PDF Studio

4.5 (44)
PDF software for document creation, editing, and review

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(44)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

44 Reviews

Nikolaos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best pdf editors for Linux

Reviewed on 9/7/2021

In my company we need to use the same tools over different operating systems for security purposes and also for a universal approach to the solutions we provide. However, we have user machines running in windows and remote servers running Linux. As far as I know this is the best PDF solutions that runs smoothly across different OS platforms.

Pros

PDF Studio enables editing in Mac and most importantly Linux OS. It is much cheaper that Adobe Acrobat and has quality signing options. It has optical character recognition features even for non OCR documents.

Cons

I have never encountered any serious problems with PDF Studio and never wanted to do something that this editor couldn't do. In my opinion, what could be done differently is reduce the RAM and CPU consumption of this software.

Ray
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PDF Studio 2019- solid choice for Linux users, researchers, who want a cross-platform solution.

Reviewed on 7/8/2020

PDF Studio is reliable tool for annotating PDFs. It is fast, easy to use, has a good UI that allows users to switch between the tradition menu bar and a ribbon bar. I use it daily for reducing the size of PDFs and converting them to png image formats for distribution.

Pros

It is truly cross-platform- I used it on my Linux, Windows, and Apple systems without any problem. Its one of the few PDF editors for Linux.

It's easy to use- the menu is well designed and its much easier to find the tools I need than Adobe Acrobat with its convoluted odd menu system.

It has reliable OCR built into the software and good tools for optimizing PDFs (reducing size) and for saving as image files (jpeg, png, tiff, etc).

Cons

It cannot open dynamic XFA forms, but considering that most non-Adobe PDF editors can't read them, its not unusual. Dynamic XFA forms are uncommon PDF forms render drawing and layout information. Even Adobe products don't properly support them. Unfortunately, our office used these forms regularly.

Alternatives Considered

Foxit PDF Reader

Reasons for Switching to PDF Studio

PDF Studio was the first to offer a native Linux version. The developer, Qoppa Software responds very quickly to all requests, bug reports, and suggestions. Support is outstanding.
Anil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complete PDF editing suite

Reviewed on 16/7/2022

PDF Studio has a user-friendly design and is the finest alternative to Adobe Acrobat. It is quick, simple to use, and has a nice user interface.

Pros

It is the best PDF editor and converter available with a low-cost perpetual license. It have optical character recognition capabilities. The best thing is that it is cross-platform and works flawlessly on Linux, Windows, and Macbooks.

Cons

I've never had any big issues using PDF Studio. However, the OCR tool did not always recognize the text.

Vadim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Many useful features, but outdated interface, bulky and slow app, not worth it

Reviewed on 5/8/2022

They didn't upgrade my licence regardless these problems.
Will use it for appending pages, but that's the only thing I might need it. Otherwise built-in MacOS Preview and Foxit does all the rest even better!

Pros

Many useful features, price (one time payment and relatively low)

Cons

Outdated design.
Not very user friendly implementation.
Renders every page of a multipage documents one by one - for up to 1-2 seconds each!! And even after rendering, doesn't load into RAM properly, so when you going back to it, it rerenders! Absolutely impossible to work like that. Switched to a free and better tool (Foxit). It happens to a 100 pages document (around 200 mb) on a Intel 9 Windows 10 machine, as well as on M1 Macbook Pro...
No feature for table of contents that would be recognised in other readers.

Helia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for text recognition

Reviewed on 18/5/2022

A good and cheaper alternative to Adobe Acrobat. PDF Studio has great quality!

Pros

What I liked more about PDF Studio is the text recognition feature and possibility of digitally sign PDF. At my company we could extract data from thousand of PDF files so it help us to build a solid information data bank.

Cons

I would recommend the developers to build a better help guide and increase the algorithm speed because it should be greater if OCR could run faster.

