2,180 reviews

GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)

Open-source and on-premise image manipulation software

4.4 /5 (2180 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
89%
recommended this app
2,180 reviews
Josip L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Free alternative for Adobe Photoshop

Reviewed on 18/7/2019

With Gimp I am creating weekly flyers with products from our company. We can save an enormous amount of money by doing this by ourselves and not some external design company.

Pros

Gimp is an open-source image manipulation program what means it is absolutely free to use. Also, you will receive regular updates which add new features and fixes bugs including security issues. It has all the abilities that for example Adobe Photoshop and other commercial programs have. It can offer even more because it is easily extensible and flexible for every environment with lots of great community plugins and scripts.

Cons

The user interface of Gimp is not the most beautiful one but its function is very good. It has a lot of menus and submenus so for beginners it may be a little harder to achieve some more complex operations such as retouch of a face or double exposure. Also, compatibility with Adobe file formats exists but don't except that it works perfectly. Most of the time it works flawlessly if you are opening the document from older versions of Photoshop because newer version needs some updating and updates occur approximately every 2 months which is still faster than what Adobe is doing with their Photoshop.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Open Source alternative to Photoshop

Reviewed on 23/6/2020

GIMP is a great free alternative to Photoshop that ticks all the right boxes for a affordable and powerful image manipulation program.

Pros

This software is free to use and it's code is open source. It can do just about anything that Photoshop can, but this is still a highly technical program that requires prior skills before using.

Cons

There is quite a steep learning curve to GIMP, but there is a wide variety of different tutorials to get one through the curve and onto making progress towards their goals.

John M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GIMP is where it's at for beginners!

Reviewed on 27/8/2019

Overall, I have had nothing short of an enjoyable experience using GIMP over the past few years. It is versatile enough that I can use it for everything from making flyers and posters to making thumbnails and title card art for YouTube and Facebook videos.
For someone with a limited budget and even more limited technical knowledge when I began, I could not be happier with GIMP and still use it to this day for ninety percent of my projects.

Pros

GIMP offers quite a bit as far as options and competes with some programs out there that can cost sixty dollars or more. When I began using the program, I was brand new to graphic design and generally making artwork and editing visual media on a PC. Through the use of tutorials and other sources that I was able to find on the official forums for GIMP, I was able to learn the program in about half of the time that it has taken me to learn other, lesser programs.
Along with great customer support and tutorials, the interface on GIMP is much easier to get the hang of for beginners and the more time that you put into learning the various functions, the more GIMP grows with your skill level and on top of providing various tutorials, the GIMP community is one of the best communities that I have ever interacted with. Amongst the free editing programs that I have used and even amongst ones that I have paid for, GIMP has been by far the easiest and most reliable one. All of the work that I produce with it has a consistent level of quality and a lot of the functions provided by GIMP have been helpful in helping me to understand more about using techniques. All in all, I would say that for the price, GIMP is an amazing program for a beginner or someone on a budget.

Cons

The thing that I like least about GIMP is probably that in a recent update, a few of the features that I had grown to depend on were taken out which resulted in taking the time to figure out how to proceed. It wasn't a deal-breaking feature, just something that I liked to save time but being that I didn't use it outside of one or two occasions months apart, it wasn't anything that I was willing to stop using GIMP over and I found out how to proceed and get what I needed to do accomplished through searching for help amongst the forums that are set up.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Free Photo-shop Alternative

Reviewed on 7/2/2019

In conclusion, when using Gimp you will learn how to create fantastic site graphics and compelling WEB to graphics. Gimp educational online videos are the best way to learn how to use Gimp.

Pros

GIMP is also known as the GNU Image Manipulation Program. It is a great photo editing program that is stress-free to use. It has a lot of things to do with unlimited options on what to do for a picture to make it look cool. The wonderful thing is, it's free!
Advantages, As you can expect, GNU Image Manipulation is used to edit images. This program makes photo editing very enjoyable and easy. Sure, there are essential things you should learn before you become an expert, but when you learn these first tips for beginners, you start with the start of stunning photo editing plans. Unlike photo editing, the GNU image manipulation program can also create small videos and animations. Despite the difficulty of creating these images, they are still fascinating and really fun. GNU Image Manipulation is one of the best images editing software available. All you have to do is go to the GIMP site and download it for free. Gimp is always available and updates are often shown with fun things to do and discover them in the program. Another great thing about GNU Image Manipulation is that you can add new things to the program. Unlike waiting for an updated date, you can go ahead and download some plug-ins from their site right away! Also, you can add different fonts and different brushes to the program to make your photo stand out.

