Affinity Publisher Reviews

Affinity Publisher

Graphic designing software for creative professionals

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(53)
Value for Money
4.8/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

53 Reviews

Rogelio
Rogelio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect choice for books and magazines design

Reviewed on 13/4/2022

I use this to design books and, as I am also the artist, I can switch easily and draw something...

I use this to design books and, as I am also the artist, I can switch easily and draw something related to the story and then jump back to my book and keep working.
This allows me to offer more services to my clients who are always consuming services on-demand, and also allows me to create a product on record time.

Pros

Affinity Publisher allows you to create a whole set of text styles you can switch from master to master. So, on a single file you can have all different sections of a Magazine and all the different styles and you don't need to work them separately.
If you have a one-man-army designer who does it all, this is the best tool as you can switch easily between Photo editing, to vector editing and back to document editing on a mouse-click.
You also have the flexibility of a text processor like Word where you can create the table of contents, for example, but you can now add different styles to this so you can have an attractive table of contents.
If you buy a set of brushes for Photo or Designer, you have them available also here.

Cons

Basically nothing. But this isn't a software meant to be used alone without it's companions Photo and Designer.

Aleksandar
Aleksandar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Proffesional DTP solution on the market, with the best Price-Value ratio

Reviewed on 20/3/2022

After a many years of Adobe Indesign QuarkXpress using, we switch to Affinity Suite. Our main...

After a many years of Adobe Indesign QuarkXpress using, we switch to Affinity Suite. Our main products are magazines and catalogues, and other predominantly graphical creations. And we are absolutely happy with our Affinity solution for now. Excellent merge of DTP, photo and vector is came to you with full Affinity suite: Affinit Publisher + Affinity Photo + Affinity Designer. One must have trio.

Pros

It is fast - build on game engine in core. You can work with one page document or hundreds of pages with a lot of images and different text styles, but speed will never drop down. It is stabile software and with excellent colour reproduction.

Cons

Affinity Publisher lack of some usefull but not mandatory features. There are no classical character and paragraph styles, but there are no combined styles like QuarkXpress have. The are no good indexing and footnote/endnote manipulation.

Alternatives Considered

QuarkXPress, Adobe InDesign and CorelDRAW

Reasons for Choosing Affinity Publisher

First reason is subscription. Second is price. Third is speed. Fourth is creativity....

Switched From

QuarkXPress and Adobe InDesign

Reasons for Switching to Affinity Publisher

We try and feel every solution. Indesign is to heavy, and for full DTP solution - price is to high, same story with Quark. Speed is problem with Quark and Corel. Ragtime is solid. but retro solution with high price, but excellent table data management. All in all, Affinity suite do our job with the most style of all of them.
Ann Katrin
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Alternative to other publiishing softwares

Reviewed on 8/3/2023

Pros

Used it as an alternative to adobe products. worked fine, especially if you know what you are doing.

Cons

Photo editing needs some expertise for sure. After the trial we decided the price point is not worth it as we could also use the original for around the same price.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator
Philip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An easy to use and intuitive publishing tool.

Reviewed on 27/11/2023

Picking up Affinity Publisher has been relatively easy if you have used any publishing program...

Picking up Affinity Publisher has been relatively easy if you have used any publishing program previously. There are a few quirks to work around, but that is normal with any new program. But I found plenty of advice and workarounds on the net to help me achieve what I was looking for.

Pros

After many years of using QuarkXPress, Publisher and Indesign, this was a natural fit into my workflow and easy to learn.

Cons

It doesnt have all the featires of the big names, but I am assuming that this will come with time. After all, neither did QuarkXPress, Publisher or Indesign in the early days. It would be nice to have auto updates on images and graphics that you import rather than having to re import them again if you do changes outside the program.

Deb
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exception Replacement for similar Adobe software.

Reviewed on 8/3/2022

The devs are great about helping with anything at all! They also promote addons (created by other...

The devs are great about helping with anything at all! They also promote addons (created by other users/contributors) at reasonable prices. So, if we need to add new brushes (for example) there are a lot to choose from.

I've primarily used Adobe and GIMP before finding Affinity. I still use GIMP for quick or online graphics. But for Print I always use Affinity.

Pros

Being a small office (Just myself) it was increasingly a concern that I was paying a monthly subscription fee and some months it wasn't worth the time at all. With Affinity I can work daily or skip a month and I've already paid for the software.

