38 reviews
Overall rating
4.9
/
5
Value for Money
5
Features
4.9
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4.9
100% recommended this app
38 reviews
Verified Reviewer

K3 review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Very nice product.

Pros

I've worked with the team on multiple engagements over the past 4 years. This is a great group of people. They really hire exceptionally well. The software is deployed on very complex projects efficiently. The code is top notch and reliable. As an external project manager, I've supervised implementations that are delivered on time and on a budget again and again. A lot of this is due to their no-nonsense approach.

Cons

K3 has evolved quite a bit since the early days. I like the direction they are going. They will not do custom code for you unless its a specialized adapter. If you want something in the middleware that is just for you...expect a no. This is actually a really good thing. Too many vendors jump at this to make a buck. But it hurts the overall application by having a single code stream.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Trading integration

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 20/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

K3 is the plumbing that brings in all our trades from CME, Trayport and ICE. We book about 6 thousand trades per day. Works like a charm.

Pros

K3 is the plumbing that brings in all our trades from CME, Trayport and ICE. We book about 6 thousand trades per day. Works like a charm. We get alerts anytime there is a block or EFRS for us to follow up on. Compared to our old solution it works amazingly well. All trades go straight into our primary ETRM and two other systems. We get far more performance out of our ETRM by aggregating fills before booking. K3 keeps both the fills and output trades. It's significantly reduced our end of day and spared us some costly upgrades.

Cons

These guys know trading and technology very well. We didn't think they could connect to our older systems but they got it done and done quickly. I know BroadPeak has big plans for K3 outside of trading. I just hope it does not dilute their acumen in our area.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Britney D.

We Use K3

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 12/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Mostly we are using it for data prep pulling data out of a series of in house databases and legacy systems.

Pros

We use K3 a bit differently. Mostly we are using it for data prep pulling data out of a series of in house databases and legacy systems. We used to use a desktop tool for this, but K3 quickly pulls data out and we clean/map/rule it via K3 This gives us a great dataset to do Business Intelligence.

Cons

None that I can think of. The user interface is intuitive. And if you are dealing with legacy systems its awesome.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Limits

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 30/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Like the software and the company.

Pros

Our company only uses K3 for position limits. Setup was fast. We get real time trades from the exchanges and K3 calculates our real time limits. Atlas is a big plus. Like the software and the company.

Cons

There were some minor configuration issues that had to be troubleshot when we first started. Some was just education on our part. But once it is up and running the reports are great, intuitive etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ryan N.

Fantastic. Great for mergers

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 13/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software is straightforward and easy to use. We never had to rely on an IT specialist to get things fixed. Broadpeak helped get things running, which only took a few days, then I was able to get my job done.

Cons

Honestly, having integrated a few different companies that have been acquired, I wish we had this sooner. This saved us time, money, and kept us from becoming to backlogged.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sunny V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very much satisfied

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 20/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Yep, its a nice step up. Handles a lot of data from a lot of sources. You just manage the ETL in the user interface. Mostly setup and handed over to the business to run for themselves. Its nice to be able to setup integrations and get them running in the same day.

Cons

We’d like to see more Azure support. Thanks

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

K3 Rules Engine

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 17/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The biggest part for us in our buying decision was the K3 Rules Engine. We have really complex scenarios flowing into SAP. Our team uses K3 to manage those in the user interface. Its fairly straightforward. Some of the formulas can get quite complex however. We've been able to get some clever formulas out of the support desk in a short period of time. Its useful. All of our rules are administered by our team right in the user interface. We don’t have to go begging to IT to get something fixed.

Cons

It's very useful so there is no reason to give any negative review.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

A firm full of very intelligent people who make life simple for their clients!

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 8/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of deployment - The software can be used for a large variety of applications and the team is very good at getting users up to speed quickly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Good software... great company

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've been using K3 for a little over 3 years. Primarily for integrating multiple internal systems, but we also it for connecting to various third party systems as well. Our experience with K3 has been positive all around and the support team is incredibly responsive. They have really helped us get the most out of our data by guiding us to leverage K3's functionality with new and legacy systems

Cons

I dont have any cons

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Building a Single Source of Truth

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 24/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

K3 is the tool we use to minimize risk. Its pretty simple actually.

