Personio

4.3 (278)
Write a Review!
The all-in-one HR software for HR management, recruiting, employee performance, payroll and much more.

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(278)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

89%
recommended this app
Sort by

278 Reviews

Leyla
Leyla
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A comprehensive HR software

Reviewed on 23/9/2023

Overall we are very pleased with Personio. Other than being a comprehensive piece of software their...

Overall we are very pleased with Personio. Other than being a comprehensive piece of software their customer support is exceptional. They are incredibly helpful, professional and friendly. The webinars are a great feature as well providing a perfect way to gain deeper insights into the platform.

Pros

Its incredibly user friendly making it accessible even for those with limited IT skills. It offers remarkable flexibility and adaptability, particularly in the seamless integration of administration and recruiting tasks. Personio streamline nearly half of our workflow, allowing for excellent employee involvement across various processes. The role assignment feature is highly effective and well planned.

Cons

It would have been nice to be able to integrate it with a few other software. We dont have any complaints though. Personio certainly does its job really well.

Anna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool for monitoring all your HR related tasks

Reviewed on 3/9/2019

We have saved a lot of time preparing the pay rolls for our employees as we had to do it all...

We have saved a lot of time preparing the pay rolls for our employees as we had to do it all manually before and now it's just a couple of clicks. We also use their documents storage and each employee knows where to find their important information instead asking the HR manager or look for it on google docs.
The benefits and time saving definitely outweigh the costs of this app.

Pros

The support is great. Everyone I have talked to on the phone was aways super nice and helpful.
I also like the fact that they take your feedback seriously and suggest the things you mentioned to their product team and might implement solutions that will make the tool even better for you and your team.

Cons

It's not easy to set up because it's very detailed- that's why you have an implementation manager to help you with that.
I also have to use their support quite often when I want to change something, because I'm afraid that it'll adjust things I didn't want to change.

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR

Reasons for Choosing Personio

Switched from an American to a German tool to align with GDPR rules and have more features.

Switched From

Appogee Leave

Reasons for Switching to Personio

It's just superior to all the other tools out there.
Tereza
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Missing features, unhelpful customer support, no room for error

Reviewed on 7/6/2023

very negative, started ok, but worsened over time- support is very bad - just "here is a link and...

very negative, started ok, but worsened over time- support is very bad - just "here is a link and read about it on our helpdesk page" - there is not time for that- had to push to even get in touch with my account manager- no notification on automatic ANNUAL renewal - this i find very unfair; if we are locked in for another full year and still need to renegotiation the conditions, would expect a call well in time so we can decide to cancel- issues with vacation day calculations

Pros

european based company, fairly easy to navigate

Cons

customer support is very unhelpful, the tool is immature, there are a lot of logic mistakes - e.g. no room for error - if you mess up, you cannot correct it, you need to delete the whole user.

Kefiloe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Streamlined HR Performance.

Reviewed on 26/2/2024

As a practitioner in HR it's a core tool in all the day to day activities such as attendance...

As a practitioner in HR it's a core tool in all the day to day activities such as attendance performance,payroll , time sheet and employees welfare , it's been of great assistance in this.

Pros

It has streamlined administration activities by the HR by simply tracking all the projects and tasks as well as employees performance in one place.
Improved transparency in employment and pay roll.
Integration with many systems at our disposal made it even more reliable.

Cons

It had a great return on investment and achieved almost all the objectives expected and so I'm thrilled by it's performance.

Elena
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best HRIS in Germany

Reviewed on 9/9/2019

Pros

It's the best HRIS that I've tried so far. It has tons of features, attributes and process that we can customize according to our needs. The support is very fast, helpful and friendly.

Cons

Sometimes it is a bit complicated to use, but it comes with all the features and configuration possibilities. I am missing a couple of features, like an overview of the employee's promotions/titles and reports indicating promotions.

Javier
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Flexibility for HR

Reviewed on 10/4/2024

Pros

It is super easy to configurate, even without a tech background, and flexible if something needs to be changed.

Cons

Payroll is not yet covering all the singularities from all countries, and still a bit German regulations based.

Reasons for Switching to Personio

Flexibility and developement of modules.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Venture Capital & Private Equity
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Strong tool for all things HR

Reviewed on 17/4/2024

Really enjoy working with the tool! It easy to implement and employees outside of HR find it easy...

Really enjoy working with the tool! It easy to implement and employees outside of HR find it easy to use.

Pros

One tool for almost all relevant HR topics

Cons

The recruiting module could be stronger but it's still sufficient for small and mid-size companies

Alternatives Considered

Bob

Reasons for Switching to Personio

Better use experience and easy to set up.
Lukas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awesome UI/UX with a large package of functions and options

Reviewed on 11/4/2024

Pros

Personio has a very modern and minimalist design. This makes it feel super simple and fast to use. In addition, the system comes with a very large package of functions and has a wide range of extensions available. Furthermore, the company responds to customer feedback and is constantly developing the products further.

