Matillion

4.3 (107)
Extract, transform, load platform for cloud data warehouses

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(107)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

91%
recommended this app
Sort by

107 Reviews

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best ELT tool on the market

Reviewed on 31/8/2021

Matillion is the single most important piece of software I use on a day-to-day basis. Its' ability to blend a ton of out-of-the-box functionality with the ability to script custom components in Python to author our own integrations is invaluable. It has enabled us to build transformed data within our warehouse, use pre-authored integrations to pull data from vendors, write our own integrations to pull from vendors, and is the single tool we use along with Redshift to provide visibility to all of the data within our business. I am a huge fan of Matillion and have used it in 2 different orgs. It is one of the only software tools I will champion across any org I move to.

Pros

-Extremely easy deployment with cloud formation template.
-Excellent pre-authored integrations that are easily extensible/customizable.
-Easy to use UI to build complex transformations.
-Extremely flexible logic with static and grid variables to intelligently execute jobs and branch as needed.

Cons

-No automated scheduling based on dependent table updates. (This is possible to set up, but not out of the box.)
-Support SLAs have gotten worse over time.

Alternatives Considered

Pentaho, AWS Glue and Fivetran
Graham
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use solution, allowing rapid delivery of ELT processes

Reviewed on 14/6/2019

We came to Matillion while looking for a tool that would allow us to orchestrate our load processes for Amazon Redshift. We'd used other ETL tools previously, were blown away by how easy it was to pick up and understand Matillion. We liked the simplicity, and the fact that we could always dig into the SQL that was generated. New features are added frequently, and we usually find one or two improvements that directly impact us with each release.

Their support team are also very responsive, and Matillion are always keen to help you get the most out of their software, so there's a lot of support if you want it.

2+ years later, and we're using Matillion to run all our ELT jobs across various data warehouse projects, and very happy with it.

Pros

- Very intuitive design environment - super quick to learn.
- Components map closely to SQL capabilities in Redshift.
- Easy to view the SQL generated.
- Sample, row count, and data lineage make it easy to unit test as you build.
- Powerful management options via REST API (orchestration, Github integration, etc.).
- Native AWS integration.
- Aggressive release cycle, constantly adding new features.
- Easy to document in-workflow.
- Lots of third party integrations.

Cons

- User concurrency/licencing model (simple, but can't be customised to fit your need).
- Exception handling could be improved.
- A single Task View would be helpful for multi-environment/project support.

Alternatives Considered

Alteryx Designer

Reasons for Switching to Matillion

Simplicity, and the fact that Matillion was built specifically for Redshift, meant it was ideal for our needs.
Roger
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Responsive to User Needs

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Gets better and better with each release. Keep up the good work!

Pros

I've been using Matillion for about 2 and a half years. I've seen the software improve so much in that time. If I ever found a feature to be lacking, it would be included within the next couple release cycles. The software really seems to adapt as user needs have been evolving. Some of my favorite recent features are the ability to configure some components with just text (really saves me time) and the many Grid orchestration components which allow me to greatly reduce the complexity of the orchestration jobs.

Cons

UX is sometimes lacking or inconsistent. For example, let's say my goal is to replace an existing job with a new job of the same name. I delete the old job, and import the new one with the same name. All Orchestration components that used that job will understand to use the new job, but for some reason the scheduler doesn't.
Also, jobs will have validation errors simply because the components haven't been validated (grey borders). It can be confusing because you may be searching for an error in your work when all you actually have to do is revalidate the job.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great for pipelining data to warehouse/lake, not getting it back

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

It was easy to get set up, and it worked great for pushing data into Snowflake as a data warehouse. However, we quickly realized that we would need yet another tool to get the data back out to the source systems to synchronize/integrate it. We could sort of do it with Matillion, but it required a lot of custom programming and was not very intuitive. We ended up using a different iPaaS tool that could handle traffic/integration in both directions.

Pros

It is extremely fast and easy to pull data from various sources and pipe it into Snowflake. The graphic interface lets this happen without programming.

