Personio

4.3 (144)
The all-in-one HR software for HR management, recruiting, employee performance, payroll and much more.

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(144)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.0/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

87%
recommended this app
Sort by

144 Reviews

Christian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great help in everyday HR work.

Reviewed on 12/2/2019

Pros

- We at ORDA use Personio over one and a half years now and by now this tool has become an essential part of all of our HR processes. Therefore we can highly recommend the product.

Cons

- In the beginning there were some usability issues which are mostly resolved by now.

Christian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Happy administrator feedback

Reviewed on 5/9/2019

On the whole very satisfied. The tool covers our complex requirements very well. Feedback is processed quickly. Personio develops quickly which is mostly positive. Sometimes there are smaller obvious errors with releases. We use the SW over 3 countries. This works quite well. Partly one notices, that it was primarily developed for the German market (e.g. with withdrawals and holidays adaptations).
Otherwise, it is a great relief for us compared to the many manual processes we had before. It requires relatively little to no instruction effort for the employees. We have only adapted the presentation of Personio and handed it over to the employees and this works well. Many things can be configured so that you also have control over the data that is captured.

Pros

It can be easily configured. The fast implementation. Good and fast customer service. All inquiries are answered within 24 hours (weekdays) and 80% of inquiries are resolved within 24 hours. Usually within 6 hours. The software is constantly evolving and is becoming even more customer-friendly.

Cons

Partly the red thread through the SW is missing. For example, the date can only be recorded with 24/12/2019 at one location while it must be recorded with 24.12.2019 at another location. There are newer reports, especially in recruiting, where the figures are not correct. Further input fields do not always correspond to the same logic. So you have to be careful in the salary area if you overwrite a number in the salary field, an additional "0" is added. Just some small things.

Jonas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

unu review

Reviewed on 6/12/2019

Pros

functionality compared to other solutions for a company of our side
customer service and personal connection to founder

Cons

responsiveness and speed of the product
product release cycles

Monika
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Userfriendly

Reviewed on 18/8/2022

Love it! The Sales Manager and Implementation Manager were very helpful

Pros

The software is easy to use and all the most important aspects of HR can be portrayed in Personio. All employee data can be stored there safely. Also, Personio provides helpful webinars and lots of additional materials such as document templates, employee surveys, and best practices for any topics which are very helpful.

Cons

The Recruiting part is maybe a bit less intuitive compared to other software that specialize in Recruiting

Dirk
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Limited Functionality

Reviewed on 28/10/2019

Pros

One Stop Shop for HR, all data in one database, easy to use & state of the art GUI

Cons

The Problems start when Your look into detail: search & filter functions are very limited, job applicants can only be linked to one open position - it is not possible to share good applicants, this makes the rights & roles (GDPR!) useless for our business ... the power of an HR database is not really used because the system (incl. support) is very unflexible: search criteria cannot be set (e.g. only "or" - no "and"), filters must be reset after every login, job applicants pictures cannot be uploaded, most data (e.g. evaluations) cannot be downloaded ...

Max
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to implement and fantastic support

Reviewed on 19/6/2017

Pros

Secure data as servers are in Germany, friendly and quick response from the CSA's. All 'key functionalities', such as for example holiday and sickness capturing, are covered. Reports are very useful when having to report KPI's. The system is easily customizable, fields can be generated quickly, workflows edited, and permissions & rules created within minutes.

Cons

Few minor bugs from timt to time, though these are fixed quickly. Recruiting solution only lets you post on german jobsites. No surveying option (ie. eNPS would be good) and Performance Management section is very rudimentary.

Verena
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Overall an easy to use and good HR software

Reviewed on 27/1/2020

We are currently using personio to file all employee data, track onboarding and absence periods. It helps us a lot to quickly access and generate reports and also easily maintain our customer data base.

