36 reviews

K3 by BroadPeak

Low Code Enterprise Integration & ETL

4.9 /5 (36 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.9 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
36 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

K3 review

Reviewed on 19/4/2018

Very nice product.

Pros

I've worked with the team on multiple engagements over the past 4 years. This is a great group of people. They really hire exceptionally well. The software is deployed on very complex projects efficiently. The code is top notch and reliable. As an external project manager, I've supervised implementations that are delivered on time and on a budget again and again. A lot of this is due to their no-nonsense approach.

Cons

K3 has evolved quite a bit since the early days. I like the direction they are going. They will not do custom code for you unless its a specialized adapter. If you want something in the middleware that is just for you...expect a no. This is actually a really good thing. Too many vendors jump at this to make a buck. But it hurts the overall application by having a single code stream.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Trading integration

Reviewed on 20/4/2018

K3 is the plumbing that brings in all our trades from CME, Trayport and ICE. We book about 6 thousand trades per day. Works like a charm.

Pros

K3 is the plumbing that brings in all our trades from CME, Trayport and ICE. We book about 6 thousand trades per day. Works like a charm. We get alerts anytime there is a block or EFRS for us to follow up on. Compared to our old solution it works amazingly well. All trades go straight into our primary ETRM and two other systems. We get far more performance out of our ETRM by aggregating fills before booking. K3 keeps both the fills and output trades. It's significantly reduced our end of day and spared us some costly upgrades.

Cons

These guys know trading and technology very well. We didn't think they could connect to our older systems but they got it done and done quickly. I know BroadPeak has big plans for K3 outside of trading. I just hope it does not dilute their acumen in our area.

Britney D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

We Use K3

Reviewed on 12/4/2018

Mostly we are using it for data prep pulling data out of a series of in house databases and legacy systems.

Pros

We use K3 a bit differently. Mostly we are using it for data prep pulling data out of a series of in house databases and legacy systems. We used to use a desktop tool for this, but K3 quickly pulls data out and we clean/map/rule it via K3 This gives us a great dataset to do Business Intelligence.

Cons

None that I can think of. The user interface is intuitive. And if you are dealing with legacy systems its awesome.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Limits

Reviewed on 30/4/2018

Like the software and the company.

Pros

Our company only uses K3 for position limits. Setup was fast. We get real time trades from the exchanges and K3 calculates our real time limits. Atlas is a big plus. Like the software and the company.

Cons

There were some minor configuration issues that had to be troubleshot when we first started. Some was just education on our part. But once it is up and running the reports are great, intuitive etc.

Ryan N.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic. Great for mergers

Reviewed on 13/4/2018

Pros

The software is straightforward and easy to use. We never had to rely on an IT specialist to get things fixed. Broadpeak helped get things running, which only took a few days, then I was able to get my job done.

Cons

Honestly, having integrated a few different companies that have been acquired, I wish we had this sooner. This saved us time, money, and kept us from becoming to backlogged.

Sunny V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very much satisfied

Reviewed on 20/12/2020

Pros

Yep, its a nice step up. Handles a lot of data from a lot of sources. You just manage the ETL in the user interface. Mostly setup and handed over to the business to run for themselves. Its nice to be able to setup integrations and get them running in the same day.

Cons

We’d like to see more Azure support. Thanks

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

K3 Rules Engine

Reviewed on 17/4/2019

Pros

The biggest part for us in our buying decision was the K3 Rules Engine. We have really complex scenarios flowing into SAP. Our team uses K3 to manage those in the user interface. Its fairly straightforward. Some of the formulas can get quite complex however. We've been able to get some clever formulas out of the support desk in a short period of time. Its useful. All of our rules are administered by our team right in the user interface. We don’t have to go begging to IT to get something fixed.

Cons

It's very useful so there is no reason to give any negative review.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

A firm full of very intelligent people who make life simple for their clients!

Reviewed on 8/3/2018

Pros

Ease of deployment - The software can be used for a large variety of applications and the team is very good at getting users up to speed quickly.

Mario P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy choice, because it's the right choice

Reviewed on 19/4/2018

Pros

Best in class. Not much more needs to be said. Always happy to recommend the right tool and I have yet to see a client of ours be anything but pleased with K3. Pricing is fair. The guys at BroadPeak are good at what they do. They know trading, they know compliance, they know commodities, and they know technology.

Cons

Never had a problem with K3 or BroadPeak

Henry A.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good Work BroadPeak!

