EcoOnline Platform

4.6 (54)
The most user-friendly EHS software solution on the market.

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(54)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.8/5

98%
recommended this app

54 reviews

Maria W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy way to ensure safety and compliance when working with chemichals

Reviewed on 3/2/2021

The customer service is very friendly, fast reacting and customer oriented. We received excellent support in setting up the system and in training the users. Any questions we have had have been answered very quickly and helpfully. The system guides the users in facilitating risk assessments very well and over all we have liked working with it. The only very small hickups we've had have been connected to prices and invoicing.

Pros

The software helps us to in an easy and effective way fulfill our legal requirements to log the chemichals we use, have the Material Data Sheets easily accessible to all, assess the risks connected to every chemichal and store the information for a minimun of ten years after we've stopped using a chemichal. EcoOnline has made us work in a much better way with chemichals and we really appreciate the support as chemichals are not our core business.

Cons

The pricing and therefore the invoicing are a bit challenging from a customer point of view, allthough understandable from the vendor point of view. The cost is formed from the number of users and the number of chemichals in use. I would rather see a fixed price than having to expand the contract on a regular bases.

Gro vibeke K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It has to be easy!

Reviewed on 5/3/2021

Serving more than twenty buildings with stores and use of chemicals in each of them, the platform make it easy to have control with storing situation. The employers have access to the platform and they can easely have have the information that is needed regarding to safe working-environment.

Pros

It is very easy to understand the path in the platform. Even for a user who has been employed just av couple of months.

Cons

Maybe because we are up-runners we haven't met the opsticle yet.

Aaron A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ONT ChemDoc review

Reviewed on 15/10/2020

ChemDoc staff very helpful and respond very fast to all queries.

Overall system is quite user friendly, especially for COSHH assessments. I would say it is less user friendly for process risk assessments.

Pros

The automatic extraction of data from SDS.

The product search feature with SDS and COSHH assessments attached.

Cons

Would like to extract more data from SDS. Would like to be able to add the risk rating (rainbow system) into more of the customised fields, currently you have to have the standard ChemDoc table for this to happen.

No email notification for managers once selected as approver for COSHH.

Copying approved COSHH assessments between departments requires a new approver/sign off. The departments on ChemDoc correspond to different labs within the company which users mix between quite regularly between so quite tedious if someone wants to use for example methanol in two different labs they need to copy RA and get approval (sign off) twice.

To duplicate a process RA in the copy field the name of the assessment doesn't appear just the chemicals that appear in that RA. Which makes it quite difficult to select the right RA to copy if several RAs contain the same chemical. For example, 10 risk assessments contain chloroform then chloroform is listed ten times in the duplicate tab and i dont know which is the RA i want to copy until i select one of the chloroforms and press duplicate.

Be good if admins could control read and understood function.

Since our departments correspond to different labs some experiments are conducted across multiple labs but to copy process RA all the chemicals in the RA need to be in both labs. Whereas, sometimes we store the chemicals in one lab then use them/formulations of them in different labs.

Martin A.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ALTRO Group

Reviewed on 21/9/2016

An easy to use and access module with superb support if required. The team are readily available to help and all users benefit from other users experiences and upgrades.

Pros

The module is easy to use with either options to follow the set template, enter free text or both where required. It can be used by any number of users with little training required. Is easy to update and amend, especially with the cloning option which saves enormous amounts of time and effort, removing the need to continuously enter the same or similar data over and over. It also has the ability to share with any user involved in the process/activity and notify them when changes have been made.

Cons

The COSHH pictograms require updating to current legislative standards

David M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use and everything in one place

Reviewed on 25/6/2018

Everything in one place makes tracking training and audit requirements so much simpler than numerous spreadsheets.

Pros

Easy to access from any PC makes this a useful tool both in the office and out and about in the field. Its easy to add staff members and allocate their requirements right from the start and manage requirements going forward where changes may be required. The ability to set up reports for individuals or groups across different training requirements is very useful. Easy to see records and track requirements for training and audits.

