Heimdal Threat Prevention

4.8 (25)
Advanced DNS Filtering for Your Perimeter and Endpoints.

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(25)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.9/5
Sort by

25 Reviews

Warren
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Heimdal - Does the job

Reviewed on 6/12/2022

The install was incredibly straight forward, and we've barely had to touch it since. We use it for ourselves and recommend it to all of our customers.

Pros

The best feature is its complete ease of use. To the untrained, it may look like it doesn't have many features. But that's because it is all managed from behind, and you don't need to touch it on the endpoint.

Cons

We do have the occasional oddity where a program stops working or a port is blocked, and this can be Heimdal being too over protective.

Reasons for Choosing Heimdal Threat Prevention

The features which Heimdal offer, far outweighed ESETs offerings.

Switched From

ESET Endpoint Security

Reasons for Switching to Heimdal Threat Prevention

If you combine all of the features offered, and the price it would take to purchase all the features differently, it made complete sense. So it was a financial decision.
Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

They just get it right!

Reviewed on 12/4/2022

Great Co, Great Product and excellent customer service - Heimdal Security stand proud for showing the industry how it should be done!

Pros

It's not just the feature rich software its that fact that this company stand right behind their product with nothing short of excellent support. They know it's important to get to clients promptly and they know they need to have actionable knowledge. They excel at both.

Cons

the web ui is a little cluttered and not easy to navigate. I'm learning to live with it's foibles and the Pros outway the cons.

Alternatives Considered

Falcon

Reasons for Choosing Heimdal Threat Prevention

BitDefender are rubbish when it comes to support and the product is tired.

Switched From

Bitdefender GravityZone

Reasons for Switching to Heimdal Threat Prevention

too expensive and not available to smaller clients.
Isabelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

AntiVirus and More

Reviewed on 20/1/2022

Pros

The software does not take many resources, updates automatically, endpoints can be put in Groups for certain policies, the inventory tool is useful, and installation is quick.

Cons

It is based in another country, and customer support is on different hours.

Alternatives Considered

Panda Cloud Office Protection

Reasons for Choosing Heimdal Threat Prevention

Webroot has no customer service. When we had an issue, I had to read through pages of technical papers online. And the solution was not acceptable.

Reasons for Switching to Heimdal Threat Prevention

Heimdal had many more options available.
Brian Andreas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Avoid attacks by 2-way DNS filtering

Reviewed on 18/3/2022

Very useful. Big help as users will click on links or try to enter suspicious websites

Pros

Easy to use and highly effective. Short time from implementing to full use as all settings are predefined - you can of course change those.

Cons

It cost money :-) Heimdal separate functions in new modules. Everybody needs to make money but some functions could be under existing modules.

Alternatives Considered

Symantec Endpoint Security

Reasons for Switching to Heimdal Threat Prevention

Heimdal has great support and an easy to use dashboard. Symantec do not have 2-way DNS filtering
Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Peace of mind

Reviewed on 23/6/2022

Support is second to none - very responsive and helpful. Peace of mind is absolute and the admin overview and ability to remediate remotely is fantastic. It is also built for the work-at-home culture when have settled into after covid.

Pros

It is founded on a deep understanding of the threat landscape and uses all the tools to mitigate that threat.

Cons

Can throw up some Java errors on Mac and the interface is a little clunky although a new one is on the way.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Newspapers
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy way to be secure

Reviewed on 16/2/2022

Windows and 3. party updates. End user and server protection.

Pros

Easy to use, high protection, fast and good support.

Cons

No missing features. Two times i had missing feature and in a very short time Heimdal has integrated it in the product.

Jesper
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very satisfied

Reviewed on 7/4/2022

Pros

We bought the product to get a "setup and forget" product to easily patch known 3rd party software on our company pc's. Today we have ended up using it for elevating rights when needed to manually install software and also DNS filtering to prevent users from reaching bad sites and services when not connected our sites. We are happy with the product.

Cons

We often do see false positives in Darklayer guard which we use time reporting to Heimdal. However Heimdal has promised to look into how we can easier report such a site to Heimdal for global white listing.

Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent supplemental protection

Reviewed on 25/1/2022

Since installing Heimdal I've never had to clean up from a single infection. I rarely think about it. It just works.

Pros

Since this software is not saturating the market as McAfee, Symantec, or AVG have, it is never specifically targeted by malware developers. Therefore it maintains a high rate of detection for zero-day threats with an acceptable rate of false positives.

Cons

After installing the software I frequently received spammy systray notifications begging me to upgrade, interfering with my full-screen HTPC GUI. However, emailing support I was able to resolve this issue.

Nathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A very intuitive and thorough security product

Reviewed on 23/3/2022

The customer experience and support from Heimdal have been outstanding. Their representatives were on hand every step of the way and couldn't do enough to help.

Pros

It was clear from the start that Heimdal's security offering was very comprehensive and offered some of the best functionality on the market.

Cons

I least like the cost as once you have added the various elements this can prove pretty costly for an SMB. The pricing would be much more palatable for a larger firm.

Gustavo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

staying away from malicious websites and their consequences

Reviewed on 28/1/2022

monitoring all accesses that leave and enter my machines, I mainly prevent access to malicious situations, including data loss, fishing, capture of sensitive information, malware in general, etc. it's being done.

Pros

ease and tranquility. he does his job clearly, automatically and safely

Cons

So far, there's nothing in it that I can put as bad. I am 100% satisfied with it and its features.

Morten
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Secure and easy protection software

Reviewed on 27/1/2022

Really good program that easily and effectively protects the company from several types of attacks.

Pros

Easy to buy and install, easy to set up and requires minimal service.

Cons

Lacks function to handle licenses, so you do not have to get customer support to add / remove users.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Provides extra peace of mind

Reviewed on 26/1/2022

Excellent

Pros

It requires little knowledge and very little intervention while performing an important and complex function.

Cons

Occasionally there is something I can't work out how to do - but support is always there to help.

Jesper
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

DNS protection

Reviewed on 4/4/2022

Vary positive

Pros

The protecion against known malicious domains aswell as pattern recognition for unknown

Cons

internal DNS can get confused at times, trying to look up internal servers on the internet instead

Yannick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Securing endpoints

Reviewed on 7/4/2022

Pros

Nothing has slipped past quarantine. What's more to like?

Cons

It's a bit difficult to manage and perform manual scans. Removing/deleting quarantined files requres direct access to the device.

Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Superb

Reviewed on 25/1/2022

Pros

Smooth running, easy to install and use. High value for the money.
Integrates perfectly with Bitdefender Total Security

Cons

I can not find anything to complain about.

George
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

light-weight

Reviewed on 25/1/2022

Pros

Light for the machine. I have been using it with windows 10

Cons

Not very easy interface, I am using it with windows 10

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent security for PC

Reviewed on 17/10/2021

Pros

1. Easy to setup and use.
2. Interface has been modern and clean from start.
3. Provides the best protection against Malicious websites, phishing etc.
4. Has added more features like Firewall, antivirus etc. to compete with other security apps.

Cons

I did not find anything to dislike in the improved versions unlike in previous version in which the app used to change a DNS setting.

Ștefan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best experience overall

Reviewed on 12/4/2022

Pros

Support is very responsive, even though this is a free trial.

Cons

I have nothing to complain about so far

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Customer Support quick and efficient

Reviewed on 30/3/2022

The support was quick and efficient, fautless on this occasion.

Pros

Quietly works in the back ground and causes no grief to end users.

Cons

The DNS feature caused us issues on a big network/

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Heimdal is a very effective anti virus software

Reviewed on 15/10/2021

Pros

Its stable, and very often find viruses. It has been a good experience overall.

Cons

There is really nothing i dislike about it.

Craig
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Threat Protection and Security

Reviewed on 25/1/2022

This software has reduced the need to be concerned and security and maintenance.

Pros

I am comfortable with the security it provides and the ability to control client activities

Cons

Rarely client status regarding Windows updates and reboots is inaccurate.

Gheorghe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Useful and intuitive

Reviewed on 18/1/2022

As mentioned previously, it helps us when it comes to blocking malicious websites, as we had some issues with that in the past.

Pros

Very effective when it comes to threat hunting. Since I have this product, I feel safer when it comes to attacks that could infiltrate our network.

Cons

Couldn't spot any improvements so far. We will need more time to work with it and eventually will reach out to them.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My review

Reviewed on 12/4/2022

Pros

First of all, for a free trial/free product, this is one of the most complex ones.
I had paid products that do not offer so much even if they were paid.

Also, the support for the free trial/free product is there even if you did not both it.

Cons

As of now I do not have any issues to report regarding the product.

All in all a good product.

Sabina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Threat Prevention opinion

Reviewed on 17/4/2022

Pros

Everything is just perfect, but I like the most the speed of the DNS filtering. It happens so fast that you don't even realize that there is a DNS filtering on your machine. Wonderful!

Cons

I don't think that there is something that I don't like about this product.

Elza
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Threat Prevention review

Reviewed on 11/4/2022

Pros

The efficiency of the DNS request being filtered. It is very fast and reliable.

Cons

There were slight difficulties and interferences with the internal network DNS, but that is about it.