Cons

GIMP has limited 8-bit depth, making it an unexpected choice for professional use in the first place. Gimp has disadvantages when compared to Photoshop in trivial issues the fact that it lacks the advantage of color management and does not provide control layers.

Linos S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fully and easily customizable

Reviewed on 3/5/2019

Pros

GIMP supports virtually any file-type of raster graphics one needs to work on. Vector graphics can be imported and exported, but not so easy to create from scratch. Animated GIFs can be edited, but again, not built. But, if one needs to customize GIMP, they have a lot of options. The easiest would be to find a ready-made plugin, which can cover up for almost everything not included in the main application. Two, there is the Py-Fu console, which is a simple way of creating and optimizing plugins. Three, if you have the knowledge, you can go straight to the source code, and make your life easier but also contribute to how other people work with graphics.

Cons

GIMP's learning curve was a pain back in the day, when access to internet was not available to everyone 24/7. I believe things are easier today; the learning curve is still steep, but apart from the manual, one can also read and watch tutorials that make it easier.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ideal for retouching photos

Reviewed on 12/12/2018

Actually for me personally it has been a great advantage to have Gimp because I can use it on any machine without the need for licenses, and it works a lot for the retouching and editing of photographs that is the main use I have given to it and that I have recommended to my supervised that they use. It's easy, fast, it's light, it's practical and no more expertise is required.

Pros

As an editor of an internal communication medium on a daily basis, and in the absence of private licenses for the installation of software recognized for graphic editing, Gimp became an ally for journalists who had to edit their photographs daily before uploading it to the news portal . The ease of installation, and ease of use for editing and retouching photos in size, color, brightness and resolution is for beginners and there is a lot of information and online tutorials for those who do not know it.

Cons

Very little publicity about its existence and the new features that the new version brings; besides, it is not intuitive for other functions that are not simply the retouching of images or photographs; as a competitor of photoshop it's a great alternative, but for quick and easy designs for social networks, there are other more intuitive programs for people who are not specialists in design program management. The official support is not very clear, and you should always resort to tutorials from other users.

I. adrian A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good performance software but it lacks certain tools

Reviewed on 2/8/2018

Gimp is a good software for editing photos and images. It allows obtaining quality results for the management of photographs, having multiple formats to obtain the final products.

Despite the disadvantages I mentioned above, I would not stop using Gimp, and I recommend it to the entire graphic design community, they will not regret acquiring it.

Pros

Gimp has very positive characteristics that complement my functions as a photographer. While I use other software to design and edit photographs, Gimp is also part of my repertoire.

An excellent layer management to make the images much more colorful and realistic. These layers in turn can be combined in thousands of ways, making the software a creative solution for all graphic designers.

Another interesting element of this software is that you can make or edit images that can be supported through scrips to be inserted into web pages. This feature is very important because it allows me to save time in the elaboration and coding of the image for the blogs and web pages that I currently use.

Cons

Sometimes I have to resort to other image manipulation software by vectors since Gimp does not have this option. I also think that this software lacks certain tools, however, I would not stop using it because I like the quality that Gimp offers for editing and the formats it allows me to work with.

Simone P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GIMP Software Review

Reviewed on 26/9/2019

I use Gimp all the time and have done for years. This is my go to platform for any of my Graphic Design work. I also use this software linked up to a Graphic Display Drawing Tablet, and it still works just as good. Saving work is simple due to the software having every file format you could think off.
Finding tutorials for Gimp is easy and an online forum with the Gimp Community are always happy to help. This is a great piece of Software, and I can safely say I will be using Gimp for many years to come. I would recommend it to anyone, beginner or advanced.