Cons

Inability, without creating a template, to schedule/record multiple training courses for a group. Having to add group members to potentially 10 different courses is very time consuming.

Michelle L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very helpful piece of equipment it keeps everything in one place.

Reviewed on 21/6/2018

It streamlined the reporting system keeping everything in one place.

Pros

Very intuitive piece of software easy to navigate. Support system prompt with help and advice. Regular reviews given on usage. Updates sent out of upgrades regularly. Webinars available as well as conference calls to sort out issues and have telephone training.

Cons

The email notifications are a bit messy and hard to navigate for occasional users, but I know this is being looked into.

Matthew H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great tool to look after coshh management

Reviewed on 17/10/2020

Pros

Sourcing the SDS on our behalf has been a huge support and selling point of the system.

Cons

It would be good for assessments to have multiple fields/columns on one line instead of there own, it would condense the form down.

Erica I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 1/10/2020

Very positive, excellent support, the system does what is required in legislation without over complicating users interaction with it

Pros

SDS are provided and updated, the mobile app is very easy to use

Cons

the requirement for a product code causes difficulty

Mikiel H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Fantastic company

Reviewed on 20/2/2017

Have been a customer of Effective Software since 2015. Fantastic company, always willing to listen, help, and develop their products. Would highly recommend their services.

Eamon O.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Innovative company with a strong work ethic and great results. Great company to work with.

Reviewed on 20/2/2017

Innovative and forward thinking company with a strong work ethic and great results. Great company to work with.

Luna V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 19/12/2018

Remy H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

User friendly Chemical Inventory list with easy access to SDS

Reviewed on 5/3/2021

The ecoonline is a good software for keeping track of your chemical inventory list and chemical risk assessments.
The customer service is easy to contact and customer friendly and seek to solve any issues you encounter.

Pros

The software is web based, so possible to log in to the Ecoonline platform wherever you are.
Easy access to (relatively) updated safety data sheets and chemical risk assessments performed in ecoonline.
The software is user friendly and there is no need for a chemical background to use the software.
The software can be used for chemical risk assessments and to initiate risk reduction actions. It also includes the option for exposed employees (Ecoexposure).
You can use the software to check your chemical inventory list against a number of laws and regulations (e.g. Candidate list) and create a number of reports.

Cons

Not all chemicals in your inventory that are listet in e.g. the Candidate list show in the search. I suspect the reason is that ecoonline search for CAS-No, and since not all suubstances included in the candidate list have a CAS-No. they will not show in the resulted search list.
The new ecoonline platform has some pros and cons itself. The risk assessment is more thorough, but is more difficult to use. We still use the old ecoonline platform on the daily basis, which most often cover our needs.

Megan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

MSD Dunboyne Biologics review

Reviewed on 30/9/2020

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been super helpful and proactive to work with. Her replies to ad hoc emails are almost instant and shes been a great representative.

Pros

The automatic generation of a chemical risk assessment

Cons

Having to have different new chemical approvals for products which are the same but have different manufacturers has been difficult for us. Also its not easy to search for a chemical risk assessment unless you know for definite a chemical that's in it.

Paul M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chemdoc

Reviewed on 24/6/2021

From demo stage to companywide use it is a great asset to te organisation.

Pros

Gives easy access to safety data sheets and we can always be assured the most up to date version is uploaded.

Cons

Risk assessment templates but in time I'm sure they will be modified to suit our needs.

Bruce H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Adaptable and easy to deploy

Reviewed on 29/1/2021

Great service and support. Powerful off the shelf software with a fair degree of adaptability to ones needs and at a very reasonable price.

Pros

Integrated platforms with an all-round support offering of multiple Safety modules to select from and use depending on your needs and ability to onboard and release them in stages so your staff can take them on board in bite sizes.

Cons

The reporting module is restricted to Administrative staff and audit scoring features are limited. Also features in some Smartforms modules are not available in other modules. But i’m sure as the software develops these areas will too.