Alternatives Considered

DocFly, Soda PDF and Smallpdf
Luca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Super complete, fast and powerful PDF editor

Reviewed on 10/5/2021

Pros

Easy to edit a pdf, do everything I did with Acrobat Pro without a problem
Very fast and include a lot a functionality, maybe more than Adobe

Cons

Integration with onedrive not fully working on my ubuntu

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Good Alternative To More Expensive PDF Softwares

Reviewed on 31/3/2022

Pros

We use this as an alternative to more expensive softwares that require a subscription. Besides a few polish issues, it meets everyone of our needs with pdf documents.

Cons

The UI is outdated and it's hard to convince people who have used other softwares to use this one instead, but that's not the fault of the product.

Cristian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Tool with Great Features

Reviewed on 5/7/2022

Pros

It is more affordable, the tools are easy to find and easy to use, easy to convert to different formats.

Cons

You can't move the text that you are writing in the text. PDFFiller, for example, you can move the text box and by just clicking on top of the text box at anytime, the box becomes available and ready to edit the text. Here, once I finish writing, I can't change the text or move the text around or edit the text. I have to go back and start all over again. It's the only thing that I saw that I didn't like.

Yosimar
Overall rating
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Pay for the full version, you wont get a watermark and its worth it

Reviewed on 25/7/2018

Other than the watermark it leaves on the free version and the lack of customization, this is an excellent PDF software, and I can totally recommend it.

Pros

This is a great alternative for someone who needs a good PDF reader, that is fast, allows for pdf editing and most of all that has an electronic signing feature, which is the one I mostly use when sending notes to my patients. It is worth to note that it is extremely easy to use.

Cons

I would really love if this software allowed for more customization of its workspace since its graphic interface its not the best i've seen, also the watermark you get when using the free version is kind of a downer.

Stephen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great value, functionality and capability. Good alternative to Acrobat

Reviewed on 31/7/2022

Very simply, it does the job at much lower cost than Acrobat and on MacOS Monterey there needs to be the alternative

Pros

Ease of use, functionality, capability and cost

Cons

Nothing really. The interface could be a bit 'swisher' but aesthetics are not a great issue is a good product

Response from Qoppa Software

Thank you for your review! We are happy that our product meets your needs at an affordable cost. We will take note of your comment about its interface as we continue to make updates to this product.

Kwok
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An almost completely paperless office!

Reviewed on 9/1/2018

Combining image files, spreadsheets, Word docs in to one clean PDF file. Big savings on paper, printer ink and the whole hassle of shredding!

Pros

Qoppa PDF Studio 12 Pro has helped us become virtually paperless. We're able to combine a range of documents from image files to word docs into one single PDF file. No more printing and scanning of client documents. Giving us big savings on paper and ink (and all the time, cost and mess of shredding!). Simple to use. Great customer support. No need to take confidential documents around with you to carry on working on them.

Cons

Due to different sized documents being combined some pages appear smaller than others. This can be adjusted by enlarging the page but would be great if all pages appeared the same size - which they do if the PDF file is printed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best PDF Software Available!

Reviewed on 20/3/2019

Have used it for more than a year along side Adobe and other software and find our business transitioning to PDF Studio for nearly all our work because of it's simplicity, immediate and capable customer support, and support of all major OS'es, including Linux.

Pros

1. Full OS Compatibility (Linux/Mac/Win- Unlike Adobe).
2. Ease of use (gentle learning curve).
3. Customer Support (Immediate capable help).
4. Features for quick and efficient business use (supports Java, quick image signatures etc).
5. Much better than Adobe and other main-stream alternatives.
6. Each software license allowed for use on 2 computers.
7. Software license can be transferred (in the event of computer sales, etc).
8. Regularly updated.

Cons

1. Takes an email to remove old computers from software license (they may be changing this so the user can change the computer(s) the license key is associated with -in the event of sale, etc.).
2. Nothing else comes to mind...

Surya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best PDF Editor & Converter with perpetual license

Reviewed on 8/4/2021

My overall experience is pleasant, and it is one of the best alternative if you are finding a perpetual license based pdf editor.

