Microsoft Lens

OCR solution for businesses of all sizes

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(264)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

264 Reviews

Jim Paul
Jim Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Scanning Made Easy with Office Lens

Reviewed on 5/11/2020

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that provides scanning services for free but with maximum...

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that provides scanning services for free but with maximum quality. On top of all these perks, it's just a click away from your smartphone. I use it during meetings when I don't have with me my laptop, or at moments when I need to take a super clear shot on any document such as memos, announcements, or even receipts at supermarkets or hardware stores which I could use as a proof of purchase or for reimbursements.

Thanks, Microsoft!

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens solves the day whenever a need for crystal-clear scanning of photos or documents arises. It's the go-to application when you're out and suddenly feel the need for a handy mobile scanner, realizing that it's an application in your smartphone.

The tool is easy-to-use although the walk-through tutorial upon installing it is of great help too. The buttons' functions are simple yet so powerful. I use it a lot in scanning documents and taking snapshots of words written on a whiteboard.

It's also a recommended software for taking random shots whose quality are at par with those of other top applications out in the market, or maybe better.

Cons

The scanning feature is one of the best and it's so reliable when used. If I may suggest though, the focusing task is sometimes a little annoying especially if the correct shape or outline is not easily met. But overall, it's best at what it does which is performing like an actual scanning machine.

Manohar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens: A tool for capturing and converting

Reviewed on 21/8/2023

A helpful instrument for capturing pictures and documents is the MS lens. However, it can be...

A helpful instrument for capturing pictures and documents is the MS lens. However, it can be challenging to manage a lot of scanning papers.

Pros

Any form of file, including images, a board, a company card  is able to be quickly scanned. The documents can be converted to PDF, PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, etc. or saved in OneNote . The interface is easy to use. The ability to instinctively identify the file's page during scanning and edit is its strongest feature.

Cons

I really like the majority of this application, though I hope it was capable of converting more types of documents than simply images. Then it would serve as a one-stop shop.

Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Confusing Set-Up

Reviewed on 19/11/2019

Took months to get set-up all the way completed as there was an issue with the Microsoft customer...

Took months to get set-up all the way completed as there was an issue with the Microsoft customer service reps not being able to assist with set-up or integration. Very frustrating experience.

Pros

Microsoft is one of the world's leading software's, so it integrates with most other products nicely.

Cons

The customer service for set-up was awful, took weeks to get everything properly set up and the customer service reps don't seem to know what they are talking about.

Avula
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An Excellent Tool for Making PDFs and Documents.

Reviewed on 9/7/2023

Excellent overall performance in comparison to other options, and it integrates well with the...

Excellent overall performance in comparison to other options, and it integrates well with the office suite.

Pros

All students and office employees are advised to use this software for the greatest portable scanning experience possible without having to rely on conventional scanning equipment.

Cons

Setting it setup might be a little difficult, particularly if your phone or tablet is connected to both your personal Microsoft account and an Office 365 account for work or school.

Sai
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens : An effective tool for document creation and editing.

Reviewed on 18/8/2023

Microsoft Office Lens is a trusted tool offering free and excellent scanning capabilities.

Microsoft Office Lens is a trusted tool offering free and excellent scanning capabilities.

Pros

Microsoft Lens works quickly to identify the text that has to be scanned. Additionally, it offers the right solutions for editing images. There are very obvious choices for sharing and storing in different formats. The absence of a watermark on PDF documents is also a plus.

Cons

Often it fails to exactly crop the pictures, thus I need to adjust it manually, but it does not take much time and it's easy to fix.

Mohan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Revolutionizing Document Scanning with Microsoft Lens.

Reviewed on 21/6/2023

Microsoft Lens provides a user-friendly and feature-rich scanning experience that simplifies...

Microsoft Lens provides a user-friendly and feature-rich scanning experience that simplifies document digitization and enhances productivity.

Pros

It has a dedicated mode for capturing and enhancing whiteboard content. It can automatically remove glare, shadows from images making them easier to read and share. It integrates with the immersive reader feature, which provides text-to-speech functionality.

Cons

Microsoft Lens integrates with OneDrive for cloud storage, which offers limited free storage space.

marta
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

reliable mobile scanning app

Reviewed on 1/5/2023

also can scanning documents with handwritten notes or signatures.

also can scanning documents with handwritten notes or signatures.