Pros

I have been using Gimp for years now, and would never feel the need to swap to another software. It seems to have all the features to do what I need it to do.
The best pro for Gimp has to be the fact that it is a free open source software.
Gimp is a great piece of software because it is free, anyone thinking about learning image manipulation, or animation can test the waters without having to have paid lots of money for other software.
The second has to be that it competes easily with the top paid software in the same genre. The multi layered editing works great, and the software is easy to learn and use. Gimp supports many formats, meaning work can be saved in different formats depending on your need.
It is easy to gain plug-ins for Gimp as well to help customise it to your needs.

Cons

It can seem overwhelming if you are new to this kind of software, but to be honest, this would be the same to anyone who hadn't used image manipulation software before.
Sometimes Gimp can have the odd glitch, but the platform is updated regularly so doesn't cause many problems at all, as this always seems to get resolved.

Frank V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Professional-grade digital image editing in a free, open source package.

Reviewed on 25/8/2019

GIMP is an excellent product for our use case scenario; we often have to process digital images in the preparation of technical documentation, which is an important role for which we require professional quality results, but it is not a central, revenue-generating function. The product has a very mature feature set that will allow you to perform very complex manipulations, including compositing of multi-layer images, advanced transformations, and elaborate color management. Overall quality of the tools and filters is very high - comparable with that of top commercial products.
This product is best suited for processing images, not documents, although its excellent PDF import and export capabilities can be used to produce professional-looking forms if purpose-specific tools are not available.
The product is not difficult to learn and most of the tools, commands and filters are intuitive to use; however, the large features set makes mastering the application a long-term endeavor. 3rd party content useful for training is abundant on the Internet, but is not necessarily well indexed or organized.
Overall, this is an excellent choice for people who need more features than are available in entry-level packages, but who cannot justify the expenditure of a top-of-the-line tool. Just be aware that you are trading cost for convenience, mostly in the form of quality of documentation and available training.

Pros

- Very complete, robust feature set, comparable to the best commercial products.
- Stable code that performs well. This is a mature product.
- Support for a very wide range of file formats popular across many industries.

Cons

- User interface is "peculiar" and takes some getting used to.
- Documentation could be better. It's thorough and all features are covered, but not very deep.
- Support. It's an open source product, so your support options are centered around web searches... There is a significant wealth of information available, but if this will be a line-of-business application for you, you may do better by choosing a product with paid commercial support.

Nigel masimba R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Free Advanced Image Editing

Reviewed on 11/1/2019

I've been using GIMP as my primary raster image editing software for over 3 years. GIMP is a free and open source software (FOSS). I use mostly free and open source software because starting out I could never have afforded the licenses for most premium software. FOSS also generally demands fewer resources from your computer, which is true for GIMP. I use GIMP on a Core i3 laptop with 4 gig RAM running on Linux UBUNTU.

I didn't give a customer support rating because strictly speaking there is no customer support for GIMP (as far as I know ). There is a wide range of online resources and forums that are as good as, and in some cases better than most customer support, though.

Pros

It's Free. You can create professional images without paying a cent! Gimp comes with all the basic functionality of an advanced image manipulation program.

It's gentle on system resources. You can do professional work on an entry-level laptop

Cons

It's almost always behind premium software available on the market. Because GIMP is open source new features usually come long after premium competitors have released them.

No cloud collaboration. I can't work wing projects in a group.

Installing plugins can be challenging. Recently I failed to install the plugin that allows me to export to the new WebP format. I also had a hard time installing the batch Processing plugin that allows me to apply batch processes like resizing or compression. Sometimes the plugin repositories are moved, broken or incompatible with the installed version of GIMP, so it takes a bit of extra effort to get new functionality.

Mark P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The image editor that's always there for you

Reviewed on 17/8/2019

Overall, GIMP has been invaluable to me whenever I need to do quick image edits for school, work, and side projects. There is definitely room for improvement in terms of usability and ease-of-use, but you'd be hard-pressed to find another well-respected image editing solution that you can use on any machine.

Pros

To me, the biggest thing GIMP has going for it is its ubiquity. It's a fully-featured image manipulation software that you can run on Windows, Mac, or Linux with minimum hassle. As someone who switches between Windows and Linux on a daily basis, I greatly appreciate having just one image editing UI to work with.

Another thing that adds to GIMP's usefulness is its age and tenure. GIMP is one of the oldest image editors on the market, and as such it has built up a sizable repertoire of community-provided tutorials and guides. Search up any question that you might have about GIMP's UI, and you're guaranteed to find a handful of instructions from experienced users.

