102 reviews

Acctivate

QuickBooks inventory management software for SMBs

4.2 /5 (102 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.2
/
5
Value for Money
3.9
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.2
82% recommended this app
102 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Acctivate Inventory Software preforms well

Reviewed on 22/8/2018

Our inventory is able to be managed in a timely manner. Accurate inventory is key to our business.

Pros

It is easy to process orders and maintain inventory.

Cons

There are many helpful reports. However, I would like the ability to run my own queries to customize the information I need.

Response from Acctivate

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how Acctivate is helping your business and enhancing your order and inventory management.

Acctivate does provide the ability to customize the standard reports. The following help article explains how to add/change filtering criteria of any report to meet your needs - https://help.acctivate.com/articles/856/; and this video gets more in-depth on the topic -https://help.acctivate.com/webinars/std-rpts-july-17/.

Our support team can also assist with slight modifications to standard reports. If you need more information or assistance on customizing reports, please reach out to them at 817-870-1311 or online at https://help.acctivate.com/requests/. - Erica

Randy K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Wolf Companies

Reviewed on 17/8/2018

The Costing trail for Inventory items lacks reports that show how current cost is calculated.

Pros

Fairly easy to use. Is a good overall value.

Cons

Lack of Print screen feature which is helpful when researching transactions.

Response from Acctivate

Randy, thank you for taking the time to let us know how things are going with Acctivate.

Taking screen shots is definitely helpful and Windows can be used to capture your full screen, as well as third-party screen capture utilities, in which many are free.

In terms of seeing how cost is calculated, the Inventory Ledger report can provide the information you need. This is found under Acctivate¿s Inventory Management Reports > Transactions. Make sure to select a beginning transaction date and the report will show the true cost calculated by dividing the resulting value by the resulting quantity on hand. If you need any assistance with this, please contact support at 817-870-1311 or online at https://help.acctivate.com/requests/. - Erica

Steven D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Acctivate is Active :)

Reviewed on 24/3/2016

It took a lot of work, but after putting in the time and learning all about the software, I have to say it is a great system, with so many options and ways to do things. It can be customized to work in most unique scenarios. The strongest points for us is the inventory Lot control, gives us more power over our inventory, and where its coming from, etc. The Activity feature helps us communicate and acts as a CRM for our reps. The way dropship PO's are handled is very helpful, and works almost perfectly for us. Using the mobile device changed the way our warehouse receives and picks products in a good way. Since the software's infrastructure is basically a database, it gives versatility for using with other products, like our shipping software and our website. The Reports side is dependent on Crystal reports, which opens up a world of possibilities, it does add some complexities, but the support that Acctivate gives with there product makes up for all complex situations. I have been helped and things have been fixed numerous times. The software is also in a stage where it will always be improving over time.

There are a few cons. Bugs and things not quite working the way they should require a dedicated person within our company to occasionally be working with Acctivate to clean out these scenarios and learn about limitations and potential future added features. The Credit card system is very limited and makes it a little difficult with the way we do things.

I find myself really loving the way it handles customers, all the different tabs to product history, comments, activities, transactions. The UOM has added a complexity that we needed when it comes to purchasing single units vs boxes vs cases. The ability to setup diff pricing for a product or a customer really helps with on sale items and contract pricing.

Aaron M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Bloated software with poor support.

Reviewed on 5/3/2019

Pros

There are many features available, even if difficult to manage.

Cons

Support...
I have been dealing with a print error from Acctivate and have had a ticket open for over a week now with only back and forth email communication. If you call the support number, you will eventually be dumped into voicemail and they sometimes have never returned a call, when they do it takes days.

A business is not able to conduct good business with this software when support is this poor and lacking.

Response from Erica

Aaron,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experiences.

We strive to deliver easy-to-use features and are more than willing to assist you with any challenges. If you are not finding the answers you need on our help site (https://help.acctivate.com) for any particular feature, please reach out to the support team for assistance.

Our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with your recent support request. We are here to provide quality support, so when dissatisfaction is expressed, we use it to see how we can improve. Being that this request originated via email, we continued in that manner, so any time you would like to have a phone call please let us know and we will be happy to call you. We also respond to voicemails, if you call and do not immediately get someone on the line.

We appreciate your feedback and will use it to help in improving our processes.

