59 reviews

Genius ERP

Enterprise resource planning for SME custom manufacturers

4.2 /5 (59 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.2
/
5
Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.1
88% recommended this app
59 reviews
Donnalynn M.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Genius ERP_great product for the money

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 20/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Our company has seen many tasks that were being duplicated in various spreadsheets eliminated. All the data needed by any department is now in one place - quoting, sales, production, inventory management. All the users can see what relates to their department and share easily with others. We are still "new" to Genius, only 8 months in. We still have many things we have not had a chance to learn or put into practice but each week we are finding new ways to save time and improve our results.

Pros

Genius has many features we selected it for. It allows customizable BOMs that can continually be updated throughout the build by the engineering team. The Lifecycle engineering feature was core to our selecting the product. It has the flexibility to allow preliminary material buys before the design is complete, and still track these to the job. The material planning and control features are also easy to use and offer flexible solutions.
We integrated Genius into our business in about 8 weeks. They provide a full team of support to help get it up and running! Their support team contiues to be there when needed.

Cons

If anything is a bit weak in Genius it is the integrated accounting module. It is not as user friendly as our previous system ( QB). The trade-off though of being able to see live job or order costs outweigh any other concerns. All new products take time to get used to.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Donnalyn, Thank you so much for this review! It's great to hear that in the short time you have been using our ERP it has been working really well for you we look forward to a long partnership with you!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jennifer H.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 51-200 Employees

End to End Manufacturing ERP

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We have had a great experience with Genius. Their product consultants who helped us implement the software focused on how to develop processes through the software that solved some bottlenecks as well as gave us much better cost and hour tracking.

Pros

We chose Genius ERP because we are a custom, make to order manufacturer, and Genius allows us to design and release parts of the machines in Solidworks as they are complete to production. This allows us to manufacture complex machines in less time by getting a jump start on long lead items using just in time purchasing and production scheduling. Genius tracks all costs to each machine which gives great visibility into our margins that we can trace all the way to our financial reports.
Genius ERP is utilized throughout all our business processes from customer order through to final shipment and invoicing and then flows through to our financial reports. With all employees working in a single integrated system, it has allowed our process flow to become smoother with less questions popping up across departments.

Cons

I would love to see them update the UI. There are lots of clicks required with each transaction.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Jennifer, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. we are always happy to hear from our great customers like you! I am really glad that Genius ERP is helping you speed up production and making all of your business processes run more smoothly. We love learning how our customers are making Genius ERP work for them! Thanks also for the feedback on our UI. It is important for us to learn where we can improve. We really value your comments on our system, thanks for leaving us a great review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bill K.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Genius Manufacturing Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Our experience with Genius has been excellent. From the beginning, they have been a true partner to us at Kennedy Tank.

Pros

Genius' ERP is very easy to use. It is detailed and flexible. It connects all aspects of our manufacturing business.

Cons

To use Genius, you have to click and confirm almost everything. This is time consuming but is not too bad.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Bill, Thank you so much for the review. we are always happy to hear from you! I'm so glad that you find Genius ERP easy to use, and that we have been a valuable partner to you! We really value your feedback on our system. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kevin F.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great Service! Friendly Staff!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Extremely satisfied with the support and services that were provided through this company. Any problems were dealt with in a professional way. Anyone looking for this sort of service won’t be disappointed.

Cons

Did not experience any bad with this software, All problems were solved by Genius ERP!

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Kevin, It's fantastic to hear that you are having such a positive experience with our company, we strive to create great relationships with our customers! Thanks for leaving us a five-star review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris V.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Genius Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 28/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very in depth ERP system that can be used a multiple levels of need, Helpful Customer Success Team that ensures you get what you need out of the software.

Cons

automation of material planning, New features setup checklist - step by step view of dependencies.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Chris, I'm glad to hear our Customer Success team has been helpful and you're getting what you need out of our software. Thanks for the review.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ani T.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Genius erp

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easily to used and this is very helpful for production!

