18 reviews
Innoslate

Innoslate

Product lifecycle management and system engineering tool

4.4 /5 (18 reviews)
Overall rating
4.4
/
5
Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.4
89% recommended this app
18 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Construction

Easy to get started. Facilitates communication with simple, but powerful diagrams and simulation.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 9/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Innoslate provides an easy transition from a paper-based to a model-based approach to systems engineering.

Pros

I have many years experience applying systems engineering to aerospace and industrial facilities. Innoslate was intuitive for making the change from a paper-based to a model-based approach. I did not have to re-learn how to do and EFFBD, N2, block diagram or other common SE Diagrams.
Innoslate is a true data-centric tool and diagrams are smart in that they know and respond to changes happening anywhere in the database. It has a strong analytical tools and data approach based on the Life Cycle modeling Language (LML). I find that LML is a good starting point and that the schema is readily extensible to address my domain.
Currently, people on my staff who were not trained in SE tools were able to pick up how to apply it to requirements management and systems engineering. Despite the ease of use, the tool is powerful and we are applying it to projects with more than one hundred thousand items and associated data. I expect it can handle much larger projects without too much trouble, which I plan to do in the not-to-distant future.
The help desk is very responsive to issues, providing useful input to resolve issues. The technicians are experienced in the tool and understand at deeper than the surface level. The vendor has also made modifications to the tool, providing additional capabilities that I requested.

Cons

Although the tool provides some standard reports and good export capability, the ability to develop custom reports could be easier. To be fair, I have not asked them yet how to generate custom reports since I can piece together what I need from the exports. Having a simple custom report editor would make it easier for document generation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joseph P.

The best systems engineering tool, adaptable for all kinds of systems thinking, on the market.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/7/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The intuitive interface, the easy to follow training videos and webinars, and adaptable diagrams and schema make it easy to use with the development team and to introduce project managers, business managers and analysts, and non-engineers as well. This level of collaboration between the technical team and the management stakeholders, provides much more clarity into the project status, and allows the management team to optimize the budget to be able to re-direct resources to the more critical parts of the project when needed. The real time collaboration keeps everyone "eye-to-eye throughout the project. The document import and export allows the tool to be adaptable to a variety of existing development and acquisition environments, giving all team members the information that they need in the format that is comfortable for them.

Cons

We have very few complaints about Innoslate, compared to our previous tool suite. While all changes are recorded as they are made, and identified by the person making the change, it would be nice to have a notification Manager, to have more consistency with alerting certain individuals when a change is made in an Innoslate project. There could be times when you want someone within the project to correct, highlight, update, or modify an entity.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Daniel A.
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Immensely capable and time-saving

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Quite literally could not do my job without it, or at least would not be able to do my job anywhere near as well as with this.

Pros

The cloud accessibility and concurrent editing is alone worth looking into Innoslate for MBSE. The ability to implement OML, SysML, and other standard diagramming into a completely integrated schema does make it the premier MBSE tools available.

Cons

With the diversity of capability, and rate the capability is progressing, a lot of new features and graphical interfaces still lack refinement. Ease of customization and output is also difficult.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sindhu S.
Industry: Defense & Space

we are using this tool for MBSE and we have over 25 users for the project

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 9/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

1. Creating spider diagrams from action diagrams is very easy.
2. Version management is very good in Innoslate
3. Web based and hence can access anywhere.
4. User level management is good.

Cons

1. No simultaneous multiuser support like google docs or diagram i.o , which is hard while collaborative work.
2. When a simulation is ran for an action diagram , the microsoft project files generated out of the simulations, doesn't include the actual dates that has been associated with an action of that particular diagram. This is not really helpful, as we are adding dates in the action diagrams for each action and its not reflected in any of the gantt chart generated. Hence makes innoslate not an ideal tool for schedule monitoring.
3. Copying just a diagram to another project is not possible, and the database doesnot have a handle to do a search on the diagram names to separate out the particular diagram.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Ferdl G.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Innoslate provides all the system engineering features required for our project.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

The ease of use has meant a very shallow learning curve for new employees or team members using the software.

Pros

Very easy to use interface with no training required for new users. The schema can easily be customized to suit unique needs of a project. Free read-only access to a project is a very useful feature. Innoslate support respond very quickly and resolve most issues quickly too. New versions are regularly released. Data export capabilities and integration with other software is excellent.

Cons

There are a few minor user interface issues, but they are all fixed in the version 4 that will be released soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jerry S.

Innoslate is by the easiest to use MBSE tool on the market.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/6/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use. Functionality to support lifecycle modeling to include: requirements, functional architectures (use cases, FFBDs, sequence diagrams, NxN, etc), costs (WBS), risk (5x5 stop light chart) and schedule simulation. The latest feature "Test Center" allows you to bring together all verification requirements to develop and export an integrated test plan.

Cons

There are some important missing features such as copy/paste. It would be nice to have a generic document capability to create your own reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Joseph M.
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Small Business MBSE Transformation

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 30/8/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Very good. On-boarding simple. Help responsive and available. Web version of tool has had no problems.