Cons

The big thing that turns people off of GIMP is its look-and-feel, and I'm inclined to agree with those complaints. The UI isn't as fresh and professional in appearance as Photoshop, and the controls, menus, and shortcuts can be confusing or even overwhelming for a first-time user. Paint.NET, another free image editor, has a much more appealing and user-friendly UI. If it weren't for the fact that it was Windows-only, it likely would have overtaken GIMP by now.

Braden W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome Photoshop Alternative

Reviewed on 13/4/2020

Overall fantastic. For anyone remotely familiar with Adobe Creative Cloud applications, you should have no issue picking up the software and being competent. GIMP is also a fantastic option for someone who is just beginning to use photo editing software, as it is free and offers a ton of functionality. The learning curve might be steeper if you are unfamiliar, however there are tons of tutorials and walk-throughs online to supplement training!

Pros

As far as OSS goes, GIMP is the best software that I have experienced to date. It was designed with the intent of mirroring the functionality of Adobe Photoshop and most certainly does. Almost every feature and functional tool you would find in Photoshop you find in GIMP. Additionally, PSD (Photoshop) files are completely compatible with GIMP, which was integral for me in an interim time when I wasn't using Adobe but still had to work those files.

Cons

There are two functional aspects that I would say could be improved in GIMP. The tools bar cannot be docked into the canvas space, which is a nominal problem, however it can make for a messy interface if you have numerous windows open. The only other aspect that I struggled with was the save/export interface. It took some getting used to, navigating the file type choice as well as how it displays your savable file locations. I ended up "misplacing" some files when I first started using GIMP, however once I got used to the display, I had no issues.

Bhavik J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Great Open Source Image Editor for Graphic Needs of your Organization

Reviewed on 8/10/2019

My overall experience with GIMP is very satisfactory. Most of the times, the feature set is complete for intermediate graphic needs, but in some advanced cases, lack of features become visible. Also, as being open source, some of the latest versions can include some minor bugs.

Pros

The thing I like the most about GIMP is that it is free and open source. It has all the features you could ask in an image editor and supports most of the image/graphic formats. Also, it is also regularly updated and always vulnerability free. One of the best thing about GIMP is that it supports most of platforms and works well on all of them.

Cons

The thing I like the least about GIMP is that it does not support 16 bit colours. Also, new feature development is slow as it is an open source product. Searching for GIMP plugins is also a hassle.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Free Alternative to Adobe Photoshop

Reviewed on 6/12/2018

Again, not many complaints for Gimp. I was so happy to find this free software and it is really amazing that there is a tech community willing to keep this free and updated as much as possible. Even if they had to charge a little fee in the future, I may just pay the fee because this program has been so useful to me.

Pros

This software is completely free, first of all. It runs and updates through software engineers donating their time and minds to the project. I read a lot of reviews before loading it onto my tablet because I didn't want to waste what little space I had on the hard drive. I came across some reviews that said Gimp was not user-intuitive, that there is a lot of manual work for the user. Personally, I find the program to be so similar to Photoshop that a non-techie like me has pretty much all the knowledge to use the program from the beginning. Same dark tinted workspace, same tools and their placement. I kind of was able to dive right into the program without having to stumble around too much. My favorite feature, ability to cut pieces of images out and paste elsewhere, and transparent layers. Great program. Thumbs up.

Cons

I suppose something that seemed odd in reviews is that it doesn't have an extensive user manual. It's not a totally known program so there are many forums on tech support for the software. Most of the help, I read, would be from non-English speakers so I will have to start translating soon when I need help with an issue. One thing that I did notice - and this is being picky - is that there is no smoother tool, or at least I have not readily discovered it yet. It's a minor thing but that tool has saved me in AI when my hands weren't all too steady. BUT I found that you can just press shift and bring the paint tool across to whereever to make straight lines. It doesn't help much with curves but still something.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GIMP provides an efficient and impressive workspace for graphics with no catch to the free...

Reviewed on 12/7/2018

I was able to edit graphics professionally without the need to purchase software.

