70 reviews

Koomi POS

iPad POS for quick-serve, takeaway & on-the-go customers

4.4 /5 (70 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.4
/
5
Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.4
89% recommended this app
70 reviews
Jeremy L.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Koomi, the point of sale app that we chose!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We save money, we serve more customers and there's no downtime. The customer service is INCREDIBLE. I don't usually make reviews but Koomi's team is so good that I had to. They are very close to their clientele so I feel safe. Accepting payments is one our core operations and we need perfect execution.

Pros

Koomi is very easy to use. It was very easy to integrate it with Leaves House's team and with our the other softwares and hardwares that we were using. It also works with the SRM (Quebec). Its simplicity helps us to serve the clientèle better and spend less energy on staff training .

Cons

I think there could be some improvements on the analytics side. Having said that, Koomi is very close to their users, their team listens and they are working on that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Yorick C.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Ease of use, day after day

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It’s simple to use, not too expensive and the customer service is acceptable.

Pros

It’s super easy to use and anyone can learn how to use it in less than 5 minutes

Cons

The fact that it’s not directly linked to the Interac payment solution. Also, in a dream world, Koomi would be connected / linked with QuickBooks

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Annie N.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great app for us (ice cream shop)

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/9/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's super easy and simple to use. All my employees find it user friendly.

Cons

Two things would be easier:
1) It would help a lot to have different colors for the different groups (in the options). This way, it would be easier to scan and find the option that we want to select within all the groups.
2) It would be easier if we could correct one or many things after having clicked «check out». If the customer changes his mind after we have clicked «check out», we have to delete the complete order and then enter it all over again with the one correction.

Response from Koomi

Hi Annie,

Thank you for your review and feedback.

2) You mentioned that you were not able to delete any items after clicking "Checkout". You can actually swipe left on an item to delete it even after having clicked "Checkout".

When in doubt on using Koomi POS, please give our support team a call - we are always happy to help!

Thanks again,
The Koomi Team

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sarah S.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Koomi review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/6/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Its accessible from my phone. Has gotten easier to train staff on screen layout.

Cons

When it crashes it feels like there are too many hoops to go through to figure out why.
Updates are only available early in the morning, which is not convenient if you open early and there are changes that need manual adjustments. They can mess with our morning service.
Night time after hours would be better i believe...it would be nice if ypu can see what we sold during the hour instead of just amount we made during the hour.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Claudia R.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great program, very usefriendly

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 7/6/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Great service

Pros

Quite easy to navigate and user friendly

Cons

Colour coded section would be great for more visual references
Back office, easier tally of multiple location

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Marc-antoine P.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Been using for 3 years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/9/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Koomi's really suited for samll service business like our coffee shop. It really helps efficiency and it take no counter space. Overall, it increases our customer experience.

Pros

Efficiency and user friendly interface that are using Ipads and Apps. Really convenient for samll spaces.

Cons

A few adjustment here and there but nothing that compromise the use of the software

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Emilie L.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Coffee shop perfect

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/9/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

You get a software with all the abilities you need for a cash register in a small shop at a perfect price.

Cons

Would like to be able to add more colors so that it's easier to find items on the menu.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sophie B.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Strongly recommand!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 20/9/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent customer service! Great technical support when needed.
The software is very userfriendly and easy to learn for new employes...
We have been using Koomi for a year and a half now and we are so far very happy!

Pros

Very easy to use. Not expansive. Great customer service!

Cons

It would be interesting to be able to put (and it might be eventually?) quantities to the items. For invertory management.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Marie-christine L.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best software for a restaurant

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/6/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to install, really reasonable price for what is does. I recommand to anyone who wants to run a small business or a cafe.

Pros

It is easy to use, updates are quick and always very useful.

Cons

Nothing, really. Its everything i need for work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Vincent F.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: Self Employed

not ready for the public

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 16/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It's ok. I know it can't be for every individual demands of customers, but if the cms and app were more open to customization features on the client side, it would really help. The fact that it's a pretty closed system is a big thumbs down. The simplicity is acceptable and nonetheless a good app. Just hoping for more for the pricing. i feel just hiring a backend dev for a one off system would be just as expensive but with more features.
Also, customer service is horrible. No answer to emails.

Pros

cms is easy to use. its locally made. i feel like it's a small startup in a competetive market

Cons

lack of features : no custum sale reports for easy filing. Actually horrible sales reporting with only day to day reports that you have to manually file. Would actually be easier if we just had access to thendata files instead of lowering productivity by manually checking every day. also seperate exports for just taxes or just sales pre tax.
connectivity issues. Doesnt work offline or on location.
Lackluster managing of invoices on the app : doesnt help in fast intervention when in front of client if they quickly change their mind on something.
overall doesnt help me in productivity but adds a workload that could be avoided if new features were created.
updates shouldnt make the previous app version unusable. If there is an update during service it makes for yet another interruption in productivity and quality of the restaurant's service

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Qishen Z.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Easy to use

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 28/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

In general, Koomi is very easy to operate and get used to.