Pros

Innoslate web version has been instrumental in our MBSE transformation at our small business. It is easy to use, low administration and provides immediate tangible products We have used it to provide illustrations in proposals and customer presentations.

Cons

Documentation si good. It would be better if there was more tutorial information about the MBSE process.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

John G.

Easy to use, mostly intuitive

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Innoslate covers 80% of what I need to do as an SE but even with all that, the learning curve is short. Also, the ability to easily create a test project make sit easy to try out ideas without fear of breaking the project's database.

Cons

The dashboard provides metrics that are of little value. The permissions are too wide open. I.e., it is too easy for anyone to make any change.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Really good management tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It is a great project management I use it all the time for that.

Pros

I like the diagramming visuals and abilities. The categorization of the projects if very convenient. The requirements handling is intuitive.

Cons

The simulation tool can be pretty confusing. It's got so much going on that I have trouble finding what I want.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tony C.

System and Software Engineer in automotive business (display devices and touchscreens)

Reviewed on 9/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Tool is friendly... Focus on system functions with LML... Possibility to deploy DoDAF Profil... Possibilty to draw SysML models...

Cons

Improve transition betwwen different architecture models: Operational Analysis, System Analysis, Logical architecture, Physical Architecture, EPBS (like Capella MBSE tool with Arcadia methodology, see http://www.polarsys.org/capella/).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Casey S.
Industry: Wireless
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

The software is very intuitive and easy to get started in modeling.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 11/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Quick and easy access to begin modeling projects immediately. Learning curve for a new software did not require a lot of effort and/or contact with software support. The model I was creating is for my dissertation to complete my PhD at Purdue University. I will use Innoslate to provide verification and validation as a comparison to a fully integrated modeling software to demonstrate my model can be created with the same model functionality as the other software.

Pros

The ease of use to get started and begin modeling without a steep learning curve. Updating additional modeling diagrams is simple and does not require significant effort.

Cons

Th software lacks some of the complexity of updating various diagrams when working in one type of model. However, the ease of use and easy learning curve is probably the result of a fully integrated diagram software. Not really a big deal.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ryan H.

Great tool to produce rewarded results, in software and systems development

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The organization and ease of use of Innoslate are what I like the most. Our team is able to enter requirements in real-time and can be viewed by the team instantly

Cons

Can't say...Innoslate fits right in with our methodology, allowing us to produce for clients- saving money and time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Solid and reliable product functionality, with good tailorability and extensive interfaces

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 4/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Reliable operation and high availability, with low latency in committing records to database. Wide variety of options for characterization of requirements sets across a range of disciplines.

Cons

Nothing to report. Struggling to characterize any shortcomings encountered in operations so far. I guess if I reach, I would report that some of the ways in which reqts are tied to diagrams isn't intuitively obvious (although the documentation spells it out quite clearly)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Simple and useful MBSE tool, short learning curve before being able to start.

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 8/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Was able to quick develop a preliminary design of some updates to the system I am developing.

Pros

Simple and useful MBSE tool, short learning curve before being able to start. Can import your requirements to start your work. The LML language and the concept of the actions is easy to understand. There are good features to export functional descriptions and assets requirements in DOC and XLS. It takes no time to install and collaborate with colleagues thanks to its web server based architecture! Should be the tool for everyone who wants to start with MBSE.

Cons

Would appreciate some tutorial for the design of a system with LML. Also, while documents can be exported out of the models, there is no automatic update of documents following the updates of the model.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tim O.

I feel the software could be really useful with some more preliminary training.

Reviewed on 3/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Quickly importing spec updates and tracking changes was the most attractive feature. Prioritization of requirement verification would also have been helpful.

Cons

The verification matrix output into Excel was not easily formatted before the export. This may have changed in the last couple of months. Customer service worked with me to try and get the export looking more like what I needed but at the end of the day the additional edits would have taken away from some of the time savings of the import/export feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Keith T.

Learning to use Innoslate

Reviewed on 11/4/2015
Review Source: Capterra

I found the documentation easy to follow. I found the chat feature very helpful with reasonable response. I found things made much more sense once I had read the LML specification, which is very intutitive. Once I understood this I had no more difficulties using the tool. I found the PDF LML spec very usefull since I could read it off-line. I suggest doing the same thing with the Innoslate manual.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Dan P.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 201-500 Employees

I'm always leery of software that charges by the month. Otherwise, it seems useful.

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I didn't get any benefits. I simply wanted to see what it did. I can see more value from open source software such as ProjectLibre and Aras Innovator.

Pros

I only looked at it briefly. I would have looked harder, except that the pricing model is not ideal.

Cons

Cost of non-cloud based software. And when you look at long term cost, it really adds up. There really should just be a one-time purchase price. That way you are not stuck with always paying rent to somebody.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Vee kuan C.
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy to use but visual interface to be improved

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 6/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

making diagrams for presentation.

Pros

Easy to make action diagram and then simulate the time needed.

Cons

large asset diagram / block diagram is hard to visualize.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10