64 reviews

M1 ERP

Manufacturing enterprise resource planning (ERP) software

3.7 /5 (64 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

3.7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
72%
recommended this app
64 reviews
Angie F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I love how easy the modules link with each other

Reviewed on 15/8/2018

Very happy. I'm glad I have been brought in a job that chose this software. Everyone that I've met and spoke with through tech support is helpful and personable.

Pros

The ability to drill down between modules is wonderful. I've never used a software that allowed this so seamlessly.

Cons

The lack of online inquiries through the internet from fellow users that might have experienced something that isn't typical to help others figure it out. This can be technical or a way to resolve a process issue.

Marylou C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome product ~ even better implementer!

Reviewed on 19/2/2016

Pros

Vendor has awesome support. We love how it brings all of our activities together in one program. We also like how we can customize the program to fit our needs since we are a very unique manufacturer that does many products under one roof. It has many 'cross checks' so we are making sure each department is doing exactly what they are supposed to which leads to accurate financials and job costing.

Cons

I feel like some of the modules we purchased were not fully explained enough or applicable to our usage. Fortunately, they recognized this and helped us to direct our purchases in a more advantageous direction for our business. There are also adjustments in the financials that everyone could benefit from and should not be made to customize it.

Mark P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Installation of ECi M1

Reviewed on 2/12/2014

Pros

This ERP software is very intuitive and very flexible relative to the previous software from Made2Manage that my organization ran for the past 24 years. The input of transactions is straightforward with minimal training, and searching for almost any data is substantially easier.

Cons

The only issue we've had any challenge with so far is with the conversion of our old Made2Manage data, which was an old FoxPro version into a pure SQL format. Some data came across easily, and some data didn't come across at all. We could have come up to speed running the new software much faster if we'd have been able to convert our M2M data in a more timely fashion.

Amit G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ECi M1

Reviewed on 13/10/2017

Pros

User friendly dashboard. Advance options for all the modules. one stop solution for all the resources planning.

Cons

Not enough features for multiple platform usage. Little Slower. No report modification format for user

David T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

M1 a change to a real system

Reviewed on 23/2/2016

Pros

I will have to compliment the trainer and the ECI Conference held in Orlando. I felt that all areas were fully addressed. Obviously as time goes on, more comfort and trust is gain in the product. Having been on Sage previously, I like how this is a real financial package although it can be cumbersome at times. I still have lots to learn about the entire package.

Cons

There is no refresh button.

Glen C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

No Support in Australia

Reviewed on 9/1/2019

Due to the poor / complete lack or support and problems with the installation we are about to change to a new ERP system. This would be the worst investment my company has ever made.

Pros

No ad-dons, no cost for view users, i.e. unlimited clock card entry PC's.

Cons

Absolutely poor support if any. Referred to external consultants as ECi M1 could not supply technical support.

Cassie P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Six month build and implement time for a growing manufacturing company.

Reviewed on 12/7/2018

The cost was extremely high although we were basically building our own system the way we wanted.

Pros

Completely customizable. Access to consultants who helped us decide as a team why or why we shouldn’t run something one way as opposed to another. They were very knowledgeable and insightful.

Cons

The consultants gave employees too much reign over the server and the potential to mess up the data base we were building. Their lack of support for the payroll module.

Frank L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

M1 does everything we need and more!

Reviewed on 28/8/2009

We are very, very happy with M1. There are many features that we did not know we needed or wanted until we tried M1. We have no doubt that M1 was the right choice.

Pros

Works as advertised or better.
Easy to train and use.
Fast and reliable.
Simple to upgrade and backup.
Very powerful search functions and grids are adjustable by user.
Customization is available to users with included tools and then adding Crystal Reports.
Easy migration from our other software.
M1 technical support is extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

Cons

Nothing negative to say.

Joe F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very user freindly and functional

Reviewed on 23/6/2017

Pros

The ease of use and personal tayloring to your specific needs is great. The training offered is also a very nice touch.

Cons

Really could not find any cons the system has everything we were looking for. The only con that i can think of is that we cannot go live sooner.

Ian C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Catten Industries

Reviewed on 14/7/2009

I would say that anyone who runs a small to medium business in manufacturing would benefit enourmously by having the M1 system as the cornerstone in managing their business.

Pros

Good functionality and easy to pick up.
Easy to customise to your needs.

Cons

Some modules are a bit "clunky" to use, but in saying that the program needs to cater for various different business's and you can customise to suit your requirements.

Steve K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very Good Overall

Reviewed on 24/7/2009

Overall a really good product.

Pros

Features - does most of what we need right out of the box.
Customizable - Very easy to add fields, tables, code, etc.
GREAT customer service.
Implementation was as easy as this kind of thing can be.

Cons

Some screens are a little clunky or "busy".
Job costing and analysis can be a little weak.

Scott A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

The implementation has not gone well, many system problems

Reviewed on 13/9/2017

I should have gone with my second choice.

The grids are a nice feature, however the system has caused much frustration for everyone involved.

Cons

User security, payroll needing 2 separate processes, 1 for checks and 1 for direct deposit, lack of flexibility for departmental reporting

Steve A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

MRF review

Reviewed on 29/7/2009

recommend to companies if they already have a database system and can compare the differences

Pros

very easy to train operators and use, layout provides for ease of navigation

Cons

some upgrades still have glitches, a couple of items still to not function properly, missing some reports that most systems have standard

Steve G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Fair value for small to mid-size companies needing a MRP.

