648 reviews

Dayforce HCM

Cloud HCM platform to manage the entire employee lifecycle

4.3 /5 (648 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
86%
recommended this app
648 reviews
Shane G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Solid Software but Struggle with Support

Reviewed on 22/3/2021

The sales process was standard with an excellent rep. Having said that was told that each Live Force Education package supported 3 staff. Just to be told later that was untrue and would have shell out another $1200 to get 2 more staff trained. Took weeks to get answers to my queries. Was not impressed with the after purchase treatment. Got our money and then wanted more.

Pros

The functionality was exactly as advertised.

Cons

I found the software to be fine. Issues were with customer support.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Decent HR Software Program That Gets the Job Done

Reviewed on 30/8/2019

Dayforce HCM is our main source for anything employee-related and it has been a consistent and useful resource for us. It has the information we need and when we need it, and we can trust and depend on them to provide the functionalities we require. Although not as UI/UX friendly as other software platforms such as Workday, it is a relatively cheap platform that allows employees to do what they need to do.

Pros

Dayforce HCM is a good HR software program in that it is a cloud-based platform for workforce management and other essential things such as payroll, benefits, and document management. It essentially gets the job done for the common employee and offers enough functionality to be a useful platform.

Cons

The overall aesthetic feel and functionality wasn't as smooth and intuitive as the previous HR software our company used, which was Workday. It's not a dealbreaker but it goes a long way to empower the user to feel like they understand and to a large degree have a comfortable control of the app in the first few experiences.

Response from Ceridian

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback!

Your insight is very valuable and we appreciate you spending the time to share your experience.

Very best,

Michael

Bethann D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Expect the Unexpected

Reviewed on 1/12/2016

We are overall extremely pleased with Ceridian and our vendor partnership with them. They truly take the time to get to know your business and your needs and help decide what the best solutions are for your business - which may not by the newest product they are selling. We have a very complex payroll, and we have the right solution for us at the present time.

We also continue to find new ways to leverage the WFM platform to capture as much information as possible about time, labor and attendance.

If you are considering making the change to Dayforce, you can't be prepared enough. You need to understand your own policies and procedures like the back of your hand as well as have the ability to explain the same to the implementation team. They will do their best with the information you provide, but it is up to you to ensure they understand and to test everything multiple times to make sure it is what you need.

Keep in mind, the platform is highly configurable. As mentioned earlier, we have a rather complex payroll. We have six separate payrolls that combine hourly, salary, weekly, biweekly, union, non-union, etc. A little of everything. The policies for each payroll are entirely different, and both Ceridian HPL and Dayforce handle it without any problems. Here and there we have had to be creative - but it was still able to be accomplished.

I have been working in HR and payroll for 15 years and have used numerous different vendors/software over the years. None of them are 100% perfect. But Ceridian comes the closest. It is the most configurable and provides the best ad-hoc reporting tools out there. We have been able to automate many processes that used to be manual systems. This has freed up our HR staff to be more hands-on with employee onboarding, engagement, and development instead of stuck behind their desk completing transactional tasks.

Pros

It is highly configurable. It handles changes due to union contracts with ease.

Cons

The new HTML timesheets have some quirks. I feel hopeful they will be worked out.

Jessie B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Employee-friendly self-service once implementation hills are climbed

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Pros

The ease of and accessibility of reporting and the self-service features for employees, including the always-expanding app, is wonderful. I also find the handshake between the onboarding feature and the HR to be a strong plus.

Cons

I feel like my con is less about Ceridian as a platform and more about the lack of cohesiveness offered by the support team. I feel like the value of and quality of communication and follow-through vary wildly from case to case.

Danna M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Leaping into the future...

Reviewed on 19/10/2016

ABC Inoac previously utilized the Ceridian HPW platform solely for payroll management. Due to personnel changes and attrition over the years, we were down to only two users who could operate within HPW. As the obvious need for change was being discussed, we became aware of the Dayforce application and could not wait to see it first hand. From day one we knew this was the solution would best fit our needs and objectives. The implementation and go-live process was fairly seamless. With a great internal team and wonderful support from the Ceridian staff, we were able to navigate many custom programming issue in order to accommodate the many policies and processes already in place. The change has been largely well received by all employees. Within a couple months we were able to stop printing paper earning statements. This was a huge leap for our folks and not without some stress but has gone very well overall. We look forward to growing into the many features the application has to offer including attendance and document management.

