44 reviews

PM3

Project Portfolio Management solution for organisations

4.5 /5 (44 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.5
/
5
Value for Money
4.7
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.9
95% recommended this app
44 reviews
Mike D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Straightforward, comprehensive and clear

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/6/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Driving consistency in reporting across the change community provides a balanced view of progress and challenges providing clear insight at multiple levels from delivery through to senior management enabling focus on prioritisation for dependencies and support for challenges.
From a Project management perspective you don't spend hours feeding information into the system and from a Programme, Portfolio or PMO perspective the output provides clear information regarding progress, trends, dependencies and issue management

Pros

Focus on on top down visibility of core P3 metrics via dashboards that can be shared, without customisation, to senior stakeholders. From a delivery perspective updating is intuitive and efficient and drives consistency from all project and programme managers.
Especially like the governance dashboard, an excellent tool to provide a clear presentation of change health and compliance

Cons

PM3 isn't a one for all solution, still requiring planning tools such as MS Project for detailed scheduling, however I've not found a P3 product that does both effectively and efficiently. This is a minor gripe as most PMs are used to using separate planning and reporting toolsets

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Colin D.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Continues to impress and deliver

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

In short, this has been the most beneficial product we have used in the PMO... ever! Bestoutcome have been positive, supportive and responsive throughout. First-class experience.

Pros

Continuous improvement and development of the product to enhance capabilities
Only product that links benefit plans to delivery plans
Intuitive and has clearly been designed by practitioners as it works the way we do.
Unlike other products we have used it comes with over 200 high quality reports so you don’t have to design and build your own.
Like the portfolio structure where you can have plans in multiple portfolios which gives you great flexibility to show different views of project information
Training and configuration were completed by knowledgeable staff who retained the customer focus at all times
Bestoutcome really do value their customers views and welcome suggestions for additional features/functionality
Customer service is excellent both in terms of speed of response and the can do attitude of the Bestoutcome team.

Cons

Truthfully, there are no aspects of PM3 that can be considered to be Cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matt C.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

PM3

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Well beyond expectations. Our experienced project managers and project support offices have been able to embrace the tool without any negative impact on productivity and they are starting to see the rewards within days - measurably reduced reporting admin, increase visibility of other projects, increased consistency of approaches. PM3 has obviously been designed by, and for, portfolio managers which makes it instantly more usable than project scheduling tools that have been given a portfolio management wrapper or simple task tracking tools

Pros

Very easy to use
Very simple to configure out of the box
Highly configurable for project, programme, portfolio membership
Allows top-down portfolio management. You so not need to know minute details of projects before adding them and getting value form the tool
Provides visibility of projects without having to do much different - project managers do all the same things just in this tool rather than their own dis-jointed files and folders.
Flexible and responsive customer support during implementation
Available via government procurement frameworks

Cons

The planning function lacks some of the features of Microsoft Project so projects managers with advanced skills find it less useful. The supplier is working on enhancements for the next release.

While there well over a hundred pre-configured report formats included none are exactly right for us. It would be good if there was a report-builder tool included.

The lack of bulk-upload of pre-exiting documents like RAID logs or project registers increases the workload of transitioning existing projects to the tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Adam H.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: Self Employed

A practical, affordable tool for manging complex project portfolios

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I inherited a complex set of projects, every one reporting in a different way and with no visibility of their contribution to programme objectives. PM3 allowed my staff to turn this into a simple well-controlled portfolio with everyone pulling in the same direction.

Pros

A flexible structure of projects, programmes and portfolios allows you to easily group projects to reflect the organisational structures and strategic goals of your organisation.

Fast setup out-of-the box, with no complex tailoring of processes, so managers start using the tool productively within a few days. The multi-level tracking and reporting creates valuable status reports with minimum effort.

Easily controlled sharing of information across the portfolio means PMs can see what other projects are doing and proactively manage interfaces and dependencies.

PM3’s huge range of standard reports has covered every reporting requirement I encountered.

Cons

The breadth of system functions can initially appear a bit daunting to new users and support staff. I understand that unused functions can now be hidden when they are not needed but haven’t yet used that function myself.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael R.