Cons

The only inconvenience, is that Affinity software is separated. Publisher (is great for anything, especially Hard Print Quality, Pre-Flight tests, and even online publishing). But, because they are separate products most of us will need to buy all three (Photo, Publisher, and Designer). That said, it is still worth the value compared to the alternatives available.

Michal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An indispensable all-in-one design shop

Reviewed on 8/3/2023

Streamlined and pleasant to use even for communication professionals (as opposed to a creative...

Streamlined and pleasant to use even for communication professionals (as opposed to a creative designers)

Pros

It allows my team to quickly produce both digital and print creative, including company magazine, has a clear no-nonsense interface, is tightly integrated with Affinity Designer and Photo, allowing to use both programs without having to switch to another app window, and is much more affordable than alternatives

Cons

My positive review is based on Affinity Publisher v1. We have already purchased a business version of v2 suite but have not been able to activate it so far due to a software glitch.

Bryant
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

One of the best!

Reviewed on 16/12/2021

This is probably the best software that I've used where it's advanced but not overly difficult....

This is probably the best software that I've used where it's advanced but not overly difficult. It's difficult at first, but there really wasn't a huge learning curve for me compared to Photoshop. I like everything streamlined and right where I need it. The menus in Affinity are well organized where other programs I ask myself why they put something here or there and it doesn't make sense.

Pros

I like how easy it is to select what you'd like to do with photos. With drone photography (especially at night), you most likely will be taking photos with the auto exposure bracketing (AEB) setting which takes several photos really fast to allow the most light into the sensor to help the photos appear brighter at night. You'd simply take all of the photos and combine them. With a drone, you have to account for any type of movement like wind and the drone itself adjusting to the gps position where you have it hovering so each photo may be slightly off. Affinity has a photo combining/stacking option. When you combine the photos... it does a great job at stacking without it looking blurry. You can choose 3 settings that will show the difference in any effects used. You have a before/after (side by side is best), the before and after split photo then the regular photo itself that will show you the difference once applied.

Cons

I haven't figured this out yet, but when working with stacked photos I have a hard time seeing the difference in the before and after photo when doing side by sides. Maybe it's just me but I don't really see the difference unless I do a large effect like making the contrast really dark.

Alternatives Considered

AfterShot Pro

Reasons for Switching to Affinity Publisher

It's easier to use, streamlined and has more editing options for sure. I also think the cost is less which is a huge win.
Seth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Adobe InDesign Alternative!

Reviewed on 21/9/2023

While not the industry standard, if you're an indie publisher, Affinity Publisher is the way to go....

While not the industry standard, if you're an indie publisher, Affinity Publisher is the way to go. It has all the basic tools you need and will run smoother than InDesign. I value speed over niche advanced tools, so the ability to switch between Affinity programs and the less taxing processing requirements has led to me to switch over from InDesign. And Affinity's price tag is a great bonus too.

Pros

Affinity Publisher is easily the best alternative to InDesign out there. It has just about all the features for an affordable one time payment. The program runs smoothly with good UI and has all the features I need on a regular basis. It also has the ability to switch between Affinity programs quickly and easily which is a huge plus.

Cons

It's only missing one or two very niche tools like form fillable PDFs. That being said, Publisher beats our InDesign for making mockups.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Affinity Publisher the best alternative for Layout software

Reviewed on 2/12/2021

Like all Affinity software it is really good and does allow for full export to the press we use for...

Like all Affinity software it is really good and does allow for full export to the press we use for commercial printing.

Pros

Affinity Publisher is about as good as you can get for layout software compared to the other big subscription software. It has fully replaced layout for one of my employers since we did not want to move to the subscription model.

Cons

Some features common to Adobe indesign do not exist in this software as well as the learning curve while not difficult was a little time consuming.

Phil
Phil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic bang for the buck...

Reviewed on 30/9/2022

I've used Affinity Publisher to redesign my company's marketing flyers, envelopes and other branded...

I've used Affinity Publisher to redesign my company's marketing flyers, envelopes and other branded documents with great success. Having worked with many other Desktop Publishing packages over the years I had no trouble adapting to Affinity's interface and processes.

Pros

Affinity Publisher is a clean, fast, feature-rich Desktop Publishing application which makes content creation and manipulation reasonably simple, but also has enough advanced tools that power-users will be satisfied with it as well. It integrates very well with the other Affinity applications (Designer and Photo) and works with files from many other applications as well. For the VERY reasonable price they charge this is a fantastic choice for Desktop Publishing Software.

