Genius ERP

4.2 (79)
Enterprise resource planning for SME custom manufacturers

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(79)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

85%
recommended this app

79 Software options

Amanda M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Genius User Easy Friendly

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

Overall, Genius has been a game changer when it came to our company and we are continuing to find new ways to use the software in our processes that we didn't think were possible prior to Genius.

Pros

Genius is a very easy user friendly system. If you know how one module works you can navigate your way through every single module with ease. It has helped us as a company refine processes and systems that weren't working when it came to a paper system that we had prior to Genius. They work amazing with all sizes of companies, but we felt as a small company that they worked better than others companies we looked at when it came to price and ease of implementing.

Cons

We bought the cloud version which is great because we can call or email Genius and they are always available to help with any problems, but we probably would have bought the web version now that we have used it only because we are using tablets now on the production floor and the software isn't supported with the version that we used.

Joe K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Genius ERP Review

Reviewed on 27/8/2020

Performing a root cause analysis of the business as a whole, data re-entry errors was the root cause to many widespread issues for us. With this in mind, running the business on a relational database was the only way to break down data barriers between departments and create streamlined processes with live data. Using genius has increased our average office departments capacity over 30% that is creating time to work on more complex projects with a higher quality of work. Our integration team was amazing, they went above and beyond to understand the business and successfully customized genius to match our processes which was no small task. We were live 6 months after prototype approval, exceeded the original scope, and stayed right on budget.

Pros

The engineering lifecycle module is extremely powerful for custom manufacturers where a BOM can be adjusted infinitely with various versions. Genius runs on SQL database vs crystal or not as powerful systems. With SQL you have access to report builder, with a little bit of training you can customize your own reports easily which is incredible for small companies with technically inclined people. Being the engineer, ETM is a powerful time saving tool (see cons) creating more time for designing and less ctrl+c ctrl+v across spreadsheets.

Cons

The CAD2BOM tool (ETM) lacks in a few key areas. Overall, it is very powerful, but I feel there are a few things that would make it great. The point here is they need to keep refining it and use customer feedback and provide better customer service. Our integration with it was not great but we have made it work with various workarounds. Prepare to pay for every little thing, while a service contract has updates included in them, there are still fees for them to install those updates. Since genius is geared towards small companies, they should consider the surprise this will cause. When we were sold on the system and our budget implementation costs, we asked straightforward are there any other software’s or systems we will need to purchase for on-site deployment. We were told no, this includes everything. Come to find out there were several different types of SQL licenses required to run genius and the access for users. This was very misleading right from the beginning and started the creation of a very tense erp integration.

Alternatives Considered

DELMIAworks and Dynamics 365

Switched From

DELMIAworks, JobBOSS² and Dynamics 365

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

Being in the custom manufacturing industry can be very challenging. Everything constantly changes from project schedules to BOMs. Genius ERP has done a great job of capturing the market need for a flexible and customizable ERP system unlike many rigid systems on the market.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Joe, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this feedback. It's good to know that you are getting use out of our features that were designed and built for custom manufacturers like yourself. We are always trying to improve our product, and take customer feedback seriously, so I will make sure our product team is aware of your concerns. if you would like to get in touch with me at [email protected] we can talk more about your concerns. Again, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Claudia D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Genius fits well

Reviewed on 14/7/2016

We are manufacturing charging station for electrical vehicle; Our BOM are complex because they are including many parts. Genius MRP help us to plan and organize our production floor and controlling our inventory. It help us for traceability of products and component that have been use in the manufacture it. We're using Genius MRP for 2 years when we decided to integrate the financial suite. Since all our data are grouped in a single system, it is easier to find information; to possibility of drilling down greatly improves financial analysis.

Pros

The software meets our needs; interfaces are intuitive, easy to use. People who work at Genius are competent and are able to understand our needs.

Cons

Documentation and user guide are not always up-to-date; I knew that a new customer service department was now in place. This surely will help get answers quickly to questions of use.

Phillip R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Genius ERP

Reviewed on 15/9/2020

Pros

Genius ERP software has centralized the operations at our company. Implementation has been a phase by phase project that has given us the time to adapt and learn the system from the ground up. This is coming from a company that had very primitive systems in place before hand, the Genius implementation team helped us by creating a game plan.

The software is working, roughly 6 months after starting implementation and we already are reaping the benefits.

