Sketch

4.6 (809)
Write a Review!
Product design tool to create, test & collaborate on ideas

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(809)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

809 Reviews

Byron
Byron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A powerful prototyping tool for mac users

Reviewed on 28/2/2021

I have had a good experience with Sketch as it's simple, fairly priced, and yet powerful.

I have had a good experience with Sketch as it's simple, fairly priced, and yet powerful.

Pros

It is intuitive and quite easy to use. The plugins make your work so easy and seamless.
It has a fair amount of learning resources online shortening the learning time.

Cons

If you plan to use Sketch to collaborate, first make sure everyone in your team uses a mac; otherwise PC users will just be spectators in the project.

Alternatives Considered

InVision App

Switched From

Adobe XD
Michael
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Vector Graphics UX/UI Design Tool For Creating iOS & Other Apps

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

Using Sketch has been a great experience for me. I've crafted some excellent and quite complex...

Using Sketch has been a great experience for me. I've crafted some excellent and quite complex designs for new apps. I will continue to use Sketch going forward.

Pros

I love Sketch and use it as my main app design tool. While there is a bit of a learning curve, I think it's worth investing the time to learn Sketch, particularly if you're designing user experiences and interfaces for mobile apps. The ability to create and use templates and components makes it extremely versatile. Also, the design tools, symbol libraries, and editing features make Sketch the best UX/UI design app I've ever used. Further, you can add plugins to add capabilities to Sketch. I use several. One of these allows me to export a design as code directly into Xcode! This saves time when coding a new UI.

Cons

There's little I don't like about Sketch. The only thing I could think of needing improvement is in creating gradients in the Appearance section of the Inspector. While this is extremely powerful, I find it a bit confusing at times.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Balsamiq is great for basic wireframing. However, it doesn't have the capabilities of Sketch for crafting completely rendered UX/UI interfaces.

Switched From

Balsamiq

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Adobe XD is a good product but is not yet as good as Sketch at this time. It is not as feature-rich, nor as easy-to-use.
Yulia
Yulia
Overall rating
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Interface very friendly for graphic designers

Reviewed on 5/5/2018

The software allows me to do my graphic designer work, very dynamic and friendly way.

The software allows me to do my graphic designer work, very dynamic and friendly way.

Pros

The advantages is that it is one of the best programs for web design, the interface is very friendly and it's very intuitive to learn and use. The license is the cheapest of the design programs when I made a comparison. This software is an excellent tool for designing templates of web portals, for me it's actually the best for web design, it is quite complete, it is easily managed with CCS and it has fast compatibility with frontpage

Cons

The software has not a very good image editor, so you have to use another program to improve the image edition in order to complement it. It also is only available for Mac and it's a under license program, there is no free version of it

Andualem
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Powerful and Intuitive Tool for Vector-based Design

Reviewed on 12/3/2023

As a user of Sketch, I appreciate how easy it is to create vector graphics and designs using the...

As a user of Sketch, I appreciate how easy it is to create vector graphics and designs using the software. The interface is user-friendly and the design tools are intuitive, making it easy to bring my ideas to life. I also enjoy the large community of users and resources available for learning and troubleshooting. However, I have encountered some issues with the software being slow or buggy when working with large files or complex designs. Additionally, as a Windows user, I am unable to use Sketch as it is only available for macOS.

Pros

1.User-friendly interface with intuitive design tools2.Optimized for creating vector graphics, making it easy to scale artwork without loss of quality3.Large community of users and resources for learning and troubleshooting4.Support for plugins and integrations with other design tools5.Regular updates and improvements to the software

Cons

1.Only available for macOS, limiting accessibility for some users2.Limited functionality for photo editing or working with raster images3.Some advanced design features may require plugins or additional software4.Can be slow or buggy when working with large files or complex designs5.Steep learning curve for beginners who are new to vector-based design

Jakub
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Robust and reliable

Reviewed on 15/1/2021

Moving from Photoshop is a bit of a philosophy change, but one you get used to it, the whole design...

