Matillion

4.3 (109)
Extract, transform, load platform for cloud data warehouses

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(109)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

91%
recommended this app
Sort by

109 Reviews

Edward
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Geographically disparate data to the cloud in 3 days flat

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Piping and transformation billions of rows of data from geographically dispersed machines into...

Piping and transformation billions of rows of data from geographically dispersed machines into Snowflake

Pros

* If you've done any type of ETL work before, this will be a breeze. If you haven't it might take a few hours as opposed to minutes to get up and running
* The trial is full featured, get started today without waiting
* The software is on a EC2 instance in your own VPC in AWS. If you have company policies for how/where data can be processed -- you have complete control
* You can pay by the hour or the year, no hassle no fuss!

If you do encounter an issue the support organization is amazing. All questions were answered the same day, many within the hour.

Cons

More examples to work through on the transformation components would be helpful, but again... it's pretty easy

Alternatives Considered

Fivetran
Sandeep
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Need on the fly connectivity to different instance of Redshift

Reviewed on 14/6/2019

Pros

I like the bunch of API integrated in Matillion it helps me to directly grab the data from different sources without manually extra and import in my database.

Cons

I am using Matillion for Redshift from last more than 2 years. When i setup a project in Matillion with connection to a Redshift cluster, sometimes there is a need to extract the data from other instance of Redshift while running job in Matillion. In that case there is straight forward way of getting the data from other instance of Redshift like you have comments to extract the data from databases like SQL Server, Oracle etc. instead of first i need to run another job by connection second Redshift cluster and extract the records after that run different job to load the extracted records from S3 to main Redshift cluster.

Maksymilian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Scaling with Matillion

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

The experience is very positive at the beginning but as the project grows and there are more and...

The experience is very positive at the beginning but as the project grows and there are more and more workloads and data being processed Matillion starts to become a bottleneck.

Pros

It is very easy to implement features and changes to existing workload. It is very good for creating POCs

Cons

It is not scalable and has numerous limitations. Concurrency setting for Matillion limits the possibility of using it for multiple warehouses. It is highly insufficient when executing commands parallel and does not utilise the resources to it's full potential.
The environment limitation is also very problematic when trying to scale.

KOTESWAR RAO
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Matillion_Koti_Feedback

Reviewed on 24/6/2019

I like working on matillion , but this tool can be made more flexible by providing some of the...

I like working on matillion , but this tool can be made more flexible by providing some of the additional features.

Pros

1) Most of the components are user friendly.
2) Development of ETL orchestrations and transformation consumes less time.
3) Advanced features are available in some of the components makes the complex scenarios achievable.

Cons

1) OAuth document does not provide the details of proper permissions and access levels on account_id or client_id which are required for a connector.
2) Differentiation of naming convention of metrics between the console and matillion data model , mapping document of these naming conventions is not available.
3) Connector for Outbrain is not available.
4) Indirect file loading concept is not available , for example if we have five files with same structure , reg ex can not be used to load all files in a single component(s3 load,s3 put or excel)
and need to use the file iterator.
5) Loss of properties when the component configuration is changed from Basic to Advanced features , ideally the component should include all the properties of basic and then additional setting should be provided.

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Matillion for Data Engineers

Reviewed on 28/6/2019

An easy to use tool that has allowed me to build a fully automated data warehouse to report to the...

An easy to use tool that has allowed me to build a fully automated data warehouse to report to the business, it was easy to learn and implement, and as difficult as SQL to master. I think the real complexity comes from optimising complex workflows, the more T you need in the ETL/ELT process, the more Matillion falls down. This being said it is a very good tool for 90% of your work.

Pros

It is easy to use and quick to get started, there are many inbuilt APIs and transformations that integrate it across a broad suite of systems, and enable you to transform data for the business without having to spend too much time thinking about scripts or bespoke batch files.

Cons

The filter transformer is pretty minimal considering the power of the SQL it is utilising, it cannot use compound logic or reference other columns/objects in the query.
There is also optimisation issues in very complex workspaces.
Both of these have easy to use workarounds but it is unfortunate it is not supported more at surface level.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great ETL product

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Pros

Matillion is very intuitive.
The GUI is easy to use and fairly easy to learn.
The support team is great and they respond to your questions quickly.
I like how the Matillion team is frequently looking to add new functionality and features. The new keyword search functionality is very helpful.

Cons

Matillion works great extracting data from a variety of databases and is very efficient unloading onto S3 or Amazon Redshift. However, when we attempted to use it to unload large datasets to Microsoft SQL Server it was very slow and we experienced performance issues.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Great Cloud-based Tool

Reviewed on 5/7/2019

I like it overall. It is easy to quickly learn and get up to speed. It is made to work in the...