Cons

The only cons that come to mind would be some customization was needed in different modules to satisfy some departments.The good news is that Genius was able to create these customization very quickly for us.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Philip, Thanks for leaving us a review! I will pass on to our implementation team that you have been really pleased with their work and the results that you are getting from Genius!

Alexander B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Service

Reviewed on 7/12/2018

Pros

Staff is very friendly and eager to help. Deployment was done in a professional and efficient manner. Would strongly recommend for anyone looking for this sort of software!

Cons

Haven't experienced any problems or cons regarding this software.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Alexander, Thanks for the great review! I'm glad to hear that Genius ERP is working out well for you! We are always here to help. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Guy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customisation of our ERP

Reviewed on 28/6/2019

We have a long term relationship with Genius Solutions for over 20 years and they have give us a good support.

Pros

Genius Solutions have built custom application for us that we used. We have never see other ERP that can make what we do with Genius.

Cons

I have nothing wrong to say about genius.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Guy, it's always great to hear from you! I'm glad to hear that Genius Solutions is working so well for you. Thank you so much for the review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Chris A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easily the best ERP software we have used.

Reviewed on 11/7/2019

Pros

Its fast and accurate job costing, labor and material tracking.

Cons

There are some screens that don't seem to ever remember the user preferences and need to be re-organized every time they are opened. A small but annoying thing to do every day.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Chris,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're very happy to hear that Genius ERP is the best ERP software you have ever used! I will pass this on to our team! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Valérie R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Genius ERP

Reviewed on 30/9/2020

Pros

Helpful for cost per project analysis. A lot of features so we can adapt to our own business.

Cons

Not friendly user. Need more training. The help guide is not really helpful when we do research on it.

Eric B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 22/10/2021

Pros

All our process are now connected and in the same place.

Cons

We had to customize a lot BUT it was easy to do it with the team!

Victor L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most functional and user-friendly ERP system!

Reviewed on 18/8/2021

Pros

This is the most user-friendly ERP I have ever worked with. It reduced my use of spreadsheets for planning, it automates reports and it is very flexible for changes. I have worked with big ERPs before like SAP, and this is by far much more flexible and easier to use.

Cons

Support should be more personal. Maybe a chat function or direct phone number would be best. All they have is communication by email.

Jamieson P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Genius ERP for Medium Enterprise Manufacturing

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

We have adopted the ERP and been supported very well by the Genius team. It has given us everything we expected, and allowed us to customize areas for our unique needs.

Pros

Genius provides a comprehensive suite for manufacturing companies. We can integrate Accounting, Estimating, Quoting, Orders, Invoice, and Inventory Management into the single platform.

Cons

As the software has new releases, it creates some issues with older releases

Gaurav K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great ERP software

Reviewed on 27/8/2020

its functional , can do what we desired to do.

Pros

I like it is fully compatible with Solidworks. Easy to learn and maintain inventory.

Cons

Some menu items are way deep in software.

Response from Genius Solutions

I'm glad to know that the switch form Sage has paid off for you!

Gaetan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Responsable of Engineering

Reviewed on 24/8/2021

I can get a lot from the data base and use pivot tables and get all the analysis needed.

Pros

Genius is a excellent product which is intuitive and quite easy to use

Cons

In my opinion the Quality (non-conformities) section is not as we should expect for such good ERP

Dave P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Genius ERP is an effective solution, well build

Reviewed on 24/8/2021

Genius is an effective resource for planning and monitoring the stocks to be produced. It's easy to use and is a complete management solution.

Pros

Easy to use, very effective to create Job-Lot, very easy to follow the production

Cons

The modification of job-lot brings difficulties, Some job-lot remains empty even if their production is complete

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Somewhat Idiosyncratic

Reviewed on 6/12/2018

A complex tool and as with most ERP systems the users willingness to learn will be the biggest barrier. But in addition to those barriers the interface of Genius really does not help. It is also very much a closed book with the only route to tailoring via expensive support requests. The tool should be brought up to date with a modern and configurable front end - it is not even possible to create custom fields for your organization or possible to show/hide fields that you do not require.

Pros

It has comprehensive coverage of business processes

Cons

The user interface is dated, multiple screens and cross-module interactions and subtleties that are very difficult to understand. It is also impossible to streamline the interface or customize it in any way with many redundant and irrelevant fields left to confuse users.

