102 reviews

Simio

Facility design simulation & production scheduling

4.7 /5 (102 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
102 reviews
Khumbulani M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simio a world of possibilities

Reviewed on 10/3/2017

the software provides a wide range of possibilities to simulate and test known and unknown systems for better preparedness in their implementation.

Pros

ease of use
availability of student version and research version

Cons

none

Colin A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Simulating with the Analyst in Mind

Reviewed on 9/11/2016

It is very easy when building simulation models to focus on the visuals and forget the analysis. After all, we need to convince the stakeholders that the solution we propose will deliver what it says on the tin and what better way than to mesmerise them with animation. Actually, there is another way, demonstrate that all scenarios have been considered and with an inflated chest lay down the challenge, "tell me where I have gone wrong and I'll tell you what data I need to determine whether its fact or fiction".

Simio like most major simulation engines allows 3D visualisation and what is nice is a simple press of the '2' and '3' keys smoothly transitions you from 2D to 3D respectively. Add Google Warehouse and importing 3DSMax files and decent visuals can be shown. Developers please add STP or IGES file format.

This simulation engine seems to have been developed with not only the ability to quickly model with little to no code writing experience, but also empowers one to devise and quickly run scenarios that can answer the real questions and find those sensitive areas/ optimal solutions.

The start of any simulation project should start with the agreed conceptual model. This boils down to possible resources and a general set of inputs that trigger delays and produce outputs. Simio supports this basic concept in its standard library of objects. The object orientated approach means that these basic objects can be modified by adding more detailed lower level processes or modifying original logic. Of course the model is an object that can be imported into another model. Gaining model acceptance is generally easier with collaboration, so showing the team their input has been incorporated in a way that resembles the conceptual model goes a long way.

The power of discrete event simulation is its ability to handle random events. Simio has the standard list of distributions which using a form of intellitype is easy to define. Note to developers, it would be great if intellitype is available in all fields. Of course with distributions come replications, which using the Experiments function allow the analyst to create and execute scenarios using different user defined input parameters and compare results based on user defined KPIs. But Simio has another trick up its sleeve, using the Input Parameters tab and defining the distributions with the sample size, provides a neat way to analyse the impact the distribution has on specific result parameters.

Pros

Standard Library - Object Orientated approach to modelling means models can become objects in other models.

Copy and Paste - Processes data, functions etc can be copied between models.

Key Felds Data can be created like a database i.e. enter once use multiple times.

External Data - Supports links with external data files such as CSV or excel.

Easy Scenario Creation - Experiment function allows easy creation of multiple experiments and comparison of results.

Matthew S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Simio Software and Risk-based Planning and Scheduling (RSP)

Reviewed on 15/9/2015

Deciding which type of simulation software for a business to purchase can be an extremely difficult decision. Being faced with this decision we began to investigate and compare simulation software packages available on the market. After comparison, Simio was the clear choice for our business. Although most simulation software packages are extremely difficult and confusing to learn, Simio's many resources make learning and mastering the software easy. Most noteworthy is the video tutorials provided which made the transition to Simio painless. Ultimately the decision to choose Simio was made based on the functionality of the software and the ability to accurately and quickly model real world systems for the purposes of finding solutions. Simio's 3D modeling abilities are unmatched by any other software packages available. Simio is quick and easy in the 3D department and compared to others is much less time consuming for similar 3D animations. With that said, the 3D modeling is generally a non-value added task and we were more focused on the software's modeling abilities. Simio's add-in packages operate flawlessly with OptQuest being the one we utilize the most. The customer support at Simio is outstanding too. I reached out to Simio when modeling a complex transit system this past year and they were able to identify my error and provided a fix the same day.

We recently decided to expand our abilities with the usage of Simio's Risk-based Planning and Scheduling. After watching roughly 11 videos about 10 minutes each, Simio's RPS was easily incorporated into a previous manufacturing process project. Adapting the previous project slightly was straightforward and surprisingly resulted in the RPS being setup almost automatically. The ability to incorporate the complexities of variation into the RPS is what makes this such an advantageous tool and also what separates it from others. Simio also offers an add-in package for the RPS, Wonderware MES which provides the real-time production data. Generating plans, evaluating risk, performing comparisons, and many other functions are available through Simio's RPS and we look forward to providing this to our clients. We give Simio our highest recommendation.