Pros

The best thing about Qoppa PDF studio is that it comes with one time purchase/perpetual license and it provides all the features which are expected of a pdf editor.

Cons

There is no PDF to PPT (Power point Presentation) conversion option, they must improve the GUI, and auto update is of very slow download speed.

Alternatives Considered

PDFelement

Reasons for Choosing PDF Studio

Because these softwares are subscription based, and subscription is very costly.

Reasons for Switching to PDF Studio

Because of the low cost.
ALEX
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Strong Acrobat alternative

Reviewed on 7/1/2017

I was looking for a decent alternative to Acrobat, as it was the last thing my dad needed to make the switch to Linux. Tired of paying per month for proprietary software I wouldn't actually own, I went on a quest to find multi-platform PDF editing software.
Unfortunately, it isn't FOSS, however, the license is owned in perpetuity and you are helping out lesser known devs who've made a great product.
Pros * All of the features needed for the average acrobat user. * Edit, merge comment, measure, tools suitable for both basic users and more advanced Acrobat veterans. * Speed. Even in a VM using a paltry 1 GB of ram, I was able to merge multiple documents and watermark effortlessly. I generated a study guide from handwritten notes in seconds. * Create from the scanner is incredibly useful. * Multiplatform compatibility
Cons * Java UI. The user interface is a bit ugly and doesn't really fit in with GTK or QT, but it does get the job done. It does feel like a bit of a relic. * Not Free and Open Source software, still requires licensing.
Out of all the PDF tools I've tried, this is the best one to come to par with Acrobat.
The evaluation version is fully featured, only adds a watermark and has no time limit. Highly recommend checking out if you're looking to leave Adobe. https://www.qoppa.com/pdfstudio/

Miguel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Probably the best PDF tool for linux

Reviewed on 19/5/2018

I truly recommend this software to any linux user who need a good PDF software but for reading or edit them, it works solid when PDF converting and it is really god for e signing them.

Pros

It is probably the best PDF program in linux, we use it to edit our pdfs and electronic signing them and both functions are extremely easy to use, they are just one click away. Also it's document conversion is pretty solid and for linux you probably wont find another software that converts pdf as good as this one.

Cons

The free version will add a watermark, which is kind of annoying but I guess necessary for them. Also it would be better if they allowed for more customizing option to it's interface

Dragos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

This seems to me to be the only real alternative to Adobe Acrobat on Linux

Reviewed on 26/2/2018

Easily signing digitally PDFs with my hardware token.

Pros

I mainly need a PDF program in order to digitally sign (with a smartcard / digital token) different documents and, as Adobe killed its Linux offering, PDF Studio shaped up as the only alternative.
It can use PKCS#12 certificates as well as PKCS#11 smart cards/tokens, which no other Linux program can manage (at least at this level of convenience and streamlining). It is the only Linux program that I found that creates a Sign here field in the PDF document which can then be used to digitally sign with a single click.
It also works well to validate the signatures and has a great level of detail regarding it (certificates, trust chain etc.).

Cons

The only criticism I have is the interface - I use it on Gnome 3 and the Java look does not mesh well with the other apps and the fonts are not that good-looking, but it's not too bad either (compared to other Java apps).

Kenny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PDF Studio Professional excellent replacement for Adobe Acrobat

Reviewed on 20/3/2019

Just take my word and try it before you buy it. You can download and install it onto your computer and try it out for free. I

Pros

I am an avid Windows & Mac man. Now I have switched to Linux Mint and Adobe is not supported on Linus Mint. This caused me to shop around and find the best PDF editor. Well PDF Pro is an excellent product. What I found is how easy it is to use and run this program. It is cross platform and the give you two computer with one license key. This product costs a fraction of what Adobe charges.

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about this software.

sara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent PDF For my work

Reviewed on 5/8/2021

He helped me with the tasks i work on and it was always the right choice for me because of his easy and speed.

