Matillion

4.3 (108)
Extract, transform, load platform for cloud data warehouses

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(108)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

91%
recommended this app
Sort by

108 Reviews

Edward
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Geographically disparate data to the cloud in 3 days flat

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Piping and transformation billions of rows of data from geographically dispersed machines into Snowflake

Pros

* If you've done any type of ETL work before, this will be a breeze. If you haven't it might take a few hours as opposed to minutes to get up and running
* The trial is full featured, get started today without waiting
* The software is on a EC2 instance in your own VPC in AWS. If you have company policies for how/where data can be processed -- you have complete control
* You can pay by the hour or the year, no hassle no fuss!

If you do encounter an issue the support organization is amazing. All questions were answered the same day, many within the hour.

Cons

More examples to work through on the transformation components would be helpful, but again... it's pretty easy

Alternatives Considered

Fivetran
Sandeep
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Need on the fly connectivity to different instance of Redshift

Reviewed on 14/6/2019

Pros

I like the bunch of API integrated in Matillion it helps me to directly grab the data from different sources without manually extra and import in my database.

Cons

I am using Matillion for Redshift from last more than 2 years. When i setup a project in Matillion with connection to a Redshift cluster, sometimes there is a need to extract the data from other instance of Redshift while running job in Matillion. In that case there is straight forward way of getting the data from other instance of Redshift like you have comments to extract the data from databases like SQL Server, Oracle etc. instead of first i need to run another job by connection second Redshift cluster and extract the records after that run different job to load the extracted records from S3 to main Redshift cluster.

Maksymilian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Scaling with Matillion

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

The experience is very positive at the beginning but as the project grows and there are more and more workloads and data being processed Matillion starts to become a bottleneck.

Pros

It is very easy to implement features and changes to existing workload. It is very good for creating POCs

Cons

It is not scalable and has numerous limitations. Concurrency setting for Matillion limits the possibility of using it for multiple warehouses. It is highly insufficient when executing commands parallel and does not utilise the resources to it's full potential.
The environment limitation is also very problematic when trying to scale.

KOTESWAR RAO
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Matillion_Koti_Feedback

Reviewed on 24/6/2019

I like working on matillion , but this tool can be made more flexible by providing some of the additional features.

Pros

1) Most of the components are user friendly.
2) Development of ETL orchestrations and transformation consumes less time.
3) Advanced features are available in some of the components makes the complex scenarios achievable.

Cons

1) OAuth document does not provide the details of proper permissions and access levels on account_id or client_id which are required for a connector.
2) Differentiation of naming convention of metrics between the console and matillion data model , mapping document of these naming conventions is not available.
3) Connector for Outbrain is not available.
4) Indirect file loading concept is not available , for example if we have five files with same structure , reg ex can not be used to load all files in a single component(s3 load,s3 put or excel)
and need to use the file iterator.
5) Loss of properties when the component configuration is changed from Basic to Advanced features , ideally the component should include all the properties of basic and then additional setting should be provided.

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Matillion for Data Engineers

Reviewed on 28/6/2019

An easy to use tool that has allowed me to build a fully automated data warehouse to report to the business, it was easy to learn and implement, and as difficult as SQL to master. I think the real complexity comes from optimising complex workflows, the more T you need in the ETL/ELT process, the more Matillion falls down. This being said it is a very good tool for 90% of your work.

Pros

It is easy to use and quick to get started, there are many inbuilt APIs and transformations that integrate it across a broad suite of systems, and enable you to transform data for the business without having to spend too much time thinking about scripts or bespoke batch files.

Cons

The filter transformer is pretty minimal considering the power of the SQL it is utilising, it cannot use compound logic or reference other columns/objects in the query.
There is also optimisation issues in very complex workspaces.
Both of these have easy to use workarounds but it is unfortunate it is not supported more at surface level.

Francis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Matillion is an Easy To Leverage (ETL) solution!