Pros

Easy implementation
Continuous improvement of the most important HR functionalities
Good reports
Very friendly and quick customer support

Cons

FTE report grouped by Cost Center would be very helpful

Anne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good

Reviewed on 13/9/2019

Good

Pros

- good usability
- good customer support

Cons

- some user cases could be improved, but that's jut a small number

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR
Marcel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great talent solution

Reviewed on 5/7/2019

Pros

We needed an API feature that was not available. The Personio team was able to deliver it within 3 weeks! Keep up the good work!

Cons

Nothing really. We looked at a lot of solutions and decided to go with Personio.

Claudia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

really greate support

Reviewed on 21/7/2022

I am still in the implementation phase of Personio. This is - unfortunately - difficult to accommodate in daily business, because it is very time-consuming. However, my experience so far gives me hope that the effort will pay off in the near future in the form of time savings and a better overview.
The reason for my feedback is the extremely pleasant experience with the support. After technical problems on my own server I had contact with Marius on 01.07.2022 and with Carmen on 13.07.2022. Both were very very friendly, communicated purposefully and customer-oriented. Especially Marius took time on a Friday evening far beyond his working hours to finally solve my challenges together with me.
Once again, a big thank you and keep up the good work.

Pros

a lot of different functions in the field of HR

Cons

the implementation tooks a lot of time

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Clear recommendation for SMEs

Reviewed on 12/8/2020

Pros

- As we were one of the early adopters, we got personio for quite a cheap rate
- There was no tool that was as comprehensive and could be used without GDPR issues
- It saves a lot of time vs. our setup before, which was Excel

Cons

- There are a few open requests from our side regarding more flexible reportings
- There is an obvious bug in the dashboard that just doesn't get solved (always shows that "everyone is in the office today")

Sonja
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great, user-friendly HR-Software for SMUs

Reviewed on 15/7/2019

We are a small start-up with no designated HR manager and needed a system that would allow management to manage all kind of absences (illness, holidays, business travels) and track attendance of student employees. We wanted a solution that would allow employees to manage most of the data themselves, only to be authorised or checked by management. Personio is perfect for this use. Employees can keep track of their digital personnel file, see who is in the office or absent thanks to a good all-company-absence-calender, see how much holidays they have left and plan their paid holidays (which can be authorised or declined in the system by management), upload sickness certificates and even track the worked hours. We are very happy with the performance of the system and are confident missing functionality will be developed by Personio within the next months (app etc.). I would definitely highly recommend the system.

Pros

The software is very intuitive, has a very attractive design and makes it fun to use it. The service ist outstanding - from the first contact with Personio all staff was super attentive, pro-active and solved all problems within hours. The implementation process was quick and easy (thank you representative!), great online tutorials are available.

Cons

I am missing a mobile app (in development). In some aspects the software is perfectly designed for a designated HR manager - message configuration options should be optimised for small start-ups with multi-functional staff - but nothing that could not be "solved" with a bit of trickyness ;).

Dominique
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good HR software

Reviewed on 11/9/2019

Pros

Easy to use, Suite the needs of small to middle size companies well, very good Customer Support

Cons

The Performence, Feedback & Development Moduleis very basic

Alternatives Considered

SAP SuccessFactors HXM Suite
Sandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All in one solution for all HR issues

Reviewed on 15/7/2019

As an HR Manager I'm working with Personio every day. I really like it very much. It's quite intuitive and offers a range of options for structuring HR processes.

We're now employing around 100 employees - and I'm only working 25 hours per week - Personio makes it possible! You have the whole data within one profile which is very clear. Adapting data to new structures is no problem - you can easily add and change attributes.

Pros

- flexibility
- Very competent and fast customer support
- easy to learn - intuitive
- combines the whole employee life cycle - from recruiting to offboarding - in one platform
- Reports and Exports enable fast analyses
- interface to payroll Providers make the payroll really easy to handle

Cons

- some reports don't work properly - but customer service always fixes problems very fast

Alessandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

holistic HR software for basic user needs

Reviewed on 15/8/2019

Pros

holistic HR software, many interfaces for data exchanges (payroll etc.) it's easy to use and adjustable for customers needs. You can drive the speed of implementation without customer support.

Cons

It's covering basic functionalities, not enough reporting functions to visualize data history and changes or detailed recruiting KPIs(especially for personnel development and salary development).

