at other companies" but in our experience, it is a serious disaster. Their code/rule/setup does not catch the correct hours for adding the differentials and does one of six things:
1. It does not add the differential at all
2. It adds the differential to some, but not all, of the correct hours
3. It adds the differential to hours that it does not apply to
4. It adds a double differential and on rare occasion a 1.5 differential
5. It adds random dollar amounts at the differential rate with no corresponding hours
6. It occasionally pays all of the hours correctly for one or two employees per payroll

To sum this up, we have to review ever employee and manually adjust these calculations. I'll state that again... we have to manually edit every time sheet to correctly pay our employees. It's extremely time consuming and often leads to more errors. Paylocity has also failed to mitigate this issue at every chance.

Lastly, we have been with Paylocity for almost exactly 2 years and are now working with our sixth company rep who can guarantees, like all the others, that they will solve this issue. There has been one attempt at resolving the issues that

Suresh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The Ideal Payroll Process Software

Reviewed on 24/1/2024

Pros

It comes with a helpful employee database
It helps when it comes to payroll processing
It has time tracking and employee engagement features
It simplifies most HR processes thanks to its many features.

Cons

It has helped us meet all the intended needs and no regrets

Emily
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to implement payroll software

Reviewed on 20/5/2021

Paylocity has simplified and streamlined our payroll process. After switching from another payroll...

Paylocity has simplified and streamlined our payroll process. After switching from another payroll provider, and paper and pen to record hours, it has been a seamless transition to Paylocity for our team.

Pros

Paylocity is intuitive and simple to use. Prior to implementing Paylocity, our team members used paper to record all hours worked. The switch to recording hours in Paylocity was seamless amongst our team members.

Cons

We didn't find any aspects of this software to be difficult to learn or use. If anything, I believe we could use more of Paylocity's features, such as applicant tracking and benefits management, as time progresses.

Alternatives Considered

ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Choosing Paylocity

We struggled with Paychex customer service. Paylocity pricing was also more appealing to us.

Switched From

Paychex Flex

Reasons for Switching to Paylocity

The pricing and overall features offered by Paylocity surpassed that of ADP.
Kendall
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One central hub for all HR-related needs

Reviewed on 14/7/2023

Paylocity overcomes the problem of disjointed HR procedures by centralizing them under one roof....

Paylocity overcomes the problem of disjointed HR procedures by centralizing them under one roof. This increases efficiency and decreases ambiguity. Additionally, the mobile access capability allows us to operate from anywhere, greatly increasing our adaptability.

Pros

The intuitive layout of Paylocity streamlines daily operations. Complex procedures like payroll and human resources administration are simplified. In addition, it provides me with in-depth reports that inform my judgment.

Cons

It's not easy to adjust Paylocity so that it meets all of my company's requirements. Due to its generalizability, it doesn't always mesh with our processes.

Loni
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Paylocity is great!

Reviewed on 17/8/2023

Overall, we are very pleased with Paylocity. We've tried all the big ones (ADP, Paychex, etc) but...

Overall, we are very pleased with Paylocity. We've tried all the big ones (ADP, Paychex, etc) but have never had great experiences with those companies. Paylocity takes care of our every payroll need and reports tax information to the government accurately and timely on our behalf.

Pros

Paylocity makes processing payroll easy. I process payroll for 6 entities and Paylocity makes this an easy task by allowing data imports from POS systems for some locations and time & labor tracking within Paylocity for others. Additionally, all onboarding is done within Paylocity so no need for paperwork or saving employee legal documents outside of Paylocity.

Cons

Sometime customer service can be hard to reach for questions but they do eventually get back to you with resources.

Jerrica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Quick and Painless

Reviewed on 17/7/2023

Pros

Access to everyone's records and time make it easy to work with multiple people at the same time on getting an issue solved. The physical time clock is great for all the employees to use. Correction was quick and easy for any clocking in error or HR issue. The transition of data from the other payroll software was done perfectly.

Cons

The issue of the first set up was terrible. We had a team to help us transition and get the set up for the system changed about three times before we could actually move forward. Running reports can also be hassle if you are looking for something specific.

Stefanie
Stefanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Paylocity is a monstrosity

Reviewed on 30/11/2023

I have had just a blah experience with paylocity I will never ever want to use it again especially...