Reviewed on 31/5/2017

Pros

If you are looking to streamline data, BroadPeak has your solution. K3's ability to integrate various data types into a seamless structure has reinvented data analytics. Our experience with their support model and expertise in finance has been fantastic. Differing csv, xls, or xml formats provided by FCMs, brokers, or exchanges are manageable. Our mapping mechanics were easily transferable into valuable information for front, middle, and back offices. We are pleased with K3 and the services rendered.

Cons

Eager to see the support model extend to a more follow the sun model. Coverage throughout the entire business day would be key for global businesses.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

great

Reviewed on 8/5/2018

K3 can easily customize xpath and templates for obscure xml. Its intuitive enough that i could figure most out myself.

Pros

K3 is an integration platform. We have used it for a couple of years. Currently connecting 7 different applications. Setup is simple. Can easily customize xpath and templates for obscure xml. DB connectors are really flexible.Solid documentation.Its intuitive enough that i could figure most out myself.

Cons

I would like to be able to add my own JAR files at some point. You might be able to do this but I have not figured it out.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A friend referred me. I owe him a drink.

Reviewed on 16/4/2018

Pros

I have been very pleased with this product. We have tons of data that's just been sitting dormant for years because nobody has time to do anything about it. A friend of mine referred me to BroadPeak. They were very helpful and trained me on using K3 simultaneously during implementation so I have been off and running from the get go with little need for support. It's just a great tool to have in your tool belt.

Cons

Can't complain. K3 has been a huge value add to our organization.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

K3 provides efficient solutions for data automation with superb customer service.

Reviewed on 20/8/2018

Pros

Ease of use, efficiency, customer service/support. K3 is a fluid integration platform that will conform itself to fit a company’s specific set of needs. Broadpeak has a staff of experienced developers that are able to customize the K3 system to automate communication and trade booking with exchanges, trade repositories, and the eConfirm confirmation platform for a number of our customers. They are efficient and partner well to deliver the best customer experience available. Broadpeak has initiated the automation of regulatory compliance requirements such as trade submission, valuation reporting, and life cycle events for a variety of our customers who have been pleased with the user interface and most of all the customer service K3 and Broadpeak provides.

Cons

no issues identified

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent product, incredible knowledge in the team and very easy to work with

Reviewed on 21/3/2018

Pros

Shifts the dynamics away from IT and to the business for a long-standing 'grey area'
Clearly defined and focused product, does what it does exceptionally well
Easy to understand and use, flexible while being sufficiently ring-fenced
Exceptional integration capabilities out of the box
Well thought out architecture, clear roadmap guided by a vision of what customers actually need - i.e. NOT led / customised by customer niches

Cons

Not much to not like. I have not seen another tool that is as intuitive and covers the breadth of integration potential that K3 does

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Impressive!

Reviewed on 5/3/2018

Pros

Simple, easy to use software that works and addresses the needs of both business & IT. K3 allows users to map and maintain mapping information without the need to go through IT service deck. K3 can be used not only as a means to interface with the various systems, but also for data cleansing, all the way to regulatory reporting.

Cons

None at this time. I have been impressed with the ability of the software and the capabilities & genius of team @ Broadpeak.

Aasmi B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fix Engine

Reviewed on 17/4/2019

Pros

We use K3 to connect to ICE and Nodal. K3 connects our instance of Allegro to both of these exchanges. The Broadpeak team knows these exchanges very well. Same with Allegro. We were up and running in a few weeks. The overall project was painless and runs much better than what we had before.

Cons

K3 is great. No complaints. It's going very well.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good software... great company

Reviewed on 17/4/2018

Pros

I've been using K3 for a little over 3 years. Primarily for integrating multiple internal systems, but we also it for connecting to various third party systems as well. Our experience with K3 has been positive all around and the support team is incredibly responsive. They have really helped us get the most out of our data by guiding us to leverage K3's functionality with new and legacy systems

Cons

I dont have any cons

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Building a Single Source of Truth

Reviewed on 24/4/2018

K3 is the tool we use to minimize risk. Its pretty simple actually.

Pros

K3 is the middleware that drives our enterprise single source of truth. I've been around the IT world long enough to know that enterprise data warehousing projects are a recipe for career disaster. K3 is the tool we use to minimize risk. It's pretty simple actually. We connect to 5 upstream systems with K3 and use it to drive the transformation that is necessary to our downstream BI efforts. Some vendors talk about streaming ETL but K3 actually does it very gracefully.