For some functions (for example data changes in the past) you need work arounds to insert data.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very solid Software which meets basic HR requirements

Reviewed on 5/7/2019

We managed as a startup to setup HR processes for the first time, even with limited resources. Personio covers our daily needs.

Pros

- implementation process quality
- saving a lot of HR & team resources
- digital documentation of all HR processes (recruiting, sick days, holidays..)
- improving employee retention

Cons

- no compelling usability
- UI/UX not state of the art and very "German"
- no relevant improvements over time

Pedro
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

making HR-Management radically easier!

Reviewed on 19/6/2017

Pros

On the top of my personio-experiences is the customer service! Really patient, highly customer oriented and super friendly at all times. Furthermore you have the feeling that the entire company (no matter who is on the phone) knows who you are and is well capable of taking care of your issues. And if this is not the case, you will promptly get a re-call from one of the experts.

Cons

Honestly, there is nothing worth to mention. There are a couple of bugs and usability issues here and there, but most important, you see a young product (and Team) growing and improving from day to day.

Thea
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

amazing software, amazing service

Reviewed on 3/11/2021

Pros

I am more than happy. Personio understands the daily need of our HR needs and the support is amazong

Cons

I m happy. Maybe the price but on the end I need a good support and this costs.

Fanny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I've been using personio since over a year, I even implemented it in my new company. Great...

Reviewed on 6/6/2017

the complete solution supports my daily work in HR

Pros

The customer support is fast and amazingly friendly:) Other than that, I really like that personio offers a complete solution (ATS & HR) with a very good usability for everyone in the company.

Cons

I would like to have more templates in order to set up personio quicker.
Exp.
Mail-templates
Feedback-templates
Ref. Letter templates etc

Denise
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Tool!

Reviewed on 5/8/2020

We are now able to replace many excel sheets with personio and improve our HR processes in general.

Pros

- easy to use (intuitiv)
- great implementation service
- transparency

Cons

- Reminder of anniversary could definitely be improved
- Birthday calendar in Outlook should be part of your own calendar - right now it`s a seperate one

Alternatives Considered

jacando Match and KENJO

Reasons for Switching to Personio

- usability - features - transparency
Bozana
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

all in all a good general software solution for small and mid size companies

Reviewed on 15/11/2017

Pros

easy to use, good for small and mid size companies because it offers a lot of functions and it is easy to handle and organize the employee data etc .
For us data security is an important point, that was one of the reasons for choosing personio
user friendly
very good value for the money
nice features
very friendly and fast customer support

Cons

it is a general solutions, so some features part could be still improved e.g be more detailed

Stefanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool, quick support, steady development and nice communication

Reviewed on 24/6/2017

One tool for a lot of HRM fields, especially easing of Recruiting and HR administration

Pros

- broad functionality and coverage for a lot of areas in HRM
- permanent development and frequent implemention of new functions
- German product with legally considered functions

Cons

- sometimes not intuitive enough, especially if you don't use it daily
- report function still has some bugs, that make it sometimes kind of useless/not correct enough

Steffen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product for supervisors

Reviewed on 5/12/2019

Pros

Easy and fast to use for all recruiting, time stamp and absence approval processes. For me this is crucial as a supervisor. Because I don’t want to spend time on trainings and bad user interfaces. Great support especially when you have ideas for further improvements.

Cons

Till now there is nothing to complain about.

Julia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Administration Support

Reviewed on 17/9/2019

It is easy to administrate daily HR-Business.

Pros

- Recruitiung-Tool
- all in all: transparency

Cons

We have a lot of different "Due-Dates", sometimes it's hard to keep an overview.

Rohit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent customer support

Reviewed on 30/11/2018

Excellent experience so far - We are currently growing in MENA region and Personio team was very happy to adapt settings for us to make it usable in Jordan and Lebanon.

Pros

Easy to use and to adapt to our needs - definitely recommended

Cons

Since we work with multiple cost centres per employee due to project funding, it is tricky to use Personio to manage this.