Amazon EC2

4.6 (87)
Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(87)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

91%
recommended this app

87 Software options

Carlos alberto G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Experience to grow

Reviewed on 29/9/2020

I have been able to solve many types of problems, from simple hostings, to applications that have grown and needed to scale. The configurations are simple for the most part, and you can really grow without the need for large expenses or investments of time in implementing astronomical solutions.

Pros

I think the whole EC2 environment is impressive, the set of tools allows for implementations of all kinds and on the scale that is necessary. Currently there are many configuration options, the user interfaces have improved making the use fluid and very easy to understand. All the implementations that I have had to carry out have been fast and the integrations with the existing resources have not been a problem.

Cons

In my case, I would like to have some extra tool available to manage the operating system of the instances.

Alternatives Considered

Cloud Servers

Reasons for Choosing Amazon EC2

Poor support and few tools

Switched From

MyWebsite

Reasons for Switching to Amazon EC2

The price commands many times, but in this case the amount of options and possibilities offered by the platform.
Caroline S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple access and no maintenance cost

Reviewed on 30/5/2019

Amazon EC2 has made it possible to carry out the implementation of services or applications in the cloud, thus saving time and money and being able to please any customer with their needs and all for a really fair price.

Pros

This Amazon tool is really useful since it has great advantages that is why I like it for several reasons being the main one that is extremely flexible, easy to use, easy to access, requires no maintenance and only pays for what is used, account with an interface that is very intuitive in addition to that in case of having doubts about it provides tutorials or a really compressible documentation so there is no way of not being able to understand its use, also it can be customized to cover each one of the needs that search the user thus being able to host any application, or web service of business or personal interest.

Cons

This tool works very well so finding faults as such is difficult, the only drawback is that locating a support team directly can be complicated but it is not impossible.

Nathan S.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cloud Computing at its best with a catch

Reviewed on 29/12/2018

Pros

Server Deployment is easy - We use Amazon EC2 for deploying cloud servers for our applications. We have been able to easily deploy multiple configurations from the panel at the click of a button. Y

Built on Linux - EC2 is built on Linux so if you have an understanding of Linux, it makes using EC2 easier.

Cost effective. You really can't beat the cost here, being able to scale at a fraction of the cost of hosting an actual server is worth investing in EC2. You can easily turn off instances of EC2 servers when not in use to save money.

Reliability - Amazon servers have extremely good uptimes which means they are working most of the time, in fact, we have not experienced any downtime since we switched from a fixed host provider.

Cons

As with any platform, learning to use Amazon EC2 can take some time. We had to have our team re-trained to start using it. So it is not ideal if you just want to deploy right away.

Also AWS services are complicated to use in general so you may find it confusing use. For example, the billing panel can be confusing to use if you have multiple instances of servers running.

Because of the complicated nature of the Admin panel, it is easy to get lost in features and tools available, so you are better off staying within the areas of the admin area you know.

Ben M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Immediate access to unlimited server computing potential

Reviewed on 23/4/2018

Pros

EC2 is an incredible service offering unlimited computing power for any server applications, and best of all offering it 24/7 at the drop of a hat. Scale up or down automatically with elastic load balancers. Assign reusable, dedicated IPs. Create images quickly for use in duplicating servers.

Cons

The interface is complex and not very intuitive. Pricing can be hard to understand or calculate ahead of time. Amazon support isn't readily available without paying a premium for it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent!

Reviewed on 9/3/2019

Pros

this is a great tool to use for renting virtual computers

Cons

nothing that comes to mind; excellent app

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Comparison

Reviewed on 17/2/2019

Pros

give good service like comparison facilities,reviews,integration,and their alternatives.features,products

Cons

we'll see whatever customer get problems we fixed as soon as possible(cloud computing,integration,reviews,comparison,features,alternatives

Clint R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Convenient, saves time and money

Reviewed on 19/4/2018

Pros

We moved our phone server to Ec2. Was easy to set up with no real training. Could it be easier? Yes but overall still pretty easy to provision new servers. There's so much flexibility and I love the feature that allows you to predict what your monthly expenses will be.