Reviewed on 15/7/2009

I would recomend to small to mid-size companies on a budget that need an MPR.

Pros

Flexible, quick learn for use, many good reports, good document management.

Cons

Moderate in accounting, weak in quality, DMR's, RMA's , weak in scheduling, some draw backs in using COG's, weak in Revision control.

Joe H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

M1 = good production foundation to build from

Reviewed on 10/4/2015

Pros

Overall architecture is well thought out from a flexibility, customization and IT standpoint. It uses standard database (MS SQL), reporting (Crystal reports) and customization (VB) languages. You can use their resources or find your own to dive as deep as you need to but you also can do quite a bit without being an IT professional.

Cons

Support experience ranges widely from good to very slow to respond. They have made efforts to improve and you see benefits slowly but it still isn't a good consistent support experience.

Steve B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great ERP software

Reviewed on 8/2/2018

I recommend this ERP software on a regular basis, it is a great value added to our company

Pros

We have been using this software for over 13 years and the fact that it is an open system allows us to implement special features that is only relevant to our business and it is very easy

Cons

The quality management in regards to the inventory was lacking when we implemented the software and I don't know if it was improved since then

Marie kris S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Effective Eci M1

Reviewed on 9/10/2018

Pros

I like this software because it is very effective and efficient to my team. This is a software with complete package. The functions and features are very nice.

Cons

When I'm starting to use this software I can't experienced any negative. Very recommended to all type of organization.

Mike P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid ERP System

Reviewed on 25/9/2019

Pros

Ease of use, functionality, reporting, scheduling.

Cons

Nothing yet. We've been using V7 and are getting ready to switch to V9, looking forward to the upgrade.

Response from ECi Software Solutions

Thank you Mike! We always appreciate the feedback. Best regards. The ECI team.

Kris Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

M1 is GREAT!

Reviewed on 16/2/2016

Pros

I love how everything is tied together. When in doubt I right click and see where that PO, Sales Order, Receipt, etc. has been used and what it is linked to.

Cons

Mostly it's a cosmetic thing. I've never been overly fond of how it's laid out but the next version should make that better and truly with time you just get used to it.

Grant A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

M1 experience from the UK

Reviewed on 3/3/2015

Pros

The product does seem to have the potential to fulfill all requirements of a small parts manufacturer.

Cons

The customer support starting at the implementation stage right through to after sales ongoing support is poor. The supplier attitude is "Wellm you bought it, so get on with it." There seem to be very few people in the organization who actually know how it works and how to correct bugs and issues. The reports package is full of flaws. We have spent a lot of money trying to improve the product ourselves.

Darren W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great package for the small to medium manufacturer

Reviewed on 14/7/2009

Great package for the small to medium manufacturer. Would definitely recommend this to organisations wanting to upgrade to a new windows based package.

Pros

Easy to use and train
Ability to customise
Affordability
Reliability
Interaction with Windows programs ie. Outlook

Cons

Limited sales analysis
Limited financial analysis

Annette P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

M-1 Software evaluation

Reviewed on 28/7/2009

Best value on market for features available.

Pros

We are still implementing, but so far, everything is working as demonstrated.

Cons

Importing of products is sort of complicated since some of the items in the product setup is in different database files. Therefore, manual entry or several imports are required.

Mary may L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good Software to use

Reviewed on 9/9/2018

Pros

This product is very user- friendly. It is really reliable for us in the industry. Definitely recommended.

Cons

Just waiting for the upgraded features.

Timothy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

M1 - A very visual ERP

Reviewed on 3/4/2018

Pros

M1 is incredibly visual; whether you prefer traditional forms or spreadsheet views, you can customize the navigation and data forms with ease. Search features are robust in the spreadsheet style views. M1 is also fairly flexible for customization regardless of programming skills. We can easily add fields to any module and forms can be manipulated to match our information flow. In our business every order is a custom order yet the straight forward manufacturing module makes planning and scheduling simple. Dashboards on the start screen are great to monitor daily activities. While most ERP implementations require significant work, the visual nature of M1 really helped us keep the project on track. The M1 implementation specialist spent time to learn our business and specific information needs. 9 months running and we are very happy. We have added several additional modules since the implementation and have linked M1 to our sales tax service provider. The suite of included reports are handy, though they need some customization when you start up. Export to Excel is very easy. We added Spreadsheet Server option to really increase the capability to share data with Excel. Security controls are very robust.

Cons

At times customer service response is a bit longer than we would like though once they are working on an issue, they are great at resolving. Some of the included reports are fairly complex yet require customization in Crystal Reports. Best to have some working knowledge of Crystal reports. Some modules in M1 are not consistent with others - probably different programmers or different schedules for upgrading - however that slows the process just bit when you move module to module.

Joseph F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Administrator Review

Reviewed on 14/11/2019

As someone who was not involved in the purchase of M1 I have been please with the freedom and flexibility the system provides me as an administrator. Most complaints would be from end users who some times have a hard time with the interface. These complaints are often easily solved with training and super user engagement.

Pros

This software is highly customizable and provides freedom for the many integrations that we implement regularly.

Cons

This software is not the most user friendly for a sizable chunk of our end users. Customers with limited computer experience find the interface difficult to use outside of tasks they perfomr regularly. This issues are largely easily solved by regular attention from the software administrators or super users.