Cons

No drawbacks to K3. The learning curve is very short. No complex coding required. We've freed up a bunch of developers using this thing.

Darren M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best software vendor experience I have encountered in the industry

Reviewed on 9/3/2018

We were able to enhance the quality and flexibility of our legacy ETRM system data for a relative low cost.

Our experience was overwhelmingly positive, both their software and attitude was flexible enough to overcome our internal legacy challenges without blowing our budget.

Pros

The attitude and skills of the owners/managers is their biggest asset and competitive advantage. Their team intuitively understand our energy trading business and the unique IT challenges we face in trying to meet evolving derivative regulatory changes. The effectiveness of their software used in our organization reflects their sophisticated philosophical approach to prioritizing flexible and scale appropriate IT solutions for real business needs.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The Real Streaming ETL Tool

Reviewed on 2/5/2019

Pros

When it comes to ETL tools, K3 is about as good as it gets. I’ve been a project manager for several firms over the years and hadn't heard of K3 before. It was recommended to me by an ex-colleague and could see the value in it after the very first demo. This was my first exposure to a real “streaming ETL” tool in which transformations are done in real-time (necessary for our business). On top of that, the tool is very easy to learn and most of our analysts were able to figure it out by themselves after just a couple hours of tinkering.

Cons

As a small, fast growing company there are minor growing pains to be expected, but overall had a wonderful experience with the team and the finished product.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I have had a wonderful experience with this software and the people behind it.

Reviewed on 4/3/2018

There is nothing that I do not like about the software but I also have realistic expectations. K3 offers a wide variety of adapters and a platform that can easily move data between systems. If a company has an in-house created system and/or has specific requirements, then no solution is going to work out of the box. If you have this challenge, the key is to work a development team and platform that can easily adapt. BroadPeak has this experience, and K3 is flexible enough to allow for this.

Pros

BroadPeak offloads the setup, maintenance and support from the local IT team to them. Having a hosted integration platform promotes cohesion, supportability and the ability to easily add new interfaces. The cost is worth it as creating an in-house solution requires specific skills (higher employee costs) and can lead to poorly designed desperate solutions (multiple interfaces written in various languages and styles by different employees over time). Integration
maintenance costs can be high when systems on either side are upgraded and changed; this is especially the case with exchanges like ICE and CME that frequently upgrade. This challenge is easily solved with a company BroadPeak performing the work.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Delivery

Reviewed on 4/5/2018

K3 is great at Business Analyst enablement.

Pros

As a project manager I can only comment on a couple of things. We put K3 in and it was my job to oversee the project. BroadPeak team is very organized and aggressively pushes deliverables. They seem to have their ..you know what... together. The internal team seemed to take to the application quickly everyone including myself readily understood how the application works. K3 is great at Business Analyst enablement. BroadPeak team has a very strong understanding of how to work in a rigorous project management modality. Strongly on top of deliverables. I'll admit they are also pretty fun to work with.

Cons

No cons. For my world these guys delivered on time and got on top of a very complicated architectural footprint.

Response from BroadPeak Partners

Thanks Mike! It was fun working with you as well. ^GR www.broadpeakpartners.com

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

New 7.0 Release

Reviewed on 17/4/2019

Pros

For full disclosure I was a beta tester for the 7.0 release. We use K3 for a lot of things, but mostly data harmonization. 7.0 is a real step up (in most places) from the 6.xx version. Its really clean and the mapping is awesome. The other thing that is great is that now the entire data store is indexed immediately and really well.

Cons

What happened to the audit trail. I know you can still see it in the 6.x version but not in 7.0?

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

K3

Reviewed on 7/7/2019

Pros

I was asked to leave a review. K3 is good. There are some things you dont do with it out of the box. This is solved with team. We have parallel prod and test. Sherpa moves data often. This is useful.

Cons

Nothing

Drew P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We were very impressed by the capabilities of K3

Reviewed on 2/3/2018

Pros

If you work with several different FCMs, brokers, exchanges, software providers and data vendors, then you need K3. And even if you don't but you want a simple tool for great value to integrate several pieces of data together, then you need K3.

Their ability to integrate data into a single database that is easy to manage is unbeatable. Also, while maintaining reasonable cost structures, they offer all of the services of a team of in house developers along with the upkeep after implementation. They are quick to deploy and with their deep understanding of business and IT challenges, can have you up and running in days.