Bonnie Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simio review

Reviewed on 13/5/2019

We use Simio to help customers design solutions for using our autonomous material transport robots. Looking at problems such as fleet sizing, traffic congestion, routing, batch size, cart quantity etc

Pros

Can build a simple model that quickly demonstrates value to organization and then has power to scale up to much more complex as needed

Cons

It’s a VERY mouse intensive software. and many basic features are missing for making model professional looking.

Petr T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excelent customer support and frequent updates

Reviewed on 13/3/2017

This along with full feature pack and ability to extend with C# modules makes SIMIO excelent software.
I was suprised many times to find requested feature in the next sprint in less than a month.

Pros

User support is quick and helps with solving problems
Great community of users with usefull forum
Great 3D visualization
Object, entity, process oriented simulation software
Easy to use

Cons

didn't find any

Mark E.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

There is on other product on the market today that comes close to Simio.

Reviewed on 22/6/2018

Pros

It is at least 10 years ahead of flexsim, arena, Anylogic, or any other products. It's agent based modelling at it finest and the planning board is unrivalled.

Cons

Nothing. It is extremely comprehensive with ground breaking advances which are optimally positioned for industry 4.0

Stephen R.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Probably best in class simulation software

Reviewed on 19/6/2018

Pros

Relatively easy to learn and to use. Has great flexibility for almost any simulation application. Integrates well with data bases and can be readily extended for specific applications.

Cons

Sometimes its hard to keep up with the latest development, due to frequent updates and development. The development version cycle is about six weeks, so updates and new features come out frequently.

Alberto G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Industrial engnieer coordinador

Reviewed on 8/3/2017

SIMIO help me a lot as Teacher for industrial engineer tópics like simulation, optmization and DOE.

Pros

the graphics diagrams and option to validate results

Cons

Some gaps between the examples and the explanations to define the characteristics.

Chad W.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

This is the best simulation software I have ever worked with as an operations research analyst

Reviewed on 11/7/2017

Pros

I love the flexibility of the software the most. Out of the box the software can do almost anything you need either standard library objects. But for those rare instances where a standard object just isn't quite what you need the software allows you to customize an existing object or build your. It's awesome!

Cons

Honestly the only thing I can think of that might be considered a con is that when you start to import custom graphics objects the file size can get pretty large and the model starts to slow down.

Agostino M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Military
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SIMIO and Manufacturing

Reviewed on 8/10/2018

SIMIO's ease of use allows it to schedule and define production areas, programs and operations.

Pros

Easy of Use, complex ability in a user friendly configuration.

Cons

Large programs can slow down the system. Recovery is immediate afterwards.

Elizabeth T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software!

Reviewed on 28/9/2018

It has helped with making recommendations on staffing models, equipment use, and the impact on turnaround times. The stakeholders appreciate the predictability component to be able to test different scenarios before trying it in real life.

Pros

It has extensive functionality that stakeholders can easily understand and see value in.

Cons

It does not have a good way to represent statistics by hour of day which is important to a hospital that runs 24/7.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simio

Reviewed on 22/8/2018

Pros

The oportunity to create a wonderfull simulation of your process

Cons

The cost, it is so expensive for medium companies

Ebert B.
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I consider Simio is difficult to learn.

Reviewed on 23/6/2018

Pros

I consider that Simio has an excellent set of feature for animations, statistical reports and scenery comparison tools. Another feature I like Simio is the mode how one can define variables in any simulation models.

Cons

Too much details for modelling discrete event dynamic systems, what difficult the modelling of systems.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

good for discrete event simulation

Reviewed on 18/9/2018

Pros

This software has features to simulate different discrete event scenarios and is really good for use in supply chain and industrial engineering applications

Cons

This software is not good for agent based simulations such as multi agent simulations

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I find it user friendly with the ability to build and run very complex models swiftly

Reviewed on 24/6/2018

I am using it for my research and teaching and I find it extremely useful.

Pros

Good documentation, lots of videos for learners, extensive module library, doesn't take much time to learn, interface very similar to Microsoft Office and therefore much easier to work with

Cons

I didn't find anything wrong with it. It's working absolutely the way I want it to run. I find it to be an excellent software

Tiberio D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

SIMIO as an optimization tool

Reviewed on 8/3/2017

I started using SIMIO 6 months ago.