Pros

K3 is the middleware that drives our enterprise single source of truth. I've been around the IT world long enough to know that enterprise data warehousing projects are a recipe for career disaster. K3 is the tool we use to minimize risk. It's pretty simple actually. We connect to 5 upstream systems with K3 and use it to drive the transformation that is necessary to our downstream BI efforts. Some vendors talk about streaming ETL but K3 actually does it very gracefully.

Cons

No drawbacks to K3. The learning curve is very short. No complex coding required. We've freed up a bunch of developers using this thing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Darren M.

The best software vendor experience I have encountered in the industry

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We were able to enhance the quality and flexibility of our legacy ETRM system data for a relative low cost.

Our experience was overwhelmingly positive, both their software and attitude was flexible enough to overcome our internal legacy challenges without blowing our budget.

Pros

The attitude and skills of the owners/managers is their biggest asset and competitive advantage. Their team intuitively understand our energy trading business and the unique IT challenges we face in trying to meet evolving derivative regulatory changes. The effectiveness of their software used in our organization reflects their sophisticated philosophical approach to prioritizing flexible and scale appropriate IT solutions for real business needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

The Real Streaming ETL Tool

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

When it comes to ETL tools, K3 is about as good as it gets. I’ve been a project manager for several firms over the years and hadn't heard of K3 before. It was recommended to me by an ex-colleague and could see the value in it after the very first demo. This was my first exposure to a real “streaming ETL” tool in which transformations are done in real-time (necessary for our business). On top of that, the tool is very easy to learn and most of our analysts were able to figure it out by themselves after just a couple hours of tinkering.

Cons

As a small, fast growing company there are minor growing pains to be expected, but overall had a wonderful experience with the team and the finished product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer

I have had a wonderful experience with this software and the people behind it.

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 4/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

There is nothing that I do not like about the software but I also have realistic expectations. K3 offers a wide variety of adapters and a platform that can easily move data between systems. If a company has an in-house created system and/or has specific requirements, then no solution is going to work out of the box. If you have this challenge, the key is to work a development team and platform that can easily adapt. BroadPeak has this experience, and K3 is flexible enough to allow for this.

Pros

BroadPeak offloads the setup, maintenance and support from the local IT team to them. Having a hosted integration platform promotes cohesion, supportability and the ability to easily add new interfaces. The cost is worth it as creating an in-house solution requires specific skills (higher employee costs) and can lead to poorly designed desperate solutions (multiple interfaces written in various languages and styles by different employees over time). Integration
maintenance costs can be high when systems on either side are upgraded and changed; this is especially the case with exchanges like ICE and CME that frequently upgrade. This challenge is easily solved with a company BroadPeak performing the work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Retail

Delivery

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 4/5/2018
Review Source: Capterra

K3 is great at Business Analyst enablement.

Pros

As a project manager I can only comment on a couple of things. We put K3 in and it was my job to oversee the project. BroadPeak team is very organized and aggressively pushes deliverables. They seem to have their ..you know what... together. The internal team seemed to take to the application quickly everyone including myself readily understood how the application works. K3 is great at Business Analyst enablement. BroadPeak team has a very strong understanding of how to work in a rigorous project management modality. Strongly on top of deliverables. I'll admit they are also pretty fun to work with.

Cons

No cons. For my world these guys delivered on time and got on top of a very complicated architectural footprint.

Response from BroadPeak Partners

Thanks Mike! It was fun working with you as well. ^GR www.broadpeakpartners.com

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

New 7.0 Release

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 17/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

For full disclosure I was a beta tester for the 7.0 release. We use K3 for a lot of things, but mostly data harmonization. 7.0 is a real step up (in most places) from the 6.xx version. Its really clean and the mapping is awesome. The other thing that is great is that now the entire data store is indexed immediately and really well.

Cons

What happened to the audit trail. I know you can still see it in the 6.x version but not in 7.0?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Muhammad mahtab S.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

7.0 is a Game Changer

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 30/6/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The 7.0 release is a total game changer. We use K3 to connect 3 regular file drops which we use the SFTP adaptor. We use this to harmonize data with a Salesforce Feed. It all goes into our warehouse. The new release is easy to use. We used to use Informatica and its not even a contest.

Cons

None that I can think of at this time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

K3

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/7/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I was asked to leave a review. K3 is good. There are some things you dont do with it out of the box. This is solved with team. We have parallel prod and test. Sherpa moves data often. This is useful.

