44 reviews

PM3

Project Portfolio Management solution for organisations

4.5 /5 (44 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
44 reviews
Natasha S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Brilliant experience of PM3 - perfect project management software!

Reviewed on 4/11/2019

We have around 104 projects in total on PM3, around 30-40 of them are live ones. I have had a very positive experience with PM3 and I do really enjoy using it. I think the Best Outcome Team are also very responsive and useful and are always happy to deal with any requests, which also adds to my PM3 experience. We have many projects which are completed and finished, and over the past year there has been an increase in the uptake of staff on PM3. I think there are many useful tabs/functions in PM3 which definitely support staff in completing their projects.

Pros

I really like how PM3 is very methodical and logical and a very easy software to navigate round. You can capture all aspects of your project and it can keep track of all your actions/tasks/milestones as well as notifying users with email reminders. PM3 definitely ensures that your project remains on track and is fantastic in generating a wide range of reports that can be printed/emailed very easily. The layout is very clear and simple and when I first started my role in PMO, it did not take very long for me to come to grips with the system, there are also brilliant user help guides and videos that are available which provide you with lots of new information.

Cons

The only thing I like least about this software is that unfortunately the milestone and task pages are not linked to the actions page which causes users to duplicate information (i.e. milestones that have been completed and closed do not appear as closed on the actions page). However, I understand that these are 2 separate and independent pages and it would not be feasible to join them together, this is only a minor issue and does not cause users problems. Apart from that I see no other fault with the software.

Abbi J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for managing projects, programmes and portfolios...I would definately recommend!

Reviewed on 21/10/2019

Before PM3, projects and programmes were managed on separate systems and there was no 'one version of the truth' across our organisation. PM3 has helped us to record plans in one place and provides an over-arching portfolio report at the click of a button. The time we save as a PMO collating this information means the software pays for itself. Also, the level of support and customer service provided by PM3 is exceptional as any queries are responded to within hours and any issues found are considered for future releases.

Pros

The milestones plans are clear and easy to use and can be rolled up from project to programme level. Risk/issue management is made easier as everything is visible and only needs updating in one place. The portfolio reporting function and prioritisation matrix means that time spent collating portfolio level reports is significantly reduced.

Cons

At a project plan level, the action log doesn't link to the millstone plan. The inherent risk scores are not included on the risk reports.

Linda S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Have used PM3 before in another organisation. The upgraded package is excellent

Reviewed on 18/7/2018

Pros

Monitor-able information all in one place to allow PMO to see where potential problems are with individual projects and how these may impact on others.
Ease of use essential it means that project managers use the system
Reports can be emailed to colleagues to allow for accountability to be taken
We regularly go through the system in meetings to allow us to discuss progress with project managers live
It would be amazing to be able to use this across systems

Cons

Stakeholder management and communications would be a great addition
I don't think we are using the system to it's optimum level yet
Although we understand that this is a commercial product and the cost isn't that high, we need to think carefully about how many licenses we have in order to be able to afford to continue with it

Nick T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PM3 - Transforming our Portfolio Management

Reviewed on 16/10/2018

PM3 has helped us manage and track our portfolio. It has driven consistency and the project managers like using the tool, definitely a good sign.

Pros

Its really simple, intuitive tool which enable you to "get working" really quickly. We can start start just with the initial functionality required and then we can add more tabs as we need to turn on that functionality. Its great also being able to have reports available without having to consider and create them. We don’t need to waste time writing our own reports as Bestoutcome have already thought of many of the reports I'd want to use. The reports are high quality and it is saving us a lot of time in not having to amend or create highlight reports. Being able to automatically email of reports is also very useful and saves a lot of time. The videos that are available really help when getting to grips with the product and when there is something that needs further explanation, they're very quick to respond.

Cons

We've been using PM3 for about 2 months and we can't think of any drawbacks so far. We're considering how we'll be able to use it in managing IT and line of business projects.

Rita O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent tool, easy to use.

Reviewed on 6/11/2018

I have been using this software for two years and have really noticed the difference in terms of delivery of our Programmes. The ease of use means the PMO are more productive around reporting period. With a vast range of reports available we are able to report to all stakeholders with ease. The customer service is excellent with Bestoutcome. I would highly recommend this tool to anyone wanting to improve how they manage their Programme/Projects.

Pros

Ease of use
Team have become more productive
Ease of reporting
Visibility of Programme bottleneck
Time saving
Great customer service

Cons

I have been using the tool for two years and have not experienced any problems with it.

Sam C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PM3 Review - NEL CSU

Reviewed on 20/8/2019

Excellent. PM3 have been very attentive (but not overly so), and the system itself is superb. Both service and product worthy of the 5 star rating given.

