Genius ERP

4.1 (98)
Enterprise resource planning for SME custom manufacturers

Overall rating

4.1 /5
(98)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.0/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

84%
recommended this app
Sort by

98 Reviews

Sebastien
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simple and efficient

Reviewed on 23/8/2021

Pros

Easy to use. Transactions are fast. Great support at the implantation. intuitive ERP

Cons

I will appreciate more basic KPI to be delivered with the program. Also, more normalized terms between each transaction

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur
Samantha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Genius - Great Manufacturing ERP Software

Reviewed on 13/10/2022

The whole process from implementation to Go Live has been a great one overall. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] has been amazing with us!! I did feel that we were left alone a bit too much during this process, however this in turn has made us much better at understanding the software overall.

Our team has adopted the new system well. We are still working through some issues and need to figure out all of the nuances of a new system.

Pros

Our whole manufacturing process is managed including inventory control. I really like that the team can look into a job and figure out at what stage certain items are at in the manufacturing process.

The engineering side is great, and allows our team not to have to do duplicate entries. This also ensures that there is much less human error since the items are imported directly from Inventor to the Engineering Document. This in turn is transferred to the job.

From the quoting side, we were doing our small quotes manually previously, and now we quote within the system and then when a PO is given we convert it. Therefor no extra entry is needed.

Cons

The accounting side is not the greatest. You can tell that this was added to the software after. It is really hard to follow the transactions. There is potential for it to be better.

I think that one of the biggest downfalls of the software is how buy and sell parts are handled with regards to inventory. The system was not created for this purpose, and therefore is has a big weakness on how this is controlled/handled.

The scheduling is a very hard concept to understand and it takes time to get it to work. There are items that don't make sense at times and you have to dig to figure out why. It is not always clear to know why certain dates are given.

The standard reports are not great.

Alternatives Considered

Divalto, Global Shop Solutions and Epicor HCM

Reasons for Choosing Genius ERP

We outgrew the system.

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

We chose Genius over all the others because it had the best manufacturing control for how we handle our business. We had our whole team a part of this process. We had looked at Genius a few years prior to really looking at new ERP systems, and they weren't good enough. But at the final minute, they convinced us to take a look again at their newly updated system and they convinced us that they had improved their system. They may not have the best user interface, however the manufacturing side was better handled than other systems.
Kathleen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Older versions NOT accounting friendly

Reviewed on 20/10/2022

I am looking to upgrade our system, because it is by far one of the worst (least intuitive) accounting software programs I've ever used (and I've been in the industry for 10+ years).

Pros

The accounting functions of our business can be tracked with the same software as our ERP

Cons

Finding reports, and basic accounting functions is not intuitive and their online "help" is vague and NOT helpful. There is no way to retrieve past bank reconciliations (that I have found) which is inconvenient when you don't have access to previously saved records. Hopefully they've improved on later versions.

Josh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Genius Fit for Custom Manufacturers

Reviewed on 12/10/2022

The implementation process was shockingly smooth. We were expecting a lot of clean up and things to fix and found that to be very little. Compared to our previous ERP, getting to data and having it available without the need to drill down several levels to find it is a major improvement. The ability to filter data using drag and drop headers makes data processing much faster. Overall it has improved our business functions dramatically and we are only getting started. There are many features we are bringing on board that will further improve the value to the business. The technical team has also been easy to work with and responsive.

Pros

The integration by far was the most seamless and easy process that we've gone through with an ERP implementation. Being a custom manufacturer, we needed an ERP designed for our type of business. From CAD to BOM capability, preliminary purchasing of long lead time parts, scheduling using the drum-buffer-rope method and the ability to access data for metrics and data driven process control, Genius had it all!

Cons

There are some features that are not customizable. If you can't adapt your process to fit then you've got to figure out ways to use other features in a different manner to achieve the goal. Luckily we've been able to do that for most processes and still maintain a high level of efficiency. The software has a Gantt chart feature but its not printable in a format that can be shared. That for us is the biggest omission for software focused on custom manufacturing.