Cons

There is almost no ability to get data back from your warehouse into the other systems to synchronize the data. It's great to have it all in the warehouse, but it seems pretty critical to have that data flowing back to other systems that are part of your environment.

The pricing model is frustrating. You are billed for when the machine instance is ON, not when it is actively doing something. So, if you have a couple hours of job that run in a day, you have to shut down the machine to save money the rest of the day. With it shut down, development can't happen. So, we had to turn it on and off all the time. It would be much better if they billed as it is used, not as it is on.

Alternatives Considered

SSIS Data Flow Components

Reasons for Switching to Matillion

Matillion was written for Snowflake, which is our preferred solution over MS SQL Server.
Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A good tool for large-scale ETL into Cloud Data Warehouses

Reviewed on 26/8/2021

We're able to rapidly load large amounts of data into Snowflake and schedule any SQL tasks to run against snowflake.

Pros

Web-based, Runs in AWS so it can sit close to your data if you're using a cloud warehouse. You only have to pay per minute that you have the instance on which is a BIG plus.

Cons

Not nearly as many features and user-friendly data transformation tools as a competing software such as Alteryx has. As such, this tool is not as convenient or flexible for detailed data transformations. We mostly use it for bulk loading which it is very fast and good at.

Alternatives Considered

Fivetran

Reasons for Choosing Matillion

We still use Alteryx for detailed ETL tasks, but Matillion is way faster for bulk loading operations into Snowflake. If Matillion could build out more data transformation tools then we may consider switching entirely.

Switched From

Alteryx Designer

Reasons for Switching to Matillion

Cost is based on how much data you're processing vs. how much time you are using the server. This means fivetran is not cost effective for bulk loading tasks.
John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Just started using Matillion this week

Reviewed on 31/8/2021

Overall experience with Matillion has been great. The first call with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] set the tone of who and what Matillion can offer our company. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was kind, not pushy, relatable, and truly tried to understand our use case.
[SENSITIVE CONTENT] really sold us on proceeding with a demo after sharing some of the functionality of the MDL tool available for free in AWS marketplace. While we very much could simply use the free tool, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] helped us understand why we should consider the full product.
Finally, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was a great account rep to work with. Before our first call he had looked up our company and understood our business (which is not easy to do). We are in a sensitive are of health care and [SENSITIVE CONTENT] opened up and shared a personal story relating to the line of work we are in. Other companies/products we looked into and has calls with did not take the time to understand our business or empathize with our customers.
The personal touch from the above folks was a nice addition to the great product Matillion offers.

Pros

Matillion is incredibly easy to deploy in AWS. In addition, the security and compliance aspects are all handled on the customer side due to the deployment method.

The UI is easy to use and the price point was the most competitive.

Cons

We haven't used it enough to encounter negative aspects yet but having to pay for the full amount of time the VM is up is going to be cost prohibitive for our small team.

Alternatives Considered

Adverity, Segment, Fivetran, Stitch Labs and Integrate.io

Reasons for Switching to Matillion

We chose Matillion over these other providers for the following reasons: - Cost (pay as you go is helpful for us to grow into the product) - Scalability - Compliance/Security - Integrations and the ability to connect to an API if the integration doesn't exist - The personal touch from the Matillion reps who we worked with
Erick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Matillion Review

Reviewed on 14/6/2019

Matillion is a great out of the box product with minimal requirements. You spin the machine up, allow your database's firewall to communicate with Matillion. Start creating jobs, schedule them, and sit back. It helps you focus on visualizing your data.

Pros

It is a pay for what you use type of software. Most other ETL platforms are a flat monthly fee, sometimes at crazy prices. The pay for what you use model makes it easy to justify cost to leadership. You can schedule jobs to make sure you maximize your time.

Cons

The user experience feels a little dated. Some things could be better displayed/ explained.