Pros

A mobile scanning application that allows to digitize documents.I have found this app to be extremely helpful in managing and organizing important documents on-the-go.Allowing extract text from scanned documents and save it in editable formats such as Word or PDF.

Cons

is great for scanning and extracting text, but it may not be the best tool for extensive document editing.

Benard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great little scanning app

Reviewed on 15/5/2023

Overall, the app does what it says it does but without the advanced sharing capability, it's a bit...

Overall, the app does what it says it does but without the advanced sharing capability, it's a bit cumbersome to share images. You have to share with yourself first and then share it to other people. Other than that, it's great.

Pros

The great thing about the app is that it automatically sizes up the image and then crops it for you but what's even better is that if the photo isn't cropped right, you have the option to adjust any of the four sides of the photo to get it just right. Most apps only let you adjust the whole side and not from the corners, which isn't as helpful.

Cons

I feel like there could be more options and settings to make it more customisable. Right now it's very bare bones, it's literally just point and shoot then crop and save to one of your storage apps on your phone. It would be great if you could share in a message on Whatsapp or text message.

Samuel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Capture unforgettable memories

Reviewed on 9/5/2023

Pros

It's inexpensive compared to other softwares

Cons

Sometimes images captured are not clear

Steven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

How Microsoft Lens Helps My Daily Life

Reviewed on 29/9/2023

Overall, Microsoft Lens was a great tool to utilize during College and in my work career after,...

Overall, Microsoft Lens was a great tool to utilize during College and in my work career after, especially with school and government documents. It is very simple to scan and edit and save changes to PDFs, which is my favorite part of the product. I'd highly recommend it to any fellow professionals.

Pros

The most impactful features are the PDF editing and conversions of formats to PDFs. Especially in college, this app was used on a practically daily basis due to so many professors only accepting PDFs. I remember introducing many friends to this app and all of us using it throughout college and several of them continued into postgrad with the software as well.

Cons

Occasionally when scanning the camera can have an issue determining the proper size of the paper and thus scan it in improperly, however after using the product for a while, it is quite easy to fiddle with the orientation of the paper and get the scanner to properly see the paper's edges. It is useful to have the paper on a surface that is a different color from the paper being scanned.

Pavel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A removable scanner that is very practical to use and transport

Reviewed on 24/12/2020

Microsoft Office Lens has always been able to fill the gap when I needed a scanner at the office or...

Microsoft Office Lens has always been able to fill the gap when I needed a scanner at the office or on the road.

The application is very well managed despite some bugs that are still quite rare. I therefore recommend Microsoft Office Lens at 90% to scan all your documents in emergency or not as well as to scan business cards, flyers and other documents.

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that offers free but high quality scanning services.
In addition to all these advantages, it is available on your smartphone.
Microsoft Office Lens solves the problem whenever you need to scan photos or documents in a very clear and precise way.
When you are on the move and suddenly feel the need for a scanner thanks to Microsoft Office Lens you can scan everything you need.
The functions of the buttons are simple yet so powerful.
I use it a lot to scan documents and take snapshots of words written on a whiteboard.

Cons

Despite all these advantages, Microsoft Office Lens also has some drawbacks such as a loading time that is sometimes too long.
Or the difficulty to scan the entire document even if it works well most of the time.

Ouattara
Ouattara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A really great digitizing app

Reviewed on 19/2/2023

I sometimes use it to digitize visual media in order to obtain a high-quality rendering. You can...

I sometimes use it to digitize visual media in order to obtain a high-quality rendering. You can scan documents in high quality, convert handwritten text into digital text, and edit it in Word, PowerPoint, or Onenote. I highly recommend it

Pros

Microsoft Lens is a really great app. With Microsoft Lens, it is very easy to convert a physical, visual medium into a digital file. With a single click of your smartphone photo, you transform your visual support into an editable digital file. I like its scanning accuracy and its sharing and integration features with Microsoft Office applications. It integrates very easily with other Microsoft Office tools such as Word, Onenote, Powerpoint, etc. Or, with its scanning accuracy, you can simply keep the rendered file or share it. Also, it is possible to process a file already in its gallery to make it editable. Microsoft Office Lens is an application to try at least once

Cons

I have not had any particular problems with this product. I don't have any recommendations to make at this time

Modise
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Software Review

Reviewed on 25/12/2020

A sure time saver, where I have to gather and communicate a client's ideas input without affecting...

