47 reviews
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
4
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
3.8
94% recommended this app
47 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Chemicals

Sage X3 ERP has been a useful asset for our company, is great for stock/dropship companies.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/7/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that X3 works really well for corporations that are made up of many different companies. X3 has the ability to handle multiple separate companies that each one of can be further separated into stock and financial sites that can all share customers, suppliers, G/L accounts, etc., providing smooth consolidation.
X3 has a very easy to understand and easily navigable user interface.

Cons

I do not like the limited capabilities of the canned reports and queries provided with X3.
I also do not like the slow response time from the support staff.
The program does not work well with customization because it causes a lot of problems when it comes time for patching and upgrading.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Michael M.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Sage Review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience has been good with the exceptions listed above. Allowing us to consolidate software is our goal.

Pros

I like the look a feel of the system and ease of opening other functions from the same screen.

Cons

System isn't designed for the chemical industry. A lot of mods or customizations have to be made for the system to support our needs. There is always a solution but there is always a cost as well. will be well over budget once everything is working the way it was presented.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your review, hopefully Sage X3 will continue to help your business consolidate your enterprise software.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Eric B.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good Solid ERP System

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Despite the base technology being over a decade old, Sage have managed to stay current with emerging technology while maintaining and improving many features.

Pros

Reliable and predictable management of standard ERP functions. Easy to customize. Web services integrated. Security is granular enough to cover most situations.

Cons

After login it takes several seconds to see the landing page. It's difficult to determine cause of some issues and error messages can be cryptic, requiring us to contact support in many cases, even for seemingly simple problems. Use on a mobile device is limiting as most screen layouts are designed for a PC.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Christy S.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

A good ERP system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I am happy with the product. I administer this product as well as another ERP and this one is substantially better in nearly every way.

Pros

X3 is highly configurable. Its intercompany functionality is substantial. Administrators have a ton of control over the user experience-- what they see, default fields, hiding fields, permissions, etc is all highly configurable without needing to be an IT genius to figure it out.

Cons

The ability to receive help. The help function is somewhat helpful sometimes but is not updated as often as it should be. The user community is lacking. I would love to be able to post on a message board about my problem, but when I have done that I have rarely gotten the answers I need. Solutions to X. problems are not "googleable"

Response from Sage

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you Sage X3 helps you run your business effectively.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tracy P.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A new look at our sytem

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We have learned that we have a very robust system that we need to take advantage of.

Pros

Our initial integration team did not our environment correctly. We have been combatting this for years.

During this time, our new team is learning of the robust features that we have been missing out on. We are expand and learn.

Cons

Cost. Helpdesk option that is automatically included in our yearly fees. We rarely us the Helpdesk based on past experiences. We go directly to consultants.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Matthew C.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Pretty good but without advanced features

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It is good overall, but a little basic for what we need.

Pros

The structure of the software is good and allows for good navigation. It has some standard features that are good.

Cons

It does not have many of the features that I would like to see for Quality Control. It does not have a good place to enter test results. It is not clear how to customize it for compliance with 21 CFR Part 11.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Alexa G.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Easy database

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 15/5/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Sage is a great software for data entry. I believe that it has everything possibly needed on it and it is simple enough that just about anyone can learn to use it!

Pros

I like that this product has a help button on every tab, I also like how easy this software is to use and how quickly I was able to learn how to work with it and explore everything that it has to offer.

Cons

I do not like how you can easily add or change codes by clicking one wrong button. I do not like how many modules are on it, I feel like they categorize way to much.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Daniel R.
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Really software adjustable to any type of medium or large company

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 26/7/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

What I liked the most is the versatility it has to adapt to the needs of any type of business, a great alternative for ERP. The variety of configurations that can be modified as well as the functionalities that can greatly save response times.

The presentation and easy to create reports with very simple and guided quearys also The user interface is foolproof which is a great solution for the support and information department.

Cons

As an administrator I always have problems when it comes to support and debugging problems presented in the application in which many of them are not documented properly.

The Reports are very colorful and well structured but at the moment of the output they take a long time to appear.

