Procreate

4.8 (96)
Graphic designing software for digital illustrations

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(96)
Value for Money
4.8/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

96 Reviews

Damla
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Provides the most satisfying experience overall

Reviewed on 12/6/2022

very satisfying. Most drawing apps seem like complex mathematical equations after using this app.

very satisfying. Most drawing apps seem like complex mathematical equations after using this app.

Pros

Ease of use, simple and easy to remember hand gesture shortcuts makes it memorable, it also allows you to personalize your setup by allowing you to buy brushes and tools and modify them if you want.

Cons

Updates do not work with earlier versions of Ipad Pro, which is a shame because tablet works as fine as the first day.

Michelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Drawing App For the Price

Reviewed on 9/7/2021

Procreate allows me the autonomy to create graphics for logos and collaterals by hand. These...

Procreate allows me the autonomy to create graphics for logos and collaterals by hand. These features are available with my adobe products, but I use this on my iPad with a pen and often times, on the go. It's just a simple little tool I can use when I'm not in front of a desktop or computer and I just like being able to pop into it and do my work and be done.

Pros

As a designer who tends to need software to draw out certain logos and images by hand (with an iPad and pen), I did like the fact that the software gave a wide range of brushes and even allowed you to create your own brushes. For the price, it has some good exporting features like animated gifs and downloadable replays of the image you were drawing as you were drawing it, which I thought was cool. Layers are easy to use, similar to Photoshop and Illustrator.

Cons

I did find that there was a bit of a learning curve with this software. There is a Procreate handbook but since I am familiar with Photoshop and Illustrator I figured I could skip the handbook and go straight to creating. I struggled with just a couple of things so you may need to take the time to reference the handbook, particularly if you're a novice.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator

Reasons for Switching to Procreate

I use Procreate on my iPad in addition to these products.
Spencer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Procreate - A Great Tool!

Reviewed on 31/10/2021

I’ve loved using procreate. It’s helped me create different ads and flyers.

I’ve loved using procreate. It’s helped me create different ads and flyers.

Pros

Procreate has a lot of great tools and features.

Cons

Procreate has a pretty big learning curve. It takes a lot to get it down.

Katana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing program with an easy price point. Gorgeous and Intuitive.

Reviewed on 24/5/2022

I've used it for commission work and teaching projects both, and it's never let me down.

I've used it for commission work and teaching projects both, and it's never let me down.

Pros

The amount of features, ease of creating new brushes and overall gorgeous UI really make it shine.

Cons

Could be a little bit beefier with more filters and manipulation. Would love to see vector features.

Liza
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Going on year 6 with this app!

Reviewed on 29/8/2022

I've been a loyal user of Procreate since 2016, and it was the first design tool that started my...

I've been a loyal user of Procreate since 2016, and it was the first design tool that started my journey as a graphic designer. The value for the price is way more than I could expect from a $10 app. I now use this app as part of my design system in my professional work, and sometimes I even create complete projects. This app is great for hobbyists, beginners, and professionals. I've learned that there are no limits to what you can do on Procreate. Many opportunities I have achieved would not have been successful without Procreate. Some things I would mention if you haven't considered are to make sure you have the proper device specs to run the app. Larger projects require an iPad with more memory.

Pros

What makes Procreate very valuable to me are the advanced design tools, resources, and price.

There are many tools available that make illustrating and photo editing easy, natural, and enjoyable. What impresses me about the design tools and features is the interface is simple, yet you can customize the tool's properties to a great extent.

Procreate has amassed a large community of designers and illustrators across social media that help others make the most out of the app. Many resources from these platforms have helped me with my workflow and improved my design and technical skills. The resources include free and paid courses, brush sets, design feedback, regular updates, and more!

The price for the app is a one-time $9.99! The fact that this app is a complete design system that costs around the same price as a whole meal at McDonald's is unreal to me. There are no ads, no subscriptions, and no tiered plans.

Cons

The few cons I would mention are the inability to render vector graphics (SVGs), the hidden secret shortcuts, the cropping of layers, and having no automatic edit history feature.

I wish you could create vectors in native Procreate. To make vectors from my Procreate designs, I encounter the tedious task of converting them in Illustrator.

I've been using Procreate for many years, yet I'm still unaware of some hidden shortcuts and gestures. I usually stumble on them going through social media. It can be frustrating because these shortcuts cannot be easily found or notified of through the app itself.

It can also be frustrating when you take a layer and move it to the side of the artboard, and the layer gets cut off.

Procreate lacks an interval editing history feature. I now make multiple copies, but sometimes I forget or realize I want to revisit a version I didn't duplicate.