A sure time saver, where I have to gather and communicate a client's ideas input without affecting their time line. In general I believe to the office worker, it should be thanked for destroying permanently the office scan machine queues and bringing a communicable scan to hand. It definately saves the none collateral presence, where you can just quickly scan and submit especially for mitigation purposes without being there physically.

Pros

An instance where binary actually steals work from a machine. One piece of software that completely and in a new way replaces the physical scanner. Without much aligning instructions, as machine scanner would require: lens without much ado grabs your document in to the digital and gives you the whole right to toy and toggle it to you desired shape without without infringing the actual content. Having shot/taken that image, even if you are a bad aim, when you have managed to take the image you can without any level of skill or technicality set it to your desired appearance. One last catch is you do not have to fiddle with much formating to produce a generally consumable jpeg scan and in hand where you can share, send or save with the touch of a button. In this generation of on point funneling, it is important to deliver before you say I can, which lens does so vividly.

Cons

As a camera dependent software, your make of camera or phone can hamper output as it depends on your pixels and ambient light.

Andre Luiz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

versatility and everything

Reviewed on 11/9/2020

It is a formidable application. Great supplier quality and that makes file scanning much easier.

It is a formidable application. Great supplier quality and that makes file scanning much easier.

Pros

One of the best ways to digitize files using a smartphone. Compatible with several OS. It allows instant edits to the caputures and eliminates the need for large scanner equipment. With it you can scan files wherever you are using just a smartphone. Allows the user to choose the output format of the jpg jpg file among others.

Cons

I've never had any problems. However, it has a limitation that is the user's own, depending on the hardware of the equipment, it may be that a smartphone as a simpler camera cannot achieve an image quality.

Marko
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It can solve 90% of your scanning needs for documents

Reviewed on 28/10/2021

It is really helpful if you get various paper documents all the time like me and can put them into...

It is really helpful if you get various paper documents all the time like me and can put them into the electronic archive in minutes wherever you are since your smarthphone is always near. With a couple of tweaks in settings you get the document automatically in your one drive folder.

Pros

The interface provides a great way to turn the photo of a document into a pdf document which really looks like it was scanned on a scanner. Having tried a couple of alternative mobile apps, I think this one does a better work of transforming the photo image you take (you can fine-tune the borders of the document) into scanner like output. Furthermore, it is connected with one-drive you it goes straight to your folder on the computer.

Cons

Of course, when the light conditions are not so good, it can take a couple of takes of the same document to not have the shadows on the document, but this is expected. At least, the interface is nice so you can easily discard just one page and re-do it.

Nihilkumar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MS Lens Review

Reviewed on 28/2/2023

Pros

One of the best scanning app that I have used. Once you login with your onedrive all the files that you scan will get synchronized and will be available in your onedrive which can be accessed any device with onedrive logged in.

Cons

It perfectly works for all my needs, I mainly use this for scanning the documents as PDF.

Mohammed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens: Easy File Recognition

Reviewed on 24/9/2023

I appreciate how easily Microsoft Lens is able to scan any type of written content.

I appreciate how easily Microsoft Lens is able to scan any type of written content.

Pros

Anyway, I enjoy how quickly files are recognized while I used it, how easily a compact book can be created, and how easily photographs can be converted into files in PDF format.

Cons

It frequently can't precisely trim the images, so I must make the necessary adjustments myself. Fortunately, this requires not much time and is simple to accomplish.

Rajnish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best app for scanning and compiling documents

Reviewed on 24/11/2022

My overall experience with Microsoft Lens is excellent.

My overall experience with Microsoft Lens is excellent.

Pros

The thing that I liked the most about Microsoft Lens is that it can automatically detect the edges of a page in a photo, due to which it is extremely easy to crop out certain photos. This feature is unique and is not found in other scanner apps. Another thing that I liked is that there a many filters that can be implemented to images. Adjustments can be made easily even if photos were captured in a dark environment. Another good thing is that the files can be converted to a few forms such as jpeg and pdf in just 2 steps. Also, Microsoft Lens is compatible with other apps, due to which I can directly add the scanned files to cloud storage. Also previously scanned files can be modified easily.