Cons

Nothing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Our Data Process

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 8/1/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Easily connected to lots of challenging applications. Great ETL. Rules engine has saved us multiple times.

Pros

I can walk you though our process. We have a lot of on prem apps. We also have a handful of SAAS apps. There are a lot of integration options. We looked at everything from custom, in-house build to drag drop type solutions. Any integration app you look at is going to fall somewhere on this spectrum. For example, one product we looked at just formalizes an in house build, but carries a similar high workload. Others are highly abstracted and easy to use but do not allow you low level control. Many of these drag drop typesdid not get enterprise apps and complex integration work (nope this app has no API). We picked K3 because of its ability to create low level control, while making simple tasks easily managed by non-technical people.

Do your homework. Every developer wants to build their own stuff. But they do not want to maintain. K3 is great at meeting both sides. We flow a ton of very high priority data through K3 and support is great. BroadPeak really does understand challenging applications/ environments.

Cons

Pricing can get complicated. But, our all in cost is very reasonable. I asked one of their employees about this over beers and they admitted on the initial sale they are trying to figure out what kind of client you are going to be. Those who have a firm idea about what they want get a much better deal.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Scalable

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I started the company in 2013. Our client base grew rapidly right from the start, which is an excellent problem to have, but certain challenges came with the territory. I scoped out the market for an integration solution that was optimized for scalability. BroadPeak's pricing structure is based on the number of systems we integrate, so we get unlimited users and there is no cap on the amount of data we have flowing. K3 has been an integral factor in our ability to grow exponentially year after year without needing to vastly increase our internal resources.

Cons

Don't have any

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anchal A.

K3 Integration

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Started using K3 about a year ago. This is a very smart team doing smart software. The idea is basically giving the non-coding people doing the ability to maintain and control integration. This is huge in terms of running efficiently. This is actually very do-able through the K3 user interface. The amount of control you get from the rules engine in terms of tackling tough issues is amazing.

Cons

None come to mind. We've used K3 with RabbitMQ and Kafka. K3 is JMS friendly, so i don't know why you couldn't use any message bus.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Regulatory Reporting

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 26/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

K3 is a good application. We report trades in Europe and the United States.

Pros

BroadPeak asked me to leave a review. K3 is a good application. We report trades in Europe and the United States. K3 takes data from our trading system and sends it to CME and Unavista. Setup was straightforward. It's all automated and has email alerts. We get a full audit trail of our reporting activity. The project was completed on time and on budget. This is rare at our company so kudos to the BroadPeak Team.

Cons

European support is getting better but we would love to seem more. Else there is no reason to give any negative comment.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Salesforce

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2/7/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We use K3 for Salesforce Integration. We were using another integration platform. It was good but required a lot of coding. The biggest reason we moved was that it was REALLY expensive to scale. We started using K3 and reduced the cost of integration significantly.

Cons

None

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kenneth H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent for ERP, ETRM, or CRM integration

Reviewed on 9/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Although perfectly capable of integrations with any industry, the part that matters to me is K3's ability to understand and integrate with systems that manage data within the energy markets. Examples of this are ETRMs such as EKA, OpenLink, and Allegro and Retail Energy management systems such as nGenue (nTrack Pro).

Cons

For organizations looking to minimize the number of different systems they leverage, K3 will not fit within that strategy. For organizations looking for a solution that minimizes maintenance and improves time to value for integration projects,

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Great Software for Tableau

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 17/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Great Experience to use this software.

Pros

We use K3 to facilitate Tableau reports. The selling point for us was streaming mapping and streaming rules. This lets us generate our own Tableau reports pulling data from multiple systems.

Cons

None that I can think of. Actually i didn't find any reason to any kind of deception. Really it's a very nice product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Drew P.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

We were very impressed by the capabilities of K3

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

If you work with several different FCMs, brokers, exchanges, software providers and data vendors, then you need K3. And even if you don't but you want a simple tool for great value to integrate several pieces of data together, then you need K3.

Their ability to integrate data into a single database that is easy to manage is unbeatable. Also, while maintaining reasonable cost structures, they offer all of the services of a team of in house developers along with the upkeep after implementation. They are quick to deploy and with their deep understanding of business and IT challenges, can have you up and running in days.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10