Alternatives Considered

Dynamics 365

Reasons for Choosing Genius ERP

ABAS is a great ERP system but is geared towards "widget" manufacturers when it comes to scheduling. With our company growth it was becoming obvious that we could no longer keep scheduling disconnected from our processes that utilize the ERP system.

Switched From

abas ERP

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

Genius is built on the Theory of Constraints and the Drum-Buffer-Rope method of scheduling. It has been proven to be the best method for custom manufacturers who deal with long lead parts, changing priorities and many changing factors that a lot of scheduling packages can't handle. The ability to handle scheduling, provide an accessible database (SQL), not require bolt on packages to be fully functional (finance, CAD2BOM, service, etc.) and cost competitive all gave Genius the edge over the others.
Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software and Functionality at a fraction of Big ERP Cost!

Reviewed on 12/10/2022

Very good. From signing the contract to go live with a small trailer manufacturer in NC was 2 months! Good training and experience in ERP helped that, but even if we added more complexity, we could have accomplished it in 4 months, tops.

Pros

Having been in ERP space for 30+ years in Manufacturing Environments, I can attest that Genius ERP provides very robust functionality at a very competitive price. From BOM to Engineering Lifecycle to MRP and MPS, it really does it all. Their training is straightforward and their support is excellent! They also have scheduled "talk with an expert" sessions (~2x week) that enable you to get quick responses on issues of functionality.

Being Cloud hosted means you don't have to invest in the infrastructure and sleep at night knowing your data is safe. Their security is as robust or simple as you'd like it to be. Lastly, if you're familiar with SQL databases, they have a very nice interface through their own Analytics Product and Power BI.

Other nice features: Downloads of views of data to excel, Export/Import of major data sources; Robust custom fields; Report export to Excel, PDF, etc..; REST API to enable web based integrations.

Cons

Being cloud hosted, we have to RDP into Azure (as opposed to a full-fledged html version) to get to a desktop (I believe this is on their roadmap). They do, however, have a Web Shop Floor interface that eliminates the need of the Remote Desktop for shop floor reporting. Lastly, because of the RDP, we have to rely on local default printers for printing (but there are many option for preview->pdf/excel).

No OBC data access, but they do have a nice Power BI connector.

Their General Ledger is servicable, but they tell you that from the outset. And I would never make a manufacturing ERP decision with the quality of the G/L being a major factor. Besides, you can get the data out of Genius via Analytics and/or PowerBI and cut/paste into Excel.

File exchange (through Azure connectors) is accomplished by creating a share on Azure and local company and syncing the two. It's not immediate, but it is relatively timely.

No local admin rights on the desktop, requiring a help desk ticket for any software install or upgrade.

These are all relatively minor inconveniences, when you look at the core functionality of Genius.

Alternatives Considered

NetSuite CRM and SYSPRO

Reasons for Choosing Genius ERP

Disparate systems didn't talk to each other. Needed integrated solution to eliminate redundant tasks.

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

Cost, better fit, better interface, sales relationship.
Michelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Just getting started

Reviewed on 25/10/2022

Genius is allowing us to update a very dated "ERP" and our overall business processes to be more efficient and transparent with the company executives.

Pros

I love how everything is one spot, over time it's become very intuitive to use. It has provided visibility that we didn't have and should streamline our overall process as a company.

Cons

The software terminology was difficult to understand initially. Therefore, we had increased difficulty merging Genius's processes with our current processes. It was a big learning curve.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Preparing for Expansion

Reviewed on 12/10/2022

Genius is rooted in a history that mirrors CAD programs. The interface and many functionalities will feel familiar to engineers. In total Genius is very similar in function to other ERP systems, but there are some areas where the "Genius way" is a bit cleverer. Conversely, there are some areas that feel a bit foreign to a previous ERP system user. We are teaching an old dog new tricks.

Pros

Starr MFG is growing. As an industrial equipment manufacturer and job shop, we see a lot of engineered to order products. Starr MFG will be doing more designing on much larger, multi-tier projects in the near future. Designs with many assembly levels and BOM with hundreds or thousands of materials. Starr needed a solution to streamline the data entry phase of CAD Design to ERP BOM creation. We needed to automate the BOM creation and remove as much human error from the process as possible. Genius had a robust CAD2BOM integration and won out in our selection based on this criterion.