Cons

I did not find any issues with this app.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Office Lens -

Reviewed on 10/2/2020

Pros

I have been using MIcroosft Office Lens for a long time and I am very satisfied. It is excellent to scan papers and documents in a fast way. It is really helpful and easy to use software. You can crop and edit your documents on the go and upload it on your cloud. I use it on a daily basis for my job and in personal life.

Cons

None. I like everything about Microsoft Office Lens.

Adriana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love Microsoft Office Lens

Reviewed on 18/2/2020

I am saving my company a lot of time by using Office Lens. This is a very fast and easy way to send...

I am saving my company a lot of time by using Office Lens. This is a very fast and easy way to send PDF's.

Pros

I love that i could scan stuff very easily by just taking a picture it automatically crops it for me, and it's ready to go. Easy as 1 - 2 - 3.

Cons

Theirs nothing bad to say about this application.

Prathima
Prathima
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simple tool for pdf conversion and good for microfot users only because has limited tools

Reviewed on 23/2/2023

overall i feel like microsoft lens is good for microsoft users only who need very simple pdf and...

overall i feel like microsoft lens is good for microsoft users only who need very simple pdf and document converter with minimal interface and with text editing and full text speech options.

Pros

the interface is very simple and minimal and has very limited tools though. the text extraction is good and the data capture and transfer is also very fast and efficient. the full text speech is also helpful and so is the text editing tool too.

Cons

there are very limited no of tools and personalization options. also the sharing options are even limited. the conversion to pdf has very limited tools which are so many when compared to other apps.

Sebastian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really cool features

Reviewed on 6/2/2020

Overall, Office lens is a must-have application for every person that has either a Office 365...

Overall, Office lens is a must-have application for every person that has either a Office 365 account or a personal Microsoft account. I use it almost every day to capture pictures of whiteboard drawings and upload them automatically to my OneNote.

Pros

It is really convenient to have a mobile scanner that uploads pictures taken of printed documents, whiteboards and even spreadsheets and converts them and stores in your preferred cloud storage solution.

Cons

It can be a bit confusing to set up, especially if you have both a personal Microsoft account and a Work or School account (Office 365) on your mobile. Sometimes it wants to save to your personal OneDrive but tries to authenticate with your work credentials.

Ayaz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Scanner in a Pocket

Reviewed on 24/6/2022

So far I have been extremely pleased with the ease of use and user friendly aspects, not to mention...

So far I have been extremely pleased with the ease of use and user friendly aspects, not to mention the cost or no cost to be more accurate

Pros

The versatility of being able to scan all kind of documents, photos and even the handwritten notes is a plus. This can easily replaced your old fashioned Rolodex. It allows you to scan business cards and automatically drop it in your contacts (no more bulky wallets). Since Fax machines are so 2020, this allows you to create an attachment for your emails in an instant.

Cons

May take steady hands to get the corners lined up

Kaitlin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Scan Professional Documents without a Scanner!

Reviewed on 3/6/2021

I like that no matter where I am at, I can scan any document. It has been so convenient especially...

I like that no matter where I am at, I can scan any document. It has been so convenient especially working virtually to get sheet music to my students online. Overall, this has been a great product and a nice change to other apps I have used.

Pros

I love that I can use my phone to scan any document any time and have an incredible, clear picture as a result. I have tried other scanner apps for sheet music and they just aren’t able to capture the detail like this app is able to do. It’s free and many other scanning apps charge. I’ve been impressed with the way I’m able to arrange each page in a different order than it was scanned before I upload it as a PDF.

Cons

Sometimes it doesn’t accurately crop the images so I have to manually do it, but it doesn’t take much time and is fairly simple to do.

Betssy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Simple Review of Microsoft Office Lens

Reviewed on 27/4/2021

It's highly efficient and easy to handle. Can be accessed through both laptops and mobile phones,...

It's highly efficient and easy to handle. Can be accessed through both laptops and mobile phones, which is the best part of it. I suggest all my friends to use this app for scanning purposes. It has always worked as a time saver for me. It doesn't add watermark to the output files, which I love the most.

Pros

It's the best scanner app that I have ever used. Its highly reliable, providing high quality scanning services. I also use Office Lens to capture clear images of official documents. Its highly efficient in focusing the camera on the document and avoid capturing the surrounding space. It also converts images into PDFs and documents. Direct, effective storage and easily shared.

Cons

I feel that a more pleasant appearance should be provided with customisable themes.