Herman
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The premiere illustration software of the 21st Century.

Reviewed on 3/12/2022

I have used Procreate to design several logos and Podcast Cover Art which has earned me income in...

I have used Procreate to design several logos and Podcast Cover Art which has earned me income in the field of digital illustration. The ease with which complicated projects can be completed is invaluable and has saved me both time and effort.

Pros

Procreate works seamlessly with an Apple Pencil and an iPad to help any user effect stunning illustrations with a seemingly endless array of digital tools and tricks at your disposal.

Cons

The learning curve is steep, and to master all the functions and tools I had to complete several tutorials online. Procreate does, however, offer its own unique tutorials for new users, and they are fun to complete.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Procreate, for Beginners or Experts

Reviewed on 13/1/2023

Overall, I've had a great experience; procreate has helped me get my art out there and even make...

Overall, I've had a great experience; procreate has helped me get my art out there and even make some money. I don't think I would have gotten so into art without Procreate.

Pros

When I first started drawing, procreate had all the tools, explanations, and features for me to learn and explore my visions. This is great for beginners but also an excellent tool for personal art, drawings, or technical drawing experts. In addition, I always recommend this to others as it's only ONE payment. Most other drawing apps require monthly subscriptions. Thus, my favorite thing about this software is the low price for the fantastic features. It's worth it.

Cons

Procreate can be a bit difficult at first, and even though I've almost had the software for a year, I continue to uncover new and easier ways to illustrate things. Sometimes, you just have to google how to do something, and that's the best option.

Tessa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I use it every day!

Reviewed on 13/3/2023

Procreate has made my job easier by 100x. I use it to create and manage designs as a tattoo artist.

Procreate has made my job easier by 100x. I use it to create and manage designs as a tattoo artist.

Pros

Procreate is extremely user friendly, packed with features, runs smoothly - all for a fair price.

Cons

I do wish procreate’s library was more customizable. I’ve also had recent issues with printing straight from the app (a mass user issue that has been solved now) that were extremely inconvenient during working. Customer service seems to be lacking as the issue was widespread and not handled properly or efficiently.

Silvia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good software for creative people

Reviewed on 26/11/2022

I think it's a great software for artists. Easy to learn and quite intuitive. I would recommend it.

I think it's a great software for artists. Easy to learn and quite intuitive. I would recommend it.

Pros

It has a really wide range of creative features and a lot of customizable tools. Plus it's easy to create new brushes and to edit the default ones.

Cons

I wish they give you the option to use vectors as well. Also it would be great if you could play a bit more with the text layers.

Aditya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Create with Procreat!

Reviewed on 26/12/2022

Overall, the experience is very positive and I use it quite a lot for creative work. Being able to...

Overall, the experience is very positive and I use it quite a lot for creative work. Being able to work with animation and gifs makes it even more fun to use.

Pros

The software comes with great user friendly features making things easy for user. The options for brush and other tools is great. Gesture based features are also fun to use. Animation and gif features are great.

Cons

The number of layers the user can create is limited. Makes a bit tricky to use when working with multiple layers.

Dunnecia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Procreate Delight

Reviewed on 2/9/2022

It's amazing and a big help!

It's amazing and a big help!

Pros

It was easy to maneuver around and fast to learn. it has a lot of features that allow me to do almost everything I need as a creative.

Cons

Sometimes when you move certain things the quality of my work pixel wise lowers.

Mariagrazia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best non vector software for illustrations

Reviewed on 29/10/2022

I create my products or part of my products using procreate and the best part tvthat it is very...

I create my products or part of my products using procreate and the best part tvthat it is very easy to use and it is very cheap.

Pros

It is extremely easy to use and you can achieve a very high level of outcome from it.

Cons

I would add a vector brushes library as well

Patrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

For the tattoo industry this program is essential

Reviewed on 8/5/2022

Flawless

Flawless

Pros

The ease of use i have tried some free apps I’ve tried paid but this one is by far the easiest to use.

Cons

I would love if they implemented a way to organize the files in an alphabetical order

Anthony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

For the creative on the go

Reviewed on 12/8/2022

Overall my experience with Procreate has been nothing but enjoyable. There's multiple resources for...

Overall my experience with Procreate has been nothing but enjoyable. There's multiple resources for learning Procreate and being able to design and import your own brushes is a nice touch. I also enjoy the video recording of what you may be creating.

Pros

The thing that I like the most about Procreate is that it tends to be very user friendly if you're used to working in spaces such as Corel Draw, Adobe, or any other drawing program. If you're familiar with those types of interfaces, then diving head first isn't intimidating.