Moving from Photoshop is a bit of a philosophy change, but one you get used to it, the whole design process starts getting much (MUCH) faster. After all Sketch is a design tool and not a photo editor. Functions are being added all the time or fixed or improved and mostly it saves clicks and valuable time.
The only issue are shared libraries and collaboration, which the product clearly was not inteded to have included at the time it has been layed out. But hopefully, this will change in future releases.

Pros

You can feel the robustness of the software. It is quick, but at the same time you can feel how it was built with intent. The UI sets the standard of similar design tools and gets constant updates which lead to more productivity and ease of use.

Cons

The ability to collaborate on a project is limited. There is a Sketch Cloud, but generally it is no match for other on-line design tools.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD , Framer and Figma

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Photoshop was slow and bulky to use and making global changes was difficult. With Sketch the introduction of symbols (and symbol overides) was a nobrainer to switch.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Is was the most mature product and was de-facto industry standard.
Erik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

High customization, packed full of features, slow performance

Reviewed on 22/9/2020

Despite Sketch's performance issues when saving and sharing projects to other platforms, Sketch is...

Despite Sketch's performance issues when saving and sharing projects to other platforms, Sketch is the standard for web design. I enjoy the clean and simple interface Sketch provides as well as the high level of customization available through first and third-party plugins.

Pros

My team and I primarily use Sketch to design and share projects using the Zeplin plugin for Sketch. The best thing about Sketch is the ability to add and customize an infinite number of plugins to tailor your workflow. The transition from Adobe products to Sketch was almost seamless, and the interface just makes sense.

Cons

The rendering and saving time in Sketch is a huge con. It takes at least five minutes to save a project with about 100 pages and then another 15 minutes to upload those designs to Zeplin. Sketch often uses way too much CPU and seizes up while saving.

Soham
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tons of Plugins + Great Features

Reviewed on 25/6/2019

My overall experience with sketch has been pretty good, there's definitely a learning curve to the...

My overall experience with sketch has been pretty good, there's definitely a learning curve to the software but once you get the hang of it, it's pretty great.

Pros

The thing that I like the most about this software is the ability to add plug-ins, there are tons of plugins out there which make it very easy to get things done. The layout of the application is pretty decent too with well defined icons.

Cons

The lack of flexibility in importing documents is a big pain point. The competition apps do let photoshop, illustrator and other file formats to open.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD , InVision App and Figma

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

The efficiency and templates available made us swtich from XD to Sketch.

Switched From

Adobe XD
Ken
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Once the best, but less competitive

Reviewed on 31/5/2021

Loved this product from the moment I started using it, but as a complete solution it's fallen short.

Loved this product from the moment I started using it, but as a complete solution it's fallen short.

Pros

Sketch is one of the best-designed apps I've ever used (going back 30 years) and it's still a joy. Built from the ground up for UI work, not repurposed like Photoshop or Illustrator. Everything just works, and the plug-in community has a solution for everything.

Cons

Sketch hasn't remained competitive with other products - not so much as a UI toll which it excels at, but prototyping which they never really figured out and relied on other products like Invision to complete

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Photoshop as a UI tool is a hack, was never designed for it and did it poorly.

Switched From

Adobe Photoshop

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

At the time XD wasn't ready, got better later but too late for me.
Bhavik
Bhavik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A great tool for Web and Mobile Design mockups.

Reviewed on 15/9/2019

My overall experience with Sketch is above satisfactory. The feature set is vast but the Mac only...

My overall experience with Sketch is above satisfactory. The feature set is vast but the Mac only limitation is something to keep an eye on.

Pros

Sketch is primarily made for creating Mobile and Web Design mockups, which makes it a great software to use if you're making designs for web or mobile, which was our primary requirement. Also, Sketch contains ton of templates which helps in choosing a basic layout to start.

Cons

The thing I like the least about Sketch is it's a Mac specific app. Our design team has to strictly switch to mac in order to use Sketch. Also, Sketch has a different set of hotkeys which is quite an effort to learn.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

The yearly plan over Adobe's monthly plan was a big factor in choosing Sketch for our team. Also, Cloud sharing was the feature that helped us to choose this product.
Alexandra
Alexandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sketch used for creating user interfaces,

Reviewed on 12/5/2023

Overall, Sketch offers collaborative features that facilitate teamwork and feedback. Designers can...

