125 reviews

Splunk Enterprise

Machine data management and analytics

4.6 /5 (125 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
125 reviews
Patrick M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Spunk Review

Reviewed on 17/5/2017

Pros

It allows me to bring a lot of information into one friendly view. It's a great security audit tool.

Cons

It has limited functionality. It is a very memory intensive system. It does not integrate with Lennox.

André L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very reliable and powerful resource

Reviewed on 3/3/2021

On business side we have a lot of logs, informations provided for a very different resources, the most beautiful thing about Splunk is to consolidate everything on just one place, and the ease to extract this information make Splunk the most powerful resource to gather and extract data from every resource that you have logs, even if you are using Windows or Linux, Splunk covers both.

Pros

Ease of use, you can extract any kind of information using commands provided by the software vendor. The other good thing about this software is the easy implentation on the servers, and the configuration is basic.

Cons

For people that are not used to use command lines, it might be a liitle bit difficult on the beggining.

Mark T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for log analysis

Reviewed on 28/7/2019

Splunk has been key in sever major issue root causes by analyzing logs and from that being able to build reports and determine causes of issues. In addition being able to trend and look for the data in the many logs is very helpful.

Pros

We use this tool primarily as a repository for syslog messages for infrastructure. It allows us to quickly analyze the logs and patterns to determine issues based on patterns. In addition it alerts very well from text based trigger alerts. These features are very easy to use and dependable.

Cons

I do not have any cons for this software. Mainly as a user it does exactly what I need it to do with no overhead and confusing interfaces.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent product

Reviewed on 25/7/2020

I have worked with dozens of companies to implement Splunk. My experiences have bee overwhelming positive.

Pros

When you need to store, correlate, and search large amounts of data, especially System Log data, there is no tool that even comes close to Splunk. It's power and flexibility is amazing.

Cons

Very expensive. Difficult to implement until all moving parts are understood. Steep learning curve for beginners.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Premium but pricey log management and analytics tool

Reviewed on 28/4/2019

Having a enterprise-ready centralized logging tool is critical for production success.

Pros

Splunk integrates with almost all popular enterprise software products including VMware, AWS, Azure, etc. Most customers use it primarily to do log analysis but it can also perform data analytics for business reporting. The UI is very straightforward and enables you to quickly search through large datasets using SPL. We were able to quickly locate the source of the issues by using Splunk to triangulate logs from several different components. There is a Splunk Cloud version with a free trial if you are aiming to do some integration work and testing. Finally, like all monitoring tools, Splunk offers AI and machine learning for even better predictive analytics.

Cons

Splunk is expensive and probably not for smaller startup companies. The pricing is tiered and is subscription-based so if you start to ingest a lot of data, look out. It can eat into most of your IT budget and Splunk by itself doesn't handle all the Day 2 operations that are needed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Splunk review

Reviewed on 9/8/2019

Mainly checking code for Fatal errors and application error which does not break in development environment.

Pros

I work at Fintech company and we use Splunk for checking error logs and tracking anything that goes wrong within the system. I like Splunk as it gives exact line number which is breaking the code which makes easier to debug.

Cons

The index should be accurate otherwise viewing logs is not easy.

Mubasshir ali R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

True Enterprise Solution

Reviewed on 24/11/2020

Splunk made our life easier.

Pros

A very effective log analyzer and the part I love most is the infrastructure monitoring. A proactive monitor and alert generator for our Critical Production Environment.

Cons

If SPLUNK enable SQL alongwith its own SPL so the generic users would have been able to work more better.

Gregory D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Logs, logs, and more logs!

Reviewed on 26/11/2019

Pros

Splunk is a great way to teach tech folks about logging and how technology in the IOT world communicate. Indexing and parsing make reading code so simple and easy to identify faults.

Cons

Would be nice if there were different user roles so a novice would not be overwhelmed with so much at once.

Pradip R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Splunk to analyze enterprise system monitoring data

Reviewed on 11/1/2021

Overall experience is good. As per our usage this should be used as a mother ship for all the monitoring tool to gump the records to ensure those can be correlated to identify the root cause.

Pros

Splunk is great in terms of the speed of fetching records and also very useful UI elements which helps to analyze the record faster. The tool is so user friendly that anyone can start working on the tool easily and so much capabilities that experts can also bring a lot of values after segregating the records.

Cons

The technical team is okay to see the records in the JSON format. But sometimes the functional users ae not comfortable with the JSON data. They need technical assistance.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to understand if you a technical outlook

Reviewed on 1/8/2018

The inbound and outbound data on our network traffic is outstanding. You can customize this logs to your benefit and creating dashboards on this is very simple

Pros

What I most like about Splunk is that it assists me in creating dashboards for my teams and other teams to verify the validity of our incoming and outbound network traffic.