Alternatives Considered

Q-Pulse

Reasons for Switching to EcoOnline Platform

Cost and ease of deployment.
Alex L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

EcoOnline review Stryker Tullagreen

Reviewed on 16/3/2021

This platform is easy to use, fast and efficent while searching, and the support network team behind the scenes are always willing to help and take any call even at short notice to support and queries and explaining systems.

Oveall fantastic support structure

Pros

Easy quick radio buttons and fast link to internal link.

Clear concise layout of folders and functionality.

Cons

It may have the functionality already but maybe it could send an email reminder to the chemical requestor that a COSSH assesment needs to be completed after inital approvals. Maybe send reminder requests until completed?

Emma B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Chemdoc software

Reviewed on 15/10/2020

Chemdoc- Easy to use, good database ,have the right information as per COSHH regulation, provide compliance , good search engine & reporting system

Pros

Chemdoc -Reporting system helps to identify information easy and helps to manage the control of hazardous substances.
Assessment process is staight forward.

Cons

Chemdoc -There is no version number on the assessment form that can cause confusion.

Ian W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This has been an easy system to use, and easy for new users to learn

Reviewed on 25/6/2018

Whole company view of H&S and Training compliance, supporting the development of an improved safety culture and engagement

Pros

Quick view of training compliance, using RAG buttons - very clear. Simple hazard reporting, now also with smartphone apps

Cons

Inflexible reporting. The default menu of options is too limited and it isn't easy to create regular reports to match our needs

Trevor B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Effective Software and Engage

Reviewed on 26/3/2019

For the modules in use we are quite happy, impersonating of further modules will take time, perhaps with the new interface this will be simpler

Pros

Auditing, hazard spotting and accident investigation process.

Cons

Clunky interface, modules desperate for revision and simplification.

Rafael B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent software, which I have expanded its access to seven bus garage locations.

Reviewed on 30/9/2020

Easy to navigate and to locate documents.

Pros

Very easy to use and with friendly easy access. Easy to find what you want. Excellent customer service support and rapid to reply my queries and to upload new SDS for products that we use.

Cons

Nothing to complain on here. Great system.

Cian C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Wyeth

Reviewed on 2/10/2020

Chemdoc provides a very easy solution to manage chemical data sheets and risk assessments. There is very little maintenance required from the user and the system is user friendly

Pros

The software is easy to use and very quick to pull up SDS and CARAs

Cons

The function to add SDS for new chemicals is not as easy as other functions

Gerry D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Inexpensive, flexible and easy to use H&S compliance system.

Reviewed on 20/2/2017

Effective Software have provided us with an inexpensive, flexible and easy to use H&S compliance system. With it's intelligent approach to safety management we have drastically reduced the time spent on H&S issues and all our needs are now on one platform.
The sales and tech back-up teams were excellent and provided perfect solutions to all our queries.

Declan B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A pleasure to work with

Reviewed on 20/2/2017

It has been a pleasure to be working with such a forward thinking company over the years. Their work ethic and passion to help customers is second to none.

Mandy H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is a must for any business

Reviewed on 2/3/2020

Overall my experience has been exactly what you would expect from a company who values you as a customer. Any issues I have had or questions I needed answers to has been dealt with quickly and efficiently. The team have been very supportive through the entire journey, especially [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]

Pros

Before starting to use Engage we used to do everything on spreadsheets and word documents. This now allows easier reporting, better follow through of actions, more staff engagement and a general improvement in health and safety behaviours amongst staff.
It was so easy to put in place and the on-boarding was very well organised and at a pace which suited me

Cons

The only thing I would improve would be the ability to connect with our Housing management software, but i think this is more of an issue with the software supplier rather than Engage.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Effective Software Deployment

Reviewed on 4/4/2019

Improved awareness and involvement in risk assessment and hazard identification.

Pros

Modules allow you to cover common issues relating to management of Health and Safety.
Deployment on mobile means that the system is usable for mobile workers.

Cons

I would have expected a lot more interaction and automation between modules e.g. if an MSDS is updated the related COSHH Assessments could be flagged for review automatically.
If you build a work file similarly I would expect and automatic increment if some of the sub documents or records change.