Overall, Sketch offers collaborative features that facilitate teamwork and feedback. Designers can share their designs with stakeholders, receive comments and annotations, and collaboratively rework designs. This has allowed us to streamline the design review and feedback process.

Pros

Sketch offers a wide range of design tools and features to create visually appealing, pixel-perfect designs. It includes features such as symbols, tables, layer styles and a powerful inspection panel, making it effective for designing complex user interfaces.

Cons

Limited platform compatibility: Sketch is currently only available for macOS, which means it is not accessible for designers using other operating systems such as Windows or Linux.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best UI design tools in the market

Reviewed on 27/3/2021

Being a UX and visual designer, Sketch has been the primary software on my computer for years now....

Being a UX and visual designer, Sketch has been the primary software on my computer for years now. Loved the product since its initial release and had been an advocate and a supporter mainly due to how it disrupted the UI design software field. I would like Sketch to improve to keep up with their competition since many designers are now moving to Figma just like how everyone moved from Photoshop and Illustrator to Sketch. Still would recommend any designer to go for Sketch.

Pros

Sketch was the revolutionary software that introduced UI/UX and visual designers with a tool created for that specific task which is creating interfaces. The vector graphic software doesn't limit you there; you are able to create posters, logos or even billboards with its intuitive and easy to learn clean interfaces. The toolbars consist of the standard functions and operators which you usually find in such software. The power of Sketch is beyond the limitations of your own imagination I would say. The symbols feature allows you to create reusable visual components which come in handy when designing multiple interfaces of a product or an app. Going a bit further, these features allow designers to create design languages and design systems very easily as well. There are hundreds of plugins that could be used to further ease the workflow. Sketch also integrates with other tools like Invision (prototyping) and Abstract (version control) which allows the creation of an ecosystem for the designer.

Cons

Sketch in recent years has got multiple competitors like AdobeXD and Figma which sometimes make Sketch fall behind the race in terms of features and functionality. Learning from the failures of Sketch, the competitor products always try to provide better value for money while optimising the workflows for the designer. Major updates from Sketch at most instances lately have been extremely buggy which sometimes even took weeks for them to release a patch. Sketch is only available on Mac which also limits the cross-platform support, unlike its competition. If you are designing a product that has multiple artboards (50+), Sketch tends to become laggy and resource-consuming even on the latest i7 Mac with 16GB of RAM.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sketch is the ultimate digital design tool

Reviewed on 13/2/2021

I have been using Sketch for many years now. The story is that ever since Photoshop started getting...

I have been using Sketch for many years now. The story is that ever since Photoshop started getting slower and more heavyweight, a tool was needed for fast digital (i.e. not print) design. So Sketch, while a bit simplistic at first, rose to popularity along with industries like UX and modern web & app design.

Sketch's biggest competitor is Figma which has many advantages, but for our team, Sketch remains the sleekest and nicest tool for the job.

Pros

Sketch is easy and lightweight. There are many features and enough complexity, but these are all hidden under its clean interface. And that's its best feature, since it makes design easy and accessible. Plus all of its advanced features, like symbols, libraries, styles etc. make modern digital design fun, since you are mostly concerned with what you design, and not working around the tool and its limitations.

Sketch is one of those rare cases, where less is obviously more.

Cons

The biggest drawback of Sketch is it is Mac-only. And while for many designers that's not a problem, let's not forget that a) it's communities that have made many design tools and b) since design has become more important than ever, it has become more inclusive and collaborative than ever as well. This means that a Windows version of Sketch could really make a difference in its future.

Sketch cloud, while it's getting where it needs to be, development is a bit slow and left behind.

Alternatives Considered

Figma
amiya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A platform for designing Creative Artwork

Reviewed on 7/8/2020

It provides many useful tools for testing, creating and designing vector-based graphics, prototype,...

