210 reviews

Figma

Collaborative platform for UI designing and prototyping

4.7 /5 (210 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.7
/
5
Value for Money
4.7
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5
96% recommended this app
210 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Incredible

Reviewed on 11/10/2020

Amazing. Figma has sped up many parts of our design process and enabled non-designers to contribute meaningful feedback more quickly into the design process. It's also enabled team members to quickly create visuals for things that don't require a lot of design oversight (eg. social media visuals). It gives a lot more power than Canva and at a lower price.

Pros

I can't believe software this good is available for free. Figma provides every single feature you need to create great user interfaces, advertisements, documents, and any other design you could possibly want to create completely free. We use the paid version of Figma which allows a large number of collaborators as well as a few other high-end features. While there is a bit of a learning curve, Figma is surprisingly easy to learn for non-designers with just an hour or two of video tutorials (I used Udemy). Once you understand how to manipulated elements of your design, even a design newbie can churn out some pretty incredible designs very quickly. This software is a godsend for marketing teams. With traditional creative suites like Creative Cloud, you end up going back and forth with a designer - in Figma, anyone can pop in and contribute their thoughts in real-time. Our marketing design team has moved to doing the majority of their work in Figma now and it's been unreal.

Cons

A few challenges have popped up with Figma. First, when you begin collaborating on designs in the cloud, there are times where you end up sharing a file with someone who doesn't have a Figma account. I would be nice if files could be more intuitively shared online with people who don't have a Figma account - especially if those people could drop comment pins on designs. Another con would be that because it is cloud-based software that's doing some pretty heavy lifting, it does tend to be more sluggish than running on-premises software with a high-end computer. That said, it's a minor annoyance and something that's probably worth not having to spend thousands on high-end hardware.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A serious boon to Product Designers

Reviewed on 5/2/2020

Excellent. Hoping for more advancements to make building large enterprise solutions easier, especially states for components.

Pros

The multiplayer aspect of Figma is a HUGE plus to the efficiency of the team. We're able to work remotely very easily. It being cloud based completely negates the need for multiple files. Even creating a design system library was a breeze

Cons

Figma has been in the market for a few years now. Yet, there aren't enough applications integrating with it. There is also a lack of plugins due to limitations from their API's

Michael H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An Excellent Tool for Collaborative UI & Product Design

Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Pros

One of the best things about Figma is that it makes collaboration among designers and product managers seamless. By creating a tool that’s connected to the internet, teammates can design together in real time, easily share links to prototypes, and even have brainstorming sessions together in the same file. Figma also puts in the effort to develop new useful features, like autolayout.

Cons

Figma is a great product, so it’s difficult to identify an area for improvement, but they could improve the ease of use of their vector-editing and illustration capabilities.

Ofek A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Figma transformed our entire design <> developement cycle

Reviewed on 8/6/2019

Figma allows us to make better, more precisely designed products, faster than ever before, and we can't think of going back to old tools and methodologies.

Pros

Figma allows our designers and developers to work and collaborate with a single tool.
The design and product team design in Figma and the developers go in and take all their necessary assets and info for development.

Everything is synced in the cloud so there's never the issue of trying to find old versions, and the cycle for development is shrunk to a minimum.

Figma allows our designers to focus on the best design and the developers are never stuck without their assets.

Cons

I believe there's still a need for better organization tools. In a big team with lots of projects, it can be hard to organize everything in a sane manner.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Figma is the best UI design tool on the market

Reviewed on 18/4/2019

I love it. It's the best.

Pros

I have used illustrator (in the old days) sketch, Adobe XD, Invision studio and many more. For real world product design with stakeholders, developers, managers, teams, etc. Figma is hands down the best tool. Because it's all web based you have one source of truth. There is no syncing files across Dropbox, ensuring the team is looking at the right file, syncing discrepancies, etc. In addition any user can open a link in their browser to start working, export assets, or colaborate in real time on a design. It's the best.

Cons

Figma needs to improve it's mockup and prototyping tools. A huge part of product design is getting high fidelity mockups in front of users quickly and figma struggles in this area. You can do basic baisc mockups but you can't do more realistic mockups.

Victory S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Figma, The designers' choice

Reviewed on 26/9/2020

Figma is really an awesome tool.
It solves the problem of transferring/ keeping design files on fragile physical devices.
It's portability helps team members to access and contribute to projects seamlessly given the right permissions.
As we continue to embrace remote work, a tool like Figma is valued even more for your designs.

Pros

As a mobile developer, there has always been a need to design how my applications will look before the main development.
The awesome thing about Figma is that it does not just provide you with awesome tools/components for designing, but you can actually simulate the flow of your application.
This gives you a feel of how the final product will be, and helps you measure your satisfaction.
Also, as an online tool, it helps team members to collaborate and review asynchronously as you can see changes at real time.

Cons

In countries were internet is still a challenge, Figma may be difficult to use but in general, it's a great software.

Abdelrahman A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Design team home

Reviewed on 11/10/2020

very reliable because of the cloud-based nature, I'm able to work from any device with my teammates even remotely plus getting feedback from the potential users through sharing a simple link with them.

