65 reviews

Global Shop Solutions

We simplify your manufacturing.™

4.2 /5 (65 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.2
/
5
Value for Money
3.9
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
4.2
88% recommended this app
65 reviews
Jeremy P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Global Shop Review

Reviewed on 21/2/2017

As a small manufacturing company we are underutilizing Global Shop's potential, however, regarding our customer demands, it satisfies more than 80% of our needs. It is a great interface for time tracking, generating part specific costs and reports. It is not so great when I want to track quality metrics not necessarily part related.

Pros

Global Shop has given our company a wonderful infrastructure for cost evaluation and reporting. It is also wonderful at time tracking for employee time on machines, jobs, or process. We use it as a comprehensive overhead tracking tool.

Cons

Modules are expensive and customizing applications is difficult. The user interface has a high learning curve for personnel when new to this type of ERP.

Joe P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

We have been using this software now for 4 years and it's paid for itself a few times over

Reviewed on 14/6/2017

Pros

1. It cut our purchasing time literally in half, we can now run our MRP on a daily basis thanks to automated purchasing. 2. Our on time delivery increased from 72% to over 90% using the APS feature. 3. The ARC store has thousands of custom reports that were developed by Global Shop for specific customers and they make them available to all of their customers. if you see one you would like to try just install it. 4. We have full visibility of all of our work orders currently in the shop (we currently ship over 900 different work orders a month). 5 the supply and demand screen is the most useful tool I have worked with. 6. you can tell immediately if your making or losing money on a specific job. 7. Very customizable. 8. it's in all in one system no more different systems for MFG, quoting, quality and finance.

Cons

1. Sometimes when major updates are released there a quite a few issues that have to be fixed after install via hot fixes. 2.Training classes are only held in Houston which can run into quite a bit of money for a 1, 2 or 3 day class for air, lodging, food and transportation. 3. Sometimes it takes a bit of time to get an answer to a problem

Paul R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Company, Fanastic ERP Solution

Reviewed on 23/2/2017

We have been using Global Shop for well over a decade and it has grown with our company. It's been great to see all the new features and modern enhancements they have been putting in recently. It does an excellent job tracking our manufacturing costs and getting things scheduled on-time. It would have been impossible to achieve our current 99% on-time delivery without their scheduling system. We use everything from scheduling to payroll and with the integration of all the modules it saves us a ton of time and money that would otherwise be split up into different software packages. My favorite feature is the option to build fully customized modules ourselves and even have the ability to download custom modules made for other customers. This gave us the ability to really make Global Shop work exactly the way our company runs and still have it integrated with all of Global Shop's modules. Global Shop's staff has always been excellent. Their management is extremely accessible and always willing to go out of their way to make sure we are happy.

Pros

-Modules to help run every aspect of our business
-Ability to customize modules to our needs

Cons

-Some aspects of the system can be complicated
-Needs more tools to flush out problems created by users not using the system correctly (garbage in garbage out)

John K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great ERP software

Reviewed on 8/3/2017

I have been a Global Shop user/administrator at our company for almost 10 years. The software is easily navigated and has some powerful tools. We find that the accounting side has all the details you would ever need. Job costing is very thorough and easily extracted.

Pros

Great detail. Great reports.

Cons

There are several ways to get to the same information. Make sure you choose the path that works best for your needs and stick with it.

Cory B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Customer Service has always been Great, all questions get answered quickly. As time has...

Reviewed on 17/5/2017

Pros

Supply and Demand with Edit is great. Makes navigation painless and easy as far as the manufacturing side. Customer Service is outstanding.

Cons

I am not sure if it is the added features or maybe added seats, but some days the system is so slow it is frustrating to use. If we had the option to turn off the features that slow it down that would be great

Chuck E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Buyer's Review

Reviewed on 16/9/2016

Pros

I am a purchasing manager so I am in the purchasing and inventory side all day long. They are easy to use and I can have both modules open at the same time which makes my job easier. The vendor is great - very responsive.

Cons

The one thing that annoys me the most is limited number of characters that can be used when making a new item number in inventory. some of our numbers can be long and sometimes we need to abbreviate them to get them to fit.

