Genius ERP Reviews

Genius ERP

4.2 (128)
Write a Review!
Enterprise resource planning for SME custom manufacturers

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(128)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

85%
recommended this app
Sort by

128 Reviews

Jasmine
Jasmine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Effective ERP Platform and Easy Inventory Tracking Product.

Reviewed on 10/8/2023

Highly secure project financial data management and the financial reporting features and the...

Highly secure project financial data management and the financial reporting features and the billing and the invoicing functionalities offered by Genius ERP are productive and quite easy.

Pros

The financial analytics obtaining using Genius ERP features and the Bills of Materials capability and reports preparation Genius ERP is effective.Production scheduling and the Construction project planning and estimates creation with Genius ERP is more profitable.

Cons

ERP solution which has easiest financial data management tools with no error found to report or even performance issue.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Support

Reviewed on 12/7/2019

We have really just begun to capture some data, but advantages so far are job costing, tracking/sch...

We have really just begun to capture some data, but advantages so far are job costing, tracking/scheduling, and analysis.

Pros

Easy to navigate, comprehensive data collection and analysis.

Cons

Some fields are not readily searchable, or smart. Many softwares today allow you start typing and it knows what you are looking for - making recommendation or gray line filling in so you can simply hit enter.

Alternatives Considered

JobBOSS²

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

Better support, better software (easier to navigate), more intensive training.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Mike,
I'm glad to hear that our software is working out for you and that you have found it to be helpful, especially in terms of data collection and analysis. I will pass your comment about some fields not being readily searchable or smart on to our product teamwe are always looking for ways to improve and make our software easier to use. Thanks for leaving us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rachel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 20/10/2022

I would prefer to use a different program. Has not been beneficial compared to others.

I would prefer to use a different program. Has not been beneficial compared to others.

Pros

Being able to open more than one page at a time.

Cons

Cannot edit many things, cause lots of issues.

Frédéric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

KISS principle

Reviewed on 3/7/2019

Overall, we are happy to be working with Genius ERP.
It provide use with all the informations...

Overall, we are happy to be working with Genius ERP.
It provide use with all the informations necessary to make decision regarding production and purchassing.
Today we feel in control of our production cost and our inventory and can focus most of our time on product devellopment and in our continus improvement process.

Pros

I really like the simplicity of the software, it's simple and clear with the right amount of information on screen for the need of a small to mid-size business, it makes it easy to use for new employee. The UI is pleasant to use, and make it simple for user to find an option or to understand where to click.

Technical support is quick to repond when you have a major issue.

The transfert from engineering to manufacturing is fast and easy, the integration with Solidwork is simple tu use and makes it really .

Cons

I really don't like the fact that they make changes to the software and force sometime a way of working instead of adding a configuration option to let the user choose how he prefere the software to repond.

They choose simplicity, but sometime it makes it diffcult to twaek the software to your need when it could have been achieved with a simple control box in the configuration menu.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Frederic,
We're really happy to hear that you find our software simple to use, that it provides you with all the information you need, and that you find the transfer between engineering and manufacturing fast and easy. I understand your concerns about wanting to configure the software to your needsI will pass this on to our product team. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Kaleb
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Genius Way

Reviewed on 16/7/2023

We are only a few months past go live but compared to our previous experience(s) it's been very...

We are only a few months past go live but compared to our previous experience(s) it's been very smooth sailing and we still have plenty to do to maximize our ROI in this product. We are already seeing some big wins in reduced hours for purchasing and receiving and I expect over time we'll reduce our transaction costs by about 30% which is a good win in anyones eyes.

Pros

There are some very well thought out features for HMLV manufacturers, the strength of the BoM's combined with the Engineering Lifecycle Documents gives a great tool-set for managing preliminary purchases and production. The UI is intuitive and easy to follow with excellent consistency between modules which makes it simple to work with.

Cons

On the flip side there have been a couple of things that we have encountered that seemed at first to be less than genius when compared to other parts of the system. We found this was pretty frustrating but compared to what we were using previously it's a long way ahead. The genius approach is very regimented and while this could be deemed as inflexible it also adds to stability.

Response from Genius Solutions

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with Genius. I'm glad that you could see some clear ROI in such a short time and I hope you find that we continue to be user-friendly for you.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Preparing for Expansion

Reviewed on 12/10/2022

Genius is rooted in a history that mirrors CAD programs. The interface and many functionalities...

Genius is rooted in a history that mirrors CAD programs. The interface and many functionalities will feel familiar to engineers. In total Genius is very similar in function to other ERP systems, but there are some areas where the "Genius way" is a bit cleverer. Conversely, there are some areas that feel a bit foreign to a previous ERP system user. We are teaching an old dog new tricks.