Cons

The only thing that I don't like about this software is having to remember multiple swipes to bring up different menus. I understand that it's an iPad app, so design space is limited when it comes to fly out menus and the like. It would be nice to be able to map your own gestures for the things you use constantly.

Mattie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Digital Art App Out There

Reviewed on 20/11/2022

Pros

One of the best, most intuitive digital art app out there. I've tried a ton, and for the minimal, one time fee Procreate has, I can't recommend it more. It's amazing.

Cons

Nothing. I really truly like everything. Normally I would say maybe the fee, but this app is so good, I would feel weird about not paying a little bit to the developers, plus there would probably be ads and I love it as is.

Vincent
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best for graphic designers

Reviewed on 24/2/2023

Pros

I like that it is very easy to use overall. Using it on my iPad.

Cons

I love it and dont have anything negative to say about it.

Crystal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Once you get it...

Reviewed on 3/6/2021

I struggled initially and gave up frequently, however I found the right tutorials out there to help...

I struggled initially and gave up frequently, however I found the right tutorials out there to help me along and now I use it to mock up and design logos and graphics to use for my business.

Pros

I love the ability to do a huge variety of graphic design work in a single application. It has what feels like a million different pens to choose from and a ton of different things you can download and add to the app to make it even more functional for whatever you choose. Thankfully there are also a million and one different tutorials out there so you can figure out how to do what you need to do

Cons

There is a learning curve if you've never used this type of software (obviously) and it's easy to get frustrated at first until you figure things out. However, once you learn where everything is and how to use it, it is awesome.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I love procreate

Reviewed on 21/7/2022

It's my main tool of work and I tried others. This one is by far the best

It's my main tool of work and I tried others. This one is by far the best

Pros

It’s easy to use. The brushes have an analog sensation and it's fun to use.

Cons

Since I don’t have the last iPad some features are not available

faisal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

procreate review

Reviewed on 13/11/2022

A lot of people recommended it to me, and when I started my experience with it, I noticed my...

A lot of people recommended it to me, and when I started my experience with it, I noticed my development in drawing. It is a very amazing application

Pros

It is an excellent application that helped me very much in developing official and making distinctive logos simply

Cons

I really don't find any negatives to mention, but I hope that the tools will be developed more than that

Brianna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

What to expect when using procreate

Reviewed on 4/7/2022

Pros

I love the variety of brushes and having the ability to add more brushes if need be. I also love having having a digital multi-medium digital sketchbook.

Cons

The only thing that I don't like about procreate is you have to pay two separate fees ( Ipad and Iphone).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Procreate Experience

Reviewed on 13/6/2022

The overall experience was nice, used to create some pictures.

The overall experience was nice, used to create some pictures.

Pros

1. Best tool for design in ipad
2. It has layer feature to easily create awesome art
3. too many brushes and we can import new ones also
4. Easily create shapes
5. with apple pencil it so much great to design things

Cons

1. Need to learn things to start using
2. I have to purchase it to start using , there is no free version
3. There should be trial

Alanna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Just get it!

Reviewed on 23/8/2021

Pros

If you’re an artist, you will adore this program. Procreate let’s your creativity come to life in so many ways. Just when I think I know all it has to offer, I learn a new hidden trick within the app. Look up videos and tutorials, and you’ll see what I mean! It never ends, and it’s amazing.

Cons

The only thing that I didn’t like at first, was the learning curve. It isn’t necessarily straightforward, because there are hidden actions with things like two finger taps, or dragging from the color wheel into a drawn object to make the whole object one new color. Make sure you watch tutorials before digging in deep, or you may get frustrated! It’s much easier to use once you know the “hidden” features.

Laura
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great tool for artists!

Reviewed on 26/5/2022

I am very satisfied with procreate. It is simple to use and helps me create additional designs for...

I am very satisfied with procreate. It is simple to use and helps me create additional designs for social media templates.

Pros

Procreate has a user-friendly interface. There are many useful features for drawing, such as quickshape, which allows you to draw the shape you want, hold it, and it will transform into a perfect shape. Another useful feature is colordrop, which allows you to select any color and drag it onto the canvas to fill a specific drawing. I also like how there are numerous brush options and how color palettes and brushes can be customized.

Cons

The only thing that I don't like about procreate is it consumes the iPad’s battery life.

Antoniya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best app for artists so far

Reviewed on 7/6/2022

Pros

IT has so many features, I love it. The options are endless!

Cons

I haven't found any bugs or flaws, the software is great!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best graphics editor app!

Reviewed on 16/4/2022

Pros

This is such a fun app where you can be your own artist and create as many art pieces as you want.

Cons

This is only available for iPads not Android devices.