Kinetic

3.8 (160)
Cloud ERP made with manufacturers, for manufacturers.

Overall rating

3.8 /5
(160)
Value for Money
3.4/5
Features
3.8/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Support
3.2/5

70%
recommended this app

160 Software options

Jeff E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exceptional ERP Software for Manufacturers

Reviewed on 29/9/2020

Over the course of nearly twenty years as an Epicor admin in manufacturing, my experience has been fantastic. The software is simply to use, extremely flexible, and the ways that the data can be extracted (reports, BAQ's, and Dashboards) make it a VERY powerful analysis tool when the time to enter data is done properly. The support team is also fantastic...and while maintenance and support is expensive, it's worth it and you get what you pay for.

Pros

Epicor is extremely flexible right out of the box, and is exceptionally strong in the areas of managing and tracking Production Jobs, Bill of Materials, Scheduling, Labor, Inventory, Purchasing, and Order Entry. It also has the ability to have customized development, and things like the Epicor BAQ's, Dashboards, and Business Activity Manager features allow customizes information, exportable grids, and notifications to be setup by administrators and even end users as these modules are user-friendly and fairly intuitive! The Shop Floor Data Entry Module (MES) is also very intuitive and simple to use for the users on the production / manufacturing floor.

Cons

Epicor ERP is expensive software, and since it's such a wide product that handles so many aspects of your business, setup really must be done according to Epicor's recommendations and completed thoroughly. Also, since it's so flexible, there is a lot of it that you won't use, so it's best to create clear work instructions for your team and/or hide fields and/or functions that you will not need to use.

Alternatives Considered

JobBOSS²

Reasons for Switching to Kinetic

The user-interface, functionality, exceptional flexibility and customizable design made this the right choice for both manufacturers that I have worked for using Epicor.

Response from Epicor Software

Hello Jeff, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear you find it flexible and intuitive. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Max J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Epicor for Manufacturing

Reviewed on 26/1/2021

The latest version of Epicor helps your company keep connected with the latest software capabilities.

Pros

Very Customizable. Uses industry standard .Net programming language and function. Hooks to SQL server.

Cons

Not geared for small operations. The cost of entry makes this product geared to Mid sized companies.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Max, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear you find the ease of customization beneficial. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about the program.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ERP for Medium-sized manufacturers

Reviewed on 16/3/2019

Epicor ERP is the lifeblood of our company. It has all the transactional records and ensures items are produced, delivered, and invoiced efficiently.

Requires a large up-front investment of time and energy to get set up, but once it has gone LIVE, you won't be able to imagine running your business without it.

Pros

Epicor ERP is an all-in-one solution for medium-sized manufacturers. It covers everything needed and has lots of optional modules.

We use it for:
Quoting
Orders
Jobs/BOMs
Product Configurator
Dashboards
Reports
Purchasing
Inventory
Production
AP & AR invoicing

The Epicor team has worked hard to improve the software over the years, and it is now 100% Microsoft Stack. The SQL database can be queried from within the software using reports and dashboards, or externally using Business Intelligence software such as Power BI or Tableau.

The price point is better compared to some of its larger competitors in the ERP space. If you have less than 200 users, Epicor will be a much more cost-effective ERP than the ERP leaders.

The opportunities for customisation and personalisation are very high.

Cons

Earlier versions of Epicor ERP were slow and clunky, but the new version is really fast. Also, you need experts to help you implement the software, and a dedicated team to maintain it.

This is not an "out of the box" solution. It requires you to map your business processes and then implement the software carefully to suit the way your business works. You can customise almost anything you want in the system, but greater customisation brings with it added complexity and possible issues when upgrading point releases and versions.

Gordon E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Changed our company in 1996 and still improving how we serve our customers

Reviewed on 4/10/2017

Increased profitability, and the best record keeping ability I have seen in any software to date. I am confident I can get whatever my customer needs in less time than any competitor, especially if it isn't in stock. I can and do recommend this software, and I am involved with a number of user groups, IT groups, and machining groups who are always asking what we use and how we keep it functional.