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Pros

- Easy to orchestrate an ETL pipeline
- Integration with Redshift and other AWS services provides convenience
- Support team is easy to reach and have relatively quick response times
- They also support the other 2 popular cloud data warehouses, Snowflake and BigQuery
- Some components are available out to the box for easy integration
- Task history is useful for debugging and monitoring current state of ETL pipelines
- A GUI is provided for implementing complicated workflows, that can be easily followed

Cons

- Since it's mainly GUI based, it becomes difficult for data engineers to compare changes between old and new versions of an ETL.
- There are hard limitations for the number of concurrent users. This is part of the pricing model which is the reason.
- Integration with GIT is not yet available but we heard that it would be coming in the near future.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great ETL product

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Pros

Matillion is very intuitive.
The GUI is easy to use and fairly easy to learn.
The support team is great and they respond to your questions quickly.
I like how the Matillion team is frequently looking to add new functionality and features. The new keyword search functionality is very helpful.

Cons

Matillion works great extracting data from a variety of databases and is very efficient unloading onto S3 or Amazon Redshift. However, when we attempted to use it to unload large datasets to Microsoft SQL Server it was very slow and we experienced performance issues.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Great Cloud-based Tool

Reviewed on 5/7/2019

I like it overall. It is easy to quickly learn and get up to speed. It is made to work in the environment I'm working in (AWS) and has a nice, clean browser-based interface to build and schedule jobs in EC2. Email-based support is responsive. However, I sometimes feel it is too expensive compared to alternatives for the value it adds and the ELT model, while beneficial in many ways, hamstrings the component feature-set.

Pros

Well integrated with AWS. Great browser-based interface. Develop in the same place where the code will run, as opposed to other solutions I use that develop in Windows and run in Linux. Easy to schedule.

Cons

I have mixed feelings on the overall value. The hourly rate really adds up over time. This is probably my biggest misgiving. Otherwise, I sometimes get frustrated with the ELT model because it means if the feature you need isn't supported within Redshift, it's up to you to create Python scripts or Bash scripts to enable it.

Sandeep
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SalesLoft Matillion for Data Warehouse

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Evaluating an ETL tool is quite a challenge. With a wide variety of options in the market, it is difficult to know where to start. We shortlisted three different ETL tools based on the capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification to name a few most important criteria. With a very intuitive development interface, Matillion ETL for Redshift came out as a winner.

Pros

Quick development capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification, customer support to name a few

Cons

Wish to see Matillion having Github control

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A good solution for a one man data shop

Reviewed on 20/6/2019

In the scope of a sole user, it's a very powerful tool. One can get a production ETL job up and running in hours starting from scratch. After a while, it's pretty hard to figure what is where and if more than one user contributes to the flows it can be painful to understand changes.

Pros

Easy to learn
Visual interface
Pretty reliable

Cons

Version control
Search
Explaining dependencies

Vipul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Vipul Chona - Matillion Review

Reviewed on 3/9/2021

Pros

ease of use! someone with little code knowledge can come in and understand what's going on, it's very easy to follow along and see the transformation step by step

Cons

API connectors could be better. Could be more available, and a little more ease of use (especially with the endpoint mapping)

Alternatives Considered

Fivetran
Oliver
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fast track to results

Reviewed on 14/6/2019

Very helpful support which takes care of all our problems, especially with "stupid" beginner questions.

Pros

Very easy to use and very easy to get results. Fast implementation cycles compared to other tools. Best is to loop over variables which enables simple but powerful solutions.

Cons

Sometimes more flexibilty on specific tasks, e.g. Excel import or csv.

Dana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Matillion is working great!

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

We are using Matillion to pull API JSON data from various systems and push that data into Snowflake. Matillion is working rock solid.

Pros

I don't have to babysit the software. Using automation and integration with AWS, I can get messages if there are issues with any orchestration jobs.

Cons

Getting the API pulls working was a little clunky, but it came together relatively quickly utilizing Matillion's support. Their support team is fantastic!

