Splunk Enterprise

4.6 (130)
Machine data management and analytics

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(130)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

95%
recommended this app

130 reviews

Naveen C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use monitoring software

Reviewed on 9/5/2021

So far great experience with splunk to monitor the health of the application in the production environment and test environments.

Pros

We use splunk to monitor the health of applications in the test and production environments. It allows to create queries to see the specific event.

Cons

Pricing of the license is high especially when the number of users is more and also support from splunk is inadequate when there is a issue

Gabe M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A powerful log aggregation solution with immensely useful tools built-in for popular applicatio...

Reviewed on 22/2/2018

Pros

- Free to use for small 500MB or less daily ingress, quite nice for small use cases and learning
- No development work required to deploy and provide value.
- Deployment flexibility: client agents are available to use, or clientless configurations for multiple OS platforms. It's also very easy to deploy, not just flexible. its a very simple affair.
- Segmentation of logs: You can create separate instances of of logs to aggregate, based on organization needs. And those instances can have their own individual storage policies to optimize consumption of storage resources.
- Configuration design: Thoughtful and mature documentation and design of the application regarding enterprise-class scaling on network storage.
-POWERFUL tools: The user interface lends itself to learning more about your organization from the logs you collect, through metrics of trends of the logs being gathered. There are also specific modules/add-ons for popular applications to provide more value and event-based monitoring, all without having to develop in-house dashboards and intelligence of those logs.
- Customization: You can create your own queries of logs, and event-based alerts.
- Web-based GUI that clean is powerful
- Sales/Technical Reps are top notch in fielding questions and evaluating environment for deployment. They were extremely helpful in helping our organization develop procedures and scaling our environment for expansion with our existing infrastructure.

Cons

- Price: This product is not free for more than the minimal use. Pricing can be very expensive, relative to open source offerings. That is the trade-off you pay for not having in-house development of open source offerings. As this product is priced based on gigabytes of indexed logs, it is important to understand the scope of licensing necessary for your environment to determine if it is a good fit for your organization.
- Watch your saved queries and hardware resources: Users have the ability to create and save queries. Like in database queries, some are more efficient than others. Large inefficient queries can be very resource-intensive. If you notice slowness in day-to-day queries, or navigation in the UI, or resource use in contention, keep an eye on saved queries and user practices.

Amit G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best tool for Distributed logs data analysis

Reviewed on 15/4/2020

We have several micro-services deployed in production which require to lookup application access as well as server logs and analyze data for their usage. We created several reports/charts for visualization. We use splunk as security logs tool to see the firewall traffic, tracing any vulnerable access, any database related crash ..etc.
It helps easily to find issue and fixed quickly by black listed in system.

Pros

Splunk Enterprise is best tool to analyze the data based on different visualization. It help us to lookup distributed logs for micro-services . It enables field based lookup. For complex logging, we can use search query using expression. We can create multiple reports/charts for visualization such as a pie or bar chart for our data. Best feature what i like , We can visualize our search results and share them with others using dashboard panels. If Already have a dashboard, we can add a new panel from a report, clone from another dashboard, or add a prebuilt panel. Fully customization available. Interfaces is very flexible. We export it in different formats, or refresh it to visualize the newest data. Online Support is available through different community.

Cons

Search query builder is fully based on technical. for Non technical users, its really difficult to lookup logs. Sometimes, error thrown by query builder is more difficult to understand. Deep Learning is required to use splunk for production data. For Large application installation, it need to manage more.

Robert F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Finding Splunk Before Splunk Finds You

Reviewed on 30/6/2015

Pros

Splunk is more than a tool or a product, it is a big data platform. Splunk can be used as a simple log aggregator all the way to a Big Data engine to find efficiency in operations of the Internet of Things. Splunk is less about its abilities, and more about your imagination about what you can do with Splunk. That is the beauty of the platform. Splunk shines in providing operational intelligence about systems and processes. Finding out how your systems are operating, how your processes are functioning leads to quick resolution of problems and points to where budgets are best spent.

Cons

Splunk is deceptively easy to set up and use. But like learning to play chess, you can learn the moves in half an hour, but take a lifetime to master. Splunk quickly provides value, but requires imagination and creativity as well as wide ranging knowledge of systems and processes to move to the next level. Not every organization needs that kind of talent to get a great return from Splunk, but the companies who compete and win will.

