Personio

4.4 (120)
The all-in-one HR software for HR management, recruiting, employee performance, payroll and much more.

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(120)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.7/5

92%
recommended this app

120 Software options

Thomas K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A very good decision I am still proud of

Reviewed on 4/9/2019

Difficult. I like it! Had some experience with Workdays in the company before and was at the beginning a kind of sad that little business has not the budget for such software.
But now I am even happier because Personio not only is quiete as good - it is even better for small business purpose because it's less complex and allowes to stremline processes better for our needs.

Pros

It's HR Software with service for every employee, managers etc. - and so what I like most is, that nearly everybody likes to use it though we did not have much training effort.
Big benefit (usualy) is as well, that Personio has an ongoing development nad gets even better every month.

Cons

Some "improvements" - especially in design - are not really steps forward but seem to complicate work - but usually respective suggestions are heared and drawn into account.

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR

Reasons for Switching to Personio

Originally becasue Personio was the only Provider with servers lokated in Germany (it was the time of the new data protection rules). And it was real SAS while one of the other products (the European one) would have to be customized with big effort (and costs)...
Anna Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool for monitoring all your HR related tasks

Reviewed on 3/9/2019

We have saved a lot of time preparing the pay rolls for our employees as we had to do it all manually before and now it's just a couple of clicks. We also use their documents storage and each employee knows where to find their important information instead asking the HR manager or look for it on google docs.
The benefits and time saving definitely outweigh the costs of this app.

Pros

The support is great. Everyone I have talked to on the phone was aways super nice and helpful.
I also like the fact that they take your feedback seriously and suggest the things you mentioned to their product team and might implement solutions that will make the tool even better for you and your team.

Cons

It's not easy to set up because it's very detailed- that's why you have an implementation manager to help you with that.
I also have to use their support quite often when I want to change something, because I'm afraid that it'll adjust things I didn't want to change.

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR

Reasons for Choosing Personio

Switched from an American to a German tool to align with GDPR rules and have more features.

Switched From

Appogee Leave

Reasons for Switching to Personio

It's just superior to all the other tools out there.
Christian S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Happy administrator feedback

Reviewed on 5/9/2019

On the whole very satisfied. The tool covers our complex requirements very well. Feedback is processed quickly. Personio develops quickly which is mostly positive. Sometimes there are smaller obvious errors with releases. We use the SW over 3 countries. This works quite well. Partly one notices, that it was primarily developed for the German market (e.g. with withdrawals and holidays adaptations).
Otherwise, it is a great relief for us compared to the many manual processes we had before. It requires relatively little to no instruction effort for the employees. We have only adapted the presentation of Personio and handed it over to the employees and this works well. Many things can be configured so that you also have control over the data that is captured.

Pros

It can be easily configured. The fast implementation. Good and fast customer service. All inquiries are answered within 24 hours (weekdays) and 80% of inquiries are resolved within 24 hours. Usually within 6 hours. The software is constantly evolving and is becoming even more customer-friendly.

Cons

Partly the red thread through the SW is missing. For example, the date can only be recorded with 24/12/2019 at one location while it must be recorded with 24.12.2019 at another location. There are newer reports, especially in recruiting, where the figures are not correct. Further input fields do not always correspond to the same logic. So you have to be careful in the salary area if you overwrite a number in the salary field, an additional "0" is added. Just some small things.

Melina F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

All in all a great software with a wide range of helpful features for HR & high data...

Reviewed on 3/9/2018

All in all our company is very satisfied with Personio. Especially to emphasize is the very friendly customer service. Personio takes care of the needs and problems and tries to improve continuously. Furthermore we have to highlight that the bugs we had to deal with became much less.

Pros

Compared to other software for HRM, it is very easy to understand and to handle for the whole company with a great interface and all useful functions you need for a good HR management, including a safe data protection which is very important.
It is well structured and helpful for the preparatory payroll (incl. time tracking of working students etc).
The Customer Support is always friendly, fast and helpful- until now we have never had a negative experience.
Great price-performance ratio.
From recruiting-side, a big plus is that you can easily customize the evaluation forms.

In general, Personio develops the software continuously and implements new helpful functions. (+introductions via little webinar's).