Response from Genius Solutions

Thank you for taking time to leave us some honest feedback about our system. I understand your concerns about our interface if you would like to get in touch with me at [email address] we can talk more about the limitations of our front end. I'm glad you find our ERP system to be comprehensive, and I appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our product. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Daniel M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

We consider that we are only using Genius at 50-60% of its capacity.

Reviewed on 3/9/2020

Pros

Production planning and allocation of raw materials to jobs

Cons

Not being able to charge the time and cost of our production employees to jobs.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Daniel, Thanks for the review. Good to know our production planning module is working for you! I'll pass your concerns about not being able to charge time to jobs to our development team.

Stephane L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A total success !

Reviewed on 13/7/2016

We have meet our goals in term of money, delays and efficiency. The technical support is competent and are fast on after sale service.

Pros

- Flexible
- User-Friendly
- Fully integrate (sales, purchase, production, accounting)

Cons

At the beginning of the project, we knew the limitations and the possibilities of the software.

Huguens B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Old make good wine

Reviewed on 24/8/2021

have good relation with service and support when needed.

Pros

easy to use, quick for new user learning curved.

Cons

hard to debug, cannot upgrade without support.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Manufacturers go-to ERP solution

Reviewed on 22/4/2019

We use this tools with inventory management, product engineering teams. This tool have simplified our manufacturing process.

Pros

User Friendly and automating tasks is easy.
Scheduling feature is amazing.

Cons

Reporting can be improvised a bit. Apart from this, i don't see any disadvantages with this tool.

Dupuis B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good experience

Reviewed on 2/9/2020

Pros

The variety of options and the ease of communication between the modules.
Like Genius ETM

Cons

I am aware that it is not that easy to redesign everything.

Response from Genius Solutions

Glad to know that you like Genius ETM! I know redesigns can be difficult, I'll pass this feedback along to our development team. Thanks for leaving a review.

Linda L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Genius manufacturing

Reviewed on 7/6/2010

Genius manufacturing help us to improve our financial information.

Pros

Data on line, easy to used and always update.

Cons

Project analysis need to be fixed to used the accountant period and not only the date of entry.

Philippe D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Product rating

Reviewed on 10/2/2011

Training,customer service and ease of use must be improved

Pros

Lot number tracking
Affordable
Local supplier
Possible customization

Cons

Not that easy and sometimes logical interface.

Larry M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Genius ERP

Reviewed on 22/10/2021

System resilience is very good. Overall, we depend on Genius for our daily operations and this has proven successful for our business.

Pros

Product has a broad appeal across organizations, functions and processes.

Cons

Security and data privacy are a real challenge. Controlling who can see labor hours and labor costs and the ability to derive hourly rates by employees is very complex and not intuitive. Once understood, however, the ability to control who sees what is powerful, but the learning curve is steep and complex.

Delmar P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

You have to pay for everything all thetime; Very poor customer service

Reviewed on 26/5/2016

Pros

It is customizable; Quite powerful with enough work. They basically give you a software that is almost useless and then you tell them how you want reports to look, etc and then they program it for you. Since reports and even macros (automatically attaching drawings to items/WO/POs, etc) can be custom programmed it gives you great flexibility and power.

Cons

Hard to tell what I like the least; And I don't like saying bad things about any company but for the sake of others I'd like to share our experience and hopefully save others the headaches and money we've lost.
Everything runs on modules and unlike almost every other program I've ever tried, each window takes from 5-8 seconds to open. Everything seems very slow!
The vendor sucks money every step of the way. We average about double the amount on maintenance and update fees then we already pay for a yearly subscription so we can get the "free updates". It is ridiculous. You pay them (annual subscription) so you are allowed to get updates for "free" but you have to pay them for installing those updates. For real, why not make a program so the customer can help themselves? Because they want the money; their business survives on training and hourly wage working for/with the customer. (I'm not saying it's wrong - but that's the only way they make money!)

Jeffrey W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Genius ERP Review

Reviewed on 30/9/2020

The implementation team has been very helpful and informative in getting the system configured to go live.

Pros

We like the ability of this software to be able to handle custom BOM's that we use in our manufacturing processes. This allows us to load BOM's to the system and manage our manufacturing for each course.

Cons

Nothing at this time. The software is meeting the requirements that we anticipated.

Alternatives Considered

SYSPRO

Reasons for Choosing Genius ERP

We needed a more robust system to handle our custom BOM's

Reasons for Switching to Genius ERP

Syspro used outside consultants to implement the system while Genius consultants were in house. We wanted to deal with the Company not a third party.