Pros

This software allows a quoter to include every facet of a project before it gets a customer PO. From that quote, every detail is able to be brought through to the order, the job, the packing slip, and the final invoice. There are so many different ways to track various phases of the project as it moves through. Every detail can be recorded if every employee is disciplined enough to make the input. Then, 10 years from now, when the machine finally has a hiccup, (and assuming everyone entered all the details) you know every purchased part and have a link to every drawing used in manufacturing. Your customer will be amazed when you can recite those part numbers and pull prints within minutes 10 years later with absolute accuracy. You will eliminate QuickBooks, sales force or any other CRM, MS Project, and a host of programs that are not integrated and require multiple entries once you are fully functional. This software will transform your company, and you will become more profitable than you were before. Your work week will never be under 50 hours again, and you will either learn very facet of the software of spend well over 100k every year to keep it running, but if you stay on every employee all the time to do their best and do YOUR best, you will realize some incredible benefits. Our company does more with 20 people than many companies do with 50, and we manufacture parts and machinery. We can credit a lot of that success to the Epicor ERP system.

Cons

There are a few Caveats. There is no way you can employ a single person who is not college educated. Without math skills, great writing and data entry skills, and an exceptional amount of discipline, you will not get the quality inputs, and the software will not be able to give quality outputs. Slowly, over a period of about 3-5 years, you will come to the realization that people just cant come up to the level of inputting the information correctly, and you will have to decide if you want this software to work and be useful of if you want to eliminate these people. There is no other way, it simply cant work. Garbage in - Garbage out.
The complexity of the entire computer industry has taken the decision that they are going to complicate every facet that they can to require you to hire consultants to do what for 20 years you could easily do yourself. Continual updates, incredibly complicated reporting that an average person used to be able to do, and a constant push to the cloud really get in the way of helping your customers at every turn. It is almost as if, as a machine shop in our case, your mission is to configure software all day and never deliver a single project.
The pros outweigh the cons, but the cost of ownership and value of the effort put into keeping the software functional was less than 10% in 1996-2010 than it is today. If our company was looking at this software today, I really don't know if it would be possible to justify it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Product stability has greatly improved in recent releases, support is often missing in action

Reviewed on 6/3/2018

Financials, Shop Floor control, scheduling, purchasing

Pros

ITs flexibility and ability to customize. Cloud versions available. Offers many modules for most needs. There has been in the past several years a building of third party software vendors with the ability to augment the customization, implementation and general maintenance of the software requiring less reliance on Epicor consulting services. Features such as document routing has greatly improved forms handling. The software is definitely in growth mode resulting in new features and abilities. The number one feature I like is the ability to export any report and most data grids directly to excel. Overall I have more likes on were the software is going rather than were it is at today

Cons

The software is not at all user friendly. Little if any documentation on how to use the product. Education is available but pricey. Support system is totally ineffectual and support personal are lacking in basic knowledge. Company has built many silos and employees do not have the ability to see across those barriers. The online support system called Epicare has added a layer of difficulty in that you cannot speak with an employee to explain an issue. The online submission is often limited to drop down selections that have nothing to do with the problem. The helpful tips you are given when submitting a case are almost always way off topic and of no use.

Lorena M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A very powerful tool for manufacturing companies - but customer support could be better

Reviewed on 10/8/2018

I believe Epicor is an excellent tool for manufacturing. I can not give it 5 starts really because of the time it takes to get an issue solved once it's placed with customer support. They have however, improved in the last couple of years now that they started using an online ticketing system, which seems to run a lot better now. Its reporting capabilities are amazing, for any module in the ERP. I do believe the experience is better for customers in the Americas than in other parts of the world, since there are a lot more experts, consultants, users, etc. in the States and Latin America than I've seen in Asia or Europe. The implementation is complex, so being paired with the right consultants can make it or break it - it really is a very good software!

Pros

- very powerful and thorough functionalities for all manufacturing operations
- extremely good costing capabilities (all financial features are quite good, actually)
- can be customized to a great extent
- many tools for reporting and data analysis
- integrates with tools such as MES, bar code reader, is ready for EDI

Cons

- it's a bit more slow that I wish it were
- customer support is very bureaucratic, it takes from a couple of days to weeks to get any issue solved (to be fair, they do solve them)
- learning curve is steep. It's not that easy to use so people who are not tech-savy get a bit intimidated by this tool
- instruction manuals and help menu are only available in English

Robert C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great ERP

Reviewed on 30/4/2020

It has been great we have found errors in our engineering program and saved a great deal of money. It has allowed us to have all of the different departments all in one ERP.