Cons

Reporting system sometimes can be confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Laurel S.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Cumbersome

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Good customer service upfront, little support since. Confusing for older users

Pros

Integrates with MEV device in Quebec, dashboard is straightforward

Cons

Too many buttons to press to cash out, doesn't integrate with my payment processor, expensive, only works on ipads

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Nick G.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Complicated for Butcher shop

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 20/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ideal for single items and checking out.

Cons

When plugging in multiple items especially at the butcher shop, weights, very long and customers find the checking out very long. Would be easier if Koomi came with a scanner and be able to read our scales bar codes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

A great app for its price

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 4/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use, we already had another software before and this is way more intuitive. The staff learns quickly how to use it.

Cons

Less options then some other software, like printing your daily report isnt possible from the app. You have to go to the backoffice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Madhuri K.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Loving Koomi

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 22/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great functionality, easy to use, no issues as of yet!

Cons

I could not add my previous sales history for comparison year on year upon switching to Koomi

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Andi L.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Perfect POS for a fast paced industry

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Before Koomi we did not have any POS system in place. We looked at every available system and Koomi is by far the best in the market. The platform is super easy to use. Staff need very little training to use this POS. Recently we started using Koomi in conjunction with Clover and the experience has been fantastic.

Pros

Koomi is always innovating and updating their process to make sure we are getting the best user experience. They always listen to our feedback and have incredible customer support. The platform itself is very user friendly and can accommodate all types of different service options.

Cons

The only issues we've ever had with Koomi are the result of the internet speed / consistency. Customer support always helps target the issue and get us back online asap.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Maria S.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Koomi is the best POS for Quick Service Restaurants

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It has been an excellent overall experience and we look forward to using Koomi into the future.

Pros

- The very easy to use and very simple to look at interface.
- The round-the-clock reliability.
- The Clover-Flex integration.
- The top-notch technical support.

Cons

In hindsight, we only wish we would have found this solution sooner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Trevor H.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Koomi POS review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 7/6/2019
Review Source: Capterra

My over all experience is very good

Pros

The Support and that it’s paperless when sending orders to kitchen or bar

Cons

The disconnecting of the Koomi and Clover integration

There is no liquor tax

No photos for categories

No option for mandatory prompts when entering items

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Gabrielle S.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Small restaurant user

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/7/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It's positive, I've worked with most big POS services in the past and this system is perfect for a smaller place like ours. No extra features that would pay for/otherwise not use.
Customer service is super nice.

Pros

Simplified programming
Ease to produce several types of reports
Good tech support

Cons

Unable to customize (colour code) item buttons of place them in specific order on screens
Several updates
Limited options to pay for the koomi service (They only accept credit cards)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jean-philippe M.
Industry: Entertainment
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy, simple, good value

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/2/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, great software, easy to use, simple for the staff!

Pros

Easy to set up with admin log in, easy to use for my staff

Cons

To connect all the POS with the iPad, printer and clover, you absolutely need customer service to assist you.
No option to add lock screen with multiple user, only one code for the boss and that's it unlike Maitre D where the staff have to put their code before punching the order.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sam S.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 16/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We experienced a couple of technical issues but tech support is there. T
Wedid have times that we're critical an fee had to do everything's by hand. It got rectified the next day but I guess that's the price to pay when everything is online.

Pros

Easy to use. Good. Takes less spaces since it's an iPad.

Cons

No features for groups reservation to add service fee extras.

Response from Koomi

Hello Sam,

We do have an offline mode. If you would like to know how it works, please do call support and we will be happy to assist you!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Marie R.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Koomi for everybody

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 18/3/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

As we are not a restaurant, I could not speak about certain features which we don't need, but Koomi is very easy to use and can be useful for every kind of shop.

Cons

Support and tips could be more detailed on the website.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mathieu B.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Most efficient POS software

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 15/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy-to-use, especially in the restaurant industry where the employee turnover, is high, the system needs to be simple to use and this is what Koomi offers. Plus the opportunity to have a dedicated mobile app for my coffee shop is a huge must.

Cons

There are some leak of integrations but the team is really pushing integration with various software on the market.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anne-marie P.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Very good

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 27/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It is so far a great experience

Pros

Effencitcy, simplicity, custumer service

Cons

Cannot split items and or add many custumers on the open tables

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tom B.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Over complicated

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 30/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

The program seems to be in its beta version and there were many "work arounds" that had to be created to get it to do what we wanted. Customer support was not able to help much. The promised refund if not satisfied did not happen. I was charged for equipment that was never sent. No response from the vendor at all now. There only seem to be two or three people involved.

Pros

Cost was low, however still not good value.

Cons

Over complicated in its use, and customer support seems incompetent to me, or my computer specialist.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10