304 reviews

PHP Point of Sale

Retail POS system that manages multiple store locations

4.7 /5 (304 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
304 reviews
Rick H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Ricks Picks Review

Reviewed on 8/11/2016

Chris is great to work with! Without chris I could not deal with this Service. His help is valued
The best possible value for what you get - thats for sure
I see this cloud service in this infancy. It needs a lot of upgrades.
My biggest issue is that it is not a system designed for a fast pace retail store - with a line of customers.
What I do like is that ti is very easy to edit sales and fix them after the fact
The reporting got better but stilll needs work
The Layaway/special order function works but not perfect.
The way the financial numbers are handled needs to get updated a bit. For example - if you do not put a cost in for an item immediately then statr selling the items, the system does not look back in history to calcukate the true profit, it assumes it was zero until the cost was put in, sometimes you have to sell something before you know what the cost is...

Pros

I already wrote it before

Cons

Already wrote it

Odhran M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best POS ever made, fact!

Reviewed on 12/6/2020

Point of Sale, Online Store, Stock Control, Profit/Loss Reports, Best Sellers, Loyalty Scheme, etc

Pros

We've been a customer for over 5 years and we are 100% satisfied with this POS solution. I can't recommend it enough. Every feature you could possibly want is included and if it isn't there's a high likelihood that [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] will implement it in a future update. The fact that it also syncs to WooCommerce is a life saver, cutting our workload in half.

Cons

No cons, faultless software, reports, stock control, loyalty scheme, it has everything neeed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

All function are complete to my shop

Reviewed on 18/4/2018

It's an online version I'm free to access my pos every where and every time, I can many it and report it in short time, so i have time to run other business. For small business we don't need accounting department by using this full function pos with small money

Pros

Report is every good, we can find the most as we need. And other best for me is import/export to ecommerce and website.

Cons

currency exchange for yet, Item should have type, example we can add it as Metter, Kilo, PCS or extra

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It does all I need to run my store. Great value for a very good price

Reviewed on 17/4/2018

Ease of use and access on any platform...

Pros

I like this software because it is a web-based software and I can use it on any device I have at hand at anytime.

Cons

The only con I have is that it doesn't work with my merchant provider "Square". I have to go outside of this software to process payments. I used another merchant that was supported by PHP POS but I couldn't use them anymore because most of my transactions are over the phone.

Alex A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

THE SOFTWARE IS A WOW

Reviewed on 31/8/2020

it has made my business grow with ease

Pros

the software is very easy and friendly to use,

Cons

any feature anyone can ever imagine in a retail shop is already embedded in the software

Ben S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Robust, intuitive, and cheap for the small business!

Reviewed on 17/11/2016

I came across phpPOS while researching different POS systems when we were first opening. Suggested by a user on /r/smallbusiness, we were seeking a POS option that allowed us to utilize categorized products for our own stock, consignment based sales, and reporting features. Another caveat we held was that the POS was within our "limited" budget at the time -- phpPOS fit all of those needs, and more.

We purchased, and two years later still use, the stand-alone version of phpPOS which fit our needs perfectly. We only use one register, but all staff have their own unique password protected logins and we can easily backup our inventory, sales history, etc. to an external drive. For larger businesses that require concurrent registers, etc -- you may want to consider the online version instead.

Very happy with phpPOS and would definitely suggest it to other small business folks out there looking for a robust yet affordable POS option.

Pros

- detailed inventory options with categorization
- ability to separate consignment sales and suppliers
- product / service separation
- good reporting options
- can customize with knowledge of php
- extremely affordable
- stand-alone product -- service outages don't affect your sales!
- item-grid compatible with touch-screen (we have too many items, so don't utilize this feature -- but it's there!)

Cons

Very little cons. Never had any major issues, nor had to resort to customer support. The POS is intuitive enough to figure out on its own.

Gift cards can be a little confusing at first.

Brandon R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product. Great Support

Reviewed on 8/11/2016

PHP pos offers a robust user experience: slick interface, excellent sales and inventory tracking, and intuitive ease of use. Training employees to use the software took practically no time! Customers love the account features that allows history searches and store credit lines.

My favorite feature: first rate customer service! Tech support responds quickly and thoroughly. And new feature requests often are met in the next release build.

I highly recommend this mature platform that has made store management simple and efficient!

Pros

Customer support--trouble tickets resolved quickly and personally. Feature enrichment grows by orders of magnitude with each release.

Cons

Maybe offer a video tutorial or other resource(s) on using the software for admins. Your interface is highly intuitive, but someone new to POS transactions might not understand, in principle, the rich value of all your PHP pos software capabilities. Your support forums are a great starting place for troubleshooting. I'm thinking more in terms of feature tutorials.