Pros

Starr MFG is growing. As an industrial equipment manufacturer and job shop, we see a lot of engineered to order products. Starr MFG will be doing more designing on much larger, multi-tier projects in the near future. Designs with many assembly levels and BOM with hundreds or thousands of materials. Starr needed a solution to streamline the data entry phase of CAD Design to ERP BOM creation. We needed to automate the BOM creation and remove as much human error from the process as possible. Genius had a robust CAD2BOM integration and won out in our selection based on this criterion.

Cons

There are inconsistencies from module to module / screen to screen that make the learning curve and user experience a bit more difficult than necessary. The underlying software is very functional, but the interface can be massaged some more. The interface isn't a major detriment, and we plan on working with Genius support on future enhancements.

Gowtham
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Genius Impacts your whole company!

Reviewed on 14/9/2020

Genius ERP was meant to solve our COGS, BOM and Inventory issues. So far, we have not been using...

Genius ERP was meant to solve our COGS, BOM and Inventory issues. So far, we have not been using their financial module; which may put a damper on the cost of inventory. However, we have seen drastic changes and are optimistic about POSS' ERP system and its features going forward because of the implementation of Genius.

Pros

Genius ERP system is a user-friendly and customizable ERP system. We had many customizations that had to be done to fit our company, and Genius was able to fulfill and exceed expectations. The modules are easy to follow and it was a breeze to implement it within our team.

Cons

There are some technical issues which pop up that tend to take some time to fix. However, when they do fix it, they tend to go away and there is never repeating issues.

Response from Genius Solutions

It's great to hear that making the switch to Genius ERP has not only met but exceeded your expectations! Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review!

Jenna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect ERP for Custom Manufacturer

Reviewed on 20/7/2023

Pros

My favorite part about the software is how adaptable it is to our changing organization and the integration opportunities it offers us with our processes, such as the integration with our nesting software.

Cons

My least favorite part about working with Genius ERP is that I don't have a direct line to dial if I need immediate assistance or support. I do, however, utilize their email system, which is typically OK, but in certain situations it would be nice to have a dedicated support to contact to address immediate needs.

Pascal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Low cost tool that is "okay" for little businesses

Reviewed on 7/4/2020

Genius is not the best tool to follow inventory movements with custom reports (as SAP does it very...

Genius is not the best tool to follow inventory movements with custom reports (as SAP does it very well). It would be usefull to get features improved for that.

Pros

The low cost of annual license (compare to SAP or ORACLE) is the best argument to use Genius as we Don't have budget to use more expensive Tools like SAP or ORACLE.

Cons

It's very hard in Genius to follow inventory movements with custom reports with all relevant information in exportable format (Excel). For exemple, in SAP there is a transaction MB51 that is so usefull to produce custom reports to follow items with many parameters.

Response from Genius Solutions

Thanks for leaving us a review I want you to know that we take customer feedback seriously, especially when it shows us where we have room for improvement. I understand your concerns about the lack of custom reports to track inventory movements, and if you would like to get in touch with me at [email protected] we can talk more about these limitations.

I am glad to see that you find our customer support to be very helpful, and I really do appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our product. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Brandon
Brandon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Genius ERP in a Manufacturing Environment

Reviewed on 12/10/2022

Overall I am very happy with Genius, the help from their team resulted in a successful deployment...

Overall I am very happy with Genius, the help from their team resulted in a successful deployment and

Pros

The integration between Engineering (Solidworks) and ERP. It makes it seamless to keep both ERP and the 3D model metadata in sync.

Cons

It is very cumbersome to adjust work orders that have been already released.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

From spread sheets to ERP

Reviewed on 23/8/2021

Overall, it has been satisfactory. We are excited about some new improvements coming out. They have

Overall, it has been satisfactory. We are excited about some new improvements coming out. They have

Pros

The sales staff did a very good job. After struggling through the initial set up. My team has adapted and we use it company wide. It has been a great tool and has a lot of potential for us.

Cons

The accounting is not as easy or as flexible as our previous accounting system. We do everything from manufacturing to retail sales, including having a dealers and distributor network. We have monthly fees due to customers and have service teams in the field. We have had to create several work arounds but overall it has been continually improving.

Bill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

the software is fine but the real value was the applications people that adapted it to our...

Reviewed on 19/7/2018

lot control of our raw material inventory- HUGE!
scheduling across all departments

lot control of our raw material inventory- HUGE!
scheduling across all departments

Pros

the underlying structure of the software was thoroughly scrutinized by our company auditor, something we failed to do on a previous software that we purchased. Their confidence allowed us to 'trust' Genius and really dig-in to make it work across our company departments. Genius is good on visuals as well as text.

Cons

no way to print the ms project display from work order management status
scheduling fractures operation time, sometimes into seconds, split over a dozen different moments or even days?
not enough smart-tags or hyperlink functions; I have to keep 8 different pages open all the time to get complete information.
too many French terms left untranslated
too much reliance on reports rather than displays

Shawn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 17/10/2022

Job costing is greatly improved.

Job costing is greatly improved.