Pros

How easy it is to understand; training required was minimal (although the training given and offered was excellent). The system automatically "forces" you to manage your project in a methodical manner and, if used correctly, ensures that all projects meet the bare minimum requirements

Cons

So far I have yet to find anything about the system that I do not like, though if I HAD to put something then it can take a little while to load up reports at times. This is not a criticism however of the system, and could simply be the network connection I am using.

David B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great tool for Project Management & PMO in day-to-day operations and strategic management

Reviewed on 11/9/2018

Pros

No need for clients to allocate limited resources to building MSExcel or spreadsheet-based PMO tools. Very easy to configure to suit a client's local policies and procedures in the public sector (NHS). Also becomes a great trigger point for wider conversations and benefits the organization in their thinking, delivery of change and PPM.
Great for PPM where deploying MSProject would be overkill and inappropriate.

Cons

Some of the default tab and field names are not intuitive at first, however this is not a show stopper as localization is very easy.

Christopher P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Refinement

Reviewed on 17/6/2020

As a business we are still in the very early stages of using the tool. Initial observations are that it is excellent on some things and other areas need much more work to make the tool intuitive to use. This can be resolved via more updates I'm sure.
Support via the help desk and via my account managers has been first class and Best Outcome have shown great flexibility around changes in Licence application during the Covid 19 period when our Programme was put on hold.
Management of updates is clear and very thorough with release notes easy to follow.

Pros

The ability to draw a no.of projects together into a Programme and/or Portfolio and to draw in reports form all in selected views.
The ability to hold all major project governance in one place e.g risks/issues/ dependencies.
Reporting flexibility and range across plans/projects/programmes/portfolio
Ease of user control and self configurable access controls

Cons

Plans - Gantt Chart usage - This is clunky at best and not intuitive. Convincing users of Microsoft Project to switch to using the tool has been an on going challenge. An easier import function may help resolve this.
Using X to exit the plan. Many users forget and has caused frustrations in plans with joint PM use.
Inconsistency of areas with auto save functionality and those where it requires manual save.

Response from Bestoutcome

We are improving the Gantt chart functionality as a priority and these improvements are due in July 2020. Some screens cannot auto save as they have manadatory fields which could result in spurious errors if auto saved was used. We are trying wherever possible to make all screens auto save.

Aaron P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PM3 - a year on

Reviewed on 14/7/2020

We are running our entire project portfolio out of the tool in a hybrid model. Large programmes are run directly in the tool. With small projects run in the business we just upload the business case and monthly progress data. This avoids us training people who will only ever run a single project in their careers.

A bit more development on the resourcing module, and the ability for users to create new reports and this tool would be a world beater. Has immense functionality for the price.

Pros

Very good value for money. Easy to install and get started with. Core elements are configurable so we have been able to easily customise elements to our organisation. Updates and improvements are quite frequent so the product is always improving.
Customer service is good. Engaged account management and the support team are quick to respond.

Cons

No ability to create new reports ourselves, which means we have to pay to have new ones created.
Resource management tool is quite news and still evolving. It gets a bit slow when you add in lots of different resource types.

Response from Bestoutcome

Thanks Aaron for your review. In July 2020 we will be updating the resourcing module which we think will meet your requirements. In terms of building your own reports, we have a PM3 BI license which allows you to build your own reports in a range of BI tools.

Stephen T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Right tool for our PPPM Maturity Journey

Reviewed on 17/7/2020

Pros

We needed a PPPM tool that would support our journey of achieving consistency in the way in which projects and programmes are incepted and run with a focus on delivering business outcomes, not just outputs. PM3 provides all the core elements for managing and reporting projects and programmes in a single package whilst enabling functionality to be "switched-on" commensurate with the ability of the organisation to adopt the associated disciplines in decision-making and reporting. Customer support has been responsive.

Cons

As is generally the case with software, there is a trade-off between what functionality is available out-of-the-box to make the application easy to set-up and train users, and the flexibility to configure it to meet the specific needs of an organisation. Whilst PM3 has given a good balance in this respect, with many out-of-the-box reports, it would be helpful to have a bit more flexibility in modifying existing reports without the need to use a further application.

Lynne C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PM3 PPM Tool

Reviewed on 28/9/2018

PM3 is a very user intuitive tool. It is very easy to coach people how to use. There is new functionality which means that you can customise the experience for every different type of user that may require access to the tool, hiding the information they are not required to update and showing that they are.

Pros

PM3 has recently moved to a new cloud based version and it has made the tool even more intuitive for the users. It is a great tool for users and administrators alike as you can make many setting amendments as an Administrator that will apply to the users in real-time. Customisable fields mean that you have the flexibility to build the tool to fit the needs of your business. The way the tool is structured means that the information captured by your Project managers can be easily sliced using the portfolios structure and reported either immediately or at specified times for your recipients.

