71 reviews

NCR Aloha

Technology to help you run your restaurant end-to-end

3.7 /5 (71 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

3.7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
65%
recommended this app
71 reviews
Andrew M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

My Review

Reviewed on 12/11/2020

Overall, it's been a mixed experience. Our local retailer got bought out by NCR and that's been a difficult process because the level of personal support changed for the worse. One of our largest deployments was delayed by six months+ because they couldn't supply us with hardware! Yes, NCR could not supply the stuff they manufacture. But again, that's not a software issue. Specifically software, it's been a good experience.

Pros

Device compatibility across windows workstations. Ease of end user use and ease of basic programming.

Cons

The worst part for us is the lack of the ability to push out changes to terminals without doing a complete system refresh and taking the entire FOH down for > 3 minutes. Often we'll notice a price or an item issue during business hours and have to take the whole FOH down just to update a modifier or something of the like. Also, there's no compatible tablets that work with chip and pin to line bust and run faster drive thru service. That's more of a hardware issue for sure, but it's a real sour note for us. Additionally the IBER process seems to be pretty fragile when using third party services like omnivore and even above store reporting suites. We'll have an IBER crash at least once a week during a busy shift.

Richard C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Aloha POS

Reviewed on 14/3/2017

Pros

I like the ease of use. Even a brand new employee of a company can jump right in and use this intuitive software. Also you can use it as an in house system or could based.

Cons

Setting up in house can be more confusing if a restaraunt or store is doing it themselves. Takes a little bit of tech knowledge to setup.

Taleen Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Time consuming, but functional

Reviewed on 9/5/2017

Pros

Weekly and summary reports are easy, clock ins are easy to adjust. Having the ability to temporarily disable a menu item is great.

Cons

It takes multiple steps to change a menu, and to add items. You have multiple cash out sheets, so it is complicated to count out at the end of your shift

Jessica K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easiest POS System To Learn

Reviewed on 15/2/2020

Pros

I’ve been using this POS system for 4 years and it didn’t take long to understand how it works.

Cons

This software will glitch from time to time when pressing certain command buttons.

Wadi I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Aloha is a very dependable system, but a little complicated in programming.

Reviewed on 14/10/2016

We have had Aloha for about 15 years. It is a very robust and dependable system. Very happy with the daily operation it provides. We love the rewards program and the gift card features (for additional monthly fee) it has. They are well integrated. Last year we added the takeout module feature which allows you to program orders in the future; this module is not as well integrated as the rest of the feature. We have had problems with it and has not been resolved yet.
Recently when we have needed tech support the response time is not as good as it used to be with some support response taking over 24 hours to respond.

Pros

The dependability it provides; rarely does it crash if ever.

Cons

complicated to make changes and some features (take out module not well integrated).

Andy P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Worst system and support service is terrible

Reviewed on 11/11/2017

support team is terrible, they barely speak English they cant fix any issues and don't care about the system going down on a busy Saturday night

Pros

It's easy to use for servers Programming is ok when you get use to it. they layout is nice
there needs to be a local help desk its all directed

Cons

Never stays online, system goes down all the time terrible. no one wants to properly fix it they want to pass it on via email and leave you with no system

Mike P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use and great user interface

Reviewed on 1/7/2019

Pros

I really like the reporting module and its automatic reports

Cons

Week inventory management system could use improvement

Rebecca K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excelent!`

Reviewed on 15/12/2016

It was a fast way to get in contact with different companies regarding software

Pros

Very fast information
They get what you want

Cons

too many emails

Julia U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

15+ years experience using Aloha POS

Reviewed on 7/6/2017

Aloha used to be more an industry standard but they are falling behind the times due to outdated software and ease of integration.

Pros

Ease of usability for Front of house
Reliable
Industry Standard/ Familiarity
Good customer service if you pay for that service

Cons

Outdated software
Limited additional software upgrades
Lack of reporting options/ We use secondary program to generate reports (CTUIT)

Kathy O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Aloha POS works great

Reviewed on 9/12/2017

Overall this product works very well, and is very easy to figure out if you sit and learn for a bit. There are many integrated functions that allow us to do many things within the system. The staff finds it very easy to use as well. Very few problems.

Pros

I can edit most things on my own, and the ease of changing things in the POS is fairly simple. The ergonomic design makes it easy for staff to use.

Cons

I think the customer service sometimes lacks, in terms of getting through to the right person to help and then the problem never truly being resolved. Some of the buttons I have needed in the past, are not allowed on my end and I have to call and have someone add them to my end which is silly.

Brent B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Aloha for Restaurant Chains

Reviewed on 3/11/2020

Overall very positive, my rep responds to issues quickly. The helpdesk at night and on weekends needs further training to resolve issues quicker.

Pros

The Aloha system is easy to use, easy to update, and is stable.

Cons

I would like to see Aloha partner with large delivery companies to develop a seem less software addition for incoming orders. It also would be nice to see Configuration Center have an option for live screen view when you are building out menus.

Don P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

POS functionality

Reviewed on 17/1/2018

It is too difficult to navigate the back of the house functionality. There are too many steps involved.

Pros

Ease of use for servers in that the categorization and screens are easy to follow and remember. The checkout feature for daily data capturing is also very usefull.

Cons

Back of the house programming. Changing buttons and designing screens, along with changing the footer on the customer ticket, is too difficult to navigate easily.

Robert A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best POS enterprise on market

Reviewed on 29/5/2018

Have used over 4 different POS enterprises. Aloha and NCR is best service and options no questions asked

Pros

Have used full service, QSR, and mobile pos products and always have been satisfied. Hosted services are a huge plus. Customer support is always painless and quick to produce a solution.

