82 reviews

JumpCloud DaaS

A cloud directory platform for secure access to resources

4.7 /5 (82 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.7
/
5
Value for Money
4.7
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.7
100% recommended this app
82 reviews
Robert R.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great functional product that tackles most of the Central management and directory functions

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Jumpclouds offering has great features and helps simplify the central user management issue we had. Importing users from Gsuite which was the main system that housed all our users centrally was simple, albeit lacking granular import options (such as ignore mailgroups etc)
Systems (which are devices) is the inventory of all your systems running the jumpcloud agent - the greatest feature here is being able to set MFA for logging into your mac, which is very useful if you'd like to bring that security practice in.
Actioning user changes is pretty quick and straightforward but there are some caveats on some of the more everyday features that could be laid out in a slicker fashion. For example resetting a users password cannot be done from a click of a button - you have to go into the account and manually set a new one, or invite the user to reset it themselves, but if you've integrated JC and Gsuite, and they cant get into their email, which partly breaks our self serve functionality we're tyring to bring to the company.
The idea of being able to deploy and manage the admin account when a mac is managed via the agent is a helpful addition taking away the need to implement one through various other means.
Policies as they stand are a little different to what your typical "mdm polices" are. So theres a bit of a distinction to pick up with that.
The Agent & account tis a less forgiving implementation and requires that the account names on the macs match the JC directory.

Pros

Support right through the demo to the purchase, to the implementation. Success criteria are agreed between yourselves and them.
They're improving the product almost daily and have the ability to use web-hooks to monitor service status'
The ease in which you are able to integrate Gsuite (as well as multiple ways to import users from your existing central directory) It also gives you the ability to tailor the input for mass imports to limit the need to get users involved in this stage. The ability to simply submit Ideas to improve the UI. The communication from their design team and being involved in user testing so early on.
The resource and Knowledge base is extensive and easy to read - one of the best Ive used from a company in this space.
The interface is also simple to use and navigate through without being buried under complex sub menus
Straightforward email notifications from the system.
Being able to simply reimport users youve deleted without having to wait for a sync or overlapping the account when reimporting.

Cons

A few tricky bits around JC > Gsuite integration wording that take some time to get your head around when integrating and activating accounts once imported.

The admin vs user console login is dynamic and handled via one URL making it a little frustrating to see what the user profile looks like as you have to log out/open a new window to log in as a user - they should be separate logins URLS/Pages or have dropdowns within the admin page in order to switch between. The lack of global settings to apply around Security means for both user login and System security - you have to apply MFA individually to users
When removing/disabling users there isnt an ability to change what happens to their email account - they will be disabled/suspended immediately.

Not able to tailor the automated emails that come from the system to your users as it stands

Importing users via OUs inside Gsuite isnt possible (its everyone or needing to know user by user who to import (not the end of the world but worthwhile noting if you have more than 200 users + copious amounts of group emails)

Currently no ability to assign users to OUs from within JC to Gsuite.

We utilitise divisions and Departments as sub groups for organising our employees and use this hierarchy in another solution. Youre currently not able to nest groups so we had to flat out create ever department as top level inside the "system of users" section. Again a little niche for us, and shouldnt mark this awesome product down

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Aaron G.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Directory as a service the next generation

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 16/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It has been awesome to know I can track staff, device but not use active directory. It's only took a few days to learn the software and the documentation has been awesome.

Pros

Not having to use Microsoft domain management. Less on prem expense and more focus on daily needs. Easy to use and deployment.

Cons

I haven't really had an draw backs from using this software it has really help to go domain less for me as a MSP owner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

David F.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great AD alternative

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 9/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

With end users using G Suite for file storage and sharing, we are able to manage PCs and end user credentials without needing to deploy Active Directory.

Pros

Easy to manage web interface with clear categories and policies.

Cons

Client installation on PCs was more complex than I would have liked.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Felix L.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A simple yet effective Cloud based management system

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 12/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The free 10 first users really helped me do my proof of concepts with the applications I wanted to integrate. The interface is simple and everything you need to manage users and associated systems and applications are easy to find.

Cons

Policies to deploy to systems are a cool feature, however, there are too few policies for Linux. A community driven for policies could be very interesting.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Application Getting even Better

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience has been nothing but positive. Now that all passwords are sync'd across both local and web services, our users rarely need password resets anymore. Their technical support has been very helpful and responsive in the few (maybe two times in two years?) I've needed to call them.

Pros

I love its ease of use. Getting started using it was effortless as a single tech doing the work. Its ability to serve as a directory server for G Suite, PowerSchool (LDAP), and WiFi (RADIUS) makes my life so much easier. And it's even great that for G Suite it can be user-specific. We have some accounts that we don't tie into JumpCloud simply because they only need email. JumpCloud can "pull" G Suite Accounts if they already exist, and I love how it can "push" accounts as well for creating new users.

