22 reviews

Omnitracs

Fleet management solution for the transportation industry

4.4 /5 (22 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.4
/
5
Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.4
91% recommended this app
22 reviews
Brett M.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Excellent Routing & Dispatching Solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/2/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Our company has utilized Omnitracs Roadnet for years now and have been very happy with the product and the continual updates and improvements that have gone into the product. After staring out with the routing only, we quickly realized there were gains to be made by outlining Omnitracs Roadnet Mobilecast which allowed us to gather data on our customer deliveries and driver performance.

We utilize the data to better project future deliveries and we run reports for drivers to measure how they are doing and where they could improve. On a daily basis, it is helpful to know where your fleet is and to provide customers and customer service any information they may need to make better decisions about their work day.

On occasion, we find the maps could use updating, but the software does allow you to make edits. We are happy to continue using this software and to see where the future goes with the Roadnet Anywhere upgrade.

Pros

Ease of use
Reporting
Mobile view

Cons

Maps can be out of date
Learning curve to really get the best out of the software

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ronda L.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Plumbing & Heating Contractor

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall the technicians are on-time. Since installing Roadnet they don't dilly dally as much as they used to or want too.

Pros

Omnitracs - Roadnet is great for my company. I can track our employees to see where they are at, at any given time. I can get all sorts of reports on speeding, harsh cornering and harsh braking.

Cons

When looking at the maps, and you have more than one truck. You can't go back to that truck on that screen. You have to keep going back to the Fleet screen wait for it to reload then pcik the truck.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matt V.
Industry: Wholesale
Company size: 51-200 Employees

It works

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The sole reason we got Omnitracs was for compliance. We use the most basic features but yet we do not always benefit from features we never had in the paper log days and we did just fine. I will say that I have tried two other platforms that did not have an option to wire the ELD computer right to the ECM and used a Bluetooth ELD paired to a smart device and that was a nightmare in regards to lost connections. With Omnitracs IVG you never have those lost connections because they do not use Bluetooth. I saw the value in the wired connection after the 2nd ELD solution I tried in mid 2017. Now I am starting to see that these units are starting to have degraded performance and I cannot help but to think it is because of new features that the ELD firmware requires.

Pros

Omnitracs was highly recommended by some veteran truck drivers here that said they had a great experience with 'Qualcomm' electronic logs and when I found out that Omnitracs IVG was just the newest version of the same basic Qualcomm MCP units these drivers were already familiar with I knew this would be a good fit for our company because word of mouth means everything and if no one says a product is great the driving staff typically will not show interest in the platform or even be reluctant to learn how to use it.

Cons

The customer/services portal has improved slightly but overall its very dated. The IVG units we purchased in late 2017 have downloaded and installed many updates since the initial AOBRD software that they came with. Once the firmware updates that deemed these IVG units to be ELD compliant I noticed the complaints about how extremely slow the computers increased dramatically and now not a single driver is in favor of the IVG ELD because of this. I know that over time all computers seem to be slower than when they were purchased but it's not like these units are running a newer version of Windows Mobile than when they were released. Overall speed has become an issue because I deal with a lot of route sales/delivery drivers and they are already in a crunch to service their route in under 14 hours a day with normal everyday road conditions and they complain constantly that the ELD slows them down even more.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kim G.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Very happy

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We have been very happy with Omnitracs. As I said, it has been very easy to set up and use as well as easy to instruct new drivers in the use of the product. It has been a great way to stay compliant with very little to no hassle.

Pros

The Omnitracs software has been a great, easy fix for us. We tried another option first but were very unhappy because we needed a product that was affixed permanently in the truck (because we slip seat) and that was easy for our drivers who don't do a lot of work on computers.

Cons

The systems were pretty easy to set up in the trucks and get online and working. We have had a couple of times when updates were running that affected the system and drivers while they are on the road but since we are on the road 24/7 like most trucking companies, there really isn't a down time that would be good to do this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Tasneem V.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Omitracs keeps us on track

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use and customer service is very helpful - sales should be 24/7

Pros

The ease of downloading reports and the violations notices

Cons

The multiple platforms when adding a truck
Also sales should be 24/7 got shipped the wrong connector cable and the truck couldn't get on the road till Tuesday.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Craig M.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: Self Employed

Opinion of Elog from Omnitrac

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I have recommended to others but they are wanting something other this product. They think that it’s to expensive but they have go threw several apps and products to get what they want. So it’s not more expensive I tried one other unit and got this one and never looked back!!!

Pros

Thus product is very easy driver friendly and management easy to. I would get some other options but haven’t had the time get it changed. Plan to do that in the near future. Great people to work with

Cons

I haven’t found anything that I don’t like.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Ivan C.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 2-10 Employees

review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall my experience with the product hasn't been bad it's just finding the right people or person to help you with whatever problem you're experiencing once you find those people everything is good

Pros

Once you get everything set up like you want it is very useful in your everyday mission .

