ePS Pace

3.6 (78)
Business management software for the printing industry

Overall rating

3.6 /5
(78)
Value for Money
3.2/5
Features
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3.2/5
Customer Support
3.5/5

68%
recommended this app
Sort by

78 Reviews

Lynn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Suite products not equal, making in-house support challenging

Reviewed on 16/9/2020

Overall, although much has been done to integrate Pace with Process Shipper and Printstream (products we use every day), there are still software issues, especially with Printstream and Process Shipper. I appreciate the products in the suite and the effort that is being made to enhance the integration within the suite, and I feel EFI is on the right track and committed to making the suite better and stronger.

Pros

Pace's user interface and overall navigation is intuitive. We especially appreciate the file structure. It allows us to import, export and enhance system data easily using PaceStation query and the Universal Importer. Pace customer support is another strength.

Cons

It was more difficult and time-consuming to implement than we expected. Training could have been better. We were spoiled by Pace. It would be wonderful if all the products in the suite (especially Process Shipper and Printstream) could be supported the same way as Pace. With Printstream especially, obtaining support takes longer and often techs need to access files and tables we can't even view, to change a variable or status.

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

EFI Pace - Good results in first 2 years

Reviewed on 2/12/2021

Pros

The flexibility of the software to achieve whatever goals we have in mind. The ePacestation module, Questionnaires (with Item Templates), and the API module have been very key for us and returned lots of value.

Cons

Historically, when some core functionality has been identified as having an issue or a bug, there have been delays in getting stuff functioning correctly. Most notably, we've had trouble getting consistent/accurate results from Metrix and from the CRM Outlook plug-in.

Jeremy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

In need of improvement

Reviewed on 16/9/2020

Overall I don't think this system is at its peak. There are some fundamental issues that need to be worked out before release of a version and more time should be spent making sure the initial release of the latest version is fully stable and working in a real world environment before being sent out to all. On a personal note all of these trials and errors have been a great learning experience for me which although frustrating has definitely added to my personal growth.

Pros

There is a lot of flexibility in your capacity to read from the database. The database structure is pretty clearly laid out and accommodates the needs for customization well. The paid customization options have allowed our company to build in the features that were most important to us while adding features that made many users jobs much easier.

Cons

The constant battles to resolve small issues have been very frustrating. The bigger battles to resolve accounting and inventory problems has been very frustrating as well. We also are a Printflow user and have found the integration was not well executed and left us regretting our decision to use the two programs in tandem. Support although many times very helpful can also be very unhelpful especially when the only thing they can say is that maybe some day the development team will get to fixing our problem.

Jacques
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

My Pace Review

Reviewed on 16/9/2020

Overall experience is a 7 due to lack of help from service

Pros

I like all the features that Pace has to offer. The ability to write xpath's and event handlers has been very beneficial to the company and production.

Cons

Lack of adequate white papers or examples on the items mentioned above, xpath's and event handlers. The amount of time spent on producing these is cumbersome in some instances. Also the fact that we pay for service but service does not include help, it only looks at broken items. I have installed several MIS packages over the years and this is the only one that I know that does not include help in its service plan.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Pace with additional modules

Reviewed on 16/9/2020

Overall we are very excited about the opportunities the additional modules will provide us to streamline and smooth out our workflow.

Pros

The software has a ton of functionality built into it. I like that it is all self contained within the Pace Suite of software.

Cons

Parts of it take alot of time to navigate. There are multiple clicks through several pages that are required to input and/or access information. It could be more streamlined.

Leslie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Using PACE

Reviewed on 21/9/2020

It takes a little work to understand the system, but once you get it, it is a fairly efficient system.

Pros

It is great that PACE can help figure out if a job will be a better fit for digital or offset (you have to know a few tricks, but it is worth the effort). I love the fact that the software can tell me how many boxes and how many skids will be needed to finish the job. It is very helpful that I can set up an email alert when something is shipped out of the system. It is wonderful that you can use most of the fields as calculators.

Cons

I do not like the latest upgrade that puts pop up windows in the middle of the screen. Previously the pop ups opened in the upper left corner. I was able to make the main PACE screen be a little smaller to the left and always see the pop ups that were open. Now I have to make the main PACE screen half the size of my computer screen from the bottom to see the same thing. Very frustrating when the goal is efficiency.