Pros

Fairly seamless transition from HPW to Dayforce platform. We used to utilize a separate Kronos system for timekeeping so having timekeeping and payroll all in one application now is so much easier. Our HR and support staff are able to focus on other important issues rather than spend hours on timesheets. Utilizing the benefits functionality has been a bit of a transition but has gone very well. We look forward to a totally interactive open enrollment in 2017.

Cons

Implementation team changes caused some delays during configuration which ultimately cut into our testing timeline. This was a bit of an inconvenience but thanks to a great internal team, we were able to navigate the changes without jeopardizing the go-live of 1/1/16.

Angie P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, lots of flexibility, and huge time saver!

Reviewed on 17/1/2017

Our company launched Dayforce HCM in May of 2015. We went from an entirely manual process to a sleek HRIS. This was a large challenge due to the significant amount of change for our managers and employees. Luckily, Dayforce was easy to use so it reduced the amount of training our employees needed. Now that we are fully functional on the program, we are seeing huge productivity gains from our admin, payroll, HR and management teams. We have also increased our ability to effectively manage our business by increasing our visibility and access to employees. I would highly recommend this product to others looking to invest in an HRIS or considering changing providers.

Pros

The ability to customize the product to fit our unique business challenges. This was very important to us given we work in a very complex environment. Ceridian was able to make software changes that allowed us to accomplish the specific tasks we needed in order to effectively manage our business.

Cons

The thing I like least about the software are some of the compatibility issues. The recruitment module is unable to accept formatting from Microsoft word which means we need to change the format of job descriptions before they can be posted.

Peggy N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reasons for using Dayforce

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Faster payroll runs, love year end process which really save time and stress.

Pros

It is very user friendly and easy to train new users. Handles or tax filings with little issues. Tax representatives easy to discuss any issue with. Payroll processing is quick and finishes very quickly with no errors if you check your import. Love how easy year end is. Even with having to hit information from HR and our accounts payable department we can close year end with little or no overtime. Support needs some work but they are becoming better in handling issues.

Cons

The support answering and helping wth issues. No communication between Dayforce and Source Tax.

Luis G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Dayforce is a great partner for our success

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

It has been Good but with a lot of areas for improvement

Pros

Cloud Base accessible and portable. Easy customization as clients we can create and modify fields on our own very quicly

Cons

The difficulty interfacing data, and the there is much opportunity for improvement in interfacing. Most of the interfacing had to be on our own with little support. We think the support was not enough and has created delays and painstaking situations.

Debra B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Longtime partnership continues to improve through Dayforce!

Reviewed on 19/3/2018

Pros

Flexibility! Dayforce is easily customizable to accommodate our business needs as they change. As we continue to add modules, our processes increasingly become more efficient, effective and accurate.
Simultaneously and seamlessly the system streamlines all of the data, whether it's HR or Payroll, in a functional manner. We've reduced the time to process payroll by 70%!

We appreciate the partnership with Ceridian, a relationship that has lasted over 29 years!

Cons

I would like to see quarterly regional meetings to meet other Ceridian/Dayforce clients, gain insights and share ideas. The only time I get an opportunity to meet and collaborate with other users is during Insights and I seem to always miss the opportunity to meet other users.

I would like to see a price break for non-profit companies. It's important to retain our services but we are limited in the dollars we spend annually.

Vivian D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

HRIS Administrator

Reviewed on 24/10/2019

Pros

Automation. Ability to customize forms. Set up and secure roles.
User friendly for employees.

Cons

Recruiting module. Hard to get job postings formatted correctly. No email templates for employees. Hard to customize application. Only one upload per user.

Beatriz M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

CERDIAN

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

With dayforce I am able to keep accurate track on my timesheets. And I am able to compare my timesheets vs. Punches and pay. It makes it easy for me to view my schedule on the app and I can view my timesheet to have supervisor correct any issues.

Pros

The best things about dayforce is that it comes with an app that allows you to see your schedule and your timesheets. You are also able to view and print your pay check stubs directly from app. One of the features I like is it gives you the option to view a summary of your pay, and your also able to view a summary of your punches; for you to be able to compare your timesheets to.

Cons

One of the things I dislike is that you're not able to change your availability yourself, managers have to do it. It also doesn't alert you about schedules being posted. And a lot of the functions can be blocked by administrators so you can't experience the software completely.

Response from Ceridian

Hi Beatriz,

Thank you for sharing your review!

