Microsoft Lens

4.5 (266)
Write a Review!
OCR solution for businesses of all sizes

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(266)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

266 Reviews

Jim Paul
Jim Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Scanning Made Easy with Office Lens

Reviewed on 5/11/2020

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that provides scanning services for free but with maximum...

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that provides scanning services for free but with maximum quality. On top of all these perks, it's just a click away from your smartphone. I use it during meetings when I don't have with me my laptop, or at moments when I need to take a super clear shot on any document such as memos, announcements, or even receipts at supermarkets or hardware stores which I could use as a proof of purchase or for reimbursements.

Thanks, Microsoft!

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens solves the day whenever a need for crystal-clear scanning of photos or documents arises. It's the go-to application when you're out and suddenly feel the need for a handy mobile scanner, realizing that it's an application in your smartphone.

The tool is easy-to-use although the walk-through tutorial upon installing it is of great help too. The buttons' functions are simple yet so powerful. I use it a lot in scanning documents and taking snapshots of words written on a whiteboard.

It's also a recommended software for taking random shots whose quality are at par with those of other top applications out in the market, or maybe better.

Cons

The scanning feature is one of the best and it's so reliable when used. If I may suggest though, the focusing task is sometimes a little annoying especially if the correct shape or outline is not easily met. But overall, it's best at what it does which is performing like an actual scanning machine.

Ouattara
Ouattara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A really great digitizing app

Reviewed on 19/2/2023

I sometimes use it to digitize visual media in order to obtain a high-quality rendering. You can...

I sometimes use it to digitize visual media in order to obtain a high-quality rendering. You can scan documents in high quality, convert handwritten text into digital text, and edit it in Word, PowerPoint, or Onenote. I highly recommend it

Pros

Microsoft Lens is a really great app. With Microsoft Lens, it is very easy to convert a physical, visual medium into a digital file. With a single click of your smartphone photo, you transform your visual support into an editable digital file. I like its scanning accuracy and its sharing and integration features with Microsoft Office applications. It integrates very easily with other Microsoft Office tools such as Word, Onenote, Powerpoint, etc. Or, with its scanning accuracy, you can simply keep the rendered file or share it. Also, it is possible to process a file already in its gallery to make it editable. Microsoft Office Lens is an application to try at least once

Cons

I have not had any particular problems with this product. I don't have any recommendations to make at this time

Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Confusing Set-Up

Reviewed on 19/11/2019

Took months to get set-up all the way completed as there was an issue with the Microsoft customer...

Took months to get set-up all the way completed as there was an issue with the Microsoft customer service reps not being able to assist with set-up or integration. Very frustrating experience.

Pros

Microsoft is one of the world's leading software's, so it integrates with most other products nicely.

Cons

The customer service for set-up was awful, took weeks to get everything properly set up and the customer service reps don't seem to know what they are talking about.

Alejandro
Alejandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A completely free sw to store images of important data like blackboards, documents and pictures

Reviewed on 24/9/2019

Excellent software to take quick pictures and share as professional documents and scans.

Excellent software to take quick pictures and share as professional documents and scans.

Pros

Absolutely free, no need for Office 365 to use it. You just have to have a normal outlook or live account. Or a Microsoft account. Great alternative to AdobeScan and CamScanner.
Automatic recognizance of documents, blackboard, pictures and business cards to store it to the optimum quality.
Automatically fix the document angle in the picture to make it look like
Cut or fix the picture to the size you want. It uses snaps to easily and faster image cutting.
For business cards, the infomation is extracted and can be shared as .vcf or store it in your phone.
All the pictures can be store in OneDrive as .docx (as OCR document), jpeg/png (in your phone gallery), .pdf, pptx, or in OneNote.
When saving to a document, the original and if it applied, the layers of the picture are saved.
For blackboards, the images are saved as picture and as drawings /stencils, so they can be copied and pasted to other documents or emails.
View the images saved in your phone and share.
Take pictures in bulk.
Change the resolution of the picture to take. By default it uses a medium resolution. Around 5mpx.

Cons

Sometimes slow but I can accept it because it is recognizing a lot of information in the picture, figuring out what is.
No document can be saved locally, only the pictures.

Esad
Esad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Streamline your workflow with the power of OCR in Microsoft Lens

Reviewed on 22/12/2022

The platform's OCR technology allows the users to accurately extract text from images and documents,...