Since its introduction, PM3 has greatly improved our company's ability to track project progress

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/7/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Up to date Project information being available all in one place
Improved accountability for tasks, milestones and work packages
Created better communication lines between PMs and Admin in order to track project progress
Introduction of new Resource Tracker has enabled better tracking of availabiity versus demand. Able to assign personnel to the appropriate project depending upon importance and the need to implement any mitigating actions

Cons

Constraints in changing workflow dates
Failed to fully replace the need for Microsoft Office tools such as Excel and Project
Not always kept informed concerning server upgrades/system updates
Can be difficult for PMs to remember certain user functionalities if they have not logged into to the system for a period of time following previous project completions. Can result in re-training.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nick N.
Industry: Research
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

PM3

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 7/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

PM3 enabled us to get a large programme under control and focus on key milestone delivery resulting in a succesful conclusion to a major strategic project

Pros

The ability to roll up projects into programmes and ultimately BCP's allow levels of detail to remain appropriate to those manage the activities but also allows high level reporting to Board level to be easily achieved.
Customer service from the helpdesk is also a major plus with instant responses and high quality advice. The product also continues to evolve and develop to meet customer needs

Cons

The occasional record locking is a bit disruptive but it is only occasional

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Darren P.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy to use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Good product with support and training,
Ongoing support is good and all staff can access this plus the help guides.

Pros

clean and simple to use, the ability to store all project documents allows staff to remote work as its web based.

Cons

only minor point when trying to update past financial information was a little awkward

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ben O.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Great product!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 25/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We had a delay in the delivery of our bespoke reporting - other than that it has been great!

Very responsive team who make the effort to hold most of our query sessions in person (at our base) and give suggestions on how to make the system work for our own purposes.

The system itself is yet to be fully tested for use but will be done so for the 19/20 financial year. So far it seems exactly what we need!

Pros

Reporting - a vast suite of reports to choose from which pull a vast amount of information at the click of a button. We also purchased bespoke reports designed specifically for our needs which are great.

Monthly RAG rating functionality - simple click button updates giving a monthly RAG score

Cons

No specific section although it is incredibly vast and arguably quite complicated for project managers to complete

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

David N.
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

PM3a usable PMO tool

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 30/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Understanding the health of a project objectively at any point in time

Pros

IT projects can be very opaque, and that lack of transparency hides a myriad of issues. Too many PMOs and their tools are a heavy overhead to project managers and deliver little of value to the developers just financial summaries to higher levels of management, and a high level view of the health of the project. PM3 is simple to use, and understand, comprehensive, relevant and actionable

Cons

Not very much, it can be adapted to be usable in most contexts so although not explicitly an agile tool, if one understands that even agile projects do have significant milestones it is readily adapted

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dawn M.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Replacement of Tracker with PM3

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 3/7/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent tool, still learning daily of little intricate areas for the team to use in it.

Pros

Good source of project management available within the tool

Cons

NHS Terminology and previous governance could be improved within this tool

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Coral A.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Great intuitive tool.Enables us to drive best practice and consistency across the portfolio.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

PM3 has helped drive consistency and standards across our portfolio. Following our upgrade to PM3 Cloud, we have also been able to drive efficiencies through the removal of duplication (e.g. Excel RAIDD) and manual reporting.

Pros

Great intuitive tool that enables us to drive best practice and consistency across the portfolio. We use it as the single source for our portfolio of change. It helps our project and programme management teams manage end to end delivery, as well as providing our stakeholders with timely status reporting.
The ‘out of the box’ reports have been designed with stakeholders at all levels in mind and the choice is far greater than other project management tool that I have used. The inbuilt governance features are a great fit with our project governance framework and hep provide additional assurance of project control.
The Bestoutome team are great to work with. They not only listen, but bring a considerable amount of practical PPM and technical knowledge, experience and expertise. Their support has been invaluable not only in preparing for the PM3 cloud upgrade and on boarding our users, but also the on-going embedding and service support.
PM3 is a great tool for any organisation, regardless of maturity.

Cons

Plan lock is a common issue when users finish their session. However, Bestoutcome have built in a flag that tells the user that the plan is locked and who to. Despite training and reminders, some users forget to do this correctly. It will be great if we could have a message appear telling the user that they have not logged out of their session, when exiting said session or logging out of the tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Paul F.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

In my opinion, the best cloud-based PMO and change management platform in the market today

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 27/7/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We are now able to drive the end-to-end delivery of all of our service improvement and change programmes consistently, and through robust governance. We will be able to provide executive delivery assurance, and manage each element of our programmes and projects effectively and efficiently.

Pros

From initial discussions and product demonstrations, it was clear that PM3 was an industry-strength portfolio, programme and project management software platform that we could set up, configure and start using quickly and effectively.

