66 reviews

Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

3.6 /5 (66 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3.6
/
5
Value for Money
3.2
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3.3
Customer Support
3.6
67% recommended this app
66 reviews
Timothy S.
Industry: Higher Education

Very stable software used by best higher ed. institutes

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/6/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Ellucian Banner has provided our students and staff with a single application that manages aspects of course registration, work, bills, payments, grades, academic status.
Single sign on module was extremely helpful

Pros

It is a high-end software. Very stable. It integrates with the Microsoft LDAP. We have been using it for student and employee account management in term of course registration, tax forms, billing, salaries, student employment, grading, transcripts. It has very secure and solid database which is essential for the above mentioned matters.

Cons

Managing it requires training. It is not easy to administer. The price is very high compared to competing software in the higher education sector.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Not a good integrated solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Negative, frankly. While helpful and polite, the team seems too inexperienced to be of much help. In fact, Ellucian seems to cause most of the problems themselves through self-inflicted wounds. Each update or patch implements some new ‘improvement’ that breaks most workflows and processes built for the previous version. As such, the hope to get a slight improvement ends up costing weeks of manpower to fix everything else in the test environment over and over again.

Pros

Ideally, when functional, the functionality between Ellucian products can be helpful. We use Banner and eRecruit CRM. We expected the CRM/ERP integration to be the best selling point when choosing the CRM application.

Cons

Despite being the same company, the products are not as seemless as we felt it should be. It took well over a year of implementation of the eRecruit CRM to customize it to fit with the Banner ERP. Even then, we still find issues where things are not being converted from one to the other well. One example, on the CRM, GB is the country abrieviation for the UK (Great Britain), but in the ERP, this is shown as Gabon. I’ve wasted so much time programming and converting little things like this that I find it hard to believe they were released by the same company.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Nadeem H.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Banner Human Resources Module

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

This product is for higher education institutions. Ellucian is behind many competitors in this space however, it has realized this and is making positive changes in the right places.

Pros

Customer service is very good. The vendor is always willing to listen and help where they can. In addition, there is a customer portal which allows the customer to communicate with one another on issues or ideas.

Cons

My dislike is the current roadmap is very slow to achieve goals. Often release dates will be pushed out and this causes much frustration within the business that has planned to upgrade certain services.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Gil B.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Not a registrar’s best friend

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Ten years ago I moved from a non-Banner school to a Banner school. The transition to Ellucian’s Banner was a disappointment after using my previous institution’s software.

Pros

Ellucian’s Banner Student has the basic student records functions included. It will force higher ed administrators to change their business processes to fit the software.

Cons

I did not like the tool set (queries, printing, data loads) that come with the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Kenneth B.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The Colleague Self-Service offerings are causing excitement with our students.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/8/2017
Review Source: Capterra

It is our school ERP.

Pros

The Colleague Self-Service Faculty view offers rosters, midterm and final grade entry. Our faculty are so impressed with this new functionality they would fight to keep from losing it.

Cons

Ellucian is difficult to get to respond to issues. I have been working with the Ellucian Cloud testing and it has taken months to accomplish what should have taken days.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

It does what it's supposed to

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/8/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ellucian allows us to build a functional interface for students and faculty alike.

Cons

It breaks. A lot. Can't tell you how many times I've been doing something fairly simple and suddenly Ellucian stops working or says a page can't be displayed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Reliable and secure

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 7/5/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that it is reliable and secure yet it allows me to save my password to log on. Some sites are so secure they do not allow it and it makes it frustrating to sign in and out multiple times.

Cons

There are times when the system is down due to maintenance. That is only because my university will perform updates at times.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Mayra R.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Great Program, has everything I need to get my job done.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/7/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Ability to store a lot of information

Pros

I like the search capability and ease to look up any entity. I also like the ability to have all the information on an entity in one place.

Cons

Sometimes there is a lot of duplicate information, I wish there was a way to minimize that or to catch it before some information gets entered twice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Beth E.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Better that other similar products

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 6/8/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

the ability to see all the course work, history, current, gpa's, holds, etc at one place

Cons

still isn't always correct, some courses show up in places where they don't belong

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Ellucian in higher ed

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/6/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I love the product & love using it but wish there was more consistency in if it will work or not.

Pros

It is awesome to use for allowing students to track degree progress. It is simple for them to log on & see what is still needed.

Cons

There are a lot of bugs with this program. There is a high chance it is not working when you log on to use it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Lauren S.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Not very user friendly and when told the system will do something, it actually will not.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is hard to say because we have had issues with getting the system to do what we need it to, but I do like that it will create a positive pay file for manual checks.

Cons

It won't do some of the basic things for financials that I as an accounts payable person feel that the system should do.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Syrine J.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Great Higher Education Tool

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I liked the fact that it could house both student and faculty information at the same time. In addition, it allowed you to input information for instructors and move them around if necessary. We used the Banner by Ellucian software and it was useful for our needs

Cons

Nothing to note. It is good for meeting the needs of an institution.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Ellucian builds products then takes away support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Terrible. Would not recommend for free, let alone the price we pay.