Donna B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Making it with Global Shop

Reviewed on 4/4/2017

This system allows us to be in command of our inventory and know our cost of doing business in all aspects of our product offerings. The help functions are probably the best I have had to work with and are written to assist the new user as well as a seasoned one. You can drill down to the level of information that you need to get past your user issue. Being in the medical device industry we must have spot on tracking and GSS provides us with the ability to retrieve information reported on raw materials as well as our production activity: who, what, when, where. I really like the inventory supply and demand function - it gives the option to collect information from one screen such as usage, routers and where used, lot and inventory history and much more. We have been using GSS for over 2 years and still find new ways to better use this system. This company offers free training in the Friday Features making sure we stay in tune with existing functions as well as new offerings.

Response from Global Shop Solutions

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for us and being a great, great customer Donna. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you on Friday Features!

Global Shop Solutions

Ben B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

This is a great product!

Reviewed on 7/5/2015

Pros

The best part about this product is that it's an all-inclusive product which includes; payroll and accounting functions.

Cons

The CRM included within the Global Shop Solutions platform isn't up to par compared to Salesforce.com or Microsoft Dynamics CRM. However, the CRM does assist you in some areas if used.

Andrew K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Global Shop

Reviewed on 21/4/2014

Pros

The system has an easy user interface. Their customer service is knowledgeable. They are constantly looking to add modules to improve business functionality. When customer service responds, they usually have a resolution.

Cons

Sometimes, tech support can be a bit slow to respond.

Danielle E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Support Team is so helpful

Reviewed on 4/5/2015

Pros

If you need any help they are always there for you to assist in anything they can.

Cons

How many capabilities it has! It's hard to learn. Also if you change something in one area that affects other things. That's hard to learn. Not very user friendly, but I will get the hang of it

Zaighum A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Global Shop Solution Review

Reviewed on 20/11/2020

HR management system of Global Shop Solution. Reporting of GSS is well defined.

Pros

Global shop solution is best inventory software with HR support we and manage our staff with salaries and schedules easily.

Cons

In Global Shop Solution is best software for shops and small businesses and I really didn't find any issue n GSS.

Suzanne W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

GlobalShop 2016.2 review

Reviewed on 7/4/2017

Overall we like GlobalShop it, we use it for both our manufacturing and financial needs. In the 2016.2 update they included new dashboards that are very helpful. The only area that we feel needs improvement is the quality module. It's somewhat simplistic and does not tie as well to manufacturing as we would like. Other than that we are pretty happy.

Steven W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Operations Manager

Reviewed on 27/3/2017

We went live in Global Shop on 04-01-15 and in virtually all areas of our company, it's simplified how we operate. Is there a learning curve? Yes, but we went into the transition expecting a learning curve! It was new, complex software that took the place of multiple homegrown systems. It took 4 months from when we started till we went "live", which for us exceeded our expectations.

Pros

1. Customer Support - Global Shop was and has been with us every step of the way. It's an understatement to say selecting an ERP system is a big deal! There will be questions/issues to work through and when those questions/issues come up, you need answers ASAP. Global Shop has been there for us.
2. Simplifies operation - Having everything one umbrella has been a game changer for us. No more double entering.
3. The list goes on - Advanced Planning/Scheduling, visible inventory, real-time job costing, auto-purchasing, etc.

Cons

1. The shop side has been fantastic. The office gals had a tough time transitioning the accounting side to Global Shop from Quickbooks. Although one thing I will say on this is, Global Shop was always there to answer questions, and now after we are up and going our accountant says her job is easier.
2. Updates (we've been updating yearly). We are committed to staying up to date with the software. So far I've done three updates. Two were seamless and one took a bit more work.

Jeff L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Robust System, Incredible Number of Features!

Reviewed on 10/4/2017

I have been using Global Shop for 9 years. There is almost nothing this system can't do. We have barely scratched the surface of some of the capabilities of the software.

Customer support was hit or miss back in the early days of our installation. It was hard to get support on the phone or by email when you really needed it. Over the last 4-5 years they have placed an emphasis on improving their customer support team and it shows! Most issues are resolved by Tier 1 support, either immediately on the phone or within 1-2 hrs by email after the entry of a support ticket online. If you have a more in-depth issue (which I usually do, unfortunately) the ticket is moved to Tier 2 or R&D, which can take longer but is usually resolved in a reasonable amount of time.

The support staff is very friendly and always willing to do what it takes to resolve an issue or point you in the right direction to a new feature/function you may need.