Pros

Real-time Collaboration
Consistency by built-in design system
device-agnostic platform
supports importing from other tools ( design tools you are switching from, or even better wireframing and earlier stage design tools)
endless plugins in the community section plus the amazing integrations with project management platforms and with tools used by the developers. so Figma makes their lives easier.

Cons

The desktop windows app is not 100% native, which makes me feel using the web version is much smoother
the mobile app don't save projects to be viewed in offline mode

Mark B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Figma - a free Sketch

Reviewed on 7/2/2020

Figma makes collaborating on designs, as easy as it could possibly be. No more sending a design file around a company - everyone works in the same place and its lovely.

Pros

Coming from Sketch, Figma feels super familiar and it works just as you'd expect it to.

The collaboration aspect is fantastic - both in being able to work simultaneously with other designers, but also in demoing the site to clients and showing them in detail how to get around the site/design.

Cons

When using larger files - IE designs with large image assets etc, Figma can become a little sluggish.

Damyana S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool for prototyping

Reviewed on 6/8/2019

I've used it for student work, as well as my first real-world tasks. I've tried Sketch and Balsamiq in the past, and currently Figma is my favourite for all phases of a UX design project.

Pros

I can make quick wireframes, as well as detailed prototypes. Has a lot of the ease of use of Balsamiq, which is my favourite go-to for low-fidelity wireframes. However, with Figma you can also easily make a polished prototype, collaborate online with colleagues and get comments from devs/other designers while working on a project. It's very intuitive.

Cons

Mostly, it works without a hitch. I did encounter a bug once that took me a bit of time to fix, with a group not appearing in prototype view. Turns out it's a common issue, solved by turning the group into a frame, or selecting a single (simple) object to trigger a transition instead.

The support database and forums have a lot of information, however, so this problem wasn't so hard.

Erik M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Giving Sketch a Run For Its Money

Reviewed on 20/9/2019

The real-time collaboration within Figma makes it a very powerful tool for syncing projects within teams and keeping your work organized while simplifying your workflow.

Pros

Figma is a robust and simple program for UI/UX and Web Design. Its features will be familiar to you if you have ever used Sketch App or Adobe XD. It is packed with all of the features you need in order to collaborate with colleagues on projects and present your projects straight from Figma to express your concepts in a meaningful way. You can also add comments directly on your document which show up in real time. Another great feature of Figma is Figma Mirror which allows you to preview your mobile designs with edits reflected in real time.

Cons

Although I understand why Figma wouldn't implement this feature, I do wish you had the ability to export to Sketch for designers who insist on sticking with Sketch. Fortunately, SVG is a universal format which you can use to export designs across platforms and OS. However, I don't have many complaints. It is a very clean program with a beautiful interface.

Jonathan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

My new default UI Program

Reviewed on 5/3/2020

If you are in a team of designers (and non-designers) no other program offers ease of collaboration and transparency.

Pros

Figma has 80 - 90% of the features that makes sketch great, and builds upon this with its own innovations such as auto layout, built in prototyping that works well and persistent online editing.

Cons

Prone to crashing, particularly under the strain of large files. Still lacks some of the options that make Sketch great.

Mikhail B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great UX product

Reviewed on 14/12/2020

We are working in it to provide best UX and UI mockups for our clients. Design interfaces of Mobile apps for our clients.

Pros

This is really UX designed product. It is pleasure to use it.

Cons

Improve auto layouts, but it is already at good level.

Freddy A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The UI/UX Prototyping Tool I've Dreaming With.

Reviewed on 27/7/2020

Not being able to use Sketch and not really liking a lot of the UI/UX prototyping offer, Figma appeared as god sent, you can build professional grade interfaces with just a few clicks.

Pros

Figma is pretty intuitive, in my first day I could make an entire UI prototype for a project, the best part? It looked great! With just a few clicks you can make animations and "emulate" complex menus and functionalities with just a couple video tutorials. Also, you have access to a ton of plugins to make your projects even better.

Cons

My only gripes with Figma has been the missing resources I get when previewing my projects sometimes. Also the amount of projects is limited on the free version, but I guess is worth it.

Altaf D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best collaborative design tool

Reviewed on 25/10/2020

Pros

It’s browser based, easy to use and collaborative.

Cons

Nothing in particular. Everything works great.

Ramindu D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good diagramming software for user experience design

Reviewed on 16/11/2019

Our teams use Figma to design UIs for large software applications such as web portals and mobile applications along with the user experience that goes with them.

Pros

Figma provides all the comprehensive features of a software diagramming tool but with laser focus on designing user interfaces and user experience. It provides the capability of designing high-definition user interfaces including transitions within these interfaces.

Cons

The price point for large teams can be a bit prohibitive. The learning curve for the finer features of Figma can also be somewhat steep.

Sorin A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Adobe XD - watch out!

Reviewed on 26/11/2019

Figma has been a great tool in my arsenal, as I worked on quick landing pages for clients. It loads fast and I enjoyed working with it. It's more of a second-fiddle to XD, but still gets its job done right.

Pros

- New experience: Doing anything on the web relies on an internet connection. Despite this, the web version was brilliant and it felt native.