Never been a minute of down time yet.

Cons

Only thing I can say negative is that I feel the vpn pricing is a bit high. Could be more competitively priced. Also it can be cumbersome to figure out where your server is at until you get on the right geographical location.

Reyes P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 29/1/2019

Jeffrey H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 20/6/2018

Paul H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Reviewed on 8/10/2016

Mukando U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 4/5/2016

Saulo A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best PaaS

Reviewed on 4/11/2021

I've been using AWS for over 10 years and I don't remember having any problems, except for the ones I caused myself. It's extremely reliable, safe and affordable.

Pros

Elastic Bean Stalk is a very simple and reliable platform as a service. You can configure various aspects of your application like deploy, autoscaling and database. Lambda is also an extremely useful resource for small service development without having to set up a complete framework for it.

Cons

Some functions are hard to learn like IAM for example. Also, managing costs well can be a challenge as there are many options to choose from.

Alternatives Considered

Heroku, Google Cloud Platform and Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Choosing Amazon EC2

Pricing, Support, Reliability, and Features Available Only on AWS

Switched From

Dreamhost VPS

Reasons for Switching to Amazon EC2

Previous knowledge of features, pricing and startup program.
Joel B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Standard for Cloud Computing

Reviewed on 8/5/2018

Pros

The ability to spool up a server in a few minutes has always blown my mind. I had a recent server failure that resulted in me spooling up a new server to replace it. I was able to get the job done in under two hours. It would have been much faster than that if I had done it before, but there was some learning required in the process. I've documented the process, so the next time this happens, I will be able to get back up and running in minutes.

Having been in IT my whole life, this ability is quite amazing. It was the stuff of dreams over a decade ago and now I get to live it out. There are way too many good things to say about EC2. I can have multiple servers spread across the world so I can service my customers locally, instead of them having to traverse continents and oceans to hit up a server. I can attach and detach storage so I can start working from where I last started. The list goes on and on.

I want to say that there is a plethora of helpful information available to those who need support. The Amazon support information is great as well as YouTube and other informational sites. If you're Google-Fu is up to date, you can get the help you need without having to pick up the phone.

Cons

The biggest con to EC2 is the shear vastness of features, tools, and functionality. For people who are new and want to start off, there is not an easy or simple "get started here" path that I have found. There is so much to learn, and so much you will never know, that getting some help at the beginning should really be considered.

Sophia T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most elastic platform available.

Reviewed on 28/8/2019

I never had problems with this platform, it is really very complete and useful, it has an extremely high level of security, it also integrates very easily and natively with other aws tools, it is a wonderful multipurpose tool, which can be used with or without the other tools of aws.

Pros

This tool is extremely versatile, serves as a vps, and as a base instance for many other aws tools, it allows me to connect to external aws platforms simply, it has a high level of configuration, customization and security. I can specifically choose each hardware component that is needed according to the needs of the projects, and the platform is ready to use in a few minutes, in addition to having a very extensive configuration panel, with many configurations, in addition to a console, which allows Work through commands directly, without opening the instance, its download and upload speed is very high and quite stable.

Cons

It is difficult for me to think of a negative aspect on this platform, however, what must be taken into account is that it is a fairly complete and complex tool to use, so the learning curve is quite steep.

Tigran K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Takes some time to figure out, but ideal for the job to be done

Reviewed on 22/7/2021

I love it. The job is done and I'm using the first year trial. Pricing beyond the trial period is also reasonable and I'm more than willing to pay for this service.

Pros

This is a cloud web server and does exactly what many people want - having a stable machine without the hassle of installing and maintaining your own hardware. We use it as a remote Linux server with cron jobs running on it and collecting data from the web, and producing a database for our clients. We also host our website there.

Cons

A little difficult to start working with. The product has its own terminology and libraries to use that makes you overwhelmed at first. However, there are some third-party videos on youtube that help you to get started.

Justin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reliable, flexible, and capable: just don't get lost in the details

Reviewed on 6/5/2021

Once you get over the pricing hurdles, EC2 provides a remarkably consistent experience. I haven't had any real problems with it.