Ryan Allen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Matillion for BigQuery - United HealthGroup Data Engineer Review

Reviewed on 12/7/2019

Very useful tool. If you're looking for a tool for your analytics data warehouse which is fast, convenient and easy to learn, then this is the tool for you

Pros

Its very easy to learn. The UI is great and easy to navigate. It utilized the ELT approach which makes the data integration fast. Security and access control is well implemented and there are a lot of components to use.

Cons

Its a one way ETL, I'm using the BigQuery product and all the destination are in BigQuery, it would also be nice if we can load data to the sources.

Chaitanya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple and easy ELT

Reviewed on 14/6/2019

Very nice. Easy and simple tool. Yet a lot possible with python scripting feature.

Pros

Integration with GCP API calls and cloud storage.
Easy of access from anywhere.
Self documentation.
Customer service.
Automatic updates.

Cons

Failure capture process.
Any changes made not needing to be saved. Accidental changes are considered saved at click of the button.
No front end customisation available to distinguish between different environments. Having to use 3rd party add ons.

Christoph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Solution that works fine for almost all applications

Reviewed on 1/7/2019

If you really use your data and work on a daily basis with your data warehouse you should consider using Matillion. We had no downtimes and the service is brilliant. We connected all of our data sources and it works really well. But it got its price. Compared to other solutions the pricing is good for growing businesses.

Pros

Connectivity
Really good customer service
Individual solutions if necessary
No downtimes
Hosted on Amazon

Cons

Pretty expensive
A bit hard to set up initially

Ellis
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very useful product

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Pros

The features and ease of use are good. The transformations act as a documentation for the self because of the readability.

Cons

The customer service is very poor. When they eventually respond to messages it is with an unhelpful response. Generally they will blame us for issues on their end, or they misunderstand the problem completely. It's not what we need from a tool

The paid training we took was also pretty basic

Jagdish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

User friendly and Advance connectors

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

I was developed around 20 to 50 mapping using Matillion and I don't see any difficulties right know.

Pros

User interface is very easy and any one can mange development things without too much of knowledge. Matillion have very content on official site and It help's a lot to make hands on on this tool.
In few click we can connect any database weather it is on premises or cloud. I have extracted data from different source system and loaded in to redshift in very easy and fast manner.

Cons

I don't see straight forward job Audit framework. Please try to build nice job monitoring and audit framework.

Vishant
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use features

Reviewed on 2/7/2019

Pros

Inbuild features to integrate with AWS s3, send SNS messages.

Cons

Readability should be more, ease to retain changes or navigate to environment variables should improve.

Karan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Matillion Review - Excellent overall

Reviewed on 16/7/2019

Pros

Ease of Use and excellent support which makes this software likely to use in comparison to other ELT tools.

Cons

Does not compatibility with Genetics connector like VCF or BAM

Indy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Matillion product review

Reviewed on 2/7/2019

Pros

Target based ETL application. Cloud Native.

Cons

I would prefer it to support multiple target DBs like SQL Server, Oracle, MySQL, Redshift, Snowflake.

Łukasz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect ELT Tools

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

ELT, daily basis extract of data and ad-hoc tasks

Pros

Workflow Layout and clarity of all components

Cons

Environment Management, licensing model

AnneLaure
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Yes but ..

Reviewed on 17/6/2019

Data transformation, data prep for python, data analysis

Pros

stable, close to SQL, integrated in AWS, fast

Cons

No data vizualisation (impossible to outpout the data directly in excel... )
Complicated to separate between orchestration in transformation

Amber
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Company

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

They have been a great company to work with. They are very transparent, quick to response, have awesome support and great training.

Pros

It's very easy to use, great training and support.

Cons

I don't have any cons. From start to end they have been great to work with.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Saved a lot of time

Reviewed on 23/6/2019

We have been using Matillion for constructing data tables for analytical purposes. It is a very handy tool for doing ETL.

Pros

Matillion provides a graphical representation of any SQL query. It helps with explaining what is going on, even to people that have never used SQL before (such as my CEO). It saves me a whole lot of time from writing SQL queries by hand. What I have achieved with Matillion, I don't think I could have done manually.

Cons

Interactions with external custom APIs can be a bit of a pain, but we've always managed to get there one way or another.