15 reviews

Alfresco Content Services

CMS platform for storing & sharing documents

4 /5 (15 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
80%
recommended this app
15 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy for sharing files securely

Reviewed on 18/3/2019

Generally good for storing, organizing and securing files. It's just a little tricky when you want to actually work in files.

Pros

It's a great system for organizing files in a secure way - access control is excellent. It's easy for version control too.

Cons

What I don't like is that you can't have two people editing a document at the same time. We have some sensitive reporting stored there, but it makes it hard if two of us want to work in it at the same time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great CMS for SMBs

Reviewed on 11/5/2018

Pros

I like the customization features, the work flow options, and it's compatibility with many file types.

It makes searching for documents a breeze and keeping your content well organised in varying Projects/Sites. I particularly like the Dashboard setting on each site, that allows you to customize your overview of that project, giving visual to members, who is working on what files, and a live browser frame to keep you in the loop if your project is website based.

Cons

The interface could use some work, I find the usability takes some time to get into in order to unlock all the features and functionality available to you. The documentation is a useful assistant in getting around the software.

David B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Works great for lots of users

Reviewed on 15/2/2018

great group site

Pros

easy to build work flows and group projects. Can build custom sites for groups. Has a good admin section. can easily add users and make groups. Lots of features.

Cons

Can take a while to setup, hard to customize when out a lot of work and searching forums. with the api was a bit better

Carlos R.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

If you need a repository of document for you company, this sotfware will be useful for you.

Reviewed on 12/3/2018

Pros

Have free version, work fine for large number of users. Is a good way for centralize documents manage (for exemple, quality system)

Cons

Free version only permit associate an user for administrator, if this person abandon your user, you lost yours documents. will present compatibility problems on depend of Java version an browsers.

Dana L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Alfresco

Reviewed on 12/1/2019

Pros

I like that is used as an online source document library. Everything is in one place and you can upload new versions of documents.

Cons

It's harder to assign users and also a little more challenging to upload new versions, although it is doable.

Marco T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Alfresco test

Reviewed on 8/12/2016

We use previous version of alfresco and we have a good performance iin our product, now i am reviewing Alfresco One and there are many good features that can be used in new projects.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Rigid, outdated document management and content sharing platform

Reviewed on 5/2/2020

We used Alfresco as the company's main document management and sharing tool for several years. It was adequate but constraining, and over time the feature differential with more advanced tools became increasingly evident.

Pros

Good flexibility in adding coworkers alongside external guests to document repositories. Good security measures on stored files. Not many redeeming features beyond this.

Cons

Poor interface, with no OS integrations (only web interface), no drag & drop, counter-intuitive control placement, key features nestled deep into menus.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Alfresco is a strong ECM platform

Reviewed on 25/4/2019

Overall experience for the users has been exceptional. The system performs well and is a very reliable platform for our ECM.

Pros

The team collaboration and shared file features.

Cons

Limiting the deployment model to just docker made initial deployment difficult.

Carlos j. D.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A stable file management tool

Reviewed on 4/4/2018

Pros

The customization you can give to all your file management structure, the user different levels of security access you can define, and the stability of its platform

Cons

Performance is affected when managing large size files, you may want to make periodical back ups to prevent this problem

Ravikiran R.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best Enterprise Content Management systems in the market

Reviewed on 14/3/2018

Best ECM for SMB enterprises with very less investment

Pros

Easy to install and configure by just following the documentation
Good search support for full text.
Architecture supports cloud for deployment.

Cons

Plugin development is easy as it is explained in the document. Resource availability for developing plugins not available in the market

Chris C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Industrial strength document management system with records , workflow, and custom modules

Reviewed on 18/2/2017

Alfresco One is probably the biggest and best document management applications available. Records management is a huge plus. This app can and does replace entire warehouses of file cabinets and does it better than any paper solution could because you are able to have Alfresco search at the speed of light through the documents in your system to find what you're looking for, imagine being able to google a room full of file cabinets. The workflows are another thing, and the tagging. You can build your own modules which carry out actions on incoming and outgoing documents. Some really seriously successful companies and organizations are using Alfresco One as a key piece of their winning formula.

Pros

Alfresco One can handle pretty much any job you throw at it. Built on java, it's industrial strength, and there's no end to the number of programmers available to develop custom modules for your specific needs. Government departments use Alfresco One. NASA uses Alfresco One. Some of the biggest names and most successful people in the world use Alfresco One at their company or organization. Soundly beats Microsoft Sharepoint, another document system, in terms of all technical achievement, openness, transparency, auditing, and overall quality.

Cons

The license fee can be costly if you're an upstart new small business with no or low funding. For this reason there's the free version, Alfresco Community Edition. Built on java means you might pay a bit more for helpers to build for it, however, if Alfresco fits your needs, you probably won't mind. The Alfresco Community Edition forums are not maybe as active as other software's forums, probably because the number of people actually reaching the point of greatness in their lives and their careers where they are actually able to go paperless either on their own or with their organization's documents, is relatively fewer, than the billions of people whose documents are still on paper, and still impossible to search through, and still disorganized.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for content management

Reviewed on 27/7/2018

Pros

It is a great tool for content management, you have metadata approval flows and anything related to this subject

Cons

The integration with other platforms is not that easy and could definitely be improved, other than that is fine

Ravikiran R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good CMS and supports extensible.

Reviewed on 9/8/2017

Good Content and document management.

Pros

We can add our own work flows.
It support good search on the documents.
Good versioning capabilities.
Support many document types

Cons

It is browser compatibility issues
There are some problem when uploading large files.
It would be good if they add more APIs to integrate

Chris C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very nice software

Reviewed on 28/5/2018

Help me store my documents in one place and also helped me to attach documents and pictures to Openmaint property management solution.

Pros

The software displays Good picture quality and it is easy to use and it connects to my favorite database software Postgresql. More over it is open source, that give everyone opportunity to test it and see what stoof it is made of. I really appreciate Alfresco for developing such a good thing.

Cons

I really like this software but the only thing I found a bit difficult was the installation especially to install it to work with an existing Postgresql. There is no much information on how to do that but I found one after much search in the internet

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

really restrictive software for external collaborators

Reviewed on 31/10/2019

I am a user logged into another business with the goal of delivering files to them and I've found it to be really not end user friendly.

Pros

It can make your life easier as it does not demand special software to be installed on your terminal, just a web browser is enough.

Cons

Depending on your permissions the software won't let you do simple things, like delete or move or copy files you uploaded by mistake in an incorrect folder. It won't let you know of the progress of your uploads or let you know when they are done, a really big problem for big files.