As with any system, there are some issues/challenges to deal with. While many of these have been addressed through updates, there are some withstanding. There is a lack on continuity from module to module as it pertains to search functions and feature properties. When searching for an item within the database there can be up to 4 different types of search windows that all behave a little differently.

Small issues aside, this is a great product and I am sure they will resolve these issues in time as they have with any number of issues in the past. Their focus has always been customer driven and they live up to it every time I need them to.

Adam D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Global Shop Review

Reviewed on 16/9/2016

Pros

The product offers a wide range of capabilities from end-to-end of the business. The capabilities of this product allow strong users a broad array of capabilities to drive business stability and growth.

Cons

The user interfaces are not clear or naturally intuitive. It's a powerful tool but it can take years to navigate the product.

Robert D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Plant Manager- Approval of Global Shop Solutions ERP

Reviewed on 29/3/2018

This system is great! You can buy this system and just keep adding or turning on the things you need. We just integrated our Tool Dispensing Machine with GSS for Real Job Costing analysis. It is still early in, but I can now see what tools and how many the employee used on the job. This cost is then added to the total expense required to make the parts. We also like the play back recorded features to aid new users to GSS.

Pros

Global Shop Solution is a great ERP system. I love when a customer calls and ask for a Job Update, I just click open the work order and can see just about anything, quantities already completed, hours on the job, what steps are remaining. But GSS doesn't stop there, they have dash boards for everyone, scheduling, outsourcing, attendance, etc.

Cons

Like any new computer system, you have to learn where to view certain needs. But GSS has some friendly Icons that helps.

Paul O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Global Shop is a complete solution that exceeds its customer's needs!

Reviewed on 1/5/2015

Pros

Global Shop's software has all the bells and whistles a company needs and would want from an ERP software package. Its technical support is always happy to help and responds very quickly to troubleshooting tickets. Global Shop also keeps pace or is ahead of current technology and industry trends so their software is always up to date, works on new platforms, feels fresh and new and functions as expected.

Their customer support team is also wonderful to deal with and very helpful. Our account representative who is new to Global Shop's team, is how I imagine all representatives should be: prompt in following up with customer requests, eager to tackle new problems or questions that may arise, knowledgeable and maintains routine check-ins to ensure customer satisfaction.

Cons

At first, Global Shop Solutions software is very complex because it has so much functionality and capability.

Rose of sharon D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Global Shop offers scalable big-ERP functionality for small shops.

Reviewed on 10/4/2017

Love the all-in-one approach that Global Shop offers for the small to medium size manufacturing companies. Quick support - if I ask "can we do this?" they most often have a way free-of-charge for me to implement. The only company I know that allows me to use software improvements paid for by other customers at no extra charge. They are continuously improving and the .NET platform rocks. Glad we went with them!

Pros

I like the intuitive for navigating between various functions. In most places if you're thinking "boy, I'd like to see how that ___ is set up." (for example, part number, work order, sales order, purchase order, etc.) there is typically a short-cut that will take you from one screen to another - and it's in a logical place.

Cons

It's very complex and comprehensive and there are multiple ways to do many functions. It takes a while to train people on it, though there are many ways to get training.

John S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Absolutely horrible user interface.

Reviewed on 18/8/2017

We’ve been using this program for about 13 months now and I struggle to find anything to say that is positive. In summary, if anyone is considering using this program to make their work simpler, they’ll be very disappointed. Below are some notes.

Note; I have paragraphs and paragraphs of how bad this program is but I'll try to be brief.

The user interface is, without question, the worst I’ve ever encountered in almost 30 years of working with computers. Text interface is awful. Sometimes when you first click a field, any input will then erase and replace what’s in there. Other times when you first click a field, any input will append what is already in there. Sometimes you have to hit “enter” to get your edit accepted, other times you have to “tab” to have it accepted.

Sometimes it will let you input lower-case, sometimes it won’t. Also, sometimes the field is case-dependent, but most times it is not.

Text: cursor placement. Sometimes mouse-clicking in the field places your cursor at the home position. Sometimes it places it at the end of the text. Sometimes it actually is highlighting ALL of the field. You don’t know what it’s going to do because it does it differently depending on the window you’re working in.

