Jamf Protect

4.6 (25)
Endpoint protection software for MacOS users

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(25)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

25 Reviews

Philip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Day 1 Protection at its finest

Reviewed on 9/9/2021

Symantec's M1 and macOS compatibility came into play with our decision to move to Jamf Protect.
The transition was seamless and and well welcomed.

Pros

The setup, deployment and all of its features are easily what I love most about Jamf Protect. Within minutes of approval, we were up and running.

Cons

For our immediate purposes, we did not have any cons about using Jamf Protect. Jamf made everything easy and nothing hard or bad about using or deploying this software.

Alternatives Considered

Falcon

Reasons for Choosing Jamf Protect

Compatibility issues.

Reasons for Switching to Jamf Protect

M1 and macos compatibility
Matt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Still Learning

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

From purchasing, to deployment, and jamf support, our experience has been great!

Pros

Like by review title says, I am still learning. There is so much to comprehend in Pro let alone, another integrated product. With that said, the integration is amazing. I love the ease of deployment.

Cons

I would love more help on the "clean up" side for when viruses/malware are found. Protect has already caught some issues, some of which are easy to handle and others I'm at a complete loss and just wipe the device. The pricing for education could use some love. We are paying a premium, which I understand; however, I will be honest that competitors (Mosyle) are tempting for education customers such as ourselves. We love jamf to the core though, so the swap cannot be justified currently.

Alternatives Considered

Mosyle Business and Intercept X Endpoint

Reasons for Choosing Jamf Protect

No Big Sur support

Reasons for Switching to Jamf Protect

Trying to stay within the Jamf Family. We purchased Connect as well. We run Pro, Connect, and Protect. They are great products and luckily we have leadership that is willing to pay for them. Also, Jamf support and jamf nation are extremely valuable.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Here comes a new player: JAMF and endpoint security

Reviewed on 19/2/2021

Pros

GUI looks nice. I am just not sure what is the best functional use case for it.

Cons

We really haven't gotten the full value of this product. It may be because we're not sure what threats are prevented or what policies are bets practice for our environment.

Derek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jamf Protect

Reviewed on 22/6/2022

During the log4j crisis, Jamf Protect was extremely useful. JP was able to detect all the computers that had log4j files, so that we could mitigate those computers.

Pros

I liked the implementation, it was very easy. Basically Jamf has it all set up right "out-of-box".

Cons

The Threats can be hard to create at times, but Jamf Support is very good at helping create them. Often times they will update the threats themselves.

Chad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Still the Gold Standard

Reviewed on 19/7/2021

Pros

It is very customizable, and the online community is second to none.

Cons

There have been a few features that have been missing for a long time. For example, renaming a device using user info during deployment.

Blair
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jamf Protect - seamless and invisible

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

We are very happy with Jamf Protect! The price point and functionality made the switch from another vendor a no-brainer.

Pros

Tight integration with Jamf Pro made setup and deployment extremely simple. I didn’t have to think about it after the initial setup.

Cons

I do wish there was more of a user interface on the client machine.

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome product

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

Malware and antivirus protection

Pros

I can pull reports immediately, get instant notifications and have needed information whenever I want/need it

Cons

Support is very limited, almost non-existent

Cassandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple Deployment and Easy Upkeep

Reviewed on 1/9/2021

My experience so far has been great. The upkeep is very easy.

Pros

Deployment could not have been easier! I have to wear many hats where I work. The setup and deployment was very simple and I stepped through everything using the documentation. It was so quick and simple I thought for sure I missed something. I didn't, it's just that simple.

Cons

I have no been using Jamf Protect long enough to have any feature requests or complaints.

Jerry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

When SCEP went away for Macs, this was the best product I've found/tested/implemented...

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

Team has reached out, and I haven't had any Malware or Viruses on the Macs, so that's important.

Pros

Deployable with ARD or JAMF Pro. They made it a way easier alternative to other brands and the support has been great. They have contacted me, for feedback/improvements/ideas.

Cons

Still learning....hoping for more free web trainings/videos like I had for JAMF Pro inception and deployment.

Jeff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JAMF Protect the best for Macs

Reviewed on 9/9/2021

Really nice. Once I got it installed and tied into Jamf Pro, It's been great!

Pros

Auto install and auto updates configuration/version changes

Cons

Needs a more simple way to setup advanced threat removals within Protect with auto quarantine file removal choices. minimize the need do dump issues out to Jamf Pro for resolution.

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jamf Protect, why would you not?

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

Pros

For a long time macOS security operations at an enterprise level was unheard of when it came to user friendly GUI and accurate reporting. Jamf Protect now makes this easy. We're now able to get a full spectrum of compliances on our macOS devices in one console, giving us the ability to be proactive in remediation when it comes to threat protection. We're given real-time alerts and insights that we were usually left in the dark with in the past.