- Fast tool: The web version makes it dead simple to get going right away.

- Very easy to expand: There are numerous (free) plugins available that dramatically improve the product.

Cons

- Some UI elements: Since it's a different tool from the Adobe crowd, some UI elements felt rushed or squeezed.

- Exporting/importing files: Of course, it can't do everything a native app like Adobe XD can do. I just felt the importing/exporting section was a bit weak.

- Web version: At times, it feels not all that optimized for the web.

Eliel B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A platform to do Collaborative Design

Reviewed on 7/7/2020

Quite positive, i would recommend it for UX and UI designers who need to quickly share their work with other team members.

Pros

The live collaborative design feature is probably one of the best features. It allows non designers to follow the creation of new content without bothering the designer.
Super easy to copy paste other team member's work to do your own version or to create quick design proporsals.

Cons

Not the most easiest platform to use out there. If you are not a UI designer with photoshop experience, it takes some time to get used to all the functions.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing collaborative design tool

Reviewed on 19/11/2018

Pros

I am an avid Sketch user, but our team has slowly started to use Figma in most of our projects. It is browser based, we are all able to collaborate on one file, and it has most of the features that make Sketch such a great design tool. It is perfect to share rapid prototypes with clients, and it's nice to be able to implement and make changes live.

Cons

Projects that require a lot of components or a complex style guide don't fare well with Figma. It is lacking many of the cool features that Sketch plugins bring.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great alternative to sketch.

Reviewed on 7/11/2019

Has been a great switch so far.

Pros

Prototyping. I really like that it has thought through how these experiences might interact as users are going through the prototype.

Cons

There are some small quirks that I may just attribute to either not knowing, or just being so used to the Sketch interface that I'm feeling friction on. Things like truly editable components that I can reuse in Sketch, but are edited differently in Figma.

Lairs J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Photoshop has competition

Reviewed on 5/12/2018

Pros

So this thing is pretty sweet. I'm a die hard photoshop guy but the fact you can collaborate on the same file from all over the world is pretty amazing. It's a decently easy transition from photoshop, the functions are the same but it can handle all your files in one place which is pretty amazing. And the collaboration...did I mention that?

Cons

I think it does take some getting used to but overall it's pretty awesome.

Michael L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Competes well with Sketch or Adobe XD

Reviewed on 30/9/2020

I was trying out Figma to compare with Sketch or Adobe XD and I liked it. It's cool that I can work with it via the desktop app or in the browser. When it came down to it since my company already uses Sketch as their main UX design tool and I personally prefer Adobe XD because of my familiarity with Adobe products and I'm already paying for the Creative Cloud Suite, so I chose to not further a subscription and ended my usage after the free trial. I know that it is a really popular tool though and more companies are moving towards Figma.

Pros

Very cool that I can work via the browser or the desktop app depending on what I need, if I have a good internet connection, etc. Powerful UX/UI design and prototyping tool. Becoming more popular and well supported. Very similar tools to Sketch or Adobe XD, learning curve low because of that (if you are familiar with another design tool), multiple price points, limited free version.

Cons

Slows down other tabs in Chrome when using the browser version. Not a whole lot bad to say about Figma. Really liked it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very efficient UI design tool

Reviewed on 1/8/2019

Pros

I love that Figma is cloud-based, and allows for seamless collaboration.

Cons

Though there are outside resources to help with making designing easier in Figma, I wish there are plugin options to allow for feature expansion.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

fast & easy prototyping

Reviewed on 16/7/2019

Overall Figma is an amazing prototyping tool. I'm a one-man team and they have a free version so it's cost effective as well. Haven't tried their paid version, but wouldn't hesitate to if need be. Great quality.

Pros

It's easy to mockup & prototype designs for our software fairly quickly. Re-usable components make things go faster, but I find myself using copy/paste just as much. Along with being able to use Figma in a browser, they also have a dedicated desktop application for those who prefer that experience (like myself).

Cons

Figma's presentation mode seems kind of clunky. It could be user error, but I often find myself having to adjust the viewing pane/screen size when presenting to others. And my settings never stick so every time I begin a new presentation I have to re-configure.

Meghan W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent design and prototyping tool

Reviewed on 16/7/2020

Figma is a great tool for Design to create wireframes and prototypes that I can then use to collect feedback from customers.

Pros

Figma makes it easy for me to collaborate with the UX Designers on my team. They can easily share links and I can add comments and feedback directly in the designs.

Cons

I haven't had any issues with FIgma thus far. It has met all of my needs and allowed me to do everything I need.

Polo G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Google docs but for design files

Reviewed on 6/11/2018

A great tool that excites with what they're able to offer. If you work in a distributed team this might be the right tool without adding overhead to your design process.

Pros

- The ability to work collaborative in real time
- No more versions conflicts, since there is only one source of truth that always is updated
- You only need your web browser to start, no need to install apps or have an specific OS
- Constant release of awesome features

Cons

- You need a good internet connection if you want to work comfortably
- The fact that you always have to be with an internet connection in order to work, might not be suited for everyone
- For some people the ton of tools that are available might feel overwhelming