Concerning text, you have to press the “insert” key to keep from overwriting text when editing a field. Overwriting is GSS’s default action and there is no control-z function to correct any mistake, should you happen to overwrite what was in the field. Many of the GSS windows don’t have a “minimize” button; only an “X”.

I don’t like that GSS’s windows take precedence over all of the other windows on my machine. Even though I’ve selected (let’s say) Outlook to view right now, GSS’s inventory browser always stays in front of it. I can still click around and work in the Outlook window but the GSS inventory window is displayed in front of it. The only way to get it out of the way is to CLOSE it. There’s no minimize button.

Doing an order or a quote makes you open a new window for your lines. However, the old window (header) stays open and blocks what’s behind it. You can’t move it, either because it’s not the active window.

The cut/paste form fill interface is very difficult to decipher and almost impossible to use if you don't have an insert button. Can’t control-Z. If you get GS’s text interface (above) wrong, you can’t control-z to undo. Again… Windows 95 had this action. This can’t be said often enough. You can’t control-Z. There is no “undo” functionality. You can’t even close/abort an order w/o saving it. Copy and paste, even insert, are a mystery. It always behaves differently depending on the specific window that’s open.

In closing, I would recommend that you run -with all your might- away from this sophomoric attempt at a user interface.

Cons

This program will not interface with Windows(tm). Among other things, you cannot use control-Z. Formatting is not possible.

Natasha P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Global Shop

Reviewed on 10/4/2017

When I first started working at Profab the ERP system that they had was horrible to use, and there was no check and balances before posting things to the system. Being an accountant, that's the one thing i like is that i am able to check things over before its just submitted for payment or invoicing.

Pros

easy access to being able to locate things in multiple areas.

Cons

Not having the capabilities export some reports

Randy R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

RK Mechanical customer since 2008

Reviewed on 4/4/2017

I implemented Global Shop at a previous employer (Custom Window Co) and have been system admin. at 2 companies. Have been using GS for 10 years and love it especially GAB and your customer service.

Pros

GAB and customer service

Cons

some areas have bugs that continue through updates, some process could be more efficient.

Kelly E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Global Shop Solutions Review

Reviewed on 16/9/2016

Pros

The product is very user friendly and powerful. The APS is a great tool for scheduling.You can easily find out questions from your customers within seconds as to where there product is and when it will be completed. We use Global Shop for everything from quoting to invoicing. The support team is wonderful, I would highly recommend this product.

Cons

I personally have nothing i do not like, if anything they could make there quality module stronger but it works just fine.

Joel jr. P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Beyond your Expectation

Reviewed on 5/6/2018

Pros

The GS system was very helpful in terms of production planning, inventory, capacity and monitoring of the items, status and finished date.

Cons

The product works great in manufacturing, but the accounting flow was complicated and the price was indicated in every product.

John T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Global Shop - The never ending nightmare

Reviewed on 19/1/2017

We looked at several ERP systems - but decided on Global shop almost Seven years ago - to put it best it is like a box of chocolates - you never know what you are going to get.
We were just forced to do another update - We avoid and delay doing updates because global shop does not do any testing to see what and how the updates will affect other parts of the system. Many behind the scene issues take a time to realize you have a problem. They do like to make sure the issues make an impact on the financial statements. I was reading reviews recently (I wish I would have read them seven (7) years ago) but I have zero confidence in the financials produced by global Shop.
Global Shop CRM is completely useless - a complete waste of time - This was a feature they did a demo and was a big reason why we went with Global shop - when they installed the system CRM was not available apparently it was a new feature - was not on the market yet - What is on the market now is nothing like what was in the demo.

Pros

Does a good job of managing inventory.

Cons

The system has a way to many internal issues - too many items not connecting - behind the scenes processing that does not connect the dots within the system. When you get technical help - they either go in a back door and fix something (short term) or they tell you there is a "bug" - And this is the first time anyone has experienced the issues -

Lamar B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Everything you need in one package!

Reviewed on 29/3/2018

Pros

From tracking inventory quantity, cost etc.. to managing employee labor hours, Global Shop Solutions makes life much easier. GSS has played an essential role in helping my company streamline its processes and they continue to innovate and bring fresh new ideas to a constantly evolving program.

Cons

No Cons to speak of. If any issues arise Global Shops Tech support team is always there to lend a helping hand.