Cons

There are inconsistencies from module to module / screen to screen that make the learning curve and user experience a bit more difficult than necessary. The underlying software is very functional, but the interface can be massaged some more. The interface isn't a major detriment, and we plan on working with Genius support on future enhancements.

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great ERP for manufacturing

Reviewed on 3/1/2019

We have replace our Epicor ERP with GENIUS ERP and we are very happy with the change. Genius is way faster than Epicor and is easier to learn and operate. I highly recommend Genius ERP.

Pros

This is a very effective ERP. The software is easy to learn and easy to operate. It can by automated to a certain degree with it's GTA (Genius Task Automation) system. Every major updates comes with many new features, so it get better and better with every updates.

Cons

Customization is very limited with Genius. You cannot change or alter the behavior or the look of the software. You may lose some needed functionality when the software is updated. Somme bugs can take many updates before they get fixed.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Eric, We're so glad to hear that you are happy you made the switch to Genius ERP! We want to make our software the absolute best and are always trying to work out the kinks, so thank you for the feedback. I'm pleased to hear that you think we are always improving and that you would highly recommend us. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Brandon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Genius ERP in a Manufacturing Environment

Reviewed on 12/10/2022

Overall I am very happy with Genius, the help from their team resulted in a successful deployment and

Pros

The integration between Engineering (Solidworks) and ERP. It makes it seamless to keep both ERP and the 3D model metadata in sync.

Cons

It is very cumbersome to adjust work orders that have been already released.

Rachel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 20/10/2022

I would prefer to use a different program. Has not been beneficial compared to others.

Pros

Being able to open more than one page at a time.

Cons

Cannot edit many things, cause lots of issues.

Donnalynn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Genius ERP_great product for the money

Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Our company has seen many tasks that were being duplicated in various spreadsheets eliminated. All the data needed by any department is now in one place - quoting, sales, production, inventory management. All the users can see what relates to their department and share easily with others. We are still "new" to Genius, only 8 months in. We still have many things we have not had a chance to learn or put into practice but each week we are finding new ways to save time and improve our results.

Pros

Genius has many features we selected it for. It allows customizable BOMs that can continually be updated throughout the build by the engineering team. The Lifecycle engineering feature was core to our selecting the product. It has the flexibility to allow preliminary material buys before the design is complete, and still track these to the job. The material planning and control features are also easy to use and offer flexible solutions.
We integrated Genius into our business in about 8 weeks. They provide a full team of support to help get it up and running! Their support team contiues to be there when needed.

Cons

If anything is a bit weak in Genius it is the integrated accounting module. It is not as user friendly as our previous system ( QB). The trade-off though of being able to see live job or order costs outweigh any other concerns. All new products take time to get used to.

Alternatives Considered

NetSuite

Reasons for Choosing Genius ERP

We outgrew ERPlite( a great product for 10 years of our business). We wanted something that would integrate with our CAD program and allow more ETO capabilites. We also wanted an integrated accounting software.

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

Great upfront sales team. They helped us see the benefits we could derive. It was difficult to actually talk to a sales person with Netsuite. Much of their comunciation is doen via chat and email. Genius called us the same day we asked for more info! Genius is less compex than Netsuite and much more affordable. We would have needed many add on modules in Netsuite that are included in the base Genius porgam

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Donnalyn, Thank you so much for this review! It's great to hear that in the short time you have been using our ERP it has been working really well for you we look forward to a long partnership with you!

Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

End to End Manufacturing ERP

Reviewed on 10/12/2018

We have had a great experience with Genius. Their product consultants who helped us implement the software focused on how to develop processes through the software that solved some bottlenecks as well as gave us much better cost and hour tracking.

