70 reviews

NCR Aloha

Technology to help you run your restaurant end-to-end

3.6 /5 (70 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3.6
/
5
Value for Money
3.3
Features
3.8
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
3.1
64% recommended this app
70 reviews
Edward L.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Aloha Everybody

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We have partnered with NCR and have had a great experience from install to support.

Pros

Ease of use and the ability for our management teams to continue to program easily with out support.

Cons

The software and hardware were outdated in 7 years and cost a good amount of money. It’s understandable that technology advances exponentially however It becomes an annoyance to spend so much money for a limited time frame. NCR should have a trade program to help with the transition.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Aloha to Aloha

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Aloha was a leader in the industry, but I don't feel they have kept up with the other, newer and more streamlined systems. I've often felt as though they keep trying to put makeup on the old version and not bring anything new. But the cost associated with this system is astronomical.

Pros

I really like the setup and the presentation of the software. The older versions were always clean and I like that they kept this through the years. The software works well and is user-friendly. The layout is nice and easy to read and find what you are looking for. I mostly liked the ability to pull up the reporting on my phone via the app. It was amazing!

Cons

This program continues to grow and expand but I don't feel it is doing so in a good way. While they focus on what they have always done, other systems provide more and seem to do so in a more streamlined manner. The support is lacking and hard to get through to the right person to help. They use so many people or satellite companies that have limited resources. I used one that said they were large and could handle all we were rolling out, but they could not. They were never there when we needed them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Scott K.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy Choice

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I've had great experiences with Aloha over the years. Customer support knows when to escalate issues and generally the response times are quick. The software is easy to learn for FOH and back office manager functions are intuitive.

Pros

Aloha has the capability to handle any concept protype in development then seamlessly transition into multi-units. Reporting structure is best in class with unit level metrics remaining a priority.

Cons

NCR Aloha is one of the pricier options which should really only be utilized with multi units. It's too robust and complicated for the average mom and pop place.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andrew V.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great back office product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Absolutely great across the board

Pros

All aspects of back office management is well integrated into one platform.

Cons

Sometimes has long lags in between screens.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kurt B.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Upgrade is a disaster

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/7/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Poor communication from support. Doesn’t seem like anyone cares. They fix one problem and create another. I’ve had Aloha for 18 years and after this Windows 10 upgrade I will be looking for a new POS system when the next upgrade is required

Pros

Easy to use when it is working. User friendly.

Cons

New upgrade has a lot of issues and it doesn’t seem like anyone has the knowledge to fix them. Spend way to much time dealing with these issues. They fix one problem and create another.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Greg C.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

NCR Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Our overall experience with NCR has been great. The product, while it may be on the higher side of pricing, is well worth what you pay for. You just have to utilize it properly.

Pros

We started out with multiple POS systems across our properties, NCR was the easiest to use and most user friendly for FOH and BOH staff. It is easy to train on and easy to deploy once you have multiple locations. We have tried many other POS providers out there and NCR has always been responsive and quick to solve any issues or answer any questions that may come up.

Cons

Built in reporting lacks compared to other providers, their online reporting tool is good but still has a ways to go when compared to Avero. The initial roll-out of connected payments was needed by us and I wish we would have not went with the Verifone pin pad product they offered at the time. They quite often break down and are buggy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Vince S.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Ease of use Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/5/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Been using Aloha POS software at three of our restaurants. Easy to train staff. Only negative is that NCR is too big of company to respond to customers needs on a timely basis.

Pros

Quick to learn. Great for multi units operations. No monthly fees, can purchase Aloha outright. Provides necessary reports to efficiently run and operate your business. Durability.

Cons

NCR support response time to issues . Monthly Fees for optional products e-cards, loyalty. Unable to purchase swipe e-cards from other sources.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tina H.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Very easy to use and to teach

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/6/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Very user friendly, easy to teach to new employees. Easy to process payments and close out checks. Easiest use for bartenders I've seen.

Cons

Different functions available at different places I've worked at. If there is ever a power outage there is no built in backup battery or access to the open checks.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tj S.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Costly, but great operating, staff enjoyed, easy system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/7/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Ease of use, staff friendly, back office ok, once set up. Reporting is easy & efficient. Cloud based a big plus

Cons

Set up is brutal, cost is high, customer service was non existent. System did crash more than once. Wasn't easy to integrate payroll or sales history

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jazmin C.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Aloha was our old POS system that was fine for a smaller business but not for a company of our size

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 8/3/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

For a smaller company (100ppl) this wasn't a bad POS system. For larger companies I'd suggest a different POS system.

Pros

Once you understood the setup and features it was easy to use and train staff on. It was also nice you could create multiple gift cards at once.

Cons

It was clunky and hard to integrate with our business that was expanding. When we incorporated more online orders/catering software this program wasn't keeping up to our standards.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Sean M.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good customer service, quick reslove.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/8/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Easy to use at POS. Easy to train someone on. Easy to program new products, prices or menu's on. Quick speed.