The best thing with SIMIO is the ease of use. Even if you have never heard about optimization, modelisation, etc... SIMIO's environment is very simple to use and you can get results very quickly.

Moreover, the Customer Support is efficient. We got some licence issues and they were here to give us advices, quickly.

Jimena P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I am having fun!

Reviewed on 13/3/2017

I love having lots of resources for a progressive learning experience. I have been teaching simulation for a while and for the last year I have taught an elective usimg Simio. My students really like it and enjoyed participating in the student competition. Keep up the good work! I hope to be able to attend one of your advanced courses for faculty.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simio is versatile and intuitive!

Reviewed on 11/10/2018

Pros

Love the software's versatility in handling complicated scenarios! There's a feature for anything and everything!

Cons

Not a big fan of the way the statistics are being reported. I wish there was a way to output data results into an Excel sheet.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

So many options but knowledge needed!

Reviewed on 27/3/2019

Pros

It has tons of options and functionality.

Cons

It takes some practice to be able to use it to its full advantages

Ashley R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent software for handling complex simulations.

Reviewed on 8/8/2018

Pros

Simio software consists of standardized library. In order to focus on the visuals and to forget the analysis, this software is really easy for creating simulation models. It is no doubt the superb choice for business. It is quite easy to learn while other simulation software are quite difficult to learn comparatively. Its functionalities are really awesome with less time consuming. No doubt best ever simulation software. Matchless software with fantastic 3D animations.

Cons

There are not any specific cons about this software. Simulation is mostly written in graphical programming language which is no doubt easy for small and quick designs but as we move further this software is failed to navigate while discussing large and complex simulations. Above discuss is the only con I can hardly think of.

Luís P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simio: the simplest, most complete way to run your systems simulation and analysis

Reviewed on 2/8/2018

I used SIMIO as part os my Masters course in Industrial Engineering in order to develop a fictional environment and search for better configurations, on an iteractive process. The software easily allowed me to manipulate the system in order to achieve my objectives, it is well designed and is customizable to great extent.

Pros

Easy of use and very intuitive when you get introduced with the basic. It allows for easy creation, editing and analysis of complex systems simulation.

Cons

Advanced functions might get hard to use if you don't have an experienced user helping you. Error messages could be more explicit and create a reference to where the configurational conflict lies.

Pascal P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Great Multi Purpose Simulation Package

Reviewed on 13/3/2017

I have been using SIMIO to optimize airport operations for six years and have been very happy with its ease of use, versatility, built-in features, and capability to customize processes. Technical support from SIMIO has always been good. People are pleased with the quality of the visual output and now that we can use the Occulus Rift to provide an immersive experience, there is even more to be pleased about SIMIO.

Pros

Ability to embed metrics in the simulation.

Cons

Management of interaction between entities during movement in free space to simulate for instance pedestrian movements on a sidewalk. They sometimes seem to get stuck against each other instead of walking around each others.

Chad G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simio has allowed me to easily model different emergency department operational models for...

Reviewed on 11/7/2017

I can model whatever I want to model in healthcare systems rapidly. It is a create communication tool and makes important decision easier.

Pros

Ease of ease. Smooth interface. I also like that I can "get under the hood" and customize it to my hearts desire. Again, I can create models quickly and model any scenario that comes up in an emergency department. We are know expanding its use to include inpatient services and other service lines. Great product!

Cons

Nothing really. It has become part and parcel with me over time. I would be nice if it had more pre-built healthcare models (anything to make my job easier)

Cesar F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool

Reviewed on 8/3/2017

I am a teacher at Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala and I have been watching the improvement in my students over the years.

Pros

Ease of use and the software includes almost anything we need

Cons

You don't have a version for Mac OS

Francois V.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

We have used Simio in many industries and it always delivered! Simio is a great simulation...

Reviewed on 26/6/2018

Pros

Ease of use and smooth integration between various libraries. To make your animation looks great is a breeze. We have tried quite complex expressions and Simio was always up to it. It is very quick to test a concept due to objects and easy to use processes.

Cons

The fact that in the "State Variable Name" field you don't have access to the normal Expression Builder. This is true for all Assign functions.