Cons

The only features I would like to see added are wifi which I was told it had and also the ability to pay tolls

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Josh B.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Highly Recommend

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/6/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Have used Omnitracs for three years for fleet tracking, electronic logging and route planning. It has been a great experience for us. The technology is highly reliable and effective for managing our business.

Pros

Highly reliable.

Cons

User interface is not intuitive and takes some time to get used to.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Josh B.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Highly Recommend

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/6/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Have used Omnitracs for three years for fleet tracking, electronic logging and route planning. It has been a great experience for us. The technology is highly reliable and effective for managing our business.

Pros

Highly reliable.

Cons

User interface is not intuitive and takes some time to get used to.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Erin M.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 13-50 Employees

No, no, NO

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The easy way to edit logs for drivers that have made a mistake.

Cons

Customer service is completely atrocious. One person would tell you one thing and another person another thing. The system is completely backwards. So difficult to use along with the online system. Will never go back to OmniTracs! Way too expensive for what you get.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Lori C.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Omnitracs ELD

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Omnitracs is very attentive and customer service is excellent. When you are on the road and run into any
issues they are quick to help and correct.

Pros

The Omnitracs ELD was a must for us. We need reliable equipment to track HOS for our drivers and also track our vehicles. Simple to use simple to set up .

Cons

Depending on where we are located in the US connectivity can be an issue. this is the only fault we have with the ELD device.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rachelle B.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 201-500 Employees

IVG/MCP REVIEWS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE TEAM THAT CARE ABOUT GETTING YOU THE ANSWERS TO YOUR QUESTIONS

Pros

EASY TO USE, USER FRIENDLY. DRIVERS LIKE THAT YOU CAN GO TO AN IVG AND MCP AND THE SCREENS STILL LOOK THE SAME

Cons

LOTS OF MALFUNCTIONS. MOST RECENTLY A LOT OF DRIVERS ARE SAYING THEIR MACHINES ARE SHUTTING DOWN WHILE DRIVING TO PREFORM AN UPDATE.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kent S.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Feedback

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Too long of wait times

Pros

Somewhat easy to use. Hard to get things transferred though

Cons

More ease to use and let know when updates are completed

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Daniel G.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Long term view, great service.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is a perfect rep, dealing with issues swiftly and fairly.

Pros

Easy to use, intuitive design.
Great support staff when there is an issue.

Cons

Some recurring issues with the IVG firmware.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

John L.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Only way to go

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 27/2/2017
Review Source: Capterra

System is very user friendly and easy to understand. Great support team. In the office or on the go, Omnitracs has the tools to get the job done.

Pros

Easy to understand

Cons

Mobile app not offered

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nathan G.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great exapectaions

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/2/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Omnitracs is cutting edge. Great customer service and response time.

Backoffice is very user friendly as well as the systems themselves for our drivers

Pros

User friendly

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Diane B.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Services portal

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent

Pros

Driver performance, truck location, ease to use

Cons

I would like to be able to activate ELOG myself

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Corey D.
Industry: Wholesale
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Wish we would've had this years ago.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 1/3/2017
Review Source: Capterra

The RoadNet software has streamlined our routing process and given us a tool to truly evaluate our transportation unit. We saw immediate benefits saving miles and time. It has not only allowed us to squeeze out transportation costs but, given us tools to improve customer service as well.

Pros

Ease of use. Multiple delivery scenarios with real cost comparisons.

Cons

The Roadnet Transportation Suite has different modules that you have to jump between to make changes and improvements. Would be even more efficient if you had access from any module.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Samantha R.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Average Product

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/3/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Omnitracs is pretty easy to learn to use and the interface between the driver and dispatch is great.

Cons

There are lots of problems with the server and running the reports causing a significant amount of downtime.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Adam T.

Perfect Solution for Fleet Telemetry

Reviewed on 27/2/2017
Review Source: Capterra

We've been with Omnitracs via XRS since its debut as Xata. We've been very happy with the technological advancements, continuing support, and never ending innovation shown with this company. It has satisfied our needs of fleet tracking, big data analytics, and creating a safer and more productive fleet. We've gained efficiencies and given the opportunity to identify and mitigate inefficiencies in our fleet.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Lance V.

High quality truck routing software

Reviewed on 27/2/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Our fleet of OTR owner operators enjoy routing specifically designed for truck drivers, which is safe, accurate and efficient all at a reasonable price. This product helps make their workday more efficient, because they spend less time fiddling with a clunky paper atlas and more time turning miles.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Scott C.

Great Product - little pricey

Reviewed on 26/2/2017
Review Source: Capterra

The product and software works great. This is an excellent tool to add to your box, however, based on other available options, the price point is a bit high, especially considering todays available tech.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support