Cons

The biggest criticism I have is that there aren't any document templates included out-of-the-box such as there are with other products like Microsoft Publisher. That being said, there are many options online which can be purchased to make up for this.

Jeremy
Jeremy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Gotta Get Them All, Part Three

Reviewed on 30/9/2021

As a self-published writer, I need a tool that will help me create the best editions of paperback...

As a self-published writer, I need a tool that will help me create the best editions of paperback or hardcover books that I can, and I refuse to pay an expensive monthly subscription for that privilege, especially if I’m designing these interiors only when I’m ready to print, which can be as infrequent as two or three times a year. Do I want to spend $600 a year to design the interiors of two books (and maybe the odd pamphlet) a year, or do I want to spend $50 once for the same ability? (Actually, I bought it during the 50% off sale, so I paid only $25 for it.) Maybe Adobe InDesign is better. Maybe I don’t care. Maybe Affinity Publisher does exactly what I need it to do without it throwing a bunch of stuff at me that will ultimately confuse me. That professional-looking paperback novel sitting on my bookshelf three feet to my left tells me that Affinity Publisher is just right. Those fancy PDFs I’d like to give as subscriber bonuses to my new and future readers also benefit from Publisher being cheaper than Adobe InDesign and better at formatting than Microsoft Word. I think anyone who cares about the quality of printed material needs to add this one to his or her toolbox, especially if they’re ready to toss out the subscription model from their budgets.

Pros

The master pages feature is the highlight of this app, in my opinion, as it creates templates based on ODD pages, EVEN pages, FIRST pages, various conditions, and considers not just text layouts but also image layouts. Need a bottom right page number on “recto” pages? Done. Bottom left on “verso” pages? Got it. Need that first page of the chapter to have no headers or footers? No problem. Every odd page to have a bleed graphic behind the text, or wrapping around it? Sure. Whatever the layout need, Affinity Publisher can do it (probably) easily and repetitively with the master page feature. The fact that Publisher accounts for several dozen page sizes and layouts makes it even more versatile. Who needs MS Word for “design”? Of course, it doesn’t benefit just novelists or book designers. The layout features work well for magazine designers, too. Heck, Affinity posted a video a year ago of its product specialist designing a branded restaurant menu. It can do just about anything you need a print designer to do. And that’s not even getting into the weeds about its “Studio Link” feature. Thanks to that feature, users can update book or magazine photos directly in Photo or Designer without having to import or export out of Publisher. Not even Adobe does that with its tools (so I hear)!

Cons

Barring the fact that I can never remember all the hotkeys (I’d have to remove the cut-out hotkey sheet from the back of my Affinity Publisher Workbook to remember them all, and I’m not going to deface my book that way!—even if it’s designed for that purpose), the biggest “con” I have with Publisher is with the limitations it has with font design. Specifically, drop cap layout with margins can be improved, as well as the ability to combine bold and italics to form special case typographical designs. That said, this probably isn’t a fair con, since Affinity Publisher (and all three Affinity apps, for that matter) respects each fonts’ native design, and most of them aren’t designed with bold italic versions. But it would be nice to have the option to force a design style that merges bold and italics together, just in case. It’s fine, though. I’m really only annoyed with my margin limitations. The page design features more than make up for any con.

Debbie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One-Time Payment for Professional Publishing Capabilities

Reviewed on 31/10/2021

My overall experience with Affinity Publisher is excellent. I'm very happy with the software and...

My overall experience with Affinity Publisher is excellent. I'm very happy with the software and with the video tutorials which ensure that I continue improving my abilities as I explore the various program features.

If you're looking for sophisticated publishing and layout software without a monthly subscription, I highly recommend taking a look at Affinity Publisher. It's good for simple projects but also has the power behind it to allow you to work on complex projects with heavy image loads and cutting-edge designs.

Pros

There's much to like about Affinity Publisher. For one thing, it's a one-time payment, and an inexpensive purchase at that. During the COVID lockdowns they even halved the price which was a classy thing to do and helpful for many people. The price is now back up at around $55 at the time of writing which, when compared to the cost of an ongoing subscription for InDesign, is a complete steal.

But the pricing wouldn't be enough, on its own, to make me love this product.

What I really love is that it's professional-level publishing software with excellent accompanying tutorials and enormously flexibility. I can create everything from simple flyers to complex magazines and brochures and I don't feel that I'm compromising on style or formatting in the least.

