WipeDrive

4.7 (46)
Computer security software for securely erasing data

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(46)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.8/5

96%
recommended this app

46 Software options

Mac M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The good and bad of WipeDrive

Reviewed on 24/7/2019

We are a recycling business so I use this a lot to wipe SSD's that are donated to us. It is quick and I have never had a problem with data showing up when I have tested them.

Pros

I like the ease of use to start the wiping process. It did take some time to set it up as easy as it is, but the support staff at your company help walk us though it.

Cons

There is no restart button. When I load the computer and start it up there have been times when I have an unacceptable amount of "good" hard drives that have been loaded. I want to reload without running. The only way to get the computer to read the ssd, that I know of, is to restart and there is no restart button. At this point of the process, I have to run the software, to get to a restart button, or force the computer to shut down.

Response from WhiteCanyon Software

Hi Mac,

Thank you for your Comment! We will work with our DevTeam on what would be required for a Refresh Button and have this added to the Development Timeline. I'll let you know when it's added!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Time Saver!

Reviewed on 5/2/2019

I work in Infrastructure and formerly managed Deskside support. I wish all the applications we use and support met the same standards as this one.

Pros

We love the fact that it generates a detailed report for our records. As a Government contractor we must maintain records that every drive has been wiped. Prior to purchasing WipeDrive we had to create those manually. Another feature that saves us time (think equates to money) is we can wipe multiple drives simultaneously making the task much more efficient than our previous method. On the rare occasion when we needed to contact technical support, usually to obtain our custom image when there was an upgrade, they responded quickly with a solution to our concern.

Cons

We really haven't experienced any negatives for our application of the product. We've been using it for several years and have been presented with alternatives but they didn't measure up.

David P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Security

Reviewed on 4/2/2019

It has been a great relationship and the customer service/tech support have kept us as a customer.

Pros

Our company has used WipeDrive for several years. We like being able to configure the software on a server so that multiple drives can be wiped and verified simultaneously. The reporting records make for great documentation for customers.

Cons

We have ran into a few circumstances where certain drives would all fail. It wasn't that they were necessarily bad but just were not being recognized properly. We have worked very closely with the tech support department and have received incredibly good response and solutions.

Saurabh D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Features

Reviewed on 25/7/2019

Overall I would say it's good

Pros

First of all, It's easy to use so not required in-depth training when you ask someone to use.
Second, you can have proof of data wipe which is very helpful during the audit or security inspection
Third, it can be used in both the ways w/o internet /network or / network

Cons

The thing which i didn't like, I was doing data wiping and suddenly laptop has got powered off. Then hard disk is locked by software. I tried to unlock thru various way by reading your KB,customer support but nothing worked. I couldn't get the proof of data wipe. there must be some mechanism to unlock.
Second, You must supply setup other than pendrive if you want global presence. I would need to pay $250 as a shipping charge and I waited till 2 months to get the pendrive delivered in India

Blake E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great customer service!

Reviewed on 23/3/2020

We have been a user for the past 4 years or more and rarely have issues.

Pros

The software is easy to use and if there is ever a problem they handle it quickly and efficiently.

Cons

The only drawback is that we have to wait on an admin user to add licenses. but this is not a wipedrive issue.

Matt I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simple Effective System Wiping

Reviewed on 7/9/2020

Pros

The system just works - boot off PXE, finds server with minimal fuss. Simple for all the team to use.

Cons

Offline mode can be a little more complicated/convoluted due to the necessity of entering keys to utilise licenses from the license pool

Jamie D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Customer Support

Reviewed on 17/3/2020

Great overall experience.

Pros

The software is easy to use. We needed help setting it up and the support team was very patient, helpful and proactive about following up with issues. Thank you for your help and personal attention!

Cons

It's very good software, I'd like to learn what other products can be wiped with it.

Raj G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing Product , Ease of Use, Great Support

Reviewed on 26/1/2019

we have been wiping HDD , iOS devices. The speed which we get with the wiping box has enhanced the productivity and the portability helps us to get it to customer site as well.

Overall very happy

Pros

Industry Best Certifications and wiping speed it gives us has helped us enhance the overall productivity and the reporting gives us all what we need for our compliance.

Cons

24 X 7 Support in this part of the world , the wifi enabled wiping for Laptops and Hand Held devices would be great to have.

Jason W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

WipeDrive Software

Reviewed on 31/7/2019

Great. A solid sound-proof product that does a great job.

Pros

I like that I can change the level of certifying drives for DOD and have the ability to change it when needed.

Cons

It is a little difficult to run from a VM, but eventually got it to work.

Josh D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good value, but lacking compatibility

Reviewed on 12/3/2020

Pros

For Windows PCs, integration and basic use is very simple and I like how much you can customize the erasure type and output logs. Visuals are easy to read and give a decently accurate ETA.

Cons

The software has numerous bugs. I have had several large erasure jobs fail on me, causing me to consume more licenses and waste time setting the job up again. Progress indication will often pause for hours at a time, giving the impression that the software has frozen. Also, this software does not work on mobile or ARM devices, leaving me to seek out alternative solutions.

Kevin O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use and works very well.

Reviewed on 1/2/2019

Pros

Our company has been using Wipe Drive for about 3 years now as part of our IT retirement process. We have been very satisfied with the job Wipe Drive has done for us and our clients. It's easy to use menu makes wiping a hard drive a snap. We would recommend Wipe Drive to any IT department or IT company needing a safe and easy solution to wipe data from hard drives.

Cons

The licenses only last a year. So, if you have any unused licenses left over when your year is up you lose them.