Pros

1. Windows has full OS compatibility.
2. The ease with which it can be used.
3.Updated on a regular basis.

Cons

i dont have anything to dislike in the software until now.

dhruv
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best PDF software in the market!!

Reviewed on 9/3/2017

I am running Pdf Studio on 2 computers for about 1-2 years and have found it to be the best and complete pdf software i have ever used.

Pros

All the features that should be present in a professional pdf software application are there.
The customer support is top notch just like the software.

Cons

nothing.

Luis Enrique
Overall rating
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best PDF option for linux users

Reviewed on 25/7/2018

PDF studio is a must have for any linux user, it works great, is really stable and fast and allows for going almost completely paperless, just pay for the full version so you don't have any issue with watermarks.

Pros

This is the PDF software for any linux users, since it is the only one that fully works in said OS. It has several tools that allow for you to organize better your documents, such as the combine feature, which allows for combining several documents or parts of them into just one pdf.

Cons

The free version has no time limit but you shouldn't get too comfortable with it because it leaves a big watermark on your document if you try to edit it.

Stephen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Upgrade to PRO is more expensive than just the difference! That is a RIP OFF!!

Reviewed on 20/2/2018

It works on Linux - no other package comes close on Linux and Adobe no longer support Linux.

Pros

What I liked most was I can install it on Linux and given Adobe no longer support Linux PDF Studio is the ONLY app there is to handle PDF's!

Cons

I wanted to upgrade to the PRO version and discovered an upgrade was more expensive that just the difference between standard and pro. I questioned this with Qoppa and was told this was a deliberate decision on their part. This is imho a stupid strategy because I became wholly turned off the company even though I liked the product. It made me, as a customer, feel I was not valued! This bad customer relations. No one else does this! I was willing to pay for an upgrade!
I have since dual booted my laptop and have a windows partition and I am using Adobe now.

Jamie
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intuitive and comfortable

Reviewed on 17/2/2018

Linux compatibility, not Adobe. Nothing against Adobe, but I don't need to spend that much money and go through the licensing nightmare for just a few occasional edits.

Pros

Smooth transition from Acrobat, same functionality. Installation on Linux was trouble-free, was running OCR on a document within about 30 seconds.

Cons

Have not found any negatives so far. Honestly, the only negative that I can see is that it is not free. Libre Office is open source and is every bit as powerful as MS Office

Oriana Veruska
Overall rating
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Would love if they could make its user interface more streamlined

Reviewed on 25/7/2018

This software is just great, I would just love if they could rework its user interface to make it more aesthetically pleasing, I know it is almost the only option for linux users but they could go an extra mile with it.

Pros

PDF studio is really great, if you are working on linux or in mac is one of the most stable pdf reader and editor out there. It allows you to edit, merge and split or even sign your documents, it is a must have especially if you are working in said os

Cons

I really don't like its user interface, it is not aesthetically pleasing and it is kind of confusing, I think it could be improved a lot to make it more streamlined.

Tripta
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Adobe and Nitro PDF alternative

Reviewed on 21/2/2021

One of the best alternatives to the expensive Adobe.

Pros

1. Lightweight.
2.Ribbon GUI for quicker operations.
3. One of the best and cheaper alternatives to Adobe Acrobat with all the features that a person can expect from a PDF suite.

Cons

I did not find anything to dislike in the software. From PDF studio 2018, the Ribbon menu was introduced which makes it easier for users to navigate and perform functions quicker.

anthony
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The essential Mac PDF all-in-one tool

Reviewed on 12/6/2018

Pros

Great pdf editor/viewer/management tool. I prefer this software over Adobe which tends to be slow and cumbersome. PDF Studio splits pdfs by blank pages which is a rare tool to find in PDF editing software (especially on a Mac!).

Cons

Interface could use a bit of updating- otherwise I'm a happy customer. not much to complain about. great product overall