It provides many useful tools for testing, creating and designing vector-based graphics, prototype, illustrations and many more. It helps in scaling your content automatically and fit it with its various responsive components. It helps in designing live data, animations etc through its integrated tools and various plugins. It allows users to share and export their designs, creative artworks, ideas with other professionals or developers.

Pros

It helps in designing digital artwork. As it is a vector-based editor, it helps you in resizing your art or images in any size and any dimension without affecting pixels and sharpness of your artworks. It is supportable for MacOs and can be used on the Mac operating system. It helps to design prototypes, icons, logos, app icon design, illustrations, vector-based graphics and many more. It helps in designing Ad banners, illustrations, social media images and various presentations.

Cons

If you are working with team members and your team members do not have the same version of the software you may face difficulties. Skilled persons, professionals or experts are required to learn its complex set of features whereas multiple tutorials and videos are provided to learn sketch. It is also difficult to update its plugins. Its collaboration tools also need some improvements.

Karan
Karan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A full-featured but simplified prototyping tool

Reviewed on 13/1/2020

I absolutely love Sketch as prototyping software - the cons are honestly very easy to overlook...

I absolutely love Sketch as prototyping software - the cons are honestly very easy to overlook because of its overall ease of use. At my company, we use Sketch in addition to other design software to meet our needs - Sketch serves as one (very useful) tool in the design process. It certainly isn't a solution for every design need but it meets ours very well - when we need to throw together a UI for either a demo or for an ideation session, Sketch is our go-to.

Pros

Sketch is easy to get up and running with - even without previous prototyping experience (such as with Adobe Illustrator to build components or using Adobe XD for building interactions), a few hours with Sketch is enough to get familiarized with the software.

The inclusion of symbols in Sketch is a huge pro - coming from Illustrator, I was already aware of their application and advantages. That knowledge crossed over easily for Sketch and allowed our team to prototype web and mobile designs quickly and efficiently.

Another huge plus is the community surrounding Sketch - their own documentation and a strong community means it's easy to get answers to questions you may have about tooling.

Cons

In building out vector graphics, I still prefer Illustrator. Sketch is limited in the number of features that it has, and I've found that many people turn to third party plugins to make Sketch work for them. That can lead to headaches (additional documentation to learn, maintenance of that third party plugin, getting help quickly for those plugins, etc).

Another issue is that Sketch doesn't have support for collaboration. They have a beta version of "Sketch Teams" that will likely be moving into production in the near-future. As it stands, the closest we can get to making Sketch work for teams is Symbols, Libraries and Shared-Styles.

Silviu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why Sketch is still my first choice for almost every design task

Reviewed on 30/5/2019

I have been using Sketch for more than 4 years. I find it easy to use, intuitive. It has great...

I have been using Sketch for more than 4 years. I find it easy to use, intuitive. It has great integrations that can automate most of the work.
I am really excited about the product and highly recommend it.

Pros

It is fairly easy to use. It can be used for solving many design challenges such as icon design, wireframing, site mapping, prototyping, design system.
It has been on the market for quite a while. The software is stable and the updates are constantly improving the value.
Its main power comes from 3rd party plugins. It has tons of plugins available that make your life easy and automate some of the work. You can write your own plugin as well.
Sketch has established itself as a market leader. Almost any other design tool out there that specializes in one aspect of product design has a plugin for Sketch integration. It is extremely common to start working in Sketch and then exporting it to a different tool.

Cons

Sketch is desktop based and it was built to work fast. Having people working on a shared project can be a bit tricky. There are some workarounds, a couple of external tools that offer functionalities similar to git (software development concept).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

I've moved on to bigger better things

Reviewed on 25/4/2019

Sketch used to be the leader. It's just not anymore. Use Figma instead.

Sketch used to be the leader. It's just not anymore. Use Figma instead.

Pros

Sketch was such a game changer when it first launched. It destroyed Adobe in the UI/UX space but now there are so many players I don't think it's the best option. Sketch is a great tool for web and mobile design. Unlike Adobe products they simplified everything and just gave you the tools you needed to do your job. But like I said I think there are better options now.

