55 reviews

Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

4.3 /5 (55 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
3.6
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
3.6
87% recommended this app
55 reviews
Kelly M.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

The easiest Point of Sale System of them all to learn and use.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/6/2020
Review Source: Capterra

What is there not to like about software created for staff of all levels of experience. In previous places of employment, I had worked with the point of sale systems that were so intricate that it took me weeks to fully master all of the features to its operation, so I was a bit worried that Aloha would turn out to be another one of those. Little did I know that this would be the software that made me into the confident server I am today.

Pros

The Aloha POS System was by far the easiest software I have encountered throughout my work experience in the Food & Beverage Industry. The interface of the actual system itself that I used to enter customer orders into had everything right in front of your eyes on the main page of the screen, which allowed me to enter my orders quickly and accurately. This layout also helped me manage several customers tabs at once without having to jump through several hurdles to do so. Anytime an order needed a modification last minute, I was able to get the system to help in time.

Cons

There were honestly no features in this software that I came across and questioned its purpose or use. Everything has a place and where that place happens to be just makes sense for the establishment that it is attached to.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha Review

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Aloha is a very good software to use and recommend it to restaurants to use for their employers.

Pros

I use Aloha at the restaurant I work at; it is the computer system we use to send our orders to the kitchen. What I like most about this software is that it is very easy to use. The layout and color scheme is nice and not too outdated or overpowering.

Cons

There is one specific issue that comes to my mind from using Aloha that I liked least. When I was typing in an order one day and then sent it through to the kitchen, the kitchen was not able to receive the entire order of what I typed. It got cut off and I think that was due to typing in too much information. It may have also been because of the specific button I used. Regardless, this isn't a big issue and it's not like people are going to be typing in "novels" to send into the kitchen.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alexandra C.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Hello Aloha!!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

If you are in the resturant industry you need to use Aloha for your POS. It is easy to use, gives you the lay out of the resturant and is easy to add items or change information in the system. It does a great job keeping track of orders and tables.

Cons

It has shutdown before and caused panic, but if it's not as easy fix, someone is always out to fix the system super quick!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Patience V.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha for everyone

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I would say it takes effort and time to learn. It’s great for a location that has a lot of items to place in the system. Not my favorite but manageable.

Pros

I like that this is a software that you can scale with. It’s durable and can be implemented if you have many locations.

Cons

If you have issues there is an aloha software man that will come out- you can’t troubleshoot yourself. Sometimes leaving you down a few computers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Ben A.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I had a good experience with aloha. Very user friendly and easy to use.

Pros

Very user friendly, very easy to train new staff. Support is easy and generally quick to fix any problems that arise.

Cons

I really didn’t have any major issues with the software. Nothing to complain about. All problems were fixed quickly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Chad H.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Easy to use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/9/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I use aloha daily. The formatting of the program is very easy to use without much of any instruction.

Cons

Should have a way to view even after the system starts a refresh. That would be my biggest complaint.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Cary W.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Worth the money

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/6/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Great, very few hiccups and great customer service when needed

Pros

Very easy to use and understand. Made everything so quick and the learning process was very short. Loved it.

Cons

What I liked least was having a PC as a main terminal. Would have been easier if we can change more on the fly using a terminal. Also interning tips separated by currency wasn’t the most efficient.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kevin L.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

NCR Ruined Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Since NCR has taken control of Aloha, the customer service has taken a severe nosedive. They are constantly "escalating" the issues to teams that never seem to get back to you. Management and "local" support has zero support or care for your problems.

Pros

Ease with front-of-the-house interaction and training.

Cons

Old, antiquated technology and non-responsive customer service.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Kelcie S.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Unfortunately, I don't feel as though I have any nice things to say about Aloha at this time.

Cons

There is a non-existant customer support, nearly impossible to extract data or reports, not customer friendly and inconsistent. Service goes down a lot.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Leigh L.
Industry: Building Materials
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A-NO-ha

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 26/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

You can not solve any problems with Aloha, you can only create them.

Pros

Aloha is dated so it makes it easier for senior citizens to use.

Cons

Everything. Aloha has next to no functions that a current POS system in the food service industry should have. It really is a waste of time trying to use it and I would tell anyone considering using it in their restaurant that they are making a MASSIVE mistake.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

STAY AWAY!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 6/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

There is nothing amazing about this software.

Cons

It requires a lot of configuration and doesn't give the owner/admin much flexibility - everything must go through the reseller and the charge A LOT of money to do the smallest change.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Justin B.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Used to be a great product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Years ago it was great software with great support. It hasn't kept up and upgrades are ridiculously expensive. I can't imagine seeing it at any new locations.

Pros

There are more features available on Aloha than in most POS systems. You just have to figure out how to use them (and support doesn't even know most of them!)

Cons

Aloha used to be the best option in POS. Unfortunately, support has plummeted, and any features that are included in newer platforms are either unavailable or expensive monthly payments to acquire.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Jennifer M.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Simple

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Great experience on front and back of the house. Easily read reporting.