Cons

Customer support and if we need to customize the software!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Yvonne A.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Hinds-Bock Corpration review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/7/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use, good customer service, easy and quick implementation

Cons

Some limitations in the financial modules

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Yvonne,
I'm glad to hear that you have had a positive experience with us, and found our implementation process to be quick! Thanks for leaving us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Daniel B.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Director of Operations

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

To early in the system to see the payback

Pros

We like to have data for our follow up !!!

Cons

Mobile application.
Misses about our installation field sector.
Financial sector complicated to use with our way to work

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Daniel, Glad to know you picked Genius because you think it suits your needs. Hope to hear from you again, once you have had more time to work with the system!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Pascal D.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great ERP Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 24/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very customizable and complete.
Great support from staff.
Excellent time-saving features once implemented.

Cons

Lots of windows opened for all the different modules. Lack of online access to modules

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Eric E.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 51-200 Employees

My review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 15/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

So far, so good.

Pros

Modern version of MRP, very functional..

Cons

Some of the expected limitations, but not important.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Eric, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad to hear that everything is working out for you so far!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Andre G.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great ERP

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 27/6/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Great partnership with the Genius team. Very good communication.

Pros

The ERP is flexible and very easy to use.

Cons

Not yep Available on the cloud. But it will in the near futur.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Andre,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm glad to hear you find your partnership with Genius to be beneficialwe really value our relationships with our customers! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Scotty S.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Genius ERP

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 10/9/2019
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent

Pros

Genius ERP was not the ERP we as a team selected. I do believe it would have been a good fit. If you are looking for a new ERP system, I recommend trying Genius ERP. Their software is very up to date and their sales team does a good job getting to know your company needs.

Cons

Nothing major just we were not sure how their accounting software would match up to our sister company who runs a different ERP system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jolyane G.

Easy to use

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 7/2/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I use the software a few times every week to run reports and it's very easy to use. I like how you can link data with excel and export all sorts of info.

Cons

I don't like that you licenses are costy and are not assigned to users, but to the company and you can't log in of no license is available. Sometimes it's super slow.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Gaurav K.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great ERP software

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 27/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

its functional , can do what we desired to do.

Pros

I like it is fully compatible with Solidworks. Easy to learn and maintain inventory.

Cons

Some menu items are way deep in software.

Response from Genius Solutions

I'm glad to know that the switch form Sage has paid off for you!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Somewhat Idiosyncratic

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

A complex tool and as with most ERP systems the users willingness to learn will be the biggest barrier. But in addition to those barriers the interface of Genius really does not help. It is also very much a closed book with the only route to tailoring via expensive support requests. The tool should be brought up to date with a modern and configurable front end - it is not even possible to create custom fields for your organization or possible to show/hide fields that you do not require.

Pros

It has comprehensive coverage of business processes

Cons

The user interface is dated, multiple screens and cross-module interactions and subtleties that are very difficult to understand. It is also impossible to streamline the interface or customize it in any way with many redundant and irrelevant fields left to confuse users.

Response from Genius Solutions

Thank you for taking time to leave us some honest feedback about our system. I understand your concerns about our interface if you would like to get in touch with me at [email address] we can talk more about the limitations of our front end. I'm glad you find our ERP system to be comprehensive, and I appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our product. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Daniel M.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 11-50 Employees

We consider that we are only using Genius at 50-60% of its capacity.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Production planning and allocation of raw materials to jobs

Cons

Not being able to charge the time and cost of our production employees to jobs.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Daniel, Thanks for the review. Good to know our production planning module is working for you! I'll pass your concerns about not being able to charge time to jobs to our development team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Stephane L.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A total success !

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 13/7/2016
Review Source: Capterra

We have meet our goals in term of money, delays and efficiency. The technical support is competent and are fast on after sale service.

Pros

- Flexible
- User-Friendly
- Fully integrate (sales, purchase, production, accounting)

Cons

At the beginning of the project, we knew the limitations and the possibilities of the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Manufacturers go-to ERP solution

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 22/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We use this tools with inventory management, product engineering teams. This tool have simplified our manufacturing process.