Pros

We chose Genius ERP because we are a custom, make to order manufacturer, and Genius allows us to design and release parts of the machines in Solidworks as they are complete to production. This allows us to manufacture complex machines in less time by getting a jump start on long lead items using just in time purchasing and production scheduling. Genius tracks all costs to each machine which gives great visibility into our margins that we can trace all the way to our financial reports.
Genius ERP is utilized throughout all our business processes from customer order through to final shipment and invoicing and then flows through to our financial reports. With all employees working in a single integrated system, it has allowed our process flow to become smoother with less questions popping up across departments.

Cons

I would love to see them update the UI. There are lots of clicks required with each transaction.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Jennifer, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. we are always happy to hear from our great customers like you! I am really glad that Genius ERP is helping you speed up production and making all of your business processes run more smoothly. We love learning how our customers are making Genius ERP work for them! Thanks also for the feedback on our UI. It is important for us to learn where we can improve. We really value your comments on our system, thanks for leaving us a great review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Frédéric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

KISS principle

Reviewed on 3/7/2019

Overall, we are happy to be working with Genius ERP.
It provide use with all the informations necessary to make decision regarding production and purchassing.
Today we feel in control of our production cost and our inventory and can focus most of our time on product devellopment and in our continus improvement process.

Pros

I really like the simplicity of the software, it's simple and clear with the right amount of information on screen for the need of a small to mid-size business, it makes it easy to use for new employee. The UI is pleasant to use, and make it simple for user to find an option or to understand where to click.

Technical support is quick to repond when you have a major issue.

The transfert from engineering to manufacturing is fast and easy, the integration with Solidwork is simple tu use and makes it really .

Cons

I really don't like the fact that they make changes to the software and force sometime a way of working instead of adding a configuration option to let the user choose how he prefere the software to repond.

They choose simplicity, but sometime it makes it diffcult to twaek the software to your need when it could have been achieved with a simple control box in the configuration menu.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Frederic,
We're really happy to hear that you find our software simple to use, that it provides you with all the information you need, and that you find the transfer between engineering and manufacturing fast and easy. I understand your concerns about wanting to configure the software to your needsI will pass this on to our product team. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Gowtham
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Genius Impacts your whole company!

Reviewed on 14/9/2020

Genius ERP was meant to solve our COGS, BOM and Inventory issues. So far, we have not been using their financial module; which may put a damper on the cost of inventory. However, we have seen drastic changes and are optimistic about POSS' ERP system and its features going forward because of the implementation of Genius.

Pros

Genius ERP system is a user-friendly and customizable ERP system. We had many customizations that had to be done to fit our company, and Genius was able to fulfill and exceed expectations. The modules are easy to follow and it was a breeze to implement it within our team.

Cons

There are some technical issues which pop up that tend to take some time to fix. However, when they do fix it, they tend to go away and there is never repeating issues.

Response from Genius Solutions

It's great to hear that making the switch to Genius ERP has not only met but exceeded your expectations! Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review!

Amanda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Genius User Easy Friendly

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

Overall, Genius has been a game changer when it came to our company and we are continuing to find new ways to use the software in our processes that we didn't think were possible prior to Genius.

Pros

Genius is a very easy user friendly system. If you know how one module works you can navigate your way through every single module with ease. It has helped us as a company refine processes and systems that weren't working when it came to a paper system that we had prior to Genius. They work amazing with all sizes of companies, but we felt as a small company that they worked better than others companies we looked at when it came to price and ease of implementing.

Cons

We bought the cloud version which is great because we can call or email Genius and they are always available to help with any problems, but we probably would have bought the web version now that we have used it only because we are using tablets now on the production floor and the software isn't supported with the version that we used.

Claudia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Genius fits well

Reviewed on 14/7/2016

We are manufacturing charging station for electrical vehicle; Our BOM are complex because they are including many parts. Genius MRP help us to plan and organize our production floor and controlling our inventory. It help us for traceability of products and component that have been use in the manufacture it. We're using Genius MRP for 2 years when we decided to integrate the financial suite. Since all our data are grouped in a single system, it is easier to find information; to possibility of drilling down greatly improves financial analysis.

Pros

The software meets our needs; interfaces are intuitive, easy to use. People who work at Genius are competent and are able to understand our needs.