I like it overall. It is easy to quickly learn and get up to speed. It is made to work in the environment I'm working in (AWS) and has a nice, clean browser-based interface to build and schedule jobs in EC2. Email-based support is responsive. However, I sometimes feel it is too expensive compared to alternatives for the value it adds and the ELT model, while beneficial in many ways, hamstrings the component feature-set.

Pros

Well integrated with AWS. Great browser-based interface. Develop in the same place where the code will run, as opposed to other solutions I use that develop in Windows and run in Linux. Easy to schedule.

Cons

I have mixed feelings on the overall value. The hourly rate really adds up over time. This is probably my biggest misgiving. Otherwise, I sometimes get frustrated with the ELT model because it means if the feature you need isn't supported within Redshift, it's up to you to create Python scripts or Bash scripts to enable it.

Sandeep
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SalesLoft Matillion for Data Warehouse

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Evaluating an ETL tool is quite a challenge. With a wide variety of options in the market, it is...

Evaluating an ETL tool is quite a challenge. With a wide variety of options in the market, it is difficult to know where to start. We shortlisted three different ETL tools based on the capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification to name a few most important criteria. With a very intuitive development interface, Matillion ETL for Redshift came out as a winner.

Pros

Quick development capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification, customer support to name a few

Cons

Wish to see Matillion having Github control

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Matillion Review

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Pros

Matillion is very easy to use. It's simplicity allows you to drag an drop components to easily create orchestrations. It also simple to create shared jobs and use the components.

Cons

Although there is a decent set of components, they are not very versatile, hence I end up using a SQL script instead. For example, the S3 unload component does not allow one to specify some criteria and some fields are mandatory whereas I would not have to specify such specific criteria when doing this from an SQL script.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A good solution for a one man data shop

Reviewed on 20/6/2019

In the scope of a sole user, it's a very powerful tool. One can get a production ETL job up and...

In the scope of a sole user, it's a very powerful tool. One can get a production ETL job up and running in hours starting from scratch. After a while, it's pretty hard to figure what is where and if more than one user contributes to the flows it can be painful to understand changes.

Pros

Easy to learn
Visual interface
Pretty reliable

Cons

Version control
Search
Explaining dependencies

Susan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Matillion when used with Google BigQuery

Reviewed on 21/6/2019

We are now using Matillion as our TL tool to load into our Google Data Lake which will be the...

We are now using Matillion as our TL tool to load into our Google Data Lake which will be the source of all our BI reporting data (replacing SQL servers).
Matillion is easy to install (Google Marketplace, one click build), easy to use initially, sometimes lacks a few specialist bits (usually around new things in the Google estate), but theses can be overcome by using scripts or sql statements and I am sure some will become components in their own right.
Matillion support is very good - I usually get a response within the hour

Pros

From an engineers point of view one of the selling points for Matillion (apart from the absolute simplicity of use - at least to start with) is that it produces its own documentation !!

Cons

Sometimes the error messages can be confusing , but this is often down to the messages coming from BigQuery.

Its also not always obvious that it is producing SQL statement 'under the hood' and that can mean breaking sql statement size limits without realising it

Luke
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great data tool!

Reviewed on 3/9/2021

Great. Good customer service, quality product.

Great. Good customer service, quality product.

Pros

Makes for very fast development with lots of built in connectors. Visual layout of complex data pipelines is a big plus.

Cons

Out of memory errors. We use this for a lot of production applications. After 1 year of trying to fix OOM errors and doubling our instance size, we still get them monthly. I love matillion but I wish it were more reliable.

The billing structure contributes to the problem as well. We can't run matillion on a big instance without significantly increasing our licensing fees. I wish they were independant.

Venkata Aditya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good ease of use, should improve customer service

Reviewed on 25/6/2019

With the tools given most of the business problems can be solved(not in an efficient way though if...

With the tools given most of the business problems can be solved(not in an efficient way though if you consider SnowFlake), but there's a lot of room for improvement on the customer service side. Also, having the same functionalities for both RedShift and SnowFlake would make it a lot better, for now there are more functionalities and components for RedShift.

Pros

The tool was very easy to use and was intuitive most of the time. The functions and components for RedShift were amazing even though I didn't use them

Cons

1. Initially the customer service was good, calls were being scheduled either on the same day or on the next day. But once you start using it, support calls would take weeks. Sometimes support will say they'll get back to you but they don't.
2. In one particular instance, a support executive said they would get back to me because they couldn't find an immediate solution, but even after 3 weeks there was absolutely no response on their side. I got a reply after I followed up again though.
3. There are good amount of components for RedShift which are not available for SnowFlake, I hope they would incorporate them as soon as possible.

Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Have been using Matillion for past 9 months

Reviewed on 28/6/2019

We have developed Data Warehouse for our business using Matillion. We employ 6k+ people, and...