Bart M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The Good, Bad & the Ugly

Reviewed on 30/3/2016

Acctivate is a really good inventory control system and it is pretty easy to learn and it has a lot of capabilities and we love it. But here are the problems I have had. I have had numerous problems with technical support, and it has only gotten worse instead of better. In order to reach customer service now, you have go to the Acctivate website and enter a service request, and you may or may not get a prompt reply back. When we are having technical problems with this program, it can bring our entire operation to a halt and there doesn't seem to be any sense of urgency on the part of the technicians at Acctivate. This is my biggest problem with Acctivate and it the one thing that makes me very angry. My only other problem is training. This is a very complex program, and you can learn the basics pretty quickly and that will get you by. But there is no formal training to teach you everything you need to know other than videos that you can watch and some webinars. I think there needs to be a trainer that can teach new users how to use the program in depth at your facility in Arlington so that customers that have purchased the program can spend 3-4 days with some in depth training. I have had this system for over 2 years now and we are still finding new things that we have never seen or used before. When we purchased Acctivate, they do a great job of getting you up and going and answer any questions you might have, but some real hands on training would be so much better. But once you get used to the program, it's great.

Tim G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why do I love Acctivate? Let me count the ways....

Reviewed on 29/4/2016

Pros

Top-notch functionality and support. It uses SQL for the database and Crystal Reports for reporting which are expected these days for products of this type. The amount of detail and functionality is amazing. The programmers are awesome in some of the functionality they have come with. As an accountant, I can fully recommend the product to prospects without fear of a core functionality or need missing.

Cons

No online product, unless you use a hosting company.

Amber T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall great investment

Reviewed on 6/4/2016

Overall this has been a great investment. We are a medium sized company who sells multi-level assemblies as well as services, and have all of our accounting in Quickbooks. The integration between Acctivate and QB has proven quite valuable. We initially intended on putting products and services sales through Acctivate, but have since decided to keep services transactions solely in QB.

The platform gives us real-time visibility into key data that we were previously tracking across multiple spreadsheets which required ongoing effort to keep updated, and yet the data was still never as fresh as you'd want. It has taken some time to settle in, but across our company folks now have their dashboards and other features customized to display meaningful info and metrics for each individuals' area of responsibility. We have already been able to change the way we make decisions, doing things more efficiently today and with a higher degree of certainty than we had in the past.

The two primary cons I run into are : 1) not being able to customize the reports and templates (my organization does not have Crystal Reports), and 2) I wish we are able to select which fields display in certain activities. Both of these would make the system more user friendly, however there are certainly ways to work around each issue.

Pedro C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good inventory management program

Reviewed on 29/4/2019

It has been good so far. Tech support has room for improvement, but overall it has been a good program.

Pros

Acctivate provides us with the accountability, stability, and organization that our company really needed.

Cons

Need to have some SQL Server and Crystal Reports experience beforehand. Auto syncing would seem like a nice feature to add.

Response from Acctivate

Hi Pedro,
It is great to hear about the improvements that Acctivate has brought to your company.

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. We look forward to the continued partnership with you and your company.

Kind Regards, Erica Avila

Vic M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Acctivate is the best inventory add on for QuickBooks.

Reviewed on 28/4/2016

Pros

Implementation of acctivate is a smooth and painless process. Learning a new software can sometimes be stressful but acctivate is intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

Would love it if acctivate had more manufacturing features.

Joel B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Not for my shop

Reviewed on 10/11/2016

This product has a low learning curve and easy to set up and use. It may be good for some businesses but it is not worth the money for ours. It works great for tracking inventory and bringing completed goods into our system and tracking them through to a sale. This is where it breaks down. We are a small business and do a lot of custom goods and small run manufacturing. There's not a lot to offer for the manufacturing side of our business. For a small shop, most of the functionality of this software can be done in Quickbooks. This product still requires quickbooks for accounting as well. The yearly maintenance fee, hard to swallow for what it does for our buisness.

Pros

Easy to use and update

Cons

Many glitches and bugs
Little help with manufacturing

Tom D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall, we have seen the benefits of inventory counts and integration with Quickbooks

Reviewed on 6/4/2016

Pros: Ease of use and training for other employees. Overall this is a good product and I would recommend for inventory management.

Cons: Real time quantity available while making assemblies to know if you have enough product to build your assemblies.
Ability to add vendors in acctivate would be helpful. To have the
ability to see workflow on assemblies in progress on alert screen.
I would like to see adds to control shop floor movement of materials related to manufacturing, via being able to team members sign in and out of jobs.

Teresa M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great inventory system, difficult to understand the concepts of use.