Cons

When downloaded new version, lost most of old stuff. Sometime when calling for support we get someone that really doesn't seem to know what their doing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Katherine G.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 201-500 Employees

User Friendly

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 27/11/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

User friendly at the restaurant level. At the programming level, Aloha has added new options with each upgrade that make programming easy.

Cons

Some functions do not work even with the support companies assistance such as Movies at clock in. I understand there are companies that have been able to make the movies work, but those are larger companies with an IT department.

With the 12.3 release I am unable to drop in data bases to the file server. This function was removed when they moved to a sequel server setup. This has greatly complicated the programming function at multiple locations without paying more money for another service.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Phuong P.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Software streamlines HR documents but is still glitchy.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 29/6/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Organization of files, user-friendly interface, can organize both HR files along with other paperwork

Cons

Glitchy, occasionally not enough communication within customer service dept. (Ex: we were told one thing by one representative and something else from another)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Dale W.
Industry: Restaurants

Aloha pos review

Reviewed on 11/2/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Flexibility to cover a wide range of programming needs. Like take out delivery, inventory, age verification, scheduling needs, Etc.

Cons

Takes a while do get upgrades and new versions stable enough for local dealer to implement at store level

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Stephanie C.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/5/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Not worth time and money spent.

Pros

User friendly, FOH clean and simple. Menu's look clean. Navigating through screens as a manager is simple.

Cons

BOY very complicated to navigate through. Adding items to multiple screens takes a very long time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

W. jeff O.
Industry: Restaurants

Aloha POS Review

Reviewed on 9/2/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Legacy product but overly complicated with network configurations. You really get the feel that the vendor wants to make their service contract a life or death decision by making it as complicated as possible. In a plug and play and cloud based era, this is very unattractive.

Cons

When you do buy the software and service contract, they are responsive to fixing things as needed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Kathy O.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha review

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 19/12/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Aloha is highly functional and easy to learn POS system. It is in my opinion after working with others the best on the market. It sometimes has issues but most people in the customer service department fix them promptly. I wish many of the cool features were not all additional costs. It seems most things we want to do sometimes mean we pay extra. Even simply labor tracking.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Elle W.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Aloha POS

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 8/11/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We have been with Aloha for a number of years, they are not a bad system and it works functionally and can handle a high traffic volume that our restaurant has however there are some down sides. Please keep in mind when reading this review we are not using the most updated version of Aloha.

Pros

Traffic is kept up with and all necessary functionality is there.

Cons

Customer service. Every time we have an issue that we have to deal with it takes a long time to deal with and the responsiveness of the service department leaves much to be desired.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Bruno S.
Industry: Venture Capital & Private Equity
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 6/11/2018
Review Source: GetApp
Julia U.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 201-500 Employees

15+ years experience using Aloha POS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/6/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Aloha used to be more an industry standard but they are falling behind the times due to outdated software and ease of integration.

Pros

Ease of usability for Front of house
Reliable
Industry Standard/ Familiarity
Good customer service if you pay for that service

Cons

Outdated software
Limited additional software upgrades
Lack of reporting options/ We use secondary program to generate reports (CTUIT)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Kathy O.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha POS works great

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/12/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall this product works very well, and is very easy to figure out if you sit and learn for a bit. There are many integrated functions that allow us to do many things within the system. The staff finds it very easy to use as well. Very few problems.

Pros

I can edit most things on my own, and the ease of changing things in the POS is fairly simple. The ergonomic design makes it easy for staff to use.

Cons

I think the customer service sometimes lacks, in terms of getting through to the right person to help and then the problem never truly being resolved. Some of the buttons I have needed in the past, are not allowed on my end and I have to call and have someone add them to my end which is silly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Brent B.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Aloha for Restaurant Chains

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall very positive, my rep responds to issues quickly. The helpdesk at night and on weekends needs further training to resolve issues quicker.

Pros

The Aloha system is easy to use, easy to update, and is stable.

Cons

I would like to see Aloha partner with large delivery companies to develop a seem less software addition for incoming orders. It also would be nice to see Configuration Center have an option for live screen view when you are building out menus.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Don P.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 201-500 Employees

POS functionality

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/1/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

It is too difficult to navigate the back of the house functionality. There are too many steps involved.

Pros

Ease of use for servers in that the categorization and screens are easy to follow and remember. The checkout feature for daily data capturing is also very usefull.

Cons

Back of the house programming. Changing buttons and designing screens, along with changing the footer on the customer ticket, is too difficult to navigate easily.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Robert A.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best POS enterprise on market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/5/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Have used over 4 different POS enterprises. Aloha and NCR is best service and options no questions asked

Pros

Have used full service, QSR, and mobile pos products and always have been satisfied. Hosted services are a huge plus. Customer support is always painless and quick to produce a solution.

Cons

A little pricey but worth paying. If app is implemented it is based off POS database making some changes to the app not feasible

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael T.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

CEO

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

A positive experience - works as advertised - we added Aloha features liek ATO, OLO nd these continue to challenge us.

Pros

Robust - does a lot of things. In fact does more than we know how to do.

Cons

Too complicated - not intuitive. Take a long tome to understand it. And - after using for 15 years - we still done know all it can do.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10