We have developed Data Warehouse for our business using Matillion. We employ 6k+ people, and Matillion was a perfect match for our needs. Storing data in Google Big query allows seamless access to it from other Cloud Products I.E. Google Data Studio. I love the product, and limitless possibilities it gives us. Pulling the data from anything you may think of, transforming it and then outputting into Big Query is very easy and straight forward.

Pros

My background is development and I love the simplicity of the Matillion, you can very easy transform your thought process into blocks in Matillion, and debug any issues at a very granular level.

Cons

Matillion crashes from time to time, meaning you need to log back on to the system, but its benefits definitely outweigh this small issue.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Making my life easier!

Reviewed on 19/7/2019

It's been great. The support team has been very responsive in resolving some Azure-related issues,...

It's been great. The support team has been very responsive in resolving some Azure-related issues, tuning our instance, and helping to understand the nuances of how it works. It's been a significant reduction in development time since we migrated to Matillion.

Pros

Simple, intuitive interface. I replaced a complicated series of scripts, "ETL" products, and Python code with a simple-to-understand Matillion instance.

Cons

We use it on Snowflake for Azure, so there are several features that have not been migrated from the AWS version, yet.

An option for a larger server by default in the Azure Marketplace.

PRANAVKUMAR
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good tool for workflow management

Reviewed on 5/7/2019

I am happy with this tool and it has good UI.

I am happy with this tool and it has good UI.

Pros

- It has very good UI to design the workflow.
- It is easy to design the workflow.
- It has very good support with persistence storage. Like snowflake, redshift, etc.

Cons

- It should also support Azure data warehouse.

Levan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great for starting

Reviewed on 17/6/2019

Pros

* It's very easy to start building scalable production ready ETL pipeline.
* GUI is very intuitive.
* Has wide variety of integrations available.
*

Cons

* Error handling/debugging is on a poor level.
* No good way to version queries/scripts or jobs.
* Not really suitable if you need to build something very complex, as it's not very customizable.

Steven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

No Technical Customer Support.

Reviewed on 3/9/2021

Pros

It's fast. Pipelines are easy to setup for very basic tasks.

Cons

Your customer support people are useless. Every time I submitted a ticket, they simply pointed to an article on the Matillion website that is not helpful in solving the problem. There is no community to resolve common issues. Troubleshooting complex tasks is almost impossible for smaller organizations.

Prashanta
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simple easy-to-use Interface but looks like a development in progress software

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Pros

Simple with not a lot of unnecessary components. Very easy to use with Amazon Redshift.

Cons

Licensing mechanism not good. We had problem when trying to increase license to 6 person from 5. Integrating with Git or other source control tool not easy.

Jagdish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

User friendly and Advance connectors

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

I was developed around 20 to 50 mapping using Matillion and I don't see any difficulties right know.

I was developed around 20 to 50 mapping using Matillion and I don't see any difficulties right know.

Pros

User interface is very easy and any one can mange development things without too much of knowledge. Matillion have very content on official site and It help's a lot to make hands on on this tool.
In few click we can connect any database weather it is on premises or cloud. I have extracted data from different source system and loaded in to redshift in very easy and fast manner.

Cons

I don't see straight forward job Audit framework. Please try to build nice job monitoring and audit framework.

Vishant
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use features

Reviewed on 2/7/2019

Pros

Inbuild features to integrate with AWS s3, send SNS messages.

Cons

Readability should be more, ease to retain changes or navigate to environment variables should improve.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Great ELT and warehousing toolset in a clean GUI

Reviewed on 16/6/2019

We're pulling multiple datasets together and integrating them in star schemas with Matillion, as...

We're pulling multiple datasets together and integrating them in star schemas with Matillion, as well as doing sophisticated data analysis.

Pros

The GUI and design makes it easy to not only functionalize your ELTs, but also show a graphical DAG to stakeholders.

Cons

I wish it had an out-of-the-box API gateway to receive webhook requests from third-party data sources.

Raul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool and experience

Reviewed on 28/6/2019

Great tool

Great tool

Pros

Easy to use, graphical way to do data flows on Google Cloud

Cons

The most missing functionality, is to be able to setup data destinations additionally to BigQuery

kal
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Matillion ETL

Reviewed on 5/7/2019

Pros

Ease of use
Configured for AWS
Redshift compatible
Quick support turnaround

Cons

Not all connectors available - but new releases drop regularly

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best ETL tool in the market

Reviewed on 19/7/2019

Pros

Matillion was the perfect solution for us. We were using another ETL tool that was great for extract and load, but did not address our transformation needs. That is where Matillion came in and was the perfect fit. The scope and scale of their transformation tools is exactly what we need to fully address our ETL needs.

Cons

There is a learning curve to Matillion. Setting it up the first time can be a bit overwhelming, but once we got it set up we were off to the races. Because of the amount of tools they have, there is a bit of a learning curve, but their documentation and support is there to help get you goin.