66 reviews

QuarkXPress

Graphic designing and image editing tool

4.2 /5 (66 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.2
/
5
Value for Money
3.8
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
3.8
80% recommended this app
66 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Graphic Design
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Desktop publishing With QuarkXpress

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I use Quarkexpress in small projects because of its user-friendly features.

Pros

Ever since it was released in 1987 QuarkXPress has dominated the Desktop Publishing.
I use Quarkexpress because when its come to page layout it is the best one out there because of its simplicity.its text tools are very user-friendly and lets you get the job done very quickly and efficiently.
Also, QuarkXPress supports more printers than any other desktop publishing software.

Cons

There is not much not to like about QuarkXpress.
Maybe PDF exports could be easier in the future

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Robin I.
Industry: Graphic Design
Company size: Self Employed

If Quark were a man, I'd marry him.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 31/7/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I have used Quark for everything from business card design to websites. I especially like using it for layout on coffee table books.

Pros

I love everything about QuarkXPress. I've been using Quark since 1990 and also taught Quark for a few years. There is an elegance to the way Quark works that is missing in other page layout software. It was set up by graphic designers for graphic designers. Even though I own Adobe Creative Suite, I prefer to use Quark for print and web projects.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about Quark. Even if I run into a snag or problem I am able to find a solution easily with the Quark HELP feature or on their website.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nina J.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Quark User

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/8/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Designing calendars, flyers, newsletters and many more graphic publications is a breeze with Quark Express

Pros

User friendly!!! The software is like a desk and the many applications are similar to items on that desk. You can easily drag any item to the place you desire. Open boxes for pictures, text etc are so easy and functional. I love this software. Frequent updates which make the products even more so wonderful.

Cons

Need to upgrade my Apple computer as it is not compatible when the software is updated as frequent as it does. It becomes compatible with a new computer OS.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jonathan H.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Some nice features, but lacking many. Rickety user experience

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 14/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We were able to get our project done (a technical user manual). QuarkXPress had the features we needed to get the job done, but some of QuarkXPress's limitations negatively impacted the end product. As a former InDesign user, InDesign has all the features that QuarkXPress has, plus more options and control. The QuarkXPress interface is buggy and frankly feels unfinished. I am shocked that a software that began in the 80s and dominated the market at one point is so low quality. I've used freeware that felt more polished and reliable.

Pros

Nice abstraction features like paragraph and character styles so you can change a style once and QuarkXPress updates your whole document. Master pages are very useful for streamlining the creation of a large document (we used it to automatically show chapter headings on every page of a user manual). 60 days of free tech support is a nice perk.

Cons

Design flaws in software are a constant obstacle. Can't open multiple projects at once, makes transferring things to a new project a huge pain. Table of contents automation lacks customization. Scrolling on a page with 15-20 elements is slow on a modern computer. I call customer support asking for help to get Table styles to work, and they respond that Table styles just don't work on some tables and I have to live with it. User interface hides itself when window is out of focus for no reason, infuriating when trying to follow a tutorial in a web browser. Undo operations frequently crash the program. Anytime you click on one of the palettes in the side bar, the whole user interface goes into a mini-seizure and flashes light and dark. Exporting PDF has no progress bar, the software just goes "not responding" for 10-20 minutes so you have no idea how long you will have to wait. The support community is sparse and their help forum confirmation email didn't send even after requesting new ones, so I wasn't able to join and ask questions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Publishing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

QuarkXPress

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 9/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall QuarkXPress does what I need and does it well.

Pros

QuarkXPress is an easy to use interface with a variety of tools and options that enables the user to create well crafted designs for a wide variety of platforms. You have full control over elements of the design and can incorporate a plethora of different elements. With their conversion and simple importing you can work on a variety of filetypes and incorporate many elements into a piece.

Cons

Although the user interface is pretty intuitive and simple - it is very outdated. The design of the program doesn't hold up to the designs it can produce. This design of the program can be off putting and visually tiring/harsh. There's also the unfortunate fact that Adobe has more options and capabilities that QuarkXPress doesn't which leads me back to alternate programs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Antonios V.
Industry: Arts & Crafts
Company size: Self Employed

An amazing software that helped my team in publishing the college newspaper!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 26/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

To build, create and prepare the college newspaper. It's the ideal software for publishing!

Pros

Massive offer of layouts, options and colour palettes to create and build a web or print magazine. I love the updated Java Script options, the typography menus for modifying and choose the right font and also the tools for publishing and saving a project for online purposes.

Cons

More Java Script layouts and themes should be available, apart from the standard ones. The modification is easy but still there is a need for an update with more modern themes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joel S.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The Best!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We use it for everything from newsletters, magazines to brochures and creating PDF's as well, catalogs.

Pros

Love the many functions and features it has for our newsletter and magazine publishing. As well for our clients design projects.

Cons

Lots to learn with the many features it has. Must take time out for learning.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jose M.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Simple to use and ton of features

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 31/1/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Saves a ton of time

Pros

Another reviewer Chadsey really nailed all the pros and cons of this software. It's great that it is subscription based and anytime you need help with something, their customer support is quick to help.

Cons

I think once a new update comes out, the owners of the previous version should get to upgrade for free or at the very least at a significant discount. Not knowing when the new version will come out can prevent you from buying the current version.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Yuliya L.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Professional software

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best part of the QuarkXPress is the variety of different functions that will allow user to work on either small of big scale publishing project. I used it for 4 page marketing booklets and over hundred pages product catalogues. Love it.

Cons

You have to wait before it will run, the software is huge.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

I used QuarkXPress to create books & versions of ads. It is fantastic with typography & layout.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/1/2018
Review Source: Capterra

This was an easy to use layout tool. I could easily lay out newspaper pages, version multiples of ads, create books or flyers easily. It was easy & fun to use.