I have had just a blah experience with paylocity I will never ever want to use it again especially if I ever run a business on my own I have to say it's very mediocre and the dashboard is just not up with the times your standards that I have in my book. There's also just a vague paycheck stub that you get with just the taxes and the breakdown in that fact but it doesn't allow you to go in and search for discrepancies and clocking in and clocking out

Pros

I liked the means of being able to change my direct deposit information in real time

Cons

I hate the fact that this program doesn't offer a detailed breakdown of clocking in and out.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good for HR management

Reviewed on 3/3/2023

In general, it is a good program for managing human resource operations, providing training at the...

In general, it is a good program for managing human resource operations, providing training at the beginning of operation, and giving ease of work.

Pros

An excellent platform for managing human resources in companies, the vacation management application is wonderful, many improvements have been made to it, any employee can be added to this program easily, it helps a lot in issuing and tracking data easily.

Cons

The customer support team should respond more quickly to customer requests, the payroll application should be improved.

Autumn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Paylocity is a game changer

Reviewed on 16/2/2021

This software has transformed how we work as an HR team. Further, it has made day to day processes...

This software has transformed how we work as an HR team. Further, it has made day to day processes easier and put data in the hands of leaders quickly, where in the past both things would have been highly time consuming and often paper based.

Pros

Everything? We are using time and attendance, payroll, benefits administration, learning, surveys, applicant tracking, and onboarding. We also use data insights frequently. If I had to pick a favorite right now, it would be learning (the LMS), as we have used that a great deal over the past year of working and training as a remote workforce.

Cons

None that I can think of. When we have had an issue, the support team is quickly able to address the issue and we are always seeing system improvements.

Alternatives Considered

Paycom, UKG Pro and ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Choosing Paylocity

Needed a system more agile for use in higher education and which could meet our new progressive HR team where they are now and in the future.

Switched From

Dayforce HCM

Reasons for Switching to Paylocity

Agility, functionality, progressive orientation, pricing, and prior positive experiences on this software.
Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use, end users have been impressed

Reviewed on 16/2/2021

Pros

The end user employees are able to take care of most questions and issues themselves through the Self Service Portal. Our semi-monthly payroll entry is simple. Like how the recruiting information for a new employee rolls over to onboarding and HR seamlessly.

Cons

There are some processes that aren't intuitive. For example, setting up HSA bank accounts for individual employees. The integration with our benefits software is a little buggy. There have been errors and I still have to go into our benefits system to make sure terminations and new employees are rolling over.

Alternatives Considered

ADP Workforce Now, ADP Comprehensive Services and Paycor

Reasons for Choosing Paylocity

ADP product with all the features of Paylocity was extremely expensive compared to Paylocity. ADP is still asking us to switch back but their "best" price is out of range for us.

Switched From

RUN Powered by ADP

Reasons for Switching to Paylocity

Price for some and more comprehensive than others.
Jen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Happy Customer

Reviewed on 4/5/2021

No system is perfect, but we are overall happy with Paylocity. They have multiple modules that we...

No system is perfect, but we are overall happy with Paylocity. They have multiple modules that we just keep adding on that make connecting with employees and having one system for multiple aspects of the business very easy.

Pros

Paylocity is easy to use for users. I love that the company is always improving the software and values feedback. Our account manager is always helpful. I manage payroll and Paylocity makes it very easy to complete and I love how there are so many things that integrate with the system. For instance, our 401(k) provider connects, as well as the benefits module.

Cons

The reporting is not very user-friendly for what we use it for, especially expense reports. But overall they are always making improvements and asking for feedback, which makes me hopeful that the reports will improve more.

Madison
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Better than most HR Systems for the price

Reviewed on 2/12/2021

Overall, I truly like using Paylocity and feel that it is much more user friendly for both...

Overall, I truly like using Paylocity and feel that it is much more user friendly for both employees and admins. I would definitely recommend Paylocity to my peers in HR.

Pros

I use Paylocity for onboarding, employee record management, benefits, payroll, reporting and status changes (LOAs, terms, etc.) Paylocity's features can do almost everything that an HR team would need, with only a few lapses that we hope they can improve. The service team is easy to reach and pretty knowledgeable/helpful. Additionally, I assisted with implementation of the product, and I feel that it was pretty smooth and easy to do compared to other HRIS's I've assisted with implementing.

Cons

There are only a couple cons with the software, which are really more of "nice to haves" rather than necessitates. One being that the system does not allow for bulk imports of certain information past implementation. We recently discovered we wanted to start tracking something in the system, and without the ability to bulk import it we had to enter everything manually. Additionally, there are random glitches that the service team is working to resolve, like issues with requesting time off on the App and tracking employee documents in the system. I hope that these issues will be resolved soon.