Cons

I honestly don't think there are any cons to this product. It does exactly what we want it to do and even rivals our current Threat Protection solution for Windows. The other products could definitely take some queues from Jamf Protect.

Cory
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Comprehensive endpoint security suite for macOS

Reviewed on 19/10/2020

Pros

Designed exclusively, for macOS which can be easily seen in its architecture and implementation for any macOS Admin. It is feature rich and is one of the few solutions to leverage the new Endpoint Security framework to prevent (at process level) threats from even launching. Lightweight and by far the lowest impact of other solutions tested and used. Support is excellent and product is updated several time a month with new features and improvements based on feedback.

Cons

More documentation, examples and better marketing and comparison against other solutions would be useful. With its newer approach for security, large range of features and design exclusively for macOS and Endpoint Security framework, traditional security professionals often miss and don't see the benefits of Protect from a preventative (vs. reactive) approach.

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for Schools

Reviewed on 9/9/2021

Jamf makes it easy to keep an eye on your devices and help educators cut the distraction with kids on electronics.

Pros

This software updates automatically so you don't have to worry about new viruses showing up.

Cons

There are no weaknesses that I know if at this point.

Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Protect in an Edu environment

Reviewed on 24/7/2021

Pros

I like the direct integration with JAMF pro. The system is very great to allow me insight in to the individual users

Cons

Remediation is a little difficult and nothing is built in.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jamf Review

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

Pros

I like how easy it is to implement. Jamf Connect too a bit of time to implement, but it's perfect.

Cons

Problems navigating some menus. Sometimes it seems to be problematic.

Cory
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Great Start

Reviewed on 9/9/2021

This has allowed us to gain strong endpoint protections.. especially when switching to M1 Macs that (at the time) other software providers didn't yet support.

Pros

I love the heuristic approach to protecting our endpoints. This has the potential to be very effective at mitigating, preventing, and isolating rouge processes/malware.

Cons

Assigning licenses and installing could be easier. Full integration with the Jamf dashboard would be nice. We look forward to more robust pre-canned mitigation workflows to work with.

Arman
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

amazing product

Reviewed on 20/7/2021

its an amazing service

Pros

great community and service, lots of features

Cons

I think it can be better with a new section of all new features

George
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

George's review

Reviewed on 9/9/2021

pretty decent

Pros

Part of JAMF so we do not have to vet another vendor and maintain risk evaluations.

Cons

Price breaks are not that great. Its more expensive than TrendMciro renew prices.

Alternatives Considered

Norton AntiVirus

Reasons for Choosing Jamf Protect

we do not need the PC part any more so go with JAMF cause we also have JAMF as mdm

Reasons for Switching to Jamf Protect

reduce 3rd party vendor.
Jacob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to set up if already using Jamf Pro

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

Pros

Very easy to implement if you also are using Jamf Pro. Provides good security event monitoring. Insights for CIS Level 1 and CIS Level 2 are nice to get a good overview of the important settings and policies.

Cons

Default plan only reports, doesn't perform actions unless edited. Need SIEM or AWS S3 bucket for long term log retention as the 2 million event threshold is reached quickly on large deployments.

Victor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jamf PRotect is the protection you need.

Reviewed on 12/5/2022

I really enjoy this product. We want to work in a very secure area where we can pass seistive contect to other without fear of outside intervention.

Pros

I really enjoy the layout of this product, to me its not too crowded and is easy to follow.

Cons

I dont have any cons for this software, just that it has to be a different site from the jamf pro!

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

So happy to be using Protect and out of the old software

Reviewed on 9/9/2021

Start to finish deploying this product was smooth. Support was great answering my questions.

Pros

Integrates with Jamf seamlessly. Easy to deploy through Jamf. Easy to edit through Jamf.

Cons

There was a little confusion in the beginning getting the trial to work and test operational but Jamf support got us through it.

Sal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jamf Protect

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

it's been great, I highly recommend this product.

Pros

how easily it integrates with Jamf Pro and the ease of deployment.

Cons

having two separate portal pages instead of all being in one.

Malcolm
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

Pros

Compared to other AV applications we've used this runs really lite. Don't even know it's there or running

Cons

No complaints. The software protects the endpoints and also makes recommendations on ways to improve.

xavier
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Jamf protect what a product!

Reviewed on 19/7/2021

my experience is very good and the information one the software is grade A+.

Pros

the protection the software offers to apple devices and the integration offered with the Jamf Pro.

Cons

the price is mostly the hardest thing when gathering approvals from company and health care leadership.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One Stop Solution for all compliance tools

Reviewed on 22/7/2021

Pros

Neat and Clean GUI.

Easy to use.

It doesn't impact macOS performance as Symantec, McAfee, Crowdstrike, and other third-party compliance tools.

Easy to remediate and prevent virus attackers.

Easy to automate..

Cons

Nothing really, you guys really spent lot of time to make it best!!