Cons

Documentation and user guide are not always up-to-date; I knew that a new customer service department was now in place. This surely will help get answers quickly to questions of use.

CHRISTIAN
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Genius Review

Reviewed on 1/9/2020

Pros

The team that helped us implement the software helped us customize the software to fit our company and best industry practices. We are really happy with the work flow of this software.

Cons

Integration was easy and the flow is great. I do wish the software had the ability to allow at lease an administrator to delete or Undo transactions that were accidentally confirmed or the ability to at lease minimally edit confirmed transactions (Dates, Text, different fields, ETC.)

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Christian, Glad to hear that the switch to Genius from Quickbooks is working out for you! Thanks for leaving us a review!

Jeffrey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Genius ERP Review

Reviewed on 30/9/2020

The implementation team has been very helpful and informative in getting the system configured to go live.

Pros

We like the ability of this software to be able to handle custom BOM's that we use in our manufacturing processes. This allows us to load BOM's to the system and manage our manufacturing for each course.

Cons

Nothing at this time. The software is meeting the requirements that we anticipated.

Alternatives Considered

SYSPRO

Reasons for Choosing Genius ERP

We needed a more robust system to handle our custom BOM's

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

Syspro used outside consultants to implement the system while Genius consultants were in house. We wanted to deal with the Company not a third party.
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

From spread sheets to ERP

Reviewed on 23/8/2021

Overall, it has been satisfactory. We are excited about some new improvements coming out. They have

Pros

The sales staff did a very good job. After struggling through the initial set up. My team has adapted and we use it company wide. It has been a great tool and has a lot of potential for us.

Cons

The accounting is not as easy or as flexible as our previous accounting system. We do everything from manufacturing to retail sales, including having a dealers and distributor network. We have monthly fees due to customers and have service teams in the field. We have had to create several work arounds but overall it has been continually improving.

Kristen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A User Friendly ERP System

Reviewed on 24/9/2020

They offer many different avenues for training; Genius E-class, Genius Academy and an in depth help section within the software for each module. Genius has a strong desire to have a satisfied customer.

Pros

Genius is used across our whole organization. It is easy to navigate and learn. It has helped us streamline processes, reduce costs and increase customer responsiveness.

Cons

Genius is not yet entirely web based. We have run into situations where the software is not advanced enough to support us on automation projects that we would like to implement. Customization of reports can be costly.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Kristen, I'm glad to hear that Genius has streamlined your processes and reduced your costs that's what we strive to do for our customers! Thanks for leaving a review!

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Genius ERP Review

Reviewed on 27/8/2020

Performing a root cause analysis of the business as a whole, data re-entry errors was the root cause to many widespread issues for us. With this in mind, running the business on a relational database was the only way to break down data barriers between departments and create streamlined processes with live data. Using genius has increased our average office departments capacity over 30% that is creating time to work on more complex projects with a higher quality of work. Our integration team was amazing, they went above and beyond to understand the business and successfully customized genius to match our processes which was no small task. We were live 6 months after prototype approval, exceeded the original scope, and stayed right on budget.

Pros

The engineering lifecycle module is extremely powerful for custom manufacturers where a BOM can be adjusted infinitely with various versions. Genius runs on SQL database vs crystal or not as powerful systems. With SQL you have access to report builder, with a little bit of training you can customize your own reports easily which is incredible for small companies with technically inclined people. Being the engineer, ETM is a powerful time saving tool (see cons) creating more time for designing and less ctrl+c ctrl+v across spreadsheets.

Cons

The CAD2BOM tool (ETM) lacks in a few key areas. Overall, it is very powerful, but I feel there are a few things that would make it great. The point here is they need to keep refining it and use customer feedback and provide better customer service. Our integration with it was not great but we have made it work with various workarounds. Prepare to pay for every little thing, while a service contract has updates included in them, there are still fees for them to install those updates. Since genius is geared towards small companies, they should consider the surprise this will cause. When we were sold on the system and our budget implementation costs, we asked straightforward are there any other software’s or systems we will need to purchase for on-site deployment. We were told no, this includes everything. Come to find out there were several different types of SQL licenses required to run genius and the access for users. This was very misleading right from the beginning and started the creation of a very tense erp integration.