I had some problems in the version update and the service pack caused some headaches

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Edward K.
Industry: Wholesale
Company size: 51-200 Employees

X3 In Manufacturing

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Really good, its the backbone of our business.

Pros

It is fully integrated with our websites and our orders are automated to the point of shipping. We then deliver a tracking number automatically to the customer.

Cons

Entering orders can be clumsy and it's hard to eliminate unneeded steps. For our product it would be ideal to eliminate a number of steps if possible.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your review of X3 and calling it out as the backbone of your business.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Maria P.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Substantial ERP for our company's needs

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Like most ERP's, you can train on it but unless you use it frequently you will not gain proficiency with it.

Pros

The purchase requisition creation and approval process is very straight forward. This is the main module/function I use.

Cons

Wish there was a way to query which purchase requisitions are in queue for a specific approver.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Boniface M.

Reviewed on 13/4/2012
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our organization was ready to adopt new technology with the newly stable market. We started looking for new software that would help us adapt to the changing business environment. We started with Sage ERP version 5.4 and now have upgraded to version 6.0. The implementation team studied our company environment, user needs, required reports and then integrated all this throughout the system. The whole installation process took about 3 months.

The implementation specialist from Sage was so helpful as we moved to the new system. Our team didn't learn very quickly and had a little trouble picking it up, but with time and support the users have adopted the system. The customer support does a great job, although in some cases there's a little bit of a wait when they're attending other customers and you need help right away.

The system saves time, is user-friendly and reduces duplicate data entry.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Biotechnology

Great CRM application never faced any issues!!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 7/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

A big Thanks to Sage team, for provide all one features within one application, which is highly configurable and easy to use.

Cons

Notably expensive. Significant configurability means probably lengthy setup time. As its built on Salesforce force.com platform, it was plus for my company.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kriss L.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Accounts Payable

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 12/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We are still sitting up everything. So can not comment yet.

Cons

Do not like seeing the customers and suppliers all together. I hate that I can not print a ageing.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Shelia F.

Reviewed on 31/5/2012
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We are a mid-sized organization of European origin. We had been using software developed in Europe that did not meet U.S. Financial reporting needs, so we decided to purchase Sage ERP 5.6 in late 2010 and went live as of 3.1.11. We did most of the implementation work ourselves and were on an extremely tight schedule. The users were trained prior to implementation and had forgotten much of what they had learned by the time they needed to use the system. We had a second and third round of training each being 6 months apart. We have had a year on the new system and it is meeting all expectations.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Louise W.

Reviewed on 30/5/2012
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Thyssenkrupp VDM USA was using MAS 200 SQL for 10 years. As this product was phased out, management and users wanted to stay within the familiar Sage Product. Sage 500 ERP, being the true SQL solution, allowed our in-house programmers to create views and reports that were more specific than 200. Although we have only been live with 500 for 8 months in the Accounting and Distribution pieces, we are anxiously awaiting to finish the manufacturing implementation.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Tiffany Y.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great network of users, consultants and resellers

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 14/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great network of users, consultants and resellers

Cons

Customer support is sometimes unclear if it should go through the reseller or sage direct.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Sheila P.
Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Sage 500 to X3

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 16/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Sage X3 has allowed us to streamline several processes which improves operational efficiencies and effectiveness. The software is a bit overwhelming with many options that don't pertain to our business and finding tasks is a bit cumbersome and time-consuming, although given more time using the software may improve this issue.

Pros

Overall, the system is more user-friendly as far as data entry is compared to Sage 500. We were able to customize what was needed, which have improved processes from the previous software.

Cons

The software is a bit overwhelming with many options that don't pertain to our business and finding tasks is a bit cumbersome and time-consuming, although given more time using the software may improve this issue. We did have to customize quite a bit that we didn't initially think we would have to, and much of what was customized can't be (or not easily) modified by regular users (crystal reports).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Matthew C.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

SAGE X3 for Process Manufacturing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Sage X3 has been the engine facilitating multi-site manufacturing capability and scalability.