Cons

There are a few niceties that they haven't implemented yet. Extensive logs can easily be pulled via their API, but they aren't available via the web-gui. They also haven't yet managed to implement the ability to manage Google Groups through their interface yet (but that's supposedly coming soon).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jeffrey B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Solid way to manage users

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 9/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I use jump-cloud for my own business and my clients primarily to help with user management and to manage access to the various services that are used. It jump make all this easier.

Pros

It solves a bunch of problems all at once. You can have Jumpcloud handle your G Suite/Office 365 password, then use that same password for your computer logins and well as for your office's WiFi. A lot of people miss that last one. Small business rarely change the WiFi password, so every exemployee knows how to log in. With Jumpcloud Radius service, everyone uses their Jumpcloud password to log in. If someone is no longer with the company, you disable their Jumpcloud account and they no longer can log in.
If you are a Linux admin, Jumpcloud's system agent can handle password, or even better ssh keys with two-factor authentications. This really take security up while making all it easy to manage.
They keep adding features as well, like recently added management of Bitlocker.

Cons

I only have minor grips. Like to manage LDAP, you have to create an LDAP bind user. No big deal, but that is the only thing I'm going to use that account for. The fact that it shows up as an option for G Suite or for system log ins is unnecessary. Seems like that should be a special user locked away under LDAP tab somewhere.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ernesto C.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best DaaS and MDM ever

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 18/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Absolutely love it

Pros

Ease of use and deployment, reliability and visibility.

Cons

At first it was a lack of features, but you guys stepped up the game fast!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Moises C.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Break away from the traditional way of managing your computers

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 22/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I love the ability of being able to manage computers and apps from anywhere that I am at. I do not have to be in the office to manage anything. Break away from the traditional settings.

Pros

I love the fact this this is an online solution to your old traditional way to manage computers from internal servers. It branches outside your office to anywhere you want to do work.

Cons

Some of the function setups are not that user friendly. Policies are a headache when selecting what to configure. It's not easy to go back where you left off. Sometimes you have to scroll down a long list of configurations to get back to the location that you last left off from.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Christian H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Jumpstart your directory service with JumpCloud

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 9/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Having SSO (Single-Sign-On) across all our systems (mostly Linux) and Google G Suite (Google Drive, Gmail etc) has made systems administration much less painful for both, users and administrators.

Pros

The setup is relatively easy, and major operating systems are supported. It allows single-sign-on (SSO) across a variety of systems. For me, of particular interest was having Linux and G Suite SSO, for which JumpCloud provides an excellent solution.

Cons

I wish Linux SSO would work by an LDAP proxy cache instead of a patch to /etc/passwd /etc/shadow /etc/group /etc/gshadow files. An LDAP proxy cache just appears more secure to me.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Javier V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A very good platform

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We are very happy to select jumpcloud platform, we are a startup company and jumpcloud helped us to deploy it very faster. I recommend it 100%.

The services are very good and I only remember one incident that directly affected me, but the jumpcloud support resolved it quickly

I hope that new jumpcloud company services include without modify the price, for example System Insights.

Pros

Very easy to deploy, configure users, devices, radius

Cons

May be de command function is not easy to deploy

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jarred W.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Great for DaaS!

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 13/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

GREAT! This service has been FLAWLESS!

Pros

I like the integrations and synchronizations to other applications. Specifically, we use a hybrid AD approach. It works great! We’re also using the RaaS for dynamic vlan mapping. VERY impressed!

Cons

Wish there were more options that we didn’t have to customize via the powershell API. I don’t remember all of the cmdlets and have to look them up every time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bill B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Free for ten users makes this very applicable to most small businesses

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/4/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The small businesses that I work with have from 3 to 10 PCs, but usually no server. JumpCloud provides the missing centralized user account control. Fairly easy to implement once you understand the model. Their documentation is good and fairly complete, sufficient to learn and utilize the product. Once set up, it has been trouble-free.

Pros

Multi-platform!

It uses and modifies local machine settings, so even if a laptop leaves the LAN or the service is down, everything continues to work.

Cons

The Samba integration is complex. This is more about Samba than JumpCloud, however. I needed a few different pages to pull together the whole picture on how to implement.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

It works well

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of deployment and manageability from cloud

Cons

SAML v2 support is limited. Had to go over hoops to get stuff working.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michael B.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good solution for MSPs

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 7/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Integration with G Suite
Replacement for AD in small office environments
Adds needed security and management for clients that have never implemented AD

Cons

The pricing model has improved but can still be cost-prohibitive for small IT budget clients.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Andreas P.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: Self Employed

Central Directory mgmt

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 16/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

system user management without AD!

Pros

one user management,
ability to use as system users

Cons

price raises rapidly when using more then 1 service and more then 10 users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Christopher C.
Industry: Computer Networking
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A suitable replacement for a DC in a small environment

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Very good low-cost replacement for a domain controller for small businesses.

