47 reviews

Camtasia

Screen recording, video making, and editing tool

4.6 /5 (47 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
47 reviews
Enoch D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Video production made easy with Camtasia

Reviewed on 18/12/2020

i have been able to make awesome videos for my youtube channel thanks to camtasia and my overall experience has been great

Pros

looking for a lightweight software for your video editting, with great interface, check this software out. it has all the features and the tools to make a top notch media production. Make a video like a pro with all the fancy trasitions and effects, annotations and transitions. record your screen in an awesome way with just the click of a button and edit them easily. do voice-overs, documentaries and vlog videos easily with Camtasia. export them into several formats for web, phone, iphone and many other formats.

Cons

it could do more with a lot more features to make the sofware better

Aziz R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Camtasia | Software Reviews

Reviewed on 9/11/2020

Well, I enjoyed a lot using Camtasia a. It is very user friendly. I believe everyone loves this very much.

Pros

I use Camtasia for video editing purposes. It makes me feel good.
Well, Camtasia video recording software. It allows you to screen recording with astounding features, animations, and effects. A lot of features I like it more especially video transitions, great effects, and so on.

It was founded in the United States in 1987. Now It is gained much more popularity among YouTubers. They don’t have a free version but offer a free trial so that you can buy from them if you like it.

The price is $249 as a one-time payment per person.

Cons

It makes computer slow during rendering videos. That is why it takes a little bit of time to render videos

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It is a useful solution, try it free..

Reviewed on 10/8/2020

we are mostly using camtasia to training our specialists who works from out of offfice. All employees become home office since April '20 due to covid-19 and this program has became crucial. A new era has begun for business world and camtasia is a key player.

Pros

we transfer all our training programs to e-learning platforms. Not just our trainers but also my other team members such as QA specialists can use camtasia easily to record. We usually combine parts or recombine after updates which occurs very often. Its user friendly interface is important and valuable

Cons

Snagit 2020 is must be free or lower price.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easily create professional-looking videos

Reviewed on 30/9/2020

You are not going to create a blockbuster movie on Camtasia - that's not what it is designed for, but you will find it an easy to use video recorder and editor for tutorials, lessons, etc., with tools geared towards that.

Pros

For us, it is mainly used to create video tutorials. Sometimes text and images are not enough, and that is when Camtasia comes in. With easy to use recording and editing tools, you can easily create professional-looking videos. Even though it is a basic video recorder and editor, their are lots of features included, such as annotations, effects, cursor effects and transitions. With Camtasia, you can spend less time on post production.

Cons

Not really a con, but you may find yourself wanting to get onto a maintenance subscription to keep the software always up-to-date. It is not that expensive to do so.

Rob W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Alternative Medicine
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Essential when creating instructional video's

Reviewed on 29/9/2020

It is versatile and easy to use. I use it to edit recordings of classes and create guides how to do stuff.

Pros

The software is easy to use. I do not use it to produce blockbuster movies but simple instructional videos and recordings of lessons. For this purpose, it is easy to use, has enough options, and is quite stable and fast.

Cons

I cannot think of anything that is relevant. Perhaps not having a plug-in for Google Slides is something I might miss (because there is a plug-in for Powerpoint but that I do not use very often).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Video-editing tool for everyone

Reviewed on 5/12/2020

It’s really good software, if you don’t need much enterprise features it’s the right one. It’s much cheaper than others on the market. It’s perpetual license and maintenance it also not so expensive.

Pros

It’s easy to use, you can purchase it also in a bundle with Snagit. You can create and edit videos which is very easy with Camtasia.

Cons

It’s really easy to use, but some really enterprise options are missing or you NEED to have bundle with Snagit to use all available features.

Chandra R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good, reputable product

Reviewed on 23/11/2020

Excellent.

Pros

It is a very robust and stable product. You can create awesome videos with Camtasia. Burning captions is very easy. Overall a solid product.

Cons

Not very user-friendly. Takes some time to acquire the skill and learn all the features.

Mark B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nice balance between features and ease-of-use

Reviewed on 5/2/2021

Lovely. I've tried iMovie, and Premier Pro and they don't compare to Camtasia for doing screencasts, recording + exporting and simple movies. If you're a movie maker, this isn't for you, but if you're throwing together a quick family video or annotating a demonstration video, Camtasia is perfect.