Pros

GIMP is an excellent, free graphics editor to rival Photoshop in everything from basic image editing to digital art. It combines an astounding amount of features into one bundle for no cost. Many other free image editors include only a few tools, but GIMP truly has them all. You can make vector images with the pen tool, import custom brushes, and edit photos as needed. I've used this program for professional and hobby use, and it fulfills both. It's great for making quick graphics without the constrictions of word processing software. It's also a reliable and complex software to complete long projects with. I was impressed with the range of technical tools, such as minute photo adjustments (with the lasso or magic wand).

Cons

GIMP is a little slow when processing very large images, however, it runs well on almost everything I've used with it. Its menus could also use some optimization. They're not intuitive, and they group functions in a way that makes them hard to find. It is less polished than its paid rivals, but the functionality is nearly identical.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best free photoshop alternative.

Reviewed on 29/5/2019

Pros

I have to use GIMP a lot when I am using a Linux machine on the studio premises. To use photoshop I have to buy an Adobe subscription. I really need an alternative. When I found gimp I must give it a try. This is some of the best tools, and free of course.
If I need some simple portfolio shots and some simple pre-wedding and social media touchups gimp is my first option. A big community helps you with everything and there are lots of tutorials that will help you learn GIMP very quickly.
All the files are compatible with Photoshop and GIMP so I don't have any problem sending my edited photos to my editor for more professional touchups.
As a free software GIMP made my life easier. The UI definitely needs more work but for a basic photo editing, it is ok.

Cons

When using animation in a project for photoshop, it doesn't run in GIMP. As a community has driven this software, any features came very late or not all features available. GIMP is my late backup software if anything goes wrong.

Sarath S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The Best Open Source Image Editor

Reviewed on 22/4/2019

I have been using GIMP for years and i am more familiar with it. And mostly i use GIMP in Linux OS. And my experience with Image Editing was really great.

Pros

I really like the fact that GIMP is open source, its FREE. It has Almost every tool for an image editor, GIMP has a simple but professional looking interface.And we can also install new plugins to gimp. And when it compares to other photo editing tools GIMP only takes less memory to run. And GIMP can be installed in Linux,Windows and Mac. And GIMP supports all Image formats too.

Cons

When it compares to other Image editing software like Photoshop some features of the GIMP is not as that good like Layers management can be done easily on Photoshop.

Hannah S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent for editing and graphic design

Reviewed on 10/1/2020

Since I use GIMP I have had very good results, I use it for graphic design and editing of photos and images and it is excellent to have these free tools. The work team has other options but GIMP has been an easy option to use and more and more people are using it, it really offers ease of use and efficiency with respect to other similar programs where you have to spend more time working on the graphic design.

Pros

GIMP is very easy to use and has features and functions similar to more recognized software so people will not find major changes, GIMP is free and highly recommended to use so it has points in its favor, use it as a graphic design tool and Photo editing and the results are satisfactory, but it has more advanced functions that can be used at all times depending on the functions and work you have to do.

Cons

GIMP is very easy to use and the tools and functions it offers are good and it has full compatibility so it is not a problem for me, however the updates are few and not constant but it is understandable since it seems to be a small company with Little budget, but I am happy with the results obtained when I use this software so I have no complaints about GIMP, I just have to thank for this free way of working.

Nathan W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great free software, but with a learning curve

Reviewed on 4/12/2019

I use this on a weekly basic to do pretty basic photo editing for various marketing projects--touching up photos, cropping, resizing, etc. I'm not a super user by any means. But GIMP is my go-to for tons of stuff.

Pros

Free and fairly easy to use for the basic stuff. There's enough videos on YT to help figure out how to do most things you need to do. But if you want to dive deep into it's full functionality, that will take some time--but that's pretty much how most things are. For free high-feature photo editing software, its excellent!

Cons

It looks and feels pretty clunky. It's also hard to find some of the tools I want if I don't use them very often. It really comes down to what your needs are. If you need super basic editing this will work--or try Canva for even more basic. But if you want super robust and free, this is a great option too if you want to go deep with learning it.

Abid S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Incredible and Open-Source Image Editor

Reviewed on 28/4/2020

My overall experience is really incredible with GIMP. The software has helped me to design and execute a large number of my graphic elements. I have designed a lot of my business images using the GIMP. Often I use the software for the retouching purpose of my own Images. I am really happy and satisfied with the software. Because without paying nothing, I can design my professional graphic content with GIMP.