Pros

It was really easy to layout a design in Quark. The link system allows your files to be small & agile. And it's Packaging functionality allows you to esily

Cons

I use primarily Adobe products, so the tools are different, look different and/or are in different places, so it takes a little bit of time to get used to.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Alexis C.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great for Layouts if this is your only program

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

If you are simply doing layout, Quark is the way to go; however, if you need to incorporate images, links, etc. then stick with Adobe Creative Cloud and InDesign so you are not paying for two software formats.

Pros

Quark is absolutely fantastic for multipage spread layouts or any multipage project that requires standard margins, guides, templates etc.

Cons

If you are a fan of Adobe for your art work and work as a graphic designer it's just much simpler to use Adobe's InDesign as it ties in with all the Adobe programs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great to create magazines

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/7/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I use this to create a literary magazine for my job. It allows me to put original artwork and create each page differently every time.

Cons

Sometimes the pictures have been not saving or says they do not save.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 51-200 Employees

This used to be the standard in newspapers

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 1/8/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

QuarkXPRess can help you create newspaper and magazine layouts and make your work easier.

Cons

It has been outshone by Adobe InDesign and is no longer the industry standard.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Graphic Design

I use QuarkxPress for all my print marketing materials.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I really like the software ease of use and even with updates that core elements stay the same. I find it easy to create the layout I need without all the extra tools and setting found in some other software.

Cons

I do find the software slow to load and I do have frequent crashes. I also find it does not use all the fonts and font weights that my system has, that I know work within Photoshop for example.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: Self Employed

QuarkXpress is Solid Publishing Software

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 8/9/2020
Review Source: Capterra

really powerful. great solution for publishing marketing pieces that will be viewed on PDF, but works equally good for web based or printed.

Pros

powerful features. you can control layout of virtually anything you want to print or publish on paper/screen/web etc.

Cons

the features are so powerful they're hard to learn, the volume of features is hard to absorb. There are tutorials but where to start

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great to Use for Marketing Materials!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/7/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I used this software regularly at my previous job, and really enjoyed it. I was able to create beautiful advertisements for print, fairly easily. I was able to teach myself how to use it also. When it comes to design software, this is user friendly.

Cons

It is kind of outdated. These days, people tend to look for Adobe software proficiency. It is a great stepping stone to Adobe.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lonnie M.
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Quark makes page design simple

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I've used Quark for 20 years, and although the version we have is pretty outdated, it still gets the job done with relative ease.

Pros

There are a variety of tools to accomplish exactly what you need. Options allow you to modify text and photos and to set up pages of all kinds of sizes.

Cons

Some of the shortcuts codes involve three or more buttons, which can be difficult to remember, thus nullifying their purpose.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Brian G.
Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good software, but doesn't have the flexibility that Illustrator offers

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/3/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I learned this software years ago, and it was great foundational, but overall not as powerful as Illustrator

Cons

I prefer how well Illustrator works with other software.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Tracy L.

Used to be #1...now, not so much.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Quark is great for print design, text-heavy layouts, and what used to be referred to as desktop publishing.

Cons

They dropped the ball years by being slow to release a compatible version with Mac OSX, and have been struggling to get back in the race ever since. Meanwhile, Adobe InDesign became the industry leader, and there's no going back to Quark. It just doesn't have the smooth cross-application compatibility you get staying in the Adobe Suite.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Alexander M.

I've been using Quark over 16 years. It needs mayor improvements to be the industry standard again.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This program it is very precise, measurements can be exact and the dialog box for PDF output selection is also very detailed. Also outputting linked files and fonts into one location is easy.

Cons

The need to purchase 3rd party plugins to get many things done. Quark should address those needs in their next version.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Samantha M.
Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Quark is just like Adobe InDesign with less bells and whistles, and is a little harder to use.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I was able to easily create text-only programs for events that my work was putting on. It was super easy for basic projects.

Pros

I used it in college, and it was a great beginner tool for learning how to do page layouts, and is relatively cost efficient.

Cons

It doesn't integrate well with other software, and it falls short on the graphical layout side. Only ended up using it for text only event programs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Corina B.
Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
Company size: 51-200 Employees

User friendly desktop publishing software

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 27/2/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I was able to learn how to use this software with very little training.

Cons

Nothing to say about what I like least. It works as it should.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Milena G.
Industry: Design
Company size: Self Employed

Great for text formatting

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 9/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very good for text formatting, easy to use, especially when formatting books and larger texts.

Cons

I wish there was a way to connect the app with software that works with vectors (Adobe Illustrator, Adobe InDesign, Corel Draw..)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Angel G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

QuarkXPress

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

QuarkXPress is a great product. I would recommend it to anyone working in the creative field. It can be use for print and digital design. I use the product to create advertisements, collateral, packaging, flyers, success stories, white papers, guides, spec sheets, interactive PDFs, and so on.

Pros

Easy to use. Has lots of features. Integrates well with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator. Love that you can create digital and interactive files.

Cons

Some features are hard to find. Would like to see more training available.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kathleen M.
Industry: Design
Company size: Self Employed

Once avoided, now embraced

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

When I began using Quark roughly 15 years ago, I would so anything to try to avoid it. It was intimidating and frustrating and, at the time, only a mac program. I desperately tried to convert as many files as I could to Adobe InDesign because I was more comfortable on the pc platform. Now, I love Quark and would prefer to use it over anything else. Having a PC platform version really was the key in my eyes. With recent versions, Quark has become much less intimidating and more inviting to non-industry professionals.

Pros

Quark really is the best when it comes to page layout and typesetting design. The features and abilities far surpass other layout programs.

Cons

Although recent versions have been improving, Quark can be rather intimidating to learn and not the most user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10