Pros

It's so easy to quickly record a screen, app window, or region of my screen, then annotate and export it. If you want to go a bit further, the media library and transition effects etc are great & useful.

Cons

At times, it feels a tiny bit light on features: there's certain things I'd like to be able to do easier, but these are minor things and again, not what its meant to be used for.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Record and Edit Your Own Videos

Reviewed on 16/6/2020

Education is now geared to make video-on-demand to support on-line learning because of the Covid-19 pandemic. Teachers may use Camtasia to support in creating great content.

Pros

Camtasia offers ease-of-use. You can start right away even you never read or watched tutorials.

Cons

I hope in the future they can also support resolution higher than 1080p.

Rebekah P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software but hard to use

Reviewed on 11/11/2020

My overall experience with Camtasia was definitely positive but the software was too complicated for me to invest time into learning it.

Pros

I made beautiful and professional videos on camtasia. They looked like a team made them. Everything flowed very well when it was finished

Cons

It is extremely hard to use and I felt like I needed a encyclopedia in order to figure it out. Loads of little buttons that have no direction. I wish when I was beginning to use it there has been a walking on onboarding.

Alexandra N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good Software for Course Recording

Reviewed on 4/12/2020

The recording experience is great- if youre not a total newbie to audio/video software. I had adobe experience from a few years ago, so that part was easy. I just wanted to upload it in mp4 format or wave, and couldn't find a way to do it.

Pros

Given you are familiar with similar layouts, such as audio software programmes, or video software, this is easy to use. We bought ours cheaply (camtasia version 9) via a humblebundle offer. Great if you want to record your screen and audio for e.g. making courses to sell, or youtube- or to record a powerpoint presentation. I tried it out once so far, to check on the recording quality.

Cons

Please add an automatic export as mp4 or the like to the program. it may be there but i didnt see it when i first tried it out.

Daniel E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Educational films

Reviewed on 16/4/2020

With Camtasia, we have always been able to create professional explanatory films that have been highly appreciated by customers. Processes were well visualized for the users.

Pros

Camtasia is an excellent tool for creating explanatory movies. It makes it easy to synchronize sound and video. Many small functions make a professional look possible. For example, straightening the mouse pointer or zooming in and out.

Cons

Camtasia is an excellent tool for creating explanatory movies. However, it often takes a lot of fine-tuning before all of the functions finally match.

William C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Camtasia Relay

Reviewed on 21/7/2020

Overall, I have had a good experience with incorporating Camtasia Relay into our learning resources. It provides a very valuable tool for faculty to use.

Pros

The thing I like most about Camtasia Relay is the fact that our faculty are able to use this to record and publish their lectures for students that can't attend class or learn from home.

Cons

The thing that I like the least about Camtasia Relay is that it takes a bit of time to train faculty on how to use it. Some instructors are hesitant and get a bit frustrated when trying to learn the platform theirselves.

Kalim U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Camtasia is best video editing and screen recording software

Reviewed on 20/9/2020

Camtasia is very fast and good video editing and system screen recorder software which you will get both when you bought it. Editor can share edited video directly to YouTube and other social media platform.

Pros

software is very light and you can run this software on 4GB RAM is well. Buyer get video editor and screen recorder in one package which is very good for new editor and youtubers.

Cons

There is limitations of Text templates there is no professional transitions for videos and images. there is no lower third templates.

Heather T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy To Use

Reviewed on 28/9/2020

The software has allowed me to create pieces of videos that I use over and over then splice them into other videos at the applicable place. This not only streamlines my work but ensures we are using the correct information each time. It has also allowed me to create more professional quality of videos in far less time.

Pros

The system has a robust set of features built into it that are easy to use and manipulate. Most things are as easy as dragging and dropping them into place on the video you are editing. You can easily add things such as transitions, moving call-outs, and even splice in other videos. It took me about 30 minutes to get it all figured out.

Cons

It feels overwhelming at first and the controls aren't necessarily easy to figure out unless you have watched a tutorial. Once you do then it is very easy to figure out and navigate.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good video recording and editing tool

Reviewed on 18/3/2021

Pros

I use Camtasia for video tutorials recording, editing, and applying voice-over. I like this software overall, the quality of the video is perfect. Love the effects available and video redactor. It is much easier to use than Adobe for example.

Cons

Sometimes it shuts down suddenly and doesn't save the latest changes.