Pros

It has truly helped the company grow and able to analyze what works and what isn't. Purchasing and Project Management is simple and straightforward.

Cons

It isn't aesthetically pleasing and I have noticed many users like it to be sleek..

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Robert, thank you so much for your review of Epicor ERP. We're pleased to hear it has helped you identify areas of improvement in your organization. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Isabella H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Manage your data with all-in-one tools.

Reviewed on 7/11/2020

I intuitively improve our own services with a large proportion of work, according to acquisitions, general accounting of our business establishment, forecasts of each product made for loyal and powerful customers, who are interested and in the production that we carry out daily, highlighting before this software, we used multiple databases with a particular platform, which caused us many constant delays and serious administrative problems, that Epicor ERP, solved these problems on a large scale, causing satisfaction, thanks to its integrated functions.

Pros

Epicor ERP has incredible functionality for supply chain management, which is acquired by an entire organization, in order to maintain proper control, to classify appropriate use, that is, to know precisely where these will be used digital products, in the different departments that we acquire in executive disposition, mentioning that it allows us to modify their visual aspects, to establish them in our most conducive environment, being one of the tools that most attracts my attention, as it is one of the ones that I use for adequate familiarization, when executing the pending work to be done.

Cons

It is important to note that many of the functions that most companies use must be added by users, which allows the process at work to be slower and delays the qualities in productivity, being a significant problem, since these working parts must be integrated. by the same software, for a majority management in the performance and profitability of the time, which requires an update in these sectors of the system.

Response from Epicor Software

Hello Isabella, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the integration functionality is working well for you and simplifying how you work. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Ross B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Epicor is amazing for tracking production details

Reviewed on 3/10/2019

Epicor has been a blessing with customer support, as it helps us track every aspect of a parts creation.

Pros

I frequently use this program to track historical product records. I can pull a full production detail report, to see each and every operation a part has gone through.

Cons

Sometimes, the reporting feature takes awhile to pull the report. This is only the case for very large reports however!

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Ross,
Thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the production tracking is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.Many thanks.

Michael P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Mid Market Configurable ERP Software

Reviewed on 9/10/2018

Overall my experience with Epicor is very positive. I like the way that I can modify just about everything in order to adjust to my work flow and to solve problems. The support is standard large company support, the first call you make will be to tier one and unless it is simple it will get escalated.

Pros

The software is very robust. Just about everything that the software does is configurable and modifiable. The interface is fairly customizable, you can move things around and even change the color scheme to your liking.

Cons

I wouldn't say I dislike this, but do take into consideration that the customization of the software requires a significant amount of programming skill. This software is not targeted at smaller companies that wouldn't have an IT staff or are not willing to spend money on outside programmers.

Response from Epicor Software

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, Michael. We appreciate the feedback you have provided on customization. At Epicor, we are committed to providing an ease of use experience. Thank you.

Harry S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Epicor provides a robust modular ERP that allows us buy and expand the system as our company...

Reviewed on 14/6/2017

The software tracks and reports on our production and performance. Integration across modules allows adjustments in one module to be appropriately communicated across the system.

Pros

The ERP allows us to create dashboards to track company performance, includes good documentation and built in help (application level or field level), and we have access to a great user group to help us explore new modules before we buy and implement them.

Cons

There are inconsistencies between modules or menus that are not intuitive. Support is expensive and oftentimes unresponsive.

John P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Epicor works.

Reviewed on 20/8/2018

Recommended for growing manufacturers who are not sure just how large they may grow. This product scales well with best practices built in that will allow you to grow without adding people and overhead.

Pros

Easy to use. Very deep in functionality - you will likely be able to use the whole system out of the box.

Cons

Need to manage your scope for an implementation project - it is easy to take on more given the wide capability it has. Best to manage scope.

Diego P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I work with EPICOR everyday.

Reviewed on 7/3/2018

One central source of information for the entire company. The flexibility to create reports that are specific for the business and to export information to another tools make my daily job easier.

Pros

It's very easy to learn and it's very flexible. Once you are familiar with the interface it's easy to navigate and find the way to get the job done. Exporting information to another tools is easy and useful.

Cons

Impossible to drag and drop... I'm lazy! Seriously, there are some features that I would like to have like create templates for common daily tasks.

Taylor I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Epicor Manufacturing

Reviewed on 21/8/2018

Pros

Epicor has a ton of functionality and seems to be receptive to adapting to user customization. Provides a huge benefit for tracking multiple different things and works will in conjunction with other software.