Pros

Easy to use software, well designed, easily navigating through menu options and modifiers.

Cons

No longer partnered with Radiant Hardware.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good Restaurant POS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/3/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Has the features you need, good organization and UI.

Cons

It can take a bit of time to learn your way around it, but that's the case with any new POS.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Adam P.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 4/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It does what you need it to do and it is a solid piece of equipment. Slightly outdated in my opinion but still one of the best.

Cons

Seems outdated especially with all of the cloud software available today.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Beth V.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Aloha out there

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We use it at the restaurant I work at and during the holiday seasons it is easy to find names and orders.

Pros

You can easily search names of customers up and find orders easily.

Cons

There are a few screens to navigate through.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Justyna K.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Like the table layout on the screen

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

For managers great tool to keep track of all the comps voids labor and etc.

Pros

So much easier than micros. Dummy proof for new servers. Easy for servers to navigate.

Cons

Credits cards system from time to time goes down. Customer service hard to reach in the timely manner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Heather W.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great POS!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 6/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I would say that of the point of sale systems I have run across, this is definitely one of my favorites. I find it easy to teach, and rare to come across problems.

Pros

This point of sale system is popular for a reason its clearly one of the best. Their customer service is great (if you ever have to contact them anyway), and deployment is easy because it's very user friendly. It takes virtually no time at all to get used to, and it runs smoothly and easily.

Cons

There not much to dislike, it's been great to use. I think pricing is pretty standard for the system, and it's been easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great features, Difficult Access

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

My restaurant first opened using the RPower POS system. It worked well for a while, but as we grew busier it became apparent that modifications, and edits to orders were taking much too long, and felt very clunky. I think that Aloha gives servers the ability to streamline their orders and as they become more comfortable with the system they can become quite speedy. Overall Aloha is the best POS system that I have used so far, but nothing is perfect.

Pros

I believe that Aloha gives the user more abilities in the front of the house than most POS systems I have used. The ability to highlight multiple items at once and duplicate/delete is a great feature not found in other systems. I also enjoy the overall lay out of the buttons, as far as having space between each button (which makes it easier for touch screen use), and the ability to add as many different sub menus at desired.

Cons

I wish that there was a way to customize the color of the buttons. When this system is implemented in busy restaurants (which is my experience with it) color coding different things such as ingredient/sauces/allergies could make the adjustment period for new servers much quicker, and cut down on the amount of time spent searching for certain things in the menus. I also feel like the strength of Aloha is in its day to day use. When using the master computer to try and revamp, or set up new menu items in the office the process is far from intuitive, and takes a long time to become proficient in. Maybe if there was a 'helpful hints' type feature for new user that would be a great addition.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Cate L.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha from Oklahoma!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 26/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

With a long history in the restaurant industry I have worked with my fair share of POS systems. Squirrel and Square being the most recent and relevant competitors. Aloha is by far the superior product in my opinion. The ease of use as far as setting up table and table numbers, server log-ins, adjusting orders, etc. The cross-platform functionality allows me to easily adjust menu items, their location within the system, and price from my computer without having to stand at a POS terminal. The ability to set and manage permissions such as voiding transactions or deleting entrees from tickets while somewhat tricky at first (shows a permission is in place but card or number fails to work at actual POS terminal until usually the next 24 hours) has helped to minimize loss by reducing the number of voided tickets or entrees.

Pros

Ease of use, functionality, cross-platform ability makes things simple.

Cons

Managing permissions can be somewhat tricky.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Tyler B.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Aloha Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This is a very reliable POS system. They've been a mainstay forever. It remains easy to use on the server/bartender side.

Cons

The difficulty of this system is on the manager/owner side. Because this system is not cloud based, there is a big lack of functionality, especially not being able to view the daily restaurant performance while away from the location. In order to change items in the system, the entire system has to be re-booted, which is not ideal during service. Reporting is hard to use and requires a time commitment to get the reports you need. At times, it can be "clunky".

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Cannot go without

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Like anything, it was a little hard to get used to at first. But now that the staff knows the ins and outs of the program, everyone is on board and it's really helped our business move forward.

Pros

The layout is nice and organized. The customer service is amazing as well

Cons

It was a bit hard to integrate with our current business structure. But were were more than willing to work it out.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Karli T.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Bartending Software Experience

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/7/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Great. Would highly recommend for any business because of how easy it was to navigate and teach to others.

Pros

Easy to use and to access various categories of drinks and food. This software was also easy to input information and specific discounts into for the bar.

Cons

Sometimes it was difficult to go back on the menu. The order might have had to be restarted if you were looking to return to a different page.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Disa G.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

I Love Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

shorter wait times and better table turnover

Pros

this was the easiest system i have ever used for ordering foods, payments, reservations, inventory etc

Cons

the customer service was a bit shotty in the beginning often taking hours to respond

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Glitchy

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 18/3/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that the menu items are easy to modify before sending them back to the kitchen. I also like that you can see the exact layout of the tables from the screen rather than just a list of numbers.

Cons

The software freezes or goes down way too frequently.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10