65 reviews

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
88%
recommended this app
65 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Extensible with Plentiful Integrations

Reviewed on 10/5/2020

EC2 gives us the ability to automate a lot of our infrastructure installations. Along with the ability to bid on spot machines to make our server costs low.

Pros

Amazon EC2 handles a lot of our server infrastructure and has in incredible amount of features to help deploy our products in a fast and scaleable fashion. Having integrations with other software allows us to use EC2 in an automated simple "key-turn" clusters.

Cons

The thing a least like about EC2 is how rigid creating resources are. Editing things like machine sizes, flavors, and such is not as intuitive. Along with having different sections/consoles for managing instance configurations like networks or security groups.

Juan carlos G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Your computer on the cloud

Reviewed on 11/2/2021

Very good option for cloud computing i recomend it to anyone but you should be ready to read everything to avoid unnecesary costs.

Pros

Easy to setup any machine needed in your enterprise
Capable of setup specific images and replicate them several times.
Compatible with most OS in te market Windows ,linux ,etc.
several prize options.
Several hardware options and can be scaled anytime

Cons

We have an issue with incorrect setup of elastic ip of a computed and it cost us like 250 Dollars for unsetup static ip.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

EC2 - a great cloud offering

Reviewed on 18/12/2020

Overall I'm really pleased with AWS in general, from EC2 instances to s3 storage, to all the other services they offer. Its a great cloud option.

Pros

AWS EC2 offering is a great option for utilizing "the cloud", it's one of the best cloud options I've used on many levels

Cons

For me there was a slight learning curve to the command line interface, but thats to be expected, all the cloud providers would have this learning curve.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

EC2 decreases significant amount of time to go live!

Reviewed on 26/9/2019

We are using EC2 with Elastic Beanstalk for our large web application with both Tomcat and Nodejs apps. It is being scaled when the traffic increases and scales up very efficiently. Yet, it is being expensive but it provides us to focus on development instead of maintenance.

Pros

Amazon EC2 has broad choices of setup and configuration depending on your budget. It provides you a lot that you nearly dont need to maintain the instance at all. It also provides you load balancers that you can use it with and you can be sure that your application will scale when needed. If you are using the EC2 with Elastic Beanstalk it will be very easy to deploy and go live.

Cons

It is an expensive service full plus. But you can consider that you are not going to need that much of maintenance power so you can decrease your cost by looking from that perspective.

Winston M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great choice for scalable projects.

Reviewed on 30/9/2019

My experience in general with this software has been very positive, it has served me for different types of projects, and even projects outside of aws, since the tool can be easily integrated with other sources, be it other websites, databases, computers, etc. It also integrates very well with the other tools of aws.

Pros

What I like most about Amazon EC2 is that it is a tool that has many uses is very versatile and allows me to customize the requirements that I need according to the project that I am developing, I can increase the amount of ram, hdd, processor memory easily from the website, it also has a high level of security, and allows you to manually configure many functions, such as ports, tasks, the control panel from the website is very intuitive and with many features, it also has a command line for more cases specific.

Cons

It is an easy-to-use tool for basic use, however for something more specific it is really complex, the most difficult to learn to use is the console, it has many commands.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very convenient, saves a lot of time and money

Reviewed on 5/9/2015

My company has switched to EC2 for a variety of our servers. Being able to offload the infrastructure work to AWS saves us a lot of time and hassle with our IT department, and It has been incredibly convenient to be able to template servers with a single click, and bring up additional boxes for testing or debugging, and just delete them whenever we're done. In fact, with no real training on the product, I was able to get a full stack of servers up and running in under an hour. Doing this in house sometimes takes weeks of meetings and back and forth between departments.

Pros

Low cost, highly customizable to any configuration. A variety of operating systems are averrable and can be bought up at the click of a button. Third party software is also available through amazon marketplace, and most tools can be licensed through AWS and even come preinstalled and preconfigured on EC2 images. It makes building a scalable, high availability architecture an almost trivial task.

Cons

Monitoring - AWS offers cloud watch monitoring for EC2 instances, but we still found ourselves reaching out to a third party vendor for a true APM solution for the software running on our EC2 instances. It would be great if we could define what makes our app available to an end user and get reports with an availability percentage and aped score at the end of each month to hand to a client and ensure them that we're meeting our SLA. Right now, we have to go to New Relic for this, which is quite expensive.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

EC2 makes it simple to spin up hardware on demand

Reviewed on 9/9/2020

Really it's difficult to remember a time before EC2, getting a new hardware instance was typically weeks or months of effort, now it can be done in seconds.

Pros

I love how simple and quick it is to get instances up and running. With our AMIs I can spin up a new instance in a matter of seconds.

Cons

Amazon has a massive feature set, but it is a little more technically focused than some of the competition, which can make the barrier to entry a little higher.

Anastasia P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Reliable cloud server

Reviewed on 20/3/2020

It is a good cloud information store. It is stable and reliable.

Pros

I can use it to store different kind of information, including a personal one. The cloud server makes it easier to control your computer resources.

Cons

Interface is a bit complicated for new users. I am used to more intiutive interfaces, probably. Pricing plans coould be more flexible.