Cons

The problem with sketch is it's still a desktop application that produces individual design files on your local machine. This may seem like a small thing but it's a huge problem when you're working witha team and trying to keep versions of your design files in sync. We now use Figma and it's all web based, version controled, and easily shared and viewd by anyone.

Think of it this way, Sketch is like saving a word doc on your computer that has to be shared with 10 other people for their edits. Figma is like using google docs where all 10 people can be working on the same doc at the same time and see each other's edits. It's a game changer.

So between Figma (my favorite), Adobe XD, Principle, Origami, Invision Studio, and other options, I just don't think Sketch is as good as it once was. (ps... use Figma. It's the best)

Francesco
Francesco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The UX/UI de facto standard

Reviewed on 4/2/2021

I use this daily and i find it perfect for design but it has to rely on many 3d party software...

I use this daily and i find it perfect for design but it has to rely on many 3d party software (such as invision or abstract) to fill in some gaps.

Pros

This software is the standard for interface design from UX to UI.

It helped define the design pattern used in this kind of software so learning it lets you learn of to use any design software.
It has a massive support of 3rd party plug-in

Cons

The prototipation aspect is very limited and so is the online collaboration.
Sketch teams is slowly being developed but the software starts to show his age against newer competitor such as Figma or Adobe xD

Ken
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Almost perfect

Reviewed on 31/10/2019

I use Sketch hours every day, for everything from a quick wireframe or user journey map though app...

I use Sketch hours every day, for everything from a quick wireframe or user journey map though app design spanning hundreds of artboards per document. It does everything I need.

Pros

Sketch is built exclusively for building UI. So extra feature you don't need and almost everything you do. The tools are intuitive and feature the functions you need. Some recent updates that improve symbols and shared libraries make it even better.

Cons

Integration with some plug ins is inconsistent. Craft has many problems. And the divide between design and prototyping, or whether to keep everything in Sketch or sync with Invision is a tough one. What makes Sketch good is it's singular focus on design - adding animations and prototyping could take it down the same road others have and been a disappointment.

Ashish
Ashish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The ultimate tool for UI and UX Designer

Reviewed on 8/9/2018

Awesome tool for designers, Evolving with each release.

Awesome tool for designers, Evolving with each release.

Pros

I loved how it's centered to user interface design. We used to use photoshop to design User Interface, though Photoshop is a very robust tool but the features are not UI Design centric, It is capable of doing a lot of things hence UI is not the focus here for Adobe. I love sketch because it is capable of doing one thing and does smartly. Though they have almost all of the basic features required for interface design, Plugins are icing on the cake. If you don't find anything you want the tool to do, 99% chances are you will find a plugin which does.

Cons

The subscription model and backward non-compatibility. You need to renew the subscription annually in order to receive an upgrade and that's okey or how the company will make money. What I don't like is you can't open Newer version of the file in Older version. If you work in a team and 6 people are working on one file, everyone needs to use the same version of the ​software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best in-class design software for Product designers

Reviewed on 28/11/2018

Pros

It is amazingly easy to get started with Sketch. There is very little learning curve to get started. It is designed for product designers and you can produce your UX/UI work a lot more quickly than using other software, say Illustrator. The keyboard shortcuts are intuitive and easy to remember, ie R for Rectangcle , L for Line.

There are also a lot of 3rd party plugins and integration you can use to do pretty much everything. You can check your color contrast, you can build flow diagrams, you name it.

What I like the most of Sketch is it's keeping up to date with the modern product design process. The new Sketch 52 redesign is fantastic, offering killer features like shared styles in symbols. This immediately became the way we build design system.

Cons

The only complaint I have with Sketch is the vector tool. It's kinda cumbersome to use compare to Adobe Illustrator. It is hard to do detailed icon or illustration work in Sketch.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I can't recommend Sketch enough

Reviewed on 6/10/2018

Sketch reduced the time it takes our designers to sketch a UI from days to hours, this in turn...

Sketch reduced the time it takes our designers to sketch a UI from days to hours, this in turn encouraging them to experiment more and come up with more creative visual solutions.