Maher T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Video Editing? So Camtasia

Reviewed on 27/11/2020

Pros

Simple to use, very large options and tools.
You get what you imagine.

Cons

The timeline needs more precision in terms of thumbnails to get perfect scenes.

Hamdi C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

good screen record software

Reviewed on 30/6/2020

i tried the trial version to record video presentation

Pros

camtasia is a very amazing software to make screen record video and audio with hight quality resolution and easy way

Cons

hight price for individual user that can use free alternative like OBS, so as a user for simple record i don't see the point to buy the license

Flavio V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent for produce videos for sharing information

Reviewed on 23/3/2021

We used Camtasia for preparing videos tutorial for our staff, explaining how to used some applications we developed internally. The video production, blending screen sharing, video, audio and effects, allowed us to create information content with high quality.

Pros

Very easy and intuitive, almost no need to read user guides to start producing tutorials and applications demos in your computer. Camtasia is lightweight and fast.

Cons

If your production has many video recordings, and uses effects, the rendering process can be time consuming.

Sven K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing Videosoftware Camtasia

Reviewed on 11/3/2021

Overall, I'm happy that Camtasia was recommended to me. I have super-equipped software that I can use to create all of my videos and audios as an online course developer. Uploading to video platforms is also really quick and easy. It is a lot of fun to take pictures with the green screen and then display a news studio. Camtasia makes my job easier for me.

Pros

There are many functions and they are very intuitive. I was a beginner and quickly found success with my first beautiful video. You can merge many tracks for pictures, Power Point, music and speech. Videos and audios can be edited very nicely. Cutting is also very easy with the functions. There are plenty of ready-made templates in the internal library. Any format can also be imported from the computer. Price and performance are absolutely appropriate. I have signed a maintenance contract and can use the latest version with better and better functions every year. Great.

Cons

I found the many setting options a little difficult at the beginning. It took something to recognize the changes when attitudes were different.

A help display with a hint would be good if you create an intro, for example, and fill in the data. Kind of an indication that it is to be saved for further, later videos.

The result is very large files that I have moved to external hard drives. Importing them from there was cumbersome but feasible.

Amanat A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Video Formate and file size is good

Reviewed on 25/1/2021

Pros

The file size of a video of the same time-length is very small than others. Text video result is outstanding. Quickly applying Transaction, sound effects, and chroma key.

Cons

Quickly remove the chroma key, all features are good. I like it

Hiran T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Editing and creation of video and audio is made simple and fast.

Reviewed on 3/2/2021

Pros

The User interface is simple and required tools placed on the left side tab. Audio editing job done easy by audio effects option have preloaded option like noise removal, volume levelling, fade in, fade out and clip speed. The preloaded effects made editing job quick which are loaded in media, annotations, transitions, behaviours, animations, cursor effects, voice narrations and audio effects. The User can lock the track and make hide or visible of the particular track.

Cons

Importing of the media file is not quick. Launching of the software take more time to open the software. Functions of the software are not quick responsive.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Camtasia - a complete and lean editor

Reviewed on 29/4/2020

I have been using Camtasia for about 9 years, editing videos for school as professional videos and for youtube channels and it has been meeting the needs

Pros

I like how camtasia has an easy-to-learn interface, it's very uncomplicated to do a good video editing

Cons

Sometimes I have problems opening files of certain formats, sometimes even MP4, so I think the program should come ready to support more types of media files

René francisco T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Friendly and professional

Reviewed on 9/5/2020

It is a software that should be used if you are interested in editing videos without complicating yourself. It can be very good to start making professional videos although my friends who are dedicated to editing do not like it. For me I am not a professional editor but if I need to edit to make video courses it is ideal.

Pros

I chose this product, as it seemed the easiest option to use while still having very professional features.
One of these features is that it allows you to separate the sound from the images and be able to work it independently. It also has a very useful noise reducer.
And a bank of free videos and sounds that make intros and outros very easy. Integration with PowerPoint is fantastic.

Cons

It can get very slow if you don't have enough RAM.

James M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Basic Workhorse for Screen Recording and Video Editing

Reviewed on 29/7/2020

Pros

Good functionality for easy screen recording and basic video editing plus access to some free downloadable template assets.

Cons

Annual upgrades are not that impressive and seem to not come with easy to understand tutorials from the developers. Responsiveness to user feedback for improved functionality is not top tier.