Cons

A little pricey but worth paying. If app is implemented it is based off POS database making some changes to the app not feasible

Michael T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CEO

Reviewed on 10/11/2020

A positive experience - works as advertised - we added Aloha features liek ATO, OLO nd these continue to challenge us.

Pros

Robust - does a lot of things. In fact does more than we know how to do.

Cons

Too complicated - not intuitive. Take a long tome to understand it. And - after using for 15 years - we still done know all it can do.

Roy G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fast and Easy POS

Reviewed on 9/8/2019

Pros

Saving time , easy to use , very user freindly

Cons

at the beginning there was several customization that was required more that what was planned

Grace D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My favorite pos system

Reviewed on 25/7/2019

So I have used NCR Aloha POS off and on for years. My company used it before I worked there and then switched, but I don’t know why. Aloha is not as user friendly for back of the house stuff but once you familiarize yourself with it, it’s much easier to understand. The front of house part of the system is very easy to use and I love that servers can do things like combine checks etc and help them work smarter and me more efficiently

Pros

Easy to use
User friendly
Easy to have employees do things alone

Cons

Back of house not as user friendly as others

Krista K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

User Friendly and Quick to Learn

Reviewed on 14/4/2017

Pros

Of all of the systems I've used in restaurants, Aloha is by far the most easily learned and widely used. Employees with food service experience are likely already familiar with the interface. Changing items in the menu is a breeze.

Cons

I wouldn't say it's the prettiest system, I am not sure if there are newer versions with a nicer looking interface, though. I wouldn't suggest having this screen facing customers (which I often see in restaurants) because of this.

Elliot W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

lack of ability to fix problems with hardware

Reviewed on 20/12/2017

lack of ability to speak with service managers. We are operating a business and struggle to maintain standards when fighting with the computor

Pros

when the computer it worked it was very stable system, i think its rediculas that i need to write one words of positive when it isnt a positive experience

Cons

service is awful- cant fix all the problems, we had credit card processing issues and checks double printing on multiple kitchen printers. sometimes just switching out the unit isn't the solution. We have called and emailed for weeks and problems are not being resolved.

Tom K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Aloha - they are not keeping up

Reviewed on 23/3/2016

Pros

it is very flexible and configurable, it is easy to use and learn for the servers.

Cons

it is not always stable, and can be very buggy. It was great 10 or 15 years ago, but they have not kept up and the software is plagued by old code.

Keiko I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Do not trust companies which has been through lots of mergers, very unreliable.

Reviewed on 20/4/2017

I would like to ask... Before being bought or being merged, have you ever thought of upgrading and improving the system, quality of customer service?

Pros

They have all the basic functions. I don't really have a good thing to say about this company and system.

Cons

Legacy system, not user-friendly. The color of the screen is also ancient.
Never seen a customer service response this bad. We run a restaurant, and time is money.

Joe L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Legacy Product

Reviewed on 13/11/2018

Pros

It is easy to use for front of house staff. The hardware is durable. If all you have is one small bar with no plans to grow it's fine.

Cons

A nightmare for office staff. No software updates ever. Terrible customer service. If you have multiple locations it's a terrible idea to have this.

Audrey H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the best restaurant POS systems out there

Reviewed on 31/3/2018

Overall a rounded score of a solid A!

Pros

A restaurant POS system powerful enough to run an entire restaurant on. Aloha is definitely an easy-to-use software. The core features are designed specifically for restaurant success.

Cons

The cost is really the only cons that I could say for the software, however, with that said, you get what you pay for.

John M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Outrageous customer service

Reviewed on 24/10/2017

This company sells inferior products as new them rip you off when you need to replace

Cons

The staff that supplied it, rude , unhelpful, always out to rip you off. No service support unless you pay ridiculous fees

Peggy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

NCR Aloha is here to stay

Reviewed on 10/11/2020

Very satisfied with the software programming overall. Very happy with our local account rep and local support. The support they give us is tremendous. We have been with Aloha / NCR for six years, started with 4 locations, and have added 3 more in the last 4 years. We have the same account rep which is terrific. He knows our Brand, our set up, and is able to make valuable suggestions to make us successful.

Pros

Asking the right questions to the right people, NCR can pretty much do anything we request. We use most of your product, including take out and delivery. I like that everything is integrated.
We upgraded to command center from secure access to manager our 7 locations, great software. Having terminal access to the locations is great for testing and training.
Management loves the Pulse App.

Cons

The way take out and delivery is programmed through AO. The delay between the POS data base and ATO is tedious.

The help desk support lately has not been as good since COVID. Most issues need to be escalated to a level 3 tech, and no one can be found when needed. Waiting and waiting for a call back. We have to reach out to our local support in most cases to finish the support call. Very frustrating for our teams in the restaurant.

Courtney S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Restaurant Software

Reviewed on 12/2/2021

My overall experience with NCR Aloha is that it's the best software for any restaurant. I have used a few different ones and this one is by far my favorite. It's very easy on the back and front end. I do wish the customer service was easier to reach, it takes a while to get ahold of them. However, the software is so user friendly you probably won't need customer service much.

Pros

The best feature about this product is the ease of use. Aloha is extremely simple which makes it easier for new employees who have never served before. The layout is very blocky so that it's easy to read and click. This is true for both computer and mobile devices.

Cons

My least favorite thing about Aloha is that you can't do everything on the mobile app that you can do on the computer. Our servers use mainly the mobile apps, as they are going into theater auditoriums to take orders. It would be nice if you could do ALL functions on both mobile and computer.