Cons

You need to think about the structure in tool when planning how you want to report as there are three levels within the reporting structure. This works well for a Project > Programme > Portfolio structure but needs amendment if you need to capture lots of detail around workstreams. However, there is always a work around within the tool that means it can work if you shift everything up a level or consider the levels you want to report at when structuring your tiers in the tool.

Phillip W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why use PM3

Reviewed on 6/9/2019

I felt that PM3 quickly provided a consistent, professional methodology for multiple project management team members to work together and easily provide reporting at the programme level. This in turn would enable the selection of future projects that were beneficial and profitable to our business.

Pros

Ease of set up
Intuitive administration
Useful reports available out of the box
Worked well from multiple perspectives - customer, Project manager, Portfolio manager and Programme manager

Cons

PM3time need further development to ensure better integration

Christian N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast Effective Relief from other Project Management Toolsets

Reviewed on 29/4/2019

Very good, I have recommended PM3 to others and plan to use it again in the future on my next projects.

Pros

Simplicity of use was a key attribute of PM3. Once the team provided the necessary introduction and overview the system was very intuitive and ensured that the important aspects of project management were captured and communicated effectively.

Cons

Nothing. This system saved my programme and ensured it was delivered on time.

Chris M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Practical and focused Programme Management toolset

Reviewed on 29/12/2020

Fast to implement and east to use, but with a wide range of tools.

Pros

Having implemented and used both Clarity and HP PPM, I found both PM3's focus on the fundamentals and it's ease of use to be a real bonus. The milestone plan view is particularly useful for sharing understanding and driving progress on multi-disciplinary programmes. This also maintains focus on programme outcomes, as opposed to activity for it's own sake. The quick set up and hosted model is great for getting mobilised fast, so you can get on with delivery.

Cons

On complex programmes with large numbers of resources and hundreds or thousands of task, you may still want Microsoft Project or similar, but I don't think PM3 aims to compete in that space

Ross L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PM3 @ WHHT

Reviewed on 30/11/2018

Extensive use for managing CIP and QCP workstreams.

Pros

Ease of use. Very user friendly, excellent support provided.

Cons

Originally issues using Citrix, although this was fixed with the latest version.

Mike D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Straightforward, comprehensive and clear

Reviewed on 22/6/2020

Driving consistency in reporting across the change community provides a balanced view of progress and challenges providing clear insight at multiple levels from delivery through to senior management enabling focus on prioritisation for dependencies and support for challenges.
From a Project management perspective you don't spend hours feeding information into the system and from a Programme, Portfolio or PMO perspective the output provides clear information regarding progress, trends, dependencies and issue management

Pros

Focus on on top down visibility of core P3 metrics via dashboards that can be shared, without customisation, to senior stakeholders. From a delivery perspective updating is intuitive and efficient and drives consistency from all project and programme managers.
Especially like the governance dashboard, an excellent tool to provide a clear presentation of change health and compliance

Cons

PM3 isn't a one for all solution, still requiring planning tools such as MS Project for detailed scheduling, however I've not found a P3 product that does both effectively and efficiently. This is a minor gripe as most PMs are used to using separate planning and reporting toolsets

Colin D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Continues to impress and deliver

Reviewed on 26/5/2019

In short, this has been the most beneficial product we have used in the PMO... ever! Bestoutcome have been positive, supportive and responsive throughout. First-class experience.

Pros

Continuous improvement and development of the product to enhance capabilities
Only product that links benefit plans to delivery plans
Intuitive and has clearly been designed by practitioners as it works the way we do.
Unlike other products we have used it comes with over 200 high quality reports so you don’t have to design and build your own.
Like the portfolio structure where you can have plans in multiple portfolios which gives you great flexibility to show different views of project information
Training and configuration were completed by knowledgeable staff who retained the customer focus at all times
Bestoutcome really do value their customers views and welcome suggestions for additional features/functionality
Customer service is excellent both in terms of speed of response and the can do attitude of the Bestoutcome team.

Cons

Truthfully, there are no aspects of PM3 that can be considered to be Cons.

Matt C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PM3

Reviewed on 18/10/2019

Well beyond expectations. Our experienced project managers and project support offices have been able to embrace the tool without any negative impact on productivity and they are starting to see the rewards within days - measurably reduced reporting admin, increase visibility of other projects, increased consistency of approaches. PM3 has obviously been designed by, and for, portfolio managers which makes it instantly more usable than project scheduling tools that have been given a portfolio management wrapper or simple task tracking tools

Pros

Very easy to use
Very simple to configure out of the box
Highly configurable for project, programme, portfolio membership
Allows top-down portfolio management. You so not need to know minute details of projects before adding them and getting value form the tool
Provides visibility of projects without having to do much different - project managers do all the same things just in this tool rather than their own dis-jointed files and folders.
Flexible and responsive customer support during implementation
Available via government procurement frameworks

Cons

The planning function lacks some of the features of Microsoft Project so projects managers with advanced skills find it less useful. The supplier is working on enhancements for the next release.