Pros

Very easy to use. Great support. Works as advertised. Able to use on Mac and Windows

Cons

Wish they had more functionality, and two-factor authentication.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Revolutionary

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 13/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Running a small business , this sort of thing is the last thing on your mind. JumpCloud has helped us on/off board staff members easier, quicker and more securely and has allowed us to unbind from expensive hardware that required painful maintenance!

Cons

I'd love to be able to white label the login screen, but thats a selfish desire. I'm only really putting that there though because the cons is a mandatory field. JumpCloud is great!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Peter C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Would recommend to any organization

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We are solving issues with applying group policy and adding users to small busiensses that do not employ AD

Pros

The product is quick and responsive. Streamlines and adds AD like features to small businesses with no need or desire to implement AD

Cons

Need more policies added. The permissions and systems menus can be convoluted, but with a bit of use it gets easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Platform which has all in one solution for IT needs

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 9/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Replacing Active directory with jumpcloud.

Pros

Directory as service, Radius server,Full disk encryption management

Cons

OpenID support, Need more applications for SSO, AWS role based access need more improvement

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Secure Login

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/3/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Once you're set, it's easy to use. Easily get your security code on your phone and log in.

Cons

Can be awkward to set-up or re-set up if you get a new mobile device where you get your access code.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lance F.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Satisfied Jumpcloud Organization

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We have had a very positive experience. From the onset, we have had great customer support throughout. The customer success teams and engineering teams have all been responsive, and it is clear that they care about the voice of the customer. Our inquiries are responded to quickly, and we are kept in the loop on a monthly basis, or more frequently if necessary, of any changes and what the roadmap looks like.

Pros

Jumpcloud has provided us with a full DaaS solution which we were able to scale easily, and have seen the benefits versus our prior environment. We are able to implement policies and enhance our security posture very easily by utilizing Jumpcloud. The SSO integration is a great feature which is included in the standard plan, and allows us to save money and resources on having an additional solution in our tech stack. The ability to manage all users and endpoints through the console allows for streamlined processing of requests through our Sys admin team.

Cons

I don't like the lack of readily available reporting which can be generated directly from Jumpcloud. The data is all there, and we can get it through various extracts, but I would like to see some high quality embedded reporting with the ability to share and customize reports. I also want to see more integration with services like Slack.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Randy N.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

JumpCloud, the software that changed the game for companies all over the world.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

JumpCloud is an IT / Infrastructure admins dream. Not only is their entire team from sales, to customer success, to engineering, to support amazing, they are very fast to jump on any issues or features you are interested in to help. JumpCloud is my favorite product to date.

Pros

What do I like best? I think the list goes on and on way too long for this. JumpCloud does everything I could think of. From LDAP, to IDP, to server authentication, to MDM and so much more. JumpCloud has helped Octane solve so many issues that I didn't even know I needed to solve. And on top of that their support team and our account manager are the absolute best.

Cons

The only thing I dislike about JumpCloud right now is that since we have so many bookmarks and SSO connections on the user portal, there is no favorites page on there for them to only star the applications they use daily. Its getting cumbersome to keep track and find the applications you need sometimes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sean H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Not yet feature complete, but getting closer every quarter

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 7/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Not having to maintain an internal LDAP directory has been a substantial burden that was lifted by JumpCloud.

Pros

Ease of use for SMB's, changes are reflected instantly, free for up to 10 users forever makes trialing trivial, and MDM features across Windows and Macs are uniquely useful.

Cons

Lacking some features. For example, they support VLAN assignment via RADIUS, but do not support named VLAN's in this configuration. It's not a complete replacement for AD in that you cannot nest groups, they have to be individually managed. The MDM features are some of the most interesting available, but feature availability is highly dependent on OS... for example, while both Mac and Windows have significant options available to them (albeit many fewer that Group Policy in AD provides), Linux has almost none of the MDM features available to it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Randy T.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Simple, Reliable and Affordable

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 18/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I have been very happy with the price and reliability of the services that I need from JumpCloud. I don't use them all, but what I do use, I use extensively.

Pros

While JumpCloud may not have all the bells and whistles, what it does do, it does well. Super easy to use with a Google GSuite environment.

Cons

I wish SSO was beefed up a little more. Some nicer integrations would be great, but it is possible that there are partnerships with larger DaaS providers that were made exclusive and they can not get access to.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nick T.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Product for a reasonable price

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 13/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It has been a very good experience so far. We are streamlining onboarding of employees and management of all our SaaS accounts.

Pros

The product is very easy to use and helps us work more efficiently. It also help us unify security settings across all of our devices without having to change all of them manually. Computer set up is much smoother now using the agent.

Cons

I wish they had MDM for PCs in addition to Macs. Also, setting up the RADIUS server is difficult because there are so many different kinds of networking devices.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10