Pros

EC2 is a remarkably easy service to understand: you pick a virtual machine of a given type and launch it. AWS has the sort of SLA that can't be matched by an on-premises network environment. Even better, since EC2 instances can be billed for very short periods of time, you can spin up an incredibly powerful machine for a short time without having to worry about provisioning.

Cons

EC2's billing flexibility is a downside in that it's very difficult to give "off the cuff" estimates for how much a given EC2 setup might cost. AWS has a nice cost calculator, but even with that, pricing it out still isn't easy.

Victor A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewed on 20/4/2018

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great software

Reviewed on 31/12/2020

Amazing experience. I really like their customer service, they are great and very very helpful.

Pros

Very convenient, very good. I really like their customer service, they are great and very very helpful.

Cons

A little bit expensive. It costs a lot of money, and you really need your company to pay for you. I am very lucky to have it covered using my company's account.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good quality machine with room for improvement.

Reviewed on 12/4/2019

Pros

Pretty easy to use. Wide documentation is available in case you get stuck somewhere. And good quality machines.

Cons

For some reason, the p3.16xlarge (8 tesla v100 GPUs) machine is outperformed by p3.8xlarge machine (4 tesla v100 GPUs) (tested on multiple GPU supported model). I was using it for ML training and p3.8xlarge was taking 27 to 28 seconds for an epoch where p3.16xlarge was taking 31 to 32 seconds for an epoch even though it is a larger machine !!!!!! It has twice computing power on paper but that does not reflect in actual performance. I am not sure what might be the reason but paying twice but slower machine does not make any sence. I hope they will fix this soon.

Mahek V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best Cloud Platform to deploy and serve your application

Reviewed on 6/8/2021

Pros

The instance creation and load balancing with the pre configured VM is the best part about it.
The VM configuration can easily be customised and an application can be deployed and managed.
Specifying the security groups with your firewall access requirements is much more easier and manageable.

Cons

The only thing to dislike about it is It has so many feature and don’t have a proper documentation so it becomes difficult for the beginner to start and deploy applications.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Strongest compute capabilities for develoeprs

Reviewed on 2/4/2018

Pros

Incredibly easy to get started, great user community, lots of online blog and forum help, relatively well priced.

Cons

A little simplistic and lacks major enterprise features that any large company should look for when purchasing compute.

Joshua H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good first impression

Reviewed on 15/7/2021

It's been a good start, and I foresee things continuing to go well.

Pros

I haven't used the software much, but it's been helpful for when I'm reviewing certain important information.

Cons

Since I haven't been using it too much, I haven't really noticed anything that I don't like about it.

Jói S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewed on 7/11/2016

Chris G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 9/10/2015

Sagar J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Get ready your instance with few clicks

Reviewed on 17/5/2021

Easy configuration
Easy to access with go performance
Easy to customized
Easy to suspend and terminate
Preferable to go with EC-2 anytime.

Pros

AWS EC2 allows you to create an instance i.e Elastic compute within a few clicks.
For AWS EC2 you do not need to be worried about the installation and partitions and etc configurations.
Instead of selecting the things you just choose your requirement and get it configured with fully installed Everything within few clicks.
Here you get save your time
Here you get to save you money as you have to pay only as you required.
You have to option as well for free tier to the testing purpose of EC2.
Even you have to option to choose a flavor as per your requirement
you can have an option to choose the categories wise instance

You can just say that: easy simple deployment with EC2

Cons

If you have to configure the instance-EC2 you have to pay as per the billing criteria.
You are not allowed to configured or customized your free tier instance-EC2.
If you are not paying for your instance-EC2 your instance will be suspended.

Alternatives Considered

vSphere

Reasons for Choosing Amazon EC2

Better performance Easy to understand Easy to access cost saving - as pay as use

Switched From

vSphere and Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Switching to Amazon EC2

AWS EC2 comes with Advanced features Easy to established connectivity with databases, firewalls, VPNs, Easy to install and experience good performance