While there well over a hundred pre-configured report formats included none are exactly right for us. It would be good if there was a report-builder tool included.

The lack of bulk-upload of pre-exiting documents like RAID logs or project registers increases the workload of transitioning existing projects to the tool.

Adam H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A practical, affordable tool for manging complex project portfolios

Reviewed on 23/11/2018

I inherited a complex set of projects, every one reporting in a different way and with no visibility of their contribution to programme objectives. PM3 allowed my staff to turn this into a simple well-controlled portfolio with everyone pulling in the same direction.

Pros

A flexible structure of projects, programmes and portfolios allows you to easily group projects to reflect the organisational structures and strategic goals of your organisation.

Fast setup out-of-the box, with no complex tailoring of processes, so managers start using the tool productively within a few days. The multi-level tracking and reporting creates valuable status reports with minimum effort.

Easily controlled sharing of information across the portfolio means PMs can see what other projects are doing and proactively manage interfaces and dependencies.

PM3’s huge range of standard reports has covered every reporting requirement I encountered.

Cons

The breadth of system functions can initially appear a bit daunting to new users and support staff. I understand that unused functions can now be hidden when they are not needed but haven’t yet used that function myself.

Michael R.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Since its introduction, PM3 has greatly improved our company's ability to track project...

Reviewed on 16/7/2018

Pros

Up to date Project information being available all in one place
Improved accountability for tasks, milestones and work packages
Created better communication lines between PMs and Admin in order to track project progress
Introduction of new Resource Tracker has enabled better tracking of availabiity versus demand. Able to assign personnel to the appropriate project depending upon importance and the need to implement any mitigating actions

Cons

Constraints in changing workflow dates
Failed to fully replace the need for Microsoft Office tools such as Excel and Project
Not always kept informed concerning server upgrades/system updates
Can be difficult for PMs to remember certain user functionalities if they have not logged into to the system for a period of time following previous project completions. Can result in re-training.

Nick N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PM3

Reviewed on 7/1/2019

PM3 enabled us to get a large programme under control and focus on key milestone delivery resulting in a succesful conclusion to a major strategic project

Pros

The ability to roll up projects into programmes and ultimately BCP's allow levels of detail to remain appropriate to those manage the activities but also allows high level reporting to Board level to be easily achieved.
Customer service from the helpdesk is also a major plus with instant responses and high quality advice. The product also continues to evolve and develop to meet customer needs

Cons

The occasional record locking is a bit disruptive but it is only occasional

Darren P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 22/8/2018

Good product with support and training,
Ongoing support is good and all staff can access this plus the help guides.

Pros

clean and simple to use, the ability to store all project documents allows staff to remote work as its web based.

Cons

only minor point when trying to update past financial information was a little awkward

Ben O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product!

Reviewed on 25/2/2019

We had a delay in the delivery of our bespoke reporting - other than that it has been great!

Very responsive team who make the effort to hold most of our query sessions in person (at our base) and give suggestions on how to make the system work for our own purposes.

The system itself is yet to be fully tested for use but will be done so for the 19/20 financial year. So far it seems exactly what we need!

Pros

Reporting - a vast suite of reports to choose from which pull a vast amount of information at the click of a button. We also purchased bespoke reports designed specifically for our needs which are great.

Monthly RAG rating functionality - simple click button updates giving a monthly RAG score

Cons

No specific section although it is incredibly vast and arguably quite complicated for project managers to complete

David N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

PM3a usable PMO tool

Reviewed on 30/11/2018

Understanding the health of a project objectively at any point in time

Pros

IT projects can be very opaque, and that lack of transparency hides a myriad of issues. Too many PMOs and their tools are a heavy overhead to project managers and deliver little of value to the developers just financial summaries to higher levels of management, and a high level view of the health of the project. PM3 is simple to use, and understand, comprehensive, relevant and actionable

Cons

Not very much, it can be adapted to be usable in most contexts so although not explicitly an agile tool, if one understands that even agile projects do have significant milestones it is readily adapted

Dawn M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Replacement of Tracker with PM3

Reviewed on 3/7/2020

Excellent tool, still learning daily of little intricate areas for the team to use in it.

Pros

Good source of project management available within the tool

Cons

NHS Terminology and previous governance could be improved within this tool