Reasons for Switching to Matillion

The simple price model, out of the box features, and direct load to Big Query made the decision for our ETL. Others offered similar feature but at extremely steep prices. Although they might have looked better visually the functionalities were there, but the pricing was not.
Alexander
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Efficiency!

Reviewed on 14/6/2019

Satisfied!

Pros

The collection of components; especially the integration components that hook into a very popular CRM and another quite popular ERP.

Cons

The python component. Depending on the box where your instance is hosted, this component will drag along like a broken train or move at the speed of shooting star.

Marcus Vinícius
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Matillion Usability

Reviewed on 5/7/2019

I really like Matillion ETL but I was a bit disappointed with some of its limitations and quirks, like when Twitter updated his API all my jobs stopped working and the only thing I could do was develop everything again without using the Matillion component.

When I was trying to make upsert procedures on RDS Databases, I was thrilled that the Matillion component has that option, bit it simply didn't work. It seems like these functionalities haven't got the same attention of the others, I contacted the Matillion support which is simply great and these things are still going to be fixed.

When I wanted specific libraries of Python, I couldn't get it working on my instance because pip was out of date and it couldn't be updated. I tried to update and I messed up with my instance.

Overall, Matillion is great, when you're creating a flow of data migration and you need to parse the data before and do some automations, but there are some cases when you need something a little more specific, that's when it becomes a pain.

Pros

The ease to use, Matillion has a great set of tools that make complex and difficult process more simple and fast to develop.

Cons

There are many tools in Matillion that doesn't have enough attention and because of that these tools are fragile, while some of them do not work.

Ajay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most effective Cloud Based Data Integration And Transformation Platform

Reviewed on 8/7/2022

Amazing ETL options.

Pros

The platform is very user-friendly since it is based on drag and drop functions it makes the whole process easy and can be done by anyone. It is the best option since it is based on pay as you go so we can pay as much as we use. This has saved me a lot of money.

Cons

There are no negatives I have noted till now all the services are top-notch and up to the industry mark. This has helped a lot of engineers and businesses transform and automate their data.

Sandeep
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Need on the fly connectivity to different instance of Redshift

Reviewed on 14/6/2019

Pros

I like the bunch of API integrated in Matillion it helps me to directly grab the data from different sources without manually extra and import in my database.

Cons

I am using Matillion for Redshift from last more than 2 years. When i setup a project in Matillion with connection to a Redshift cluster, sometimes there is a need to extract the data from other instance of Redshift while running job in Matillion. In that case there is straight forward way of getting the data from other instance of Redshift like you have comments to extract the data from databases like SQL Server, Oracle etc. instead of first i need to run another job by connection second Redshift cluster and extract the records after that run different job to load the extracted records from S3 to main Redshift cluster.

Bruce
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Matillion - orchestrating complex ELT for analytics

Reviewed on 8/7/2019

Our business requires us to ingest large amounts of data from customers on a frequent basis. Once typical ELT has been performed, we create customized data stores which are used in a variety of ways including modeling, machine learning and a SaaS front end. Matillion has been instrumental in our ability to move this processing from file systems to Big Query where our performance has moved from days to hours.

Pros

- Provides great framework for visualizing complex queries with business users that are not SQL savvy
- Logical flow of Transformation builder allowed quick transformation from file based to database based ELT
- Just works! We have had very few issues with the tool over the 2 years I have been using it.

Cons

- Would like a more robust scheduler
- Would like built-in messaging (e.g. for job failures/success) to be able to email out. This is not provided in the version for Big Query that we are running on GCS.
- Better source code control (at the transformation/orchestration level, rather than the whole project)
- Always could use additional documentation in how to use some of the more complex parts of Matillion.

KOTESWAR RAO
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Matillion_Koti_Feedback

Reviewed on 24/6/2019

I like working on matillion , but this tool can be made more flexible by providing some of the additional features.

Pros

1) Most of the components are user friendly.
2) Development of ETL orchestrations and transformation consumes less time.
3) Advanced features are available in some of the components makes the complex scenarios achievable.