Cons

Sometimes the reports are not correct or have bugs.
For the recruiting area, there is still some room for improvement, for example, the integration with outlook.
Although it has become much less, there are still every now and then bugs which sometimes effects the communication with the candidate negatively.

Dirk W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Limited Functionality

Reviewed on 28/10/2019

Pros

One Stop Shop for HR, all data in one database, easy to use & state of the art GUI

Cons

The Problems start when Your look into detail: search & filter functions are very limited, job applicants can only be linked to one open position - it is not possible to share good applicants, this makes the rights & roles (GDPR!) useless for our business ... the power of an HR database is not really used because the system (incl. support) is very unflexible: search criteria cannot be set (e.g. only "or" - no "and"), filters must be reset after every login, job applicants pictures cannot be uploaded, most data (e.g. evaluations) cannot be downloaded ...

Michael M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use all in one solution for everything HR related

Reviewed on 2/8/2018

Pros

It gave me as an employee so much transparency and control back as I did not have to have everything done by our HR team. It was very easy to use, understand and integrate into my day2day work.
Additionally I think it also took a lot of extra work from my HR colleagues - at least that loved working with Personio! :)

Cons

Some features are not yet comparable to standalone solution (e.g. the recruiting module) but Personio is shipping improvements and features regularly so that bugs and feature requests are taken into account!

Sebastian S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best one-stop solution for HR and Recruiting

Reviewed on 14/7/2019

Pros

Personio really is the HR operating system. All the personal data of an employee have to be filled in only once and can then be used for different services. Users can participate in recruiting and manage their data and documents. In addition, with the integration of Personio Payroll, you do not have to communicate with tax consultants anymore to get your payroll done.

Cons

Due to the many features and the customization that is possible with Personio, some users might find it a bit complex in the beginning.

Moritz D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Personio was the basement for change.

Reviewed on 22/7/2019

For us it was the best basement to start with home office, flex times and regulations for over hours. Without Personio this would have end up in paperwork mess. Next step is to do our monthly payment automated over Personio.

Pros

How easy the implementation was and how fast all colleagues started using and loving it.

Cons

Here and there it needs improvement but hey... its a start up and they are on the best way possible.

Alternatives Considered

Softgarden

Reasons for Switching to Personio

Best over all performance and support.
Fanny F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I've been using personio since over a year, I even implemented it in my new company. Great...

Reviewed on 6/6/2017

the complete solution supports my daily work in HR

Pros

The customer support is fast and amazingly friendly:) Other than that, I really like that personio offers a complete solution (ATS & HR) with a very good usability for everyone in the company.

Cons

I would like to have more templates in order to set up personio quicker.
Exp.
Mail-templates
Feedback-templates
Ref. Letter templates etc

David R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Work with personio

Reviewed on 11/9/2019

vacation managment
The way in which the vacation entitlement was built and the transparency with which it is structured is very good, even with very frequently changing working time models.
recruiting & management of applicants

Pros

Easy to handle
Great quality of services & support

Cons

n.a. (so far every thing is wokung very well)

Alternatives Considered

HRworks

Reasons for Switching to Personio

Data protection concept & Privacy Policy (well done) ease of use Embedded recruiting solution Look 6 feel
Denise D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Tool!

Reviewed on 5/8/2020

We are now able to replace many excel sheets with personio and improve our HR processes in general.

Pros

- easy to use (intuitiv)
- great implementation service
- transparency

Cons

- Reminder of anniversary could definitely be improved
- Birthday calendar in Outlook should be part of your own calendar - right now it`s a seperate one

Alternatives Considered

jacando Match and KENJO

Reasons for Switching to Personio

- usability - features - transparency
Eva E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Holistic HR admin tool for small and medium-sized companies

Reviewed on 13/8/2019

Pros

usability/ nice user interfaces, very helpful, friendly customer support, easily customizable, broad range of functionalities

Cons

from time to performance/availability issues

Elke B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great easy-to use Software

Reviewed on 19/7/2019

Pros

- Self service
- Interface
- Usability
- Integration of the external payroll
- Customer Service

Cons

- Report section is not very detailed and not very accurate
- Vacation calculation is not functioning very well, the set up of the vacation model is quite tricky
- Some system attribute-fields are none-customisable

Marcel H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great talent solution

Reviewed on 5/7/2019

Pros

We needed an API feature that was not available. The Personio team was able to deliver it within 3 weeks! Keep up the good work!

