73 reviews

Epicor Advanced MES

Comprehensive ERP solution for shops & small manufacturers

3.8 /5 (73 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

3.8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
67%
recommended this app
73 reviews
Lorena M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A very powerful tool for manufacturing companies - but customer support could be better

Reviewed on 10/8/2018

I believe Epicor is an excellent tool for manufacturing. I can not give it 5 starts really because of the time it takes to get an issue solved once it's placed with customer support. They have however, improved in the last couple of years now that they started using an online ticketing system, which seems to run a lot better now. Its reporting capabilities are amazing, for any module in the ERP. I do believe the experience is better for customers in the Americas than in other parts of the world, since there are a lot more experts, consultants, users, etc. in the States and Latin America than I've seen in Asia or Europe. The implementation is complex, so being paired with the right consultants can make it or break it - it really is a very good software!

Pros

- very powerful and thorough functionalities for all manufacturing operations
- extremely good costing capabilities (all financial features are quite good, actually)
- can be customized to a great extent
- many tools for reporting and data analysis
- integrates with tools such as MES, bar code reader, is ready for EDI

Cons

- it's a bit more slow that I wish it were
- customer support is very bureaucratic, it takes from a couple of days to weeks to get any issue solved (to be fair, they do solve them)
- learning curve is steep. It's not that easy to use so people who are not tech-savy get a bit intimidated by this tool
- instruction manuals and help menu are only available in English

John P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Epicor works.

Reviewed on 20/8/2018

Recommended for growing manufacturers who are not sure just how large they may grow. This product scales well with best practices built in that will allow you to grow without adding people and overhead.

Pros

Easy to use. Very deep in functionality - you will likely be able to use the whole system out of the box.

Cons

Need to manage your scope for an implementation project - it is easy to take on more given the wide capability it has. Best to manage scope.

Taylor I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Epicor Manufacturing

Reviewed on 21/8/2018

Pros

Epicor has a ton of functionality and seems to be receptive to adapting to user customization. Provides a huge benefit for tracking multiple different things and works will in conjunction with other software.

Cons

Seems to be a little clunky and slow at times. It also can be hard to find information needed in the system on occasion.

Matt G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful and Easy

Reviewed on 14/6/2017

Outstanding for the manufacturing world.

Pros

Epicor is very simple to navigate and understand. Bringing new people in and getting them up to speed is extremely simple.

Cons

Old version is pretty slow. The new version appears to be much faster. The support group still needs some work, however they are make progress.

Larry D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Accountings software is an afterthought.

Reviewed on 24/3/2018

Fixing the accounting software is not even on their to do list when you look at the next years initiatives

Pros

PM management tools are great. lots of flexibility, configuration, etc. But not an easy program to set up.

Cons

The accounting system is the worst i have ever seen. Feels like an after thought that they really don't care about. Cumbersome entries for purchasing, accounting, reconciliation, etc.

Jordan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Platform For Manufacturing Organizations!

Reviewed on 14/5/2019

Pros

Epicor is a very straight forward and easy to use ERP system. It's been a breeze using this platform for our various needs building safes for businesses around the globe!

Cons

There were some times that we had issues with our custom reporting features. However, this was quickly resolved by Epicor's awesome tech support!

Josh F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Epicor ERP give us all the power to see our business.

Reviewed on 11/5/2017

Pros

Some of the things I like about Epicor are the ways you can customize your dashboards. You create them to show virtually anything you want. And it works well with Excel sheets too. I also like how we can use Epicor to create and track jobs, purchase orders, invoices, and schedules.

Cons

There are some things that seem overcomplicated sometimes. I've had an issue where when I create a purchase order a check box for "inspection required" gets clicked that we don't ever use and it causes an issue for accounting.

Ds K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Total Package

Reviewed on 31/3/2019

Pros

It is a complete software for production management. Both upstream and downstream processes can be monitored. Its customization enabled software.

Cons

The software has multiple features and so it may need time to become popular with the software.

John M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Epicor review

Reviewed on 4/1/2015

Pros

There isn't anything I like best. I am planning on replacing it as it is out of date and the service is horrible

Cons

This is a old product that does not keep up with today's standards.