The platform's OCR technology allows the users to accurately extract text from images and documents, and the platform's integration with other Microsoft apps, such as OneNote and Word, makes it easy to organize and share scanned documents and images. Microsoft Lens is a valuable tool for anyone looking to digitize and manage physical documents and images.

Pros

OCR allows Microsoft Lens to accurately extract text from images and documents, even in cases where the text is partially obscured or has unusual formatting. This makes it an invaluable tool for digitizing physical documents and converting them into digital formats, such as PDFs and Eod documents. The accuracy and reliability of the OCR technology are what make Microsoft Lens a standout tool in my opinion.

Cons

Microsoft Lens allows users to extract and analyze data from images and documents, but the visualization options may be somewhat limited. Adding more advanced charting and graphing capabilities could make it easier for users to communicate insights and trends derived from the extracted data.

Mohammed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens: Easy File Recognition

Reviewed on 24/9/2023

I appreciate how easily Microsoft Lens is able to scan any type of written content.

I appreciate how easily Microsoft Lens is able to scan any type of written content.

Pros

Anyway, I enjoy how quickly files are recognized while I used it, how easily a compact book can be created, and how easily photographs can be converted into files in PDF format.

Cons

It frequently can't precisely trim the images, so I must make the necessary adjustments myself. Fortunately, this requires not much time and is simple to accomplish.

Vivek
Vivek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy Scan with Smartphone

Reviewed on 9/7/2022

I love this application, it is free to use, easy to use. Scanning documents is very easy with this...

I love this application, it is free to use, easy to use. Scanning documents is very easy with this application. It is very useful application in all ways for scanning. Scanning made easy by this application

Pros

First of all it from Microsoft, the most trusted software company in the world. Microsoft Lens is very useful application in scanning division. I am using this application from last 2 years and I like it very much. It does not show watermark in scanned docs or photos. You can choose filters for the scanned docs, Image clarity is adjusted according to the smartphone. scanning get adjusted as per the size of page, photo or anything that you want to scan.

Cons

All about this application is loveable, no one can say this application is not useful.

Inzie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Document scanner

Reviewed on 18/10/2023

Microsoft lens is compatible and available for use in document in data input

Microsoft lens is compatible and available for use in document in data input

Pros

All readable and text documents are scanned by Microsoft lens i.e Microsoft lens scan hardcopy documents to soft copy which can edited and shared.

Cons

Microsoft lens makes whiteboards pdt documents hence is only the reason for using Microsoft lens hence the goal is achieved.

Abhijeet
Abhijeet
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Scanner on your phone.

Reviewed on 29/6/2021

I highly recommend office lens as the defacto software for its ease of usage.

I highly recommend office lens as the defacto software for its ease of usage.

Pros

Easy to use,
Auto selects the document area using AI
Colors are correct
Documents get almost zero glare even when using flash

Cons

It forces you to login into Onedrive every now and then.
Pdf can't be created offline.
A bit slow at times.

Marco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

One of a kind PDF converter

Reviewed on 28/11/2023

I have a lot of handwritten paper documents and being able to convert them to pdf is really useful

I have a lot of handwritten paper documents and being able to convert them to pdf is really useful

Pros

The ability to convert pictures of paper documents into PDF files. This is truly great!

Cons

Scanning is not always optimal, it depends a lot on the quality of the contents of the image to be acquired

Pavel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A removable scanner that is very practical to use and transport

Reviewed on 24/12/2020

Microsoft Office Lens has always been able to fill the gap when I needed a scanner at the office or...

Microsoft Office Lens has always been able to fill the gap when I needed a scanner at the office or on the road.

The application is very well managed despite some bugs that are still quite rare. I therefore recommend Microsoft Office Lens at 90% to scan all your documents in emergency or not as well as to scan business cards, flyers and other documents.

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that offers free but high quality scanning services.
In addition to all these advantages, it is available on your smartphone.
Microsoft Office Lens solves the problem whenever you need to scan photos or documents in a very clear and precise way.
When you are on the move and suddenly feel the need for a scanner thanks to Microsoft Office Lens you can scan everything you need.
The functions of the buttons are simple yet so powerful.
I use it a lot to scan documents and take snapshots of words written on a whiteboard.

Cons

Despite all these advantages, Microsoft Office Lens also has some drawbacks such as a loading time that is sometimes too long.
Or the difficulty to scan the entire document even if it works well most of the time.