Pros

User Friendly and automating tasks is easy.
Scheduling feature is amazing.

Cons

Reporting can be improvised a bit. Apart from this, i don't see any disadvantages with this tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Dupuis B.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good experience

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The variety of options and the ease of communication between the modules.
Like Genius ETM

Cons

I am aware that it is not that easy to redesign everything.

Response from Genius Solutions

Glad to know that you like Genius ETM! I know redesigns can be difficult, I'll pass this feedback along to our development team. Thanks for leaving a review.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Linda L.

Genius manufacturing

Reviewed on 7/6/2010
Review Source: Capterra

Genius manufacturing help us to improve our financial information.

Pros

Data on line, easy to used and always update.

Cons

Project analysis need to be fixed to used the accountant period and not only the date of entry.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Philippe D.

Product rating

Reviewed on 10/2/2011
Review Source: Capterra

Training,customer service and ease of use must be improved

Pros

Lot number tracking
Affordable
Local supplier
Possible customization

Cons

Not that easy and sometimes logical interface.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jamieson P.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Genius ERP - Medium Sized Manufacturer Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 1/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The business issue we needed to solve was the individual software silos that we had to perform a total process. It was fragmented and time consuming to move data through the individual systems. Genius helped us solve the problem quickly and efficiently. Their support group is industry leading!

Pros

Genius ERP is a very comprehensive, module based solution. It integrated our time keeping requirements for production, our Engineering drawings, the Estimating and Quoting functions, Purchasing, and Accounting. It truly is enterprise wide software. It is a very logical interface to understand, and integrates well with our Payroll platform.

Cons

If there was a Payroll option, it would be complete! We needed to customize reports for our environment, which was understandable, but outside the initial project scope.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Jamieson,

it's great to hear that Genius ERP is working out for you and that you have been able to integrate your business I'm also glad that you find our custom support team to be very helpful. I'll pass your wish for a payroll module onto our development team. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, I really appreciate it. - Jesse Linklater, Genius ERP

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Gowtham K.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Genius Impacts your whole company!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 14/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Genius ERP was meant to solve our COGS, BOM and Inventory issues. So far, we have not been using their financial module; which may put a damper on the cost of inventory. However, we have seen drastic changes and are optimistic about POSS' ERP system and its features going forward because of the implementation of Genius.

Pros

Genius ERP system is a user-friendly and customizable ERP system. We had many customizations that had to be done to fit our company, and Genius was able to fulfill and exceed expectations. The modules are easy to follow and it was a breeze to implement it within our team.

Cons

There are some technical issues which pop up that tend to take some time to fix. However, when they do fix it, they tend to go away and there is never repeating issues.

Response from Genius Solutions

It's great to hear that making the switch to Genius ERP has not only met but exceeded your expectations! Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Eric D.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great ERP for manufacturing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We have replace our Epicor ERP with GENIUS ERP and we are very happy with the change. Genius is way faster than Epicor and is easier to learn and operate. I highly recommend Genius ERP.

Pros

This is a very effective ERP. The software is easy to learn and easy to operate. It can by automated to a certain degree with it's GTA (Genius Task Automation) system. Every major updates comes with many new features, so it get better and better with every updates.

Cons

Customization is very limited with Genius. You cannot change or alter the behavior or the look of the software. You may lose some needed functionality when the software is updated. Somme bugs can take many updates before they get fixed.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Eric, We're so glad to hear that you are happy you made the switch to Genius ERP! We want to make our software the absolute best and are always trying to work out the kinks, so thank you for the feedback. I'm pleased to hear that you think we are always improving and that you would highly recommend us. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeff S.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 51-200 Employees

FR

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 29/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

good so far , still implementing

Pros

best fit for our manufacturing business for FR

Cons

not sure yet? Unable to handle piece work labor as preferred

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10