Pros

We use Banner part of Ellucian. It is effective to get large amounts of information into the system. It is effective is being our online filing cabinet.

Cons

The program is very difficult to use, to navigate through. It is impossible to use on mobile, literally impossible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Swetha S.

sun gard delivered banner interface for student system

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/5/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

it has a way to store the entire student data for higher education schools. There are several forms that have all the student information from registration to courses to personal information to highschool to grades to degrees.

Cons

It can get confusing to learn the forms. It takes time getting used to. Once we know the forms its not as bad

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nicholas P.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Ellucian

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 26/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I am a new user and I really enjoy that the product is very user friendly. If you have used any computer software in the past you should be able to adjust to using this.

Cons

The navigation shortcuts and codes were difficult to get accustomed to. Some lack of consistency.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Access your university from your pc

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I have used this system when I was a professor assistant and student

Pros

This product provides a learning management system which makes the jobs easier for students and the professors. Students can easly check their duties and see their activities on this system and professors can easily manage their classes easily.

Cons

If there are a lot of students dont buy this software, during the peak times it makes lots of bottleneck and managing the problem is not that easy always some problem appears if some administrative user did something wrong. The money you pay and the service you have dont compensate each other

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Cyrus C.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Mixed Reviews

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

They are an established Higher Education software that is on the cutting edge with a lot of what they offer. The partnerships they offer with vendors seems to fall short in some cases. The support they offer for the products is generally good. But depending on the application may depend on how quickly they respond to support questions/issues.

Pros

Offers a variety of different software solutions that integrates with its ERP (Banner or Colleague). Along with a variety of ancillary applications that integrate with the ERP.

Cons

Cost would be by far the biggest issue. The second would be that as of late the company has a tendency to tout its upcoming or just released products will work but in reality it is being built and developed as the sales people speak. To be fair their established software generally works well and no complaints.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Connie T.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Easy to use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We use this as our database for all alumni and friends.

Pros

It's easy to use and my favorite thing about this software is that I can enter very little info to do a search to find who I'm looking for. The possibilities are endless!

Cons

When it shows a listing of all the proposals a person has received, I have to pull each one up because there isn't anything about the listing that identifies specific ones. It's a minor irritation

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sarah T.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Ellucian

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that you can see a lot of different types of information and don't necessarily need additional software to get the job done.

Cons

It can be difficult to navigate through the different windows until you are really well versed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Improves education experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/5/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like how it allows users to view academic information easily. For higher education this software is greatly beneficial.

Cons

I do not like how there are times where the software is glitchy or will sign out if inactive for too long.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Use this for University student records, receiving payments, accounts Payables, P/R and financials.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/2/2018
Review Source: Capterra

With angst and time we get what we need from it.

Pros

Contains a lot of integrated and complex data. From Human Resources, Student Records and Services, Payroll, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable all in one softward

Cons

so NOT intuitive or user friendly. We have to have a whole IT department just overseeing the functionality of this software. Users are frustrated in each area - Payroll, Accounts Payables, Student Services... no one seems to feel the software was created for their unique purposes. We keep trying to find the department that loves it...

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Quality Updates with Ellucian

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the user interface of Ellucian! It's easily navigable and very functional in every way. I work in Education and Ellucian is really helpful when inputting various forms of information into the system. It's quick and easy to use with every click you make.

Cons

I wish the keyboard shortcuts for Ellucian were easy to find.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Iris S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

Can't begin to describe how horrible

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 16/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

The navigation makes absolutely no sense, it's is extremely hard to just register for classes and find your way to the proper information. Absolutely unintuitive and simply extremely ugly. It looks like it's built in the 90ies.

Pros

Absolutely nothing, besides it just being horribly ugly the UX and Usability is utterly terrible.

Cons

As professional in tech I decided to enroll in some part time college classes for enrichment and I was appalled at the software system both schools had for students. Both systems for some reason look and navigate completely different but I found out are still made by the same company. Both is so complicated to use (again both totally different though students need to perform the same tasks) and I'm not sure why people (both school but especially the software company) think this acceptable is beyond me.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

The Industry Standard but why?

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/6/2020
Review Source: Capterra

This product is very commonly used and it feels like they rely on this fact to put in minimal efforts towards innovation. If you have a different option, I would recommend investigating that.

Pros

This product is very commonly used in industry. The online support community around this product is very active and is very helpful when you encounter issues, bugs, odd behavior, etc. (which is often). It is based on a relational database so query writing is easy enough.

Cons

Software patches and updates from Ellucian are notorious for breaking various modules, connections between modules, etc. The UI is a very outdated model and tends to be very unfriendly for those who are not tech savvy. Customer service from Ellucian leaves a lot to be desired.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Jennifer R.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 201-500 Employees

It's hard to be vanilla

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We were in desperate need of an SIS and for the most part, it does serve our needs.

Pros

I like that we have a consortium we can share ideas and code with and have a single voice to Ellucian.

Cons

Banner INB is very clunky to use - even if you are good at using software in general. It is not a very intuitive product; however, the company is moving in the right direction.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10