Cons

1) OAuth document does not provide the details of proper permissions and access levels on account_id or client_id which are required for a connector.
2) Differentiation of naming convention of metrics between the console and matillion data model , mapping document of these naming conventions is not available.
3) Connector for Outbrain is not available.
4) Indirect file loading concept is not available , for example if we have five files with same structure , reg ex can not be used to load all files in a single component(s3 load,s3 put or excel)
and need to use the file iterator.
5) Loss of properties when the component configuration is changed from Basic to Advanced features , ideally the component should include all the properties of basic and then additional setting should be provided.

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Matillion for Data Engineers

Reviewed on 28/6/2019

An easy to use tool that has allowed me to build a fully automated data warehouse to report to the business, it was easy to learn and implement, and as difficult as SQL to master. I think the real complexity comes from optimising complex workflows, the more T you need in the ETL/ELT process, the more Matillion falls down. This being said it is a very good tool for 90% of your work.

Pros

It is easy to use and quick to get started, there are many inbuilt APIs and transformations that integrate it across a broad suite of systems, and enable you to transform data for the business without having to spend too much time thinking about scripts or bespoke batch files.

Cons

The filter transformer is pretty minimal considering the power of the SQL it is utilising, it cannot use compound logic or reference other columns/objects in the query.
There is also optimisation issues in very complex workspaces.
Both of these have easy to use workarounds but it is unfortunate it is not supported more at surface level.

Francis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Matillion is an Easy To Leverage (ETL) solution!

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Pros

- Easy to orchestrate an ETL pipeline
- Integration with Redshift and other AWS services provides convenience
- Support team is easy to reach and have relatively quick response times
- They also support the other 2 popular cloud data warehouses, Snowflake and BigQuery
- Some components are available out to the box for easy integration
- Task history is useful for debugging and monitoring current state of ETL pipelines
- A GUI is provided for implementing complicated workflows, that can be easily followed

Cons

- Since it's mainly GUI based, it becomes difficult for data engineers to compare changes between old and new versions of an ETL.
- There are hard limitations for the number of concurrent users. This is part of the pricing model which is the reason.
- Integration with GIT is not yet available but we heard that it would be coming in the near future.

Despina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MELT

Reviewed on 14/6/2019

Pros

Easy to learn and use. The knowledge from other products is transferable. The documentation is amazing (one probably cannot understand how good without the experience). Support is always available and of good quality.

Cons

There is no restart-from-point-of-failure option for failed loads. Everything has to start from scratch or remaining jobs need to be run manually.

Susan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Matillion when used with Google BigQuery

Reviewed on 21/6/2019

We are now using Matillion as our TL tool to load into our Google Data Lake which will be the source of all our BI reporting data (replacing SQL servers).
Matillion is easy to install (Google Marketplace, one click build), easy to use initially, sometimes lacks a few specialist bits (usually around new things in the Google estate), but theses can be overcome by using scripts or sql statements and I am sure some will become components in their own right.
Matillion support is very good - I usually get a response within the hour

Pros

From an engineers point of view one of the selling points for Matillion (apart from the absolute simplicity of use - at least to start with) is that it produces its own documentation !!

Cons

Sometimes the error messages can be confusing , but this is often down to the messages coming from BigQuery.

Its also not always obvious that it is producing SQL statement 'under the hood' and that can mean breaking sql statement size limits without realising it

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Agile Data Engineering

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

We use Matillion to produce highly curated datasets for customers. Matillion has allowed us to move this workload entirely into the data warehouse where the final work product lives, and cut processing time from days to hours.

Pros

Matillion allowed us to move a legacy ETL pipeline to BigQuery with speed, precision, and confidence. It is now used exclusively by our team for all of our ELT needs. The user interface is clean, intuitive, and allows members of the team to be immediately productive. Onboarding new users has never been easier.

Cons

Feature parity between the different flavors (Redshift, Snowflake, BigQuery) is lacking, however, Matillion continues to make progress in narrowing the gap.