Jesse C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good POS but needs to grow with new fuctionality

Reviewed on 8/11/2016

PHP Point of Sale is a good web based and mobile software that matches well for small and midsize businesses. While the interface is clean and intuitive, the integration features to any major eCommerce platform is non-existent. We use PHP Point of Sale for our brick-n-mortar store, but have to maintain separate inventory from our online ecommerce solution which requires extra time and manpower. I recommend you throughly test the PHP Point of Sale application and see if it meets our needs. I'd like to see more features and functionality deployed and tested at a faster rate. The updates are far and few between. I would recommend to small businesses. When you're at the point of 1000+ skus and you're business grows, you made need to re-evaluate your business needs.

Pros

Interface (Clean and Concise)
Great IPad App / Mobile
Useful Features

Cons

No integration with BigCommerce, Shopify, Magento, or Woocommerce at this time
Product Import (SKU's) need to be enhanced

Charlie B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool for the price. It streamlined the worst bottleneck at the shop.

Reviewed on 17/4/2018

It streamlined customer checkout by allowing us to open a second (or third) register during busy times. For event days, we grabbed a deposit bag and a smartphone or tablet to take care of registration while the main desk remained our standard cash register setup. It saved a lot of time and confusion.

Pros

PHP POS is easy to use once the initial setup is done. I could train someone to use it in a matter of minutes, as opposed to a couple of hours on our old system. It also allows easy lookup of products and sales receipts as well as offering a variety of report formats.

Cons

The initial setup on our server took a little bit of effort. Also the cash-in-till tracking wasn't working for all registered users. (That could have been a configuration error on my part, though. . . still haven't figured it out.)

Sophia W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Absolutely Amazing Point of Sale

Reviewed on 2/1/2019

Phenomenal; and that's not hyperbolic at all. We are in the process of opening two more retail businesses and know for certain we will use PHP Point of Sale for each of them when we are ready to open. By far the easiest part of setting up a retail shop is dealing with the folks at PHP Point of Sale. Thank you for all the help getting started!

Pros

Support: Their support team is incredible! They go above and beyond what we expected.
Ease of Setup: Our systems administrator said she loved getting this up and running and that getting set up with WooCommerce was simple.
Ease of Use: Straight forward and well documented when you run into any snags. We had our Point of Sale up and running well before the slow credit card processing companies even thought about helping us.

Cons

Bitcoin Support: Quite literally the only negative I can think of is not being able to accept bitcoin payments (although, you can still tag them as cash sales if you prefer). It would just be nice to have that integrated natively, but it's really not a deal breaker.

Corey H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use and customize for my business needs.

Reviewed on 20/4/2018

Pros

This software is easy to start using, and offers a lot of features that I use everyday. The inventory management system is great to see what is in stock and what needs to be reordered. The customer system provides everything I need to manage my customer base and provide loyalty rewards. The ability to access the software from anywhere helps a lot when I am out and about.

Cons

Recently, the barcode label system was reverted back to the old system. I appreciated the ability to skip labels on the barcode sheet, as sometimes my batch printing would reuse partially printed sheets. I would like to see the option to skip labels added back into barcode sheet printing.

Lolah K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

anyone one can use with minimal training

Reviewed on 18/11/2016

Our costume store has a high volume of customers at Halloween .We appreciate the easy use of php point of sale making it a great software for new team members to learn quickly. We have been able features we like and as our business has grown over the last 4 years use other features as our business has expanded.

Pros

eazy use

Cons

layby funtion confusing and cant change the daily balance because of it
can not see what sales person is using it. unless you sign out .then sign back in .

Roman G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PHP POS - super!

Reviewed on 19/11/2016

Five years ago, he met with this software. Install, configure, translated into Russian, very satisfied.
Translated by Google.

Pros

Ease of installation and configuration. Very reliable system. Easy stores and processes all of my sales for all time. For five years in the base more than 15,000 products and more than 130 thousand sales. If I need to analyze the sale, such as the categories of goods, or to withdraw all the goods sold for the year, the system is not choking, and provides the necessary data.
Translated by Google

Peter W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I was lost until I found you...

Reviewed on 17/11/2016

I recently took over a bicycle repair shop from my old boss, he was pretty old skool. The cash register was a glorified calculator, record keeping was basically non-existent.
I was seeking to modernize the operation somewhat, after pulling my hair out searching for straightforward non-cloud non-subscription based POS software I finally found PHP PoS.
It's been great.
Additionally, the support is incredible. When I make errors because I'm doing things I shouldn't be the *free* support saves my ass, every time.

Pros

Non-cloud based. No subscription.
UI is reasonably easy to use and understand.
Cross platform A++++ I can't stress how fantastic this is. I really really don't want my pos software chained to a particular propriety platform.

Cons

Inability to create 'work orders' which would be more appropriate to my business of making repairs, making due with suspended sales works but is less than ideal.