Julia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All in One HR Software

Reviewed on 5/10/2022

Pros

Paylocity makes it easy for us to manage everything from onboarding, timekeeping, PTO, and payroll. We had two separate systems for timecards and payroll and no system for onboarding before and Paylocity has helped us go almost completely paperless. Timekeeping is easy and the mobile app is excellent for the employees.

Cons

Since the product is modular (pick and choose which modules you would like), some processes require a little hopping between applications but everything works very well together.

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR, Paychex Flex and Paycor

Reasons for Choosing Paylocity

Our timekeeping app was awful and not well integrated with our payroll system

Switched From

Sage 100

Reasons for Switching to Paylocity

Paylocity offered the best pricing and best set of features for our needs.
KRISTI
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good product

Reviewed on 16/2/2021

Overall, we have enjoyed Payolocity as our payroll software. My only complaint would be some...

Overall, we have enjoyed Payolocity as our payroll software. My only complaint would be some features that we are not able to change or integrate with other software for our industry and I feel like Paylocity has grown significantly since we originally purchased the product and there is a small decline in promptness of reply on support issues.

Pros

Our office enjoys Paylocity for our payroll needs. It is very user-friendly and customizable to our industry.

Cons

The Onboarding module has had multiple issues when attempting to make changes or having employees cause an error that can't be fixed by administration.

Alternatives Considered

ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Choosing Paylocity

Paychex was extremely outdated when we made the switch and our sales rep had previous experience with Paychex and so the transition was easy.

Reasons for Switching to Paylocity

We had a bad experience with ADP prior due to them not being able to handle the complexity of our payroll hours, rates and industry.
Sharon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Paylocity consistently meets our needs and provides support when needed.

Reviewed on 22/2/2021

I found HR & Payroll so unbelievably easy to use that we soon added the user friendly Time &...

I found HR & Payroll so unbelievably easy to use that we soon added the user friendly Time & Attendance module, later, the Expenses. We delayed adding Expenses because they did not yet have the Proxy setup. As soon as they got that going, which decreased the time we spent on expenses reimbursements by more than two thirds. When Covid shut our office down last March, I was so glad I was already established with Paylocity and had already begun to look into more features. We were able to quickly add Onboarding, Performance Management, and Benefits Enterprise, so we transitioned pretty seamlessly to a remote working. Impressions are a big hit with all of our employees. Great way to hand out kudos.

Pros

The thing I love most about Paylocity is having all the various modules that make my work life easier. We transitioned our payroll to Paylocity in 2015 because our service at the time did not have ACA compliance capability. The ACA compliance was the most important feature, and it continues to be something I rely on. We have since added many other features, all of which solve our business needs.

Cons

The one complaint I have about Paylocity is that I cannot impersonate a user. I don't know what users see on their screens and that makes it difficult for me to walk them through any processes, especially now that I cannot just walk over to their desk.

Alternatives Considered

Paycom

Reasons for Choosing Paylocity

Many reasons, but mostly because they had no ACA Compliance capability

Reasons for Switching to Paylocity

Same features but much lower price.
Colleen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Libraries
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Paylocity rocks!

Reviewed on 4/5/2021

Overall, it's great to have everything in one place and to have the different modules interact with...

Overall, it's great to have everything in one place and to have the different modules interact with each other. Much easier than previous products we've used!

Pros

I love the idea of having almost all of the aspects of my job in one place! For the most part, the software is easy to use. The Impressions in the Self-Service section is used by our staff for our annual awards, as well as, a way to say good things about your co-workers. Paylocity ROCKS!!!

Cons

Onboarding can be a bit difficult to use. I had to send the link 3 times for our last new employee because it wouldn't let her in. It's not as instinctual as I'd like.

Alternatives Considered

Paycom

Reasons for Choosing Paylocity

Ease of use, interactivity & cost.

Switched From

Paycom

Reasons for Switching to Paylocity

See above
Tina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Paylocity Rating

Reviewed on 6/5/2021

Time and Efficiency Savers:
1)We were able to go from a paper based evaluation process to an...