It's not complicated to figure out, and the ability to use master pages makes everything much faster and easier. It's more complex than Word in terms of output, but definitely not harder to learn.

There are two other programs in the Affinity stable - Affinity Photo and Affinity Designer. Both work seamlessly with Affinity Publisher which is just a joy and a huge stress reducer - especially when I'm working to a deadline and I need everything to go without a hitch.

Cons

There aren't too many cons to Affinity Publisher. I do have a minor gripe about the Affinity Publisher book which looks really interesting but which costs almost as much as the software itself. I would have appreciated a PDF manual instead of an expensive, glossy coffee-book.

Troy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Serious InDesign Replacement

Reviewed on 11/3/2022

Fantastic! There was one time there was a consistent bug, but it was eventually fixed.

Fantastic! There was one time there was a consistent bug, but it was eventually fixed.

Pros

If you gave me the choice between InDesign or Affinity Publisher, 9/10 times I would pick publisher.

Affinity’s UI is similar to InDesign, but easy to learn and it’s UI is intuitive.

Also, you can open up designer and photo while working inside their and allows you to do multiple things within one app. It would be like being able to do the same work as Photoshop and Illustrator all within InDesign. Yes, it’s that’s amazing.

Cons

It does not have every feature InDesign has, but for the average designer you wouldn’t even notice.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe InDesign

Reasons for Choosing Affinity Publisher

Better price and UI

Switched From

Adobe InDesign
Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Affinity Publisher - a real alternative to Adobe InDesign

Reviewed on 9/11/2021

Affinity Publisher (and the other Affinity Apps) have replaced all the Adobe products for me. I am...

Affinity Publisher (and the other Affinity Apps) have replaced all the Adobe products for me. I am incredibly impressed that a team from Nottingham UK have come up with something that can proudly stand toe to toe with Adobe. In many ways they are better than the Adobe alternatives.

Pros

PRICE. Like most users of Affinity products I was initially attracted by the price. Now that Adobe 'rent' you their software I was looking for an alternative. You can't fault the price of any of the Affinity products. They could double the price and they would still be incredibly good value for money.

FEATURES. But that doesn't mean that Publisher is a budget product. Far from it. Once you get your head around the slightly different way of working, I have found that Publisher will do everything I ever asked InDesign to do. Yes InDesign has more 'features', but Publisher does everything I need. I designed market-leading magazines for more than 20 years, so I know what I am talking about.

Cons

LEARNING CURVE. As expected with any new software there is a bit of a learning curve. Affinity do things differently to Adobe. But stick with it, because once the penny drops and you 'get it' it all makes sense. I really like the way the Affinity Apps (Publisher, Designer and Photo) all work seamlessly together.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Said goodbye to expensive monthly fees

Reviewed on 4/11/2021

Absolutely love the entire Affinity product suite. Was a bit intidimated at first but quickly...

Absolutely love the entire Affinity product suite. Was a bit intidimated at first but quickly ordered their workbooks from their website which are a great way to get up to speed with practical experience.

Pros

Affinity Publisher is packed with all the editing features we need and use in daily workflows and operations, and their studiolink technology really sets it apart as you can quickly switch to leverage the editing power of Affinity Designer or Affinity Photos directly within the app. It's also extremely fast and has a light load on your device, and best of all, you get to buy your license once and use it as long as you wish. No more monthly charges that bundle features we don't use.

Cons

Out of the 3 Affinity software this is the one that took the less getting used to, but there definitely is a small learning curve when switching to this suite. Once you get the hang of it though it gets pretty intuitive with all applications mostly using the same layout and design philosophy.

Sebastian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Yet another amazing product from Affinity

Reviewed on 17/2/2023

Pros

The integration of Affinity Designer and Affinity Photo is just superb. It provides a 3-in-1-functionality for the whole program and makes the suite just perfect.

Cons

Export for inDesign-Files, which is the industry standard is sadly still missing. Other than that, i am not missing any Features for my use

Johnathan
Johnathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Affinity Publisher for the win!

Reviewed on 7/9/2023

The overall experience is amazing as it gave me all of the necessary tools for success as well as...

The overall experience is amazing as it gave me all of the necessary tools for success as well as the right tutorials to transition from the Creative Cloud accordingly.

Pros

I love the usability and the inexpensive nature of the product as it gives me all the right things for cheaper than adobe.

Cons

I kinda wish for a deeper integration with pixabay and pexels with it staying up to date to the latest materials to gather more materials from inside of the application without having to venture out for it.

Louisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A amazing alternative to its very expensive counterpart

Reviewed on 16/3/2023

Pros

I like how intuitive to use AP is. Contrary to Adobe Indesign it's easy to get around without a proper background in graphic design. It offers almost as many tools for a fraction of the price. I also greatly appreciate the opportunity to buy it once and be done, contrary to the ongoing trend of subscribe-only softwares forcing you to pay them for eternity.

Cons

I like it very much and I've never been displeased with it.

Gabrielle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An Affordable Publishing Software

Reviewed on 3/2/2023

Affinity Publisher makes creating publications easy! I enjoy how user-friendly and easy to use...

Affinity Publisher makes creating publications easy! I enjoy how user-friendly and easy to use Affinity Publisher is in comparison to other publishing software on the market.

Pros

Affinity Publisher is an excellent and affordable publishing software with a one-time payment of $69.99. This software does not require you to have a subscription to use it. It is also very user-friendly with lots of design support, pantone support, and other familiar creative tools. You can preview your whole project in the toolbar on the left hand side, viewing every page at once. It makes publishing your projects a breeze.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve with setting up each project. Even if you are familiar with other publishing software, watching a tutorial or two online is necessary to get the most out of this product.

Christian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best desktop publishing application at low price

Reviewed on 13/11/2021

Best experience with smooth workflow and pro features at low price

Best experience with smooth workflow and pro features at low price

Pros

The ability to use both Affinity photo and Affinity Designer within Affinity Publisher make it the best desktop publishing application. This goes with affordable price with advanced pro features and user-friendly interface.
Affinity Publisher makes it much easier than InDesign to use automated table of contents.
Easy transition from InDesign as the interface is as easy and intuitive and no learning is required.

Cons

Limited interactivity because with only hyperlinks and bookmarks. You can't imbed multimedia files like in InDesign.
InDesign formats can't be opened directly except when the converter called IDMarkz is used.

Steve
Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Another great Serif product

Reviewed on 15/4/2022

Great desktop publishing solution that fits in well with Affinity Designer and Photo.

Great desktop publishing solution that fits in well with Affinity Designer and Photo.

Pros

The workflow is very similar to that of Affinity Designer and Photo and has many common features, easy to layout pages and design documents and the associated file formats needed to import from external sources and then manipulate within the program

Cons

Nothing really, mostly it just works, there are a few quirks when it comes to layout where you need to be careful.

Monika
Monika
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I learned Affinity to better understand my graphic designer

Reviewed on 13/7/2023

Pros

Once you become familiar with the tools provided, Affinity Publisher offers an abundance of options for editing text in any document. As someone who isn't a designer and doesn't create content from scratch, this cost-effective tool has been incredibly useful for me. It enables me to open documents from my graphic designer without the need to subscribe to Adobe or other expensive software. This is particularly advantageous for small entrepreneurs like myself who work closely with freelancers. I can easily make minor adjustments to the documents directly, saving valuable time that would otherwise be spent explaining these changes to the designer.

Cons

Affinity Publisher is indeed a professional software that requires some effort and understanding to become familiar with its features. I can relate to the experience of accidentally clicking on certain elements and then spending a considerable amount of time figuring out how to undo those actions. It can be particularly challenging when certain tools or options are hidden, leading to a search for solutions online.

Victor Conde
Victor Conde
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Better than an alternative to inDesign

Reviewed on 28/5/2022

Pros

If you have no experience with InDesign, then this is easier to get started with, but if you have Indesign already, this is pretty similar, and give it some months and you will like it also.

Cons

The advanced features from InDesign is still missing, but most people never use those functions anyway.

Jim
Jim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Affinity Publisher Is My Go-To Software

Reviewed on 27/3/2022

I found this mush easier to use than other editing software. I bought all three versions of what...

I found this mush easier to use than other editing software. I bought all three versions of what they had to offer so I have all the tools I need.

Pros

Ease of use and to getting the first project completed. I use this for KDP book covers and interiors. Being able to publish book interiors and have no errors on upload to KDP is a major plus.

Cons

De-selecting the previous tool by selecting outside the work area should default to the arrow or move icon. Constantly having to select away from a text or other tool just to be able to move font or photo windows would be a help by making this change.

Anselme
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Publisher review

Reviewed on 13/11/2022

Pros

The Affinity Plublisher software is very easy to use and allows you to edit text and more on the touch screen.

Cons

No drawbacks noticed on this software, everything pleases me, I recommend