Pros

The features related to job costing suited our needs well.

Cons

Genius does not communicate the features provided in new releases to encourage upgrades. It would be nice to be kept up to date on this.
Often there could be better testing performed prior to a release. We often have had issues following a release.

Alexander
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Service

Reviewed on 7/12/2018

Pros

Staff is very friendly and eager to help. Deployment was done in a professional and efficient manner. Would strongly recommend for anyone looking for this sort of software!

Cons

Haven't experienced any problems or cons regarding this software.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Alexander, Thanks for the great review! I'm glad to hear that Genius ERP is working out well for you! We are always here to help. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Jeff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

FR

Reviewed on 29/9/2020

good so far , still implementing

good so far , still implementing

Pros

best fit for our manufacturing business for FR

Cons

not sure yet? Unable to handle piece work labor as preferred

Alternatives Considered

NetSuite

Reasons for Choosing Genius ERP

Reporting not good on E-2

Switched From

M1 ERP

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

best value for our company
Jonathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Strong ERP tool

Reviewed on 12/10/2022

Pros

We have been using Genius ERP now for over 4 years and are very happy with our choice. Very thorough and customizable. As there is plenty of features, we are still learning all there is to offer in Genius.

Cons

I don't have any other experiences in implementation and training of ERP but we had to spend a lot of time with employees before the go live.

Phillip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Using Genius ERP as a custom manufacturer

Reviewed on 12/10/2022

Pros

Genius was the only product I saw that had the built in capabilities of configurating BOM's in a way that worked for our product line. It was cost efficient and the Genius team brought lots of expertise to the table.

Cons

It is a lot of work to get your team onboard with a new ERP like Genius. Patience is a key factor for implementation.

Dominic
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ERP that can follow your growth.

Reviewed on 11/12/2018

Great team, great data base.

Great team, great data base.

Pros

We are impressed with the Ease of use of the software.

Cons

The reporting can be challenging. When a new report is required, we need Genius's help.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Dominic, We are happy to hear that you find our software easy to use! We really appreciate hearing from our customers both the good and the bad so thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we will use your feedback to help us improve our system. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Dave
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Genius ERP is an effective solution, well build

Reviewed on 24/8/2021

Genius is an effective resource for planning and monitoring the stocks to be produced. It's easy to...

Genius is an effective resource for planning and monitoring the stocks to be produced. It's easy to use and is a complete management solution.

Pros

Easy to use, very effective to create Job-Lot, very easy to follow the production

Cons

The modification of job-lot brings difficulties, Some job-lot remains empty even if their production is complete

Tarek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Satisfied

Reviewed on 7/12/2018

Pros

Great service. Highly recommend. Would deal with them in future without a doubt!

Cons

I have not experienced anything that I would consider a con.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Tarek, I'm glad to hear that our ERP is working out for you and that you would highly recommend us! Thanks for leaving us such a great review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Jocelyne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Packaging & Containers
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Fine

Reviewed on 20/10/2022

Pros

Packing list, invoice and PO are fine. My use is very limited to my job, I don't see the overall picture.

Cons

not friendly user. customerized report needs to be updated every update. search tools could be improved.

Xu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Out dated

Reviewed on 17/10/2022

Overall it doesn't save time for me. Not user friendly and no update

Overall it doesn't save time for me. Not user friendly and no update

Pros

It does help for the daily work like making BOMs, checking inventory.

Cons

It's very out dated, not cloud based, no app, like 199x software.

Delmar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

You have to pay for everything all thetime; Very poor customer service

Reviewed on 26/5/2016

Pros

It is customizable; Quite powerful with enough work. They basically give you a software that is almost useless and then you tell them how you want reports to look, etc and then they program it for you. Since reports and even macros (automatically attaching drawings to items/WO/POs, etc) can be custom programmed it gives you great flexibility and power.

Cons

Hard to tell what I like the least; And I don't like saying bad things about any company but for the sake of others I'd like to share our experience and hopefully save others the headaches and money we've lost.
Everything runs on modules and unlike almost every other program I've ever tried, each window takes from 5-8 seconds to open. Everything seems very slow!
The vendor sucks money every step of the way. We average about double the amount on maintenance and update fees then we already pay for a yearly subscription so we can get the "free updates". It is ridiculous. You pay them (annual subscription) so you are allowed to get updates for "free" but you have to pay them for installing those updates. For real, why not make a program so the customer can help themselves? Because they want the money; their business survives on training and hourly wage working for/with the customer. (I'm not saying it's wrong - but that's the only way they make money!)

Fanny
Fanny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good ERP for small entreprises

Reviewed on 12/10/2022

Pros

Ease of use, friendly interface, simply to understand

Cons

Custom reports are hard to set up. Included reports are too basics.

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 22/10/2021

Pros

All our process are now connected and in the same place.

Cons

We had to customize a lot BUT it was easy to do it with the team!