Cheers,

Michael

Renee M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dayforce is Dandy!!

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Overall experience is wonderful, mostly in part by the partnership.

Pros

Dayforce is easy to use with all employee data within one platform.

Cons

some areas have increased latency which makes it difficult to get through some tasks with speed.

Julie B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It takes a strong team!

Reviewed on 2/2/2017

Tire Centers has been on several Ceridian platforms over the 16 years I have been with the company. Dayforce HCM certainly stepped into the future of what the full service human capital management arena will look like. Through a tedious implementation and stabilization period we are very pleased with the offerings of the system and most importantly our end users are on board and have embraced the system.

Pros

User friendly for all levels of employee users. The system has been able to accommodate the specific needs of our business practices.

Cons

Multiple releases over the past few years has made it difficult to keep our internal training and documentation updated.

Samantha N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A lot of Potential, but difficult to Capitalize on it

Reviewed on 21/6/2018

This software has a ton of potential, especially if you're willing to do the hard culture-change work that will be required to maximize it. However, if you aren't going to capitalize on the features, you'd very likely be better off with something a little less feature-heavy and more user-friendly. I would have loved to capitalize on the report creation features to benefit my company, however they are reserved for the highest admin level and therefore are privileges not easily granted.

Pros

-Tons of useful features
-Possibility of creating completely customized reports using the vast array of information collected and held by DayForce
-All in one-solution for HR, Payroll, and Time-tracking software.

Cons

-Difficult to implement the many features
-High barriers for customization and report creation
-Easy to become overwhelmed or confused
-Weird access to features based on strange controls in the system for who can see what information

Monique Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great features

Reviewed on 31/7/2018

Pros

I worked at a different company prior to being here and when i found out they also had Dayforce I was very excited. It is very easy to use as an employee and also as a manager. I have been able to work at both ends. As an employee, having the ability to make request on the computer was simple. Checking and approving my time was a great bonus so I am always assured I get paid the correct amount. If there was an error, I can just do it then and it will notify my supervisor.

Cons

At the start I thought it would be complicated. From using a punch clock to now the computer. It took me some time to learn but after it was so easy.

Megan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great HCM System for ALL of HR related needs.

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Overall, Dayforce is a great system that allows for a good amount of customization throughout the platform, they are constantly releasing new modules and items to make the system better each year. I am looking forward to what new items they will be brining in the future.

Pros

Ease of Use, the variety of modules makes it a great product to input all items related to HR. Performance module makes it easy to track and partner with managers to complete annual reviews. The new change from silver light to HTML based makes it even easier to use on multiple browsers.

Cons

Some of the modules do not connect with other, for example the recruitment module does not connect with the employee profile to upload resume and other new hire details. Support has said this is on their radar though for the future!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Similar to Other Solutions, Not Great for Learning Feature

Reviewed on 5/12/2019

Overall experience as an end user was positive on the HR/Payroll side as far as interface and being intuitive. Disappointed with some features and functionality being sold as available but then unavailable when asking to see them in action.

Pros

I've used this from an end user perspective actively at one organization that chose this, and it was easy to use and navigate for the day to day HR, Payroll, Benefits, etc scope. The teams are fairly hands-on throughout implementation and they will do a lot to showcase wow-factors throughout the sales process until actual technical questions arise for some features.

Cons

In one experience evaluating this product as an all-in-one offering, we needed to ensure the Learning piece of functionality would suit our needs. It did not. The Learning product was presented as in-house and with their own roadmap for features and development. Every demo of this piece of the product was high level and they avoided getting detailed with backend/LMS admin features and setup. After getting to try it hands-on, we found out why. Despite being told all file types and sizes could be stored in the repository, this was not the case. We also uncovered many functionalities that we'd been told were available were, in fact, not. The backend at the time we evaluated this solution for Learning was actually powered by Docebo and not Ceridian. That is strictly the Learning content repository, not the HR solution side, to be clear. At any rate, the Learning solution was definitely not what was described to us in features, functionality, and in general based on our needs analysis. If you evaluate this solution, get all the right teams and experts involved that will ask the right questions and ask for a hands-on walkthrough of the backend. The demeanor of our sales contacts after inquiring about the absence of much of what was promised changed abruptly. Subsequent interactions were very negative overall with portions of the team.

Michelle M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dayforce HCM is pushing HR technology in the right direction...