Jack P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ERP system that is easy to setup, easy to use, and has the features you need and want.

Reviewed on 8/10/2019

We rely heavily on a product configurator and Epicor had the best configurator we seen on the market. Epicor has continued to improve their product, adding new features, making it available while mobile. The third party software plug-ins are great and add many time saving functions that are easy to use.

Pros

Like the fact that it had the features we needed, was easy to use, and see continued effort by Epicor to improve it by adding new abilities and features to it. We get great support and training is available in many different forms.

Cons

Cost was a little higher than what we initially were thinking of in our budget. However, after looking a many ERP systems we quickly found that Epicor had what we wanted and felt that it was worth the investment. It has been 10 years now, and still believe we made the right decision to go with Epicor as our ERP system.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Jack,
Thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the configurator has enabled better efficiency within your business. Your feedback is invaluable, and if you would like to send us an email to [email protected], we would be pleased to receive additional comments, we thank you for your continued advocacy.
Sincerely,
The Epicor Social Team

Scotty S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Epicor

Reviewed on 12/5/2020

The Epicor ERP has been a very good upgrade from our previous system.

Pros

We have used Epicor for about 3 months and so far it has went very well. Change over from our previous system went smoothly. Movement in the system is very simple, it is easy to find what you are looking for through the menu system.

You are a click away from about any information you would need for planning and scheduling.

Cons

In the beginning we had some issues with inventory suggestions, the system wanted everything at the moment it realized we were below minimums, but after a few weeks or research we were able to set the system to work as we needed it to.

A few other small issues at start up, but over all not difficult implementation

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Scotty, thank you for your feedback about Epicor MES. We're glad to hear you are finding it intuitive and easy to use. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Allan K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Implementation is a challenge

Reviewed on 12/10/2017

Consolidation program / process in Epicor still not working right after promises to be better in version 10.1. Excel Connect, as reporting tool, works well but lacks proper security capabilities.

Pros

Very configurable software which is both good and bad. Software has a lot of capability to flex to our needs.

Cons

Support and training for implementation was very poor, we kicked out 3 different consultants before we found one that could understand our needs and work with us. The initial assessment program by Epicor was a waste of time and money. The program management at Epicor also did not add much for the cost.

Melissa H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great All Around Product

Reviewed on 5/9/2017

I've been using this system in some variation for 20 years. It has been great to see it develop into the great product we have today. Epicor seems to be committed to staying on the edge of emerging technology trends that can only help all of their customers.

Pros

Quote to cash navigation using the Open With functionality throughout the software, BPM wizards that allow you to do simple If\Then type triggers with no custom programming, BAQ functionality with subqueries, Education Courses, much easier path for version and patch updates

Cons

Application support desk for certain modules, debugging options for customization (compile) errors, training of some of support staff seems to be lacking. 50% of time I end up figuring out the issue myself and feeling like I'm teaching their staff.

Lisa B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Flexible and stable product

Reviewed on 2/5/2017

Pros

Flexible to your business processes. Stable application. Option of cloud and on-premise. Handles quote to cash without the need for a 3rd party financial package.

Cons

Weak technical support in the past, but we've seen improvements over the last few months. Responds well to outages, but if you require escalation for a non-emergent issue, you might wait a while.

Don J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ERP with lots of functionality

Reviewed on 19/7/2017

Overall a good product!

Pros

Easily customizable to your environment! Uses SQL Server as the database. Flows well with Microsoft products.

Cons

May need to adjust the stock reports. Support is challenging at times. Will require a specialist of sorts to manage.

Colin P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Do not buy this program!!!!!

Reviewed on 24/5/2017

My company thought we were moving up in the world. Our last system only did half what we needed and had a lot of bugs, but it was cheap. The sales team at Epicor really sold us on what this will do, told me I would not spend nearly as much time in the office and could be out running my company more. HA! I spend 3 times as much time in the office and still can't work this program half the time despite months of expensive training. And this program doesn't do half what the sales team said. We used to have hand written invoices we manually entered into QuickBooks. I would take that again over Epicor in a heartbeat. I don't even want my money back. I just want to convince my business partners to ditch this mistake! I wish I read more reviews. I have never reviewed ANYTHING online before but I had to for this.

