Teletrac Navman DIRECTOR Reviews

Teletrac Navman DIRECTOR

GPS fleet tracking and automation software

2.8/5 (30 reviews)
Daniel P.

E-Logs and DOT compliance

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Have used the software for over 2 years and when it works well, it is great. More often than we would like, we run into issues with credentials, permissions, error messages, etc. that don't have a clear solution. Navigating through the software as an admin on the account is not intuitive at all and requires ongoing communication with the product developers.

Pros

The software provides a solution to stay in compliance with the DOT requirements for electronic logs, and manage the drivers and their workloads

Cons

There is a lot of backend work that remains a big question mark to the end user. Troubleshooting and navigating through frequent technical hurtles is basically out of the end user's hands. This wouldn't be an issue if support was consistent, prompt, and reliable but that hasn't been the case.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Jesse C.

We have had an awful experience overall…

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/8/2019
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We have had an awful experience overall…
We have had an awful experience overall with Teletrac Navman. The reporting does not work, we can't get our rep to train us, the system does not allow for easy use and tracking as promised and the hardware is outdated and has to be installed in each vehicle and is not easy to move to another vehicle if you need to due to a sale or breakdown. They lock you into a 3 year contract and you have no way to get out or change once you are in, No good driver reports, no vehicle maintenance alerts, tracking is hard to find and navigate, just the whole thing has been a waste of 3 years.

Pros

Nothing - it has had literally zero benefit

Cons

We have had an awful experience overall…
We have had an awful experience overall with Teletrac Navman. The reporting does not work, we can't get our rep to train us, the system does not allow for easy use and tracking as promised and the hardware is outdated and has to be installed in each vehicle and is not easy to move to another vehicle if you need to due to a sale or breakdown. They lock you into a 3 year contract and you have no way to get out or change once you are in, No good driver reports, no vehicle maintenance alerts, tracking is hard to find and navigate, just the whole thing has been a waste of 3 years.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Manny P.

Great Vehicle Tracking Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Great tracking software if you are in the need of tracking fleet vehicles. You can easily find the location of your vehicles and track their daily routes.

Pros

It's a great tracking software to monitor your fleet vehicles on the daily. Gives you real-time status updates turn by turn on vehicles that you monitor.

Cons

Satellite gets funky on bad weather. Trackers can be disabled easily by easily disabling antenna. Your upgrading tracking device can be costly after time. Geofencing still needs improvements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Victor Y.

Very disappointed of the team members

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 23/5/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

we have used the GPS system , but when it came time to cancel our service ... ohh god it took us 1 full month just to get a-hold of some one, we have called every single day all of their listed phone numbers , we have e-mailed them countless times , in the end we had to call our bank and put a stop on their automatic billing. Finally after 1 month and something , we have been contacted via e-mail by one of their representatives and they canceled our service providing us a reference cancellation number. after 5 mounts of not using them , guess what , their billing department sends us an open invoice - asking us what is going on and why we are not paying our bills . we were shocked , they are trying to get now money from us for not having in their data base that we have canceled. Immediate we have provided the accounting department of teletrac our "cancellation reference number" and a copy of the e-mail of their representative that have closed our account . She responded its not her problem and we need to speak with the guy that we canceled with. This is how they do business . Btw its 5/23/18 and it has been 2 days of us trying to speak with one of them and take care of that nonsense.

Pros

its cheap and the gps system work , other than that very disappointed no other pros for teletrac than those

Cons

you can not get a hold of no-one , when you call them , they dont answer , when you e-mail them they dont respond
very bad customer service

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Matt L.

Horrible experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/2/2019
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

DO NOT USE UNLESS YOU DO NOT HAVE ANOTHER CHOICE
I’d give them negative starts if possible due to the amount of lost time and aggravation trying to get units fixed or get them to send us replacement units.
The Samsung units we were issued continuously malfunction. Drivers cannot log in, get logged off randomly. Units bubble out and screens go blank.
Customer service is a joke. They will issue you a case number and then never follow up. They will waste huge amounts of your driver’s time trying to diagnose the issues which they will never have a solution to. You can never get a hold of a manager in order to escalate your issue. Your cases will be randomly closed without any resolutions.
All current customers that are having these issues should file a class action against Teletrac and force them to provide the service that is required or they should be forced to close their doors.

Pros

When it works the user interface is not complicated

Cons

Tablets malfunction on a regular bases. Customer service is TERRIBLE.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nancy L.