Stephen B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It is a good product

Reviewed on 6/7/2020

It's not perfect but it gets the job done.

Pros

Ease of use, It's not perfect but it gets the job done.

Cons

Expensive and robust for a simple drive wiping program.

Response from WhiteCanyon Software

Thanks for the review!

Jeffery E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Aviation Cybersecurity

Reviewed on 20/3/2020

A top line product. Competition has a way to catch up.

Pros

Ease of use is great but interaction with support was great.

Cons

Its inability to be used with other products, i.e. encryption products.
There isn't a complete/all product version, i.e. WipeDrive, VeriDrive, Mobile, and SystemSaver in one package.

Lauraine M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WIPEDRIVE OVERVIEW

Reviewed on 1/8/2019

Wipedrive is assisting with drive formatting of sensitive data which makes it possible for these machines to be re-used or redeployed to institutions such as NGO's, schools etc for use in their facilities.

Pros

The ability to format the hard drive of a machine remotely from a central location.

Cons

Licence recovery from the blue dongle usb device should the device be mislaid. At present licence recovery is not possible in this scenario.

Maciej S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Serves it's purpose very well

Reviewed on 8/8/2019

Useful tool when traceability is required.

Pros

The most useful feature is the ability to boot from USB and ability to run without internet connection.

Cons

Software serves its purpose well, can't think of any cons.

Michael R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Needed a dependable solution in a bind

Reviewed on 25/1/2019

Quick and fast. I reached out received quick responses, purchased it and used it.

Pros

Easy to use, works fast, provides a great output for documentation/reference.

Cons

No big cons that I can think of. Only recommendation is a more accurate time stamp of expected completion time.

Patrick C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wipe Drive Pro - The Industry Standard

Reviewed on 12/3/2020

Technical support and post sales support has been outstanding at every stage. Many indicate they offer superior technical and post sales support but few if any offer *Service After The Sale*. Having used, managed, and been the decision maker to select software to securely erase tens of thousands of hard drives. White Canyon and their Wipe Drive Pro software has been the most consistent and feature rich in its use and deployment.

Pros

Ease of use, custom ability, 100% secure wiping of target drives. Overall great value for the money given the ongoing updates to the base system. The application is small in size so can be imaged to very small USB sticks so is easy to deploy to multi site / multi personal when required.

Cons

I do not believe a six month licensing term is very practical or required. As having to endure another sales cycle, procurement, and final validation of the same is extremely time consuming for the client. The standard 12 month term should be the norm and used going forward. Shorter licensing periods causes nothing but frustration to everyone involved in the process.

Micah C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Security

Reviewed on 24/3/2020

Our organization provides refurbished and used products to veterans and their families in need through donations by companies and individuals. When receiving these assets, data security is a top priority for each client. Finding a solution that has the reputation to be a known brand, provides excellent customer service, is effective, and flexible to meet our needs were all boxes that could be checked with WipeDrive.

Pros

Our organization required an erasure solution that could operate at scale over a PXE deployment. WipeDrive was an excellent solution that has met and exceeded the scale required.

Cons

We have spent hours upon hours troubleshooting bugs and issues. If it wasn't for the excellent customer service we've received, we quickly would have started considering another solution. Many of the bugs have been fixed, and the troubleshooting steps are always informative, patient, and helpful - even when a solution isn't created the same day.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 25/1/2019

Pros

The ease of use and the support team is amazing. This product can run on anything and wipe any device with a hard drive. It is also very robust on the options and outputs available via the bootable image.

Cons

the dongle can be frustrating, but now that there is a could enabled option that help alleviate this issue.

Vineet R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great wiping software

Reviewed on 24/7/2019

Ease of use and Peace of mind when it comes to data security

Pros

flexibility to customise with out organisation.

Cons

Lack of local support, have to rely on support from US which at times can delay by a day.

Adam S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, comes with all the compliance and certificates

Reviewed on 14/8/2019

Helps me be compliant, works for all major federal government contractors.

Pros

Easy to use
ROI
Compliance and certifications

Cons

Brand name, invest in marketing so that people know more about the company and product. You are one of the top search results when I look for data wiping tool, that is great. But I'd rather you be proactive and look for people in the industry who might use the tool but are not actively looking for it.

Corey K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple to use

Reviewed on 4/2/2019

Pros

WipeDrive did what we needed, with ease, every time without creating inefficiency with bloated functionality.

Cons

It took a small amount of additional preparation to get WipeDrive to save reports to a network drive... it was minimal.

Cindty M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Secure Clean

Reviewed on 24/7/2019

We have stand alone computers and the software cleans the cache and other unnecessary files computers. Makes them run faster.

Pros

Very user friendly. Easy to install and configure. Great support team and customer service.

Cons

I have no issues, I have no cons about the software

Kevin K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Regular User for Years

Reviewed on 25/1/2019

We have been wiping desktop and notebooks with WipeDrive for a number of years and have seen no reason to ever change.

Pros

Ease of use and support from White Canyon. We were notified immediately once the UEFI-PXE bootable version for WipeDrive 8 was available.
Crystal is fantastic!

Cons

So far, WipeDrive mobile only available for iOS devices. Looking forward to Android.
As well, perhaps a larger discount for purchase licenses in quantity. :)

Panagiotis T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I was very grateful that had a reliable individuals to cooperate with.

Reviewed on 14/8/2019

Pros

Whilst we had our cooperation on the GBT account, in the very beginning had so many questions and always had the answers that I needed.

Cons

As you could understand every transition goes thorough difficult moments, although the team is working for the software make me feel a bit more comfortable.