Time and Efficiency Savers:
1)We were able to go from a paper based evaluation process to an electronic based process with Paylocity.
2) We we able to go from a paper expense report to an electronic based process where the expense flowed automatically from employee to supervisor to their paycheck.
3) ACA reporting is handled by Paylocity.
4) Benefits Open Enrollment is now electronic with Paylocity. The employee elections, changes, deletions, all flow from HR directly to the carriers. No more having to log-in to various carrier portals to make these changes.
5) File feeds are big time saver.
6) We saved money on employee training courses by using the training courses offer by Paylocity.
7) Paylocity offers many compliance dashboards that saves time and money as it flags errors in real time.

Pros

1) You have a dedicated Account Manager.
2) I have worked with a few payroll companies during my HR tenure and Paylocity by far is the best product on the market. It is so user friendly. Employees love it because it is easy to use, it has a mobile app, and anything they need related to payroll and benefits is in one place.
3) Transferring from our old payroll company to Paylocity was an easy transition. Paylocity provides you with a dedicate account manager for payroll and time entry. The do all the work.
4) Compliance with Paylocity cannot get an easier. There are Compliance Dashboards, ACA Reporting Dashboards, Year End Reporting Dashboards. Everything is configured in the system and ready for your review in each of the Dashbaords.
5) Paylocity has the most user friendly Reporting feature I've seen in any product. Lots of standard reports. Easy to use custom reporting featuring.
6) Lots of module that you add as you need, Perf Mgmt, Expenses, Recruting, On-Boarding, to name a few.
7) Performance Mgmt module is so easy to set and customize to your needs. Employees loved using it. It includes a Journal feature that the managers can keep notes throughout the year.

Cons

No Cons. I've used other payroll companies in the past, Paylocity far exceeds all of them.

Pamela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Paylocity is an agravating time clock and needs serious help and upgrading to actually be user...

Reviewed on 20/9/2018

This tedious piece of tech has caused me a ridiculous amount of frustration just trying to...

This tedious piece of tech has caused me a ridiculous amount of frustration just trying to accomplish a SIMPLE task that should barely be given thought during the working day. The whole point, I thought, was to make the experience seamless and help productivity. I am highly annoyed that my company chose Paylocity over the system we had previously, which I never gave a second thought, and mind you, can't recall the name of because it WAS THAT EFFICIENT. I am not the only person at my company who had had to make due with this sub par program. It needs serious work to make it actually function, and is not worth whatever my company paid for it.

Pros

I am not a fan of Paylocity at all, to be frank. I am an employee who has to use this unfortunate piece of software, and on my end...it's a hair pulling fest more often than not.

Cons

1. The fact that I have to SIGN in and then PUNCH in. If I had to do it only ONCE a day, it would be less of a bear. But I have to clock in and out four times. There is no idle clock timer or somesuch that can even be reset, so I have to slog through this redundant system four times every day. I love how going to "sign in" for my lunch break, that it has to sign me out first. ?? That's maddening.
2. How Paylocity loves to forget that I'm only on ONE device every week or two. There's nothing like trying to clock in and spending two minutes having to answer a security question while it spins its wheels. This is NOT efficient, and agravating. Other employees at my company have endured the same slovenly programmed issue.
3. It's finicky as all get out when trying to put in for time off. You can't fill in certain fields, or it will hiccup. You also can't put in for several days in a row because of the same, so of course, there's the tedious process of entering EVERY day you need separately. And, a simple mouse click and Paylocity's whim can even deny you a day off, which you then have to question your manager about, who admits it was the software. AGAIN.
4. Loading time. Again, I love going to clock in on time or early and have Paylocity play games such as taking it's sweet time to load the screen, or populate the field with my password so I can properly log in on top of everything else I have mentioned. Because I have a ludicrous amount of passwords I need to type in for my job already, the last thing I need is to have to remember ONE MORE.

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Payroll Management

Reviewed on 26/6/2020

In general, we’ve had a good experience with this software. Paylocity has worked well to meet the...

In general, we’ve had a good experience with this software. Paylocity has worked well to meet the payroll needs of our company. IT’s been easy to use and helps us to quickly and efficiently take care of the employee timekeeping and payroll each week. Paylocity manages all of the direct deposit, payroll deductions, payments to tax agencies, insurance companies and garnishments, et cetera, so that we don’t have to employ an in-house Payroll expert. Employees have an online profile that they can log into, where they can manage their information and can pull up their pay history. In a small company like ours, we appreciate the ability to oursource the heavy lifting of the payroll responsibilities. Paylocity has done a great job in this regard, and they are responsive when we need to give them a call for support.

