SAS Data Management

4.6 (16)
Data management platform for executing ETL and ELT workflows

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(16)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Support
4.7/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

16 Reviews

Md Anisur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data management solution

Reviewed on 25/7/2021

Overall, I personally prefer and recommend SAS data management software despite its higher price due to its comfortable working interface.

Pros

SAS data management is a crucial software for my institute. Especially, this helps to manage big data set.

Cons

Though, SAS offering great features, however it is way more pricey than other similar software programs.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SAS Review

Reviewed on 13/5/2021

I was fortunately able to learn the basics as part of my schooling in public health. I now use it everyday to analyze epidemiology data. I run a lot of proc tabulate functions and linelist.

Pros

1)The higher level functions such as SQL and Macro code or graphics that can be used to run more complex epidemiologic analysis.
2) That the language does have a structure so that once you learn the basics you begin to practice and interpret more complex coses
3) That you can actually set up codes to run overnight
4)That there are furum online actually do a pretty job of answering most code errors questions if you google them
5)That program does have a way of recovering unsaved code from yor c drive
6)The sas support is fanstatic and was able to help me with even very obscure and difficult code questions.

Cons

1) That the graphics / tables from sas output are not as presentation ready or easy to format as the output from programs like STATA or Excel.
2) That while its great you can use basic building blocks to understand more an more complex sas code it is still fairly challanging to get the hang of at first and maybe not as intuitive as other programs. SAS is also aptly named in that it will give you attitude for minor spelling or punctuation errors in the code.
3) SAS as a program and sas training are fairly expensive and there is a legitimate cost deterent for many schools / businesses to be able to purchase it and to be able to train their students/staff in using it.

Neeraj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

SAS Review

Reviewed on 30/4/2021

Pros

easy to use, functional
very useful in statistics and data science

Cons

some coding takes a while
older product compared to SPSS, etc.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A tool for compiling and analyzing multiple numerical variables in organizations

Reviewed on 7/8/2018

For the organization has facilitated the handling of a large volume of statistical information that allows generating reliable information that allows decision making more efficiently.

Pros

Several interesting elements that stand out in this tool, the first is the use of JMP elements to take advantage of the graphic interface that makes non-technical users more friendly, on the other hand the use of DATA allows the recovery and manipulation of large amounts of data related to time series and econometric analysis that impact on the profitability of the company. It also highlights that SAS allows to generate reports or reports of data efficiently in programs such as HTML, PDF, Excel and other formats.

Cons

The difficulties of SAS are found in the PROC steps, which analyze the data since each step consists of a series of complicated statements that provide instructions to read a data set or modify the form of the data that at the time of compilation and execution they can alter the results if the sequence or executable instructions programmed by the user of the program is clear, for this a level of programming and intermediate mathematical knowledge is needed, preventing anyone from using the program.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Statistical analysis just got easier!!!!

Reviewed on 28/1/2022

SAS gets me accurate results in my research with visually stunning graphs and images of the data as output. But, the learning path was a difficult one for me as I was just migrated from another platform and other languages.

Pros

SAS provides all the latest analytical packages out there with the most accurate output and most accurate details of the analysis. Fast and easily modifiable data manipulator and extractor and Handels biggest data set than any other statistical package.

Cons

Language in SAS is much more difficult than any other platform. Needs to be mastered before getting the most out of it. So, newcomers won't be able to use it straight away.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Big data? Here you go!

Reviewed on 21/5/2020

We automated our daily data work with this tool, there is no need to dig in the same things over and over again. It's perfect, time saving and easy.

Pros

This is a must have tool for companies that deal with big data in their everyday work, it's easy to use and get insights even if you are not a data scientist :)
It has a very user friendly interface and you can skip the coding part if you are not comfortable with that.

Cons

The visualization options are not so good. There are no other disadvantages noticed that I don't like.

Thiago
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A powerful tool for big data management

Reviewed on 23/5/2019

SAS DM is one of today's most powerful tools for big data management and analysis. We use the company as an analytical tool assisting the BI department, and for visualization of extracted data, in an extremely detailed and analytical way.

Pros

The ease of implementation and integration with different databases.

Cons

Local support is still poor, and troubleshooting research is needed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] review

Reviewed on 4/12/2019

I like sas overall and it has really helped in my job.

Pros

I use the sas EG package and it works really well with large amounts of data. The coding language is easy to pick up.

Cons

The log files are sometimes hard to debug so having better logs would help the user debug their specific code.

Ara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Software for Statistical Analysis and Data Management

Reviewed on 31/7/2019

It is great and allows me to thrive at work when working with large datasets and complex manipulations.

Pros

Once you learn the syntax there is nothing SAS can't do. Handle any dataset, small or large, with ease.

Cons

Can crash on rare occasion, but what software doesn't.

ADNAN
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

a decent analytical software

Reviewed on 16/5/2020

I think this software worth giving a try, especially for students doing their thesis or their 1st research project. YouTube has tons of useful explanatory videos for SAS!

Pros

- It provides a free trail for all new users (but with limited features).
- It has wide variety of subscriptions and software options (based on your needs).
- It is widely used and acceptable in universities for research purposes.

Cons

- The free trial has limited features (you can't use and try all the features to get an idea whether it suits you or not!).

Noah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Tobacco
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Data Management and Analysis Platform

Reviewed on 6/3/2020

Overwhelmingly positive. SAS has improved my ability to analyze what are often messy data sets from disparate experiments in an agricultural/plant health epidemiology setting.

Pros

Incredibly powerful, robust and flexible. User has incredible ability to program and direct their data analysis. Capable of hundreds of permutations on conventional and experimental analytics.

Cons

Not a dislike per se, but a very steep learning curve for anyone without familiarity with object based programming. Some features such as graphic packs are an additional cost for some users.

Vasant
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great software for data management and analysis of you can afford it

Reviewed on 9/4/2022

Very good. No complaints so far.

Pros

Can access data from multiple sources, can be used for data quality checks and perform statistical analysis while handling large and complex data sets.

Cons

More expensive as compared to other software if the needs are limited. If needs are higher and you can afford it then it is definitely worth it.

hong
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

worth the purchase

Reviewed on 30/4/2020

Pros

sas is very useful when it comes to business data management and forecasting. although its a paid software vs the R that is free, sas offers alot of statistical package

Cons

for the price, it can and should offer more cutting edge resources ver R, Phyton, etc. I would love for it to have builtin code correction and prediction

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The program is really useful, but some tools should be clear to don't use support.

Reviewed on 8/9/2019

SAS Data Management is the future to compare data and find errors. It's awesome.

Pros

I really enjoy the program cause it attends everything that I need on my project and helps me on my analisys.

Cons

I think there are some tools that should be clear to have some specific information and don't call support everytime.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Great Tool for Making Reports

Reviewed on 19/9/2018

Pros

SAS is an amazing software that make statistical analysis. It is very accurate and gives you a lot of detailed data.

Cons

You would have to know how to code on SAS in order to use it, and this might take a while.

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SAS for Data Management

Reviewed on 27/2/2020

Pros

It does pretty much everything that is needed for dataset creation for easy SAS analyses.

Cons

A little clunky until you figure it out.