Alan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

EFI Pace

Reviewed on 3/12/2021

Customer Service used to be better, seems to be impersonal now that we don't talk to a live person when an issue comes up that used to be solved immediately.
Not a big fan of the cost of the "Connect" at the Wynn in Las Vegas. Rooms are overpriced (although very nice) much more reasonable rooms are available in Las Vegas. If costs were better contained we could send more to each conference.

Pros

Estimating, P.O's, Data Collection, Payroll, Invoicing and Sales and Marketing reports.

Cons

Doesn't seem as though there is a lot of personal followup or review once the system is installed. Although support is available it seems like the after the sale someone should come out annually to review issues that can be addressed to make the system more user friendly, dynamic and valuable to the end user.

Courtney
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

EFI Pace

Reviewed on 4/1/2022

Pace has allowed us to create a scalable single system of record for the multiple divisions within our company. In addition, it has provided us the platform for continuous automation and touchpoint reductions in our workflows.

Pros

The customization module truly makes this platform powerful and able to adapt to many business models.

Cons

Currently, the CRM module. But, I say this knowing that at it's core Pace is an MIS system - not a CRM. So, I am appreciative they have the module as it allows us to operate with a single system of record and not have to manage multiple platforms or integrations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Suite to Beat

Reviewed on 16/9/2020

We have invested in all the pieces of the Mid Market Print Suite and the flexibility of the software has allowed us to continue to grow year over year. Our experience has been very good but we also dedicate a sizable amount of time to maintenance and customization's on the platforms. The software platform is only as good as the support team and the EFI team is always prompt and responsive to our needs.

Pros

The software is intuitive, flexible and able to adapt to most any situation a printing and packaging company may need. Users train quickly and love the features and reporting that the system is capable of.

Cons

Our company is a true one stop shop and Pace is not able to estimate Flexographic Printing.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Too Difficult to use and clunky

Reviewed on 19/4/2019

I have seen no real benefits. We have more people doing estimating than ever before, because Pace is so clunky and takes so long to do anything, and they still can't all get the hang of Pace. The part of our company that still uses the previous outdated software that we had before Pace, can get jobs put in and billed in one-tenth of the time it would take to do in Pace. Literally. It is like buying an expensive Backhoe to drive through city streets, when a small Honda would work much better.

Pros

There are a lot of options in it; granted you have to pay big bucks to include any of them as different modules. If you simply run a cost-plus model with absolutely no specific prices quoted to customers, then this might work. The support team usually answers concerns.

Cons

Unfortunately, the varied options and features are so difficult to implement and understand that we have been attempting to use this software for 3 years now, and still are not fully implemented. The people in the trenches have no belief that it will ever be completely useable. The estimating module doesn't have a way to charge specific quoted prices to specific customers. So they offer the Price List Quoting module, which does not sync up very well with the estimating and production functionality. If anything is customized, you have to change it is two different places to be able to get it to run through your shop.

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

PCE Review

Reviewed on 17/12/2021

Pros

Integration with DSF is an important feature for AlphaGraphics. Not always 100% foolproof, but much of the interaction is seamless and most useful. The connection with Inventory allowing customers access to their own stock items including stock balance figures is a winner.

PACE allows a high degree of customisation which gave us a greater ability to apply the structure we needed to our workflows. It also facilitated the implementation of accurate production processes into the structure of the MIS.

Cons

We are missing more structured tie-ins with equipment vendors, allowing better integration of prepress and production workflows. This is something that is prevalent across all vendors, not just EFI. It feels like each vendor is determined that their method is the correct one and all others must conform to their standards, leaving customers with little option but to go it alone or forget about true integration.

Brad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It checks the box of ERP system for Printing

Reviewed on 16/12/2021

We have seen the benefits of having one system and have learned to work around many of the kinks and flaws in Pace.

Pros

I like that we are able to use it as an ERP system as opposed to multiple systems.

Cons

Reports: Many of the reports that open in Excel basically do just that: open in Excel. The data does not actually generate in Excel properly and it is a major pain to manipulate in a way that can actually be useful.

Sorting: It is annoying that the reports cannot always be sorted alphabetically.

Reassigning accounts: A salesman taking over a current customer cannot see the customer history. This is a major flaw that has never been addressed to my knowlege in over 30 versions.

Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Pace MIS For Printing Industrey

Reviewed on 22/11/2021

Efficient order processing of around 35,000 individual jobs a year.

Pros

We have used Pace for many years. Large printers must have an MIS to efficiently manage production. And that MIS must integrate with ordering systems. Pace integrates with our Market Direct Storefront. Over the years, we made the transition from an internally created accounting system to our first commercially available MIS - Covalent. We then transitioned to Logic. And years ago we transitioned to Pace.

Cons

Because integration of ordering software and Pace can be complex, once in a while there's a glitch. Figuring that out can be difficult, but with help from EFI Support we've always been able to do so.

Bill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

11 years with Pace

Reviewed on 16/12/2021

Pros

Overall - better than good (but I rarely give out 10's in general).
Support - Excellent
Integrations - very good>excellent
Order processing - good
Inventory - mostly good. Raw material is fine. We did purchase Printstream for fulfillment.
Estimating/quoting - very good. Thorough, therefore a bit complicated - for professional use only.

Cons

UOM management in inventory. Estimating not designed for label printing (but adaptable). We felt like we had to go to Printstream for better finished goods inventory and fulfillment.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

EFI Pace is great software

Reviewed on 16/9/2020

We run our whole buisness with this software from customer contact, online store fronts, estimating, job tracking, scheduling, billing and all accounting. It's great software.

Pros

Browser based so can be accessed any where. Really easy to find information in to make decisions that are data based. Intuitive and comprehensive.

Cons

They are constantly changing the software so there are updates happening frequently. The updates are getting easier.

James
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Current user, user for over 5 years.

Reviewed on 4/3/2017

We were an early adopter of this system. It was so cumbersome to develop, we didn't end up fully developing it until 2011, and we've been live on the system since 2011 to present. It's better than having no system, that's the best thing I can say about it... it's the bare minimum they expected it to be with way more perennial issues that aren't fixed.

EFI is hard to deal with at times. They care about charging you as much as possible. There is no passion for the product, and very very few people at epace who I've met actually have any real knowledge of print. My worst experience with EFI was after a dispute they disabled our system temporarily, which brought us to our knees... completely unfair.

The worst part about the system is the estimating module, which is essentially the core module. Plain and simple it's overrated. It takes much longer to do quotes

The second thing that stinks is that the system gets very bogged down easily. The servers they give you are slow and can't handle more than a handfull of users. Hitting the refresh or recalculate button can take up to 15 seconds of lag time! You have to hit that several times per quote... it's terrible.

The third thing I dislike is that EFI seemingly keeps bugs in their system and inefficiencies that are very easy to fix to either get you to customize the system or to have to keep paying for upgrades, keeping you hoping that they'll fix the bugs that keep screwing up your job tickets and estimates.

Fourth, if you buy a module, there is a great chance they'll give up on it. I bought the CRM module, based on their demo, and it was so awful it wasn't even usable. They abandoned the module months later and I had to fight for a year to get a credit for a different module from them... can you believe that!? Then I switched to a different terrible module and they started developing the crm module again.

I was also wowed by a fancy demo and a fast talking sales guy. Beware, the modules are very expensive and so are the monthly fees for support. Shortly after we bought the system, they raised all their module prices by about 20%.

Overall this system falls so short of where it could be. The only reason they exist is because they've bought the competition... this is it. There is nothing EFI offers beyond a fancy demo. Estimates are very slow. The system is not smart and you'll find yourself over riding it often.. unless you pay big big bucks for customization.

Pros

It keeps great records. It's easy to pull up old jobs and basic lists

Cons

Slow and cumbersome. Not very customizable. Boxy. EFI is not fun to deal with. System just isn't smart and it costs way too much

Henry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Pace admin and use

Reviewed on 8/12/2021

All ERP, MIS solutions have their pros and cons. Support for Pace is above average. Development is average with a SDLC that takes 6 months to a year for new features. Automation through the use of the API and item templates are above average.

Pros

Pace has a robust API but is not well documented. The Universal Importer feature allows a single spreadsheet to insert, update or delete records in multiple tables. The customization toolkit is very useful to create user defined fields, objects and HTML forms. Item templates allow for automation of repetitive work.

Cons

Other EFI products are not as well integrated as they should be (Metrix, Process Shipper).

Sonny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Let's Pace it!