Pros

GIMP is open-source and free software that allows graphic designers and photographers to design professional content. The tools of GIMP are really easy to understand and use. You can edit your images on a professional level. You can apply the best retouching options to your images. There a lot of stunning and beautiful effects that you can apply to your image documents. GIMP also supports a huge number of image formats. You can create your original artwork using the professional tools of GIMP.

Cons

According to my experience, GIMP is really awesome for beginner and intermediate graphic designers. Even advanced graphic designers can design a lot of things in GIMP. Only if we will find more 3d editing features that will be awesome.

Fernando D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple but yet powerful.

Reviewed on 15/8/2018

Whenever I need to work on an image, I use GIMP. I'm not a designer so I don't think I need something more powerful than GIMP. It is enough and I can make nice arts that fit my needs perfectly.

Pros

Gimp is a free image processing tool. It doesn't compete head-to-head with Adobe Photoshop, but it still have so many features that makes it unique. You can use it to simply cut and stretch images or you can go further and create nice final arts. Another good and not so called feature is the scripting tool, you can write your Script-fu and batch process a folder full of images to, for example, stretch and colorize them all and save the results in another folder.

Cons

I guess the way some images are cropped or stretched is not so good. For example: if you get an image that is just the outline of a shape and need to get it smaller, then you can get a bad final result. The sharpness of the shape its not fully respected and the result may look either blurred or over-sharped.

Paul M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GIMP is an awesome free & powerful Photoshop alternative

Reviewed on 17/7/2020

As a director of email marketing, GIMP is everything I need and more to complete the photo editing requirements of my job. Absolutely love it.

Pros

GIMP is an amazing open-source, free, and powerful alternative to Adobe Photoshop. Unless you are a designer and doing extremely advanced photo editing, GIMP will do everything you need including the ability to edit PSD files, all for free. I've been working in digital marketing (primarily email marketing) for over 10 years and have used GIMP both GIMP and Photoshop. While I have been supplied Photoshop by some of my employers, it's never been necessary: GIMP does everything an email marketer needs (and more). Highly recommended.

Cons

There's nothing significant I don't like about GIMP. Perhaps the only thing I'd appreciate is an quicker/easier way to set up keyboard shortcuts that mirror those of Photoshop, making it easier to move between the two when necessary.

Daniel P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Superb Photo Editor

Reviewed on 27/5/2019

GIMP has made it easy for my small company to create wonderful photo's that we use for advertisements. It has almost all the same features as bigger-name software.

Pros

Gimp is an extraordinary free, photo editing software . I love GIMP because it's packed to the brim with features, even without the huge price tag. GIMP makes it easy to make adjustments to any pictures with ease, and on top of that any bugs or problems with the software are taken care of in short order!

Cons

The program could be considered basic compared to software that isn't free.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Gimp

Reviewed on 16/9/2019

Pros

It’s hard to write this review without comparing Gimp to Photoshop, so I’ll just start by calling out the elephant in the room. I don’t require photo editing in my job enough to justify a license to Gimp’s pricey cousin, but I had only used Photoshop up until a colleague pointed me to Gimp in the last year.
I have been really happy with what I’ve been able to do in Gimp. In particular, I love that shadow/highlights image adjustment is possible. Most photo viewing/editing tools now come with at least a few basic options for adjustment of images but brightness and contrast options are just not enough. With Gimp I can get the fine tuning I need to dial in brights and darks in a photo.

Cons

There have only been a few things that take getting used to after working in Photoshop. The biggest one is having to export files in an image format rather than having the option to save in and continue working in a particular file type. I’ve also had a few issues where sometimes the exported file is corrupted and other programs cannot open it. I usually get around that by switching between jpg and png which helps for some reason.

Nathan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Free with tons of functionality

Reviewed on 31/8/2019

Pros

You can import a wide variety of file types & export a wide variety as well, including .psd files. There are so many different things you can do to mess with an image & the layers are super helpful. Don't forget plug-ins.

Cons

It can be quite confusing to figure out how to use at first & even after a few years using it. My main gripe is that for different edits, there's no way to apply it to all layers without scripting, but the scripting is confusing to use if you have no experience.