Excellent Way to View and track trucks

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 18/7/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This had been a wonderful experience using this software. I find myself getting caught up on looking at all the features. It really makes me want to look and see where my trucks are and what they are doing. You can zoom in and get a Ariel view and even see what parking spot the truck in is at a truck stop.

Cons

Took just a little bit to get use to all the features that you can keep up with the trucks. There is a lot of stuff that the software will do you just have to use it to get use to it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Derrick S.

Great product that does the job

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 18/7/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Ablilty to track my vehicles without an issue

Pros

I can track every aspect of my vehicles. I know when each vehicle is started, turned off, Idling for too long, and if they are speeding.

Cons

The online software is outdated. It needs to use Microsoft silverlight which you can only use on certain web browsers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kristen D.

Great way of tracking our employees when on the job!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 27/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's easy to use and i love the minute by minute updates. There are many reports that you can run and saftey reports are easy to pull up.

Cons

The only thing that I don't love about Teletrac is that the HOS is a little complicated to learn and use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Scott C.

Cheap & Easy to use - Lacks Major Functionality

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/4/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Teletrac is a great system on a low budget and you don't really care about its ability to interact with any other systems. If all you are looking for is the ability to track your truck and something for drivers to use for E-Logs, than this might be up your alley. However, if you are expecting any type of integration with mainstream products than this isn't what you need. This product has more cons than pros when it comes to the trucking industry. The tablets are easy to pull out of the truck, break, and lack OTA updating. Mapping is substandard and program functionality is sub par. We used this system for over a year and scrapped it after so many issues of compatibility and functionality.

Pros

Very Basic in what it can offer and do

Cons

Lacks major functionality and does not incorporate well to the major trucking industry standards and programs

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

2.0/10
Thomas C.

The overall experience to date has been mixed.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 14/9/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Ease of use and ability to track unit location. the ability to get real time data on the operation of the unit.

Cons

Were not set up in the beginning with the correct access to fully use the Telatrac system. This hampered the ability to use all the reports and monitoring that that we had available.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Nancy L.

Excellent GPS tracking for our trucks

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/1/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

What I enjoy and like the most of all is I am able to pull up the location of our trucks and in just a few clicks see exactly where the truck is sitting. If its backed into a dock or in a parking lot, or at a truckstop. I don't have to call the driver every time to get a update that can also be done via text message right from the software.

Cons

The reports for diagnostics on the truck could be a little easier and user friendly to pull up reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Lizzette P.

Money Saver!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love this software because it's easy to use. It's basically dummy proof, plus if you do need help with anything there are videos to assist plus customer service to assist as well. It has helped our company save a lot of money with employees when it comes to work hours.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Nick L.

This system has potential, but the learning curve can be too much for folks who aren't tech-savvy

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/6/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The customer service. Teletrac employs good salespeople and they have taken care of us and ensured that the software and product meet our needs.

Cons

Learning curve that comes with the stigma of being "tracked". People are defensive and do not take to the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Carol D.

Teletrac Navman

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 22/7/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Training and set up was hard to get through. Didn't feel we didn't get the support we needed. However, once set up it seems to be running well.

Pros

The ease of use. It is also very spot on. We also got the cameras on this too. It is good insurance to protect your assets. Very happy with it.

Cons

Set up is detailed which is good but the lack of instruction. Still working through it. I haven't found a global set up so set up has to be done for each truck.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Bob V.

Excellent Fleet Management Solution

Reviewed on 29/3/2013
Review Source: Capterra

Highly recommended. Both our construction/energy services divisions havedemo'd multiple platforms in past including Fleetmatics and Networkfleet, neither have the quality and features of Teletrac. Should be a no-brainer for most...

Pros

We began using Teletrac's Fleet Director primarily for vehicle location monitoring and navigation, however after learning of Fleet Director's safety analytics add-on we have recently adopted an internal driver safety program utilizing the driver scorecarding metrics. We now incentivize and motivate our employees to be wary of engine idle-time as well as safe driving speeds.
Learning more and more about the benefits of this software everyday. Great product!

Cons

Can't say that we have ran into any negatives at this point.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Damien S.

Not worth entering into a contract with them

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/10/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Take your money somewhere else, customer service is lacking, they are all over you at the time of sale, they ignore you trying to cancel and won't return calls.

Pros

It does gps tracking, it's more for tractor-trailer truck tracking and not a service fleet, they come out and install.