Reviewed on 22/6/2016

Pros

Dayforce HCM is continuing to change and evolve and clients have had their voices heard in many instances. Ceridian has come to the table with open ears to hear the business case behind functionality needs and has proven that they will listen to clients needs and implement changes that make sense for both the client and the direction of Dayforce. Each release has improved the usability of the application and has made it more flexible to meeting different organizational needs.

Cons

The application is robust and allows for several different approaches to configuration. Because the product is relatively new and ever evolving, understanding all of the capabilities of the application and how the pieces work together can be a challenge when attempting to determine the best direction in configuration/implementation.

Lisa C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ceridian's Dayforce Software

Reviewed on 15/6/2017

When implementing, you must know ahead of time what your organization set up is and how it will expand out to all levels. It would also help to have some programming background. Dayforce is one system, so be aware all changes can effect another.

Pros

It is an incredibly comprehensive and customizable product. The training that is offered is vast and at all levels. Implementation was supportive and provided a team that worked well with ours. The offer so many avenues of training, support and networking. I love the payroll side and I find it much easier to use than ADP's Workforce now.

Cons

Customer support is not as responsive as I would like. It is not an instant set up, it takes a lot of programming to customize it to your company. Dayforce is not a cookie cutter system it takes work to make sure that your organization is reflected correctly for HR and Payroll.

Lee B.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HR Software At It's Finest!

Reviewed on 5/9/2017

Great tool. Have used many HR products over the years and this is by far the easiest, and most user friendly tool of the bunch. I would recommend this application to anyone searching for their next HR suite.

Pros

Robust Feature List, Intuitive Design, Customizable Fields and Forms, Custom Reporting and Dashboards, One Stop shop for all HR needs including Payroll

Cons

Slow Customer Service Response. I also dislike the payroll preview. we have had situations where employees see preliminary numbers. These issues are minor and easily overcome.

Laura F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Another happy customer!

Reviewed on 2/3/2017

Our company made the switch in 2013 to Dayforce and we are so glad we did! The software is easy to use and support services has been very helpful as our needs have changed throughout our contract. We are currently using Dayforce for general HRIS functions including timekeeping, payroll, benefits, and taxes, and are on the cusp of rolling out recruiting and scheduling for full HR integration. It was a big leap for our company to leave our prior payroll company and go with Dayforce, but we are so happy we did. We have more reports and metrics available for analysis than ever before.

Pros

Clear, easy to use interface

Todd H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Complex Multi-Coubtry Implementation

Reviewed on 4/10/2017

Pros

One of our major wins was the consolidation of HRIS, Workforce Management and Payroll under one roof with one employee record. We were able to move Canada, UK and US employees into ONE SYSTEM. Huge win for our users and technical team.

Cons

The implementation was complex and our team struggled throughout the phases. We required strong project management resources on the Ceridian side, and that role was not a strength. We went through multiple Ceridian PMs and eventually hired an additional PM for the client side.

The implementation team approach to certain functions - specifically entitlement setup - did not align with best practices endorsed by the Ceridian support team. Unfortunately we did not learn this until after go-live. We ended up reworking Entitlements post implementation.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall the experience with Ceridian Dayforce has been a great.

Reviewed on 23/2/2018

Pros

I like the all in one system concept. I had to shift my mindset as our previous system interfaced several products. Updates and changes in Dayforce happen as soon as the button is clicked. What's really great is, the system allows several pay cycles to be open at the same time. This allows changes and updates to be made daily for different cycles. Gone are the days of making payroll changes a few days before pay day. From a Benefits perspective, once a new hire has onboarded, they can immediately select their benefit elections. They don't have to wait until their information is pushed to another system. We look forward to implementing Recruiting and Performance Management this year.

Nicole L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Everything you need for HCM all in one!

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

I have been very happy with dayforce and all of the innovations they have

Pros

Dayforce has so many modules which allows each organization to customize it to their needs and desires. They are constantly updating their technology to be the latest and greatest!

Cons

There is a great amount of customizations available, however this can really bog down users who have a hard time setting things up

Liz M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dayforce is terrific one stop people management software.

Reviewed on 15/6/2018

It's no helpful to have all our employee information and payroll in one place. Really cuts down on the paperwork and need to integrate with other products.

Pros

Dayforce is always adding new features and modules - plus improving on the existing ones. May modules are customizable.

Cons

Customer support is generally very good, but if there is an urgent need for a top level support person, it can sometimes take a while.