Vipul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Vipul Chona - Matillion Review

Reviewed on 3/9/2021

Pros

ease of use! someone with little code knowledge can come in and understand what's going on, it's very easy to follow along and see the transformation step by step

Cons

API connectors could be better. Could be more available, and a little more ease of use (especially with the endpoint mapping)

Alternatives Considered

Fivetran
Ravi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Review of Matillion as ETL cloud Engineer

Reviewed on 8/7/2019

It was great working as well learning experience , hope Matillion will come up as industry leader.

Pros

Matillion integration with AWS services is flawless and has real time impact in batch jobs pulling data from on-premises to cloud platform.

Cons

Restricting the number of user can access Matillion, Lot's of time huge data set get stuck and fail with many other issues lastly better full log specifically for Developer to debug the issues.

Nels
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Matillion Review

Reviewed on 21/6/2019

Our experience with Matillion has been great. We've used to greatly improve and automate our data intake and transformation process.

Pros

I appreciate the ease of use of the tool. It is very simple and intuitive to build data pipelines using Matillion.

Cons

It's necessary to perform out own server maintenance to support the tool, which isn't too difficult, but can be a pain at times. If this were a hosted solution that would be easier.

Alternatives Considered

Fivetran and Stitch Labs

Reasons for Switching to Matillion

Price and ease of configuration and use
Luke
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great data tool!

Reviewed on 3/9/2021

Great. Good customer service, quality product.

Pros

Makes for very fast development with lots of built in connectors. Visual layout of complex data pipelines is a big plus.

Cons

Out of memory errors. We use this for a lot of production applications. After 1 year of trying to fix OOM errors and doubling our instance size, we still get them monthly. I love matillion but I wish it were more reliable.

The billing structure contributes to the problem as well. We can't run matillion on a big instance without significantly increasing our licensing fees. I wish they were independant.

Edward
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Geographically disparate data to the cloud in 3 days flat

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Piping and transformation billions of rows of data from geographically dispersed machines into Snowflake

Pros

* If you've done any type of ETL work before, this will be a breeze. If you haven't it might take a few hours as opposed to minutes to get up and running
* The trial is full featured, get started today without waiting
* The software is on a EC2 instance in your own VPC in AWS. If you have company policies for how/where data can be processed -- you have complete control
* You can pay by the hour or the year, no hassle no fuss!

If you do encounter an issue the support organization is amazing. All questions were answered the same day, many within the hour.

Cons

More examples to work through on the transformation components would be helpful, but again... it's pretty easy

Alternatives Considered

Fivetran
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Matillion Review

Reviewed on 14/6/2019

We're using Matillion for all the ETL in our environement: 3000 employees, around 500 BI users, around 30 different systems that we connected to. We were able to switch some existing jobs from Talend and create a whole lot more in just 6 minutes.

Pros

+ Fast & easy to use
+ Completely embedded into AWS environement
+ Comes light, it's not overloaded with stuff no one uses
+ Some really innovative features

Cons

- Sometimes feels like not "fully under control", e.g. when a component runs into an OutOfMemory, the whole environement crashes. And there are different ways to trigger that...
- Scheduling overview could be more sophisticated, it's kind of hard to have a proper overview there
- Variable handling seems sometimes to be a bit difficult, e.g. when setting it in one process, it's not always set in sub-jobs
- In some cases, one can see that Matillion is still "under development": Same features are available in some components, but are missing in others

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great ETL product

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Pros

Matillion is very intuitive.
The GUI is easy to use and fairly easy to learn.
The support team is great and they respond to your questions quickly.
I like how the Matillion team is frequently looking to add new functionality and features. The new keyword search functionality is very helpful.

Cons

Matillion works great extracting data from a variety of databases and is very efficient unloading onto S3 or Amazon Redshift. However, when we attempted to use it to unload large datasets to Microsoft SQL Server it was very slow and we experienced performance issues.