Pros

Once you get Paylocity set up, the interface to input employee information and employee time is pretty easy to use, and we have never had issue with any software “glitches”. Whenever there has been any error, it was because of garbage in, garbage out. Paylocity automates all the payroll processing, so as long as the correct data is input each week, the whole weekly payroll process is painless and mostly effortless. The software's reporting features are good, and offer plenty of standardized reports that fit our needs, so we're able to easily handle the payroll accounting with our small office staff.

Cons

Paylocity's support is OK, but could be better. We have an account manager that handles our account, and you have to call or email your account manager. If I need an explanation, or support with an issue, leave a message and have to wait for her to get back to me. Often it takes a lot of back and forth to get the issue resolved, usually days, not hours.

Alex
Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Good product, terrible support

Reviewed on 7/7/2022

Our team has lots of experience migrating large systems from one software provider to another;...

Our team has lots of experience migrating large systems from one software provider to another; while these projects are always nuanced and challenging, we've never experienced the lack of support and integrity that we experienced with Paylocity.

Pros

The product is both well designed and executed. While implementation and support have been another story, the product's functionality and ease of use have been enjoyed by both our administrators and users.

Cons

Unfortunately, our organization had an extremely poor implementation experience. Like many, our industry has some unique payroll tracking and reporting requirements; however, through numerous meetings, Paylocity's salespeople and implementation specialists ensured the product could handle these requirements out of the box. With consultation from Paylocity's team, we scheduled over three months to implement and test the product before going live for a stress-free experience. Unfortunately, our experience was the opposite of what was promised. In addition to breaking numerous commitments and being misadvised by our implementation specialist on multiple occasions, we were not re-assigned an implementation specialist for over a month, which pushed us past our "go-live" date.
Ultimately, we had to self-implement the product to a large degree. After seven months with the product, we are still waiting on promised fixes to multiple issues. We have tried for months to address these experiences and concerns with Paylocity's [SENSITIVE CONTENT] of Implementation Services and other higher-ups. Unfortunately, our e-mails go unanswered for weeks, and the short responses we receive don't address the topics we have raised.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very few kinks

Reviewed on 29/9/2020

Overall, implementation was good and reporting is one of the few bumps. We expect as we use the...

Overall, implementation was good and reporting is one of the few bumps. We expect as we use the system and learn it better, we can make it work for us.

Pros

It was easy to roll over into paylocity from our old system and we like that we are able to still cut payroll checks in-house. The time management and benefit feature is nice and the portal is very user-friendly.

Cons

This was the most expensive solution we looked at. While we decided it was probably the best for our uses, the jury is still out on whether it is worth the money or not. We have found that our old system produced better reports that were specific to our industry (restaurant) and that Paylocity does not have the same reports set up.

Alternatives Considered

RUN Powered by ADP and Greenshades

Reasons for Choosing Paylocity

Compeat dropped their payroll module.
Reema
Overall rating
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A decent punch in/out application.

Reviewed on 14/1/2023

Payroll and viewing payroll documents have been made simpler through Paylocity.

Payroll and viewing payroll documents have been made simpler through Paylocity.

Pros

The punch in and out system is awesome. You can clock in from anywhere. As an employee that works from home half of the week, this is a huge boon for me. It is also easy to view and retrieve documents, like tax information at the end of the year, and paystubs are easy to find and accessible.

Cons

As a smaller company, the hike in price to run payroll was a big con. They doubled their cost per payroll, and when we only have 5 to 7 staff that need paid per pay period for 10 months out of the year, this was a big issue for us. It is also very very difficult to recover passwords, both as the employee and the employer. Employees have no way of contacting customer service or doing a password recovery on their end, and from what I have gathered from my boss who complains about the system constantly, if an employee doesn't login within a certain timeframe from their last paycheck, it basically puts a hold on their account so they can't login when tax season rolls around unless they bring it to us, then we have to go through a whole song and dance to fix it for them. This is a pretty annoying hassle every year. But otherwise, the system has a user friendly interface and is very helpful for running payroll.

Anna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Paylocity is awesome.

Reviewed on 4/5/2021

Been using them since 2015 it's been great.

Been using them since 2015 it's been great.

Pros

Ease of use. I like the Performance and onboarding piece. The A+ learning module is also great.

Cons

Nothing really. I like all the features. Maybe a report that can be customized for pulling info from the custom field, may already exist but i have not found it.

Alternatives Considered

Paychex Flex

Reasons for Choosing Paylocity

not enough customer support.

Switched From

ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Paylocity

User friendly.