Cons

Seems to be a little clunky and slow at times. It also can be hard to find information needed in the system on occasion.

Matt G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful and Easy

Reviewed on 14/6/2017

Outstanding for the manufacturing world.

Pros

Epicor is very simple to navigate and understand. Bringing new people in and getting them up to speed is extremely simple.

Cons

Old version is pretty slow. The new version appears to be much faster. The support group still needs some work, however they are make progress.

Rob F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Epicor Software continuously strives to enhance user efficiency, but it tends to be costly as...

Reviewed on 8/3/2018

Cost control and visibility

Pros

-- Customizable
-- Excel based grid views for easier export of data and dynamic dashboards
-- Scalability
-- Integration capabilities

Cons

-- Not intuitive
-- Inadequate Help information
-- Expensive
-- Tier 1 Support extremely lacking
-- User Manuals are generic

Rizwan H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

MT Customer

Reviewed on 20/11/2018

Pros

Very powerful tool, some quirks to the way Epicor has their default process setup. Dashboards and BAQ's are easy to make, a lot of training guides to take you through it.
BPM is a great tool to use to automate user entry.

Cons

A lot of functionality/custom is locked from MT customers, due to their DB setup. Going on-prem or dedicated hosted is a better option, if you are looking for a lot of custom changes.

Robert S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

While it took longer than expected to implement, the software is doing its job now!

Reviewed on 6/3/2018

Pros

Features
Scalability
Flexibility
Adaptation to Various Industries
Industry History & Reputation

Cons

Ease of Deployment
Modifications to Older Versions
Price entry point for smaller businesses
Deployment Costs

Larry D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Accountings software is an afterthought.

Reviewed on 24/3/2018

Fixing the accounting software is not even on their to do list when you look at the next years initiatives

Pros

PM management tools are great. lots of flexibility, configuration, etc. But not an easy program to set up.

Cons

The accounting system is the worst i have ever seen. Feels like an after thought that they really don't care about. Cumbersome entries for purchasing, accounting, reconciliation, etc.

Jordan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Platform For Manufacturing Organizations!

Reviewed on 14/5/2019

Pros

Epicor is a very straight forward and easy to use ERP system. It's been a breeze using this platform for our various needs building safes for businesses around the globe!

Cons

There were some times that we had issues with our custom reporting features. However, this was quickly resolved by Epicor's awesome tech support!

Josh F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Epicor ERP give us all the power to see our business.

Reviewed on 11/5/2017

Pros

Some of the things I like about Epicor are the ways you can customize your dashboards. You create them to show virtually anything you want. And it works well with Excel sheets too. I also like how we can use Epicor to create and track jobs, purchase orders, invoices, and schedules.

Cons

There are some things that seem overcomplicated sometimes. I've had an issue where when I create a purchase order a check box for "inspection required" gets clicked that we don't ever use and it causes an issue for accounting.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not easy to use but it's valuable

Reviewed on 31/12/2017

Pros

It does include many documentation and training for a comprehensive functionality. It offers a couple of interfaces to choose which makes it more nice on the look. I also like the fact that it includes a smartphone app for tasks on the go.

Cons

Although it includes training documents, the process flowcharts might be a bit complex to use, some tasks require steps not very easy to do and the documentation does not include detailed information but only overall. The price is also a bit high, I would love to be able to choose whether different options I really need, discard some others and reduce the final price.

Devon B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Quality was fairly decent, but customer service was to be desired

Reviewed on 12/10/2017

Pros

The user interface was fairly good. While it's a modularized system it seemed to integrate its information across the system.

Cons

Their customer service wasn't the best. We could have used more support especially during implementation.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not user friendly systems

Reviewed on 10/5/2018

Have centralize data in 1 systems.

Pros

if user use and enter info into system correctly, could be good data center for sales, financial forecasting and inventory control analytics.

Cons

not user friendly , not easy to integration with other application , especially if you are under multi-tenant SAAS, Took long time for the support and need extra resource to get the integration done for over 2 years .

Ds K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Total Package

Reviewed on 31/3/2019

Pros

It is a complete software for production management. Both upstream and downstream processes can be monitored. Its customization enabled software.

Cons

The software has multiple features and so it may need time to become popular with the software.