Turan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Your Assistant in Your Pocket

Reviewed on 25/12/2022

Since the day I met, I can solve almost all my needs from a single point. I no longer need all the...

Since the day I met, I can solve almost all my needs from a single point. I no longer need all the physical equipment I need. one software and dozens of features.

Pros

An excellent app that works like a real assistant. Especially creating, editing, changing, rearranging the document record, getting the data you want from somewhere and finally getting it in the format you want according to your needs. Its mobile app is a convenience beyond perfection.* Instantly select an area and transfer it to your phone,* Cut the image, straighten it, change the resolution* A seamless translator with multiple language support* convert to pdf, word, powerpoint types you need* Instantly backup to the desired area or send to the specified destination* Ability to work like a browser* Retrieve, edit and republish data from a field* Applicable and manageable for all platforms,* Easy setup and management support* Free structure for mobile users* Ability to extract text from images* QR scanner feature* Ability to upload and modify ready-made documents* Awesome debugging software* OCR support

Cons

It must be integrated into Office365. In this way, it will completely eliminate the need for third-party software.

Manohar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens: A tool for capturing and converting

Reviewed on 21/8/2023

A helpful instrument for capturing pictures and documents is the MS lens. However, it can be...

A helpful instrument for capturing pictures and documents is the MS lens. However, it can be challenging to manage a lot of scanning papers.

Pros

Any form of file, including images, a board, a company card  is able to be quickly scanned. The documents can be converted to PDF, PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, etc. or saved in OneNote . The interface is easy to use. The ability to instinctively identify the file's page during scanning and edit is its strongest feature.

Cons

I really like the majority of this application, though I hope it was capable of converting more types of documents than simply images. Then it would serve as a one-stop shop.

Andre Luiz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

versatility and everything

Reviewed on 11/9/2020

It is a formidable application. Great supplier quality and that makes file scanning much easier.

It is a formidable application. Great supplier quality and that makes file scanning much easier.

Pros

One of the best ways to digitize files using a smartphone. Compatible with several OS. It allows instant edits to the caputures and eliminates the need for large scanner equipment. With it you can scan files wherever you are using just a smartphone. Allows the user to choose the output format of the jpg jpg file among others.

Cons

I've never had any problems. However, it has a limitation that is the user's own, depending on the hardware of the equipment, it may be that a smartphone as a simpler camera cannot achieve an image quality.

Marko
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It can solve 90% of your scanning needs for documents

Reviewed on 28/10/2021

It is really helpful if you get various paper documents all the time like me and can put them into...

It is really helpful if you get various paper documents all the time like me and can put them into the electronic archive in minutes wherever you are since your smarthphone is always near. With a couple of tweaks in settings you get the document automatically in your one drive folder.

Pros

The interface provides a great way to turn the photo of a document into a pdf document which really looks like it was scanned on a scanner. Having tried a couple of alternative mobile apps, I think this one does a better work of transforming the photo image you take (you can fine-tune the borders of the document) into scanner like output. Furthermore, it is connected with one-drive you it goes straight to your folder on the computer.

Cons

Of course, when the light conditions are not so good, it can take a couple of takes of the same document to not have the shadows on the document, but this is expected. At least, the interface is nice so you can easily discard just one page and re-do it.

Kosara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

"Great document scanning app"

Reviewed on 4/5/2021

It is simple to use.I can simply save to my photo Gallery,so there's no requirements to use any...

It is simple to use.I can simply save to my photo Gallery,so there's no requirements to use any Microsoft cloud services.

Pros

I can quickly scan my paper documents,and export them as multi-page PDF files.I have been utilizing Microsoft Office Lens focal point for a long time,and I am very satisfied.
It is truly useful and simple to utilize software.I use it also on my telephone.
My filtering commerce cards could be a idealize fit for this kind of app.

Cons

To be honest,there isn't anything in the app that I really miss.Almost every function is included in the kit.
The only drawback is that it takes a long time to load,otherwise it's fantastic.

akshay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens: A Scanner App That Can Do It All

Reviewed on 29/8/2023

Optimal application for scanning physical documents with OCR capabilities, creating PDFs, and...

Optimal application for scanning physical documents with OCR capabilities, creating PDFs, and converting documents into PPT format.

Pros

Microsoft Lens is a fast and efficient way to scan text, edit images, and share or store them in different formats. It also does not add a watermark to PDF documents.

