ByteKast

Digital learning platform for authoring & publishing content

Overall rating

4.9 /5
(9)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.8/5
Customer Support
4.9/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

9 Reviews

Heidi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Falkor - Niche Digital Learning Platform

Reviewed on 6/10/2020

Outstanding ISV providing excellent service, from the initial conversations to onboarding and...

Outstanding ISV providing excellent service, from the initial conversations to onboarding and on-going support.
The Falkor platform enabled our organisation to scale globally, providing online training certifications across the globe.

Pros

Outstanding user experience
Easy to deploy, manage and scale which caters for the online world
Learn on the go - micro learning is the way forward and the platform provides possibilities to publish content publically or private
Users can access the portal by downloading the application on Apple or an Android device or make use of a Progressive Web and browser
Organisations have the ability to rebrand the platform

Cons

From a user, admin and content generated perspective the platform is perfect. Nothing to further to mention.

Alternatives Considered

eloomi

Reasons for Switching to ByteKast

South African developed, local support and none of the competing products in the market can provide the same capabilities.
Cheryl
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mobile learning that works!

Reviewed on 8/10/2020

Falkor allowed me to quickly amd affordbaly expand my business offereing into a digital arena,...

Falkor allowed me to quickly amd affordbaly expand my business offereing into a digital arena, which many of my clients were asking for. I coudl no thave achieved the momentum on my own and it would not besusustainble for a smll business like myself without their ongoingm responsive support.

Pros

The ability to deploy content quickly to remote users is impressive. Having offline capabilities so that users can learn in their own time, even when they don't have access to data means this software is more inclusive.

Cons

Digital Authoring is easy on the platform but the anyone authoring ideally needs some instructional design expertise to ensure the final content created is effective for end-users. The content is more graphic-intensive to build than I initially anticipated, but it not insurmountable and Falkor provides all the graphic parameters to guide you.

Alternatives Considered

Zoom Events and Webinars and TalentLMS

Reasons for Switching to ByteKast

functionality, analytics and support
Kerry
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review from Cotlands

Reviewed on 2/2/2021

Pros

This is the first platform of this nature that we have used so I do not have another one to compare it to; however, the platform is easy to use - both front end and back end. Customer support is excellent and the company is always willing to consider suggestions for improvement.

Cons

Again this is the first platform that we have used. The limits in terms of text in the interactive slides can be frustrating .
From a front end user perspective - its very sensitive to connectivity and requires a strong connection. This is sometimes a struggle for our learners in the rural areas.

Gavin
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Pathway learning value for modern learning experiences.

Reviewed on 14/10/2021

Great experience of the platform and very responsive company and partners to deal with.

Great experience of the platform and very responsive company and partners to deal with.

Pros

I love the learning pathway functionality, it is fantastic for creating and curating content.
The fact that you get your own branded learning app in each of the app stores is a massive bonus.
The podcast and video streaming curation tools are really easy to use and bring fantastic value in how you can bring external content in and combine it with your own internal content.
The built in authoring tool adds further value and the analytics combine traditional LMS style stats with app engagement stats in a really insightful mix.

Cons

Nothing really, I would be interested to see where the team go with peer to peer and social learning in their roadmap.

Grant
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

App based publishing made super easy

Reviewed on 2/2/2021

Pros

ByteKast employs a powerfully simple-to-use and navigate backend publisher. This ease of use has allowed us to focus on what we do well - the content, while the software takes care of the rest. In a fast-paced work environment, having tools that streamline workflow have become fundamental to business success. ByeKast is one such tool that enables content developers to easily publish engaging, Edtech app based content, content at a click of a button.

Cons

The introduction of HTML5 compatibility could result in even smaller file sizes, which would be a powerful add-on. The ability to make template slides fully customisable would allow for better CI guidelines.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intuitive Online Course Building and Publishing Platform

Reviewed on 19/10/2022

Overall a great user experience and especially recommended for those new to learning platforms and...

Overall a great user experience and especially recommended for those new to learning platforms and authoring learning content.

Pros

ByteKast feels different to most other LMS/LXPs I've worked with. It's focus is on small elements of learning (microlearning). These can be either standalone (e.g. a short explainer video, a PDF or a quick quiz) or chained together in a learning pathway. It's a great platform for mixing curated content with new content authored on the platform itself using the intuitive card based interactive authoring tool. Simple interactive content is easy to put together complete with knowledge check questions and assessments. There is also a content development workflow process built-in.Published content works well on any platform but looks beautiful in the custom app. Overall a great course building solution that is especially effective for creating learning content for smartphones.

Cons

Some limitations on feedback in questions and also the question types themselves in the assessments. But ByteKast are already planning to address some of these niggles.

Christopher
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Super easy way to gather and deliver learning resources

Reviewed on 8/12/2022

Overall my experience is very positive. It has been a great tool for sharing information with time....

Overall my experience is very positive. It has been a great tool for sharing information with time. It is quick and easy to use.

Pros

Being able to access the app on my phone or tablet. Allows me to jump in and out without the need to always be at a desk. It is also a fantastic tool to create training paths for the team. With the added bonus of the paths being there for any new starts to do when being inducted.

Cons

One improvement could be to add direction arrows to the lines between the pathways. Just to further reinforce the order tasks should be completed.

Anton
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ByteKast LXP Review

Reviewed on 8/11/2021

Pros

The product is fairly easy to use. UI is simplistic, elegant, and Support is very responsive in the event of a query, technical issue, or planned outages. The API was simple to set up and integrate to other internal systems.

Cons

Some area's of navigation are harder to access than others. Analytics is limited to what it can display for our end-user base, so we needed to build our own reporting.

Samantha
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Falkor

Reviewed on 7/10/2020

Pros

Falkor is incredibly user friendly and becoming beautifully agile. The platform is updated often with features that are on trend and keep it relevant.

Cons

There really is nothing that I dislike about Falkor - its really great!