Pros

I run a startup studio, and that means we build and iterate on software products A LOT. We used to design them in Illustrator, but since we discovered Sketch, the time it takes us to sketch or design a user interface dropped significantly!

Sketch makes it insanely easy for designers to quickly sketch out a UI in minutes rather than days. This means they are a lot more inclined to experiment, resulting in better implementations.

When we settle on a design, Sketch is powerful enough to allow designers to build the full user interface without switching to a different software. It also integrates well with tools like Marvel to create interactive mockups and Zeplin to export the UI for developers to easily integrate the designs.

Cons

I can't think of anything - it's THAT good!

Lee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great design software for solo designer

Reviewed on 16/4/2020

When I'm working on a project by myself, Sketch is the best option in many cases. I can quickly...

When I'm working on a project by myself, Sketch is the best option in many cases. I can quickly create new designs, and I can trust the software to behave the way I expect. Where I have problems is if someone else needs to edit the same file or contribute in some way. It's cumbersome to do so.

Pros

There's not a huge learning curve to the software, and once you learn it, you can create designs very quickly.

Cons

The collaboration tools (for larger teams) are a bit cumbersome compared to some of Sketch's competitors.

Alternatives Considered

Figma
Maciej
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Industry Standard

Reviewed on 18/10/2018

Pros

I come from an era, where UI designers used Photoshop, a tool for digital photography, to design interfaces. There was simply nothing better at that time. Then, Sketch was released and it changed everything. It was a vector-based tool focused on UI design. It was something designers really needed! Sketch came a long way and became an industry standard. After a few years it's still a solid software that you can rely on with features you need. Sketch developers listen to the community and release updates often. The pricing is also reasonable. If you're a UX or UI designer, this is the tool you want to use.

Cons

Sketch now has a lot of competitors and needs to catch up in some areas:

– Prototyping capabilities are very basic‚ it's simply not capable to replace inVision many designers rely on
– There are no good layout tools (like Stacks in Framer X)

Steve
Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

It's competent, but I'm not sure what all the hype is about

Reviewed on 9/4/2019

Using Sketch is almost second nature, especially for designers who have used Adobe Illustrator,...

Using Sketch is almost second nature, especially for designers who have used Adobe Illustrator, Axure, or Adobe XD. It handles libraries very well, and has a decent import function for EPS and Illustrator assets. But, it doesn't play very well with Adobe's tools. Given that XD can now import Sketch files, the advantage is slowly shifting back to Adobe as the Creative Cloud is platform agnostic and can read Sketch content and share it across users of all platforms. Sketch gets bonus points for making Adobe embrace plug-ins, however.

Pros

After all of the needed plug-ins are installed, the software is decent at creating interactive prototypes and illustrations for designing software. It is incredibly simple to install, as are all Mac products, and offers modest import functionality for other non-native file formats.

Cons

Sketch is still very reliant upon third-party plug-ins to handle (what should be native) tasks well. The fact that Sketch is Mac only makes it very limited in usage in corporations with mixed Mac/PC environments. Since macOS cannot be virtualized on a PC, and there is no PC version, more adoption of Sketch requires capital expenditure requests for Macs. Compared to almost any other tool in this space, which is either web based or multiplatform, I don't understand why Sketch is so trendy.

Maria
Maria
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Favorite Design Tool - Ever

Reviewed on 10/4/2018

I use Sketch primarily for work/business. It has sped up my design process tremendously. Performance...

I use Sketch primarily for work/business. It has sped up my design process tremendously. Performance is great and it syncs with a lot of other programs that I use in addition to sketch.

Pros

Sketch works seamlessly, no matter what. I think performance is one of the best aspects about Sketch. Unlike other design tools I've used in the past, Sketch performs well even when I've got multiple software running or I'm designing a lot of screens. Additionally, the UI for sketch makes the learning curve quite minimal. It references a lot of software I've used in the past but it places all tools available up front, vs hiding it on menus.

Cons

Windows version. It would allow me to work on both PC and Mac's. I don't always have my Macbook available, however Sketch is currently not available for PC's. PC integration would be great and allow me to work from multiple devices.