Om G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

review for amazon EC2 cloud service

Reviewed on 14/10/2020

I like this tool for a numbers of reason but one of most import of it ecofriendly nature as being a computer science student I need to be store in right place so the tool like EC2 cloud is very much helpful for that also any one can learn cloud computing deafly from there about it performance , uses , and also it is one of the trending topics.

Pros

The most important and likely feature of E.C2 cloud i.e. developed by amazon it is a great tool for us to cloud storage as we living in a digital era were everybody want to store there private data in a save space like cloud

Cons

It need much knowledge of cloud computing and data to operate it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best provider for vps service

Reviewed on 9/10/2020

The best service and product for servers online, easy to maintain and monitor.

Pros

Amazon services for new and existing virtual private service.
Easy to start new server online in few clicks.
You can shut down and start servers in few clicks and easy to add or remove computer features.

Cons

I think its the best service you can get for vps services.
Its so easy to run some servers online in few clicks and run tests on it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cloud solution that works with VMware

Reviewed on 25/9/2018

Pros

Amazon has made some new annoncement with Vmware about more integration between VMware solution and Vmware solution. Now AMAZON RDS are now available on premise with VMware and inside Amazon. VMware solution like NSX and kubernetes are now fully compatible. Amazon offer some great solutions for IAAS, CAAS , SAAS. you need it they ve got it.

Cons

Amazon can be complex because of the large offering they provide. It can be difficult to use amazon calculator for new app because network traffic is not easy to evaluate (you pay for outgoing and ingoing traffic).

John L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

happy

Reviewed on 6/8/2020

Pros

That the software has great priced items

Cons

that some products have long delivery time

Bendegúz K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Aws

Reviewed on 15/10/2020

I could use it for that that I wanted to I like I can find every virtual services in one place

Pros

I could running a Linux which did not have any limit. I mean it allowed my to install the necessarily packets and programs

Cons

The ssh connection is always broke down and complicate firewall punch.

Leon K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Translation & Localisation
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 30/3/2017

Tim L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

good APP

Reviewed on 1/8/2018

Pros

Amazon EC2 is a very good App. It is super easy to deploy your solution in the cloud. It offers plenty of features.

Cons

The price is a little high. It requires some learning curve to be familiar with all the features to use.

Shintaro S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 5/10/2018

Brendan W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 1/9/2015

Jasper W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 7/9/2017

David K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 1/5/2016

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good cloud service to host application servers!

Reviewed on 9/2/2021

Amazon EC2 has allowed us to host our application server very quickly and easily without worrying about the setup process and security measures, as it takes care of that. Amazon EC2 also has a lot of services for server monitoring and the ability to scale up or scale down servers when required which reduces operational costs as we only scale up when there is heavy load & scale down otherwise only paying for what we use. I am happy with Amazon EC2

Pros

Amazon EC2 has a wide variety of instances with various operating systems and hardware options to choose from, this ensures that we are able to select the server we need and have to pay only for that which helps in cost saving. It has options to interact with the server via application libraries, command line terminal & its dashboard which helps in managing the server. Amazon AWS also has other products that integrate really well and easily with Amazon EC2 making it the go-to choice for hosting application servers.

Cons

Amazon EC2 has a learning curve that a beginner may find difficult to grasp easily & quickly also its dashboard user interface is quite complex with a lot of options and it is easy for someone to get confused and overwhelmed by it.

Francis A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

AWS EC2 review

Reviewed on 20/6/2020

Easy to launch an EC2 instance into different subnets and regions

Pros

A very user friendly interface. easy to navigate and setup

Cons

The free tier eligible instance is just 1gb ram. cant really do much with it

Antonio M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best solution for all your computational needs

Reviewed on 4/2/2021

We used it to host the web app we were developing, together with all other websites we were making for that business. We even hosted our newspaper website WordPress setup with Amazon. The developers were extremely happy with Amazon services and were in touch with people from Amazon who were amazingly nice whenever I interacted with them.

Pros

Whatever we needed, Amazon supported. They even had a Wordpress hosting environment that we could transfer our newspaper website to.

Cons

The price was not low as we had a need for a large number of machines and the amounts quickly added up, but it was still manageable.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simple cloud virtual machine hosting

Reviewed on 3/10/2019

EC2 has provided me with excellent, low-cost VM hosting in the cloud for many years

Pros

EC2 is a game-changing technology that enables you to rapidly spin up a virtual machine in the cloud at very low cost

Cons

Compared to newer on-demand hosting options, the EC2 model is less flexible

Daniel Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for spinning up instances of our site

Reviewed on 27/5/2020

We use it as a development team to spin up servers and build instances of our software for testing purposes.

Pros

Amazon EC2 is a convenient way to spin up an instance of a site for testing purposes by basically mimicking the installation and configuration that you would have on a computer.

Cons

I would be nice if the overall process could be a little less painful to set up and to integrate. But overall I think it works really well.

Les P.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

pretty good for tech heads

Reviewed on 21/12/2017

Pros

Extremely customizable ... you can set it up virtually any way you like to with virtually any operating system. Get your automated deployment system working in conjunction with this and you are set.

Cons

you have to figure it out for yourself. The tutorials are quite dense and the cusomizability makes it complex. Everything is an option with choices that you may not understand or be aware of.