Cons

Learning the syntax searches about it seems to very difficult and there aren't really any training guides or help on their website that I've found that assist very well with it.

Matt L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Critical tool for our team

Reviewed on 24/6/2015

Pros

It is able to be expanded easily and quickly. It is polished and designed very well.
Allows my team to inspect issues quickly and pull from many different sources in our enterprise.

Cons

Price is a bit high but you get that with Splunk. The good thing is that Splunk always is trying to be competitive so this may change.

Gaurav K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome Product to get analytics for Big Data

Reviewed on 19/6/2015

Pros

Hadoop analysis is good for Fixed size dataset. Splunk product captures, indexes real-time data in a searchable repository from which it can generate graphs, reports, and visualizations which are very easy and helpful to understand the data.

Cons

I think there are no features which I do not like. I think during clustering I faced some problems thats it.

Artem G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Absolutely Great way to deal with logs

Reviewed on 16/3/2015

Pros

It is an excellent way to search for anything in your logs and even monitor them!

Cons

It requires some skills to configure it right, especially the distributed version.

Michael O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SPLUNK Everywhere

Reviewed on 11/6/2015

Pros

Verry handy usage
Fast query and result
scalable
Big Data
No SQL
good community

Cons

License is at little bit too expensive.
Professional Service at Europe is not very well stuffed.

John P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Feature rich product for log analytic platform

Reviewed on 12/3/2017

Pros

There are tons of apps available in the marketplace and ability to collect many different log formats

Cons

Splunk is easy to start going but difficult to master with so many features. The query language has many analytical features that requires some learning curve

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best SIEM platform is Splunk

Reviewed on 12/4/2019

The product provides widely perspective for SIEM and every log types. Specifically, the ability to import and process logos provides a great experience. The best point is to create alerts and dashboards. There are features that support you to write even with improved correlation.

Pros

you can import all the data without parsing it.

Cons

I never thought it. Almost all features look good. The disadvantage of the high price.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best Application for log analysis!!!

Reviewed on 13/2/2018

Pros

Nice, user understandable graphs.
You can analyze system logs using Splunk to identify issues with the system.
It is also used to identify patterns in the performance.

Cons

Can not run offline.
Does not provide results via email.
Need the training to get expert writing search strings using regular expressions.
Large queries are a bit slow.

Robert D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A bit of a learning curve, but a very powerful tool once you figure it

Reviewed on 11/2/2015

Pros

Splunk is great for visualizing any application data that we need, and the custom dashboards feature makes it easy to have related reports and queries all in one place.

Cons

I've been using Splunk for a while, and I still find the query process a bit difficult. For non-technical people, there is a steep learning curve.

Nav R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Currently using this diagnostic tool for log analysis

Reviewed on 14/3/2018

Overall a decent product.

Pros

- Ability to search logs across processes and services
- Ability to develop dashboards to Monitor critical metrics
- Ability to set up alerts based on threshold values

Cons

- Need to regex well in order to use the tool to its full ability
- Ability to extract values out of the log statements could be simpler
- Alerts usually end up being over alerting or false alerts.

Rachael T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Splunk has helped me troubleshoot client connectivity to our APs.

Reviewed on 17/5/2017

Pros

Splunk makes it easy to troubleshooting client connectivity. It also helps me understand if a client is continually roaming to other APs.

Cons

I wish that it was a little more cost effective. In some ways, Splunk has so many options that it can be confusing to know how to get the information you're looking for.

Jyostna S.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Splunk has been a great tool at work

Reviewed on 2/11/2017

it has got a very stable search engine and teh results are almost automatic and takes no time

Pros

- easy queries
- Robust
-Never fails
-Resilient
- easy to use and alert configurations based on the resultants and error queries

Nazeer S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Splunk -- Nice tool

Reviewed on 30/1/2017

Splunk is nice tool to analyze the logs, visualize the transaction, creating auto alerts, creating Splunk's Search Processing Language (SPL) queries, creating dashboards. It is very powerful to analyze the logs. Splunk performance gets impacted if we search for data over a long period of time. License is bit costly.

Sumant M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Must use product for log analysis

Reviewed on 1/7/2015

Pros

It is easy to use for a novice person.
Results are fast.
Great product with handy features.
You can get insight about your data within few clicks.

Cons

I did not find the documentation really much useful as a student.
Usage cost was really high for me.

Ajit D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great practical software for Big data

Reviewed on 4/10/2016

I have used the software as a developer, architect, DevOps manager, Business Applications user and implemented in several use cases for multiple organizations. Splunk always deliers

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It's amazing

Reviewed on 21/11/2018

Pros

Enables me to monitor for fraud and cyber security threats and risks

Cons

It is great to use but it is expensive. But worth it.