Cons

Nothing really. We looked at a lot of solutions and decided to go with Personio.

Steffen W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product for supervisors

Reviewed on 5/12/2019

Pros

Easy and fast to use for all recruiting, time stamp and absence approval processes. For me this is crucial as a supervisor. Because I don’t want to spend time on trainings and bad user interfaces. Great support especially when you have ideas for further improvements.

Cons

Till now there is nothing to complain about.

Julia J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Administration Support

Reviewed on 17/9/2019

It is easy to administrate daily HR-Business.

Pros

- Recruitiung-Tool
- all in all: transparency

Cons

We have a lot of different "Due-Dates", sometimes it's hard to keep an overview.

Jessica H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Helpful for German Business

Reviewed on 18/7/2019

Pros

It´s easy to use and not complicated to explain for new joiners

Cons

That you cannot decide how to log on. With google or password
Use different mail addresses

Antje W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best customer service

Reviewed on 11/7/2019

Pros

Easy handling, very good customer helpcenter

Cons

Recruiting not always clear, new messeges from applicats are not very good shown

Fabio T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

A great HR tool that makes HR work easier

Reviewed on 22/7/2019

I love the customer service of this company. They manage to find solutions very fast and have always a user-friendly way of communication.

Pros

Personio is easy to use and the user interface can be understood intuitively. Many things can be adapted to company-specific needs.

Cons

Compared to other ATS, Personio does not offer a link to LinkedIn, which makes recruiting activities more complex.

Leonie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

HR prozesses on the next level

Reviewed on 28/3/2019

I really like the professional implementation process!

Pros

Personio makes the overall recruiting prozess easier and transparent. What I like the most is the function to share applications within the team. Moreover I like the various templates for feedback, contract etc. - there is a lot of HR knowhow within the tool.

Cons

There are a few functions which could be more intuitive - the good thing is that Personio is open for feedback and I hope that they will implement some new features in the future.

Michael S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Perfect Trial and Launch

Reviewed on 3/9/2019

We have gone through the trial and completed the launch for our startup probably half way. For reasons not related to the product or customer service we had to abort the integration of personio at that time. The intro sessions with personio staff was very professional and super pleasant!

Pros

The personio dashboard is super intuitive and easy to grasp. It provides a rich feature set, which could be perfectly tailored to our needs.

Cons

The price tag is a bit high for a small startup, although reasonable for the amount of features personio provides.

Anja T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exactly what we needed as a software company with 40 employees

Reviewed on 24/7/2019

Excellent product and very dedicated people behind Personio! Would recommend it regardless to others. Thank you!

Pros

All data in one view; the reporting is great to give immediate feedback to executive board; no excel files anymore

Cons

the orgchart needs some further development

Thomas S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great software with even more potential

Reviewed on 13/8/2019

Well designed and smart HR tool that comes with all relevant functionalities. In addition, great customer service if something should go wrong. I have used four HR tools so far and Personio is by far the best.

Pros

The new dashboard landing page gives me all relevant information at one glance.
It comes with a very nice design that provides me with all required functions I need.

Cons

Personio is very easy to use and after 10 minutes you should be able to use all features quite well. However, I think in some points it could be even more intuitive.

Jelena K.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Customer Service and very structured onboarding, good quality and user friendly...

Reviewed on 25/6/2018

Time

Pros

Absolutely user friendly surface, very easy to start with, cloud based and usable from everywhere, easy to use statistics.

Cons

Unfortunately not flexibel on special time tracking (e.g. Shift workers) and missing "Blog-Feature" means individual news-feed not available.

Tung F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Covers what we need

Reviewed on 18/7/2019

I think it's very nice and good. Keep it up!

Pros

- very nice calendar view
- org structure
- vacation requests
- team profiles

Cons

- sometimes there are bugs
- before the redesign was done the calendar was really hard to be used