Reviewed on 6/4/2016

-Pro-Great inventory system. Great reports. Has been an added bonus to our organization for the last 7 years, I believe.
-Cons-There are some changes I would like, and have requested concerning how inventory is tracked. Returned items awaiting credits.
Customer service is slow to respond when there are issues. It usually takes 2 requests and a phone call.
I feel the new version is very bulky. We have had to retrain employees :(
I am however, very pleased overall.

Suzanne H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It is easily self taught and reasonably priced for small businesses using quickbooks.

Reviewed on 30/3/2016

Pros - user friendly, easy to get processes created, handles inventory with transparency.
Cons - implementation needs more clarity from Alterity, more prep should be discussed.

After getting thru the fact that we did not prep correctly, we straightened that out and get back on top of all the details needing to be addressed it is a well oiled working software. The benefits from using ACCTivate now, out weigh any hurdles you may incur.

Lisa N.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Customer Services is outstanding

Reviewed on 5/4/2016

When working with so many software vendors; you dread picking up the phone or sending that email because you know you will get the run around no matter how thorough you are with your description. Not with Acctivate support! They have worked with us as the business model changed for our client. Support staff have been professional and helpful throughout our relationship! They are here to support us in the beginning and 3 years later!

Josh A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Still Setting Things Up But Excited To Get Started!

Reviewed on 24/3/2016

We are still in the process of setting up our company file but with what we have seen so far, we know that Acctivate will help our business out tremendously. The team at Acctivate has been extremely helpful and professional throughout the process so far.

Donald W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Been using for 4 years. It works for us.

Reviewed on 5/4/2016

updating is one problem....we lose our custom forms each time. Seems to be some type of problem in cost computation and journal well not post until someone fixes this issues every few months.

Tom D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall great software

Reviewed on 25/1/2017

In a nutshell Acctivate is a good extension of QB. Great inventory control and great reporting. The reason not 5 out of 5 stars cannot add vendors in or modify in Acctivate.

Nancy C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Been using it for the past 9 years - love it!

Reviewed on 5/4/2016

The only thing would be the settings - sometimes more than one person has to use the same user name and settings always go back to default.

Anthony K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

A solid application backed up by great support

Reviewed on 28/3/2016

I have been using ACCTIVATE now for almost 2 years and find it to be a solid application, feature rich and backed up by great support

Stephanie S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great product

Reviewed on 5/4/2016

Very nicely designed

Ruth E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Software for a small company

Reviewed on 19/4/2019

We started using ACCTivate in 2010 as an inventory add-on to Quickbooks. We have very much appreciated all the software had to offer. We have modified the system somewhat over time to fit our needs. We also had some custom reports created for us that have worked very well. Very pleased with the software and the support team.

Pros

-Very intuitive product
-Easy to learn
-Highly functional
-Crystal report software for reporting is easy to learn and use to customize your reports
-Very flexible system

Cons

-Original Reporting is lacking. Custom reports are available or can be made by a third party
-Very occasional issues syncing with Quickbooks

Response from Acctivate

Hi Ruth,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is great to hear all you have gained and the growth in your nine years of using Acctivate.

Kind Regards, Erica Avila

Oscar D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Program

Reviewed on 3/4/2019

Pros

its easy to navigate through system and do cycle counts with correct inventory

Cons

THe system seems to get hung up alot of times making it lose info that i have done.

Response from Acctivate

Oscar,

Thank you for letting us know how things are going with Acctivate. It¿s great to hear that you are finding Acctivate easy-to-use and your processes are more seamless with our real-time inventory visibility. In regard to experiencing hang ups and losing info, our support team can look into that further, please contact them at 817-870-1311 or [email protected]

Best,
Erica Avila

Alexis B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerfull Software

Reviewed on 14/2/2020

Good, I am very happy with the Acctivate Inventory Software!

Pros

I am able to keep track of my inventory

Cons

There are some issues with ease of use. Once trained the application is much easier

Frank S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

excellent company toi work with, great support, quick to response to any issue.

Reviewed on 25/1/2017

Excellent experience they are sharp Very experience and always helpful. They have excellent knowledge and there knowledge base is great for help.

Pros

easy to use.

Cons

none

Faith W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Acctivate User for Five Years - Love it

Reviewed on 14/4/2016

Pros

I love the drill-down capabilities, the search options, copy functions, the wizards, reports, etc. So much that I enjoy. Great system!!

Cons

There is no vendor box in Acctivate, like how there is a customer box. We are limited to the vendor info we can pull up unless we have Quickbooks on our computer, and not everyone has QB in our dept. Really wish they would incorporate that into the Acctivate program.