Cons

Microsoft Lens may not be the best option for scanning large documents or images on older devices, as it can be slow to load and process the images.

Anitha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review on Microsoft Office Lens

Reviewed on 19/4/2021

Helps alot in scanning the file by keeping the orginal features which helps to read the files...

Helps alot in scanning the file by keeping the orginal features which helps to read the files uploaded by the students clearly

Pros

Easyness to use.Helps to scan without loosing orginality.Easy to save in any form

Cons

Diffult to attach the file without copying to acrobat.Filters are not applying as previous.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Office Lens -

Reviewed on 10/2/2020

Pros

I have been using MIcroosft Office Lens for a long time and I am very satisfied. It is excellent to scan papers and documents in a fast way. It is really helpful and easy to use software. You can crop and edit your documents on the go and upload it on your cloud. I use it on a daily basis for my job and in personal life.

Cons

None. I like everything about Microsoft Office Lens.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Converting documents to digital.

Reviewed on 28/7/2022

I scanned and saved all my physical documens like diplomas, IDs, bills with Microsoft Lens.

I scanned and saved all my physical documens like diplomas, IDs, bills with Microsoft Lens.

Pros

I like basic scanning and sharing feature. It works like physical scanner. With taking photo it's done to have bills as PDF. Documents can be shared as PDF or JPG or PNG.

Cons

It would be better if there is folder or labelling feature.

Samuel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Capture unforgettable memories

Reviewed on 9/5/2023

Pros

It's inexpensive compared to other softwares

Cons

Sometimes images captured are not clear

hugo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great scanner at no charge

Reviewed on 23/12/2022

In terms of simple scanning of documents and photos the app is excellent and obviously free of...

In terms of simple scanning of documents and photos the app is excellent and obviously free of charge, however with more complex desires such as extracting, maybe invest in a better app.

Pros

The ease of the scanner and ability to convert to pdf or send off to emails straight away while afterwards a record is kept of the previously scanned. Its ability to group scanned items together to move them all in one go is also very convenient, and obviously the app is free of charge.

Cons

The long time and how fiddly the data and text attraction is, sometimes i would wait for ages watching the loading symbol go round and round to tell me that it had not worked.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best scanner you can use

Reviewed on 15/8/2022

I have used Microsoft Lens for more than two years and it didn't disappoint me. I can easily...

I have used Microsoft Lens for more than two years and it didn't disappoint me. I can easily convert images to PDF in just a click.

Pros

You can scan any type of documents, photos, whiteboard, business card, etc. very easily. You can save the files in OneDrive or convert to PDF, Word, PowerPoint, etc. The UI is user friendly. The best feature is that it can auto detect the document page while scanning and it crops automatically.

Cons

While scanning any document, you have keep the phone exactly parallel to the document. Otherwise the edges won't be correct and looks kind of distorted.

Kaitlin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Scan Professional Documents without a Scanner!

Reviewed on 3/6/2021

I like that no matter where I am at, I can scan any document. It has been so convenient especially...

I like that no matter where I am at, I can scan any document. It has been so convenient especially working virtually to get sheet music to my students online. Overall, this has been a great product and a nice change to other apps I have used.

Pros

I love that I can use my phone to scan any document any time and have an incredible, clear picture as a result. I have tried other scanner apps for sheet music and they just aren’t able to capture the detail like this app is able to do. It’s free and many other scanning apps charge. I’ve been impressed with the way I’m able to arrange each page in a different order than it was scanned before I upload it as a PDF.

Cons

Sometimes it doesn’t accurately crop the images so I have to manually do it, but it doesn’t take much time and is fairly simple to do.

Konjengbam Mitindra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Tool for any professional who work with lots of image files.

Reviewed on 8/2/2023

Microsoft Lens have really helped me in my official work. This is one software that I intend to...

Microsoft Lens have really helped me in my official work. This is one software that I intend to always keep in my phone. This really helped me to do my office work more effectively and efficiently mainly with the OCR feature. The availability of this application on mobile phones is so comforting for the user.

Pros

I love the OCR feature of this software. It is really efficient and accurate. The auto cropping after loading or taking an image is simply outstanding as it automatically tries to compensate the error in angle of the image. It enables the images to be saved more clearly with correct angle. The OCR feature reading an image file was something amazing.

Cons

I love most parts of this software but I just wish that if it could also convert other files other than image file only, it would have been an all in one solution.