Pros

Written for hardware stores.
Sales people really do their job well.

Cons

I am not a hardware store. This program is a nightmare. If you make a mistake be prepared to spend hours fixing it. Epicor's own help pages have fixes that do not exist in the program. This program has been overwritten so many times it makes no sense to use. Not at all intuitive. Incredibly expensive monthly support for absolute garbage!

Rahul C.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Epicor Manufacturing

Reviewed on 7/2/2019

Pros

I have been using Epicor for couple of years and have been using Epicor MES product. It is easy to use and really helped us in improving the quality of products. It monitors all the time our machines and processes and help us in maintaining and analyzing performance of the machines and processes.

Cons

Sometimes service get hanged and that is annoying. As it impacts the whole of analysis and sometimes take time to fixed.

Chris W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Keeps Manufacturing Running

Reviewed on 25/7/2016

Pros

Epicor does a good job of putting out software that works. Minimal issues and constant updates allow for us to focus on getting the job done.

Cons

Support can be slow to respond at times, especially when the question is more complex. They do remain diligent and eventually can resolve 99% of issues we have had.

Chris D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Implementing Epicor

Reviewed on 13/10/2016

First, our company didn't have a ERP software and use Quickbooks for P.O.'s and supplier payment and Excel to create a demand plan. Second the company was a true start up and hadn't released any products to production. So the Erp tool wasn't replacing an existing software. Overall I found the
majority of the implementation very restrictive to customize to our wants.

Pros

The purchase order placement was reasonable but really are Finance got more out of it than procurement.

Cons

No easy method to automate revision those had to be manually added to P.O's and constant error message when doing so. With Quickbook you just had to click on vendor to get all P.O. history with Epicor multiple screens and buyer specific. For components purchased per manufacturers part number it didn't upload those so they have to be manually added. Creating jobs even when we hired a more experienced planning manager it takes way more resources to create them seemed we spent 100's of hours just to get simple jobs created at sub-assembly levels. While we were able imput receiving parts to stock deleting it after consumptions is consistently manual reduction to update the balance.

Stephane B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great software

Reviewed on 6/9/2016

Pros

It's built as make to order or make to stock.
All the module are fully integrated and they add third party software over the years.

Cons

The KPI dashboard are not so friendly user for the common people

Jackie J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Epicor-- Medical Device user

Reviewed on 16/6/2016

Pros

Product has a wide range of functionality to support a compliant business.

Cons

The vendor is not very responsive to providing support unless you're spending more money. We own a lot of functionality that was not implemented when the vendor was supporting the initial installation. The vendor is pushing us to spending a large amount of money to upgrade to a new platform rather than addressing our request for training on functionality we're not currently using.

Rebecca S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great system

Reviewed on 21/3/2016

Pros

I feel that epicore has a very robust feature list that was exactly what my company was looking for at a competitive price.

Cons

I with they had videos on their website that better showed product demos

Ryan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Product!

Reviewed on 14/9/2016

Pros

The effort that Epicor went through to gain the sale of our company was tremendous. They jumped through hoops for us to prove to us that they were the best, and without a doubt, they did! Epicor's manufacturing ERP software is a holistic software to run your company in all aspects. Definitely would recommend to a colleague!

Cons

The sales pressure was a little intense. Other than this I have no other complaints!

Claire R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Epicor is very competitive against SAP

Reviewed on 9/2/2018

Pros

modular, you can add components to be what you want to use. The biggest pro is it has a really good BOM system for manufacturing - this is usually missed in ERPs

Cons

it is expensive, and there is so much customization you can do so it becomes difficult to use. I have also worked with a system that Epicor bought, the product support on that was not very good because they were phasing the system out. Would have been better to upgrade us as the customer so they could provide better support.

Jorge C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Epicor

Reviewed on 1/8/2018

Pros

it is a very complete ERP software, it has a lot of great functionalities and very customizable it works great for manufacturing and purchasing

Cons

it is too expensive and the support it is really poor, you never get a real solution and it takes more than one call to get an answer. the support is really poor