Cons

Sometimes you may reach the limits of the available functions and setting options. As a result, you have to find workarounds in some cases. In general, I would like to see more individual automation options to make it easier to map our processes in Personio.

Victoria
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A solid HR all-in-one solution, fulfilling its purpose with room for improvement, yet overall...

Reviewed on 13/3/2024

Pros

The all in one solution for all our HR needs. The intuitive user interface also deserves praise, as it makes navigating through different modules effortless. Furthermore, Personio's customer support team has been exceptional.

Cons

While Personio effectively manages fundamental HR processes, some features may be overlooked due to the emphasis on core functions. There are occasions where the system falls short due to minor details that are difficult to comprehend. As an HR professional, one may encounter frustrations when certain features appear to be hastily implemented without thorough consideration, leading to occasional setbacks in usability.

However, this is a minor drawback in comparison to its overall functionality and ease of use.

Anastassia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good value for money

Reviewed on 22/4/2024

Pros

I like that the usage is easy, quick to understand and that the talent management for recruiting pipelines has a nice overview.
In addition, the support reaches out to you asap if you need help and have questions in general - hence, I am never left with doubts.

Cons

Unfortunately KPI tracking (for recruiting) is not a strength and a lot of data has to be drawn manually or cannot be tracked at all. However, Personio is currently working on this issue which will be a major upgrade for the future.

Lucy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The only HR tool you need for small-mid market operations

Reviewed on 17/9/2023

We couldn't be happier with the service that Personio provides. With it, we've been able to have a...

We couldn't be happier with the service that Personio provides. With it, we've been able to have a smooth functioning HR system from day one. You can use it to manage everyhing from attendance to payroll and ATS. It's the only tool you need for up to a couple hundred employees

Pros

I love how simple the interface is for all the different modules. We started using it when we were much smaller, and it was a relief to be able to start using it confidently without having to spend hours upon hours trying to learn it.

Cons

I think one of the biggest things it's missing is more comprehensive documentation like best practices or ideas for how you can use it better. Without it, in the beinning, we kinda had to figure everyhting out on our own

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR
Ariane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Not perfect but for me the best HR and Recruiting Tool I've seen so far

Reviewed on 10/8/2023

The employee profiles are clearly structured, vacation/leaves are easy manageable, orgcharts,...

The employee profiles are clearly structured, vacation/leaves are easy manageable, orgcharts, admin, accesses are easy manageable, the recruiting feature is great, you can save all employee documents according to categories. If I need help, the Support team is usually quite fast and very friendly and helpful.

Pros

Most features are very intuitive, the user interface is simple and clear, really helpful support team, really good functions. Not perfect but for me the best HR and Recruiting Tool I've seen so far for everything except payroll!

Cons

The new payroll feature is not really good (yet). E.g - no way to transfer bonus payments, hourly wages that differ from month to month. We did not expect this to be a payroll tool for only fix salaries that don't change, this is simply only half useful. We still have to do so much manual work every month.

asad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Really helpful in office Management

Reviewed on 20/1/2024

Pros

The portal is really helpful in keeping the record of employee's information, payroll management and attendance.

Cons

Trainings module can be improved. New update on attendance is not easily interpretable.

Marta
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easiest HRIS to set up and maintain

Reviewed on 31/7/2023

Pros

Flexibility, Slack integration, Zapier / Make integration

Cons

Sometimes a bit slow, better UX needed for custom report creation

Alternatives Considered

Humaans
Janelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Underrated But Very Advanced Cloud HR Solution

Reviewed on 4/1/2024

We've ad a great time so far with Personio for our HR work. We first set it up when the company was...

We've ad a great time so far with Personio for our HR work. We first set it up when the company was a lot smaller, and it's held together very well during our expansion. It has a very simplistic interface which is a big positive for us, the reporting features work well, and the ATS module is very detailed and has a lot of advanced features. 10/10 would recommend.

Pros

The interface is much more up to date than the other tools we evauated. This made it a lot easier for us to start using it fully in te beginning, and has made it easy to maintain since.

Other than that, we really enjoy the automated workflows for setting up alerts, emails, etc.

Cons

It was missing a couple integrations that we really wanted, and there's the odd bug here and there, but we don't really have anything too big to complain about

Manuela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review of 1 year with personio

Reviewed on 15/6/2022

all colleagues have an overview about their personal data and HR documents, they can see the...

all colleagues have an overview about their personal data and HR documents, they can see the absence of the team members (even with a exchange with our team calender) and the administration of holidays is quite easy.