Pros

Sage X3 is platform agnostic, highly flexible and configurable ERP application that meets the demands of an industry governed by FDA, DEA, cGMPs. The financials at its core are solid, allowing for the inventory and manufacturing transactions to be performed with trackability traceability throughout the life cycle of the product manufacturing.

Cons

Sage X3 has as it's core language a proprietary 4GL language that has been challenging to find skilled resources with experience coding in.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ed W.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Support Model Needs an Update

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 16/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We are a food manufacturing and distribution operation. Our implementation was, at one time, highly customized. M&A activities and switching support organizations resulted in updates overlaying custom code and loss of custom functionality. The excuse of "That is not our code!" when attempting a recovery is not a viable answer for us.

Pros

This is a very functional and complex ERP application.
A robust and expensive to support.

Cons

The support model is lacking in overall expertise. We have used changed support organizations twice due to lack of knowledge on attempting to implement a 3rd party application.
Sharing and collaboration of resources between the organizations is cumbersome and the pricing for this expertise, due to complexity of the application, is very expensive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Brian P.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Sage X3 Food Production

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall we are satisfied with our decision to move to Sage X3. Being a food manufacturer with multiple sites we have successfully grown with X3.

Pros

Multi-Site features work well, Lot control/QC features are strong, visual process flows make new user training easy. Home Pages / Dashboards deliver easy access to data for production/shipping/receiving.

Cons

Integrated workorder planning functions are not realistic to use in version V9. Online help is lacking in too many areas, error message descriptions are vague.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your review of Sage X3.
I am pleased that X3 has grown alongside your business.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Nic H.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Overall a good ERP. Keep in mind they have to work for several types of businesses.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I've had a positive experience. As with any ERP, there are some things that are frustrating, but of the handful of ERPs I've worked with, it is the most flexible. I think it will be even better when we get to V12 (currently on V9).

Pros

There are a wide range of settings to help make Sage function the way we need it to. The knowledgebase is typically very helpful. If calling in for support, most of the time there is no wait and everyone seems quite knowledgeable.

Cons

When you do need a customization, it is lengthy and typically expensive. Apparently this is no longer offered by Sage, so a 3rd party must be used. So far, it is even more lengthy and more expensive....

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Eli K.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Personally, I LOVE it!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/8/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I like the flexibility, the queries are very easy to use, and easy to create new ones. All data is integrated.

Cons

I can't stand Crystal Reports. They take very long to generate, don't export well, and and not user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kayla W.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Sage Business Cloud Enterprise Management (formerly Sage X3)

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 6/7/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Super easy to use;
Excellent layout;
Extremely customizable;
Great 3rd party companies have services for it (NexTec)

Cons

Sometimes can have JSON or Java Bridge errors;
Sometimes one minor error can cause the whole system to freeze up

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark K.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Decent product, But Service and Customer Service leaves a lot to be desired

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Customer Service is TERRIBLE!!!! Customer Support leaves a lot to be desired, but we are forced to use it for the high price we pay in maintenance. Sage's dedication to be difficult to work with and unrelenting nickel and dime services is the reason we have not recommended this product to others in are area or industry.

Pros

The product itself, is very versatile and agile to adapt to our needs without tremendous modifications. I like the General Ledger and AP functions.

Cons

The software manufacturer. The product itself is good, the value for maintenance is not good. There are two many bugs for what is charged in maintenance fees. Sage is way too difficult to deal with and are surprised that users are unhappy. Are experience is it takes a month to get a ticket resolved. Passed around to multiple people and the suggested solution is it is a problem with your system. We can't recreate it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Dan H.
Industry: Warehousing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

usasge

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

benefits are being able look in the system for locations or part numbers and usage of material. this is only my view in the warehouse.

Pros

location and picking tickets are relatively easy to use.

Cons

the way inventory counts are performed with the RF scanner are done, at present it has changed the way we do inventory. Prior to an up grade it was simple on the scanning of the bar code. After the up grade things changed on the scanning of the barcode having to answer question after the scan of a location was completed. Yes or no, do you want to delete on scan numbers. What it was before was much simpler.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your review of Sage X3. It is great to see that you would recommend us and please reach out to me at [email protected] if I can help with your scanning issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10