Sam L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Customer Service

Reviewed on 5/11/2018

Pros

We were blown away by the speed, professionalism and friendly demeanor of our phone technician that resolved our local host connectivity issues. He was able to back up our entire POS database and get the software updated and back online in just half an hour. This inspired us to recommend the software to other businesses and remain with the company in the forseable future.

Cons

Overall, there are no cons. The software is very user friendly and efficient.

Vladimir D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really amazing POS system

Reviewed on 17/11/2016

I was working in Excel for about 5 years, my XLS file was 120 MB large and it became really difficult to maintain it, especially for working with clients, I had an impression to be in 90s'.

During all this time I was looking for a POS system that could satisfy my needs and finally I found PHP Point of Sale.

In one word - Amazing !

Easy to use, has everything you need + any kind of reports, easy to integrate or to modify code if needed and support is really good.

PHP Point of Sale is way better than any other POS systems that I tested before.

If you are looking for POS system, spend 1-3 H on understanding PHP Point of Sale system logic and after that you will just LOVE it!

Pros

Easy to use
Code is free to be modified
Good support

Erastus K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly recommended!

Reviewed on 29/11/2016

I needed a web based POS solution that would run on any platform and I found PHP Point of Sale by searching the web. I decided to try it because the price was within my budget and I can tell you this software has not disappointed! It is really easy to install, configure and operate. We use it to sell jewellery and it helps us track sales and inventory. I'd recommend to anyone looking for an intuitive and practical POS software.

Pros

It is easy to use

Cons

Does not interface with our accounting software.

Neil S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Outstanding Customer Support

Reviewed on 24/1/2019

SUPERB!
Had some issues (of our own making whilst changing a server) and CSR stepped in to help and sorted the problem out through some technical advice and then stepped in to effect some remedial works that were beyond my capabilities. Resolved the problem quickly and we're very grateful. Thanks

Pros

Easy to use and does exactly what we need it to do

Cons

I can honestly say we can't fault it at all.

Denise H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It Works for Glow

Reviewed on 8/11/2016

I was looking for an uncomplicated POS system for my store. When buying the business I received the previous owners POS and it was good but much more then what I needed. My computer crashed and because of that I decided to look for a simpler system which is your POS. One of the main things that I miss from the other POS and wish you had is a complete end of the day report. We have to do our end of day cash drawer report on paper because it doesn't include the credit cards, checks, and gift cards. I can see the totals on the dashboard but would make it much easier to have those items listed with the cash report.

Pros

Already shared on previous page but add that I like the page for questions and you've answered numerous ones through that.

Cons

Already shared on previous page

Mushtaque H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Import & Export
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best multi location point of sale software that is very fast and easy to manage

Reviewed on 24/4/2018

Pros

Reports can be checked anytime from anywhere.
PHP point of sales can be used on any device like mobile or tablet pcs
PHP point of sales provides best User interface for fast sales handling and with tons of options

Cons

Mysql needs to be properly optimized to get fast speed. If mysql is not optimized performance is very slow.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very good and versatile. Good support.

Reviewed on 19/4/2018

point of sale and credit and debit card purchasing made very easy, sale takes place very quickly and customer does not have to wait for dial thru and connection before sale is approved or denied.

Pros

platform is very portable. I am able to use computer, phone and tablet. Easyt to log on and log off. Able to add users, and access a variety of customer records.

Cons

reports could be better. Many reports concern distributors and input of product dates and money. Would like more reports regarding interaction with customners that could help boost repeat business and help with customer interactions at point of sale.

Henry M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Customizable. Integral part of my businesses success.

Reviewed on 29/11/2016

I've been using this as the install yourself version for for almost 6 years and have been able to develop the software to suit my specific needs. Running the PHP Point Of Sale software was one of the key reasons why my business has been successful.

Pros

Able to install on local server

Cons

A little difficult to upgrade after modification

Paul F.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

EASY to install easy to use

Reviewed on 17/4/2018

Pros

Graphic design and functionality very easy to use daily for any type of user who can be web friendly or not

Cons

Cannot manage custom products
They should plan to add attributes to products. They should also add custom options on each product

Josh B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Bang for the Buck

Reviewed on 15/11/2016

It does what it's supposed to, plain and simple. Especially for small businesses who don't need the complexity or cost of something like Quick Books POS, PHP POS handles all the common tasks needed to run the day to day operations of a retail store front. We even recommend PHP POS to our business clients looking for a POS solution!

Antony P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bike Energy Lab review

Reviewed on 8/11/2016

Purchased 2 years ago. Fits our needs perfectly and customer service has vastly exceed our expectations

Pros

Ease of use and simplicity. Good value. Fits our business workflow

Cons

Could use a tiny bit more customization. E.g. I'd like to print Category field for items on Sales invoices