Neha V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great log analysis software

Reviewed on 11/10/2017

Pros

Integrates with almost all the software seamlessly..where there is a software application that produces log, splunk can be easily integrated.
Gives very powerful insights into the logs
Alerts can be setup on the logs, and notifications sent out which is great again for managing the health of your application

Cons

The query language, though powerful, has a learning curve. Particularly as one goes towards complex queries. If it could be made closer to natural language, it would be so much smoother to learn. Hope that will happen sometime in future.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A tool that every sys admin needs to have

Reviewed on 14/2/2018

Pros

I'm not sure from where to start in this case.

We use splunk for many things but mostly to analyze the traffic on the network / firewalls. It provides us with a nice overview of what's going on. It makes it very easy to spot spikes on the network and it will provide you also with deep analyzes.

For us it's an indispensable tool, probably the best tool we have.

Cons

To search for something is not always easy, however there are a lot of forums online, so finding help is not that difficult.

Rob P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Splunk vs Humio and Devo

Reviewed on 12/3/2021

The APIs and plugin are great. the parsers are just fantastic. It can log anything and everything.

Pros

We have been using splunk for over 5 years now. nothing beats splunk in the market place. The only concern we have the pricing and the resource to support it. it's just too expensive

Cons

Too expensive and it's too hard to manage. You have to find a very qualified and very expensive resource to support it.

Mark M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent logging and troubleshooting tool

Reviewed on 8/11/2018

As a software quality assurance engineer, I love that I can setup a single dashboard where I can then view the same data from any lane I select from a dropdown. If I see a problem in the Test lane, I can quickly check all of the other lanes for the same issue by simply changing the dropdown value.

Pros

Splunk can give you extreme insights into how your systems and software are functioning. Not only is the search very flexible and powerful, the customizable dashboards give a status report at a glance into trends, problems and performance. You can also set up email alerts when errors occur limiting the need to have Splunk opened on your machine all the time.

Cons

Splunk has a learning curve. They have extensive documentation but it isn't intuitive and some features are buried pretty deep. We have an onsite expert who holds bimonthly meetings to answer questions in a group forum.

Andrea O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An excellent tool fol log analysis

Reviewed on 18/6/2015

Pros

Splunk is a great enterprise-class tool for log analysis and troubleshooting of IT systems.
Its graphics capabilities allow you to easily see trends that would otherwise go unnoticed.
With a single click, you can retrieve information dating back months ago.
Splunk is able to handle any type of input file and this allowed us to get very rapid prototyping cycles.
Compared to the competition, it has integrated AD authentication, which fits in perfectly with our corporate security.
The software is very fast, even on second-tier hardware.

Cons

The license fee is a little too high.
Some sections of the support site contain outdated information.
Since the Splunk syntax has changed over the years, it's quite easy to find information that is no longer relevant.
The "basic" charting options are somewhat limited, and the "advanced graphic" syntax requires a charting guru.

Mattt J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Splunk is great for finding things in server logs

Reviewed on 9/5/2018

Pros

The server logs are all stored in the same location and you can easy subdivide them by application. So different servers or processes or whatever can be in different buckets. This makes troubleshooting easier.

Cons

Sometimes depending on far back you are trying to go the product can be a little sluggish. Beyond that nothing.

Jean F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Splunk - Log management, analysis and action software

Reviewed on 2/11/2018

Identify and resolve quickly your operations and security matters with this great application.

Pros

All in one solution to collect logs, analysis, diagnose and report. The application has a nice console where it shows all the necessary information with some very nice graphics and information.

Cons

Free for 500M/day but a bit expensive if you need to collect more, or have the need to have more users logging in.

Damon D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Worth the Learning Curve

Reviewed on 2/4/2020

Pros

As a software engineer, Splunk helps me debug issues in my microservice applications. The Splunk forwarders are efficient and quickly collect logging from multiple server instances. The timestamp resolution is precise making it easier to track down race conditions. The reporting and pivot tables are powerful ways to visualize frequency of api calls once you learn the syntax.

Cons

Splunk forwarders that collect the data from applications can sometimes hang and need to be restarted. The amount of traffic that can be collected has maximum caps based on your subscription.

Nirdesh P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome tool to check cloud based system logs

Reviewed on 27/11/2018

Pros

- Can create charts / Graphs / Table for quick results

Cons

- At times it becomes slow, when I use my splunk in multiple windows (i use around 6-7 splunk windows at a time)

Rafael P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Splunk Enterprise

Reviewed on 5/7/2018

Pros

A very high-class product. Integration with other systems is great. The system can analyze a lot of information from many systems at the same time.