Cons

You don't have a contract with them, they create 36-month contracts for every device if you add a device its a new contract, not worth doing business with them. When we tried to reach out to cancel, we emailed, called and never got a response. We once called twice a day for 2 weeks, never got a call back from our rep, it was a joke in the office, horrible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Scott O.

Don't walk, RUN from this company

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/5/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

There are no pros to this company. They will take your money and then push you to the side with the automated phone system

Cons

They only offer a 3 year contract. BEWARE, once you sign there is no getting out. Multiple issues almost every day. The clocks do not reset correctly, which means paper logs till they fix it. Going from sleeper to OFF DUTY starts your clock, so more time wasted. Slow to update, screens move slowly. Customer service takes what seems like forever. The recording says you are next in line and it takes 20-30 minutes on average to get to them. Then they just read from their playbook. In the past 2 weeks we have 4 open work orders, with warranties also. If your equipment cannot last 2 weeks, probably something wrong with it. If they tell you they are going to escalate your ticket to a higher level, don't expect a phone call anytime soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Richard B.

30 minutes on hold everyday with them not being able to fix the problem.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2/11/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

DO NOT USE!!

Pros

Tracking software work great when it is working. The sales man the locked us into the contract was very good at his job.

Cons

ELD logs drivers logs driver out for no reason. Red over speeding comes up on the Garmin even if the driver is not speeding. Drivers have take their eyes of the road to reset the navigation at every stop light and stop sign. I consider the devices unsafe for truck drivers. Trying to get a hold of someone in customer service is a joke you can wait on hold for up to 30 minutes at a time. Having a driver wait on hold is not an option. Truck drivers have enough to worry about when they on the road. They will lock you into a 3 year contract with a system that does not work correctly. I have had the ELDS in our truck for 3 months now and have to call Teletrac everyday. I would not recommend them ever.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nadia T.

Worst Customer Service

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 24/1/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Go with ANY other vendor. Teletrac is not worth the pain. Once you've signed that three-year contract, good luck getting a hold of someone to answer your questions!

Cons

We've lost GPS signal on several of our trucks. The app regularly has difficulty syncing to the trucks GPS. Customer service often doesn't answer or allow you to leave a voicemail. If you are lucky enough to get through, the Customer Service Rep is typically clueless, and unable to resolve your issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jon H.

Teletrac is a decent service that does its job.

Reviewed on 12/9/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Dependable and serves it purpose well, also crews can clock in from the road.

Cons

I cant track the vehicles once the GPS system is off.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
David K.

Quite disappointed with Teletrac

Reviewed on 22/10/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I like best that Teletrac is affordable, meaning companies do not have to outlay a hardware investment.

Cons

It does not offer anywhere near the level of reporting available through Peoplenet and Qualcomm. The reports need to drill down to the unit level for areas such as idle time hours and idle percentages. I could go on into other areas. Best for you guys to simply visit someone using PNET and compare for your self.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

2.0/10
Willard T.

Worst customer service ever.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 26/6/2018
Review Source: Capterra

None

Pros

Nothing to like about it! It is total junk from the word go.
If and when it works it is great. Neverhappens
It doesn't work!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons

Out of 40 trucks 6 or 7 are down on a daily basis.
Sit on the phone with customer service for 1 to 2 hours daily and still doesn't work!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Paul T.

Good ergonomic software, Customer support is satisfaying and so is the overall quality

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 7/6/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is rather easy to use. Tracking and Monitoring functions give valuable insights which help me to adjust my fleet

Cons

It takes time to understand how the software works and coordination is hard sometimes for novice users

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

David O.

More than satisfied!

Reviewed on 18/9/2009
Review Source: Capterra

Works great

Pros

Two weeks after the Teletrac was installed... I received a Teletrac alert on my cell phone at 3:30am that one of our delivery vehicles was leaving the yard (all vehicles are back no later than 8pm). We contacted the Police and were able to direct them right to our van! I have been hooked ever since.

We use this system to communicate to our drivers, validate deliveries, and monitor our vans.

Cons

I would like the driver messaging to integate somehow with our ADP labor management.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ben F.

Teletrac (horrible)

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/6/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

There are no pros for Teletrac as it is very inconsistent and inaccurate. The company was stuck in a contract for a few years too.

Cons

Inaccurate and inconsistent. The GPS location that is showed of our drivers were never correct and had delays on the system all the time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support