Alternatives Considered

Dynamics 365 and DELMIAworks

Switched From

Dynamics 365, DELMIAworks and JobBOSS²

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

Being in the custom manufacturing industry can be very challenging. Everything constantly changes from project schedules to BOMs. Genius ERP has done a great job of capturing the market need for a flexible and customizable ERP system unlike many rigid systems on the market.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Joe, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this feedback. It's good to know that you are getting use out of our features that were designed and built for custom manufacturers like yourself. We are always trying to improve our product, and take customer feedback seriously, so I will make sure our product team is aware of your concerns. if you would like to get in touch with me at [email protected] we can talk more about your concerns. Again, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Delmar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

You have to pay for everything all thetime; Very poor customer service

Reviewed on 26/5/2016

Pros

It is customizable; Quite powerful with enough work. They basically give you a software that is almost useless and then you tell them how you want reports to look, etc and then they program it for you. Since reports and even macros (automatically attaching drawings to items/WO/POs, etc) can be custom programmed it gives you great flexibility and power.

Cons

Hard to tell what I like the least; And I don't like saying bad things about any company but for the sake of others I'd like to share our experience and hopefully save others the headaches and money we've lost.
Everything runs on modules and unlike almost every other program I've ever tried, each window takes from 5-8 seconds to open. Everything seems very slow!
The vendor sucks money every step of the way. We average about double the amount on maintenance and update fees then we already pay for a yearly subscription so we can get the "free updates". It is ridiculous. You pay them (annual subscription) so you are allowed to get updates for "free" but you have to pay them for installing those updates. For real, why not make a program so the customer can help themselves? Because they want the money; their business survives on training and hourly wage working for/with the customer. (I'm not saying it's wrong - but that's the only way they make money!)

Bill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

the software is fine but the real value was the applications people that adapted it to our...

Reviewed on 19/7/2018

lot control of our raw material inventory- HUGE!
scheduling across all departments

Pros

the underlying structure of the software was thoroughly scrutinized by our company auditor, something we failed to do on a previous software that we purchased. Their confidence allowed us to 'trust' Genius and really dig-in to make it work across our company departments. Genius is good on visuals as well as text.

Cons

no way to print the ms project display from work order management status
scheduling fractures operation time, sometimes into seconds, split over a dozen different moments or even days?
not enough smart-tags or hyperlink functions; I have to keep 8 different pages open all the time to get complete information.
too many French terms left untranslated
too much reliance on reports rather than displays

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Support

Reviewed on 12/7/2019

We have really just begun to capture some data, but advantages so far are job costing, tracking/scheduling, and analysis.

Pros

Easy to navigate, comprehensive data collection and analysis.

Cons

Some fields are not readily searchable, or smart. Many softwares today allow you start typing and it knows what you are looking for - making recommendation or gray line filling in so you can simply hit enter.

Alternatives Considered

JobBOSS²

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

Better support, better software (easier to navigate), more intensive training.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Mike,
I'm glad to hear that our software is working out for you and that you have found it to be helpful, especially in terms of data collection and analysis. I will pass your comment about some fields not being readily searchable or smart on to our product teamwe are always looking for ways to improve and make our software easier to use. Thanks for leaving us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

François
Overall rating
  • Industry: Railroad Manufacture
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Genius ERP in Small Manufacturing Business

Reviewed on 2/9/2020

Pros

We were operating without any form of ERP or similar software, so the switch was not such an easy task! Genius made it easy for us by visiting and analyzing our needs and capabilities from the start. The training sessions before our Go Live date were well organized and tailored to our needs and methodologies.

Cons

With less than a year in, we are now at the point of using the data that has been recorded in Genius for forecasting and reporting purposes, and this part may be a little less intuitive. Anybody with SQL experience could easily find their way, but not our case at the moment.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Francois, I'm really glad that you found our implementation process to go well for you getting a new ERP is no easy task! I know some of our reporting modules are harder to learn, I can pass your name along to our Customer Success team, as they will have some training that can help you out. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.