Pros

It's really easy to use and implement the tool. And I really like the support material - you can find very good articles about each topic and question and if I cannot find the answer there - I get quick help from the support team

Cons

some features are only provided on the basic level - but telling it to the support can help, one of my issues is now solved and a new standard in the protfolio. but it would be great to have the possibility to set a date when I want to send a message to a applicant.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Paper & Forest Products
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Comprehensive HR tool

Reviewed on 14/7/2023

Personio is a user-friendly HR software with a wide range of features. I highly recommend it.

Personio is a user-friendly HR software with a wide range of features. I highly recommend it.

Pros

I love how Personio integrates with all of our other business systems. It makes it so easy to keep track of everything, and it saves us a ton of time.

Cons

The pricing for Personio is a bit on the high side, especially for smaller businesses. However, the software does offer a lot of features ans functionality, so it may be worth the investment for most of the organizations.

Dennis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One stop shop for HR

Reviewed on 19/6/2017

Best bang for the buck, period.
Saves LOTs of time. No need for different tools. Extremely...

Best bang for the buck, period.
Saves LOTs of time. No need for different tools. Extremely adaptable. Scales well with the company.

Pros

- Covers almost ALL aspects of HR
-- recruitment (complete ATS system)
-- hr administration:
-- onboarding, offboarding, documents, absences, time tracking, performance management (basic), rights & role management, user self service, approval settings, etc...
- lots of possibilities to adapt to own needs
- very good onboarding process and customer success
- very good value for the money

Cons

- needs some time to get to know all features
- UX is getting better, but not the strong suit of personio
- performance management rather basic

Florian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best overall HR solution for growing and established companies

Reviewed on 14/2/2019

Pros

Personio covers all key HR processes. No matter if it is recruiting, time tracking, vacations or payroll. We really like that everything is at one place and in order.

As a growing company we need a coherent HR and recruiting process to reach our growth goal. Personio really helped us to set up and implement a processes based on their best practices.

Great customer support. At the beginning we had some struggles setting up Personio. Their support and implementation team always were available and reached out proactively. I feel that they really care for their customers and want to help us improve our HR processes.

Easy to use and well accepted by everyone in the company. The SSO was really helpful for that

Cons

At the beginning we were sceptical about the time it needs to implement the software. However, the few phone calls/video conferences in which we set up Personio with their help proved to be key for us to adapt the software to our processes.

A mobile app does not exist yet. Particularly for incoming applications, it would be great to access them mobile through an app

Dirk
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Limited Functionality

Reviewed on 28/10/2019

Pros

One Stop Shop for HR, all data in one database, easy to use & state of the art GUI

Cons

The Problems start when Your look into detail: search & filter functions are very limited, job applicants can only be linked to one open position - it is not possible to share good applicants, this makes the rights & roles (GDPR!) useless for our business ... the power of an HR database is not really used because the system (incl. support) is very unflexible: search criteria cannot be set (e.g. only "or" - no "and"), filters must be reset after every login, job applicants pictures cannot be uploaded, most data (e.g. evaluations) cannot be downloaded ...

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use all in one solution for everything HR related

Reviewed on 2/8/2018

Pros

It gave me as an employee so much transparency and control back as I did not have to have everything done by our HR team. It was very easy to use, understand and integrate into my day2day work.
Additionally I think it also took a lot of extra work from my HR colleagues - at least that loved working with Personio! :)

Cons

Some features are not yet comparable to standalone solution (e.g. the recruiting module) but Personio is shipping improvements and features regularly so that bugs and feature requests are taken into account!

Fabio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

A great HR tool that makes HR work easier

Reviewed on 22/7/2019

I love the customer service of this company. They manage to find solutions very fast and have...

I love the customer service of this company. They manage to find solutions very fast and have always a user-friendly way of communication.

Pros

Personio is easy to use and the user interface can be understood intuitively. Many things can be adapted to company-specific needs.

Cons

Compared to other ATS, Personio does not offer a link to LinkedIn, which makes recruiting activities more complex.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good software to keep track of your working hours

Reviewed on 14/12/2021

Pros

I like that you feel like you have everything in one platform. From time tracking to your documents like your monthly payroll. What I really like is that you can easily enter your working hours in a field and then edit the next day directly after saving the last one.

Cons

I don't like the Vacation day system. Sometimes the system doesn't recognize that I have more vacation days because I have worked more days last month (therefore entered more working hours)

Natalie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Flexibel Tool with great functions

Reviewed on 5/7/2019

Pros

- its very flexibel and you can add various fields e.g. training data
- you can send out reminders to the departments and supervisors
- we included our on- and offboarding process also in the tool
- very friedly and helpful team

Cons

- some little bugs but nothing serious.. :)

Lorenz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A well functioning HR system

Reviewed on 18/4/2024

Pros

Personio operates seamlessly. The login process is extremely straightforward, and the interface is highly intuitive.

Cons

There isn't much negative to say about Personio.