Cons

Very good product with almost no drawbacks. I believe that the manufacturer may reduce the restrictions for the free version

Harish G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Thumbs up for error log collection and be able to query on that logs

Reviewed on 4/2/2018

1) time! (directly proportional to number of servers to manage)
2) graphs gives you lot of information and act quickly.

Pros

1) Querying the logs with ease.
2) Statistics on the logs gives you greater insight into whats happening with your system.
3) Group error logs by type, by server.. etc.
4) Professional interface.

Cons

does what it says, no question about that but learning how to query took some time in the beginning. so, a small learning curve there.

Virat T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Provides excellent insight into logs and events and can be used by Security to work as SIEM.

Reviewed on 18/7/2017

Ability to provide valuable insights into system and application logs and events to various departments.

Pros

1. Ease of usage of the tool.
2. Ability to integrate with Data sources is mostly seamless
3. Fast - speed with which users can make decision due to statistical coorelations

Cons

The only one I could think of is the overall of the cost of data/ licensing. However in long run it will be able to save money and improve ROI and efficiency.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great reporting tool

Reviewed on 8/4/2019

Pros

I like that it's incredibly easy to create reports and dashboards. You don't have to even know the schema of the database it's hooked up to because splunk will guide you through the creation. I've used lots of report building software and Splunk blew me out of the water.

Cons

I wished it would take SQL queries when I first started using it but I got used to their query structure quickly.

Rachana P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent product

Reviewed on 19/9/2019

Very effective for planning and management. We use it very frequently in our work and until now i never had any issues with the software performance or understandability. Has a very good learning curve.

Pros

Ease of functionality and combining it with open source technologies provide a lot of features.

Cons

Nothing that i dont like as of now. I think its pretty good since its easy to understand.

Trang N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Complete solution for Log centralization

Reviewed on 31/12/2019

We use Splunk to collect logs information for our application which deployed in AWS, it collects the application logs directly from Application EC2 and also integrates with CloudWatch, Load Balance and other AWS component to collect AWS logs relate to our Application, we also get the log from AWS billing report to track our spent in AWS.

Pros

Splunk has very strong query language event complex commands like Join, subquery or aggregate which much the same with SQL query with good report UI to display result. Set Splunk system is easy with install Splunk server and its agent in every node then configure logs location to collect. It provides many built-in Apps to collect logs from other popular tools such as AWS, Salesforce, Kafka...

Cons

Splunk query language is quite hard to learn for new user and its query error is too generic for troubleshooting.

Ben W.
Overall rating
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

good software...clumsy syntax for queries

Reviewed on 8/8/2017

Pros

There are TONS of capabilities. The software can handle a lot of data and is able to produce query results in a short amount of time.

Cons

The software is difficult to use (I didn't have to set it up) and the query structure and syntax is very clumsy and non-intuitive.

Dilraj S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Splunk: Helping turn data into actionable insight

Reviewed on 22/6/2020

All in all, an awesome metrics gathering and reporting tool, which makes sure you do no get lost under chunks of data generated by your platform.

Pros

Splunk provides a very flexible solution for helping you gather huge amount of data and then setting up alerts and configuring reports which helps you in converting data into an actionable insight.

Cons

UI/UX is really good but sometimes queries for gathering data can have steep learing curve on the Splunk.

Davesh M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent, industry standard tool for log aggregation

Reviewed on 20/1/2020

Excellent and reliable albeit slow place to turn when investigating an incident, logs are easily available and sortable leading to quick and accurate determinations

Pros

Complexity of queries to discover very specific correlations, date and time range accuracy, beautiful graphing capabilities

Cons

Can be extremely slow when searching over log dense applications, indexers can quickly get overwhelmed leading to missing data

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Useful for bad password attempts

Reviewed on 4/12/2019

We use spluk for datamining, particularly bad password attempts.

Pros

I liked the interface, we were able to setup some addons for vmware and cisco ISE. We primarily used it for tracking where bad password attempts were coming from.

Cons

The pricing is pretty darn steep. My company pays by volume of ingestion by gigabyte and that can add up pretty quickly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Pretty Cool Tool

Reviewed on 15/6/2019

Pros

Nice interface, and pretty easy to use once you get the hang it. In my experience its been pretty fast to pull up my searches even when there are thousands of results. It's a really powerful tool.

Cons

I've used it daily the past months and haven't come across anything I finding deterring. Getting connected is sometimes a pain, but I think that's on my end haha.

Stefano G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An agile killer application for It and not only

Reviewed on 27/5/2015

Pros

The time to delivery from data to analytic dashboard for IT and for business

Cons

The fact that it's time-series data oriented and that is not a general purpose application