Reviewed on 8/4/2021

Overall, using EFI Pace, once you're into it you just keep learning. As an administrator, it's easy to manage user request for queries and reports.

Pros

As an SAAS, it gives you the confidence that it has gone through the strictest quality tests and that it will not conk out on you. I am new to the industry where I first used EFI Pace, but it was straightforward enough for me to learn more about the industry standards by the way it structured the dive-ins and reporting formats.

Cons

There is not enough online contents on how to use specific features of the system. They have a community, but it seldom gives you the actual topic you are looking for.

Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Decade old user

Reviewed on 16/12/2021

Over the years, the organization has been fabulous. However, the most recent series of management changes are clear and the overall service of the company has gone down. I can't believe I'm paying $40K a year in support and somehow need to go to a website to log the problem instead of simply jumping on the phone like I used to do. Furthermore, the lack of online training and education for this product is shameful.

Pros

Web based, easily integrates with other systems. Makes the selling, estimating and job ticketing process very easy.

Cons

The inventory management/fulfillment module is a complete joke. It is not intuitive and is generally insufficient for anyone to use commercially.

Lynn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Review of MM Print Suite

Reviewed on 21/9/2020

Pros

We were able to upload much of our existing information directly into Pace.

Cons

Reporting abilities - many default reports did not work properly, and to "correct" them we were told it was a customization. When working in Pace Station, the inability to link tables / objects for reporting has been very frustrating.

Michelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Works well but implementation was a struggle

Reviewed on 17/9/2020

The trainers are very responsive and helpful. Unfortunately that's were the helpfulness ends.
The software was difficult to implement as there wasn't much guidance.
Once everything was up and running, it works well and does what we want.

Pros

Intelligent calculations and plenty of information to report on

Cons

Implementation was more difficult than anticipated due to issues between our IT and EFI

Alan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

EFI Continues to Improve their software for ease of use

Reviewed on 2/12/2021

Pros

The new updates have allowed for a more streamlined managment process by limiting clicks and allowing for easier use of the tools.

Cons

MDSF needs to update Smart Canvas to be able to do variable data. Currently we still have to use DirectSmile which is extremely cumbersome, wonky at times and difficult to use. It lacks consistency everytime we open up the software. We are seeing that we need this more and more these days coming from customer requests. Something that is stable and more user friendly would be extremely beneficial.

Kenzie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Both Easy and Difficult to Use!

Reviewed on 23/9/2020

I was never formally trained on it and have learned to navigate basic Estimating/Tickets by myself. I think it is easy to learn but has its road blocks in functionality, I think there are somethings that easily trigger errors that are hard to fix. My experience has been primarily positive and customer support is helpful if I need them.

Pros

I think it is easy to use, anyone can navigate the basics of it. I think it is organized.

Cons

At the same time its easy to use, it can also be difficult at times. I think sometimes things are hidden in odd spots in the software. And sometimes there are errors that you are unable to figure out alone.

Rachel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

The biggest waste of money

Reviewed on 15/7/2021

Terrible experience - EFI has drank the Kool aid

Pros

web based - there is absolutely nothing else about this system that I like

Cons

In my opinion the system is a big waste of money and does nothing except cause frustration and WASTE money and time. There is really nothing about this system that I do like. Whoever created this definitely does not actually use this system......they appear to be keyboard warriors only. Common sense has left the EFI building a long time ago. We were sold this system telling us how much more productive we would be and it has done the complete opposite. We have WASTED so much money and time with this almost unusable system. They create a system that doesn't work and then want to charge you a fortune to fix it - and what i mean to "fix it" is the way is should have been to begin with. This is where they get you along with their outrageous "maintenance" fees. 5 years into this and i am still in awe of how terrible this system is. Most people can use a system and figure out by common sense....Pace is the complete opposite of common sense. Nothing makes sense about this system. In the accounting portion every little task takes about 10 steps to do what did take us a second in our prior system. EFI has a firm grip on an empty sack that they think is invaluable. They are clueless to the real "working" world.

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

EFI is a great partner for our business

Reviewed on 16/12/2021

Pros

EFI Pace streamlines so much of our business operation. We save time and have improved efficiency throughout our shop thanks to ePace.

Cons

Some integrations have been slow to get fully operational but EFI support is committed to helping you get things implemented.