The product is very configurable and we were able to set it up to our particular specification. The Bestoutcome team were very easy to work with, and because of their expertise working with other clients in health and social care, they were able to help us with our implementation.

PM3 is competitively priced and is fairly straightforward to use. Comprehensive reporting is included in the standard platform, and there are also extra plug-ins that can be used with BI tools, such as PowerBI, which we use.

We were given detailed initial training, and then further specific training with the service improvement change champions and administrators.

Overall, the process from purchase to implementation was simple and hassle-free.

Cons

We have recently completed the initial training, and are now starting to upload our change programmes. To date, we have not found anything negative about the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Nipa P.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

PM3 - PMO

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

PM3 is a very good tool which fits into my role as a project manager. We have had excellent support from Jack Watson, also quick to email back solutions, and always helpful. I would recommend PM3 to all trust.

Pros

PM3 dashboard easy to read, moving from one module to another easy to understand.
I did not have to wait to for information to be saved
Easy to delete and amend plans
Inputting of finance data very easy
Highlight reports easy to read, can also convert into excel format.

Cons

Changing and formatting reports very difficult
I couldnt change columns and rows

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark L.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

PM3

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

PM3 is in use at TCD to manage major capital projects and provide governance, reporting and query facilties for this portfolio. Our experience with the software and its support has been positive and we would definitely recommend it as a cost-effective option for any organisation seeking to manage project portfolios in a consistent and auditable manner.

Pros

Very intuitive and well-designed, it contains all of the features you'd expect from a PPM tool, with greater flexibility in reporting and dashboards.

Cons

While the interface has improved in the latest version, it still needs some upgrading to keep it in line with competitors. Not as much of an issue once you've become familiar with the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sheena R.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Simple & Effective

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I have used PM3 in 2 dfferent companies, it is not too complicated so the Project Managers can use it without issue and the information that is available is invaluble.

Pros

This software is simple to use and at the same time creates a live picture of the status of projects. The simplicity means that the uptake on it's use is high.

Cons

Copying and pasting into the tool can cause problems with formatting

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Amy K.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Great PPP Product!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Very positive experience so far. The support team are always really helpful when we need them, and any little bug fixes are sorted straight away wherever possible. Without PM3 we would not have been able to produce a portfolio report as easily as comprehensive as we now have. Any suggestions for improvement are taken in to consideration for the regular updates that are provided to the system

Pros

The automated reports, you only have to input information once but can link projects to multiple programmes/portfolio's that then pulls all the relevant information through for reporting purposes.

Cons

Some pages automatically save, whilst others are manual. Not sure why there is a difference.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Vikki S.
Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Excellent Customer Service and Value for Money

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 23/7/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The implementation of PM3 has helped improve project management processes and governance across the organisation, it's also considerably reduced the time taken to produce reports which is a great benefit for a small team. What stood out when we were selecting the tool is the excellent customer service provided by the PM3 team and this remained consistent throughout customisation and implementation through to ongoing support. The team have always been very open to any feedback we have and continually look at how the system can be improved which is demonstrated through regular system updates.

Pros

PM3 offers a wide range of functionality as well as excellent account management support from the PM3 team at a very low cost. The tool can be adapted to use across varying levels of complexity which is very helpful when applying to a diverse project portfolio.

Cons

More bespoke reporting options would be helpful as would improved functionality of the resource module. However, this is offset by the value for money PM3 provides across a wide range of functions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Keith W.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

The support to get the users up and running excellent. The company know the value of embedding

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 1/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Portfolio information all in one place. I have recently found if a project /programme manager is changed mid project. it's easy to carry out a handover.

Pros

The system is logically set out and easy to follow. it combines the various facets needed to carry out portfolio management all in one place and the it's not over complicated to use.
on PM3 I like the video tutorials, Definition description page, Action Log, Reporting and the way you can alert stakeholders they have a pending actions for them. The software has many more good features. "I have been looking for a package like this for a long time."

Cons

There are a few niggles like entering task on the Gantt chart, you can get a little lost.
Remembering to save or refresh can catch you out a little.
As a new user I am still getting use to reporting on large projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Stuart B.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Getting control and visibility

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/6/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent

Pros

The ease of use, the features that the product has lend themselves easily to the environment that we worked in.

Cons

There were a few minor details at the outset that we needed to work with Best Outcome to tailor the product to work more intuitivly with our data sets to make it almost user proof

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joscelyn S.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Great project management software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

One of the things PM3 has helped us with is to connect up our projects and programmes that are running across the organisation, at local, regional and national levels.

Pros

It's easy to see the connections across the hierarchy from project up to portfolio level, plus the functionality to promote and demote risks and milestones is great.

Cons

Visually the system could look a bit more modern but it works.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Henry G.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

PM3

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 20/1/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Shared access to all projects/programmes etc
Access from anywhere
Ease of reporting

Cons

The need to refresh regularly as many of the features freeze/do not do what they are required to first time
Adding a milestone or task, then it not appearing, refreshing, then having to add it again
Character limit not appearing when adding milestones, so you have to guess
Names of milestone/task owners not appearing in the Gantt Chart report

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Natasha S.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Brilliant experience of PM3 - perfect project management software!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 4/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We have around 104 projects in total on PM3, around 30-40 of them are live ones. I have had a very positive experience with PM3 and I do really enjoy using it. I think the Best Outcome Team are also very responsive and useful and are always happy to deal with any requests, which also adds to my PM3 experience. We have many projects which are completed and finished, and over the past year there has been an increase in the uptake of staff on PM3. I think there are many useful tabs/functions in PM3 which definitely support staff in completing their projects.

Pros

I really like how PM3 is very methodical and logical and a very easy software to navigate round. You can capture all aspects of your project and it can keep track of all your actions/tasks/milestones as well as notifying users with email reminders. PM3 definitely ensures that your project remains on track and is fantastic in generating a wide range of reports that can be printed/emailed very easily. The layout is very clear and simple and when I first started my role in PMO, it did not take very long for me to come to grips with the system, there are also brilliant user help guides and videos that are available which provide you with lots of new information.

Cons

The only thing I like least about this software is that unfortunately the milestone and task pages are not linked to the actions page which causes users to duplicate information (i.e. milestones that have been completed and closed do not appear as closed on the actions page). However, I understand that these are 2 separate and independent pages and it would not be feasible to join them together, this is only a minor issue and does not cause users problems. Apart from that I see no other fault with the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Abbi J.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Great for managing projects, programmes and portfolios...I would definately recommend!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Before PM3, projects and programmes were managed on separate systems and there was no 'one version of the truth' across our organisation. PM3 has helped us to record plans in one place and provides an over-arching portfolio report at the click of a button. The time we save as a PMO collating this information means the software pays for itself. Also, the level of support and customer service provided by PM3 is exceptional as any queries are responded to within hours and any issues found are considered for future releases.

Pros

The milestones plans are clear and easy to use and can be rolled up from project to programme level. Risk/issue management is made easier as everything is visible and only needs updating in one place. The portfolio reporting function and prioritisation matrix means that time spent collating portfolio level reports is significantly reduced.

Cons

At a project plan level, the action log doesn't link to the millstone plan. The inherent risk scores are not included on the risk reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Linda S.

Have used PM3 before in another organisation. The upgraded package is excellent

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 18/7/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Monitor-able information all in one place to allow PMO to see where potential problems are with individual projects and how these may impact on others.
Ease of use essential it means that project managers use the system
Reports can be emailed to colleagues to allow for accountability to be taken
We regularly go through the system in meetings to allow us to discuss progress with project managers live
It would be amazing to be able to use this across systems

Cons

Stakeholder management and communications would be a great addition
I don't think we are using the system to it's optimum level yet
Although we understand that this is a commercial product and the cost isn't that high, we need to think carefully about how many licenses we have in order to be able to afford to continue with it

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nick T.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

PM3 - Transforming our Portfolio Management

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 16/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

PM3 has helped us manage and track our portfolio. It has driven consistency and the project managers like using the tool, definitely a good sign.

Pros

Its really simple, intuitive tool which enable you to "get working" really quickly. We can start start just with the initial functionality required and then we can add more tabs as we need to turn on that functionality. Its great also being able to have reports available without having to consider and create them. We don’t need to waste time writing our own reports as Bestoutcome have already thought of many of the reports I'd want to use. The reports are high quality and it is saving us a lot of time in not having to amend or create highlight reports. Being able to automatically email of reports is also very useful and saves a lot of time. The videos that are available really help when getting to grips with the product and when there is something that needs further explanation, they're very quick to respond.

Cons

We've been using PM3 for about 2 months and we can't think of any drawbacks so far. We're considering how we'll be able to use it in managing IT and line of business projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10